Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Riverside Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Riverside Dr, Branston, Burton upon Trent, DE14 3EP, United Kingdom

#3 of 7 hotels in Burton upon Trent

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 373 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was small and cosy with friendly staff and really...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Evening meal waiter got the order wrong a few times but all turned out well in the end

    The hotel was small and cosy with friendly staff and really good value for money. Loved sitting out next to the river

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    10
    Wonderful Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    there was nothing to dislike

    excellent staff, food, service, room compact but immaculate. Shannon and Jack exceptional with help and directions. Breakfasts and outside area fantastic. Could'nt ask for too much. Cost very reasonable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    9.2
    Air conditioned bedrooms were a blessing in this heat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At times the staff,who were lovely,were severely under pressure. Meals did takes a little while to arrive and some clearing up/cleaning was not always done. Another pair of hands was sorely needed at times.

    Air conditioned bedrooms were a blessing in this heat. Good sound proofing in the bedrooms - a wedding reception was on in the evening and we did not hear it. The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. A lovely site by the river,ideal for strolling or a longer walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff, lovely clean room and great at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only a little thing...but may be worth having a milk alternative at breakfast eg-soya or Koko milk

    Very friendly staff, lovely clean room and great at accommodating my dairy free allergy in the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    10
    Perfect.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked everything

    We were there for my Granddaughters wedding and I couldn't fault our stay. Everything was so clean, with a lovely comfy bed. We hope to stay again later in the year as we liked it so much.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    6.3
    Noisey room, couple arguing at 2am till at least 4pm very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small rooms

    Noisey room, couple arguing at 2am till at least 4pm very disturbing Room very small Went for a drink it the bar but got asked to leave at 11pm thought the hotel bar would allow residents

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    8.3
    A pleasant stay with good food and lovely gardens by the river
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit on the small side, but there isn't much they can do about that. And as mentioned before the room didn't have extra pillows (though to be fair we didn't need extra pillows) but a luggage rack would have been useful, but I'm not sure where you would store it. Also although the room and bathroom were very clean, there were a few marks on the walls, so maybe it could do with a fresh coat of paint.

    The best feature for us about the hotel, was the gardens. You could sit by the river, and when we were there it was a lovely summer evening. The bar/restaurant was good and the food well cooked. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and the bed comfortable and had the facilities you could expect including iron and ironing board (except an extra pillow(s) and luggage rack) it was tastefully decorated, and had a nice large shower, and a large flat screen TV.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    10
    Fabulous 70th Birthday Celebration Meal and overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location with the beer garden on the banks of the River. Good price and comfortable rooms. We had a family birthday meal for 40 people. 3 course meal which was amazing food. Full English breakfast following morning was superb too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    6.7
    Hotel has been updated since our last visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a bit small. We found it difficult to get ready together for the wedding we were attending (not at hotel). En suite very cramped. Food disappointing and slow evening service. Noisy until 1pm after a wedding held at hotel .

    Hotel has been updated since our last visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    6.7
    Reasonably content and would stay again.
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Somewhat of a delay on getting hold of reception staff on arrival. Would have preferred a view of the lake and countryside as opposed to housing estate which made it feel more like a Premier Inn establishment.

    Staff were found to be efficient and friendly. Room was adequate for one's needs as it was only for one night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    10
    Very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I do not like poor grammar and I detest poor and sloppy use of our language. My wife is my spouse, she is not my partner. The term partner is a business term. One can have a business partner.

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    8.8
    Position excellent. Bar lovely atmosphere. Not for a long stay - 1-2 days at the most.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedroom was small. I did not measure it but I estimate it to be 8' x 12' which is a bit cramped for a double bed, desk, chair and wardrobe. The pass key for room had to be redone each day, why I don't know, which would have been a disaster if we returned at 3am. Breakfast could be better and more staff needed.

    The ability to take a walk along the river bank. No TV in the bar was a blessing. The showers were excellent and the bathroom was a very good size. The bed was very comfortable with a firm mattress. Fish and chips very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    9.6
    Supper
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I actually can't think of anything!

    Everything. I work away quite often & always try to get in the Riverside. The rooms are comfortable (especially the bed!) & the food is gorgeous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    10
    Convenient venue to have a mini reunion with some old army comrades & visit Arboretum
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food was not a massive plus. Dinner on Friday (steak pie) had been under a hot plate for too long and cooked breakfast on both days was served lukewarm.

    Very dog friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    10
    Relaxing , will definitely stay again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing we could fault , visiting with partner and other family members ,to family birthday party nearby , and we all had lunch at Riverside on Saturday which was very good .

    Couldn’t fault a thing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    8.3
    Very nice hotel by the river
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast tables and service can be improved: tables were not cleaned even if there was only few people around.

    The sight from the garden is amazing, you could stay there for ages sitting by the river. Room are clean and new, there's all what you need.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing accommodation for our wedding anniversary weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not enough staff on duty, felt a nuisance at times. Staff not trained. Queues for the bar, had to wait a long time to be served in restauarant. Lasagne overcooked. Felt sorry for some of the staff as so under pressure. Shouldn't be classed as a hotel, more like a pub or inn. No reception area to sit in, for instance, and smoking allowed in garden unfortunately.

    Bed comfortable. Room clean but small. Had air conditioning which worked well and meant window didn't need to be open, as beer garden below.. Breakfast first morning good. In a very nice location, with walk along river easily accessible and an area being planted with trees.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel was busy due to a wedding being on, this made getting food quite difficult as we didn’t book a table. How ever it wasn’t to much trouble at all.

    Location was lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    4.6
    Wouldn’t stay again as Bedroom much to small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was tiny, bed also too small for comfort. After trying to order food, was told rest was full ( but had lots of empty tables, and that we could still order food but sit in the bar?

    The setting was lovely, next to the river.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    7.9
    We needed to stay in the area and it was much pleasanter than we thought it would be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was rather cold, and there were no instructions for the air conditioning.

    The dinner was better than I thought it would be, even though they were very busy with a wedding.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    10
    Enjoyable, comfortable and value for money stay in Branston
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We wanted to book a hotel within distance of a remote wedding venue. After considering a number of budget options I'm glad that we booked in at Riverside. Rather than just being a base to stay each side of the wedding we really enjoyed our stay. The room, bed, meals, breakfast, staff were all excellent. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    9.2
    Good room but not food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food - dinner & breakfast was not very good. I had lasagne that was clearly frozen & microwaved with dry leaves. Breakfast was eggs royal but both eggs were over cooked, muffin not toasted, hollandaise was brought in a lukewarm, not good at all and left 80% of it. Nice croissant though!

    Bed was very comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    9.6
    For one night stay great would stay again
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast what I choose to eat they didn't have the ham so that would have put two dishes off the menu so I had bacon instead but was very dry

    Clean room nice staff friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    8.3
    The location beside the river Trent made for a pleasant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location beside the river Trent made for a pleasant atmosphere and the chance for an easy stroll. While our room was 'cosy' the hotel has spacious public places, the staff are obliging, the menu is extensive and car parking is handy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    7.9
    Rooms very nice, good shower.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn’t anything to particularly dislike but I did have a poor main meal although I cannot fault the waitress and the way they handled it, didn’t charge for the meal in question, offered an alternative meal and gave me a complimentary drink in way of an apology. These things happen and they handled it professionally and everyone else in the restaurant seemed to be enjoying their meals.

    Rooms very nice, good shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    10
    Everything that I was hoping for and more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Liked it all

    I liked the furnishings. The room was lovely. Had a turkey dinner which was lovely. Breakfast gave lots of choices. Staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    4.6
    Staff not friendly and service poor. Dirty room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room allocated to me on arrival had not been cleaned. Dirty towels , bed unmade , dirty cups and rubbish not taken out. I had to ask for the fire to be put on in the lounge and the first time I asked they turned me down. Seeing it was freezing and snowing you think they would have the fire on!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    10
    Nice relaxing peaceful and friendly very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A

    Came to Riverside as always eaten in restaurant but not stopped their, it was our 6 yr wedding anniversary so I booked the stay. Food was lovely and breakfast, bed and room was nice size and comfortable. Nice view of the river and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    8.8
    Ideal for visiting Burton and also walking distance to great French restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was cold when we arrived, apparently the heating had been switched off, staff shortage caused delays in food service

    Comfy bed, room was a reasonable size. Breakfast and drinks all very good as was the evening meal we had

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    9.6
    Overall the stay was good value, easy to get to, plenty of parking, good food and drink.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only issue for us was the heating was air inducted so we could hear the fans all night from other rooms.

    Lovely location, room was comfortable, staff friendly and the food was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel, clean room, comfy bed & friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The menu looked good but did not live up to expectations.

    The room was clean and comfortable if a little small. WI-FI was good. We had a lovely view of the river Trent which was a nice surprise when we opened the curtains on the first morning. I booked a room for 2 adults & 1 child for 3 nights but when we arrived there was no provision for our baby to sleep. We were told that "booking.com" had not notified them that we had an 11 month old baby with us, they were only aware of 2 adults booked into a double room. The staff looked for a cot but said there was nothing available. The next morning we were told that they had found a travel cot for us and it would be taken to our room. We were very impressed with how kind, thoughtful & helpful the staff were. Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Riverside hotel and would definitely book to stay again in the future.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    3.3
    Location and views from room amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walls paper thin we were woken up by woman in next room arguing shouting and swearing then noisy plumbing or heating bumping all night so not good rest. Room small and beds too short. Think very expensive for what we paid for 1 night. Severe lack of customer service apart from lady who served our breakfast

    Location and views from room amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    7.9
    Overall, happy to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed mattress was quite soft and could be firmer (personal choice) Bathroom fan was quite noisy and stayed on for ages... was noticeable due to actual room being small in size

    Friendly Staff... clean accommodation...very good price which included freshly cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    7.1
    Disappointing due to the staff being rude
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were quite rude and wasn’t very respectful, they did not make us feel welcome. I felt like they were looking down their noses at us

    The room was comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    10
    Very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    noisy by bedrooms as we were near door and could here people coming in and out till late coming back to there rooms :(

    Very good value for money Extremely clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    9.6
    Always good to stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Did not get greeted well - in fact not even a glance on arrival just looking at computer and logging us in like robots Some tables should be put aside for guests to eat on an eve or at least guests should be asked if they will be eating when booking

    Venue food some service

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    7.5
    Room was really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was disappointing, cold food. however the staff accepted this with no issues and replaced.

    Room was really nice. Everything was clean. Nice atmosphere

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    2.5
    they additionally charged more money and when I want to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    they additionally charged more money and when I want to contact them, they are telling me "we will check and send you replay back", but they don't care and didn't answer

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable stay spoiled a bit by breakfast glitches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We asked to be moved from Room 1 as the outside door was very noisy and continually banging shut - maybe a soft-closure fitting could be considered. Cold plates made breakfasts cool down very quickly and poor quality orange juice.

    Bed was extremely comfortable, rooms nicely decorated, very clean and warm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2017

    7.1
    Useful and comfortable accommodation close to wedding venue, suited our purposes
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have found the staff difficult to contact prior to the stay and wanted the room to be ready 1 hour early as we were going to a wedding and weren't back till 1am and no one could be flexible about that, which was disappointing. It would have been good to get changed after travelling. However, I did ask just before the wedding and a member of staff reluctantly checked and the room was ready, so I was able to put bags in which was a bonus and stopped us from having to worry about taking car keys and moving in at 1am! We also would have liked some vegan options for breakfast, as there are so many on offer now, it is really not that hard.

    The room was good, warm and clean. The bed was comfortable and there was tea making facilities with mugs! The bath room was ok, but bit small, although the shower was powerful and hot, with two options and there were shower gels etc. Checking in Staff helpful with encouragement, breakfast staff very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    7.5
    It was quite good for business travel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom is really small. I'm not sure how a really large person manages. The extraction fan is noisy like it's beating itself to pieces.

    I enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere in the bar and dining room. I had some nice meals. The staff are genuinely friendly and helpful. It's close to where I was working. There are large grounds by the river. The beds are very comfortable and everything one could want for breakfast is available. Nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2017

    9.5
    The room, staff, all great.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The meal was not very good and not good value. Cooking a burger should not be difficult but the so called gourmet burger was overr priced, luke warm and hard as a bullet. I could have re soled my shoes with it and if the ‘chef’ could not prepare that right I am glad I did not order anything more challenging. Was also offered custard with my cheesecake?? Its a real shame because everything else was wonderful. I would stay again having said that as the manager was great but I would eat elsewhere.

    The room, staff, all great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    7.5
    Overall a good stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were no instructions to work the thermostat, and the room was quite cold. The shower was also quite complicated and water very hot. The WiFi was poor and difficult to connect to, and after eventually connecting it went off and had to keep logging in.

    Room was beautiful, bathroom spotless and bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel and bar, will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of bar staff in the afternoon, we had been stood a while and no one was serving so we left. We did use the bar that night and it was ok with enough staff

    The location was good, the bar area was welcoming and cosy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    8.8
    Lovely clean room, professional and helpful staff in th restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms advertised as with bath, but we only had a shower room. After 6 hours in the car a bath would’ve been ideal!!

    Lovely clean rooms, brilliant views and helpful staff in the restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    10
    Lovely room, great food and really relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The whole stay was perfect, room itself was lovely the service at reception, bar and restaurant was excellent. The food was delicious the seafood grill and mixed grill were spectacular.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    5.4
    Booking said bath but when arrived it was a shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service and food

    Booking said bath but when arrived it was a shower. Went down for dinner to be told I should have booked (never told I had to on check-in)and if I wanted to eat I would have to sit in the bar .Even though the restaurant was empty I sat in a pretty full bar next to a table of dogs which i like but not when eating,felt so unappreciated,We ordered at the bar , not too long later the waiter" dropped"our meals on the table ,then I looked for condiments and cutlery as was never told where they were.my meal consisted of overcooked lasagne which you couldn't possibly chew round the edges and my partners steak pie was so hard it clanked if you tapped it on the plate ,we left our half eaten plates and deflated went to bed.On check out I was asked to pay a 149 pound Bill,I had already paid on arrival and meals paid at bar ,I went out to my partner in tears who was so angry so I went back in to resolve this and noticed it wasn't my name they were trying to give me somebody else's Bill.We went home after a supposedly romantic overnight stay so angry ,upset and downtrodden which is a shame because the place has such potential.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    10
    Plenty of on site parking, good night's sleep, good breakfast, would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't see the point of the usual fashion cushions that you have to take off the bed to use it. Perhaps not as well sound insulated as some.

    Comfy bed, well stocked tea tray, clean room with toiletries in the shower room. Plenty of Parking on site. Good breakfast with porridge as an option, which I like.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    10
    The staff are really friendly and very helpful, this was our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff are really friendly and very helpful, this was our second stay at Riverside and would not hesitate to book again when we need to stay in the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    6.3
    Rooms were very clean and fresh comfortable bed lovely stay .
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Waited over an hour for 2 breakfasts so disappointing...not a varied choice either on the pastries and cereals. orange juice was empty and not refilled during our wait, no croissants either. never got offered a refill of tea or coffee.the eggs benedict stated i got ham with it and came with bacon which i gave my partner as i dont like it.

    Rooms were very clean and fresh comfortable bed lovely stay ...they are thin walls so could hear the talking out on the carpark and other rooms. shower was hot and powerful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    7.1
    Lovely place, more staff needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service at Reception was very poor, we had to wait for somebody to check us in and when we phoned from room the call was never answered requiring the wife to get out of bed and go to the reception. We ordered room service which eventually came, the food was superb but we had to eat with our fingers as no cutlery was brought with food, despite 15mins of ringing reception the call wasn't answered again!

    Great for a quiet night or 2 in lovely riverside location. Excellent breakfast and well stocked bar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Liked to have stayed longer.

    The whole place was so friendly clean quiet value for money.loved it.xthank you. The staff had a warm welcome ready for us and made us feel part of their family.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2017

    7.5
    would probably use again if occasion arises
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    down side breakfast on both days was poor first morning items on menu were not available and second day had a 45 minute wait for cooked breakfast and when it arrived it was warm not hot noticed kitchen only served 5 meals in that time so not busy at all waiting staff doing there best but kitchen staff letting them down

    excellent vfm room modern and very clean easy t find and good parking facilities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    7.5
    We had a enjoyable stay, would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were helpful and friendly, relaxing environment. Our breakfast was good, didn't have to wait long to be served. Nice walk along the river just outside the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    6.7
    ok, but when chageover is complete should be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    on our 2nd night we had to ask for someone to take our order, then we waited a long time, then waited for plates clearing and to order a sweet, my meal ok but my husbands lacked something & as it was our anniversary we were disappointed, I did tell the receptionist as we booked out she apologised and as our next stay was in an Old English Hotel in Fareham she rang ahead and paid for an evening meal, so we thought that was good service

    the bed was very comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    5.8
    A good time though was enjoyed by all
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As the majority of rooms were booked by my sons wedding party, there was no leeway with the bar times in the private room midnight closed although the majority of guests were still there, premium lagers served in normal pint glasses, no straws for children drinks

    Good bed nice and smart room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    10
    Property recently refurbished, room very clean &...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Property recently refurbished, room very clean & comfortable, staff friendly & helpful. Restaurant serves pub grub but to a good standard & the breakfast was excellent. Located on the bank of the River Trent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2017

    7.5
    The rooms although compact were clean and nicely decorated,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms although compact were clean and nicely decorated, adequate for the time we spent in it The food was good and arrived in good time although as we were sat outside the waitresses walked around with our food shouting out the table number, I would have thought that they would know which table was which number. The property does not look that inviting on the drive up to it but the outside area near the river is very pleasant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    10
    A lovely feel to the place as soon as you arrive, staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    A lovely feel to the place as soon as you arrive, staff were lovely & the room was also lovely, comtortable bed so a good night's sleep! Breakfast was good as they took your order & made it fresh. A good stay 👍

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    7.5
    Brilliant apart from the noisy atmosphere as described in the negatives.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There happened to be a wedding reception & also 2 large loud parties dining (20 plus in each) in each which was a slight downer on a the anticipated quiet intermate evening dinner, allas the staff coped well with regards surving our dinner. Couldn't fault them.

    Has been completely refurbished since last visit. Really clean & fresh. Staff polite & friendly. Food excellent. (Dinner & Breakfast). Reasonably priced evening meal, breakfast included. Great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    7.9
    It was close to a wedding we was at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The ensuite was very small. Not much room to move around in. Breakfast was very slow in coming to table to order it.

    It was close to a wedding we was at.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    4.6
    we made the most of our overnight stay as it was my daughters wedding day
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room had not been serviced when we got the key. And the toilet did not flush.

    I stayed here because my daughter had her wedding here. The location and the hotel itself was excellent with beautiful river running alongside it. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Unfortunately we had a problem with the room we stayed in. It was dealt with when checking out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2017

    9.2
    A really good hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very warm too warm for a comfortable nights sleep, our bedroom was at the front of the hotel we had the window open because of the heat, but the car park was noisy and a car alarm at 2 am woke us up. The room was quite small which made the heat more uncomfortable. I had a spider in bed with me at one point which was unpleasant. There was NO porridge for breakfast despite being on the menu.

    The location was fantastic we sat in the gardens drinking Pimms watching the birds on the river a real treat. The staff were lovely and very accommodating. There was ample on site parking we visited the National memorial arboretum 5 miles from the hotel so great for this.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    6.7
    Room was disappointing, experience was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was very small, in fact the smallest I've stayed in.

    Breakfast was excellent, and the room was clean. Very quiet location, didn't hear any guest noise either

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    10
    Brillant hotel, great staff, fantastic food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to dislike, everything perfect.

    Bed really comfy, view over the river brilliant. Dinner in the evening fantastic, breakfast in the morning sublime. Staff, friendly, helpful and nothing too much trouble. Looming for an excuse for another visit

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2017

    9.6
    Very relaxing and we will definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Let's have a proper coffee machine. My only wish at breakfast. Unfortunately mistakes on our food order both at dinner and breakfast, but the food was still very good.

    The staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The hotel was very clean and the food was excellent and well priced

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    7.5
    Well positioned hotel with good facilities
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from the water pipes, the main exit/entrance doors to the hotel banging (soft close hinges would help) and the car alarms going off at 6.30 a.m.

    The room was fine and the breakfast tasty. Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    8.8
    Excellent friendly staff and very good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I booked 4 rooms and thought 2 of these were family rooms. However, although there was room for a cot the rooms were not able to accommodate a small bed and a cot. I believe this mix up to be the fault of the booking company and not the hotel, but be aware that there are no family rooms as such.

    Excellent friendly staff and very good food. It was a family get together to celebrate a special birthday and we all had a wonderful time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2017

    10
    A Hidden Gem, thanks Booking.Com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only issue was with the weather; and they had no control over that!

    Friendly staff, comfortable accommodation. Food was excellent & I would have liked to have stayed longer. It was very busy with a family related function. Although extremely busy, the staff remained professional, calm & polite.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    8.3
    Perfect for Memorial Arboretum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room door closing very, very noisy. During two night stay there were two weddings so sleep disturbed until 2 am on both nights.

    Location. The riverside walks. Staff. Breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    9.6
    excellent for meeting up with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    prices in the bar were a little high bedroom doors closing too heavily

    sitting by the river with a drink ,particularly in the evening short walks along the river bank

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2017

    5.8
    Happy but could be a lot better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Far too hot only a small window to open, no fan. Asked staff for fan they said they only had one at the bar so could not provide one. There is no such thing as room service even though they state they do tried ringing numerous times with no answer so went down to fetch everything ourselves.

    Room was spotless and set in a beautiful location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room should have been a foot wider. Soundproofing was not the best, we could distinctly hear the conversation next door, and the water running through the pipes in the next door bathroom was very noisy

    Parking was easy, check in was easy, availability of food on site was good, area was good for strolling

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    6.7
    The bed was comfortable and the parking was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very small. Someone walked in while I was trying to sleep. It was very noisy!!! There was hoovering outside my room, staff talking and the door constantly banging.

    The bed was comfortable and the parking was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    8.8
    Great view.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great view. Excellent position. Close to town centre but in a very green area. Excellent staff, fixing quickly some issues I had with heat system. Great restaurant

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: