Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rothay Garth 4 stars

Rothay Road, Ambleside, LA22 0EE, United Kingdom

#23 of 50 B&Bs and Inns in Ambleside

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 559 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was strange that the bathroom window was not frosted. This meant the blind had to be down whenever the bathroom was used because our room was overlooked.

    The staff ccouldn't do enough, were friendly and welcoming. A great place to stay and we will be back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As the weather was fantastic we did struggle with having nowhere to sit outside and enjoy a coffee after a day out. There were some furniture but it was very old and not clean so we went to the park opposite which was lovely. We would also liked to have had some glasses in the room instead of plastic cups.

    It is only a few minutes from the centre of Ambleside and about 15 mins to the lake. The bed was comfy and very good breakfasts! The staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really good welcome, knowledgeable & friendly. Great breakfast. Easy walk to catch the cruise & to the restaurants , some of which are a little pricey but there’s plenty of choice. Wish we had longer than our 2 nights.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. All good

    Very welcoming and personable making us feel at home as soon as we arrived. Room perfect with large 4 poster bed, jacuzzi and beautiful views of the town with mountain background. V good central location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was well equipped and clean but shower water pressure was poor.

    Comfortable room, very clean, breakfast was good and the proprietor and staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower water pressure wasn't great but we managed - spa bath was lovely.

    Great sized room, 4 poster bed, spa bath, very friendly staff, tasty full breakfast cooked to order. Lots to do in the area - easy walk to Ambleside shops, lovely place to explore the surrounding area whether walking, driving, or by bus. Short bus ride to Windemere and Bownness on Windemere. Good base for hiking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are very squeaky floorboards between the room door and the shower room door, so every time we moved about, we felt that we would be disturbing the people in the room below.

    The host was full of character and couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome. Our room was fine, and the breakfast room and lounge were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were in this time was smaller then we have previously stayed in .

    The staff are always friendly and helpful . The breakfast is excellent and the hotel is spotless.Great location as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could be improved. Shower doors were broken and fungus at the bottom rails. Nowhere to hang my toilet bag. Not enough towel rails. Fan noisy.

    The bed was perfectly comfy and I have a bad back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can't think of anything that would have improved our stay.

    The staff were wonderful, the breakfasts were excellent and the bed was so comfy. We enjoyed a very relaxing stay at Rothay Garth.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOTHING REALLY

    IT was a first class place to stay in ambleside,Clean good and well mannered staff good car park,And a breakfast to die for In the centre of the town,I would certainly go back there to the Rothy garth anytime

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. On the roadside but set back a little and road noise at night not a problem.

    Bed very comfy. One of best I’ve ever slept in. Staff very friendly and breakfast nice. Location is good for central Ambleside - all amenities walkable. Great base for the fells.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit warm, bathroom a bit cold, couldn’t adjust radiators. Old part of House nicer than New.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, comfy beds, good breakfast, lovely and fresh - fab fruit salad!!! Parking great, lovely breakfast room and garden.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are rather like cupboards but improvement is probably not possible due to the small room sizes.

    Location is good and parking is available. Good breakfast but later a avaiLability on weekends would be. bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were downstairs on the front n the views were good but we had to keep the curtains closed as people walking from the car park walked right past our window so there was no privacy. A half net curtain would help a lot!

    Large and very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Size of the room too small, poor water pressure on the shower.

    Lovely comfy bed. Excellent warm welcome & lovely breakfasts. Nice & central location close to all the amenities. Plenty of car parking spaces.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent home cooked breakfast every day. The service was very friendly and prompt. The hosts could not have been more helpful. We will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom was tiny without any window and the shower wasn't working properly (either too cold or too hot).

    Very friendly staff. Breakfast was superb and the accommodation very clean and warm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was much smaller than I had anticipated; the WiFi connection on the top floor was very poor; the shower was unsatisfactory.

    The staff was delightful! :) The location was amazing! The breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful stay, perfect location, hotel spotless, hostess and staff very welcoming and friendly - could not do enough to help and make you feel at home. Breakfast outstanding, would highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was excellent.

    I was more than happy with the guest house,it was very well run and the family who ran it were really friendly and very helpful.The breakfast choices were excellent these included the likes of scrambled eggs with smoked salmon or a full English.Overall my stay was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Plus Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing really as everything we expected was achieved.

    very friendly and warm greeting as soon as we walked in to the guest house and were met by Laura one of the owners. Very clean room and facilities an excellent for served at breakfast. All the family were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. we will definitely be returning for another break soon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower flow and temperature a bit unpredictable , especially when another guest starts using their own shower. Not much variety in terms of cooked breakfast , especially if one is staying for more than 3 days. We found the Cumbrian sausage surprisingly dry.

    The location near the town centre and all the shops/restaurants is excellent. Plenty of free car parking spaces. Very friendly staff made us welcome and were keen to please. The sitting room was warm and comfortable. Good wifi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet seat was loose, so was toilet roll holder. Lights in breakfast room flickering a lot. Light above bed needs moving higher up wall, could easily bang head on it.

    It’s a beautiful house, very friendly staff, lovely breakfast and excellent view, close to town centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only downside was that the Wifi wasn't great. But this is the only bad thing I can say about my stay. It didn't really bother me as it helped even more with switching off from work and relaxing.

    Staff were so friendly and helpful. The best customer I think I've ever exerperienced. I would stay again just for this. Room was really comfortable and breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing whatever!!!

    Very, very warm welcome, comfortable bedroom, plus a guests' sitting room. Great choice for breakfast. We'll be coming back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little cool to begin with but I think this was more reflective of the weather than anything else

    Lovely hotel and amazingly friendly staff and owners, perfectly placed for accessing great walks and the centtt

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Plus Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome was exceptional. we were made to feel very much at home and they couldn't do enough for you. Very helpful with nothing too much trouble.wonderful place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water power of the shower could have been better.

    The bed was very comfy. The room and bathroom was very clean. The staff offered to let us use the car park after check out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower could have been a little more powerful and less temperamental (either cold or scalding hot on high power).

    Great value for money. The breakfast was on balance the best I’ve had at a B and B. Lovely fruit salad to start followed by the cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Decor a bit dated in places. Not a problem.

    Warmth of the welcome. Excellent choice at breakfast. Happy for guests to come and go all day - important in bad weather and the lounge was excellent. Good on site parking and a central location. Even provision for a table to be laid if you wanted to have a take away!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Plus Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was for us a bit small but in all fairness it was a double

    Location and views were lovely and a very homely feel everyone made us welcome and nothing to much trouble will definitely be going back

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dispite its location on the main road, it was very quiet (although this could be due to the time of year). Views of the surrounding fells really good, especially when snow-capped. The staff couldn't do enough to help, even when booking in early.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower was awful and needs fixing, came out as a drip and fluctated between scolding hot and freezing cold, no inbetween. Room was a bit on the small side for the money and making a cup of tea was a bit cramped. Parking was very cramped.

    Location is great. Breakfast was well cooked and good choice. Staff were very friendly and made us to feel welcome. Parking was great to have in a private car park. Lounge area was very cosy. Hotel always warm and felt comfy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Arrived early and was allowed to leave car in car park while we walked around Ambleside. Lovely family owners, very helpful and polite. We had the small double but this was ample for us,very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly welcome. Staff polite, helpful and informative. Lovely cosy warm sitting room, very nice after coming in from the cold. Great breakfast with very warm plates, set us up for the day. Four poster bed was very comfortable and we also had a great view from our window. Would stay at Rothay Garth next time we are in the area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great central location with ample parking. They let us leave the car after we checked out to go out for the day. The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us making our stay perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with King Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm struggling to find fault with the b&b. We will be back.

    The staff were excellent and our superior room was clean comfortable, well equiped and warm. What more do you need

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Plus Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower took a while to heat up and due to size of shower area a more powerful force would have been preferred

    Easy to park. Short stroll to town centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being super-picky, the Wi-Fi wouldn't connect easily in the bedroom so I had to go downstairs. The shower dribbled to a standstill after 5 minutes.

    Great breakfast and lovely warm sitting room. Fantastic location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite expensive if no 3 for 2 nights deal on.

    Hosts warmth, friendliness & hospitality, comfortable room, great breakfast, pleasant lounge area, very close to town centre & car parking facility

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a fault but we had to turn the radiator down and open the window because the room was so warm.

    Great hosts. Lovely cosy little room. Comfy lounge with open fire. Warm light dining room and excellent full English breakfast. Secure and plenty of car parking. Great B&B.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!

    Everything from our arrival and greeting to the friendly good byes when we left were very warm and personal. All the staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was spotless, warm and comfortable. Breakfast was superb and hearty. The lounge and conservatory were two nice areas to sit and rest other than the bedroom. We had family visit us during our stay who were also treated to the same warm friendliness.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in Room 4. The water pressure in the shower was weak. The décor is chintzy country house - but very clean.

    Friendly welcome. Great central location with excellent views. Room very comfortable - Sealy Memory Foam matress throughout were brand new on day of arrival! Breakfast tasty & plentiful. Service outstanding.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast was excellent. Toiletries in bathroom were lovely Tea and Coffee making facilities with yummy biscuits Staff and host very friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The proprietor was absolutely fabulous as were all the staff. They made it feel like home We would love to return when we have the opportunity.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really only a very slight dislike which was the car parking it is very tight but manageable.

    Location, room, comfy bed, cleanliness was excellent, great breakfast and wonderful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a four poster and felt a little small but this is probably the style. Bathroom could have done with a bit more storage space however unsure how this could be achieved.

    The hotel was in a great location with easy walking into tourist areas and down to Lake. Very quiet and comfortable. Breakfasts very good with staff accommodating all needs. Decor very homely, lovely and warm after cold wet weather. Lovely hot chocolate in rooms! Very friendly host !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Delicious breakfast with plenty of choice. Friendly, family-run guesthouse. Great advice on local walks and attractions. Warm and comfortable accommodation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Were on the top floor which meant a lot of stairs carrying cases but as was attic room had window with Town view. Suggest request ground floor if mobility a problem. Fan in bathroom was very noisy and continued on after light turned off.

    Authentic English B&B

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    our room is face the street and the traffic is rather noisy. they have the heater on but we feel too hot in the room.

    nice location, very good breakfast, very friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately next door neighbours were inconsiderate and very noisy when they returned at 1am.

    Room was very clean and comfy Breakfast was excellent The welcome was wonderful. Lovely position for exploring. Good restaurants nearby for dinner

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some bedroom furniture needs repaired/replaced

    The room was very comfortable and the staff were very knowledgeable on local places to eat and visit

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rothay Garth is in a traditional slate building opposite a church & park where there is a putting green, a well maintained crazy golf & some tennis courts. I arrived in the dark and had the surprise of a fantastic view towards the Fairfield Horseshoe from my bedroom window next morning :) Good location away from the main streets of Ambleside, and shops, cafes, pubs & restaurants are only 5 minutes walk away. A car park is on site & the bus station is around the corner. The staff are very smiley, jolly & made me feel very welcome!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a lovely place to stay. The staff are very friendly. I like the way your room number is also your table number so you know where you are sitting each morning! The breakfast is well cooked, hot and has plenty of choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were in a very small room. We both knocked our legs on part of the bed due to lack of space. It was OK for us, but would put off some people.

    Food was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Attention to electrics is needed: faulty shaver socket; mirror bulb dead on one side; bathroom fan not working; hairdrier faulty and past the PAT test date, probably because it was hidden in a drawer. Some drawers were stuck fast; headboards knocked against the wall and woke us up if we rolled over in bed!

    Generous choice for breakfast. Crisp bed linen and good pillows.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints for this lovely B&B.

    Fantastic hosts over the two days, who always had plenty of time to talk and were very enthusiastic. The room was fine and as advertised, we had the small double and it was fine for my wife and I. Breakfast was great and endless coffee. Located only a minute or two from the first cafe, restaurant, bus station, etc. Car parking was a bonus too. We're looking to relocate in the new year and we received lots of useful advice from mum and daughter team.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The en suite was a bit small and the shelf above the sink wasn't very well positioned,but overall it was good .

    We had a lovely week staying at the Rothay Garth ,very friendly and welcoming great breakfast the fruit was really well presented and freshly prepared Great location not to far away from the centre of Ableside.Beautiful area for walking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. The hot water in the shower is not consistent sometime cold sometimes hot 2. The mattress on the left side is not firm...I kept sliding to the edge most times .Could be due to guests sitting on this side more to watch the TV

    1. Friendly and charming hosts 2. Excellent and delicious breakfast spread 3. Excellent location with shops within 5 mins walk away 4. The property has a warm and cosy ambience

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The tea making facilities on the bed side cabinet were a little cramped.

    This is a lovely hotel. The small double was very roomy and the shower cubicle was a generous size. The breakfast was excellent and the sausages the best we have had. The staff are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the local area. We are planning to stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived, our room wasn't ready yet... but we understand they are a small business... the checkout a bit too early... up to 10:30am...

    We loved how clean and tide it was. Really impressive!! Staff very polite and friendly!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything I didn't like apart from the weather!

    It was a very enjoyable stay. The owner's were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I left my expensive perfume behind after checkout and they rung me straight away so i could turn back round before i got well into my joirney - really appreciated that 👍🏼

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Plus Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't find anything to fault about the properly.

    Very homely and clean, fantastic service, amazing staff, will definitely be visiting again in the near future.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owners were very friendly, attentive and bent over backwards to accommodate our needs. Breakfast was delicious and served in lovely surroundings. Parking on site was a bonus in the town. We are already planning another visit there next year.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hot water in the shower took a while to arrive and not much room to put your toiletries.

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for you. They were prepared to book restaurants for you and they gave you advice on local walks if you were unsure as where to go? Breakfast time they was plenty of choice and you could mix and match.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was disappointing. Eggs often overcooked or obviously kept warm. Toast cool.

    Excellent location, comfortable rooms and good facilities. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a bit tight when full but manageable with care.

    Food was excellent. The staff were very nice and lovely characters. Made you feel very welcome and made sure you had what you wanted.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is ideal about 200 metres from main shopping street, although it is an uphill walk. The staff make this property, so welcoming, you will be pushed to find more welcoming hosts.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing to dislike

    The guest house was clean and comfortable. All the staff were very friendly. The information supplied about the town and surrounding area was excellent and we found the little map with restaurants, pubs, garages, etc marked was invaluable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, the room we were in was at the very top of the hotel and very small but we knew this when we booked so nothing unexpected.

    The family who run this hotel are very friendly and helpful beds are very comfy rooms are extra specially clean and breakfast is delicious. We have stayed here before and nothing changes.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that was disagreeable.

    The bed was large and comfortable. The room was warm and the welcome was very friendly. There was a pleasant lounge to sit in and the dining room was attractive. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    From start to finish our stay was an absolute pleasure. Janet and her daughters are to be commended on an excellent establishment. you are made to feel welcome from the moment you walk in to the moment you leave. We only had the small room, but it suited us perfectly. everything clean and tidy. When we return which we will, we shall book one of the larger rooms. Breakfast for choice and quality was A1. Nothing was to much trouble for our hosts. I would wholeheartedly recommend Rothay Garth.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe would have liked a fan in bedroom as was rather warm.

    Ease of check in, warm welcome and lovely staff. Breakfast plentiful and delicious. Close to all the amenities and although near a road it was quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: