Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Robin Hill 4 stars

74 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay, TQ1 1HF, United Kingdom

#71 of 119 B&Bs and Inns in Torquay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 518 B&B reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    The staff made us feel very welcome and also made my dog...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything we disliked

    The staff made us feel very welcome and also made my dog feel very welcome too. The breakfast was superb couldn’t fault at all. Our room was very big and very clean. The location of the hotel was great. Just a minutes walk from the town which was great too. We hardly had to use our car. The bar area in the hotel was dog friendly and we spent our nights in there during our stay. Just overall a fantastic hotel and we will be staying at the Robin Hill again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    Good value and a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    En-suite was a little cramped, but functional and clean

    The breakfast was excellent, and the staff were all very friendly. Many of the period details had been retained in the house.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Lovely and would definitely stay again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely and clean, comfortable beds and lovely staff . Very helpful and very welcoming . Great breakfast cooked fresh for you every morning and good choice . Happily adapated the cooked breakfast for the children. Also great location within walking distance for restaurants and harbour . Lovely little gardens to sit in as well. If you are taking a pet make sure you phone them as they only have certain rooms that allow them that are family rooms .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.3
    Overall this place was disappointing, I would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is too small and the bed was very small. The bathroom did not have any space to move. The main thing though is the timing of the breakfast, it is just for 1 hour between 8:30 and 9:30, this is too short and caused us to miss breakfast 2 morning out of 3, when you are on vacation you want to have a relaxed morning and not have to get out of bed too early for breakfast

    The staff were friendly so that was pleasant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    4.2
    Overall disappointing. Will not book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cracked tiles upon arrival at the front steps The manager / owner was not very friendly and didn't really know the local area very well The room was very cramped

    The overall first impression was quite good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely Victorian guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drive is extremely steep so just bear in mind if you have young children in a pushchair or elderly in a wheelchair.

    Lovely size family room,fresh hot breakfast. Very clean , friendly owner and staff. About a 5 minute walk into town with plenty of shops, bistros and cafes. Harbour is really nice .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    An absolute pleasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a lovely hotel Andrew the owner and host was fantastic, room great, clean, bathroom excellent, just a short walk to the centre of everything in Torquay, fantastic selection of drinks in the bar, breakfast was perfect super quality everything, the place was just so homely and friendly, couldn't fault anything, i will definitely be going back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was a bit tricky but the host helped with that as well

    Great location... extremely helpful host... nothing was too much trouble and everything was organised and ready to go when we turned up

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    A particular highlight for us was breakfast, which was not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A particular highlight for us was breakfast, which was not only consistently delicious with plenty of choice, but probably the most efficient and yet relaxed service we have ever had. A perfect way to start the day!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    4.2
    Car park steep and small, inaccessible for anything other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park steep and small, inaccessible for anything other than very small cars Small room, tiny ensuite Adjoining room had a macerator which was very noisy in our room all through the night Bed hard and small Walls paper thin as heard next door snoring all night loudly But worst of all was being treated very rudely at breakfast, the room was frantic, too many rooms trying to have breakfast in only an hour slot. We were given no time to look at the menu before ordering and when we enquired about our toast, was told abruptly by the owner that he only had two hands! And to make this worse,my boiled egg when it arrived was not even cooked. I would not recommend a stay at the Robin Hill.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Stay at Robin Hill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is tricky you need to reverse into your spot and it is better to use the bottom spaces.

    Breakfast was excellent and enough of it shame they don’t do evening meals.Andrew and Angela and staff were great and couldn’t do enough for you the room was okay and cleaned daily if you wanted it too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Beautiful spacious room. Comfy bed. Excellent host, nothing was too much trouble. Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice. Great location with a short walk to the main restaurant area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, would definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was tricky, though welcome as parking in Torquay is expensive. Perhaps a fan in the room as it was very hot.

    Everything was perfect, the room had everything you needed, the breakfast was excellent, the owner was friendly and chatty.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotels on a steep slope but the whole or Torquay is. Thankfully I wasn’t having to drive. It would be a struggle for anyone with walking difficulties

    The owner was so welcoming & hard working. He even looked on google maps to find out where a wedding venue was that we ere attending. The hotel grounds were beautiful. The facilities were of high standards, lovely soft white towels, comfy beds & pillows, hairdryer, tea & coffee in room with a choice of teas. The bar was fully stocked & not over priced. Breakfast was lovely. Good quality juices, Proper good quality sausage & bacon, free range eggs& presented lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Lovely, pleasant. Will stay again wothout doubt
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic stay. I loved the style and period features of the place. Breakfast - although busy, the staff were excellent, attentive and very friendly. Very speedy service despite the fact they were busy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.3
    Service and food very good, but room a real disappointment! !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was advertised as a premium double , but was in fact quite a compact double , nothing to cause it to be rated a premium double .

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    A wonderful friendly family run hotel, a short walk to restaurants and drinks ;)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Leaving

    The Robin Hill is just a short walk (10mins) from the quay side, restaurants, and bars. We were greeted by the owner who helped advise and book a wonderful fish restaurant on our arrival. Everyone was friendly and welcoming, the hotel had a lovely traditional family run feel, would defiantly go back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    A special place at the English Rivera
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room & bed (but it was the „standard“, so there are other/bigger rooms. Also you are just sleeping in there so it’s enough). The water pressure was a little too low but it’s something you can live with. Small and steep car park but it’s for free and it’s possible to park if you aren’t the worst driver. Besides that everything is great!

    The hosts were nice and kind. Unfortunately we only interacted with Andrew but he was absolutely amazing and sweet. A real British gentleman and he makes this b&b hotel truly unique! He does everything to please you. We got beach towels free of charge and great advices what to do. The room was very clean and it’s greatly located. A 5 minute foot walk to the harbor. We can definitely recommend the pub „The Clocktower“ and the Robin Hill Hotel. We are very sad that we had to leave this place. If you are looking for something different than the big (most likely impersonal) hotels than this is the place you should go! Really, you won’t regret it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Very nice we will return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame there I wasent a pool but the place is 120 years old other than that it was fine

    The owner was very friendly and was very attentive to our needs the hotel was very clean and our room was comfortable and had coffee tea facilities we would highly recommend this hotel for your stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Highly recommended hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner and his family were excellent hosts nothing was too much trouble, great welcome and superb breakfast. Allowed to park car up in the hotel car park early and spent the day in Torquay before check in. Great location for the harbour 10 mins walk from hotel. Definitely going back for a second stay at the Robin Hill

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent place to stay and Andrew was very welcoming 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The Robin Hill is a great place to stay, a great property, well looked after. The gardens and outside seating areas were lovely, helped by the beautiful weather we had. The rooms were well kept, a nice lounge with a bar and a breakfast room. There was a good assortment of food available for breakfast. The room we stayed in was very clean, modern and bright. The beds were very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    One night in Torquay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a dog that was left whining and barking andtrying to leap the enclosures more than an hour by the owner. Affected my stay

    Andrew is very friendly!! And humorous

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Our stay at the Robin Hill hotel Torquay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a small room for a week's stay .

    The owner and staff were friendly and so accommodating .The service was excellent and the hotel was spotless . Clean towels everyday and the breakfast was first class catering for every whim .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent service, very comfortable and great hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't stay longer! If I was being really fussy, the car park is a little tricky to manoeuvre your car in, but this won't prevent us staying there again. Don't hesitate book up now!

    This is an excellent place to stay, staff are helpful and friendly, but at the same time you feel as though you are staying in an upper class establishment. Breakfast is excellent and plenty of it, kept us going for most of the day and they accommodated our three year old grandson. We intend to stay here again without doubt.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Amazing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and hosts were lovely They were very helpful with recommending places to visit. Made our stay much more enjoyable. Comfortable beds and really good breakfast Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    An excellent 5 day break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I cannot fault this property. The host Andrew and his staff were excellent nothing was too much trouble. The room very comfortable and clean and the breakfast was lovely. My husband and I would certainly return to the Robin Hill.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely warm welcome, the bed was hugely comfortable and room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely warm welcome, the bed was hugely comfortable and room facilities were great. Breakfast was delicious and the host helped with extra requests and went beyond expectations for everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place lovely people just what we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We slight issue with our flush but it certainly wouldn't put me off staying again

    The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and the b&b overall was lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    FANTASTIC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing....everything excellenet.!!!!!!!!!!

    The owner Andrew was so helpful and a lovely chap, the hotel is lovely and very welcoming, we couldnt have asked for more, the breakfasts are plentiful and very tasty. I would love to stay at this great hotel again in the future.....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    A great value clean & comfortable guest house, Andrew...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great value clean & comfortable guest house, Andrew & his staff are very welcoming & friendly. Dogs are welcomed in some rooms with no extra charges, which is great. Excellent breakfast too with plenty of choices. Thanks very much, I will return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Just returned from 3 lovely days and will definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No faults at all

    Exceptional breakfast with prompt and very friendly service. The owner, Andrew, made you feel welcome and couldn't do enough to provide a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice friendly host clean room lots of character. Nothing was to Mich trouble.ee even need a room at short notice and it was no problem. Will definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Me and my wife love going away weekends to different places. This place has beaten them all. Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was perfect

    The host were amazing, breakfast was absolutely beautiful, great location, away from noise of town but a 2 minute walk to it, will be returning before the year is out, thank you Andrew and Angie for your hospitality. You guys are great x

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    A really enjoyable break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A more comfortable chair in the room, if space allowed.

    The owner was very helpful and friendly. Loved the period elegance of the building. Breakfast was excellent. Very convenient for the harbour and getting into Torquay itself.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We’re made to feel special , nothing was to much trouble .very relaxed atmosphere excellent for a get away. Breakfast fantastic. Can’t moan about a thing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly not disabled friendly, parking a bit of a problem. But to be fair it is a beautiful old property, so the owners will probably find it difficult with planners to upgrade disabled facilities . But this did not deter us from enjoying our stay.

    The owner was very friendly and welcoming, room was excellent and very clean. Bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    The host, staff and facilities excellent. The breakfast the best I have had
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no nothing that I did not like

    The Host and staff were excellent. The facilities were great. Location excellent a very short walk into town. The breakfast was one of the best if not best breakfasts I have had.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    what you see is what you get here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    what you see is what you get here. Efficiently run and very clean. Nice holiday at the seaside feel and parking on site. Good location. We stayed two nights and booked two rooms: family of 5. The weather was not included in the price!! I am not a fan of background music when dining or in the lounge but most places have background music these days. I prefer quiet. My wife was very happy with our stay here

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Amazing and relaxing. A perfect place to celebrate my partner’s birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish we could have stayed longer

    We received a lovely warm friendly welcome and shown around the hotel. Our room was spotlessly clean and we had a Queen sized bed which was really comfortable. The breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice for everyone’s taste. We have already agreed to visit again. The hotel is in the perfect place for sightseeing with a short walk to the sea front but far away enough to be nice and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Good time was had by all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Andrew the hotel owner was extremely helpful and he looked after the party excellently. Nothing was too much trouble for him and the breakfast was of good quality and was substancial.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Torquays little gem.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    Lovely, clean and quite. Andrew was extremely polite and helpful. Had a fabulous time situated in a perfect location. We usually stay in the local premier inn but Robin Hill will be our fitst choice in future. Thank you Andrew.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Pleasant and comfortable very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park very steep

    Excellent breakfast served in nice surroundings, as it was Easter just a nice little touch of a packet of eggs on each table and a little gift for all the children

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    We would happily stay there again and would recommend the hotel to family and friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no negatives.

    Everything. Room delivered. Breakfast options all you could want and cooked food excellent. Staff excellent and owner very helpful and friendly, nothing too much trouble. Free parking and in grounds of hotel a bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Chilled out weekend in a charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that we didn't like, carpark a bit steep but hotel located on one of the seven hills was to be expected.

    All of our needs were taken care of, great local knowledge and great advice given on what to do for the day including museum visits or local restaurants friendly owner who cooks a great breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    Cold weather in January but so warm and cosy inside. Made 4 day stay really splendid, !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing...

    Wonderful hotel with very welcoming and helpful staff. Wonderful breakfasts., immaculate rooms and soft comfortable really clean beds. Could not recommend enough. Never had better.!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    I would recommend this hotel and we will definitely visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing not to like, you just need to be able to cope with the hills.

    We received a very warm welcome from the owner. He couldn't have done enough to help us enjoy our stay. Good facilities in the room and lovely breakfast. Hotel is spacious and decorated very well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    10
    best B&B we have stayed at for a long time, and a good location .
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not being able to stay longer.

    Lovely Victorian building , owners very friendly and made us very welcome.food the best and good variety. We highly commend the Robin Hill and will most lightly stay there again when visiting South Devon.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.9
    very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    the choice of breakfast was good and we could alter the food to our taste eg fried eggs to scrambled or poached with no trouble....... plenty to eat never left hungry, a good host

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking could be a challenge if the hotel was busy. It’s quite steep.

    The breakfast was beautiful. Freshly cooked and quality products. The room was spaceous, well equipped well decorated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Fab!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Going home.

    Hotel in an excellent postion(Up a bit of a hill) but only 10min walk from restaurants and shops. Staff helpfull and friendly, we will be going back. If you like Indian food you must try the Indian restaurants next to the 10 pin bowling ally.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    A small Hotel that proves that big is not better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As regular visitors to Torquay, we decided to stay at the hotel where my wife's mother worked over 50 years ago. The new owners were obviously person people, making sure that your stay was as pleasant as possible. Very clean , excellent choice at breakfast, comfortable evening bar or tea and coffee in a lounge setting. We have stayed in a variety of hotels over the years in this lovely resort, but for that little extra, you have to stay at the Robin Hill.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay, would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It really was a great place to stay and if I absolutely had to make a negative comment then I would have preferred larger glasses for the juice at breakfast.

    We had great choice for breakfast and the cooked items were of excellent quality. The bed was really comfortable and we had a great night sleep. Our host was very helpful and accomodating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.3
    If you book this hotel do not stay in room 4
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 4 on the 1st floor was very cramped for space,uncomfortably so.Unable to sit on the toilet due to the position of the sink.

    Breakfast was very good but a little rushed.Parking off road was good.Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    Hats off to the owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Alcohol prices a little steep but it is there if you want. Probably would have drank more at the hotel if they had of been lower.

    Breakfast was delicious Owner was sociable and interesting Great place at stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Lovely Torquay stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very steep driveway! Although they cant change that!

    All the staff and both owners Andy, Angie, were so friendly and helpful. The room was spotless and breakfast amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Booked in on a Friday night. Had a very comfortable stay with a great breakfast in the morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Liked everything.

    Friendly staff. Comfortable beds and a yummy breakfast. My daughter stayed here because I couldn't make it down to Torquay and she was very impressed by the staff. As they were very friendly and helpful. She said it was a lovely comfortable hotel. Would recommend to anyone looking for a nice comfortable hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.2
    The hotel was very well run, everything was has it should be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was very well run, everything was has it should be, all the bedding, towels, the china and cutlery were very spotlessly clean the breakfast was lovely you could have any combination and more if you wanted. Congratulations to Andrew and staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Old fashioned service and style!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful character property perched on a hill overlooking Torquay! Great position, walk into town and close to co-op and food. Lovely lady who allowed us to check in early as my husband had a migraine. Breakfast was lovely, served in gorgeous surroundings.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    What a lovely surprise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The driveway is steep so careful navigation when parking the car is required. But it's free and off street so more secure.

    What a lovely surprise! A great room, very clean and comfy room, albeit small, and a welcoming and polite owner. The owner, could not be more helpful. The property is a charming period character. The breakfast was lovely and plentiful. For us , it was the genuine kindness of the owner that made our short stay, so lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    Very good hotel but parking spoilt it for us but not much that could be done about that
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking very high hill to get to front door and not very wide quite difficult to negotiate

    The breakfast was excellent the food and choice was very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking place is tiny and very steep.

    2 rooms for 3 nights. The location ist just 10 mn walk from the Restaurant and marina. The owner was really charmant and helpful. Our familly room was big with a extra room for the child. Everything was clean. The beds were confortable. The rooms were quiet. The breakfast was the best of our holidays (quality and choice). Advice: the Rockfish at the marina is a great choice for fish lovers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Ideal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly welcome. Stayed for hubby's birthday and was upgraded which was fabulous! room was large and clean and really comfy bed too! Very clean throughout the hotel. Bar was well stocked which was nice. Lovely food for breakfast- a good choice on offer. Location was spot on for town too. Took about 5 mins to get to the harbour ( 10 mins back as it is on a hill)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather!! (and that isn't in the jurisdiction of the hotel!) We liked everything and it was typically english - it was very good value for money.

    The hotel is 'quirky' with lots of nooks and crannies. The stairs to the top floor are quite steep but the owner helped us with our luggage so we coped admirably! Andrew, the owner was very friendly and helpful, giving lots of suggestions as to what to see, where to eat etc. The car park is useful albeit steep. It wasn't such a climb as previous reviews suggested and a bus stops really close by that you can get from the town centre - however, it's only a 10-15 minute walk to the harbour and we liked the position.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Really happy and would recommend to anyone staying in Torquay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything

    The room was perfect for a family, breakfast was great with lots of choice and cooked to order. Very close to the harbour and great hosts.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a steep path up to the property but didn,t affect us but might do if anyone not very mobile

    The bed was comfy ,room nicely decorated' owner was friendly nice lounge / bar, and breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.4
    Great hotel and great people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cant change it the walk from the carpark and up the stairs to our room is a challenge for older people. Also the walk to the shops is a little steep for older people

    Andrew and his staff where fantastic. The Hotel was immaculate and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    4.6
    Didn't like the very high up location too many flights of stairs even to the front doors hard to get through narrow.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything and Didn't like the very high up location too many flights of stairs even to the front doors hard to get through narrow doors including bedroom door. no lift room too small to move or breath. Needs major refurbishment everything is a hassle even opening the first door is a struggle. I'm slim and healthy and fit have no disabilities I'm mobile and have no health issues and work full time. This was a difficult stay everything is small awkward to access and stairs galore. Not great with luggage or laptop or for a jog or just walking through a doors that are heavy cumbersome and only half open.

    Clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    4.6
    Accommodation not as advertised
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small and uncomfortablec. No space for suitcases and unsuitable for people traveling with luggage. Bed very small too and hard to sleep. Not 4 star as advertised more 2 star

    Breakfast and location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    The owners were really helpful, they arranged taxis for us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owners were really helpful, they arranged taxis for us and recommended an excellent place to eat. Breakfast was lovely, excellent choice and quality. The full English is recommended. The hotel was clean, quiet and the beds really comfortable. The bar was well stocked and the lounge was a relaxing place to sit. The location was also great as it was a short walk to the harbour. All in all well worth a visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.3
    Great BnB with friendly and attentive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a bit of a nightmare, but it's the same everywhere in the area so it's hard to fault them for the terrain (which is the main reason people visit the area)

    The bed was very comfortable, the rooms were very clean and tidy. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    Staff were extremely friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not suitable for people with walking difficulties as the drive up to the hotel is fairly steep

    Staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. Food was superb and the room was clean dry and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    The most relaxing weekend in this country I've ever had
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful turn of the last century building, close to the harbour and town centre.

    Relaxed atmosphere and great service. The bedroom was very comfortable and the bathroom was amazing. Breakfast will definitely set you up for the day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Great place to stay in Torquay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Staff were most helpful when I needed to park a trailer ahead of my visit. Room was really comfortable with a sort of verandah which provided some shade during the really warm days.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.9
    English breakfast very good first time cold second.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot bedroom. We paid and asked for superior room nothing wrong with the room but don't think it was superior. bar closing at ten thirty bit early as room so hot wanted to stay down stairs where it was cool told if you want breakfast in morning bar is closing.

    English breakfast very good first time cold second. But service very good. Very friendly. Steep stairs to second floor our room was very hot. They did give us a fan which made it much better. Room very small supposed to be superior but it was clean no view out of window owners house. Nice touch with sweets on bar. Good price on drinks every drink was priced.when we left we where asked if we would like to leave car till twelve nice offer as it's hard to park in town

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    A gem on the English riviera!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful old gentlemans residence now updated to a cosy comfortable modern hotel oozing with original features. Our room was beautifully decorated and was bright and airy with a super ensuite .

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: