Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Roseglen Hotel 2 stars

Palmerston Road, Shanklin, PO37 6AS, United Kingdom

#30 of 38 B&Bs and Inns in Shanklin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 76 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't get on very well with the shower, it was too hot and I couldn't adjust the heat setting. Also the shower door did not shut properly.

    Angela cleaned my shoes as I had trodden on some leaves.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger towels would've been lovely 🙂

    Very friendly, welcoming owners! Hotel is perfect location for where we needed to be! 10 minute walk from the station, Shanklin Old Village and shops very close by. A short walk the other way gets you to the cliff lift, and other ways to access the beach!! The room could've done with more milk and coffee, and I'm sure if we'd asked, the owners would've been only too happy to have provided that for us! The supplied toiletries were a lovely bonus! Will definitely be back if we're staying in Shanklin again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I walked into the hotel and felt immediately at home. Wayne and Angela were excellent hosts. My room was very comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious. I went for a very sad occasion (a funeral), but had a lovely time at the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only down side to the stay was the parking as there was no onsite parking.

    Angela and Wayne were lovely and very attentive. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was tasty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No onsite parking but plenty of free street parking outside of location and in surrounding streets.

    Nice land lady land lord, very welcoming and flexible with booking in and out. Clean room comfy bed. Lovely period property just a couple of minutes walk from the beach and centre of town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only minor negative would be larger bath towels for us more fuller figured guests :-)

    Good food, excellent customer service and friendly, accommodating staff. Facilities and room were comfortable and very homely. Nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely recommend and already planning a return visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A comfortable armchair in the bedroom.

    Attending a family funeral. The proximity to the church was convenient and it was close to restaurants for dinner. Breakfast was simple and the full English was cooked and served well. Fellow guests were friendly and an altogether su cess full stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No actual on site parking, but plenty of space on the streets outside. May not be so ideal for those with walking limitations but it is always possible to drop off passengers and park after. The actual disabled facilities within the hotel were excellent.

    Everything I needed was available, and the breakfast left me spoilt for choice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts were very friendly and welcoming. Lovely comfy beds and the room was very clean. Breakfast was great and overall I would definitely recommend Roseglen to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    A great little place in a good location to get to the beach and town. The owners are very friendly and the twin room with the en suite was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very friendly family run hotel and the people are lovely. Room N4 was very quiet, big, comfy, clean, warm and breakfast (vegetarian and gluten free option for me) amazing! It was really nice to meet you Angela&Wayne.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took some time until I could reach someone on the phone to ask about facilities for handicapped persons. Maybe improve that in the future?

    Owner was very forthcoming when it came to enabling the stay of my handicapped grandma. Breakfast was good and plenty, the rooms spacious, quiet and clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A personal observation was this single room may be a little cramped for people needing lots of room, however it was very well kitted out and the ensuite was spacious enough, so still excellent value for money. My friend was very comfy :)

    I didn't stay there myself having booked the room for a friend on a business/leisure trip, but he assures me it was a lovely hotel, friendly and helpful host, good breakfast, clean and comfortable room. From what I saw of the room and the hotel myself I'd agree, and it is in a good location, one street away from the main high street, so plenty in the vicinity without too much noise. I'd definitely stay there myself :)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Kettle was dirty inside when we arrived, but owners were very quick to clean it when this was pointed out.

    Very conveniently located for central Shanklin, the Old Village, buses and trains. If the cliff lift had been working it would have been perfect for the beach too - but that's not the hotel's fault.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking faclities were a promblem hotel didn't have their own parking so when we arrived had to take cases out then go and park your car where you could and when you did find space to park you was afraid to loose your parking space being in mind this hotel wasn't alone with parking promblems as people that are visting shops near by want to park close to

    English breakfast kippers were goodv

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in my grandson's room wasn't working properly.

    A bit dated, but very welcoming and a pleasant place to spend the night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    a little larger room, would have been lovely

    breakfast was great. by b

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Family Room 3
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whole building looking bit tatty. No onsite parking

    Breakfast ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting could be improved on.

    Great breakfast for my onward cycle ride round the island, cosy room and somewhere to store my bike. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit dated

    Good fresh cooked breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very homely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a bit tired and family room a bit costly per night!

    Great Staff, Owners very friendly, food and service fab!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for Old Village, beaches, buses etc. Friendly and helpful owners who were very welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower could do with replacing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    good location, nice breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Central location, very friendly hotel, food was excellent, comfortable accommodation, everything you need, would definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a premium

    The location is great, super friendly staff, great value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of parking on site - sometimes difficult to find parking on road.

    Friendly staff, good breakfasts.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can come and go as u please.the owners were very friendly made us feel very welcome. 10min walk to beach

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff & great food

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above the bed could have been more comfy but that's just mine own preference

    Good value for the price including breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    As always a welcoming stay good location great breakfast Wayne and Angela good hosts

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good old fashioned little hotel with the emphasis on looking after people,we will go back

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    owners and staff very friendly, excellent breakfasts, located with easy access to seafront, old village and both bus + train stations.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front of the building looked shabby but inside was beautifully decorated.

    Friendly staff and we'll cooked breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our rooms were huge and very clean. Wayne and Angela very welcoming and happy to help with any questions.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi was hit and miss. Not a problem for us though.

    Beds were comfy, excellent breakfast, friendly owner and close enough to everything to walk to.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the weather

    home comforts Wayne and Angela as welcome as ever

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nirging

    Nice old fashioned hotel with great hosts

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice breakfast. Comfortable room and bed. Good location: near town centre and bus station so it's very convenient. Also, just a few minutes walk to the beautiful beach. I had a great time staying here. Thank you!

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The decor is a bit tired and could do with updating.

    I have stayed at the Roseglen Hotel several times. Wayne and Angela always give us a warm welcome and are so helpful and friendly. The location is great: near to the shops, the cliff-top for walks, and other Shanklin facilities.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was not very comfortable and the shower was difficult to operate as it got very hot or freezing with no warning. Until we learned to let it run, we were mystified. It needed a notice.

    Very pleasant staff and proprietor and a delicious breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    Friendly and helpful staff; tasty breakfast; comfortable, clean and beautiful decorated room; good location; free and good working wifi. Really enjoyed stay here and beautiful Isle of Wight.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing..

    Excellent value for money. Cleanliness. Friendly Staff. Very near to town centre and access to good Take away and restaurants. Walkable distance from the beach.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No parking - you had to trawl the local streets to find a parking spot. Small bath towels - not changed in the 4 days, would prefer fresh, bigger and fluffier towels.

    The rooms were warm and the beds comfortable; breakfast Ok.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the wifi is not good in my room, maybe because of the location of my quiet room , but other place are good to get wifi

    Very comfortable and clean room. Pretty nice breakfast. Staffs are very friendly. That is an unforgettable trip !!! I love Isle of Wight!

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    The owners Angela and Wayne are a lovely couple, they gave good advice on where to go. Room was comfortable and clean and bed was really comfortable. We will definitely be going back.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For vegitarien there were not much options in breakfast.

    Very friendly staff. Good location

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Decor is dated so you don't get a great first impression. Needs modernising.

    Friendly staff. Fair price. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room Ambience and cleanliness was high standard

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    • Family with older children

    Staff was very welcoming and lovely little business!!! Very accommodating!

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The shower didn't work toilet leaked ... Meagre breakfast overcooked .. Won't be going back

    Nothing ... Modern day Fawlty towers

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wayne and Angela were very helpful . I felt at home here and not on my own . Ideally located . I will be returning

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    small shower

    the breakfast was fab as was service

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Couple

    No complaints.

    Very welcoming helpful and friendly owners. Nice spacious and cosy room. Good breakfast and well presented.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly atmosphere, good value for money. comfortable, warm room and shower. Good Wi-Fi. Close to beach, town and travel.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Decor a little tired

    very homely and friendly, very comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    very very friendly family run hotel..my room was very quiet,comfy,clean and lovely and warm..

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had a problem parking first night but second night fine.

    Good price and friendly staff. Good location.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi connectivity must be improved and room heating facilities aren't adequate.

    A decent place to stay for a short trip...

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Angela and wayne the best customer service, very good food and good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bit of a problem parking

    Very friendly service, clean and comfortable. Excellant location.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experiences.But did find parking a problem.

    Easy to get to the places we wanted to visit.Convenient for all our needs in Shanklin.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was a later arrival,but some one was still awake to greet me and let me in.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Parking was a little different.

    Perfectly pleasant, nice owners, decent full English breakfast. Room 3 was fine, good sized bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendly owners, the location and the Honesty Bar!

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wayne and Angela do there upmost to make you welcome good breakfast and central location make the Roseglen a good choice

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing was the WiFi signal was not good. No WiFi in the rooms

    The staff were very nice and friendly anything you needed they would get for you

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    • Couple

    No car parking

    everything was homely and owners extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything was excellent well done

    brilliant host lovely hotel good food good bedroom would definately stay here again thank you .nick edwards

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    good value also a decent nearby take-away

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking not always by hotel.

    Friendly owners, very reasonably priced and good location.

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: