Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rowton Castle Hotel

Halfway House, Cardeston, SY5 9EP, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Cardeston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 60 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Baldwin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a stunning place to stay. Excellent staff and couldn't do enough for us. We were upgraded on arrival and the room was beautiful. The food was outstanding and value for money was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind!

    All the staff were welcoming and friendly. The facilities are excellent and the castle and grounds make it a lovely setting. There are so many interesting and characterful features.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - it was perfect.

    Half term provided the opportunity for us to take our two grandsons away for a short break and having just completed a project about castles in their school, what better to go and live in one and visit some nearby! A quick online search and Booking.com and Rowton Castle came up trumps at very short notice. Everything was superb and the boys loved every minute of it. Booking and confirmations were easy and efficient. When Prince Aidan and Prince Oliver arrived at the beautifully floodlit castle in the dead of night with King Grandad and Queen Granny their eyes were wide with excitement. We had a delightful family room at the top and it was great fun letting the young princes find their own way to a delicious breakfast in the morning with so many stairs and so many possible ‘secret passage’ ways to go. Everything here was fantastic, the food, the warm open fires, the rooms, the views and grounds but especially the staff, so warm and friendly, chatty with the boys and eager for us to explore every room in the castle, from the bridal suite to the ‘marry room’ as Prince Aidan put it. The room service was excellent, with the boys pyjamas being caringly arranged around some toffees for them along with a note welcoming them back after their day of castle explorations. What a delightful place in a brilliant location and one that we feel privileged to have stayed in as although we hadn’t realised when booking, one that is only rarely available, as the whole castle is usually booked for weddings on most days. Certainly, it’s a great place to get married and for us, it was a great base for exploring other castles in the area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The in room televisions are a little on the small side for such a hotel.WOULD BE BETTER WALL MOUNTED than in a cupboard. More channels would also improve matters. No leisure facilities is also a minor drawback and the existence of a pool,sauna,jacuzzi and steam room would improve facilities noticeably.

    The quality of the evening meal was exceptional...all three courses. The standard of service by the waiter was outstanding...very friendly,very courteous, very efficient,very knowledgeable. Superb surroundings. Nothing was too much trouble for the waiter.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms on the second floor (12, 15, 16) have small windows without views.

    This is a beautiful place to stay. We were able to wonder around the hotel and grounds. The staff were very warm and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Staff very welcoming and friendly. Restaurant evening meal was excellent and beautifully presented. The twin bedded room was lovely with a beautiful view of the garden and countryside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff weren't that friendly, it felt as though they had more important things to do than check us in.

    Our server for the night (Tue 11th July) was excellent, he couldn't have been more helpful or made us feel any more welcome :) Wonderful breakfast in bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Melverley Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairs on the bed on arrival. Other than this, could not fault the cleanliness.

    Comfortable stay in a luxurious hotel with very friendly staff. Beautiful decor throughout and very authentic. Excellent breakfast too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alberbury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving.

    Rowton Castle was absolutely fabulous and the staff outstandingly attentive. Nothing is too much bother for them and you are made to feel welcome from the moment you walk in the door.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little TV in room 12, not on hinge for daughter to watch whilst lying in bed. That's the only fault... Everything else excellent.

    Everything and everything. Will be back very soon. Thank you for making my 50th Birthday very special.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Upgraded to 4 poster room 7. Excellent in every way. Great staff, restaurant had a good feel to it and food well executed and presented. Breakfast spot on, Good quality ingredients. Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing it was perfect.

    Staff were helpful and friendly. Food was fabulous. Castle was interesting and rooms well appointed. Upgraded us as it was a birthday celebration. Lovely grounds and orchard.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Duvet was awful, far to heavy and hot. Lighting in bedroom too low and bathroom lighting was inadequate initially; New led bulbs required.

    Restaurant was excellent and so were staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic location enhanced by a very sunny evening. The staff were very friendly and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luxurious comfort,beautiful surroundings and friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great food and all the staff were Amazing by going the extra mile in lots if occasions

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oak Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Professional staff, excellent service, tasty food and lovely room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service and welcome.

    No croissants offered for breakfast, no yogurt offered first morning. not shown around facilities or to room on arrival.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it's spot on for us

    We got married here and it was good to go back enjoy rowton

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lamp in room 12 didn't work at all even when I swapped bulbs..

    The whole experience, the house, the tree in the grounds. Everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't acknowledge it was our anniversary where we had originally celebrated our special memorable day

    Room was very warm but had two fans

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alberbury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attention to detail

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We loved absolutely everything about the castle.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Venue excellent, staff friendly and helpful. It was our anniversary and the staff went out of their way to make it special for us.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful building, incredible interior, stunning grounds, very friendly, helpful staff. Perfect wedding venue

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alberbury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited eve menu week day

    Ambiance

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Baldwin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were exceptional, nothing was too much trouble. Friendly, helpful & welcoming. Immaculate restaurant, hotel & rooms

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oak Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loverly staff, very relaxing atmosphere, loved the dinning room and the food

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Very friendly and personal service, excellent food in a gorgeous setting. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Baldwin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great room, set menu excellent and staff very friendly. As this was a last minute booking the Hotel was a pleasant surprise.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent, friendly service. High quality food very good value.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't stay longer.

    Room was amazing. Bed was super comfy. And the staff were incredible.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was good. Staff were very helpful. Breakfast was lovely and castle beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    Lovely acomodation, facilities food and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Baldwin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This is where I was married!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alberbury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Staff were extremely Helpful!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Baldwin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed realy nice place with friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything is perfect and the trouble with that is there is not much availability - early alerts of availability would be priceless for me.

    the staff are exceptional I have stayed there twice and both times they made an enormous effort to ensure we had the best possible visit. On the first visit I had my elderly mother with me and they went out of their way to make her feel special without being condescending

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    That we were on a tight schedule & couldn't stay longer.

    Wanted to give our daughter a beautiful memory of a fancy place to stay, that as an American would "scream Great Britian " but not break our budget. We got all of the experience, from a fantastic room to English countryside & gardens to a fabulous English breakfast at a very reasonable price. Brilliant! We'd recommend this to anyone in a second.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A beautiful place which made our stay absolutely enjoyable. The staff was very friendly and polite, the common rooms were excellent, especially the restaurant. A remarkable residence in a beautiful landscape. The rooms were comfortable and had a very nice atmosphere. The overall attention to detail was remarkable.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not being able to open the bedroom window.

    Beautiful building. Comfy room. Lovely breakfast. Delicious dinner in the turret. Location - easy for Shrewsbury and Wales.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really. If I had to say something, the room was a little chilly. But a really minor point.

    Friendly, professional staff, lovely surroundings and attention to detail on every aspect. Pretty garden and good food.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Butter cold at Breakfast and couldn't spread on the Toast . I got a phone call at 20.30 to ask if I had finished my Dinner and could they remove the Cutlery , I asked if they could give me five minutes as I had just got out of the Shower . I waited up until 11.00 pm then went to bed .

    Lovely Comfy bed and Good Breakfast .

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Lovely stay, could not fault it. Staff very friendly and cannot do enough. just lovely place, lovely atmosphere. First class, just pure luxury and made to feel one in a million

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One window couldn't be propeely closed unfortunately

    It is a luxurious hotel but the staff was not snobbish at all. The scenery around the castle is amazing and the interior very beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stunning room with beautiful views of the countryside. Lovely 4 posted bed and plenty of room just wish we could've stayed longer. Staff very thoughtful and caring that we were comfortable. Thank you.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff and services were the very best. Little extras like a happy aniversary note and elephant on the bed and candies in the beautiful room. Highlight of all the castles we booked. They were outstanding kind helpful and courteous. Grounds are beautifully kept too. While here take a trip to Powis Castle if you can just beautiful day trip.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decor and furnishings looked a little too tired and showing signs of wear facilities where lacking for example no iron and ironing board in room only a trouser press.the gardens,orchard and walled garden where unimpressive.

    The oak paneled dinning area where we had breakfast was very nice as was the food. The staff and the service was quick and efficient.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The fact we had to leave to continue our road trip.

    We loved our first night stay so much we stayed a second. Lewis and his staff made us feel so welcome and very special.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fragance from the flowers was a little strong. And that's as bad as it got

    Short and simple... the staff ! It felt like we were staying in our very own private castle

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Meal was nice with the exception of the lamb which was over-cooked. Wi-Fi signal was very weak in our room.

    Room was spacious, grounds were lovely, loved that we were seated in the lounge for pre-dinner drinks and our order for dinner was taken there.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi wasn't brilliant in our room. TV reliant on wifi too.

    Fantastic views from our lovely room(18) and excellent food - both breakfast and evening meal. Fantastic value.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    From check in to departure the attentive staff made our short stay very enjoyable. The whole hotel is very well cared for with cleanliness and comfort a high priority.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No lift but we understand such an historical building would find this difficult.

    Lovely location everything we hoped for. Took parents for my fathers birthday and can honestly say the staff,all of them, were the most pleasant we have encountered.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staircase: but we managed (dodgy knees)

    Our room with an excellent view of the grounds and the distant landscape Also the breakfast room was atmospheric coupled with an excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stayed mid week for 2 nights. Very friendly staff, clean room with all the facilities you could reasonably expect at a fair price. The grounds are also beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very helpful, nothing was too much bother and service was always with a smile. Was very impressed with the quality and quantity of the food.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were friendly and welcoming, and they were able to tailor their help to your requirements. It was fun to stay in a hotel with so much character, where nothing was threadbare and everything was clean. A lovely location for a birthday treat.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If there was something we didn't like it was when the visit was over and we had to leave...

    The staff are very friendly and accommodating the room was comfortable and quiet and the meals where perfectly presented and tasty A+ to the chef and staff. The wife and myself would stop there again and plan to in the near future.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Can't really fault it at all. TV in room was small, but that is being picky.

    Beautiful character building on an intimate scale. Lovely room with great views. Great breakfast. Very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    initial room given had no desk or dressing table, therefore no lap top working space, mentioned to reception and changed room without any fuss

    everything from check in to check out was very good, superb bedrooms and great staff

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing. Was all good!

    Very welcoming and helpful, friendly staff. Characterful place to stay in beautiful part of the UK

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Main course for dinner was not as described in the main

    Upgrade to a fourposter bedroom

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dated decor , but it is an historical building.

    Very pleasant staff.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect. Couldn't ask for anything more

    Everything was amazing. From arrival to checking out. Friendly staff and very accommodating

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No lift

    Very attentive staff, good food and comfortable rooms

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Couple

    The food and restaurant service were amazing. Cooked to order breakfast the way all hotels should be. Keep up the excellent service.

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Distance to the car park from reception

    Very attentive staff, lovely building

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything, cannot fault it. Lovely stay

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room slightly too hot.relax

    Friendly atmosphere,cheerful and helpful staff lovely food well presented. R

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Outstanding hotel! Excellent service

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We celebrated David's birthday. Dinner was wonderful and very romantic being in the tower! All the staff were lovely. Thanks for everything.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Exceptional customer service

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed (mattress) was uncomfortable and needs to be replaced.

    Great location, hotel and servive

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: