Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Rosslyn 3 stars

16 Colin Road, Paignton, TQ3 2NR, United Kingdom

#46 of 75 hotels in Paignton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 503 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only cooked breakfast and cereal Available,no fruit, croissants,yoghurts,the double bed wasn't comfortable at all,the single one was ok though,the bathroom was claustrophobic and couldn't swing a cat round in it and the toilet took 2/3 attempts for it to flush properly,yet the single room we saw the bathroom was 3 times the size as the one that 3 people had to share

    Cliff was very friendly and chatty but his wife didn't say 2 words to us only to ask for the money 10 seconds after we got through the door,never conversated with us while we were there and when we left never bothered to say goodbye or hope you enjoyed your stay like Cliff did,left feeling a bit disappointed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Room was clean, but shower was poor, and the room was very poorly renovated by a DIY person, Ceiling (artex) was cracked and a hole in it. We expected more for £75 A night. People were nice and room was clean, overall disappointed the room was shabby.

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing not to like.

    Just returned home from staying at this guest house. would like to go back next month. Location was great close to beach, bars, cafes and the town centre. Very friendly clean and superb breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An electric fan would of been nice(as room was quite hot).

    All staff are great & nothing is to much trouble. The breakfast is fabulous. Thanks to Cliff & Cathy for a lovely stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only negatives was being next to the train track so you hear trains passing through out the night,and myself is a light sleeper so anything wakes me up.

    We enjoyed our stay at Rosslyn was really good as we could get up in a morning when we liked without someone knocking at the door to clean your room which is very frustrating when you fancy a lie in..The room was cleaned everyday,and towels and bedding changed,the bed was lovely and comfortable.The breakfast was out of this world could not eat it all and was nicely cooked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the sink because was to old and could see wear and grubby, the carpet a bit rough in some corners ,old fashion shower and parts unglued. .

    The amazing part was the attendance and great breakfast, very clean room ,friendly staff ..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should have been breakfast - there wasn’t. We booked B & B, only to be told days before that it wasn’t available. Who runs a B & B with no breakfast?

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    The rooms were comfortable and clean, especially as there is a daily maid service.An excellent full english breakfast with an option of cereal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I found the close proximity to the railway difficult. Trains commenced at 6am Monday to Saturday waking me up earlier than I wanted and breakfast was not available until 8.30am. Though I must say my husband could sleep through anything!

    The bed was good though smaller than we are used to. Cooked breakfast good but limited in choice though definitely value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to railway line/track however although you heard trains going by it wasn’t overly noisy.

    Owner allowed us to park longer after check out as attending a funeral, which was much appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom for room 2 was very small. The first night (Thursday) was fine. On the Friday night some guests were inconsiderate, being noisy as late as 1.30 am despite notices asking them to be considerate towards other guests.

    A large bright bedroom with cheerful decor in the bedroom, lounge and dining room. A nautical/holiday theme throughout. Comfortable bed and lounge furniture. The breakfast was very well cooked and presented by the owner. It was served very promptly. The owner was also very helpful and informative.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Creaky bed and teaspoons in the room were dirty and other guests banging doors but that’s not owners fault

    Breakfast was good and guy who cooked it was friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there wasn't anything that my partner and I could find fault with.

    it was a very convenient point of access to local shops and for getting to work. The staff were very friendly and accommodating throughout. the room was very clean and tidy and warm. Parking facilities were good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. The place was very clean and the breakfast was excellent. I will return and stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather!

    Owners are like long lost friends. Such a friendly welcome, nothing too much trouble. Little extras that make the stay. Our beds were made to look so cosy every day and room left tidy for us to come back to. One minute from the beach. You won't be disappointed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing too negative to report, room was a bit nippy in the middle of the night (but it is early February), shower was rather temperamental, seemingly wouldn't allow much between scolding hot or freezing cold, but no doubt that was a blip and is now on the mend!

    Owners are very nice, chatty and make you feel welcome! Parking at the front and back was ideal (when you enter the road it is the last hotel on your left). The location was also very ideal, a short walk to pubs and pier, Paignton Town was also a nice 15 minute walk along the seafront (and then you're there!). With plenty of other options around, a 10 minute drive would get you to a big supermarket (Sainsbury's or Morrisons), or down to Torquay, or to the infamous Paignton Zoo. If you are out to enjoy yourself, the convenience and price of this hotel is very much ideal!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no breakfast included even though when booking it said book today and get free breakfast. The sink was next to the bed in the main room and glugged everytime someone else used their sink

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking behind the back was an area which was a public walkway/ road with all access and limited street lighting not good for security. Bathroom was very small.

    The staff were really friendly on arrival. Room was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Locks on the toilet door would be nice.

    The staff were great, chatty and gave the place a very homely feel. Would definitely return if we visited again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet and the shower leaked, and when I hung my towel on the hook behind the bathroom door the hook just pulled out. I think a few things could do with an overhaul.

    Staff very friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean and comfortable. the staff were lovely and even though there was work on three house happening guests were priority. I will stay there again soon. very satisfied and felt they went over and above. lovely people. 😁

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good basic guest house. Proprietor was really friendly had good local knowledge and made you feel really welcomed Rooms are clean and not cramped The beech is at the bottom of the street and the town center is about a 10min walk away Great value for money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near to railway line. Great if you need to get up early! Walls a bit thin if noisy guests.

    Clean and suitable for purpose. Very close to ameneties. Parking good. Good price for single but should include basic breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps extra pillows- I sometimes need to sleep propped up. More milk cartons- I find I need 3 per cup for a reasonable cuppa!

    Very generous breakfast portions, comfortable bed. Friendly owners and staff without being too intrusive

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The host appear to be tired and the location need more maintenance. Not recommendable! you can find something else good at this money...

    breakfast was good but the host stingy...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger towels but I am a big person!

    Great stay, near to all locations and everything that you wanted from a short stay. The room was great, friendly staff, good nights sleep in a location just set back from the sea front but all easily walkable. Excellent breakfast, well cooked which set you up for the day!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The railway behind the property was a bit noisy but at least the trains didn't run through the night.

    The cooked breakfast was excellent and the tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived was told your room is upthe staires to the left at the end of the landing not even shown room. Room awful as sink cracked nets had holes in and dirty. Extractor fan taped over and painted dark grey like rest of bathroom. Handle missing off window in bedroom. Paper taped over glass above the door to block light out. Shower dirty the floor in the bathroom dipped and creaked and was slippery even when dry the tiles by the sink were painted with gloss paint and bathroom window had cob webs and bed extremely uncomfortable. Breakfast cold and not worth the money one sausage one bacon one egg and beans that filled the plate cold have had better at a farm shop for less money.Cliff was very arrogant and not helpful. Tried to pay for breakfast to waitress and was told to pay the man when finished.

    Nothing very dull and dark who decorated this place

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little tired and could do with updating. It would have been nice to have a few of the little touches like a packet of biscuits with the tea and coffee making facilities. Also the shower room and toilet ensuite is tiny so really only good for small people. We were offered the shared bathroom in fairness but with a small family we needed the ensuite.

    It was good value for money and a good location. The owners are really friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The owners were friendly and made us feel very welcome. Our room was very nice, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was lovely. The guest house was within walking distance to the beach and town. We will return in the future. Russ and Ali (Loughborough, Leicestershire)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 10 had a railway line about 200yds away. A very busy car park directly under the window ( used into early hours of morning). Room very small and uncomfortably hot the bed was unbelievably hard only one pillow supplied. Breakfast table so small they had to juggle constantly to get breakfast on. No marmalade for toast (jam only). No one showed you to room. Didn't like them taking the payment before we left. Never saw the wife. Although quite pleasant owner had. no conversation , we did not feel made welcome. My overall impression was that they were very inexperienced, with no people skills

    Very clean .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room for a great price - exactly as advertised in the pictures. Very clean, comfy beds, everything in good working order. Nice friendly owners too!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was tiny and the room could do with a little updating. Bit pickey but most accommodation leave a couple of packets of biscuits. A bit noisy at night from the road. We were in room 2 at the front.

    The owners are very friendly and the breakfast was lovely. The beds were comfy and it was a nice touch that the room was made up even though we were there two nights

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not the best views but we were out all day so didn't matter.

    The hosts were really friendly and Cliff's breakfast was fantastic! Cosy rooms, clean and comfortable. Free parking. Close to the beach and shops, restaurants etc. Great value for money, thank you!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too soft and bouncy for my liking.

    The breakfast was excellent, the room was comfortable and had drinks making facilities close to restaurants, shops and entertainment.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the view was nothing as we were at the back room could of been bigger

    the breakfast was very good nice and hot and the owners were very chatty and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to wait in the hallway for the dining room to open...breakfast served between 830am and 9am but both days dining room not open til 840am so all congregated in the hallway waiting to be seated...not a major problem and didn't spoil our holiday it just seemed rather silly

    A lovely bedroom, clean and well kept. Nice friendly landlady who allowed us to park early so we could go for a walk around before our room was ready. Breakfast was good and hearty. Great value for money stay! Feel personally bed and breakfast situated in the nicest part of Paignton at the top end, walking distance to the beach 5 minutes....Great break away! Thanks :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom was cramped, but we were up on the second floor, so we would expect space to be used to the full. there are 10 rooms.

    the bed was nice and firm, good for me. the breakfast was well cooked and organised. the place was easily reached by bus, and a stone's throw from the beach and 10 mins walk along the sea front to all the "stuff" going on. It has parking, and is next door to a carpark. The front room lounge is nice and comfy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was much too small and definitely not for 4 people. The shower was tiny, no place to hang a thing or barley to stand... The shower's door didn't closed properly.

    The location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The en suite was not what I was expecting. Usually it is a separate room not, toilet and shower in one room and the sink in the bedroom.

    The room had plenty of room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got the impression that the guests are an inconvenience to the owner. Either this guy has been in the business too long, or not long enough. There was the bare minimum of contact and when we left the owner made sure not to be there. Very loud neighbours, although that is beyond their control. Also I have never stayed in a place where the washbasin is in the main room because the so called ensuite is so small you could barely fit a shower and a what was a cassette caravan toilet in. Very strange stay. Do not recommend.

    Breakfast was pretty good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. the room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast as good as you will find anywhere. We will try and return in the future as we really enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had very noisy neighbours with music in early hours of morning and continuing for a long time!!

    The breakfast was good, room was clean and it was within walking distance to the shops and centre of town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cant think of anything.

    cliff and cathy and the lady who served our breakfast [sorry I didn.t get your name ]were very friendly and welcoming [as usual ]food was lovely and plentiful ,,room was nice and cosy [room 5 ]seagulls a bit noisy but its a seaside thing ,,cant be helped.no trouble parking although most rooms were taken.will definitely be back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighbours. Fire alarm set off in middle of night fire in their house resulting in having to get out of our b n b.

    Nice and clean, quiet area but easy 5 min into town center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like a ceiling fan as it was very hot 😊

    Our 2nd visit - great location, lovely room, excellent staff who are really friendly & Cliff's big breakfast- yummy!!!! 👍🏻😋

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing i didnt like was something missing from the room a mini fridge would of made it excellent.

    That the place was very clean and fresh and the breakfast was awesome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    very noisy upstairs at night,No smoking facilities 0utside we had to stand in the rain,we asked him if we could use his parasol,at the side of his guest house, he said no,When we were outside the lady came running out from next door screaming and shouting, also the police came on two separate nights the owner did seem to be a very arrogant also full of self importance we will most definitely not go back,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was small, hard and uncomfortable.

    We didn't spend hardly any time here so trying to give a fair review. Location is fantastic and the lady who checked us in was nice and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was the bathroom was a little small but we're told when we checked in and we're given the choice to use another bathroom outside the room as well, I travelled with 3 teenagers!

    A really friendly place to stay, very clean and great choice of delicious breakfast. We were only there one night but would visit again. Parking wasn't a problem, it was easy to find and a flat short walk to the beach front. Lots of choice for restaurants around. Cath and Cliff were lovely people. Would go back for another stay. :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could of been a bit more comfortable apart from that everything was fine

    Very clean cliff the owner very nice personality breakfast fantastic ideal situation not far to walk to the centre of town everything you want is nearby

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    People in car park shouting at 1am and knocking on doors. Train going past regularly.

    Very clean property. Very close to beach. Here for Torbay half marathon. Great value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic location, only a couple of minutes walk to the sea front. Best cooked breakfast ever had. Very friendly owners, could not do enough for you. Cannot fault this B&B

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were lovely, friendly and helpful. Their Breakfast was amazing and filled us up for the day. Close the beaches, shops and restaurants. We would defiantly recommend and will also be coming back ourselves.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only grumble that I have was that our room was particularly noisy from either neighbors or the hotel staff playing music and singing until gone midnight.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, the breakfast was delicious and saw us through the whole day!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot(I know it was hot outside but unbearable in room) and shower couldn't get a nice temperature it was either hot or cold. Because we had windows open a lot of noise was heard outside.

    Fabulous breakfast served including a full English.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    It was central but also quiet. An easy walk to the beaches and town centre. Although the room wasn't huge it was large enough and the bed was comfortable. It was ideal for a week's break, we could park the car and walk or use nearby buses to explore the area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was nothing we did not like ... nice and quite venue

    A very warm welcome on arrival , very clean room as always easy parking on site amazing fresh cooked breakfast , highly recommended

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor soundproofing - noise levels from guests within the hotel too high at times but there are very clear and polite notices inside and outside the rooms to respect other guests, still a lot of door slamming around the clock. However, despite being in a busy area,being located close to the seafront and with a public house along the short road it is fortunate that the hotel is located at the very far end of the main road, only backing onto a large car park.

    The friendly family welcome, straightforward flexible organisation, and as for cleanliness, it was second to none. Spotlessness to the very highest standard.Clear signs and notices regarding keeping noise levels down and a smoking penalty clause also imposed. Smoking bin provided outside main entrance,under canopy, and smoking odours on brought in by guests (including myself) were swiftly eliminated by the excellent cleaning staff. which Thanks so much for the friendly welcome and send off.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shame but i have to say ... but the bed was awful ie; hard & i felt like i was falling out of bed & had to hold on & position myself in a way as not to (wife slept like log ) .. may be due to a tired old mattress or my excessive weight :? , but i found if i laid on edge of bed , i soon Dropped off :) also unfortunately we only had 3 Full Nights as we could hear LOUD Snoring from other rooms & deep talking & we needed early start as 7 hour plus drive home so we set off at 11pm with NO sleep as could not stand the noise , & we didn't want to disturb Cath ( owner ) as not fair that time of night ! all in all a good second time visit to the Rosslyn & good sunshine made our break better , we were lucky not to have anyone in next room last time 2 years ago so maybe was spoilt .. Still don't let this review put you off . give it a go as just my honest experience , But maybe we will try different area next time .. just for a change . Oh & Don't make the mistake i did when booking by NOT getting Breakfast included box TICKED on booking .com website (think they should make this more clear, as felt mislead ) .. We had to pay on arrival for breakfasts as was told i didn't book full B&B .. I WAS SURE I DID . so wasn't such a bargain as first thought & we didn't have as much spends as we thought :( Knocked shine off a bit ... SO Double check everything & have a Great time :) still worth the money .

    BREAKFAST WAS VERY GOOD , IN FACT I CHALLENGE ANYONE TO FIND BETTER :) also parking at property good ! as was tea coffee making in room .. room tidied etc every day .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extra pillows would be a welcome bonus - there was only one pillow per person, which resulted in me having a bad neck for a few days! Quite stingy with the tea and coffee making facilities as well - only 4 small pots of milk given and the tea bags and sugar were rationed too!

    The location is perfect, very close to the town. The room is very clean, can't fault the cleanliness at all. Likewise, the friendliness of the staff - they are very helpful/

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtain was very thin and didn't prevent the light from waking me up at 5 am.

    Very clean room and clean environment all around the building. Excellent location and Cliff the owner is very hospitable and kind. He will give helpful advice on what to see in the area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was firm, there was everything we needed. Staff were invisible unless you wanted them, nothing was too much trouble and breakfast was excellent. If I need to stay in Paignton area again would definitely contact Rosslyn in the hope of staying there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed in room 7 was awful, deffo needs replacing as you can feel the springs all over it

    Very friendly staff and breakfast was fantastic, lovely little place, close to the beach

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom walls are thin, and a young couple were obviously enjoying their bedroom antics, but at midnight this wasn't really what I wanted to hear when trying to sleep.

    We were able to park right outside on the property, although the spaces available are limited. There is additional parking allocated behind the property, but we didn't need to use that. The property is clean throughout. Access to town is a brief walk, it was nice to have the walk and to be away from any night time noise.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom heater was not working though we could open bathroom window to let steam out.

    We had no breakfist, cannot talk about food but room was nice and comfy, staff was friendly. Hot and cold water, cattle, etc. - all we wanted.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wasn't keen on the sliding bathroom door, a slight gap, but not a problem. The sink made lots of gurgling noises, which you could also hear when the neighboring room used theirs, again not really a problem but we were very conscious of turning on the taps late at night or early morning. Couldn't get a parking space but luckily there is a large car park right next door (overnight parking is £2.50 from 10pm - 8am) Was told in the morning there were an extra 3 hotel parking spaces behind the hotel - oh well!

    Friendly host. Rang to say they would leave a key in a specific place as they were going out and they were unsure when I was arriving. Clean, comfortable (family) room with tea making facilities. Nice position, only a short walk from the beach and on a fairly quiet road.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not work during our stay.

    Clean rooms and bathroom. Value for money. Recommended if you're just looking for a place to rest for the night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really

    Very clean and comfortable BREAKFAST FABULOUS Lovely friendly staff and Clifford the "BOSS" was so friendly Highly reccomend

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people staying in the room next to us. Two seperate people that were really noisy but we understand this is no fault of the hosts.

    The decor of the room and the coffee facilities. We also liked the parking and the cleanliness.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really friendly, would be definatly coming back here. Such good value for money. The b&b is walking distance from the sea and a variety of places to eat

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom bt we were offered the use of the bathroom across the landing too.its a good 10 mins walk from the train station bt u could get a taxi if raining

    Cliff and Kathy were very helpful and friendly.were made to feel welcome.room was was cleaned every day and in general the rosslyn was lovely and homely

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only thing was the on suite is very snug but the shower was very good,

    We had a lovely welcome from cliff he moved us to the lower floor as I cant do stairs well. Room was lovely and clean everything you needed was there. And the breakfast was one of the tastiest I have had and I have had a few. There was lots of information on places to visit while we where there we only live in Barnstaple North Devon so not far away but nice break.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not the fault of the hotel but parking was expensive due to the council hiking up their prices, although there was ample parking next door to the hotel

    Cliff was a nice guy and the location couldn't be beaten

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast included although advertised as a B&B only informed once booked,feel that owners were covering this by having various descriptions,ie sign outside stating hotel, business cards stating guest house,and Web site stating B&B when leaving to hand in keys which was the only time we met him, his answer was a B&B was the same has a guest house and hotel and breakfast was extra money, which I always thought B&B ment bed & breakfast I have stopped in many B&B and always had a breakfast, I would never stop there again and tell people to phone before they book up to ask what place they are staying in,

    Price, cleanliness,

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: