Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rose in Vale Country House Hotel 4 stars

Mithian, St. Agnes , TR5 0QD, United Kingdom

#4 of 7 hotels in St. Agnes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 275 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    tranquil setting ,convenient location for touring the north...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Background music in dining room and bar .Classics would have been more appropriate for the location

    tranquil setting ,convenient location for touring the north and south coast.Staff were friendly and efficient .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    So much promise but not quite there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inside of the building felt very dated and a bit tired and didn't reflect the beautiful Georgian facade of the original house at all. The dining room decor resembled that of a Holiday Inn rather than a period building with bizarre coloured lighting. My stay happened to be during a heat wave and the pool was a very welcome bonus (my room was rather stuffy), but the pool was rather dirty... It is difficult to keep a pool in the countryside clean but there were dead leaves at the bottom and many flies floating on the surface as there didn't seem to be an appropriate filtering system? Restaurant was massively overrated for the price I felt. Food was good but nothing particularly exceptional and the whole dining experience felt a bit amateur unfortunately, compared to other restaurants of a similar price. Breakfast, however, was excellent. It just felt that it wasn't quite value for money... it was a really enjoyable stay but didn't quite meet expectations.

    The setting is just perfect... Beautiful Georgian building set within pretty grounds just a 5 minute walk from one of the oldest villages in Cornwall with a lovely local pub...idyllic. Just a 5 minute drive from St Agnes and all its amenities and stunning beaches/coves. Ideal location... peaceful, quiet but not cut off. Small staff team very helpful and friendly and tried very hard. Breakfast very good indeed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.7
    Make sure you get a decent room if you do stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Possibly because we booked the last room, but it was expensive, tiny, and had a very small window.

    Building and surroundings are beautiful. Breakfast was decent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room smelt like a whole bottle of dettol had been sprayed. It was such a strong unpleasant smell. My partner struggled whilst in the room. Room was very small and hot/ Stuffy for the two of us. Very expensive food/ drink knowing this beforehand we chose to eat elsewhere before arriving. Swimming pool/ hot tub was limited to 19:30 of an evening. When we were happy to use it after this time knowing it was daylight for longer.

    The breakfast was 5* got to help ourselves to a cold buffet, with Croissants, Fruit, Cereal and so on. And order a cooked meal of our choice via the menu. Waiter/ Waitress on duty were very good! Bathroom (bath and shower) were very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Dreamy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely stunning gardens, lovely helpful staff, breakfast was wonderful... Great Cornish location, pool, hot tub for use.... The most comfortable bed I’ve ever slept in....

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.1
    Not bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - while taste was acceptable - the traditional Cornish left a lot to be desired. Each item on a traditional breakfast should together fill the plate and instantly give you a sense of hearty wholeness, however, the traditional Cornish at Rose in Vale looked lost on the plate (similar to the oddly plated evening meal). When paying a lot of money to stay at a hotel; then, looking forward to the excellent food, as per the reviews and awards on the website; there is a certain expectation that just wasn't achieved. I expect that if I were to ask to swap items on a breakfast, that a hotel would be accommodating, sadly the Rose wasn't. Then for the oddly plated evening meal, I ordered the flat iron steak, understanding that this particular cut should rival the tenderness of a fillet and flavour of a rib eye, alas, to my shock the steak was neither cooked as requested nor was it presented acceptably on the plate. A raw, aggressively carved whole tomato sat alongside the ruined steak with a 'stack' of three chips and a couple of fried button mushrooms. I first asked myself why? Then the side board of chips and sauce arrived which answered partly the question of the 'stack' of chips, yet the idea that a 'chef' would carve a whole tomato without cooking it and then randomly plonk it on my plate next to the overcooked, halved steak, left me wondering all the more?! I had to return the pepper sauce as it was bitter, watery and overall nothing at all what a pepper sauce should be. Thankfully, the replacement dianne sauce was fast in its arrival to the table, sadly it was relagated to the edge of the table as it was a horrific excuse for what is expected for a dianne sauce. Altogether the food experienced at Rose in Vale left a lot to be desired and was quite frankly, not good enough. The room - while comfortable, was potentially one of the most noisy rooms I've ever stayed in.

    All staff we're helpful, kind and friendly. Comfortable bed, great shower and good range of tea and coffee making facilities. Very accomodating at short notice and acted upon special requests as per the booking. Good level of contact prior to stay to ensure we had everything we needed. Rose in Vale was a lovely place to stay, in a great central location to all key Cornwall tourist spots. The potential for the use of a pool is a novelty and rare find for the price in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was really poor considering how much the room cost I've had a bigger breakfast at a Premiere Inn

    Staff were very nice and helpful, room was clean and comfortable with a nice view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice place in a lovely location let down by breakfast which was really so-so.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was not super comfy. Breakfast was a disappointment. Awful music. Same on both days. Cutlery stuck to the table surface. Not great coffee. Small portion of overcooked scrambled eggs NEXT to unbuttered tepid toast. Why not have hot toast with butter and a decent portion? Other country house hotels have linen tablecloths, silver coffee pots, butter in a dish on every table, not in pats on central buffet. Having eaten some toast and asked for more we got ONE piece of toast cut into two triangles. There were three of us. Still, it made us laugh.

    Location was great. Lovely building. Our room was compact and had no view but everything worked well (except hairdryer). Staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Elegant peaceful and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A haven of tranquility ideal for time away from the hustle and bustle. It has the feel of an individually styled hotel which gives it a wonderful sense of calm and elegance. The staff were particularly warm friendly and welcoming with lots of genuine smiles.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    Staff were the best part of the visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast - my muffin was cremated on first morning. No water in the room - when paying £164 per night this was very disappointing

    Staff were the best part of the visit. Breakfast on Sunday very sparse although the young man on duty was very kind and got a fresh croissant for me. No pain aux chocolat - just fruit and cereal. Cadbury's cream egg left by the very friendly housekeeping staff was much appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Fabulous find of a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extractor fan in the bathroom didnt work but thats so minor in comparison to how lovely the rest was so wasnt bothered

    Perfect stay in a warm welcoming facility. Loved all the staff and the room was spotless and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    Apart from food incident which is what it is very relaxind
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a complaint re tough lamb at evening dinner,actually started to debate with me at table rather than jaccept it was rubber!

    Lovely location,great building, would love to go back in the summer

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Home from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast cooked to order Staff were brilliant and engaging Great cocktails in bar Had great conversations with hotel owner and his daughter who invented all the cocktails. Rooms clean/spotless

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband didn't have a full Cornish breakfast and just asked for bacon and tomatoes. He asked for extra tomatoes. (Two tomatoes on menu,that's two halves). No extra tomatoes arrived so I gave him mine. Second day, same thing. This time we both got half a tomato! Asked for more and he was given another half. We felt embarrassed after already requesting more to ask why there was a lack. We did mention it to reception on being asked for feed back. It was a shame as it left us a little discontented.

    The staff we met were really lovely, friendly, proffesional and helpful. The room was really clean. Comfy bed. Great shower. Beautiful surroundings. Attractive and well maintained building. Great local pub Miners Arms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.4
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room far too hot even with the small window fully open.It didn't have a small fridge in the room which you would expect when nearly paying £200 per night and when we asked for a bucket of ice were told there would be a £7.50 corkage charge. There was also an unsightly bucket of water outside the restaurant filled with cigarette butts.

    The restaurant had excellent food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.0
    Lovely setting. It was adequate but probably would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    On reflection the advertising did not match the actual place. It was portrayed to be something more grand than it is. The setting in the gardens is very pleasant but the bathroom could have been a bit larger and the toilet seat could have been the correct size for the toilet. The shampoo and body wash could have been more accessible to use! The pump action did not work very efficiently and was difficult to use. The staff could have been a little more friendly. It was difficult to get a smile out of them at times.

    The surrounding gardens were lovely. Plenty of areas to walk and enjoy them. The setting is tranquil and peaceful. The bed was comfortable and spacious. Towels were fluffy and large. Water pressure in shower is excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.8
    Character falls well short of expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was pretty bland and apart from the great looking front façade on the picture which had originally attracted my husband and I to it in the first place, was pretty much modern and lacking in character for the rest of it. More like a Premier Inn than a country house hotel. Therefore we felt it was vastly overpriced for what it actually is. Pretty disappointing as we were hoping for something a bit more special, particularly at the price.

    The breakfasts were very good, the location and surroundings were very pleasant. Dinner in the evening was good, but expensive, and the dining room lacks any character or ambience of a country house hotel. Says it is dog friendly but it isn't really. They are tolerated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    Good restful stay the hotel could be more welcoming with some lights at the entrance/driveway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fish on breakfast menu. No real change to fruit option in the morning Evening meal was quite expensive some starter dishes were misleading and didn't have the correct ingredients in it

    There was plenty of selection and you could ask for different options although some of the choices were expensive

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    3.8
    so disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A complete rip off. We paid £180 for one night (we had just got married that day). The room was tiny and very dark, the toiletries consisted of a bottle of shower gel and bar of soap, and the tea/ coffee facilities were just awful and UHT mini pots of milk/sachet coffee etc - I never normally mind that in places you pay £60 a night for but for £180 for one night I do expect better. The hotel looks lovely and picturesque but I felt so disappointed by the inside that we left first thing in the morning

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.2
    A most relaxing and quiet location with superb grounds/leisure areas. Recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food is 'Nouveau Cuisine' to an extreme ( i.e. large plates, small portions + price) but superbly cooked and presented. Menu is rather limited.

    The most beautiful & quiet location 'inland' in Cornwall in our view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice facility for a quiet stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I usually bring along a multi-tool and on this occasion it came in useful to fix the door lock. Sadly there was nothing I could do with the very leaky shower which flooded the floor on the first day - towels were used to avoid disaster on the 2nd day The Duvet was suitable for a bleak-mid-winter and we asked for a lighter duvet which was not available but the staff were kind enough to put ona flat sheet which was ample under the conditions. The choice of music was left up to the young staff in the dining area which would not have been out of place at a disco. Maybe that just shows my age......

    Loved the quietness of the fascility.....The rooms were a good size and well equipped. The curtains were heavy and the room was dark which I appreciate in a room. Breakfasts were adequate, but woe betide if you wer late.....

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.4
    Not very satisfied, not value for money, definitely would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cobwebs in corner of room on skirting board,dust on the back of the headboard, shelf over the sink in bathroom hits your head when you bend down to wash/ clean your teeth, the room tea making facility the sugar was not replaced in 3 days, the breakfast table was sticky to the touch, the toast at breakfast had wet corners, a full English breakfast was ordered without mushrooms and a well done egg, it was served with mushrooms and a very runny egg.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    The breakfast was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very good Swimming pool etc very good Nice place to stay best value of the 3 hotels we stayed in that week. would stay again. Just got back from work not writting any more

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    4.2
    AWFUL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Awful customer service, were lied to about a security light outside our room window so it was like being Steve Mcqueen's character in the 'great escape' Hilts, with the light on ALL night resulting in very little sleep. We were told it was a sensor light that had a problem so they called an electrician but that was a lie it was a security light that came on when dusk fell & stayed on all night. The management response was VERY poor and were not interested in addressing our concerns, they viewed those in the smaller rooms as not worth looking after, 'well you are in the cheapest room' which at £125 per night is not cheap & the room was VERY small. We had stayed in the hotel before in a more expensive suite but all we could book was what was available which was a small room. DO NOT STAY IN ANY OF THE SMALLER ROOMS. YOU WILL BE DISRESPECTED AND OFFERED POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE. ROOM 2 HAS THE SECURITY LIGHT OUTSIDE THE WINDOW

    not very much

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely, could just have had more atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was very big with very few of us in there both at dinner and breakfast so it felt lacking in atmosphere. Every part of what you want from a hotel was excellent apart from the ambiance. It was very quiet which is fine but not for such a big place. So NOT a complaint by any stretch, just an observation.

    The food is fantastic and worth the price. Do try cocktail hour, LOVELY. Breakfast was great. Room was great and we chilled by the pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Old world charm with all the modern extras. Would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain about - lovely place!

    Enjoyed the novelty of eating a cream tea in the seating pod in the grounds. Very pretty grounds to the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.2
    Really lovely small hotel a couple of miles inland from...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really lovely small hotel a couple of miles inland from Perranporth tucked away in a beautiful small vale/hamlet. Friendly staff, good food and drink and decent wi-fi/internet as well! Loved it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.1
    Lovely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift not very accessible, difficult to find. Bath steep to climb in and have shower!

    Comfortable bed. Parking good. Location good. Friendly staff. Pool looked good but unfortunately not the weather for it, despite it being August!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    Excellent first time in Cornwall and would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a lovely time here. The room was clean and comfortable. All of the staff were lovely and friendly. They were always willing to help with any queries we had. I would recommend this hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely room, beautiful gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi extremely poor and staff not at all helpful when asked about it. Some aspects of food not great such as dessert at dinner and breakfast fruit salad obviously made a few days before and going fluffy....

    Lovely room, beautiful gardens

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.8
    Very relaxing and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think our room may of been close to or above the laundry as I heard a continuous noise like a tumble dryer when we went to sleep.

    Bed was very comfortable and the bath had a jacuzzi. Also the restaurant staff were lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    6.3
    After checking out, I left feeling completely ripped off.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, the rooms were very small and the decor and TV's were extremely dated. It's difficult to understand why I paid nearly £150 to sleep on an uncomfortable, cheap mattress when you can sleep on a Hypnos at Premier inn for half the price. The night that I stayed, the entire building was evacuated due to a fire alarm at 1.30 in the morning. When leaving the next morning, feeling sleep deprived and unimpressed, not being offered any sort of compensation for my terrible nights sleep was disappointing.

    The property has a great setting, it's a lovely building in beautiful gardens. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful, adult retreat with stunning outdoor areas and facilities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a small double room and it really was quite small but I guess that's my own fault as that's what I booked!

    Extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful staff, especially the gentleman who was on reception when I arrived. Beautiful, relaxing location close to the coast. Pretty gardens with what looked like lots of lovely seating areas, unfortunately I didn't get chance to sample these along with the outdoor pool which looked amazing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Relaxing hotel break by the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff couldn't have been more friendly. I was made to feel very welcome, which is not always the case for a lone traveller. Lovely comfortable room. Fantastic food and wonderful range of cocktails. The building is set in lovely grounds. You can stroll from bench to bench admiring the plants. I didn't swim but the pool looked very inviting.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Peaceful location, beautiful gardens, spacious room and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool could of been a little warmer !! A mini fridge in the room or even the option to hire one would of been great.

    Peaceful location, beautiful gardens, spacious room and bathroom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.5
    Pretty and private getaway for piece and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a very small window and no air con so it was very warm. The bed was unattached to the headboard and on wheels so it moved around. Also the bed was incredibly soft which did not suit my partner and I although this may be comfortable for others. We booked a double room but were only supplied towels and dressing gown for one person.

    Very welcoming staff that were helpful throughout our stay, wonderful location with huge grounds to enjoy. Food was well priced and very tasty as were the drinks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    Quite comfy room with perfect view of pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite comfy room with perfect view of pool. Good conversation with the owner in the downstairs bar on arrival that made us very welcome. Would happily stay again and refer others.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Situated in a very quiet Vale.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Situated in a very quiet Vale. Excellent walks all around. We were attending a wedding reception at St Agnes. The hotel is very close - within walking distance along the coastal path. Takes about an hour. The hotel was very pleasant indeed. A very relaxing retreat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit small with a very small window, given the cost of the room The hotel looks a bit shabby in places with dated decor. Shower screen leaked water onto floor.

    Very quiet and peaceful Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was closed even though the weather was hot and it was the end of May Outside furniture was covered in moss and you couldn't sit on it

    Comfortable room. Nice garden

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    A beautiful place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was lovely. Very welcoming, shown to our room and shown where everything was. Nothing was too much trouble. Very personal. Lovely garden to sit in, room was tastefully decorated with a view of the garden. A perfect place to stay. Have stayed before and will stay again. Cannot fault anything.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    6.3
    Food didn't live up to the description given on the hotel website.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    DIdn't think this was a 4 star. Toast at breakfast was only sliced, would expect better for a 4 star hotel. Starter was very expensive for what arrived. Steak was not very tasty and rather fatty.

    Quiet location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    6.3
    So/so
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast girl was incredibly Unfriendly and even an early grey tea at breakfast was extra charge !? We were 15mins late for check out even tho the place wasn't busy at all We got a rather rude phone call to tell us . And when we said sorry they were not particularly friendly about it ...

    Location, garden

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.9
    Very Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I asked for a vegan breakfast I was given one piece of toast with avocado and walnuts. Although this was nice, it wasn't filling and very unimaginative

    Very Comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.1
    Bedroom was v comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had thought it would be more of a country house hotel but the bedrooms are all newly built at the back and so long corridors with rooms off. Also a very unimpressive reception. The bar and sitting room very quiet and no real country house atmosphere. I was particularly disappointed by being disturbed by the fan of the bedroom downstairs going on at 6.30 and staying on and it was very loud hence no lie in!

    Bedroom was v comfortable and clean. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    Great night sleep,quality dinner and very peaceful
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait in reception to book in and after Dinner on trying to get a night cap, no one was on duty and in the end we gave up. I suggest the shortage of staff was due to the time of year and small number of guest staying.

    a stylish and comfortable hotel a little dated in its appearance but certainly not tired .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    5.4
    Location ,it was peaceful and in easy reach for places we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was like a water bed it was so uncomfortable the room was very small with only one small window , especially when we paid £114 it was worth about £70 .my husband put the bed side light on and it flickered , it didn't look safe so we didn't use it again.

    Location ,it was peaceful and in easy reach for places we wanted to visit.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.7
    Very restful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel location and quality of food excellent Staff not over friendly did not want to engage in any conversation Our room not serviced until 2.30pm when we were staying For the money we paid would have expected better service No real apology

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely, quiet break
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did ask for substitutions for some of the items I couldn't eat on the breakfast menu but they weren't forthcoming!

    On the whole it was superb. The wider staff team couldn't do enough for you to make you comfortable. The dining was excellent - if a little pricey, but you get what you pay for and it was worth it. My dogs were welcomed and made a fuss of! They loved it too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in beautiful grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Lovely hotel in beautiful grounds. Clean and well-presented rooms. Superb staff and service throughout. Absolutely fantastic food in the restaurant - really top restaurant quality and so much more than we expected.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was rated as a 4 Star hotel. But little things let it down. The products in the Bathroom came in big pumps and there was a note to say you could enjoy them but if you wanted to take them they were £10.00 each. There was only Shampoo and shower gel, not hand cream or body lotion or other bits and pieces. There was an awful smell in the corridor between the rooms and the bar/restaurant that didn't go away in the 3 nights we were there. Our friends really wanted a bath, their room only had a shower and 1 tiny window, when they asked to move they were told no other rooms were available. The breakfast although had a large cooked choice had very little on the buffet and the coffee was like dishwater it was so weak. I would say for the money we paid the hotel was not up to scratch.

    The staff were very welcoming and they kindly put a Cadbury cream egg in our room for Easter Sunday

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    5.0
    I will not be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    towels not issued,walls thin ,advanced request of dietary requirements not given any thought by head chef in restaurant. Swimming pool not in use, can't comment on breakfast as we were put off returning to the restaurant due to previous nights meal,premiere inn better value for money. What a shame it's a beautiful setting.

    The grounds and decoration were in good taste. Owner was very good in having personal contact with an unsatisfied guest !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    7.5
    Peaceful idyllic setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meals very expensive and not to our taste so we ate out everyday

    Room was comfy and spacious nice and warm. Breakfast was good. Location good central Cornwall so easy you travel sightseeing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    6.3
    Hidden fees! Be aware!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. They tried to charge me £30 for a phone call to the UK! It's worded so you think it's 25p per minute but they call it a "unit" which happens to be 15 seconds!!! Rediculous! I would never treat my customers like this. 2. The breakfast was only from 8.45am to 9.45am. So this eliminates all and every business user from getting a breakfast ?!! 3. When trying to get the breakfast charge taken off my bill it was made difficult. May I add - not from the staff but the companies process clearly set up by the owners. A real shame. A great hotel with good staff but it feels like the owners are "penny pinching". This totally ruined the stay...

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    6.3
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Long walk into to town 2 Door code did not work on our return from a night out. 3. Was not previously informed that the restaurant had a dress code until we were presented with the information in the room. 4. Wet floor in room

    The room was lovely.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    4.6
    Really disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Almost everything. Sadly the room we were first shown was like a pokey box room in the attic. The whole place was freezing especially the restaurant. The owner doesn't care whether you have a good stay or not.

    Cocktails were really good! Friend staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    7.5
    Pleasant accommodation, efficient but ccol staff - dreadful over priced food.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was dreadful; overpriced possibly experimental? No interest from staff/owners as to our complaint made during the meal. The restaurant and bar were cold and ambience was non existent.

    It was located near where we needed to be.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    7.9
    Lovely locatio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    First 2 day/nights cold in room problem with central heating. The same in the restaurant. Maybe the system should be left on a little longer during very cold periods.

    Great food, Comfortable beds, & friendly staff & owner Gardens & location lovely.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    9.6
    Lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly. We only eat breakfast,but, it was lovely lots of choice for the hot breakfasts and a nice continental choice too. Our room was very comfortable with a nice bathroom. Very peaceful hotel with lovely grounds, in a good location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Very clean room and grate customer service and very help full and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was a cold and the beans was hot and cold plate only thing I had problem with everything else was perfect!

    Very happy with the room and grate staff and very good customer service I received I would defently come and visit the rose vale hotel. Fantastic bar woman who made amazing cocktails and vas very friendly and !

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    5.4
    Ok for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A beautiful building from outside and the gardens were lovely. The inside of the building has no charm. The decor was muddled. The rooms were purpose built - so quite small. When walking through from reception to the rooms there seemed to be a permanent smell of food. The staff were great and very helpful, shame the rest did not match up to them.

    The eggs Benedict were good.The rest of the breakfast ok. No fresh fruit to speak of- from memory there was tinned grapefruit and tinned prunes but anyone on statins cannot eat grapefruit and no other fresh fruit to choose from.The English cooked breakfast was passable. No atmosphere in the dining room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    8.0
    Lovely country hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't realise that we had to dress up for the restaurant, we had only packed jeans and trainers so couldn't go in. We went to the Miners Arms nearby instead, very good.

    The bed was really comfortable and the underfloor heating made the room nice and warm. There were laminated walking routes in the room which we were free to take with us for a local walk, nice idea.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.2
    Superb hotel for a comfortable break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Fabulous hotel very friendly and comfortable. Breakfast was very good this was our second visit and we would definitely book here again in the future. The beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    10
    Easy comfortable cosy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather !!! Really enjoyed our stay would of liked to have used the outdoor swimming pool but I guess it was out of season

    Extremely comfortable bed polite staff whom are very helpful will recommend to my mum who would really enjoy the fantastic grounds and nearby walks

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.5
    Great location but pricey for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As it was my birthday we invited two friends who live in St Agnes to join us for an evening meal. Unfortunately, though the restaurant had been full the previous evening, diners this night were thin on the ground - so no atmosphere at all. I always hope for a bathroom with a window or, more realistically, a good fan. The room we stayed in had neither!. We had a cream tea on arrival but surprisingly the scones were almost inedible and nothing like the scones you get elsewhere. A small point, of course, but afternoon tea in a beautiful garden could be great!

    The gardens and the old building were beautiful and the swimming pool was a bonus (had the days been warmer!). Ample parking was a plus and the bustling local pub with good food was just a short walk away. The décor in the public rooms was very well chosen for the style of hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    5.8
    Rose & z
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is 20 mimutes drive from Newquay along very narrow windimg roads. They tried to charge us £12 extra for 3 capaccinos withoit telling us they werent included in the free breakfast.

    The hotel was very clean and staff were very friendly. Food was excellent too.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.8
    A lovely place to stay if you want peace and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just little things.. - Toiletries, etc were a real disappointment. - Main window in our room had two cracked panes and wouldn't stay just partially open. - Lovely, clean towels on 3 nights but dirty towels (some makeup and brown marks) on the 4th so we used our own beach towels. - Toilet cistern had a problem - hotel happy to get someone in to fix but we said not to worry as it was our last night. - Expensive.

    - Location very peaceful and was fairly close to the wonderful Chapel Porth beach and St Agnes. An easy drive to many favourite Cornish Landmarks and amenities. - Surroundings and gardens super. Lovely, relaxing place to spend a couple of days. - Communal spaces nice - the lounge at the front was really beautiful. - Lovely to have a pool available and it was a good one. - Restaurant very good and reasonably priced for dinner. Recommend the pork dish - it was delicious! Excellent breakfast - freshly squeezed orange juice would be a bonus but thank you for putting out mineral water in the morning when you realised that I didn't drink tea or coffee. - Absolutely spotlessly clean in our room and in all of the communal areas. - "Woodland" was a lovely, light room and was beautifully furnished. - Very helpful, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    4.6
    Dated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was closed, rooms hot and struggled to open windows, rooms very dated and not even close to 4 star, and the restaurant is NOT 2 rosette, 3 breakfasts had to be sent back to be cooked more, our steaks (3 of them) at dinner were requested to be med-rare, they were all well done. One member of staff mentioned the hotel has not been refurbished since the 90s!

    Reception staff were really friendly and helpful. Bar staff also friendly. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    The food was excellent and the staff were welcoming,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was excellent and the staff were welcoming, professional and organised. We had a superb time and will definitely visit again. Beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    8.8
    Short break in Sep 2016
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The smell in the car park strict rules The service charge of £7.50 for a sandwich that cost less and our room just 2 mins away from the kitchen.

    Breakfast. Location, once we got use to the narrow windy roads Shower

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    3.8
    Damp smelly old house
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so damp I could smell it on my clothing when I unpacked my bag after the stay. The wallpaper was covering the black mould on the ceiling as well as the walls. I couldn't sleep because off the smell. For breakfast we were sat for 40mins waiting for a traditional English fry up. When we finally got our food it was lukewarm and swimming in grease,the egg had been sitting under a heat lamp for so long the yolk was bright orange and solid as the hogs pudding. As a chef I find it difficult to belive they have 2 AA rosettes.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    6.7
    Nice hotel but would choose elsewhere when next visiting Cornwall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Sadly a lack of choice on Dinner menu and extremely small portions. We dined elsewhere for the remainder of our stay. We were surprised management permitted outside smoking close to guests rooms - there was a lingering smell of cigarette smoke in our room as a result of guests smoking close to one of the entrances leading to the restaurant. Our room was close to this entrance and guests coming and going and passing directly in front of our window, as a consequence we were forced to keep the curtains to our room drawn for some privacy.....not the ideal situation.

    Breakfast ok -

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.5
    Clean comfortable, within reach of many coastal towns.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ambience, bar area not very welcoming.

    Clean comfortable, within reach of many coastal towns. Good pub nearby. Very helpful receptionist and friendly waitress at breakfast. Food was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    5.8
    Nice location make sure you do not book room 5
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 5 is very very small and shouldn't have been sold as a double. The downstairs rooms smelt of fat frying and breakfast took about 40 to arrive.

    It was in a beautiful setting, the staff were very friendly and the room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    7.1
    Unfriendly stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception was very unflexible & almost rude. No help, no kindness. That made the stay unpleasant. The restaurant is in the evenings not cozy, bad lightning.

    the location is stunning ... very secluded. The villages around are lovely.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Rose in Vale Country House Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: