Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riviera Hotel

Bowleaze Cove, Weymouth, DT3 6PR, United Kingdom

#16 of 19 hotels in Weymouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2914 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.7
    Friendly staff but poor rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms out of date and it could do with new doors & Windows. Lick of paint and it would be up there.

    Breakfast was lovey and the staff very friendly. The manager was extra helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    A lovely break in a lovely setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is not very well served by public transport which meant that I had to get taxis up and down in to town many times.

    The location was beautiful. The breakfast was very good and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.8
    Ideal for a short stay. Lots of improvements needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Sea facing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of improvement needed. Hotel has started with lovely restaurant. However not really value for money.

    Staff were very friendly lovely dining area, great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Ideal location for stay in Weymouth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It does not bother me but you need to tidy up the outside of the buildings and get the swimming pool open. I believe it use to be a holiday camp. You may want to provide peak season an entertainment program and your bar closes to early.

    What you paid was value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    A great hotel, we will return but make sure we call to secure a better room! And when the prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Sea facing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed with our location booked a sea facing room but unfortunately had to hang out of the window to see it! would have preferred to have been further round! Was very overpriced because it was a busy weekend!

    Room was basic but clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    2.9
    Absolutely terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Sea facing
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! The room was dirty. The pools are empty and not in use. The staff are helpless and our room door was falling apart and the room itself was full of ants!

    The only thing I liked about this hotel was leaving it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Location of this hotel was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame about the facilities not being open and no money for renovating them at the moment. Overall the hotel looks tired and in desperate need of some paint.

    Location of this hotel was perfect. Amazing sea views from the rooms located at the front and from the front gardens. Staff were very helpful and polite at all times.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.0
    The lady at the reception was very professional and helped...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smell in the room was absolutely terrible, old bed and very poor breakfast. Unfortunately it was not what we saw on the pictures on booking.com and it was too pricy for the quality of services.

    The lady at the reception was very professional and helped to find e quit room for us

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.4
    Ok...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Sea facing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside of the hotel is so run down. Doesn't look appealing at all and even contemplated going elsewhere. Even just a lick of paint could go a long way!

    Pleasantly surprised as the reception was clean as was the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.4
    Wouldn't recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was run down and the paint was peeling from the doors of the main entrance, the rooms were fine but in need of a face lift. It felt as though nothing had been done on the hotel upkeep for quite some time. I broke my ankle and had to return to the hotel without having any dinner, I asked reception if the kitchen could do me a slice of toast and they said no because the kitchen was already closed which given the time of the evening and the fact that the restaurant was serving dinner shows two things...1) the staff were unhelpful and not at all empathetic and 2) the restaurant can't be very good to have no diners at all!!

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    3.8
    Would not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Sea Facing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were rude and not responsive to problems. The room was not cleaned and beds were not changed. The breakfast was awful, the small amount of guests that were on site were left in the restaurant without not one member of staff around, food and drink began to run low and wasn’t replaced, and the toaster machine began to smoke and the guests were the ones who had to deal with it. For the price of the stay, it’s not unacceptable to want a bit of toast in the morning! Would not return to this site.

    The location was the only decent thing about this property.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Tired from the music!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Sea facing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was right next to the function room so had music banging through the wall all evening... Resturant in the evening didnt seem to have enough staff on and the two that were on were run ragged. Food was over cooked and dry. Shame the pool was closed

    View was amazing and the room was comfy and clean. Breakfast was fabulous. Staff were fabulous when it seemed they were understaffed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel but annoyed the swimming pool was closed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Sea facing
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wasn’t told that the swimming pool etc was going to be closed, so I was very annoyed at the fact it was and we didn’t even get some money off, we had spent £36 to go swimming elsewhere, the main reason we came to the Riviera was because the pool is amazing.

    I stayed here last year and it was perfect hence the reason I came back. The view was stunning, the staff were lovely, and the room was perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Superb view of the Bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both of the swimming pools were closed. Why is the re-furbishment to them both being done at the same time & in the height of the season. We stayed for 2 nights in July!

    Superb view of the Bay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    Dated
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My hotel door was weathered to say the least, the room was very small. Bed made an awful lot of noise.lights on the outside of the hotel beam through the curtains at night.

    Reception area was very nice. Views beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    Expensive for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were a bit cramped. No fridge to keep water cool. The buildings looked fine from a distance but was quite tired once you got close the swimming pool was closed and did not look like it would be opening anytime soon Definitely very expensive for what you get. But that may have been due to events on that weekend

    The location was good near the beach and adjacent to the coastal walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.7
    Lovely hotel bad Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Sea facing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal service was horrendous waited nearly 2 hours before being asked for a pudding And then our food ended up on another table

    Lovely and clean and tidy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    3.3
    The beds were comfy apart from that nothing
    • Group
    • Twin Sea Facing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking awful had to park out of complex 1 bedside lamp. The table in the middle was glass on a slant my daughters cup of tea slipped off and went everywhere. Shelf in shower on a slant shower gel fell off hurt my foot. Mirrors dirty. Shower had hairs in it. Bedding smelt of mildew.

    The beds were comfy apart from that nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    Uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are extremely hot and there's a lot of mould around the metal framed windows. There was a lot of noise at night from the other residents which was amplified by the window being open (even with it open we were still sweating). We actually moved rooms as the first one they put us in was terrible, blood on the bathroom door frame, the entrance door hadn't seen a lick of paint for more than a decade ans the paint was flaking off. The pool hasn't any water in it. For £124 a night this place is a complete ripoff!! I will say though that the staff couldn't have been more helpful!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location,clean,and staff polite and accommodating...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Sea facing
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was disappointed that both indoor and outdoor pools closed,for the money you pay think they need to reconsider pricing.

    Excellent location,clean,and staff polite and accommodating,have stopped there previously and will definitely be stopping again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.4
    The location is nice overlooking the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is so run down it is sad. From peeling paint on walls and corridors to doors filled with white filler and just left in lumps it was quite embarrassing to even say we stayed there. They have renovated the rooms but as there’s no A/C we had to keep our window open to outside corridor and there were people smoking and talking until very late and the smoke just blows in. The fact that the swimming pools and spa seem to be closed down also doesn’t look good for the future. This could be a fabulous hotel if some care was taken;((

    The location is nice overlooking the sea.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.0
    Avoid this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No chairs in the room ...room very cramped . Bed base gets in the way gash my legs twice on the corners . A lot of rust around the windows from the outside. Electrical cables hanging out outside . We’re busy at weekend car park full had to park outside on the road. By chance saw an other car park belonging to hotel . Why not inform clients on check in about it. On the drive up to reception flower pots abandoned empty. Ground floor rooms doors with flaking paint .

    The location the towels

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    2.9
    DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room Sea facing
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s absolutely filthy, the staff are rude and they take your money on arrival making it impossible to get any sort of refund when you complain. We will be reporting it to environmental health.

    The only good thing about this hotel is the location. The breakfast was tinned mushrooms and tomatoes with cheap sausages and that was a highlight of the stay...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing and not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To be honest for the money we paid the standard of the hotel in general and the room was far below my expectation. It reminded me more of a cheap hostel. I don't know how they can get away with charging those prices. Room was average at best very basic especially at that price. Facilities at the hotel were non - existent ( pool / seating area ). The room we were given was basically behind the hotel in a separate building which was run down. The walls were very thin so the opening and closing of doors kept us up all night. Staff were very friendly but nothing they could really do. We had dirt in the shower from guests before and the bed was very uncomfortable

    The staff were friendly and they handled everything well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Good out of town location nr. Weymouth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms rather small. Good long walk into town.

    Quirky old Poirot-esq 30s(?) style hotel, currently being refurbished, so some prts new new, other parts looking tired. Outstanding location at the E end of Weymouth Bay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    2.9
    Not to be recomended for even a coffe stop....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old structure. Poor breakfast. We were 3 guest but we got a room in the backyard, looking old.

    Nothing at all. It can not be serious, that this hotel has 4 stars.... ashame. Like a motel on the hiway 66 in USA.....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    Staff on arival was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 parties going on untill 12pm coukd hear word for word of each song. 2 false fire alarms going off so had to get out of bed. Days 2 breakfast was rubbish

    Staff on arival was nice. As was the lady behind the bar

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    4.2
    Awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact the rooms we were put in looked like old council estates and the doors had the paint all stractched off. All the facilities that were advertised were unavailable which was not shown when I booked it! Including the pool indoor and out gym and all the other advertised facilities. I would not recommend staying here to anyone and would like a full refund.

    I liked the fact we were moved to a different room made the stay a little bit better but not good at all for the price and what was sold to me online.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.8
    The room was ok apart from needs a good clean .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside needs sorting out , swimming pool empty, no gym , window out the back all smashed in or missing, need a refurbishing outside, looks like a run down pontins.

    The room was ok apart from needs a good clean . Nice view if your at the front.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    4.6
    Think twice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peeling paint on the building's exterior. No fans in rooms despite being +30°c. Thermostat broken on shower resulting in very hot water only. Uncomfortable bed. Outside pool closed. Breakfast very poor. Limited choice of poorly cooked food. My impression is that they are running on a very tight budget. Needs refurbishment.

    The view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    4.6
    Unsatisfactory
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was near to the delivery area and was at the back of the hotel with no view of the bay. It was also noisy early in the morning as things were being delivered

    The Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    The staff were amazing in accommodating us while they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Sea facing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late, around 10.30 to find that out room hadn't been cleaned

    The staff were amazing in accommodating us while they cleaned our room, despite the late hour

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    3.8
    Awful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Sea facing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    4 of us stayed at The Riviera hotel in 2 rooms for 1 night on 30th June 2018, having got to the rooms along an outside walkway which was in much need of repair and paint, the paint on the front door was all flaking off, the rooms looked as tho they had been refurbished but the cleanliness of the rooms was not good, when we came to have a shower the water just trickled out the shower the shower door was broken, it’s was so hot in our rooms as the windows would not open, and no fans available, When we came back from having a meal in Weymouth there were flying beetles in one of the rooms, not just a few but they were coming from the air vents and in the wardrobe even one feel out of the pillow, we when to tell the night porter, but he said they couldn’t do anything as the hotel was full, then after about an hour we had them in the other room and a couple in a room next to us had them too, there was no way we could sleep in the rooms that night so we packed up and left at 1am along with the other couple. We drove around Weymouth till 3am trying to fine a hotel but all were full, until one kind Hotel Manager let us sleep on a couple of sofas in there lounge area as we were 4 ladies on our own, I would never stay in that hotel again it really upset our weekend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    fantastic location, loved the stunning art deco hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the swimming pools indoor and outdoor were closed for refurbishment (we probably would not have used them) as the weather was red hot and went to the beach . i think it was just one of those things that happened between booking and arriving so could not be helped

    the location was amazing! views stunning across the bay. short walk to the beach took a few minutes. lovely walks accross the hills. and a short drive into weymouth. (which is about 2.5 miles) my father is an active 88 year old and my partner has a serious health condition. both found the location ideal. the staff were absolutely brilliant, nothing was too much trouble, i would recommend booking a sea view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.2
    rooms were tiny.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms were tiny. swimming pool was empty. on the hottest weekend of the year id expect to be able to have a swim. was in a twin room housekeeping made my frirends bed and not mine could be blind in one eye? dont know other guests had rooms booked to other people so they had nowhere to stay. wouldnt go back again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Sea facing
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swimming pool was closed, although we had expected it to be open.

    Excellent staff. I believe the hotel is undergoing refurbishment, but it didn't effect out stay. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    4.2
    Really bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Sea facing
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty and very shabby, the outside stairs were crumbling and in my opinion dangerous. Showers in both rooms didn’t work properly, beds uncomfortable, couldn’t open windows in one room and no air conditioning, weather was very hot so room was boiling in the other room couldn’t shut the window so very noisy at night. If I was paying £40 a night it would have been ok. But £110 a night was a total rip off.

    The view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    The room was modern and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Sea facing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was modern and comfy. The bathroom was clean and well maintained. Overall, the hotel is a pleasure to be around. Nice staff and well mannered

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.3
    Good but could of been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Sea facing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was closed and gather it has been for a while and with this heat would have been lovely to go for a swim .Close up it needs some work done it is such a lovely building the doors on outside are inside doors with lots of patching done such a shame needs some TLC shame the owner won't do anything about it

    Very relaxed laid back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    2.5
    Very disappointing don’t go there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was actually like an old Butlins chalet in a block of rooms separate to the hotel around the back. No pools, no gym...basically a rough B&B, very disappointing so save your money & don’t book this hotel go somewhere else.

    The breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    2.9
    Just awful, avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Sea facing
    • Stayed 1 night

    Avoid this hotel It is AWFUL. Garden over grown with weeds. Poor decoration Outdoor pool has stagnant green water in the bottom Indoor pool closed Main bar closed for wedding reception Watched the food being transported uncovered outside from one part of the hotel to another Did not eat the breakfast it looked awful We paid extra to take a hotel into town to eat WIFI useless Bed linen smelled strongly of soap powder but it didn't look particularly clean We met other guests who were also complaining This is really poor value for money We complained at Reception but they only gave us a business card and said we had to email our complaint We have emailed our complaint and received an auto acknowledgement and no reply This hotel should be withdrawn from booking.com

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.0
    Once was enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extremely small & cramped. Paint on external parts of building is in very poor shape. Outside pool looked a mess & no water in it. Indoor pool, gym etc. not in use. Windows in our room wouldn't open. No where to hang our wet towels. Cold plates at breakfast for putting you cooked breakfast on.

    At least the room was clean. Food was good though could do with more choices. Staff very friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    3.3
    Appalling treatment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed many times before at the Riviera and decided to book again for a weekend away. We purposely book the hotel for the outdoor pool. Upon arriving we noticed the outside pool was drained even though we were told it was open upon confirming. We were then told the indoor pool was also closed and the hotel had no leisure facilities. We were informed that discounts had been added to the price of the room. In our case though this was not the case! We paid the same as every other time we stayed. No apology for this mistake was offered or indeed rectified! We were then sent to an out building round the back of the hotel .. similar to the staff quarters i should imagine. Not standing for being put in this shabby room we went back to reception. We were told the hotel was full as there was a big wedding on and did we really want to stay there a anyway as the guests were incredibly noisy?! I said we had no choice but to stay so miraculously a room on the front was found! We were told the guests were so loud that other guests had left that were ment to stay 2 nights.i asked the man atreception how long the wedding had been booked and what percentage of the hotel was booked to them. I was told since last year and around 90%. I at this point pointed out wouldnt it of been curtious to inform other guests of this and let them choose if they still wanted to stay. I was replied with "yeah that probably would of been a good idea!" We were shown to the room which was tiny.. there were no tea and coffee facilities and the shower door was hanging off. The bed was rock hard and we couldnt have the window open as the wedding guests were so loud.at a weekend of over 28° this was unbearable. At 1am in the morning a guest was in the car park playing music at top volume.. it took security 15 minutes before going and telling them to stop. I would of contacted reception if there was a welcome folder and known which extension it was on the phone.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    2.9
    Don't stay here Ever .
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ,we booked 4 rooms in August 2017 ,for 2018 June ,No - one told us there are No facilities ,such as A Pool ,Indoor or out . Staff are not helpful at all ,very noisy and dirty

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.7
    It’s fine, very cheap and basic but shabby chic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Sea facing
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long walk into Weymouth and taxi was 7 quid each way

    It’s cheap and ok, basically an old holiday camp- Pontins I think. Wasn’t expecting a palace but perfectly clean and serviceable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Sea Facing
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were to low to the ground.

    Nice little clean room with excellent views across Weymouth bay. Lovely restaurant. You can see where they are modernising but it didn't affect any thing. Best bit is the stunning views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.8
    The cabins looked tacky , everything felt old and rotten...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cabins looked tacky , everything felt old and rotten from outside room . The shower head kept falling down and the beds were so hard gave you a back ache

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.8
    We enjoyed our break despite the many disadvantages of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The outside needs complete refurbishment. the pool and leisure facilities were all closed.

    The bedroom and en suite were pleasant and so was the dining area. The outside of the hotel was in dire need of refurbishment! The pool was closed as were the other leisure facilities! Our bedroom opened onto an unsheltered are from where we had to walk to the dining room. People smoking outside set off our smoke alarm at 11 pm when we were asleep! We enjoyed our weekend break despite all this but thought the hotel was grossly over priced for what it offered

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    3.3
    There was no pool service, no Spa, no Sauna which were given...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Sea facing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no pool service, no Spa, no Sauna which were given when booking. The room was very dirty as there was dirt on top of the fridge and even flush in the bathroom was not working. There were no loiletteries given complimentary.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.3
    Weymouth very nice hotel very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leisure centre was closed for maintainance out side pool was empty with dirty rain water in it the room we had was in the anex at the back of the hotel with only a grass bank to see Bath too high hard to get into.

    Staff very good breakfast good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.4
    Tired but classic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Sea Facing
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very tired needs a good upgrade. And room layout needs a rethink. Facilities need to be up and running.

    Location. great views. Could be an amazing hitel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    Been to hotel a few times before and used pool and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Sea facing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Been to hotel a few times before and used pool and facilities. Wasn’t told on booking.com that the facilities were closed . Wife not happy so spoilt the trip .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    The decor was lovely and the bed was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Sea facing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The exterior was a bit shabby but I appreciate it is undergoing renovation

    The decor was lovely and the bed was amazing. The sea view was also very nice indeed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    3.3
    I’d give this place a total miss!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’d give this place a total miss! Where do I start…… We looked for a hotel earlier in the year (19/20th Jan) for a hen party of girls that were looking for a hotel that had a pool and was a little nicer than average so when booking via booking.com we saw a hotelwith leisure facilities and indoor and outdoor pools and views that could mean we as a group had an amazing time. Then about 3 weeks before we read reviews on trip advisor and they were saying that the leisure facilities were not in action and quite frankly the reviews were not favourable so we made contact with the hotel to find out what was happening and at that stage they had advised that the indoor pool was fine so we decided to continue on A week before we arrived the reviews were still coming in much the same so I contacted the hotel again and spoke to Paige and she advised that the outdoor pool was open albeit cold as was heated by the sun and it was warming up – I had a long chat with her about why it was important to us and if there were any issues what we could do – she advised that we could cancel free of charge but the pool was definitely open so we pressed on…. Arrival Day – when booking in to the reception the receptionist said that the twin rooms (all but 1 on our booking) had only 1 name against them so therefore they needed to charge us extra for breakfast for the second person, this was before they issued us any keys. When booking it only asked for a lead name and it hadn’t been clear that the twin room would be for a single person – why would people book a twin room for a single person? Keys were ready and we went to the rooms which were at the back of the property overlooking wasteland – that wasn’t the bad bit but the fact that there was zero lighting so when dark it was a hazard and also not flat ground so anyone with any issues with walking beware!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    3.3
    I’d give this place a total miss!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’d give this place a total miss! Where do I start…… We looked for a hotel earlier in the year (19/20th Jan) for a hen party of girls that were looking for a hotel that had a pool and was a little nicer than average so when booking via booking.com we saw a hotel with leisure facilities and indoor and outdoor pools and views that could mean we as a group had an amazing time. Then about 3 weeks before we read reviews on trip advisor and they were saying that the leisure facilities were not in action and quite frankly the reviews were not favourable so we made contact with the hotel to find out what was happening and at that stage they had advised that the indoor pool was fine so we decided to continue on A week before we arrived the reviews were still coming in much the same so I contacted the hotel again and spoke to Paige and she advised that the outdoor pool was open albeit cold as was heated by the sun and it was warming up – I had a long chat with her about why it was important to us and if there were any issues what we could do – she advised that we could cancel free of charge but the pool was definitely open so we pressed on…. Arrival Day – when booking in to the reception the receptionist said that the twin rooms (all but 1 on our booking) had only 1 name against them so therefore they needed to charge us extra for breakfast for the second person, this was before they issued us any keys. When booking it only asked for a lead name and it hadn’t been clear that the twin room would be for a single person – why would people book a twin room for a single person? Keys were ready and we went to the rooms which were at the back of the property overlooking wasteland – that wasn’t the bad bit but the fact that there was zero lighting so when dark it was a hazard and also not flat ground so anyone with any issues with walking beware!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.8
    The room we stayed in was clean but we didn't feel very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Sea Facing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in was clean but we didn't feel very comfortable because there were few holes in the door. We got a feeling the anyone could break into our room durig the night. The windows were very hard to open and there was a sign: if the windows are hard to open do not open them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    We stayed in a twin sea facing room for six nights. The location was quiet and relaxed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Sea Facing
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been good to have the pool and gym facilities available. Breakfast could be improved with fresh mushrooms and better quality sausages.

    Beautiful location, stunning beach and very close to Weymouth.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    Our short break was relaxing, comfortable and would go again. hopefully with swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Sea facing
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As above pools areas working. Bit more of menu choice in restaurant. cold plates to put hot breakfast on!

    location was very good , quiet, but good connection into Weymouth, main areas, rooms all very good. A shame the leisure facilities were not in use( we did know when we booked), but they would have made the stay even better for some of us. Food good, breakfast etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    2.9
    Checking out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Sea facing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't go facilities at Hi de Hi non existent, like the staff. £7 in a taxi one way into Weymouth town. Swimming pool closed,all other facilities closed ie leisure centre,spa, bar. I could go on but it's the worst experience I have ever had in a hotel. No wonder there was hardly any other guests. Booking.com trying to push this establisment as if if it was the last room in Weymouth, so I won't be using them again either.

    Checking out

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.1
    perfect location - overpriced for the type of accommodation offered
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Sea Facing
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms need a good make over , pre-historical windows which can not be opened, no air con or fridge in the room and surprisingly dirty corridors and stairs leading to the rooms.

    superb location !!! friendly staff at reception

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Overall fantastic stay, would return again knowing all is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Sea Facing
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked everything

    Lovely room, clean and within character of the building. Lovely to look out your bedroom door to a fantastic sea view. Very friendly staff and great breakfast to start the day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Sea facing
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First impression not great, needs work on the outside appearance and leisure facilities.

    The room was really very nice, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was buffet, good. Staff were friendly and worked hard to keep the tables clean and clear at breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Sea facing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of new beds or repair to beds..quite noisey,maybe just need tightening up

    Great,helpful friendly staff. Lovely grounds and views. Clean spacious room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.0
    Location was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Sea facing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None of the swimming pools were open, had I of known that before hand I wouldn’t of booked! £139 for bed and breakfast was not worth even half the price, ants in the room, carpet had really bad stains, breakfast was very basic, I had been looking forward to my one night break for a while and when we arrived I just felt let down!

    Location was amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Just what we needed for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Sea facing
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi very hit and miss

    Bedroom very good for Money Paid. Full English breakfast very good. bar and restaurant clean & tidy Great views across the bay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.8
    Lovely views, comfortable room, BUT BEWARE THE FOOD!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Sea facing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room was modernised, the shower temperature was difficult to balance and if you used the tap or flushed the toilet, the shower was scorching. We could hear EVER sound from the surrounding rooms, so seriously lacking in audible privacy. At this time of year, you would expect at least one of the pools to be available for use, but neither one was, though they had provided a guidance of this at booking. And I would STRONGLY ADVISE against the breakfast! The hotel could not have bought cheaper ingredients if they tried! Most reviews complain about the quality of the food, but the hotel seems to have chosen to ignore this. My grandson put a piece of sausage in his mouth and when i looked at his plate, i saw that the sausage was RAW and made him spit it out. The quality of the food is the only thing that is letting this hotel down and i'm sure if they improved this, their ratings would be much higher.

    I love the art deco building and when lit up at night, it looks amazing. Don't be put off by the rough looking exterior to the ground floor rooms, as once you go inside, the room is a pleasant surprise. An extra plus was the view of the coastline from this location, where there are a couple of benches to sit and look over the bay. Would be nice if they placed their picnic tables nearer to the view, so that all can enjoy and not just the smokers. The staff were all friendly and welcoming and are a credit to this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.3
    My stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities what so ever out door pool not i use.indoor pool not in use.no acess to gym.couldn't even play pool with my son due to no acess.a little thing like a pool table means i spend more money in the hotel.as it is i spent more off site than on

    The staff are great and it's in a great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    3.8
    Poor
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whilst I understood the property was undergoing a refurbishment the majority of the staff were very immature and unprofessional

    Whilst I understood the property was undergoing a refurbishment the majority of the staff were very immature and unprofessional

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    4.2
    Minimalistic, and not good value for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Sea facing
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Property outside hasn't been painted for years. Room was very basic and not good value. Windows very old and some dont open at all. Lot of mould around bathroom window. Lawns and garden need lot of attention.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.3
    the beds were hard and pillows even harder location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hard beds very hard pillows

    the beds were hard and pillows even harder location fantastic though, evening restaurant wasn't open so had to go out for dinner, the pool was broken which was a shame as boiling weekend a bit tired through out

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    3.3
    Rather of paid to stay in a back street bed and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mostly everything

    Never will we ever use this hotel again our hotel door was a rotten piece of wood which swing wide open at 2 in the morning. Me and my partner also woke up to ants crawling over all us in the bed. We have informed the hotel staff who don’t seem to want or do anything about the matter

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    Rooms too hot but excellent view great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Sea facing
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning a little too far away from Weymouth town. Went down for meal on Sunday to be told no chef tonight but another member of staff offered to cook us a meal but he was the maintenance guy. Also we stayed for 2 nights the room wasn’t cleaned, bed not made or clean towels after our 1st nights stay

    Room spacious and comfortable good view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.0
    very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in disrepair, the bed was uncomfortable and we had the flattest pillows in the world, not a very good nights sleep.

    The position of the hotel with its beautiful view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.0
    The hotel is large and looks pretty from afar but it needs money spent on it by doing up the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Sea Facing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need to be redone. They need a lick of paint and one of the steps to the bathroom was not covered in carpet, just left with a piece of wood. Also we found a spider and an earwig crawling around the floor in the room.

    The room and bathroom was a good size. Beds were clean and comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Sea facing
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast: Poor quality, not value for money. Had to sort through plates and cups to find clean crockery.

    Friendly staff, good location, rooms clean and tidy.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Riviera Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: