Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Royal Hotel

7 Nantwich Road,, Crewe, CW2 6AG, United Kingdom

#15 of 23 hotels in Crewe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 160 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    6.3
    Location is great for near station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found that it felt more like a hostel than a hotel, very thin walls as next doors tv was heard at about 2am when they got back and the sound of them coughing was not nice! I had a very important meeting the next day so the interrupted sleep was not welcome.

    Location is great for near station

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    3.3
    There are far too many hotels around Crewe station. This was the worst nights stay I have had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    OMG where do I start!. No heating in my cold and uninviting room. The room was dusty and had not been cleaned for several days. Window dirty and poorly fitting so very draughty room. TV remote didn't work. the room layout just didn't make any sense at all and to finish what will be my one and only night at the Royal oak an under cooked breakfast served on a table still sticky with the previous nights beer. A child could have cooked a better breakfast

    The only good thing to say about the hotel was that it was close to the railway station and I had travelled far that day, However I would choose a different hotel next time I stay in Crewe.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    5.0
    OK will do for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is undergoing a massive refurbishment plan and there are issues e.g noise, hot water running very slowly etc.

    The pub/bar area very nice with really nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.3
    The hotel was very clean and staff was out of this world.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very clean and staff was out of this world. When I was there one of the other guests staying at the hotel was a blind gentleman, at breakfast the blind gentlemen ask the waitress to cut his food for him and put spoon in hand etc etc even when he was leaving he ask if they could help him to the train station the staff walk him to the train station. OUT OF THE WORLD STAFF.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.2
    Tuesday Night in crewe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    couldnt get my shower hot .

    the building was great . the staff friendly . met a local called mark top guy .very helpfull. been here before it was much better this time . please update all the rooms the way you are there perfect . 5star *****

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    3.3
    One to avoid in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were very uncomfortable and pipes made a noise all night which meant I couldn't sleep. The shower screen was broken with a notice on it to say it was being fixed and the water ran cold so we didn't risk showering! The photographs led us to believe it was a much nicer and more modern place then it was. The corner bar downstairs was really rough and noisy. Luckily it was closing when we got back.

    Location very close to the train station. Friendly waitress staff at breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    5.0
    Wouldn't go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were out in what seemed to be the only semi finished room on a floor that was being refurbished. It was dirty, untidy and we had trouble finding our room. In the morning the builders/decorators starting working on the room next to us at 8am on both Sat and Sunday. One day it was to sand the floor which was really noisy. One of the breakfast staff was rude, glared at us and ignored us for 20 minutes. We only got served when I got up and found someone else to help us.

    The room was newly decorated and pleasant but not finished off. Some staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.3
    Nice room but terriable breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested for 2 rooms to be close to each other with a reply stating that the rooms would be on the same floor. This was not met. Breakfast was poor with half of the items on the menu not being available.

    Rooms had been recently decorated and were spacious. Clean and modern hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.8
    Noisy. Cold. Uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was small. Windows old and let noise and cold in. Bar staff miserable. Traffic noisy outside. Guests noisy and disruptive.

    Front desk staff. Breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Close to train station so handy staff were very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was still in the process of being renovated so there was painting etc going on but obviously this could not be helped

    Close to train station so handy staff were very helpful and was excellent value for money would definately stay at this hotel again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.9
    Lovely big old hotel being refurbished
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small, very old room, with very old furnishings, BUT the large, old building and hotel is in the process of being upgraded throughout and the already refurbished parts are very nice indeed and hugely better. Due to the refurbishments/upgrade of the hotel you had to check in by going into the bar which is like a large pub, fine in general but I had my 8 year old daughter and partially disabled sister with me and we had to wait quite a while in the pub with our cases. There was no lift and our rooms were a long distance up stairs and through fire doors with our luggage. One of our rooms was desperately in need of refurbishment and too small and the other room was a lovely size but was located right at the back of the building which was quite isolated and my sister felt a bit uncomfortable with that. She asked to swap rooms to one that was at the front of the building, and was graciously moved to an amazing room for no extra charge, massive, luxurious, well equipped and was obviously one of the refurbished rooms. Me and my daughter 'made do' in the tiny old room which wasn't the best but we were up early to go to the airport anyway so didn't want to move as it was already late and we were too tired to move our luggage again.

    Very friendly staff. Very nice young guy checked us in. Lovely big old building that's being done up, and considering it's right next to a busy road, was really quiet inside. Lovely new foyer part where we collected our keys and electronic card for the new exit/entry doors. No noise from the large (and potentially very busy) bar in our room. My sister asked to swap rooms as she wasn't happy with the location of the room allocated, and was graciously moved to an amazing room for no extra charge, massive, luxurious, well equipped and was obviously one of the refurbished rooms. Didn't try the breakfast, sadly, because my daughter couldn't get up in time! Good Wi-Fi. Very good location for Crewe railway station and Manchester airport train. Would definitely use again, as once all the rooms have been upgraded this will be a very nice hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.7
    Reasonable basic hotel but seems to be run as an afterthought to the pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No one there to check us in - waited 15 mins locked in reception area - rang the bell over 20 times no one came. When they did come did not seem to know what they were doing Main doorway locked so with 2 x children had to enter through the bar - on a football day - full of people

    Breakfast was good and served very friendly staff No one there to check us out we just left keys on the desk

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.4
    We needed somewhere to stay overnight didnt enjoy it
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was outdated shower door didn't work the hot water took ages and my bed was broken. Staff were unwelcoming and unhelpful checking in at the bar was uncomfortable

    Breakfast was lovely staff in the morning were much more welcoming

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Happy customer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like was there wasn't a cot available and they don't supply one and there were no safety bars for the single bed for a young child and there is no baby changing facilities

    It was great value for money and quite and a fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.8
    Good location a couple of minutes from the railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of noise from the main road outside. The windows were filthy. The bathroom very outdated. The toilet cistern was extremely noisy when refilling - about 5 minutes each time. Expensive for such poor accommodation.

    Good location a couple of minutes from the railway station

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    Old building close to the train station. Good value for money. Rooms could use a renovation.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is an old building. That means narrow and steep stairs and no lift. Rooms could use a renovation, the lobby and bar look much newer/nicer. Windows frames in the rooms are a bit tattered. Water in the bathroom takes a while to heat up (Plumbing seems to be as old as the building).

    Nice old building close to the train and bus station. Big room. Breakfast cooked to order. Lots of places to eat around the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.3
    Necessary evil.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looked like something out of the 70’s. Beds, furniture even the shower looked like they were from a time long ago.

    Location is good. Very near train station which means you can exit quickly from Crewe. Possibly the ugliest town in the whole of England

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    4.2
    Rough and ready
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and it’s facilities were straight from the 70’s. the mattress was so old or cheap I could feel every spring in it, very uncomfortable. The water took over 5 mins to get hot in the shower and it was only a trickle anyway

    The breakfast was ok

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.0
    Over priced
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    £70 for a room that wasn’t fit for £70. Sink was in main room along with a double bed an a knackered old single bed. Carpet was from world war. Shower was terrible. Really bad experience but breakfast was good

    Location to train station

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    2.5
    Horror story
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    this is probably the worst Hotel i stayed in It belongs in the museum The rooms are falling apart carpets was probably 50 years old and dirty there was no wash basin in the bathroom STAY AWAY FROM IT

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    4.2
    Disappointed in the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was awful dirty really dated and no water pressure at all booked for 2 kids one a baby and they didn't have a travel cot or a high chair at breakfast

    The breakfast was the only nice thing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    Got what we paid for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room needs modernizing as rather grubby (not dirty) in shower room and there was only a public bath available. Could do with hangers on doors to hang towels on.

    Staff very good, plenty of hot water, good shower, bed comfortable, generally clean and reasonably quite. Breakfast excellent and good value for money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Location was perfect literally ten seconds walk from station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was great bathroom was not really an extra just had a sliding door and getting out of the shower is not good at all. Had to get out sideways.

    Location was perfect literally ten seconds walk from station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.3
    OK for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet made a loud noise when flushing, which we had top stop by holding the valve up and filling up the tank manually, so as not to annoy our neighbors.

    The staff was really nice!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Excellent. Thank you once again, you were all truly amazing and helpful. We are back home now safe x
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything and everyone were amazing. Would definitely recommend to anyone x

    The staff were amazing looking after us as we had just been in a major accident on the M6 and had just come out of hospital and didn’t know where we were. Thank you to everyone x

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.4
    Clean bathroom and linen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived at 7 pm. It took the staff 10 minutes to find someone who could book us in. We then decided to enjoy a couple of drinks in the bar before dinner. The music in the bar was VERY loud, so much so the barmaid had to turn the sound down to speak to me. I asked her if the music was always so loud and she laughed - then turned the sound up again. And when I say loud I mean headbanging loud. Impossible to talk so we went out to another pub for our drink. Disappointing really as the Royal has several real ales that I wanted to try. Very bad experience. Obviously the staff music preferences are more important than the customers.

    Clean bathroom and linen

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.0
    Not a very good stay breakfast and breakfast staff good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was run down and need of 're decorating and furniture needs fixing lights did not work and the kettle smelt like someone had urinated in it when took to manger and showed him they did nothing not even a sorry not good

    Bar/breakfast area very nice they are trying to get it sorted

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Could be a superb stay with improvement!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our room was directly above the bar area and the hotel had a music event on. This was extremely loud to the point where the room was shuddering but the staff were only able to move me to a non-refurbished room. Here the decor was older, the windows were sash and didn’t stay open (in this weather we need the air!) and the bed was so thin it wouldn’t do for sleeping! I stayed in my original room (with thanks to staff) and was told music would not go on all night although this proceeded until 3:15am when I had to approach the staff in the bar and ask them to turn it down. I would really have thought such a beautiful and expensive renovation would have included some form of soundproofing being added to the flooring of the rooms directly above the bar. As it is a Victorian building I can appreciate these issues as we run a similar establishment but felt staff could have also given us a choice about moving rooms or alerting us to the event in question as we were unable to claim a refund from the property once paid and as mentioned, we had paid extra for a refurbished room. I do not feel I could have warranted the price for the other room offered to me. I also feel like breakfast was unorganised, all drink options ran out and were not refilled until we had asked a second time. Toast was served cold and hard and also the wrong type of bread was given. When asked for fresh we were not greeted with a pleasant response from the unhappy looking waitresses and we’re given a less amount when the rack was returned. The table next to us had to re order one of their dishes 5 times as it was continuously wrong and however I felt it was a good quality breakfast my bacon turned up looking like a dog chew toy.

    We payed extra to stay in one of the newly refurbished rooms which were immaculate and well designed. New beds were super comfy and general cleanliness couldn’t be faulted. Daytime and evening staff were extremely pleasant!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    noisy but fitted what we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we appreciated there could be noise from live bands and in fact this didn't bother us at all. Unfortunately our room was directly outside a busy intersection on the Nantwich road and the traffic noise was extremely loud and annoying.

    location was great - right next to the station. Staff were really friendly and breakfast was awesome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    4.2
    It was close to the family I was visiting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception was closed due to refurb so I had to check into a bar with my 14 year old daughter. We were not advised that the hotel was located on top of a noisy bar and on arrival were advised that there was a gig due to play but we should be ok as we were far enough away not to hear it! On being shown to our room we were taken down corridors that smelt very strongly of cigarettes. The beds were uncomfortable and there was a 4-5" gap in the curtains as they weren't wide enough for the window. Hoping that breakfast would redeem our stay, we were sorely disappointed, although the staff were helpful the sandwiches presented to us looked as though they had been thrown together and were not of particularly high quality ingredients.

    It was close to the family I was visiting

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    A grand hotel from another age that needs a little TLC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A grand hotel from another age that needs a little TLC. The management seem to be giving that. Big improvements being made in the hotel lobby and stairs will in time spread through all the rooms. Friendly helpful staff. Good beer and a great breakfast. Good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    3.8
    Bar was newly decorated and a good selection of beer.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotels website says newly updated rooms at 55 pound. We paid more than 55 pounds and got clearly old rooms that haven’t been decorated in years, window had slipped in one room leaving a 4 inch gap. Horribly outdated decor, holes in walls and cobwebs galore. Old metal squeaky bed that you could feel every spring.

    Bar was newly decorated and a good selection of beer. Breakfast staff were friendly and breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Royal stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noise with the pub below and also been on a main road and the windows in the room are not double glazed, you get the traffic noise. The reception for hotel is closed at this time so meant I had to book in via pub, staff member was helpful, but didn't give information about breakfast next day, so was left in the dark about what time it was.

    The room was clean and tidy, looks like they have just been refurbished. I was impressed with the room overall. Coffee and tea available in room along with a good size TV, which as a lot of Freeview channels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    4.6
    You Get What You Pay For
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was basic but clean. However no hot water in shower in the morning, and nobody to tell as reception was not open. Only person on site was lady serving breakfast. Breakfast was ok, but sausages were very poor quality

    It was only £55 a night for bed and breakfast. However no hot water for shower in the morning was a negative

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    in Crewe for a party & needed to be on a train in good time the following day so this hotel perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    tea time reception staff member was also looking after bar first down for breakfast following day had to look for waiter

    man who checked me in informative, hotel in dated but room cleanliness not to be faulted drinks tray good, location to station excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.1
    Friendly and helpful staff in a clean and comfortable place to stay.
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast did not live up to expectations. Only 2 cereals offered and no yogurt or fruit available. No decaff coffee was available either but the waiter did offer us fruit tea instead. The portions of cooked breakfast were generous.

    Room was quiet clean and comfortable. The reception staff were polite and very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    A very friendly welcome by wonderful staff who care about cutomer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very friendly welcome by the owner. A wonderful old hotel steeped in history with a large central victorian staircase. A bit "tatty around the edges" given its age, but in a way it all added to the charm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    5.4
    Over priced.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sliding door to the shower room was stuck halfway so had to turn sideways to enter?? Very basic for the price I paid and needs some money spending on new furniture for instance.

    Nothing unfortunately.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.4
    Value for money, Clean but go for breakfast on Nantwich Rd!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was terrible and the blonde Eastern European girl really did not care!! The kicker was asking for a b/fast with no tomato or black pudding and when it came with them included and I raised this she casually took a fork and took them off the plate in front of me and thought this was fine! LOL

    Asked for a quiet room but was given a very noisy one next to the main road, I raised this the next day and they did change to the back of the property.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    Clean, comfortable and convenient - I would definitely stay there again if I am visiting Crewe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't really enjoy going up so many stairs but there really isn't anything to be done about that, and I hadn't asked for a room on a lower floor. Being at the top of the building meant I was well insulated from any noise from below, so that was ok, once I got up there.

    I had two really good nights' sleep because the bed was so comfortable. Everything was very clean and everything worked well in the room including the free wi-fi, which was probably better than our wi-fi at home if anything. The hotel is very close to the station - just across the road - so very convenient, both for arrival and departure and for a trip I made to Derby while I was there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    3.3
    Would not stay at the Royal again
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was bordering on delapitated. 1st room bathroom door noisy and would not lock , the bathroom was extremely noisy and could not close door to drown noise out. Television turning itself on and of. Bed was clean only saving grace. Moved rooms 2nd room Bathroom door was slide door and completely stuck half way and toilet ran all night . Again beds Were clean. Would not recommend this hotel.

    The manager tried her best , but accommodation massively over priced and in desperate need of complete refurbishment.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    2.9
    Very poor facilities and furnish.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible thin mattress on the bed, the hard back chair was more comfortable. Furnishings very dated and not in a good way. Coffee and tea ring stains on dresser, no mirror in the bedroom. Black mould coming through the vents. Plaster peeling and broken TV Ariel wire, like a mouse had chewed it. Very dated ensuite, was more like a toilet cubicle at a public school. Smelt like one too. We didn't stay the night, we handed our keys back. Disgraceful for £70. Wouldn't pay £20.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    5.4
    You get what you pay for but this was my most disappointing stay ever ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were 47 stairs from the front door to my room (Number 37). I swear the hotel was less than a quarter full, how did I end up at the furthest corner? Breakfast was not available either day until 9.00am. Admitted it was a Sunday then a Bank Holiday but that was late. Crewe is not the end of the world ... but you can see it from there ...

    Good breakfast. Clean room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    5.4
    Cheap but not cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy until quite late with both a pub downstairs and a busy main road outside your window

    Breakfast on Saturday was not available before 9 and I had to leave at 7.50.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.3
    Okay for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is very tired and black mould on the wallpaper was a bit off-putting.

    The staff were very helpful. Upon arrival we found out that breakfast wasn't served until 9am, but we needed to leave at 9am so the Manager arranged for staff to come in early to make us breakfast which was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.9
    It was a good location and conducive environment,lovely and friendly staff's but the heather doesn't
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and the environment is really good and their staffs are friendly and compassionate.

    Every other things was good except heather that doesn't working, this makes us to sleeping in cold conditions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.2
    Great night! At the top of my list when I'm in the area again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was pre renovations, and could have done with another plug socket

    Breakfast was excellent, and a decent size to start the day on! The staff were all very friendly and willing to assist with anything you needed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    We found a great pub for a good drink and great music just up the road from the Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel could do with an overall of decorating but was okay for a one night stay

    The Hotel was fine for one night in need of a bit of upgrade in decorating could do with a bit of attention but bed linen and towels were very clean bathroom and room itself clean. Breakfast was very good full English not much choice of cereals but not essential to us

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.8
    I would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is on a very noisy road and is in a 1970s time warp. It is in need of updating and brightening inside. The shower room was particularly ugly and the bedroom sparsely furnished.

    Parking was convenient The room was clean. The room was quiet which overlooked the side of the building. The receptionist was amenable to changing our room from being on the noisy side.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.3
    Good Location and excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was OK - at the price you can't expect a 5 star hotel, so it suited my purpose and I would use it again. It would be good if food was served in the evening

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    4.6
    awfull wouldn't stay again old and scruffy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was old and dated bathroom too small could hardly move in there shower was awkward to get in and out we could feel the springs in the mattress holes in skirting boards in bathroom .Staff wernt very welcoming in the morning and seemed very misseravle there was no hair dryer only one mirror in bathroom stuck to the window wouldn't be able get ready here

    it was very close to a party we went to and the staff on the desk were loverly when arived

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.5
    excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast door room was locked we had to disturb a guest having their breakfast to let us in and we also was disturbed twice to let guests in. Cereal was stale, full English was lovely but we wasn't offered tea or coffee we had to ask. When coffee arrived it was dreadful, my husband loves strong coffee but it wasn't drinkable.

    location to the box

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    5.0
    Decent budget overnight stop
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit threadbare and in need of a refresh. Rather lumpy mattress and breakfast involved the greasiest fried egg ever.

    Relatively quiet considering the bars underneath. Probably the height of luxury in 1952.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.2
    FRIENDLY CLEAN SHORT STAY VALUE
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, I didnt expect anything else.

    Very welcoming staff, family run who all did theyre utmost for me. Clean sizeable room. I thought traffic (emergency vehicles) noise would disturb me, it didnt, of course one could always call the owners and ask for a room at the rear of the building, Im sure they would oblige. I also thought the nearby club would disturb me (as mentioned in other reviews), it didnt but this is not pretending to be a peaceful relaxing hotel, it "does what it says on the tin" ..value for money, friendly staff, visible and a three minute walk from Crewe railway station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not that good Noisy as on main road No fridge

    Close to train station Friendly staff Bar next door Comfortable room Tea coffee facilities Completely breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    5.8
    We were told we could go down for breakfast on a Sunday a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told we could go down for breakfast on a Sunday a lot later than 10am as stated only to find they'd shut up at 10.15!! We were not impressed at all and the lad on the desk was no where to be found! He then appeared from outside having quite obviously just had a cigarette!! 😐

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    Weekend Getaway Will Happen Again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very welcoming. You had to pay a small amount for admittance to the venue attached to the hotel which had live entertainment on. Weekend I chose was a busy weekend and very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    3.8
    Management were good, but the hotel in general is not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For whatever reason our booking was incorrectly received, so the property put us in a "family" room with three beds and no cot. The manager was very understanding about the mix-up and offered us an alternative room (one which didn't have a cracked window and wasn't above the nightclub) but the entire hotel is in need of renovation.

    Breakfast was nice enough, but it was a battle to get them to bring us their high chair, which is old and dirty (by their own admission, but we needed one and had to use it anyway)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    5.4
    Ok stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning didn't work so had to have window open and really loud traffic. Wifi hardly worked. A band practice or gig on the Thursday night until nearly 11pm. Hardly slept my whole stay.

    Free breakfast, close to my work place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    5.8
    The hotel is very close to the railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed creaked because the fixings were loose and the mattress was thin, so the bed was not comfortable. After the first night's stay, the beds were not made up, the rubbish was not taken away, the tea cups were not replaced with clean ones and the toiletries were not replaced. After the second night's stay, the only thing that changed was the towels and toiletries were replaced, but the beds were not made up, some of the rubbish had not been removed and the tea cups had not been replaced.

    The hotel is very close to the railway station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    lovely warm welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location was perfect for me was right by the train station. staff was lovely and friendly. was a warm welcome. i would reccomened this hotel i will be coming to crewe more often and this will definetly be my first choice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    5.0
    A quick stopover thankfully.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were as scruffy as the property. I first stayed at this hotel over 20 years ago and I think since then someone has done a little decorating. No hot water for a shave on arrival someone needs to sort out the plumbing! Décor needs a real facelift. A structural survey wouldn't go amiss as there has obviously been a lot of structural movement over the years. Please put blinds up in the bathroom!? Toast was served cold.

    Comfortable and spacious rooms electric heater worked well. Breakfast room was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    7.5
    Great Breakfast and friendly staff. Very close to station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a little dated and no hairdryer. No evening restaurant but many nearby. No hot water for morning shower. Check out too early 10:30 housekeeping knocking door from 9:00am.

    breakfast Full English and I mean FULL. Well presented and cooked to perfection. Nice bar with Sky TV with many big screens. Beer prices cheap.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    6.3
    Close to station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisey. Music from bar below room played very loud even during the day

    Close to station Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was lovely , staff really nice who served Room was lovely but a bit chilly

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    7.9
    Staff were really friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs were a bit much but I got moved to a lower floor when I asked Very happy

    Staff were really friendly

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    3.8
    Room was basic but pretty clean no staff at reception either so no one to ask anything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise , rowdy bar , n a card that didn’t work to get in ,

    The entrance

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.5
    Staff every amiable and extremely helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A tad noisey with regards traffic - one could hear easily whilst in bed.

    The bed was comfy enough

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Great staff corner bar great great gig breakfast very good and shower in room was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got an old room our friends got a refurbished one very tired room

    We were going to gig at the box so location ideal

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast, large room, clean, reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremely noisy at times, very uncomfortable mattress

    Breakfast, large room, clean, reasonable price

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    2.9
    Lucky it was only one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The advertising did not match the reality of location and the surrounding area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.4
    Breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold, we were in a room That hasn’t been renovated so it felt dated and the bed wasn’t comfy

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    Really friendly staff, handy for railway station, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was electric - difficult to regulate the temperature

    Really friendly staff, handy for railway station, good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.3
    Very basic for just getting your head down
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds very uncomfortable and the staff didn't really have a clue

    Excellent location very close to station and shops

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.3
    The room was not the one we saw in pictures whole booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not the one we saw in pictures whole booking

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75