Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Roseglen Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Palmerston Road, Shanklin, PO37 6AS, United Kingdom

#30 of 38 B&Bs and inns in Shanklin

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 72 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't get on very well with the shower, it was too hot and I couldn't adjust the heat setting. Also the shower door did not shut properly.

    Angela cleaned my shoes as I had trodden on some leaves.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    7.9
    Girly Weekend Away!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bigger towels would've been lovely 🙂

    Very friendly, welcoming owners! Hotel is perfect location for where we needed to be! 10 minute walk from the station, Shanklin Old Village and shops very close by. A short walk the other way gets you to the cliff lift, and other ways to access the beach!! The room could've done with more milk and coffee, and I'm sure if we'd asked, the owners would've been only too happy to have provided that for us! The supplied toiletries were a lovely bonus! Will definitely be back if we're staying in Shanklin again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    8.8
    Very good value for money, a very welcoming hotel with superb hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I walked into the hotel and felt immediately at home. Wayne and Angela were excellent hosts. My room was very comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious. I went for a very sad occasion (a funeral), but had a lovely time at the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    10
    We had a lovely stay and would recommend the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only down side to the stay was the parking as there was no onsite parking.

    Angela and Wayne were lovely and very attentive. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was tasty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    10
    perfect for my short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No onsite parking but plenty of free street parking outside of location and in surrounding streets.

    Nice land lady land lord, very welcoming and flexible with booking in and out. Clean room comfy bed. Lovely period property just a couple of minutes walk from the beach and centre of town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    10
    Thank you for a warm and welcoming stay at your hotel, I thoroughly enjoyed my break :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My only minor negative would be larger bath towels for us more fuller figured guests :-)

    Good food, excellent customer service and friendly, accommodating staff. Facilities and room were comfortable and very homely. Nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely recommend and already planning a return visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    9.2
    Conveniently located and provided an adequate and cheap for a two night stay
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A comfortable armchair in the bedroom.

    Attending a family funeral. The proximity to the church was convenient and it was close to restaurants for dinner. Breakfast was simple and the full English was cooked and served well. Fellow guests were friendly and an altogether su cess full stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    10
    Have used the hotel before and have no issues with using it again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No actual on site parking, but plenty of space on the streets outside. May not be so ideal for those with walking limitations but it is always possible to drop off passengers and park after. The actual disabled facilities within the hotel were excellent.

    Everything I needed was available, and the breakfast left me spoilt for choice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2017

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hosts were very friendly and welcoming. Lovely comfy beds and the room was very clean. Breakfast was great and overall I would definitely recommend Roseglen to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    A great little place in a good location to get to the beach and town. The owners are very friendly and the twin room with the en suite was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2017

    10
    Very friendly family run hotel and the people are lovely.
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very friendly family run hotel and the people are lovely. Room N4 was very quiet, big, comfy, clean, warm and breakfast (vegetarian and gluten free option for me) amazing! It was really nice to meet you Angela&Wayne.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2016

    9.6
    Owner was very forthcoming when it came to enabling the stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took some time until I could reach someone on the phone to ask about facilities for handicapped persons. Maybe improve that in the future?

    Owner was very forthcoming when it came to enabling the stay of my handicapped grandma. Breakfast was good and plenty, the rooms spacious, quiet and clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2016

    10
    A gem.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A personal observation was this single room may be a little cramped for people needing lots of room, however it was very well kitted out and the ensuite was spacious enough, so still excellent value for money. My friend was very comfy :)

    I didn't stay there myself having booked the room for a friend on a business/leisure trip, but he assures me it was a lovely hotel, friendly and helpful host, good breakfast, clean and comfortable room. From what I saw of the room and the hotel myself I'd agree, and it is in a good location, one street away from the main high street, so plenty in the vicinity without too much noise. I'd definitely stay there myself :)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    9.6
    It is a very nice b&b, we stayed the night before the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is a very nice b&b, we stayed the night before the isle of wight festival would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower in my grandson's room wasn't working properly.

    A bit dated, but very welcoming and a pleasant place to spend the night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    8.3
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Very friendly and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    10
    brilliant weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    a little larger room, would have been lovely

    breakfast was great. by b

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    6.7
    Made to feel welcome. Friendly & caring couple running it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Family Room 3
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Whole building looking bit tatty. No onsite parking

    Breakfast ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    7.5
    Convenient for town and eating, quiet as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting could be improved on.

    Great breakfast for my onward cycle ride round the island, cosy room and somewhere to store my bike. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    7.5
    Easy as can be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    8.3
    Weekenders
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bit dated

    Good fresh cooked breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    10
    Very homely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very homely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    9.6
    No frills accommodation with excellent service, fantastic breakfast and family friendly,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Decor a bit tired and family room a bit costly per night!

    Great Staff, Owners very friendly, food and service fab!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2017

    9.0
    Friendly hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location for Old Village, beaches, buses etc. Friendly and helpful owners who were very welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2017

    7.5
    It was what I expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower could do with replacing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    10
    good location, nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    good location, nice breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    10
    Friendly Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Central location, very friendly hotel, food was excellent, comfortable accommodation, everything you need, would definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    10
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking is a premium

    The location is great, super friendly staff, great value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of parking on site - sometimes difficult to find parking on road.

    Friendly staff, good breakfasts.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2017

    9.6
    Isle of wight is beautiful
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You can come and go as u please.the owners were very friendly made us feel very welcome. 10min walk to beach

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly staff & great food

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2016

    8.3
    Perfect for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As above the bed could have been more comfy but that's just mine own preference

    Good value for the price including breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2016

    9.2
    Lovely hotel and delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2016

    10
    Welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    As always a welcoming stay good location great breakfast Wayne and Angela good hosts

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2016

    9.2
    lovely stay in Shanklin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good old fashioned little hotel with the emphasis on looking after people,we will go back

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2016

    9.2
    owners and staff very friendly, excellent breakfasts,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    owners and staff very friendly, excellent breakfasts, located with easy access to seafront, old village and both bus + train stations.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2016

    8.8
    A group of four adults and two children. We had a great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The front of the building looked shabby but inside was beautifully decorated.

    Friendly staff and we'll cooked breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2016

    8.8
    Good value, comfortable b & b.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our rooms were huge and very clean. Wayne and Angela very welcoming and happy to help with any questions.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2016

    9.0
    Beds were comfy, excellent breakfast, friendly owner and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi was hit and miss. Not a problem for us though.

    Beds were comfy, excellent breakfast, friendly owner and close enough to everything to walk to.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2016

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice breakfast. Comfortable room and bed. Good location: near town centre and bus station so it's very convenient. Also, just a few minutes walk to the beautiful beach. I had a great time staying here. Thank you!

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2016

    9.2
    I have stayed at the Roseglen Hotel several times.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    The decor is a bit tired and could do with updating.

    I have stayed at the Roseglen Hotel several times. Wayne and Angela always give us a warm welcome and are so helpful and friendly. The location is great: near to the shops, the cliff-top for walks, and other Shanklin facilities.

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2015

    7.5
    Very pleasant staff and proprietor and a delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was not very comfortable and the shower was difficult to operate as it got very hot or freezing with no warning. Until we learned to let it run, we were mystified. It needed a notice.

    Very pleasant staff and proprietor and a delicious breakfast.

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2015

    9.6
    Friendly and helpful staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    nothing

    Friendly and helpful staff; tasty breakfast; comfortable, clean and beautiful decorated room; good location; free and good working wifi. Really enjoyed stay here and beautiful Isle of Wight.

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2015

    9.6
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing..

    Excellent value for money. Cleanliness. Friendly Staff. Very near to town centre and access to good Take away and restaurants. Walkable distance from the beach.

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2015

    6.3
    The rooms were warm and the beds comfortable;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No parking - you had to trawl the local streets to find a parking spot. Small bath towels - not changed in the 4 days, would prefer fresh, bigger and fluffier towels.

    The rooms were warm and the beds comfortable; breakfast Ok.

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2015

    10
    Very comfortable and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the wifi is not good in my room, maybe because of the location of my quiet room , but other place are good to get wifi

    Very comfortable and clean room. Pretty nice breakfast. Staffs are very friendly. That is an unforgettable trip !!! I love Isle of Wight!

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2015

    10
    The owners Angela and Wayne are a lovely couple, they gave...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    The owners Angela and Wayne are a lovely couple, they gave good advice on where to go. Room was comfortable and clean and bed was really comfortable. We will definitely be going back.

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2016

    7.1
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For vegitarien there were not much options in breakfast.

    Very friendly staff. Good location

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2016

    7.5
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Decor is dated so you don't get a great first impression. Needs modernising.

    Friendly staff. Fair price. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2016

    10
    Room Ambience and cleanliness was high standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room Ambience and cleanliness was high standard

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2016

    9.2
    Staff was very welcoming and lovely little business!
    • Family with older children

    Staff was very welcoming and lovely little business!!! Very accommodating!

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2016

    2.5
    Nothing .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The shower didn't work toilet leaked ... Meagre breakfast overcooked .. Won't be going back

    Nothing ... Modern day Fawlty towers

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2016

    10
    Wayne and Angela were very helpful .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Wayne and Angela were very helpful . I felt at home here and not on my own . Ideally located . I will be returning

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2016

    10
    the breakfast was fab as was service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    small shower

    the breakfast was fab as was service

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2016

    8.3
    Very welcoming helpful and friendly owners.
    • Couple

    No complaints.

    Very welcoming helpful and friendly owners. Nice spacious and cosy room. Good breakfast and well presented.

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2016

    10
    Very friendly atmosphere, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Very friendly atmosphere, good value for money. comfortable, warm room and shower. Good Wi-Fi. Close to beach, town and travel.

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2016

    7.9
    very homely and friendly, very comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Decor a little tired

    very homely and friendly, very comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2016

    10
    very very friendly family run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    nothing

    very very friendly family run hotel..my room was very quiet,comfy,clean and lovely and warm..

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2016

    7.9
    Good price and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Had a problem parking first night but second night fine.

    Good price and friendly staff. Good location.

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2016

    6.7
    A decent place to stay for a short trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi connectivity must be improved and room heating facilities aren't adequate.

    A decent place to stay for a short trip...

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2016

    10
    Angela and wayne the best customer service, very good food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Angela and wayne the best customer service, very good food and good value for money.

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2015

    10
    Very friendly service, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bit of a problem parking

    Very friendly service, clean and comfortable. Excellant location.

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2015

    7.9
    Easy to get to the places we wanted to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experiences.But did find parking a problem.

    Easy to get to the places we wanted to visit.Convenient for all our needs in Shanklin.

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2015

    10
    I was a later arrival,but some one was still awake to greet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    I was a later arrival,but some one was still awake to greet me and let me in.

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2015

    7.5
    Perfectly pleasant, nice owners, decent full English...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Parking was a little different.

    Perfectly pleasant, nice owners, decent full English breakfast. Room 3 was fine, good sized bathroom.

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2015

    10
    The friendly owners, the location and the Honesty Bar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendly owners, the location and the Honesty Bar!

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2015

    9.2
    Wayne and Angela do there upmost to make you welcome good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wayne and Angela do there upmost to make you welcome good breakfast and central location make the Roseglen a good choice

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2015

    10
    The staff were very nice and friendly anything you needed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing was the WiFi signal was not good. No WiFi in the rooms

    The staff were very nice and friendly anything you needed they would get for you

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2015

    10
    everything was homely and owners extremely helpful and...
    • Couple

    No car parking

    everything was homely and owners extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2015

    10
    brilliant host lovely hotel good food good bedroom would...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything was excellent well done

    brilliant host lovely hotel good food good bedroom would definately stay here again thank you .nick edwards

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2015

    8.8
    good value also a decent nearby take-away
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    good value also a decent nearby take-away

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2015

    7.5
    Friendly owners, very reasonably priced and good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Parking not always by hotel.

    Friendly owners, very reasonably priced and good location.

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2015

    9.6
    Really lovely owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Everything was great, I just would have liked a bath in my room as well

    Really lovely owners. So helpful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2015

    9.6
    lovely breakfast,good location for both town and beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    lovely breakfast,good location for both town and beach.cheerful staff,really sweet guesthouse

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2015

    7.9
    Comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfy bed

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: