Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rockingham Arms by Good Night Inns 3 stars

8 Main Street, Wentworth, S62 7TL, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Wentworth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 415 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    An excellent liocation and facilities spoiled by a badly maintained room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are lovely and spacious. However, our room was not well maintained, particularly the bathroom. The Bath was broken and the edges very mouldy. The light over the mirror didn’t work making shaving less easy. The tv remote didn’t work - though we could work it from the built in buttons. We reported this and to be fair we were offered a room change - but we didn’t think it was worth it for one more night.

    This is a wonderful pub in a stunning location. Really good food. The rooms are at the other side of the road away from the noise of the pub. A great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable, great location friendly pub, good value for food would definitely use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, staff very helpful, quick service of drinks and food, rooms had everything we needed and had a great nights sleep, located on a busy road, at night it was very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.5
    A character in which needs a revamp. Close to Wentworth Woodhouse its main attraction
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom 6 was tired. Light in bathroom did not work. Shower curtain was missing meaning floor was flooded. Ground floor but window did not lock properly. Excessive road noise.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Great Location . Clean Rooms and Lovely food .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A couple of very minor issues . The shower leaked in room 5 which i mentioned and locking the door could be awkward for an elderly or infirm person .

    Lovely location in the heart of the Village across from the traditional English pub .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.1
    lovely but could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom not maintained mold on walls and round bath ,damp in the room and mold on the curtains plus curtians hanging from rail due to fittings missing

    Lovely place but ready for a deco .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful village, lovely walks and a couple of pubs - relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated interior - towel rail kept falling off the bracket in the bathroom - obviously been a leak in the bathroom ceiling - in my opinion bathroom could do with a re-fit. Tv was at one point wall mounted but then moved to top of a cabinet with trailing aerial cable and plaster missing from around the wall bracket . Review may sound very negative but I’d still book again - more a £40 per night than the £53 charged

    Very quaint cottages set in lovely village location- beautiful garden with seating outside the front of the property

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    Perfect for proximity to the wedding we were attending.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Grubby shower sealant.

    The rooms were clean and comfy. Perhaps bathroom fittings were becoming a little shabby but clean. Some new grout or sealant in shower would have made it look better. Food in the restaurant was very good. Breakfast was plentiful and good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Loved our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was abit pricey for what you got and only half the said foods were available

    Beautiful pub & comfy stay. The evening meals were fantastic and very good price. Friendly landlord and we loved our stay. 10 out of 10

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    It’s ok but don’t expect the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No remort for the tv no toilet rolls no tissues the plug wasn’t fasten to the chain in the sink It was ok as far as a room gos but to be honest for a family room well mattress on the floor and yer it did the job but it would have been good if someone had said it’s a mattress on the floor then may be we wouldn’t have booked probably.

    Breakfast was good and the pubs brilliant but allways has been

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    A fantastic village with wonderful walks and good places to eat and relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was generally tired. Despite hard working staff, things were broken and worn out. Come on Good Night Inns, this place needs a refurb!

    Absolutely love the place but was put in a room which had not been prepared properly and had things broken in it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Staff we're excellent, helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot tap in the bath didn't work so I had to fill the bath using the shower head. Jacuzzi fitted to bath but didn't work. Fixtures and fittings old and dated.

    Staff we're excellent, helpful and friendly. The property is beautiful, big beer garden and super old pub with stone flag floor, real character. Super huge bath and huge bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Great traditional village stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I used to go to the Rockingham many years ago when I lived in the UK and was really pleased to see that they offer accommodation now when I was visiting. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the accommodation in the cottage is really lovely, super comfy bed, nice bathrooms and all mod cons in a very old house. Great pub food in the pub and nice sturdy breakfast, all in a relatively untouched village.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    Comfy bed, nice cooked breakfast to order and staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed, nice cooked breakfast to order and staff friendly. Decor a little tired particularly the bathroom but fully functional and for the cost it's fine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Quaint inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather tired, could do with a full refurb in the rooms although very clean, very dated.

    Great staff and manager, friendly customers, superb location. Value for money, quaint

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Good food and convenient for visiting surrounding area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would only book a room at the rear of the cottages, or at the side overlooking the gardens to avoid noise from traffic and the Rockingham Arms itself opposite. There is no double glazing on the windows fronting the road.

    Spacious accommodation in cottages opposite the Rockingham Arms, and not in the pub itself which is noisy on busy days. Convenient for visiting Wentworth Woodhouse and the pretty village of Wentworth itself which has a charming tearoom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.4
    Felt a bit like we were in the way as they were very busy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small jobs that would not take long to fix, broken towel rail, shower curtain grubby and missing hooks, shower head broken, staff not that friendly as it was bank holiday and very busy, shouldn't really excuse good customer service

    The room was tidy and bed sheets clean, good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Lovely, friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extremely soft so we had very little sleep, the room was very warm even with the window open and fan blowing all evening and through the night we were too warm, that being said it was extremely hot weather for the uk.

    The location and staff were amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    Overall very good (as is previous years as well) - I hope to be back sometime next year as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe the fittings in the bathtub (I think it was room 5) need a bit of attention but everything else was fine for me.

    Friendly staff - nice location - reasonable facilities - very nice breakfast - nice pub - interesting history.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Good value and lovely area would be happy to pay a bit more re above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast needs updating, fruit, yogurts & other patisserie should be available. The coffee was dreadful instant!! Bath mat essential in room not to go & fetch from reception. Bathrooms do need decorating particularly the tiling.

    Very comfortable room . Staff very friendly.very good value

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Came back to see the area where I grew up and a good choice to stay for the occasion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very pleasant staff and a very genuine pub with local people who were interesting to talk to and a nice atmosphere. We were out most of the time but made a point of calling in for a beer in the snug by the check in desk when we returned each night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    I have no hesitation in giving rockingham this excellant reference.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    But I would have liked to have seen the Ghost Lady that roams around Wentworth but unfortunately she wasn't roaming during my stay. But perhaps next time she will be.

    Politeness and professionalism of reception staff, bar staff, restaurant staff, housekeeping staff; even the window cleaner and gardener were efficient, polite, and full of fun.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.1
    Ok but could be much nicer place to stay with a bit more money spent on decoration and furniture.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in had no hot water for the bath, also in general the fittings and furniture were in need of replacing and redecoration.

    The Pub is a very nice place to eat with a good varied menu and nice traditional ambience

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    5.8
    Made welcome but property condition let us down.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally poor condition. Rails and hangers falling from walls, decorations not made good from previous repairs. Generally very tired and run down.

    Linen was clean and white Breakfast was hot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.2
    The Rockinham Arms is in a little village called Wentworth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Rockinham Arms is in a little village called Wentworth. Ideally located if you like walks in the countryside. The staff at the Rock are always willing to help and are very friendly. The rooms could do with a bit of a freshen up as they are looking a bit tied, but over the stay was pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.8
    staff friendly,village fantastic,Garden centre is a 10 minute walk where the food is spot on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom desperately needs updating...at present poor ! Shower curtain black at the bottom,clips for the curtain missing,toilet needed to be bleached..Main door to the room internal lock,screws hanging out.The actual room dim,brighter lighting needed (ok if your a moth!) Perhaps a representative could revalue the room as i find that £171 is inaccurate !

    Location fantastic....

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    6.3
    We have stayed in a lot of places, Wentworth is lovely so would recommend .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was nice, was told it was honeymoon suite! I would ask for my money back if it was honeymoon suite! Bed not very stable and uncomfortable! No bath just a walk in shower/wet room!

    The location is perfect , Wentworth is gorgeous and a lovely atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    An excellent place to stay.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it was all good.

    We ate an evening meal there and this was really good and an amazing price. The breakfast was the biggest and best breakfast we have ever had in a hotel. The staff were really friendly and the service was quick and efficient. Although the decor was a little bit dated, the rooms were comfortable and clean. Overall, a great place to stay. The village it is in was really lovely and it is close to the motorway but not close enough to hear any noise. Great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    2 night stay in Wentworth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't that we didn't like it as such, it was just a bit tired and need updating. Also the the bed could have done with upgrading as it was sloped at the edge and was a good chance of falling out.

    The location is fantastic, lovely views great walks, all in all just a great place to stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.0
    I would rate it as a two.not good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness poor Mould on shower curtain,toilet roll holder hanging off the wall,dirty tiles. Main light not working properly. Hairdryer not working Crack bathroom mirror,light above not working. Screws hanging out of the lock on the main door.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Lovely inn in country village surrounded by beautiful countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows a bit "lumpy". Had to walk across quite a busy road from pub to rooms and back for beeakfast. ( lunatic speeding drivers not the hotel's fault!)

    Lovely country pub with rooms. Very clean. Comfortable beds. Big powerful shower. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.9
    Good bed and good breakfast.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was so hot in the room. The windows were awful needed replacing.

    Breakfast was good. Nice to see some fresh fruit at breakfast time. Bed was comfy. Shower was so good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.5
    Fish and chips were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we ate in the bar and it was pretty cold. The pub has open / log fires but despite an outside temperature of about 1C no fire was alight.

    Fish and chips were excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    8.8
    We hope to be back next year!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee at breakfast was disappointing with only toast and cereal offered for the continental breakfast (no croissants or pastries). Having said that, my husband had a bacon sandwich which he said was excellent.

    Lovely, traditional pub in exactly the right location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.1
    Lovely setting, staff and food but accommodation let it down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked to be moved from bedroom as smell of mould. Next room very good. Felt sleeping accommodation needed tlc

    Bar, restaurant, food, location very good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Very pleased with the location and standard was fantastic ! See you again . Thank
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious for a twin room The bathroom was very clean and light The food from the pub was homemade and large portions ( had the festive menu )

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    6.3
    Pleasant but at the price could have been better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken bath, mouldy grouting. The curtains had mouldy linings. The room was bougvenough to accommodate a small table and chair to sit at other than the dressing table.

    Breakfast was great. Parking a bonus and location perfect for our purpose at that time.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.6
    Would deffenetly visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff very pleasant gave us a lot of information for our visit to wentworth woodhouse our purpose for the visit Cosy old cottage accommodation very quaint

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    3.8
    My stay was fine until returning to my van to find it damaged 230 miles away from home
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park security !!!!!!! my van was broken in to and I’m left with the damages.....the van was in sight of 2 cctv cameras and they didn’t see the what happened the police have told me the cctv is of poor quality the car park night time lighting needs to be updated to prevent the happening to another tradesmen vehicle.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.9
    The staff were great and very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slight concern regarding the cleanliness, but I feel really mean saying so. Rather a lot of cobwebs around, and not that happy about the pink mould at the bottom of the shower curtain, or around the taps.

    The staff were great and very welcoming. The food was good, and reasonably priced. Lovely atmosphere, and great location. Wonderful real ale.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    5.4
    Terrible Breakfast and made to pay up front!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Forced to pay up front upon arrival and not allowed to leave open tab for meals drinks etc. Breakfast was terrible. Mirrowaved bacon that was then but in an oven to keep warm. They call it baked bacon! Disgusting. No wonder they charge up front. No refund offered! I have written to their head office.

    Room was comfortable and warm.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Wish we’d have stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave, was only a 1 night stay for a concert that was on at Sheffield Arena.

    The overall appearance of the place, the beds were really comfortable, the rooms were clean. The staff were lovely too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely village, great pub and b'n'b, perfect if youre attending an event at the Wentworth woodhouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom shower curtain looked like it had mould on it so should have been changed,and the bathroom roller blind had black marks all over it.

    Bedroom was clean and tidy well maintained, breakfast was lovely and the food in the pub was nice also. Beautiful area situated in a small village.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    3.8
    Terrible!!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Where do I start - King Size bed described but it was a double bed, phoned reception straight away to enquire if we had been given the wrong room, only to be told that none of the rooms have king size beds!! No headboard on the bed itself, just pillows against a bare wall!! The bathroom size was large but poorly maintained - bath was damaged on one of the sides so did not take a bath, opted to shower instead only to find the water leaked onto the floor so I slipped stepping out resulting in a huge bruise on my leg. Whilst on the floor I could see that the bath panel had screws missing and the one remaining was actually hanging out loose. No toilet paper holder (just the attachment on wall) so paper left on top of toilet, hairs on bathroom window ledge too so had not been cleaned properly. Bedroom carpet had seen better days, very worn and needed cleaning, did not use any of the drawers either as there was staining on the inside which put us off using. Cobwebs on the ceiling, which was papered and needed redoing!! We stayed in room 5 - perhaps the other rooms are all maintained adequately as the feedback I read prior to booking all seemed positive. Finally do not expect to get much sleep as the road is busy after 6am , the secondary glazing does nothing to keep the traffic noise out. Needless to say I will not be booking a room with this hotel chain again, my partner informed the manager by phone on the day we checked out, as not available at the time how unhappy we were with the room being sub standard and not maintained adequately and were told they would look into it and get back to us? We have stayed in wonderful hotels but I am afraid this is not one to include on our list.

    Car parking facility was good - apart from that nothing, found the room very neglected and poorly maintained.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel with awesome staff! If you're going to Wentworth, stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were lovely, very welcoming and accommodating. Room was comfortable and warm. Good Nights Inns restaurant was really very good, LOVE those chicken strips, the cheesecake dome is a must-try! Great hotel in a lovely village. Have stayed there twice now and absolutely convinced I'll be back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    Basic hotel room with friendly staff in the adjoining village pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was right on roadway and had double glazing, but traffic through village makes it a bit noisy in the morning. Room and facilities a bit tired; wifi connection dropped out regularly and tv reception also not great.

    Helpful and friendly staff running both the pub and adjoining accommodation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    we will go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff could not have been better--the menu was large and the food was superb. There was a nice car park for people staying and our two night stay could not have been better. We will be back again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    5.8
    The location is beautiful but things like the bed etc need sorting out and mayb the carpet replacing
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The king size bed was uncomfortable and bowed in the middle and the headboard was broken, leaning over u as u laid down

    The breakfast was lovely and the lady who took our order was lovely and helpful as well as the lady who checked us in

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor phone service with "no signal" but we appreciated it is not your fault and out of your control.

    Clean and well serviced rooms with attentive staff both in the rooms and bar and restaurant. It was a reunion of Lady Mabel College and we were made very welcome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.2
    A good location for visiting Wentworth Woodhouse and the garden centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My bed had some squeaky springs. Noticed no phone in case of emergency during night.

    Staff welcoming. They did not mind serving 14 people on a reunion celebration. Food delivered on hot plates. Breakfast included fresh fruit salad as well as a cooked option.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Friendly and comfortable stay at the Rockingham Arms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old Windows difficult to open in room. Decor a little bit bland.

    Large room with a comfortable bed. Convenient parking. Good food/beer on cosy adjacent pub.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.8
    Comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Broken Towel rail by sink that had been removed but not replaced. Shaving Mirror light not working. Shaver 240v outlet in the same light unit wouldn't hold plug so didn't work. All windows opened and secured but not open enough to let in air or steam out of the bathroom. Bathroom window has large braches of Ivy growing through window opening and into inside window space. Plastic 'glasses' not replaced on room service so left with day before's juice in bottom of 'glasses'. Towels left strewn over sink by room service (probably due to not having a towel rail) so were still damp on return to room that evening. TV reception bad, only BBC seemed ok, and 1 or 2 others were there but broken signal. (However not important to me as I didn't go to watch TV). No fresh brewed tea/coffee with breakfast in morning, tea and coffee at breakfast is catering sachets as found in rooms. So at £7.99 for cooked breakfast not that impressive.

    Comfy bed. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.0
    Disappointed and not good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to room with large suitcases is impossible due to steep, narrow and crooked staircase. Old and in need of an upgrade.

    Quaintness and local history. Good bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Wentworth is just lovely . nothing is far from your location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location brilliant cannot fault . I have had the pleasure of staying here a few times nothing I dislike

    Lets start with the bar staff, brilliant , meals value for money accommodation faultless need I say more I like The Rocky Arms ..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was comfortable and clean but needs attention: paint was coming off the wall in one corner and the door lock had been replaced at some time, but not finished off properly. Narrow corridors, steps and several fire doors were not handy when carrying luggage

    Quiet location in an interesting village. Plenty of parking space. Comfortable bed. Plenty of tea and coffee provided in the room (and real milk, not powder!)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.3
    Short weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Offsite reseption was strange you have to check in at the pub across the road and then you have to be taken back across the road to be shown to your room but the staff were quite polite and helpful. We booked a table in the restaurant down stairs had to order our meal in the pub upstairs also the drinks had to be ordered from the bar upstairs by ourselves and carried back downstairs by our selves this was a great inconvenience as there was a downstairs bar which was not open there was plenty of staff available to take drinks and food orders but this isn't how it works here on the whole was very disappointing.

    Nice location close to major towns and cities quiet little village with decent pubs and nice walks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.8
    Very comfortable
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really that we didnt like except the fire alarm going off at 3am and then struggled to get back to sleep, other than that it was lovely.

    The room was lovely nice and big the bed was huge and really comfy, breakfast was really enjoyable and lots of choice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    4.2
    Referred my very poor experience to Green King ....would not stay again or recommend.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a b&b rate but told on arrival that breakfast only started at 8am, had to leave without breakfast to make a business meeting. Asked for invoice at check in as would be leaving before pub opened, unable to print invoice, promised to email but didn't and had to chase later. Had dinner; meal was not served with the side included on menu when I asked was told they had been busy and run out ...obviously hoped I didn't notice. Extra, paid for topping on burger was minimal and very poor value. Request for sauces ignored. Room tired and not very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful choice of breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. Loved the quietness of our room and the charm of the centuries old building.

    Wonderful choice of breakfast. Great hoice of Evening Meals.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Great for travelers looking for a cozy UK experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the first night or two it was hard to determine if anyone would be able to help me answer questions or heat food late at night. Granted, I'm from an area where late night accommodations are normal, but it was just confusing on where I could go and at what times.

    The room was cozy, bed comfy, food was *amazing* both breakfast and dinner! The people here are wonderful and so friendly, and the area is peaceful and great for walks away from the London craziness.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    3.8
    Dreadful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet seat loose, dirty bathroom floor, different height beds, mattress' s worn out, duvet ripped, floor dirty. Had to pay when we arrived and the staff was far from friendly and he watched as my wife struggled with her case and all of this for £90 what a bargain

    Breakfast and staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    Travelled to Wentworth to see the estate where my Great Uncle was head gardener till 1946.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a fire alarm in the middle of the night which was a bit unusual, a first for me in any hotel actually, but the manager was on the ball and the all clear was given and everyone went back to sleep. Can't blame the hotel for that! Professionally executed!

    Quaint Yorkshire pub, very welcoming and quirky. Good atmosphere, food and staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location for visit to Wentworth Woodhouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was fairly basic but OK. Despite the rooms being named after the famous Wentworth Woodhouse characters - Whistlejacket, Lady Isobel etc. there was nothing in the room to continue the theme - a print on the wall would have been nice.

    Quiet room. Enjoyable evening meal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    6.7
    Ok ish.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needed some restoration, mould in the bathroom, stains on the divan,no details of breakfast times,general hotel details in room,window didnt open easily,had a tepid shower with red setting on full.Strange dripping noises every time someone else in another room used their water.As a woman alone I felt uncomfortable to leave tge window open at night as I was on the ground level, a grill perhaps?

    A very comfy bed, friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic value for money
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extractor fan in the bathroom didn't work and the opening of the room window was very restricted. This made for an uncomfortably warm room.

    Friendly staff, good food and great setting

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    6.7
    great pub in a great place but rooms tired and need more cleaning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    food was average pub food. room was tired and dirty. Make your own instant coffee for breakfast was poor.

    great location and pub atmosphere.Staff very good. Prompt service.Room size,facilities and quietness were very good. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice little rest stop 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were tired and in desperate need of redecorating. Outside space needs sprucing up and a quick dust round the curtains wouldn't go a miss, but for what we paid(£40) I was not complaining.

    Pub and restaurant is beautiful. A warm welcome in stunning surroundings.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.1
    Good for a leisure trip, not so good for business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely no Wi-Fi, big stumbling block when you are away on business, room right on the road and noisey.

    Breakfast was good but far to big. Good super king size bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    4.6
    Good location but accommodation very poor and in need of refurbishment
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation was poor. The bedroom smelt damp and there was mould showing on the walls and ceilings. Clearly there were roofing problems. TV wall bracket was dangerous and virtually falling off the wall. Plaster was rotten. Bedroom 4 faces the main road so traffic noise started at 6.00 am

    Staff were helpful and food was fine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    6.7
    Dissappointing compared with our last visit ten years ago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service was poor! We were accompanied to lunch by my ninety year old father, so outside was easiest, yet the service was non-existent outside. Food was just about okay, but not as good as the George & Dragon down the road, where my wife and I dined in the evening.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    6.7
    Could have been better
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    General appearance is a little grubby and requires quite a lot of TLC! Being disabled my Wife and myself had difficulty transporting food from the breakfast buffet to our table especially our Coffee (Cup and saucer and walking sticks just were not designed for each other to be used at the same time). Instant coffee was a disappointment we would have willingly paid extra for fresh coffee on our table

    Nice quiet village location good pub with good menu and good food at very reasonable prices, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe improve the wifi as we couldn't get it to work, an instruction manual or something small

    I liked that the rooms were in out buildings and they were spacious and comfy, very little noise and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.5
    The accommodation is in an old building which looks...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Inside is not so good it could be cleaner and our bathroom window could not be opened.

    The accommodation is in an old building which looks fantastic and the village is lovely, the staff are great and breakfast is good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    5.0
    Potentially a fantastic pub and b&b but sadly far from that.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was basic, bath hot tap didn't work, extractor didn't work, room wasn't cleaned between day one & two, coffee tray wasn't cleaned or replenished and wet towels were not removed or replaced. Breakfast was poor, factory food and greasy. When I asked a simple question: "Is there sugar in the orange juice." I was told that the staff can't give advice. A big folder was given to me to read but, as I didn't have a magnifying glass with me, I couldn't read it. The member of staff then went and got the juice box and it clearly said that it did contain sugar. Why the staff can't tell customers what is in the food is beyond me.

    The building is beautiful and has such potential.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    7.9
    Could look to numerous small items. (I'm off to the US next week!)
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ordered from menu by pointing at item but was billed (and credited) for something else. Was asked if I required brown or white bread, said 'brown', got white. Incorrectly advertised that there was no breakfast meal option, took my own food for first morning. Breakfast was an extra and appeared to be leftovers. None of the advertised croissants. Room 10. Continual noise from plumbing all night; changed rooms. Toilet roll holder falls off wall, probably why it's bent. FOUR separate sets of instructions of drill in case of fire attached to rear of room; confusing in an emergency. Room 1. No internal lock on door, chain broken. No 'stars' or similar on plain glass wall in shower room. Anyone with poor eyesight could walk into it. Glass shelf loose. Didn't mention all these items.

    Towels were fine Manager was kind and attentive

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    8.8
    Cracking place, great value - just check re the stairs
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall still rate it very highly but two things to mention.... Didn't have any hot water in the morning - staff were genuinely very sorry and offered the use of the shower in one of the other unused rooms - appreciated. Not an issue for me but when booking make sure you're on the ground floor if you have any accessibility / mobility issues.... the stairs are quite steep and narrow. Would be useful to have this made clear on the description when booking.

    Lovely village pub with great staff..... what i call a proper village pub, lots of stone, nooks and crannies, loads of great beers and good hubbub of people. Accommodation is in a separate converted block of cottages across the road from the pub so it's quiet. Not massively flash but rooms were very clean, plenty of space with everything you need and an absolute steal at less than £50 inc breakfast. Didn't have evening meal but the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: