Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Royal Goat Hotel 3 stars

Caernarfon Road, Beddgelert, LL55 4YE, United Kingdom

#5 of 6 hotels in Beddgelert

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 821 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice and cozy hotel in a great location for hikers. Good breakfast, friendly staff, comfortable and clean rooms. A little bit too fancy for me, as I'm more into youth hostel - like-conditions , but overall very nice. Great value for money. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building was very dated inside. Also, I think someone had had dogs in the room prior to our arrival. It kicked off my husbands allergies and asthma.

    The breakfast was spot on. Friendly staff. The location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Purrfect 😜

    Staff very helpful and friendly. What made it for r us was being so dog friendly. An excellent bfast and very good evening meals Plenty to of nice walks from the hotel, steam train ride and fantastic ice cream parlour

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The floorboards in the room above were very noisy but I suppose that is to be expected from an old building. Decor could do with updating

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Good size room with a great view. Very good breakfast choice. Dinner menu was quite limited but very well cooked and service was great. The lift was very handy after a day of walking. Excellent location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room, good restaurant and bar (excellent choice of gins) and a really nice breakfast. Beddgelert is a great little village, plenty of options for walking and other activities. Staff all very pleasant and helpful. We will be back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel decor was tired. A choice of a soft pillow.

    The staff was helpful and friendly. The room was clean and tidy and the bed was comfy. We enjoyed the breakfast, which was very tasty, the choice was good and the staff friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner was awful we had to send them back twice. 3rd time I was lucky with a burger (sent steak back twice it was tough and lukewarm. My partner sent his Braddock risotto back twice and ended up with thai green curry which was really watery! We won't go back until they get a new evening chef!

    The breakfasts were wonderful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu was limited and remained constant No refridgerator in the room Noisey and long flushing in the bathroom Hot water was exceptionally hot and difficult to regulate

    Friendly staff Good size room Location was excellent Clean rooms Chef and staff were very accomodating to my dietary needs Comfortable lounge areas

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was difficult to regulate the temperature on the shower, changing from burning hot to very cold which could have been a danger to children and elderly as it was not easy to reach under the hot streaming water to turn down the heat. It was obviously affected when other guests used their facilities.

    Very friendly and helpful staff and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work being carried out, rubble not cleared up near the outside seating area. Shower cold with low flow.

    Great location for walking in Snowdonia. Staff were lovely and a really good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a small double, small TV, and a makeover required.

    Location, parking, staff, cleanliness and breakfast. Still recommend for the price compared to others in the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu was very "Modern" which is fine if you want all your food to be sweet.. but no so if you like "Savoury" to mean Savoury i.e not sweet.

    Location, breakfast, staff, facilities. All Wonderful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful reception staff but signage not very clear for breakfast so it took us a while to find our way. We noticed that people were coming into the breakfast room and weren't clear what to do. Staff need to take a bit more initiative. Other than that, no complaints.

    The hotel is very convenient for Beddgelert village, local walks and access to main roads in/out. Parking is opposite the hotel and, although we arrived very early, they allowed us to park while we looked around the village. Lovely atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    Set in really beautiful countryside with easy access to sll the places we wanted to visit. Very friendly and helpful staff where nothing was any trouble and we were lucky to have glorious weather!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t fault anything except the pillows were not very good.

    This hotel is a little gem in the most wonderful location. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast and dinner were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There wasn't anything not to like !

    The whole visit was very enjoyable. The hotel was very good and the staff friendly and efficient. I will strongly recommend this hotel to friends !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress lumpy... informed staff and they thanked me for letting them know and informed me they are in the process of purchasing new ones

    Great location for Snowdon walking. Most excellent breakfast included in price of room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View from the room but could not change really as it was a late booking with last available room

    Excellent staff very welcoming and friendly. Food really good, and all hot

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Firstly the location. Lovely village nestled in the hills and with amazing views everywhere. The little train station for the Snowdonia Railway. The village itself with several pubs, restaurants, an ice-cream emporium and other attractions including a lovely church and a museum just nearby. The quiet and peacefulness of the area. The hotel itself. A proper, traditional hotel - not the "boutique" type that so many like nowadays. This is full of history with its wooden panels, classical stairs, chandeliers etc. Full of charming character. Our room was pleasant with everything we needed and we slept well on the comfy bed. Breakfast was in a large function-type room and the chef ("Victor") was pleasant and did a lovely choice of food. Very nice. Staff were very helpful and polite and the check-in and out was easy with no surprises. The weather was stunning as it turned out and we were able to sit outside on the terrace with a beer and relax. The house bar / lounge (which also partly serves as restaurant) was pleasant. We were in Wales really for a visit to Portmeirion ("The Village" in the 1960's series "The Prisoner"). You have to visit to see how incredibly beautiful and unique it is. There's literally nowhere like it anywhere else in the UK. If you've never been to Portmeirion,, put it on your list as a priority - it's nearly impossible to tear yourself away and leave such is its charm. Great for all ages. The whole area is lovely in general - Wales has so much to offer. Oh, and forget what rubbish you might ever hear about the Welsh folk meeting English and going off in Welsh language and being unwelcoming - that's just not true. We spoke to so many local folk and they were all so pleasant and friendly and rightly proud of their country. Like the Scots, it's in their nature. So would we stay at this hotel again? Absolutely, yes we would.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff were brilliant, the building was very charming and fitting to the village it’s located in. Food was great, the bed was comfy and really couldn’t fault it. The bathrooms and bedrooms are dated but I think it adds to the charm of the hotel and not much time is spent in a bathroom. We will stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could be a little more comfortable

    Charming hotel built in 1802 in a fantastic setting surrounded by hills and mountains. Several stunning walking trails available from the front door. Staff was very friendly and offered great advice on things to do in the area. Great job Jonathan and the rest of the staff, look forward to returning some day

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet on stairs needed replacing or at least cleaning and room could have done with updating.

    Fantastic location, great for walks nearby and a good base for climbing Snowdon!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed, although the mattress was comfortable, did dip a bit at the sides but we are probably spoilt because we are used to a superking bed at home.

    Great position and the staff are excellent. The food is really good and the evening meals are great value. The superior double room is very large with comfortable seating and is pretty much a home from home. The fact that they welcome dogs really made it for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to pay up front before getting keys to the room. Musty smell in room. Black mould in shower. Hot water took 5 mins to arrive by which time the shower tray was full of water due to blocked drain. Loose tap on sink. Bed was lumpy. Creaking floors. Road noise and permanent draft due to rotten window frames, complete with vegetation growing out of them. Peeling wallpaper. Stains on ceiling.

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were jaded but we didn't really care as they were clean and the bed was excellent

    Breakfast was superb with everything you could possibly crave.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outlook from out window.

    Dining hall exceeded our expectations,excellent service,food perfect to our liking and served with efficiency and a smile,cleanliness too high standard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Phone in my room didn’t work and was never fixed regardless of my reporting it. Wi-fi was sometimes unreliable by I believe was a BT fault. No cellular service for O2 but whole area the same

    Food and staff both excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The photos of the residents lounge were out of date as were a few other photos of the venue, Sadly the evening meal menu hasn't changed in a long long while and as we go at least twice a year it became uninspiring so we went elsewhere to eat. It used to have a specials board in addition to a welsh themed menu that changed daily and the food was top notch....

    Staff are super friendly and helpful...loved room 6 and the super views and space. Great attitude to dogs and nothing is too much trouble. Loved Victors breakfasts as ever the best we have ever had....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The so called superior room was awful!!!

    Very poor room allocated despite booking a Superior room. No view, only broken buildings and drain pipe. The manageress however was excellent in dealing with a difficult situation and provided a front view room that was a lower price!! Credit was received. Unfortunate for this Hotel to be in a state of unkempt after what was obviously a grander past. Needs serious investment to return to its glorious past.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was in need of attention. The fixed shower head was a bit low and the screen awkward to reach the bath taps. the seals need attention and the wood trim requires redecoration. The evening meal menu lacked vegetarian options

    We appreciated spacious room 39 and the magnificent breakfast room. Breakfast was very good with helpful staff. The receptionist kindly telephoned to remind us of the items we had left behind

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The evening meal, though excellent food, was served in the most depressing and frankly bizarre room I have ever eaten in. The rest of the hotel (apart from the breakfast room) was very run down and needs a lot of money spending on it. Our room (though clean) was up in the rafters and was tiny and very dark and again was very 'tired'.

    The breakfast was incredible and served in the very grand breakfast room. The evening meal we had there was excellent! Very good location on the edge of the village and very good views. Nice interesting history of the Hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was very, very weak and takes around 5 mins to heat up. The ceilings/walls are extremely thin so we could hear every step of those above us when they woke (at 5am). The bedrooms are very outdated.

    Service of staff was great, very friendly. A well priced bar and the restaurant and outdoor area is nicely done. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As highlighted by other reviewers, the decor is a bit dated but it wouldn't put me off staying again.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful; food was very good; comfortable bed; beautiful location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great breakfast waiter , and staff in general, not the plushest hotel, but that is not what we wanted, with two dogs and having spent the weekend hill walking. We would definitely stay at the Royal Goat again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel's décor and decoration needs a bit of an uplift. The heating in the bedroom was poor and very dated.

    The bed was surprisingly comfortable in a rather sad looking room that needs a good refresh. The staff were excellent, always polite and very helpful and the food very good - dinner was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was excellent. We ate in the hotel pm as well as having an excellent breakfast each day. Location superb. Staff very helpful and friendly. Although the decor in certain areas is dated it is obvious that a major undertaking has begun to update to more modern expectations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of the staff didn’t seem over friendly or enthusiastic. Although our meal was beautifully presented and very nice there wasn’t a massive choice on the menu

    Cocktails Food was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The taps in the bathroom were a bit tricky, it was challenging sometimes to set the water to the right temperature.

    Good size room, lovely staff and amazing food. We recommend to have a dinner in the hotel’s restaurant. Also Bedgellert is a very nice village with amazing people.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel décor was a little tired but the new owners explained they have plans to update the décor in the near future.

    Staff, food especially breakfast and location were excellent. A very relaxed hotel and made us feel very welcome with 3 kids and a dog. Dog were no trouble.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little dated.

    The location was wonderful, perfect for Snowdon, beautiful village. The breakfast was lovely and the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was immaculately clean!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could do with updating they are very outdated, the carpet to the second floor needs renewing

    Perfect location , friendly staff, amazing breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard double room only had one bedside lamp and one bedside table which ment my wife was unable to read in bed and she had to put her glasses and watch ,earrings on the floor plus no full length mirror . Ask for a front room or room 30 if you want a view,the back rooms are overlooking the roof tops ,going back to room 30 this was a small double but it had everything the standard double didn't have plus one of the Best Views from the hotel. I did speak to the hotel about the room and they made a note of it ,if we had not seen the small room my sister was using on her own we my never of known ,but I think two lamps and tables are a must for a double room.

    The hotel was good and the bed was comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No extractor fan in the shower-room so there was mould on the ceiling. The glass shelf over the sink was very loose! The bed was ok but I found it a little uncomfortable (maybe that's just me)!

    The room was fine, clean and tidy. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The meals were excellent and of generous portions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My single bed was rubbish. Soft (caved in on one side) and in need of replacement. I didn’t complain however (probably should have). The facilities in the room were adequate. In need of an update. I was told by a local that they planned to spend £1M on upgrades. It couldn’t happen soon enough. It’s a great building in a perfect location.

    The staff couldn’t do enough for us. They were professional, polite, and efficient. We were very happy with the reception and their efforts to make us happy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We walked into the hotel and were really surprised by how nice it was given some of the reviews. However, as soon as we started walking upstairs we realised why. The carpet literally changes once you're out of sight of reception from a nice one to one that's much shabbier. The rooms were comfortable and well equipped and they obviously have a really good cleaner as it's spotless. They are just a bit shabby though with peeling wallpaper. The shower really let them down though. You would set the temperature to just right and then a minute later (usually when you had a head full of shampoo) it would start alternating between scalding hot and freezing cold so that you spent the whole time jumping in and out of the water. I did burn myself once and I think this would be really dangerous for children - I can imagine the parents setting the temperature and walking away not realising the water would turn burning hot by itself minutes later.

    The staff really make this hotel. Every single one of them went out of their way to be friendly, welcoming and helpful and we commented on it a few times over the weekend. Special thanks to the man who looked after breakfast each morning - I think his name was Jonathan - he seemed to be managing both breakfast and reception at the same time on our last day but was still so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel has a lovely bar and cosy sitting area. They do a brilliant breakfast, loads of choice and really fresh. Location of the hotel is also great - easy walking distance to all the pubs, shops and nice local walks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal menu limited Parking a bit hit and miss due to visitors to the village using it not just guests

    Had an amazing room with a great view Extremely dog friendly Staff were nice and friendly Great central location to get to other places

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was unable to park my car in their car park, due to the fact that they charge none resident £2.50 per day to park there's. It's free to residents of the hotel!!! After an 8 hour walk the last thing I wanted to do was drive around looking for a parking space. As a lady travelling on my own I also couldn't park on Saturday evening after visiting friends. I had to park in the public car park and pay for the privilege.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was big with a large bay window and fantastic view, the room was very comfortable. The hotel is in a great location for walking and Beddgelert is a pleasant village. The staff were very helpful and friendly. A very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited evening menu, hot food,both dinner and breakfast plus the plates felt like they had been cooked on the sun, it was that hot. Decor tired, bed very comfortable, the en suite could do with an extractor fan, the Moule on the artexed ceiling was not good. Tv was the size of a postage stamp, but then ithe room and breakfast rate was rediculously cheap. There is a fabulous hotel in there, waiting to be set free.

    Staff were very willing and helpful. Beautiful location and value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very soft and springy old mattress, heating wouldn’t turn off so too hot at night. Shower took ten minutes to heat up due to one boiler in hotel we were advised by staff member who also said hotel would be having refurbishment in next two years so will go back after that.

    Friendly helpful staff nice atmosphere. The bar and dining areas were comfortable and service good. Food was lovely tasty and value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing, it was fine

    Great price, location. Not perfect but score reflects the value for money. A few tired bits yes but under £60 including breakfast in this beautiful part of the world is great. Breakfast was superb. Also really appreciated the bilingual nature of the place with breakfast menu in welsh. As a learner it was great to be able to speak a little there too with the barman etc. Diolch yn fawr iawn. Byddwn ni'n dychwelyd rhywbryd yn y dyfodol.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Premises were obviously in a partial state of renovation which will add immensely to the overall condition of the hotel.

    The staff were brilliant. Friendly, polite and eager to make the stay very enjoyable. Meals were excellent and very popular with guests and non guests alike.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff distracted on entry printing off our paperwork ready for our arrival, forgot (!) to acknowledge / welcome us. Trouble with shower temperature control; far too hot.

    Last minute booking as travelling in area. Location great & car parking. Good breakfast/choice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, it suited us fine

    Not sure about wifi as we were having a break from everything and everyone! We don't live far and it was ideal, peaceful location hotel staff friendly and helpful. Just the break we needed. We were so relaxed we got up too late for the mega breakfast! Will have it next time....

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather drab rooms and lack of decor

    The bar, the food and friendly staff. Breakfast is pretty good too. Rooms and staircases are a little dated but I don’t go there to sit in my room. Quality of the food makes up for that!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very little to complain about really. The lounge is a little tired and I'd have liked a bigger room especially as we were travelling with a dog.

    Excellent location, lovely restaurant with great food. Impressive staff and an excellent breakfast. The hotel is dog friendly which is why we chose it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole hotel was cold, all the time. Even so the heating was turned off overnight! Eventually was able to get an electric heater for the room but it didn't make much differance.

    Evening meal was very good, however they forgot the icecream to go with our dessert to start with.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looking a bit dated now sash window didn't work as it should and rattled l don't like having to pay on arrival especially after 5 hour motorcycle ride and carrying luggage in full bike gear

    Location Breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is in a state of disrepair. The window frames are rotting away. There was black mold on the ensuite ceiling.

    The location was excellent. The staff were very friendly. The food was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water in room didn’t get hot enough for a bath or a really hot shower. After the walk we done I could have done with a hot bath.

    Breakfast stunning. Really clean nice staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean bedding ? unusual stains on duvet cover.

    On arrival faulty door lock had to go to reception to ask to be let into room. No kettle in room, had to go to reception again. Bathroom ceiling in room 9, no extractor fan so covered in mould

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities quite old

    The waiter serving us breakfast was particularly friendly and welcoming, and would be a strong reason to return. Very good value for money and the complimentary breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More staff. More parking Warning about big , noisy functions

    2 night stay . First night , no parking , big noisy function in place . Rushed breakfast Second night .. gorgeous . Calm , easy parking ,lovely atmosphere , relaxed breakfast .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was not very powerful but apart from that it was lovely.

    It was a very friendly place and my dog was made very welcome which was lovely . breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we were grateful for the very large family room which included a lounge area and lovely bathroom, the bedroom itself was very dated and a little tired. No hairdryer.

    Excellent location and dog friendly. It was the first time in a hotel with our dog but she was made very welcome. Your dogs are able to join you for all meals and drinks in the Grill Bar. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. All meals were excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely hotel with really friendly and helpful staff, we loved our 2 night stay and we'll definitely be going back next time we are in Snowdonia.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main bedroom décor was a little tired and the restaurant lacked ambience (although it was very quiet when we stayed). Food a touch on the expensive side.

    The location and room price value was excellent. WiFi was very good in our room above the entrance to the hotel. The bathroom was nicely updated and the breakfast well made with quality ingredients

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms clean, staff very friendly, good breakfast, fantastic location, not the cheapest of places but no complaints here.

    Would have loved a bath after some tough walks but the power shower was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fee on booking.com was not the fee we paid on arrival. No one told us about the surcharge for the dog, despite booking a dog friendly room.

    The location is fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite cold, and even with extra heaters it never felt really warm - probably due to no previous guests in the room for some time.

    Food excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was a bit hopeless. Unclear how to use it and when I did work it out the hot water wasn't hot enough. Really need new controls. A real shame because everything else was awesome.

    Breakfast was better than I had expected. The hotel was great. Had a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Evening meals seemed very expensive. Wifi access not available in the room. No mobile phone signal at all, apparently only EE can connect. This is not the hotel's fault though but may be worth considering when booking.

    Excellent breakfasts

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tricky lock to access bedroom door and creaking floors/no noise insulation when people got up to use the bathroom at night

    Character and style of building carried on through to inside of property in oldie Worldie charm and feel. Plenty of space to move around floors as built in another era.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited choices in the evening meal menu.

    Excellent WiFi. Lovely ambience at the restaurant. Really grateful to the helpful members of staff. Lots of lovely walks locally.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a bit small: I felt other larger rooms were available for the same price but because we booked through booking.com we got the 'leftover' rooms: this has happened before with other hotels!

    The breakfast was cooked to order and extensive: excellent choices. Hotel staff were professional and friendly: we had an issue with dogs barking in the next room and they dealt with it swiftly.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: