Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rock House Hotel Guest House 4 stars

Manor Green, Lynmouth, EX35 6EN, United Kingdom

#8 of 8 hotels in Lynmouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 272 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View no 7
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is in the process of being sold and inside is a real mess. The reception area is full of cardboard and papers, the bar had the same dirty glasses on it the whole of our 3 day stay and the chairs in the lounge were covered in papers, blankets and general rubbish with the owner asleep on a settee much of the time. Our room was not made up at all during our stay and there was black mould in the bathroom and in the shower. The present owners had obviously lost heart and were unable to function. A real shame as it was probably lovely at one time.

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View no 7
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not comfy. It was quite a basic room. Reception was very untidy with papers everywhere. The hotel needs a complete refurb to bring it up to a good standard. It is over priced.

    Not impressed!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View no 6
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pump system was close to our room and a little noisey.

    The view was amazing, it was really quit and peaceful and the breakfast kept us full all day! Location in the middle of the village was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View no 6
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no one on reception and it took at least 5 minutes to wake the owner who was asleep on a sofa in the lounge. His dog barked and growled when we tried to approach the owner, who had obviously been drinking. The reception area, stairs and corridors were in need of cleaning. NB There was no restaurant.

    The situation was excellent. The breakfast was good, with prompt and pleasant service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed no 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen was filthy! We looked through the glass to the kitchen and the floors were muddy, the work surfaces covered with dirty dishes and generally everything in the kitchen looked dirty! The bar wasn't well looked after and often couldn't get served. The reception area looked like a dumping ground, behind the desk was an office chair upside down! And there was boxes and junk all over the floor. Seeing all of this was very off putting! When we ate breakfast the first morning, we ran our finger along the wood where we were sitting and it was covered in dust, there was also a knife on the floor, oh and guess what.. The next morning, our finger marks where still visible in the dust and the knife still on the floor! Don't think they cleaned the downstairs at all! It was my 70th birthday, and came away feeling very disappointed. It was also very expensive considering all of the above problems!

    The view was amazing and the room, although small was clean and tidy and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View no 7
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant & Bar closed in the evenings. Place left uncleaned glasses etc left unwash on tables after lunch bar opening still there at breakfast.

    Room ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View no 6
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owner was not very friendly and didn't seem to care. The public areas of the hotel were dirty and smelt strongly of dogs. Although evening meals were shown as being available in the advert, they didn't actually do them. Although there was tea and coffee facilities in the room there was no milk, we were able to get fresh milk from the owner on two of the three days however if we couldn't find him we had no milk! The rooms were not touched in the three days we were there.

    The Breakfast was very good and the member of staff serving at breakfast time was very friendly and helpful. The hotels location was superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed no 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel was very dirty. The reception was very poor, piles of paperwork and broken furniture behind the reception, we were greeted eventually by someone who was less than welcoming (the owner I think) stinking of alcohol and not very welcoming at all. Decor in the room was woeful. The main hotel was not accessible and very un-welcoming. Breakfast was bad, full English with food being cooked in the same oil which was dirty, friendly enough gentleman at breakfast but could have done with removing his coat that smelt of stale cigarettes, that he wore all the time! Overall this was a very very poor visit and hugely disappointing. If there was a chance to get my money back I would!!!

    the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room Ground Floor with Sea View no 9
    • Stayed 1 night

    this hotel has the best location in Lynmouth however when we arrived the owner was drunk & didn't seem to know that we had booked. Booking.com said this was the last accommodation in the town 7 we took it on at a premium price far more than 100's of other available rooms. the tragedy is that the owners partner died in the last year & it has gone from quite acceptable to an absolute dump. He has lost interest & is trying to sell.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Room River view no 8
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, smells, reception what a mess the place was filthy the owners were nice but one of the brothers cooked breakfast in his wellies jacket and scarf never changed clothes for the three days we were there and the bar was his bedroom and it smelt disgusting. The was a strong smell of cannnabis when friend went to ask for toilet paper.a

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room River view no 8
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say!

    The owners were amazing. Very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. When someone says dog friendly hotel you just expect staff to tolerate dogs but this hotel literally thrived on four legged guests even offering breakfast for the dogs in the morning. Highly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View no 6
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had always wanted to stay here but was very disappointed. The carpets had not been vacuumed in i’m not sure how long. They were filthy. The shower was so hot (& I love a hot shower) I could barely have one as there was no cold water.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View no 6
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception was untidy and unclean. All central areas were not cleaned very well. Room was not serviced.

    Location is great, room was ok. Breakfast was good and hearty and served with friendly approach

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View no 6
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bathtubs.. only showers. Not host's fault or choice but walkers need to soak feet!

    The wonderful hosts. They went out of their way to make this a home from home... I had a ball!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room Ground Floor with Sea View no 9
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't get the room we wanted as it had not been cleaned or made up. Accom was generally shoddy and tired, bar and reception were left unmanned for long periods.

    Barman / Chef was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room River view no 8
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Rock House is in desperate need of refurbishment and a good clean so it could be as lovely as it clearly once was. The carpet in our room looked as if it hadn't been vacuumed for weeks and there were lots of cobwebs on the ceiling. The same for the communal areas. Our room was above the reception/bar and we were disturbed by loud music, particularly after 10pm when the volume seemed to increase. Our room was not serviced at all during our stay.

    The location is fantastic with great views, close to pubs and the coastal path. The breakfasts were excellent. Our room although dated was warm, comfortable & had a certain charm. The bathroom was clean. The managers were pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room no 4
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our first impression of the room was good but it did not take long to realise that it was in need of routine maintenance. e.g. some areas of wallpaper and ceiling needed refixing. The toilet cistern did not fill properly (sometimes it took over 30 minutes). The outside of the shower had hair around it and the shower head was covered with black mould. The room was not made up on our second day, so nothing was replaced or cleaned. There was dog hair all over the stair carpet and a huge area of wallpaper hanging from water ingress. Should not be rated as 4 star!

    Excellent Location, room size, furniture, view and quality of food. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View no 6
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are dog owners so we didnt have an issue but i hadnt read anywhere that dogs would be there. Unfortunatley for the price we paid i would have prefered for the room to have been hoovered better to remove the dog hair. Also not the hotel but the setting, if you are wary of heights and are walking i found it very difficult myself to get out of lynmouth up to lynton so i was stuck. Not complaining as it was beautiful

    I loved the setting and the hotel was amazing. The food was outstanding. The staff were more than helpful and keen to make us happy. The room was stunning and the view was great. The room was very modern.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View no 6
    • Stayed 1 night

    On entering the hotel the entrance was very grubby and scruffy it hadn't been cleaned or hoover for a long time with wall paper hanging off a wall where water was leaking from a high widow. The room was very small for a luxury room, cobwebs hanging from the ceiling and a broken window pane that had been tapped up, broken en suite door and the toilet didn't flush properly. Quite disappointing.

    Beautiful location. The breakfast was enjoyable although the grapefruit was off. The hotel was nice and warm, it was a very cold weekend, bedding and towels were very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room Ground Floor with Sea View no 9
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, loved it all.

    Very pet friendly, we were all made very welcome, we loved it and will definitely come back. The owner is very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View no 6
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy pump in cupboard outside our room whenever anyone had a shower. Dining room a little lacking in atmosphere.

    Location amazing and very convenient for getting out and about. Clean comfortable room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed no 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lounge/bar area was shut by 7.00pm. When I queried it was as a result of no one having dinner?? Reception area was untidy and made you feel more effort was needed. Later found out the hotel was up for sale, possible explains the lack of effort.

    Breakfast was particularly good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View no 6
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the location of the property - there can't be a better one in Lynmouth. There was a personalised feel to the service, staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. The bedroom was recently refurbished and beautiful, as was the bathroom (though there were a few niggles there). The public spaces could probably do with some updating and modernising. We had dinner in the restaurant and food was good and value for money. We would definitely return there - what a lovely, friendly place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff! Rude drunk swearing smoking in front of guests..no manners no Hello welcome to our hotel etc unprofessional and this was one of the owners..only good members of staff was the waiter at breakfast and the female cleaner who both worked very hard and were polite..unfriendly dog..standard of rooms..room 1 was the only nice room others all very tired.. Very expensive for the standard of accommodation..

    The location and the breakfast otherwise Extremely Poor service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View no 6
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It seemed difficult to find staff: to check in and out, to locate when we had only booked a table 30 mins earlier (first night) and to take orders for breakfast. It was also disappointing to be refused a table on Friday night, although the place was nearly empty (7.45 pm).

    A lovely setting and very convenient for all amenities. The evening meal we had was very good and also breakfast. The room was clean and very comfortable although rather noisy due to music in the late eve/night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View no 7
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The manager was welcoming at the beginning of our stay, however one afternoon he came into the bar and seemed very exasperated that no one had booked in for dinner. He shouted in the general direction of everyone! The shower pressure was weak and the grouting needs to be cleaned. These are minor gripes however and we would book into the hotel again and recommended it to anyone who visits Lynmouth.

    The location of the hotel was perfect, right on the waterfront. Our room was lovely and excellent value for money. The breakfast was excellent too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the chef could have looked the part not like he had just thrown on whatever clothes were available, if I had seen him earlier I would not have eaten. Never any table clearance.

    The one staff was caring, he did his best but was completely undertrained, the lack of items is to many to point out. The actual breakfast ordered was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the window was draughty though whereas other rooms were double glazed.

    Nice room. good breakfast with lots of options including pastries and yoghurt with fruit as well as the full cooked breakfast. stunning location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room River view no 8
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. It was clean, comfortable and warm Perhaps looking a little tired but at the end of a busy season to be expected. Would certainly stay there again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room no 4
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a shame because the Hotel is in in a fantastic position but the whole place is old fashioned and tired in dire need of upgrading and decoration, not worth the money compared to other property's in the area.

    Position

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything.

    The Breakfast was lovely and the staff were really friendly. We had room 9 downstairs which had great views from both the room and bath room, my mum said the bed was huge. My room room 5 which is a single bed room had a great view too. The garden looked lovely but it was a little chilly so we didn't use it but I'm sure that during the summer this would be great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View no 6
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Bedroom we booked at the Hotel through Booking .Com had been given to some other couple ,and they said that it was Booking ,Com's fault . The Breakfast each morning was totally disorganised , we had to wait 20 minutes for a cup of coffee ,no cups ,sugar on the tables .

    Comfortable Bedroom ,and warm Bedroom .Location of Hotel could not be bettered .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room no 4
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar not open on some nights.

    A beautiful location, very friendly helpful staff, excellent breakfast. We stayed in the best room, damp ceilings and walls, difficult stairs to negotiate. Definitely not for the disabled or infirm. Car park very tight.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View no 7
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners and staff were very friendly and welcoming. They were keen to meet all our requests. Room was very comfortably with lovely river and town view. Breafast was superb and we enjoyed an excellent evening meal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel in darkness by 10 pm when we returned from dinner. No opportunity for a night cap at the bar.

    Excellent eggs benedict. Plenty of choice to suit all tastes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed no 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. We loved the happy and relaxed atmosphere and were sorry that our stay was just a flying one. Maybe we'll stay longer next time. Thank you

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed no 2
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Boiler cupboards opposite our bedroom door made noises at certain times of day and night which made us think there was a boat outside our window. Menu limited at night.

    The staff give you anything you ask for to make your stay more enjoyable. The location is perfect. Beach to the right of the hotel. Everything you need in both Lynmouth and Lynton. Excellent spot. Highly rrecommend recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dog hairs all over carpet on arrival, had to forgo king size bed for a small double. Only one light out of four worked in bathroom. Broken pane of glass taped over and not replaced. Landing light didn't work. No Vodka available. Availability of bar service very intermittent.

    Breakfasts were brilliant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room Ground Floor with Sea View no 9
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking available Room not cleaned / made up Hotel / Room and bathroom very run down Very noisy on a morning when staff commenced work

    Location excellent Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View no 6
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dismal service, terrible staff attitude particularly chef. We booked a table for 7.30pm but as it was such a warm evening decided to sit in garden having a drink first, the chef was overheard to shout that if people book for 7.30pm then they should turn up and not waste his time. Left and went elsewhere for a meal. Window in room broken and boarded up and only light over shower was working, owner said he was having trouble finding workmen to do repairs. Would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

    location only

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed no 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good!

    The four-poster red bedroom looked across the water - totally beautiful view from a beautiful room. Staff are super friendly, and the location is right over a white walkway bridge from Lynmouth shops and restaurants - the Pavilion is excellent, and right beside the historic Cliff Railcar which hauls you up to the further delights of Lynton town up on the cliffs. Alongside the hotel is Lynmouth Green, and the Manor, where an outhouse is the Madrigal brewery - great beers by Justin in beautifully decorated bottles (his wife's artwork) - also available from a shop in the road along the river. The hotel is an ideal and comfortable base for enjoying both towns and their many many attractions. We booked for a wedding at the Pavilion which was wonderful! A Must Do!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room River view no 8
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really , nothing to moan about or any negative experience.

    Wonderful location, plenty of pubs and restaurants in walking distance, spectacular sunsets. Comfy rooms and comfy King size bed. Brilliant couple of days and a great relaxing experience, super friendly staff and lovely house dog called Tide.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View no 6
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many courses on the evening meal menu not available. Owners dog sitting on settee in lounge! Broken window in bedroom. Good bar facilities.

    Food was excellent. Situated in centre of town. On site parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room Ground Floor with Sea View no 9
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. It's one of the worst hotels I have stayed in. We were given room 9 which is a pet friendly room. I have never seen so many dog hairs in my life and the smell was enough to make you sick. I did asked to be moved but was told the hotel was full. Booking.com should make customs awarr room number 9 is for dogs. I would has put me off booking with booking.com again.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View no 7
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Was not best happy when the lad at breakfast removed the tomato that had been put on my plate by mistake with his hands . When you go down for breakfast be in for a long wait as they seemed to just serve one at a time , it can be up to a 15/20 minute wait just to take the hot breakfast order . 3 of the 4 days we were there the order came back wrong and they had written it down .( breakfast is served in a 1 hour slot 8.30 am till 9.30am ) A packet of opened biscuits was found on the bedside table on day 3 that neither myself or husband had had . When we paid to leave we was not asked if we had enjoyed our stay , have a safe journey etc it was just pay and go :-(

    The location was just fantastic . River and the sea just outside the front door just 100 yards away . Small town if you can call it that but also very nice .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View no 7
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything! Just stunning in a beautiful location with amazing scenery!!! We loved the the Hotel, spotlessly clean room & friendly superb service. A family orientated run hotel, steeped in local history. Welcoming & dog friendly with superb quality & service throughout the whole stay. Rooms styled & beautifully clean with stunning sea or river views of this quaint hamlet. Home cooked food & breakfast plentiful. Highly recommended for anyone to experience this beautiful place! We will be back!! AAA+++. I can't recommend this place enough!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room Ground Floor with Sea View no 9
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only drawback Emilio had a staff shortage on at least one occasion.

    The bed was very comfortable and max.size The location was excellent and we were able to enjoy some good walks . Breakfast was very well cooked.Good choice of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room River view no 8
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two most important things for us are 1) Cleanliness 2) Friendly/helpful staff. Excellent on both counts. This is a lovely place for a short stay, sea on one side, river on the other - scenery is amazing, and it changes with the tide. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor meet and greet on arrival - Dubious bar staff who hung around all day with a dog and questioned why I might like another drink when they were shutting the bar at 10.15pm.

    Location - Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View no 6
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not friendly, the hotel stated on website they did evening meals, they did not. Food was poor, for example the breakfast crossants were raw inside, waiter removed them did not comment or return to table. When paying bill were not spoken to took money and walked away.

    Location,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room no 5
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I left key at reception, as long I wasn't late backbreassured would be ok, came back 7.30 pm, it was locked up and I couldn't get in ! Thought I would have to sleep outside, after about 10 mins a staff member came out so I got in.

    Beautiful view, comfortable and not too big.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View no 6
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was not clean when we arrived - floors not vacuumed and bins not emptied. Also floors were not cleaned during our stay. One window had a broken pane covered in black tape. A glass had been broken prior to our arrival and bits of glass were evident in the wash basin and on the bathroom floor. Moreover, the broken glass was in the bin showing that it had not been emptied before our arrival. Water in the washbasin drained away due to missing O-ring on plug. Shower waste outlet partially blocked resulting in you paddling in about 2 inches of water when taking a shower. Corner of shower leaked soaking bathmat. Lounge/bar area grubby in appearance. Dog allowed to lie on settee. No evening meal on offer. The whole place needed a lot of TLC. Parking very tight.

    Hotel understaffed but staff we met were friendly. Room a good size, quiet and with nice view. Breakfast good. Room replenished each day with tea, milk & biscuits.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room Ground Floor with Sea View no 9
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing major, but just felt our room could possibly do with a fresh lick of paint on the walls, but the rest of the hotel looked great, and it didn't put us off wanting to visit again.

    The property couldn't have been any nearer the sea, beautiful views all around. The room was clean and comfortable with a decent shower. We had everything we needed, even our own private little patio in front of our room, (which you accessed through the garden). The staff were very friendly and helpful, so much variety for breakfast, would recommend the full English! Walking distance for Lynmouth and Lynton. Walked for hours, visiting the Valley of Rocks, used the cable car up to Lynton, and back again. Such a pretty place to stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View no 6
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No evening meals even though this was advertised! Clearly this was due to staffing problems which impacted on breakfast service! Once it arrived it was beautifully cooked and presented but staff clearly stressed and under pressure. Rather spoilt things. Reception area needs a facelift!

    Great location with excellent views - very central to all amenities. Staff very friendly and helpful .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed no 2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did phone the hotel before going down to order breakfast in bed for Saturday on our wedding anniversary the owner said that he would bring it up himself it never happened we ended going down stairs he said nothing at all. There was no restaurant at night and to get a meal in lymouth on a Saturday night is terrible the town can't cope with the large in flux of people due to only three pubs in the village also the pubs are with staying paying guests they book in the pub for meals

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View no 6
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They admitted they were short staffed which had a bit of an effect on service ie at breakfast I wasn't offered a refill on coffee bar servicecould have been bettet

    Owners were very nice location excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Room Ground Floor with Sea View no 9
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I loved the proprietor and the homeliness he created in this building. It was warm and friendly - I can't stress how much we enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed no 2
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I regret that I cannot recommend this hotel as a place to stay. The Reception area was a shambles with books and papers everywhere. The whole place is in desperate need of refurbishment and we felt uncomfortable with the surroundings from the moment we arrived (especially as were paying £120 a night). It's a horrible feeling that has only been experienced by my wife and me once or twice before when we've first checked into a hotel and I'm afraid the feeling never left us at this particular hotel. In fact we made the decision to leave after 2 nights, having paid for 4 nights. No offer of reimbursement was made although I accept the deal was 'non-refundable'. There's lots more I could say but please be aware that for £120 a night this place is far short of the standard it should be!

    The location is dramatic

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Appalling mattress had collapsed and very little sleep was gained on two nights.

    Great location, wasted by uncomfortable bed. Good breakfast and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room River view no 8
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking can be hard to find, but it worked out fine.

    Breakfast wonderful; staff very nice and helpful; location wonderful. Great walks and hikes in the immediate area. Hiked up along the Wind Hill trail, glorious views of moor, sheep, solitude.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View no 6
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com didn't tell me it was not a dog friendly room. We were allowed to take the dog still but there was little communication between booking.com and the Hegel.

    Lovely location and perfect for the dog.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room no 5
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mis-information about breakfast times. Also when staff came to the front desk evidently eating themselves, which isn't very professional. I appreciate there may be a small staff cohort but nonetheless there should be some professional standards offered and maintained.

    Great location and very well-equipped room. Sometimes, as a single person, you feel you are a bit short-changed when considering cost vs provision. The single room at Rock House was very small but well-equipped with some thoughtful extras and a fabulous view of the sea and coastline.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room Ground Floor with Sea View no 9
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed they weren't doing food that evening. Also, could have vacuumed a little more to get up pet hair.

    great views over harbour and shore. Nice to hear waves on the shore when the tide was up. Warm rooms and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food was dreadful especially the evening meal which defied description, 8 meals ordered 3 reasonable, 4 sent back, arriving at different times over an hours and twenty minutes, no peas would you believe and many menu choices not available. Chef was the worst for ware if you follow the meaning, lovely location with so much promise, maybe it will change hands, fingers crossed.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room Ground Floor with Sea View no 9
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The proprietor had a major personal tragedy in the last 18 months which had impacted on the upkeep, so decoration and replacement bulbs needed urgently. The hotel ran out of heating oil on the Thursday morning so although electric heating was provided in the bedrooms, the bathroom was cold. Unfortunately that is my pet hate, so I was unhappy.

    The ambience was very good, with the hotel next to the sea. The staff were very helpful, and breakfasts were tasty and swiftly provided. The bed was warm and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View no 7
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because I have walking difficulties I could not climb or decend the stairs on my own. I will know next time though to book the ground floor room.

    The hotel is quite quirky set in a fabulous location, easy for beach & shops. All the staff were very helpful and accommodating. Our dog was allowed everywhere but the restaurant. Lynmouth is a beautiful place to visit.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View no 6
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work in the room, which was a real nuisance., Coffee facilities were not restocked; unless I adked someone to do so. Just a few tweaks to the breakfast eould make it first-class; e.g. Choice of milk (whole milk or semi-skimmed), yoghurts,free-range eggs, sausages from free-range pigs, fresh fruit such as raspberries etc.

    The Staff were all very helpful and friendly, creating a very welcoming atmosphere. The bathroom had recently been refurbished and was nice and clean. The view of the harbour was excelkent and it was lovely to have onsite parking and easy access to restaurants in the town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View no 7
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was uncontrollable and the dining room floor was dirty. It was covered in crumbs and looked as though it hadn't been hoovered for at least a week. The food was not brilliant either, all the pies on the menu were 'off' so I had an omelette & salad which came without the salad and with pieces of egg shell in it. When I requested a salad I was given a few lettuce leaves and some slices of tomato. We returned to our room to relax at about 4.30 on Saturday afternoon after a day's walking and found the noise from the disco which was going on downstairs so loud we went out again to get away from the pop music.

    The location is superb.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room no 4
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a bit small but lots of hot water

    The room - number 4 - was excellent. Great views, nice bed, a couch and table, coffee making facilities. Breakfast was good. The dog (Tide) was a great character! Had a drone to take some great photos out over the sea.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View no 7
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could not open windows in room 7 , and did get quite stuffy ,as the weather was warm ,and the room did catch the sun , but owner was aware of this . Car parking was awkward , as there is not enought car park spaces if the hotel is full .

    Location was excellent .Food was very good . Staff were very friendly , Hotel was clean and tidy .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View no 6
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could have been a bit more powerful but considering the age and that it's a grade 2 listed building was adequate.

    Lovely room with 2 windows making it lovely and light with nice views of the sea and surrounding area. Comfortable and roomy. Nice pub garden you could sit and have a drink on a sunny lunch or evening although does get busy. Quaint and fitting to the lovely little villlage that it sits in.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room no 5
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room. Communication between staff was a bit chaotic and less than jovial.

    Location - great for walking the swcp. Good breakfast. The owner was helpful and generous with the use of the landline.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Twin Room River view no 8
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our stay, faultless accommodation friendly staff, we came away for the first time with a baby with no problems at all, we also have a 8 year old and stayed in a family room. Great breakfast too!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room no 5
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a lot at its quality rating and price. A little more heating in the public areas would be ideal, but this would mean closing the door from the bar to the garden.

    My second visit, this time in the "shoulder" season in March. Customers a bit scarce, hence staffing level a bit iffy, but those present all very good. Room (single) much the same as last time, Breakfast and dinner good. Pity about the weather!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room no 4
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Rock House was warm and full of character but needs some TLC around the edges.

    It's a lovely location to walk and visit . Found a couple of nice eating places especially The Rising Sun pub Lynmouth.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: