Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Royal Dunkeld Hotel 3 stars

Atholl Street, Dunkeld, PH8 0AR, United Kingdom

#3 of 7 hotels in Dunkeld

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 455 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Dunkeld is charming and a great place to stop for the night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dunkeld is charming and a great place to stop for the night or maybe longer; the hotel restaurant I would rate somewhere between very good and excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Enjoyable stay with friendly team, and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can see parking will often be a bit of a problem. There's always a feeling that your vehicle could be more vulnerable in a street than in a car park specific to the hotel. Difficulty closing the window of room 205.

    Friendly helpful staff. Clean premises. Very good restaurant. Excellent and quickly organised breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.0
    A bit disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The very tired and dated decor, the staircase always had fluff, dirt on. The kettle didn't work properly and the hairdryer had a chunk of plastic broken off, I din't use it as I had my own but I suspect it was dangerous and I did report it

    The bar staff were very friendly Perfect boiled eggs

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Friendly hotel with a family run feel and lots of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed was a little uncomfortable, but we are used to a king size so will book a larger room next time.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely historic hotel with loads of character. Breakfast was delicious with good quality sausage, bacon and eggs, and coffee was very good too. We dined in the restaurant on our first night and had a very nice meal. Dunkeld is a lovely village with lots of nice pubs and shops and beautiful views all around.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable. Lovely breakfast and fantastic live music in the bar on Thurs night. -about 15 musicians
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Bunk House Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bunkhouse room but it was adequate for my needs.

    The bunkhouse rooms are small and a bit basic but I think cheaper than the main hotel rooms which are very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.5
    When I returned my scrambled eggs because they were cold I...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I returned my scrambled eggs because they were cold I thought i would be given fresh scrambled eggs but instead they just warmed the original eggs up in the microwave. This just cooked them more and unfortunately they still weren’t warm.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.5
    Not much sleep but adequate budget accommodation
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Bunk House Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms in the annex have paper thin walls. Wasn’t aware on booking that this really was a budget room but adequate for our needs.

    Scrambled eggs delicious Good shower but trifle small Very friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.5
    Food was good, warm friendly staff, would go back, were in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Bunk House Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing wrong just wouldn't give excellent

    Food was good, warm friendly staff, would go back, were in lodges out back as no stairs basic clean and tidy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.7
    Good in parts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small, with small window, so rather stuffy, though described as standard room. Bathroom was a bit scruffy. We only stayed one night so didn't complain. When asked if everything was Ok I mentioned this and was told I should have complained and would have been given a better room! Which rather begs the question...if a 'better room' was available, why weren't we given it to start with? Expensive for what it was.

    Bed and bedding were good, meal in Bistro and breakfast were excellent. Location was good though on Main Street, so was glad to be at the rear. Staff were pleasant. Parking adequate and private

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    The staff were super friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms were very small - only big enough for one person at a time. The shower is old. The porridge at breakfast was undercooked.

    The staff were super friendly and helpful. The receptionist in particular was very helpful and friendly. The hotel has an old world feel with a beautiful central staircase. Accommodation was comfortable. The hotel’s pub has a lovely atmosphere. A comfortable stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Great stay with family
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little to cramped but older rooms usually are plus it had a double bed and 2 singles in it for 4 adults to share

    Staff great and location to wedding perfect

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    overall very good and would stay again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Bunk House Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast only - coffee not so good - needs small cafetieres on tables and toast could be better

    Good value, very helpful and accommodating staff and nice clean room, bar/bistro food excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.1
    Great location on the high street, with quiet courtyard and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room - Bunk House Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put in the annex at the rear - would have liked to sample main hotel rooms

    Great location on the high street, with quiet courtyard and private parking at the rear

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.8
    Great location, lovely building in need of some proper maintenace and tidying up a little
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Bunk House Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of drains throughout the night, the decor was very random. Don’t get me wrong I love quirkey and traditional but this was just a bit random. Bit like 70’s,80’s and 90’s mixed into one. Order finally put in the chalets aka pigeon loft. Do not stay in them unless you want to feel like a student and also watch a 12 inch tv. Breakfast is badly organised with people waiting a long time and the quality of food is poor (tasted like richmond sausages!)

    Location, most staff really riendly and a lovely historic building

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    We liked Dunkeld very much lovely walks round the area and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt the accommodation and breakfast was rather expensive considering we were on the third floor and the room was very small. Breakfast could have been better otherwise the staff were very nice.

    We liked Dunkeld very much lovely walks round the area and the Hotel was very handy being on the main road.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.0
    Nice location for a stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chef bit grumpy when the bar man said he would have 6 people ordering 15 minute before evening cut off.

    Breakfast was great. Manager interrupted his breakfast to show me where I could fill my water bottle st the bar. Thank you

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    6.3
    Avoid the 'lodge' rooms. Very poor value for money. Decent breakfast doesn't make up for it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Bunk House Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was not value for the money I paid for it. Room in 'the lodge' was in need of renovation. Barely US motel standards. Flimsy door - not secure. Window right on to busy car park. Flickering light in bathroom. Paint job needed. TV had dodgy signal. Wifi was very poor (came to a halt regularly) and code not even in the room - had to phone and ask. No appropriate toiletries provided. Really quite disappointed. A similar 'budget' room in Perth would be half the price.

    It's a lovely location right in the centre of the village of Dunkeld. The young staff serving breakfast were very polite and helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    The bedroom was comfortable and very clean.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the top floor and there was not an elevator but my luggage was kindly brought up by the owner Neil who was very welcoming.

    The bedroom was comfortable and very clean. Our evening meal was delicious. I enjoyed the salmon and spinach roulade and my partner enjoyed the salmon fish cake with Mornay sauce.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely town, great location, friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Bunk House Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    chalet rooms are rather dated, but adequate. I dont think all the room type options were clear at time of booking, would have preferred to be in main hotel, I did not realise I booked chalet rooms annexed and located in the car park.

    Comfortable beds, good breakfast and bar facilities, very helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable enough for one night .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Bunk House Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was outside the main Hotel building in a building made up Of chalets . They were clean and comfortable enough but didn’t have any air conditioning and the walls were thin .Ok for me as only staying for one night but probably not ideal for longer stays .

    Friendly and helpful staff . Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    A little piece of heaven in the Perthshire hills
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The warmth and hospitality of the staff, the food, the accommodation and the town of Dunkeld itself, or should I say city as it has Cathedral steeped in history with the relics of St. Columba. Set against the backdrop of the River Tay and the roaming hillside, with the perfect weather made this idyllic location a little piece of heaven. Will be back soon. 👍🎸

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Returning, so that speaks for itself.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Bunk House Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    May be £20 extra for dogs a little steep.

    Small room but as described and expected. Comfy beds and ideal outside access for our two dogs. Friendly staff and good breakfast and location excellent. Going to book again for our return trip home!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    We give the annex the thumbs up👍
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Bunk House Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything we didn't like

    The full breakfast was excellent as were the staff, we were in the annex with two dogs, the bathroom was clean, the bedding clean, wifi, tv and hairdryer, what more do you need? We loved it and we'll be back next year. Great value for money 😸

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Overnight stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say!

    A central location, close to water and park for the kids. Staff were very friendly and welcoming and we liked the food too. The beer garden was lovely too!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    always love coming back to dunkeld will return again soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    didn't like been woke up at 5.45 in the morning by the bright sunshine ( love sunshine) would love to see black out curtains/blinds, just to block it out so you can have a lie in after all your on holiday, sorry curtains just to thin

    we've stayed before and everyone is always so friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.0
    Good location, better hotels in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself is outdated and needs major renovation. The breakfast was a let down and consisted of a few fried items all of which we would’ve preferred not to have. Overall for the money paid, I think there are better hotels in the area.

    Room was clean and location is in the centre of Dunkeld.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful location, friendly staff but the hotel relly needs some work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, the hotel is generally in need of major refurbishment throughout & in particular the Bedrooms. Some may call it quaint but I would describe it as being tired & dated. You should be able to keep the character of a building even when using more modern finishes

    The room was clean & a powerful shower. We had a good breakfast served to us. The staff very friendly & happy to help. They also made our little dog welcome. The location is lovely, with a number of beautiful walks around the town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.3
    Won’t be back to this hotel, but Dunkeld is a fabulous place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quiet small , awful dinner with a chef that didn’t know diffference between a rare steak but I got it blue, a good bet could bring it sick to life, very poor starters selection all hot , my wife ordered scampi and had to ask for Tartar and lemon , asked for a dressed salad , leaves were old and no dressing, Menu so old fashioned .

    Friendly staff, good parking, very good check in

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Although the decor in our room was a little tired the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Bunk House Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the decor in our room was a little tired the room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The staff were all absolutely excellent and most helpful. The breakfast was excellent value for money and the dinners were delicious. From checking in to checking out the friendliness was palpable. Thank you all. 😃

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Sorry to come home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Bunk House Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is Not a complaint as we chose to stay in the Chalets which were so reasonable for 2 nights, for comfort the next time we come back i shall book into hotel itself.

    The hotel was welcoming and the staff very friendly. Food was excellent at supper time and well cooked breakfasts.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    Booking exceptionally reasonable which included full...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking exceptionally reasonable which included full continental and cooked breakfast. Hotel staff were extremely pleasant and friendly, keen to ensure guests were as comfortable as possible. Location of hotel is excellent with customer parking off street. Restaurants, pubs and variety of lovely cafes and deli’s all on same street: would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Perfectly pleasant Staff/We'll be back soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was all Great

    We wanted to spend the weekend in Cairngroms NP and everywhere I checked was full. So we booked this place which is a little further South than we wanted to be and it turned out to be one of the best towns we stayed in all of Scotland. Hotel was nice and comfy. People were so friendly. The resturant was good, so we ate there ever night of our stay. Make sure you make a reservation as it is small and fills up fast. One morning of our stay the power went out for hours but the staff worked diligently to find us something to eat for breakfast dispite having to electic or gas and told us about some awesome walks we could take until town was up and running again. Check in /out was easy and parking readily available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Really enjoyed ourselves, but a bit let down with no shower gel etc in annex.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Bunk House Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Disappointed with accommodation in the annex, expected it to be less shabby. Parking facilities were poor.

    Very central hotel, the breakfast was very good, the staff were excellent, and cleanliness could not be faulted.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    4.2
    There are no words to describe the Chalets. They should be called gardening sheds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Bunk House Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the paper thin walls. Felt like we were in a tent. Expected MUCH more for the money we paid. It was basically a shed they put a bathroom in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    comfy 'budget'rooms - much better than anticipated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Bunk House Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff miserable and on the margins of being rude - need to lighten up and be more customer focussed

    comfy 'budget'rooms - much better than anticipated - good night's sleep!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Great place for a stop over but would also be worth staying longer and exploring the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We just stopped off for the night on our way back from the Western Isles, so were tired after a long journey. Were given room keys to our allocated room only to find someone else's belongings already unpacked and in there. We were quickly allocated another bigger room which was great. The room was at the back and as it was a hot night a lot of noisy people were sitting outside the bar, I was about to get out of bed and phone to reception to ask them to sort the noise out when it was still loud at 11:15 pm but fortunately the racket stopped and we were eventually able to get to sleep. Otherwise all was great. Thank you.

    Best poached eggs we have ever eaten. Lovely old fashioned style hotel in a brilliant location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant hotel but get a room at the back to avoid traffic noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to leave my classic car on the road as car park full. Room on front of hotel got noisey in the early morning due to closeness of road. Never had a room with so many creaking floor boards .

    Very friendly and welcoming manager. Good meal in a pleasant restaurant. Hotel has plenty of character. Dunkeld a very nice Scottish village

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable, handy for cycle event.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be earlier. No concession for inconvenience of power cut at breakfast- no toast, eggs..Only a couple of TV channels.

    Good wifi. Some parking. Garage for bikes. Helpful staff. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    all good really, shower was nice and outdoor seating area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Bunk House Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the car park is very tight and difficult to get a space at busy times, and we were in the annex building which is apart from the hotel and was a little flimsy and tired, no mention of this when booking

    all good really, shower was nice and outdoor seating area behind the bar was pleasant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Good place to stay with great access to all local amenities. Friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Bunk House Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The chalets are a bit tired but clean and cheap enough

    Great position with good access to local pubs and restaurants. Secure off road parking great for motorbikes

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    A little bit disappointed but would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to ask 2 different members of staff for toast at breakfast and I am still waiting for it, it ended up one of the guests at another table gave me his toast. There is a lack of parking spaces.

    Where it was situated .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly staff, always helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in parts of the hotel is quite dated but we appreciate what a large building it is and a task to do.

    Very friendly staff, always helpful. Convenient for exploring the town and car parking available

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Lovely place, good value for money, will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was very firm, not to our liking. Spotted several dog hairs found on top of bed. Not a problem to us, as dog owners, but may be an issue for some.

    Friendly service, second time we’ve stayed and will be back. Love the area, hotel is central in the town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.5
    worked well for a one night stay - but whole place oldfashioned - could do with some upgrading.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not to have been on the second floor! could do with more staff on at breakfast - we had to wait a long time to have our order taken. Only one piece of bacon although I only had half a tomato with it. I t would have been better to have freshly made coffee than out of a jug which had been standing around - invest in some cafetieres!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Clean but dated.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated and verging on tatty in places. Drinks prices, even in the public bar were very high.

    Lovely staff, clean rooms as tasty breakfast. The veggie sausages were actually tasty which is refreshing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel location; very friendly service; fantastic breakfasts...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great hotel location. Very friendly service. Fantastic breakfasts and great coffee. Special thanks for Sonia from the Hotel Reception. We would like to return there once again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.5
    The room was clean, comfortable and quiet being at the back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening meal menu was not very inspiring for a vegetarian but I understood there are going to be some changes soon. What we did have was well cooked and enjoyable.

    The room was clean, comfortable and quiet being at the back of the hotel, overlooking the car park. Staff were friendly and helpful, we enjoyed our one night stay and would go back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.1
    Okay- nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist was not the happiest. A smile and a friendly welcome would not have taken much. The key stuck in the door making it tricky to lock up. The hotel seemed tried since our last visit. We enjoyed having a drink in the bar. The room was very small #108.

    The bar staff were friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Superb value for money, excellent good. So pet friendly
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant a bit chilly for dinner but same menu in the bar area which superb and very cozy

    Comfortable room plenty of space. Superb food. Staff very accommodating as we had 2 small dogs with us and all staff were professional and welcoming. Excellent position in centre of village and for walks along the river. Best cooked breakfast of cereal ever had 😊

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable, clean, friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have a bigger shower- the bathroom was plenty big enough. The bedroom window was open when we arrived & the radiator was turned off despite being an exceptionally cold day!

    Bed was really comfy.Bacon at breakfast was cooked exactly as I requested.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Homely, friendly accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing particular

    Room (though a tad small) clean and comfortable . Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast very good, freshly prepared. Ate in the restaurant one night, good quality and reasonably priced. Excellent location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.8
    body of hotel nice and breakfast great unfortunately room and evening meal NOT so great!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Room was in no way related to the rest of the hotel. It was in a major need of an uplift. We had stained cover on the bed, toilet door had no lock and we had a hard job shutting it, The toilet radiator was right next to the toilet itself, patrons would be in danger of getting their legs badly burned. Shower looked like a child had built it, very unprofessionally done and the floor was not clean in the toilet. It's a shame about the room as the rest of the hotel was 1st class. We were advised at the desk that their meals were home cooked, I'm afraid we disagree immensely with this and this statement led us to eat in the hotel which was unfortunately not so good a choice much to our displeasure and to be honest totally spoiled our evening thereafter!!!

    Hotel was lovely inside, clean and well attended..........nothing at all wrong with the outside and internal body of the Hotel. Hotel was well located. Breakfast was nice, it's great to find a chef that can actually cook an egg properly, a rare feat indeed!!! Sausages were delicious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    We thoroughly recommend this hotel. We will be back and hopefully soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely no complaints whatsoever on our visit

    Every member of staff at the hotel made us feel so welcome. They were all very warm and friendly. We also had our dog with us. It was made to feel equally welcome which made us feel even more relaxed. Our room was clean with a fantastic shower and a very comfortable bed. Bar food is also very good and reasonably priced. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hopefully it will not be too long before we are back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.8
    Traditional in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a little squeezed in the room with all my children’s luggage mainly 😆 it wld have been nice to put that all out of the way but the hotel is traditional and suited us well on all other levels. We really enjoyed breakfasts! We weren’t based at the hotel all the time as friends were nearby and there was a parking space everytime we came back which I had been worried about. 👍🏻

    Breakfast were delicious! Location perfect and staff extremely helpful when my son was ill. Wld stay again.. dunkeld is so beautiful!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Lovely two night break . Excellent hotel . We will return in February for more of the same!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all

    Warm welcome from staff especially Janet. I travelled with my brother and our two rooms were excellent. Clean, spacious. Breakfast very good. Public bar very pleasant and a good place to unwind. Again excellent friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Service was outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was outstanding. Though no laundry service was available at our check in the staff had a small amount of laundry done for us using the hotel equipment for a very nominal fee. Restaurant was excellent!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.7
    Old fashioned highland hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Curt greeting by receptionist when checked in. Cramped shower room. Breakfast lacked fresh fruit.

    Lovely view from bedroom. Good service at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.0
    The staff was very nice, and the restaurant was quite good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the only room on our floor that looked out toward the back - right onto their beer garden which was quite noisy until midnight when their bar closed. They did offer to change rooms for us, but the only option was a much smaller twin room. I think the room we had was 214, so specifically avoid that one if you can. Also, the hotel is getting a bit worn, which might bother some travelers.

    The staff was very nice, and the restaurant was quite good. Good location and easy parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    Did exactly what I wanted as it was a stopover on my way north
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little firm for my taste but not enough to affect my sleep. Overlooked a main Road but wasn't noisy

    Great location nice room friendly staff and excellent breakfast. Would recommend it and use again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    Classy old gal in need of a facelift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very hot even with the window open. The decor needs updating as very dated. Would have expected more little touches from this hotel - I.e. Complimentary toiletries.

    The royal was in an excellent location. It was spotlessly clean. The food was excellent, the staff attentive but not over bearing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.3
    Great stay, friendly staff, comfy bed, good collection of gin.....what more do you need?!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very dated, the breakfast was good but think there should be beans included with a full english breakfast. The shower was very small aswell.

    The bed was very comfy and the staff were very very friendly. Location is excellent and the beer garden was great, a great atmosphere and happy staff. Good choice of Gin in the bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    A great night away and would definite rebook if we were to stay in dunkeld again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel decor is a little tired looking, but I wouldn't say that really had an impact on the stay.

    The staff were very friendly, always willing to help in anyway. We just had a great overall stay. Lovely beer garden.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.3
    Really liked Dunkeld and the hotel. A small place but a very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View from room.

    Really helpful and friendly staff, and nice homely feel to the hotel. Food was good in the restaurant and the breakfasts were very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    The hotel was perfect for our stay comfortable with good food it is located in the heart of Dunkeld
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps the best about the Royal Dunkeld is it's ambience. there are several plus ponts like the single rooms at single prices and the lounge that was not a bar where we could all forgather rather than cram into one bedroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    Traditional hotel, we'll run and comfortable. Excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breskfast a little disappointing, we would have liked some fresh fruit, muesli and plain yoghurt, cooked breakfast was fine

    A beautiful hotel with original fittings, well maintained and comfortable to relax in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    6.3
    Nice staff and great location. Cleanliness below our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room was below standards in terms of cleanliness. The chairs were dirty. Corners of the room were not hoovered and there was an empty sweet packet on the floor. I was not confident that the room had been thoroughly cleaned. The room was far too hot at night with no ventilation (windows were difficult to open). The hotel cleaned the areas we mentioned when requested very promptly and gave us a small discount.

    The staff were responsive and friendly. They dealt quickly with any problems we had.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    With it being a dog friendly hotel our room was not to the cleanliness we were expecting. To be fair, the hotel gave us a partial refund.

    Beer garden and bar area were good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    A great, friendly hotel to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't have any complaints at all.

    Everything. Food was excellent. Dinner in the hotel was first class and the adjacent bar was friendly and there's an area outside to sit and relax if the weather's good. Breakfast was varied and tasty. Staff were very helpful as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    Good centrally located hotel in beautiful location with pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lift would have made a difference and the bathroom was a bit of a tight squeeze with only a small shower. Whilst a little dated in places, this was a pleasant hotel However it was a pleasant hote with friendly staff and good food. I would return for another stay.

    Pillows and bed quite comfortable. We found the service very efficient and everything seemed freshly cooked, well presented, and tasty. We were moved from top floor to middle floor to save our 'legs' going up the stairs without even having to ask. The staff were thoughtful and pleasant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location and spot on for a chilled out break
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The steak pie was a little disappointing - would be better with flaky pastry and more gravy.

    The room smelled wonderful and was very clean and comfy. The staff were fantastic with our dog, Luna, and made us feel very welcome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    VERY enjoyable!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there were any negatives I can't recall them now as we tend to have a positive outlook & expectations of life & all the people who made such efforts on our to make our weekend good despite the British weather!!

    Really enjoyed our stay as the staff were extremely pleasant & helpful. We really enjoyed our evening meals on both nights. Room very well serviced.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    4.6
    Wouldn't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 210 overlooked beer garden so was noisy, and the kitchen vent so had kitchen smells. Room smelt strongly of bleach. Bed was uncomfortable. Bathroom basic and badly laid out.

    Good location; convenient parking; good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    great hotel and excellent staff for dog lovers
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Have visited on a number of occasions, and always receive the warmth and friendliness of the staff and people in dunkeld, especially dog lovers.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Biker friendly,plenty of information given before you had to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Biker friendly,plenty of information given before you had to ask.Bed really comfy.A good wardrobe, plenty of hooks in room.Staff friendly, helpful & really jolly.Hospitality superb!☺

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.5
    Fairly priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated interiors. Very small shower.

    Location was the best. In the heart of the town. Nice restaurant with good food and fair prices. Breakfast was very good, with standard variety. Everyone in the staff was very nice and polite with the guests.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: