Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rossett Hall Hotel 3 stars

Chester Road, Rossett, Rossett, LL12 0DE, United Kingdom

#1 of 2 hotels in Rossett

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 831 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Reasonably good stay but more trading of breakfast staff required
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at breakfast were extremely unhelpful. Had to ask 3 times for coffee. Bedside charging points or electric points might be handy.

    The place was lovely with great grounds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    The property was clean, however majority of the decor was...
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location isn’t great and the signal is poor. There could be some touch-ups on paint work.

    The property was clean, however majority of the decor was outdated. It was perfect and the facilties were great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    A great location, friendly staff, fab stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a minor point - Signage to the restaurant where breakfast is held as with the hotel being an extended old building, it was a little like a warren. Staff were great though.

    The warm welcome on arrival was gratefully recieved. All staff were extremely friendly and informative about the local area. The facilities were great, comfy and modern.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    A very pleasant overnight stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was far too hot. No air conditioning !! Albeit the weather was exceptional.

    A good place to stay. Not the most luxurious but comfortable and clean. very pleasant staff and nice atmosphere. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely place, great grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was very difficult to flush which was embarrassing as I had to ask my partner to flush it. He found it difficult at times. The fan in the bathroom did not work. For the price I did not think this was acceptable. The receptionist apologised when we told her.

    Lovely place, great grounds. Staff friendly. Good base.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My only complaint is that the service in the dining room for the evening meal was a little slow. The meal itself was excellent.

    Very friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only downside was check in process was not as smooth as it should be with a "prepaid" booking as staff member was convinced it was only preauthorised so wanted to take double payment. Even when bank statement provided! Wifi as down on the day we travelled but that was a bonus as family had to talk.

    Excellent bedroom with good toiletries. The deal we had was comparable with a standard travel inn/premier inn and this was far superior. Only "scruffy" area was the walkthrough to the dining room otherwise clean, tidy and traditional with a modern twist.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    overall a very enjoyable stay and I would certainly return in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I didn't like or was unhappy with, although the room was quite warm to sleep in so we had to use the fan for a little while. However, the temperature may be fine for other guests.

    The staff were extremely helpful and polite, especially Nathan in the bar restaurant area who I would single out for extra praise. A very good advert for the hotel. The quality of the food in the restaurant was of a very high standard, as was the breakfast the next morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.8
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything from no food left for dinner. Heating still on ,on very hot day no help from management when finally met he had spent Bank Holiday at home ?

    nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Good location, lovely village and lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning and the bathroom in one of our rooms could have been cleaner, especially the toilet! There is a fan but when it is hot, it circulates the hot air.

    The location was great and the staff were very attentive and helpful. In the morning, the buffet breakfast was good but if there are not enough people staying the cooked breakfast is cooked to order. We were a family of four with grandparent and the children were made very welcome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi Fi and phone signal could be better. Couldn't work out how to get hot water out of the shower but maybe that was just me being inept !!!

    Friendly staff, great breakfast. Nice bar with lovely garden and surroundings. The room was good. Easy parking and only a few minutes drive into Chester.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    relaxing stay with good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel had a wedding when we arrived so we thought it might be a bit noisy. From our room we could not hear anything. Had a peaceful relaxing evening and a fantastic meal, made all the better for receiving the 10% resident discount. Good food and discounted price, brilliant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel in nice location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a little noise from neighbours switching things on and off, walls may not be well sound insulated

    Great location, quiet area, friendly staff, nice garden and parking. Village shop and facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Would reccomend highly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    From our point of view, everything but the internet connection was excellent. The hotel is working to improve that.

    We didn't eat here as we were on a tight budget, we found the staff extremely helpful, courteous and friendly. We would stay here again very readily, probably preferring Rossett Hall Hotel to others we may stay at. The King size Bed was firm and comfortable, the room warm, being centrally heated. We found Rossett close enough to Chester, Wrexham and surrounding attractions to be quite attractive to us. We noted that the on-site restaurant had a zero health rating which was disappointing considering the rest of the place. The local hotels are excellent eating houses, one being more up market than the other. A Tesco and Prime supermarkets are a short walk away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable stay in a clean hotel with friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff, clean room. Wi-fi a bit hit and miss but I think that may be the nature of rural locations. Not a big problem as went out for a nice meal at the Golden Lion pub just up the road. Decor a bit dated but overall a comfortable stay. I would stay again. Good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    Good stay but as business guest, connectivity was an issue
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    With limited mobile signal on both EE and Vodafone, significant investment needed in Wi-fi infrastructure to continue to entice business guests. I was unable to connect to Hotel Guest Wi-fi from 8.30pm to past midnight agtet returning to room and no option to pay for upgraded Wi-fi service. Was forced to drive to get signal in order to log on.

    Spacious room, friendly staff and beautiful grounds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    The worst hotel we have used recommened by Booking.Com we were really upset.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was 23 degrees outside the heating hadn't been turned off, the bedroom was so hot radiator in bathroom broke had to change rooms had just unpacked. Ordered dinner in the restaurant took half an hour {it was'nt } busy when it arrived onlly meat and two potatoes they had nothing left !. Didn't have any meals there for the rest of our stay.

    Nothing. And was a surprise 82nd birthday for my husband .See below.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Excellent break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My wife didn't have a mirror anywhere near the power socket for the hair dryer.

    We have stayed here a few times before and will stay here again. Staff were excellent and restaurant was the same - excellent. The recent refurb complements the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As above not actually a complaint more a personal choice.

    Previously had ground floor room which we liked better, and do prefer plated breakfast the food is warmer than the buffet. Other wise every thing was great, we have used this hotel several times and always been satisfied.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.3
    Lovely hotel. Friendly staff. Could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good. The staff would get anything that wasn't available when asked. Room was a good size. Bed was 2 singles pushed together so was uncomfortable to sleep in. Hotel was pretty and next to local pubs and and walks. Fridge wouldn't work at andndll which was a huge shame as that was one of the good parts we looked for....plus the toilet wouldn't flush easy. We enjoyed the stay but feel that the room was good but should have been cheaper for what it was.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Excellent welcome and friendly, attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I prefer an ordered, cooked breakfast rather than pre-cooked but realise the latter is easier to manage at busy times.

    I don't usually comment but I thought the staff deserve credit for being so welcoming, attentive and friendly. I liked the room with a fancy dual shower in the bathroom as well. I would be happy to stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.3
    Nice hotel, staff really friendly, but very poor room service
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet did not flush properly, I reported it but nothing was done. The maid service was bad. There was no vacuuming done all week until the day Before I left and the bed wasn’t made on 2 days.

    Comfy bed, tea and coffee

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    Ok - but would not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was not comfortable and the pillows were like sleeping on bricks! My room faced a brick wall - absolutely no view. There were lots of corridors and not many signposts!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable -good value - excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guests cannot access the restaurant/bar via inside when there is a private function in one of the meeting rooms -they have to go inside and walk around the building and enter by the the main entrance to the restaurant

    Very attentive staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    A lovely nights stay for our little family but couldn’t have stayed for longer than a few nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room is in some need of modernisation. The shower dripped constantly after use (fortunately we had showers in the morning so we didn’t have to listen to the drip all night long). The toilet needed flushing a good ten times to produce the water. The overall appearance could do with a bit of a make over.

    The family room was a good size for us (a couple and 18month old) Location brilliant for what we needed, 20 mins from Chester zoo and the city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful, old Hotel in lovely Rossett-highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFI was a bit patchy, but generally ok.

    Beautiful hotel, close to the Welsh/English border and nearby vibrant Chester. Friendly staff, lovely, big rooms and wonderful, comfortable bed with a fantastic, hot shower (great water pressure).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.3
    Did not meet expectations. Not good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dated with little things like lightbulbs not working and the toilet paper holder missing. Breakfast was a complete shambles. Due to a wedding in the hotel, it looked like the place was at full capacity. Not enough tables meant queuing. The buffet breakfast ran out every few minutes and left queues of angry guests. Not great when you are paying over £100 a night.

    The staff were very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people in the next room were very noisy till 3.30 am. They had music blaring and were very loud but this got sorted by the night porter/bar staff who politly asked them to be quiet.

    Lovely clean room and staff were very friendly. It was also nice to have a free drink voucher for the bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    Gorgeous hotel and grounds and really friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor needs updating in the room (20) shower leaked water all over the bathroom floor with shower curtain closed ?

    Gorgeous hotel and grounds and really friendly staff. The food in oscars was lovely , nice atmosphere. Room clean and comfortable. Check in was very friendly the lady on reception was welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.3
    Great period property situated in a charming village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being on the ground floor near to the reception area. The restaurant was average and the food was overcooked making the meal expensive for what it was.

    The beds were so comfortable with soft white sheets. The family room was very spacious with an ensuite bathroom , plenty of hot water. The room was downstairs on the ground floor which for some would be good but I would have prefered being upstairs as it was noisy with all the passing residents and being so near to the reception area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Peaceful and comfortable, great nights sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only complaint was that the free WI-FI didn't work in the room and I had zero phone signal on either EE or Vodafone, so I was unable to check emails or do any work of which I needed to do both. Other than that it was great.

    Peaceful and comfortable, great nights sleep. The shower was lovely and powerful which was great as hotel showers have a tendency to be a bit weak.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant and relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to a gym or similar style health facilities would have been very useful, and would have matched facilities provided by hotels nearby.

    Very clean, quiet hotel set in pleasant grounds on edge of quiet village. Convenient for local road routes and access to main shopping facilities, and visitor attractions such as Chester and North Wales. Very good menu and nicely cooked food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    Very nice stay as always.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Problem with the sink as the water took an age to drain away. Also, the room safe could not be used as it would not reset.

    Comfy bed and pillow and the room was not too hot, as it has been previously. Evening meal in Oscar's was very nice and the waitress excellent. Breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    4.2
    I won’t go there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room had a weird high pitched noise and no plug sockets near the bed. Second room smelt of paint and didn’t look finished. New bathroom looked good. But woken up at 5.00am by a lot of banging above the room and lots of door slamming . Receptionist thought it might have been a night shift doing some work!! Layout is weird. You have to walk through a function room and various corridors to get through to the restaurant. Breakfast buffet was a average in comparison to two other hotels nearby.

    Bed was comfortable and the location was convenient for work

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    short distance from Chester
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first room we went to had a noise in the bathroom, like air lock that wouldn't go away even when staff attended. We were moved to a different room which was fine.

    The room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. The evening meal was very good, breakfast was good. Staff helpful and friendly. The hotel had improved since we last stayed. Regular buses into Chester

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.9
    The hotels great, let down by breakfast once again(second visit in 2 weeks)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Came down for breakfast at 8:15. Was asked what I’d like for my cooked breakfast as it wasn’t set out as normal. I thought it was getting cooked fresh. What arrived had clearly been sat out for a long time and was sooooo dry and inedible.

    WiFi was great. I brought my Xbox to kill some time on my own in the evenings.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    Overall good and we will come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were disappointed with the shower facility. It is very old and ineffective. It took an age to get hot water, eventually accessed by twisting the tap much further than expected. Recommend updating it.

    Bedding very comfortable. Tea and coffee good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.8
    Good stay. Nice evening meals which were good value in Oscar’s restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a blind that was too big for the window I the bathroom. But everything else very nice.

    Very friendly Staff good evening Table Hot menu good value

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.5
    Overall good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast needed stocking more frequently and on the Sunday there was no bagels which were listed on the menu unfortunately we had a child with allegies and that was the only egg free item so she just had to have toast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    On arrival the receptionist was helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival the receptionist was helpful. The room was up to standards, the shower and bath was hot practically straight away. The food at Oscars was amazing and the service was lovely. Thank you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.1
    Would stay again, even with the minor niggles.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No cooked breakfast on the first morning. Sausages and Black pudding were dry and hard on the other days. Radiators very noisy when turned on, you can hear the water flowing quite loud. Old hairdryer on the wall in the bathroom was broken(hose had come off) There was a hand held one in the wardrobe though.

    Room was clean and a nice size. TV was good size too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.1
    the room was good and breakfast good, just need to be more freindly when asking for somewhere to get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we couldn't get into the room as we was early, asked if we could use a room to change for a wedding told to use the toilet !!! that was not going to happen

    breakfast good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Staff were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble. Room was lovely and bed so comfortable i didnt want to get up. Will definitely be going back. In fact already booked.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    6.7
    The rooms were comfy and the staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was terrible. I ordered a cooked breakfast and it was mountains of beans and tomatoes slopped on a plate. It looked as thought it had been sat out for ages.

    The rooms were comfy and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.9
    Very pleased with rooms and stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Oscars restaurant had limited starters available on our date of stay. Their evening menu would benefit for more alternatives, and perhaps some simpler options/snacks/sandwiches. There are walkable pubs and shops - so there are alternatives if its critical.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    A very pleasant, comfortable hotel with staff committed to making your stay as pleasant as possible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    I have a disabled grandson, the staff all the staff were extremely helpful, and went out of their way to speak to him and make his stay more enjoyable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.2
    Would definitely stay again if ever back in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a meal in the evenings and there was very little staff however this could've been due to the party the hotel was hosting

    Convenient location for what we needed. Staff on reception was lovely and very friendly and accomodating. The Hotel in general was lovely and very well presented.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    2.9
    Wouldn’t stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was lazy, looked down at my Indian partner like she shouldn’t be there. Bathroom had a disgusting stench at all times, double bed was 2 singles pushed together. Breakfast was pure oil on a plate

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    2.5
    This hotel was like Fawlty Towers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was like Fawlty Towers... We were all dressed for a wedding, ladies in their long dresses and high heels and told by reception couldn't walk through the hotel and had to got outside in the pouring rain! The key cards to the rooms didn't work. Reception were unhelpful. And when we finally got to the bar - told had to get table service as not open. The shower didn't work also....

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.2
    It was a lovely place, we would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a reservation for dinner but there was a Christmas party on In the restaurant so we were put in an alcove thing,they really should not have taken any reservations that night as we felt awkward but the food was lovely. We also felt the breakfast buffet wasn't replenished quickly enough but it was tasty.

    The hotel was in a lovely little village,cost us £15 for a taxi into Chester and it was clean the staff were friendly,nice pub just down the road. The bed was comfy Breakfast was nice and tasty

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    9.2
    Very relaxed and pleasant, would stay again if in the area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, extractor fan in the room made an annoying hum?

    Booked very late in the afternoon, and very satisfied with the venue and service from the staff. The weather was dreadful and it was good to find a warm and cosy room after a long and busy day. Meal in the restaurant was very tasty and well presented, and breakfast was also excellent the following morning.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing birthday celebration
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overlooked because two Christmas parties were booked at venue, as we were celebrating a birthday, we had expected to dine in the usual bistro, however told on arrival that the restaurant would not be available, and we would be served instead in a long and empty room lacking in atmosphere. Also told we would have to go out into the snow in order to access the building and not disturb the important guests and festivities taking place! When we complained we received some kind of apology, but didn't feel they accepted they were at fault at all. A shame as we have enjoyed our stay here in the past.

    The young waiters at evening meal were very polite and attentive. The room large and clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money with lovely room and heat lication few mins by car from Chester. Will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of a maze trying to find the restaurant. Parts are a little tired looking but not unclean. Very homely.

    Lovely room and bathroom - spotless. Lovely location and good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Great stay again, we will be back thank you
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast ordered from he menu wasn't good which made me sad as their normal buffet breakfast is awesome but they had finished early on the day in question.

    Love this hotel we always stay here when we are in the area and they always give us room 9 which is awesome. All in all we love the propert, super clean, amazing staff and great dinner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable and friendly hotel.
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overheated room. No plug close to mirror for hairdryer. There was a function in the restaurant on the second night and we were not informed. We had to walk to a nearby pub for a meal.

    Lovely staff and excellent breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    4.2
    Cleanliness is poor however a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sheets was covered in stains, felt physically sick as I had not noticed them when I originally got into bed. When I pulled the covers back the bottom sheet had large stains all over it. There was a glass stained with red wine left on the window ledge outside the room for the duration of our stay. The breakfast was undercooked, the sausages looked raw and the eggs not fully cooked. To top off our breakfast experience my partner had a huge hair in his food. On a positive note the cup of tea and orange juice was nice. I really think the hotel needs to re-evaluate their cleaning procedures, after paying £100 to stay for one night I would at least expect clean bedding. It is a shame as the hotel is in a lovely location.

    The hotel was very easy to find and a short bus ride to the city centre. The staff was friendly and gave us directions to the bus stop and which bus to use.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    6.7
    Good location, main staff friendly and helpful but hotel in need of TLC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast - not enough available nor enough choice. No serving utensils for bread or pastries. Butter (cheap margarine) placed on plates but nothing to pick it up with. No members of staff to take room no or to take drinks order for tea/coffee. One particular Lady appeared stressed and was very rude. Hotel needs a freshen up.

    Male staff on our particular evening was very helpful and accommodating, as were the female staff in the morning. Rooms clean and bed comfortable. Ideal location with easy access to Chester centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    6.3
    Basrd on the above probably wouldn't stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Heating! very cold had to speak with reception who gave us 2 electric heaters. Told that the plumber would visit the next day to fix, returned to room later that day with no heating - back to using electric heaters.

    Good size room - 44

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    Very clean hotel, staff were lovely very helpful.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we booked to stay in a double room I thought we would get a double bed not 2 singles pushed together which was alittle uncomfortable.

    Very clean hotel, staff were lovely very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in beautiful part of the world with comfortable rooms
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast (buffet) was well below standard. Nothing fresh (tinned fruit) and oily meat and veg for the hot food. Not impressed for the price of room.

    Super friendly staff. Very comfortable beds and amazing shower

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    2.5
    Rubbish
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attitude of receptionist Said they would get a better room next time !! What next time !

    Room dirty Mould everywhere No desk No blind in bathroom that was over looked Curtains not working Carpet filthy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.9
    Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is a lovely place but signage inside could be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV could be mounted to provide space on the table. The shower in the family room was less power and more dribble. One high chair had only one strap with the other one broken so I couldn’t fasten my child in and the other one provided had unstable legs! Staff were very helpful though.

    The bed was extremely comfortable and the bedding provided for the travel cot was thoughtful. The hotel kindly put our family next door which was requested.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed stay, plan to return when in area & would return and recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, cleanliness, Friendliness & helpful attitude displayed by staff particularly in relation to one of our party who required extra assistance which was provided readily but with discretion. Nice relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.6
    Very satisfiying stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Propblem with the door battery , which was annoying but happens sometimes.

    Great selection at Breakfast. Evening meal was beautifully cook both starter and main. My favourite was the Rice pudding, not too sweet with plenty of flavour and finished with a poached plum Lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    We'd go back any time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room too warm.

    Our room was most comfortable, even too warm for our late October visit. The TV selections were not what we would prefer, e.g., we couldn't see British soccer. The grounds are lovely, the staff friendly and helpful, and breakfast was plentiful. It's close to Chester, which is how we found the property. There are two pubs within walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Very nice present staff nice location nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No orange juice sasage and bacon were two well done toaster wasn’t working very well. Room 3 was a bit noisy could do will better door closures

    Location ;room,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.5
    Far from what I had hoped for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel really shouldn't let rooms to general public when they have a wedding on. It should only be wedding guests who can understand/tolerate the disco and dj clearly audible from the bedrooms. Add to that the bouncy castle that was put up outside the rooms which also generated a noise nuisance. It came to ringing the night Porter after 3am to see if he could resolve the issue with the drunken bridegroom marauding up and down the corridors, swearing loudly. Granted when I went to pay, my bill had been reduced but the whole lack of sleep ruined the activities planned for the day. Prior to all this I had thought I would return as everything was lovely and the location is great. Unfortunately, with this experience I most definitely would not return on a weekend.

    Food at the restaurant was excellent. Great bus service every 12 minutes into Chester.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.0
    Bed comfortable and it is nice setting but could do with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bedside lights it was all or nothing. Not enough milk is left to be able to enjoy more than one coffee. The breakfast cereal was out of date. The bar is never available to use

    Bed comfortable and it is nice setting but could do with face lift in certain areas

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Friendly, comfortable, great food, great night's sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The job I was doing which led me to Rossett Hall in the first place.

    Black pudding. Anywhere that has quality black pudding gets a thumbs up. So many places advertise a full English but neglect the black pudding. Black pudding is ace.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.5
    a very convenient and comfortable stay for a weekend visiting friends in Chester
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was a wedding reception going on and we thought it would be very noisy but the hotel had placed us away from the main event so we had a nice quiet night. the room was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. reception staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Best of the best five stars for every menber of staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We couldn't find fault.

    The staff were first class and attended to our every need, the rooms are very large,clean and airy, would recommend this hotel to others, every member of the establishment was first class five stars :

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    Duvet cover had a tear in, had to plug kettle in on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Duvet cover had a tear in, had to plug kettle in on the floor as no extension lead which wasn't good as I had a 2year old with me. Wifi slow and poor connection. Left my iPhone charger in room on first night, decided to stay a second night but had checked out so on return I asked at reception about the charger and was told I'd be phoned in my room to let me know if it was left, no phone call. Asked again on departure and was told housekeeping weren't in until 9am and I would be phoned. Still haven't been phoned.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    6.3
    Mixed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Position of room a problem as we were amidst a wedding party. Very noisy unsupervised children up and down stairs late into the evening. Breakfast exceptionally disappointing. Arrived 10m before end but many items depleted and had to ask for refills of cereals. No pastries at all. All above compounded by being told to make sure we got hot food quickly as serving area would close in 10m. Had to bolt cereals. Felt tacky and cheap.

    Room fine but see comment below. Excellent customer service on reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    5.0
    Mediocre chain, frugal with facilities and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt mislead after booking what appeared to be gracious Georgian hotel in the photos. So we arrived at wrong entrance only to be redirected to a huge modern ground floor extension. Room overlooked a brick wall a few feet away in scruffy car park. There was no heating on in either bedroom or bathroom. The decor was dowdy and dated in creams and browns. I asked when the heating would come on and receptionist did not know but said it was on a thermostat. It never did come on. It was a cold September night. The breakfast was rather down market, self-service, and they had run out of marmalade.

    Clean and good sized room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    A very pleasing stay in an exceptionally well run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite having double checked that gluten free food would be available, there was nothing appropriate in the continental breakfast.

    All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The chef and waiters coped brilliantly bearing in mind a huge coachload arrived for dinner all at the same time. Special mention for Tom who was excellent!

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: