Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Royal Lancaster London 5 stars

Lancaster Terrace, Westminster Borough, London, W2 2TY, United Kingdom

#328 of 977 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1078 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was fantastic! Everythink was perfect, especially want to thank George, the concierge. He helped us with the travelling to Manchester, he found and booked in a few minutes the best ticket's price - very quickly and recommended us a really beautiful places to visit in London - high level of profesionalism !!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The soundproofing of the room was not good enough and in the morning the was street noise. Also in the hotel and the nearby streets, there were many different construction work adding to the street noise.

    The room was very clean and the service was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking facilities. Management need to sort out. Staffs not helpful in this area as per management instruction not to park cars in the space available.

    Staffs wonderful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No spa, no bar or late nght entertainment, no executive lounge. Lacked in atmosphere. Reception and Customer Relations messed up my bill even though I had explained this 3 or more times! Thankfully I had printed off some emails as evidence!!!!

    Other than my bill staff were fantastic, especially in breakfast room. Breakfast was gorgeous, very clean comfortable rooms. Fantastic views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lobby bar seems very limited in space. Also there weren't any alcohol free drinks available other than the usual very basic choices. Not everyone drinks!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only very minor quibbles were a) weird and slightly confusing breakfast routine and b) service charges on drinks booked to your room a little cheeky - don't feel like it is adding any value for the cost and completely non-discretionary.

    Really good hotel, lovely room, great view from the 10th floor, bathroom tres nice, good location, smart staff. All good. Would bring my family back - rare I say that for hotel I have stayed at for business.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot, our preference is south of Hyde Park but thats just a personal choice based on previous hotels and areas stayed.

    Fabulous beds, bathroom really well appointed - dual shower excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we stayed at the hotel in the past there was parking or valet parking which has now been discontinued. This may stop us staying at the hotel again as we require a car for travel.

    We have stayed at the Royal Lancaster several times because we are treated well by staff who are always helpful and courteous. We have watched the hotel's transition into a very modern facility and it is situated near the underground.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby bar could have been better - it was quite chilly and the service was a little slow. We thought the breakfast was expensive at just under £20 per person, so we didn't have breakfast in the hotel. Saying that it's not a complaint about the hotel. We really enjoyed our stay and would go back again.

    The staff were very helpful - it was for a birthday celebration and they went out of their way to make it extra special and we really enjoyed the Nippa Thai restaurant - food and staff were excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. Location was great with a great view on Hyde Park and close to all transportation terminals (Bus, Metro and Train) Room and bathroom were very clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The clean lady didn't clean the room good :( and also put my room at 18 grados being in winter time I can't figure out why she did it! My room it was freezing and if you were walking outside with -2 for sure you will be thinking in your warm room ... but not for me that day :(

    Very nice view from my room!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we booked the smallest room it was tiny, no room for our luggage at all

    Magnificent hotel, I adored the marble features. Staff were always accommodating and helpful and a great location, especially for walks around Hyde Park.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I found the new reception area to be very loud, and I had to strain to hear what the receptionist was trying to tell me. Sorry, but it was better before the renovations.

    Lovely location, very friendly staff. All good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing !

    Person service from check in to check out; nothing was too much trouble for any member of staff. What a great location, with an adjecent tube station, for a restful city break !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've stayed at The Royal Lancaster many times over the years. I've seen it change names and be outdated and now morphed in to this wonderful new hotel. I have been a loyal customer but the much needed renovation has made me even more happy to stay and reccomend the RL to my friends and business colleagues. For the quality of service and facilities i am gettibg, i do not mind the big difference in rates from what it was previously. Location is perfect as i use the underground alot and its located just below the property. Dont worry. Its still very private

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough toiletries provided. Didn't have any shower gel!

    Lovely room, very comfy beds. Great location. Lovely View of The Fountains in Hyde Park whilst eating breakfast. Great choice on the continental breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed was too hard. dirty windows inside and out. breakfast over priced at more than £20. requested scrambled on two brown toast, buttered. got one slice unbuttered. poor choice of beers at bar

    room size and view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, everyone was so friendly and polite. The view from the room was absolutely breathtaking, worth every penny. Perfect location. Can’t wait to book another break here

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we had upgraded to a room with a city view

    Shower was large and bathroom had lots of shelving for toiletries. Also Lancaster Gate tube station just round the corner from the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't a bath in my room . Nipa Restaurant was nothing special and imho didn't warrant its 2 AA rosettes . I was very disappointed with the grill restaurant / brassarie .. There seemed to be a lot of staff standing around void of any real purpose... I asked for some humus .. which they got from the main kitchen .... it took 45 mins. ?????

    The Room was a nice size with plenty of space . The shower was excellent. My 2 year old daughter loved it , tho I would of preferred a bath as well . Breakfast was very good but expensive . Reception staff and concierge were very good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the car park was 13 minutes walk away, it would be great time if they could provide a valet service. However you can pull up outside the hotel to drop off your luggage.

    The rooms are well furnished, with sockets next to the bed! Nice white company toiletries and fab location to Hyde park.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like when I ask for assistance with the baggeges and went down to find that no one was after my request. I also didn't like the noise out of the pipeline when the water heater is being used in the bath. The room is too small (although very well organized furniture).

    Well decorated Recently renovated Friendly staff Fast check in process Kind offer of late check out Very clean hotel Housekeeping do their job very well Bathroom's marble is amazing Nice Lobby area

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small. Not good value for money. I had booked a double room 2 people occupancy, I got a free drink (cup of tea) but my partner did not.

    The bed was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked double room, was given twin room which was troublesome as bed would keep separating. Charged me £50 extra too. Small rooms especially given the price. Hotel seems largely under reconstruction.

    Contactless key cards and good room service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had recently been updated. New deco is lovely, certain details thoughtfully planned out - USB chargers by the bed, underfloor heating in bathroom, well designed shower (for once water does not seep out and cause a puddle) We were upgraded to a high floor and had view of the city and Hyde Park. Ibrahim the doorman deserves a special mention for being so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was extraordinarily pleasant. Also the facilities and the room itself were absolutely faultless. I liked the style and the feel of the hotel al lot.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little warm and stuffy would have preferred better air con

    Staff were friendly and accommodating at all times the Thai restaurant was amazing food was delicious and again perfect service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a bit of a walk from the main Oxford street stuff but if the weather is good it is quite pretty along the park. The room breakfast was a bit of a letdown.

    Excellent hotel. not too flash. smart not flash. Not romantic type but well laid out and the staff are great. Definitely one of the best in the area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Love this hotel! Modern and classy aesthetic, well designed use of space (e.g. not feel cramped, charging plugs all over, lots of tabletop space to put stuff, bathroom counter space to put stuff, cabinets & special drawers, etc), thoughtfully selected materials (e.g. reflective gold panels, warm bathroom floor made of rock, decor, etc), good shower, big firm bed, automatic curtains, lights that are easy to turn on/off, All the staff were super-nice & helpful. Nice neighborhood, short walk to Hyde Park or Paddington Station. I travel frequently for work and have stayed at many hotels, and this one is way better than most of them. I'll definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very pleasant business stay - comfortable bed, nice automatic blinds and black out curtains. USB charging port by the bed, great shower and good to have the option of a bath too. Everything felt 'just right'. Very enjoyable stay. Would stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints

    The rooms and beds were comfortable. Very quiet hotel. Great location with easy access to central London either on foot or by underground.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was very family friendly, staff really made the effort with our children, check in and check out was really quick, hotel has a lovely atmosphere all round.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged twice for the room. The concierge claimed it was only a Pre-authorisation however the money won’t be refunded until 5 days time. The power tripped in the room twice from the iron.

    The entire hotel is newly refurbished, deluxe room had amazing views over all of London. Great view of winter wonderland at night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blue tape still stuck in bathroom after repairs, holding wood in place 16.01.2017. written on it. disappointingly charged for mini bar, chocolate, when had taken nothing from it, and were asked at receptoin while checking out.

    Location, staff great. The bed was very comfortable. Views stunning but had to pay £30.00 more for that.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked a sauna/steam facility. Everything else was fine

    Room excellent and very comfortable beds. Linen and towels excellent. Bar service good and friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    £300 room but pay for breakfast! £20! Refreshments not refreshed had to ring accommodation services more than once! Get breakfast from deli opposite hotel fabulous wish we had found sooner! £5.95!

    Very comfy bed,clean,modern

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were works going on uni the hotel and the water was cold and the staff didn't apologise when this was reported. We had 8 guests who all had to have cold showers.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn’t like was building itself, doesn’t suit that neighborhood. The architects were not very sensitive ‘to blend into the environment’ at that time I think. I’m ashamed to say it but the room was so good, I forgot all.

    The room is recently designed, bright,lean,slick and comfortable, bed, bathroom, everything is ver very good My room was not looking to the park but still scenery was nice old buildings. I loved the restaurants Staff were very understanding,helpful,smiling. The place was also very practical.. every 2 min bus to the heart of the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a standard double and newly refurbished was excellent quality as was the lobby and reception. Great to see The Royal Lanc reviving itself. Staff seem very much behind the upgrade and the service is engaged.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had booked a twin room but were sent up to two double rooms before a twin room was identified for us. However, this was compensated with a complimentary continental breakfast.

    Especially good shower.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ivan was very welcoming and even gave me a voucher for a free drink As I told him of my previous night At a different hotel. Room was spotless a little small but quiet with a nice view. On leaving Stephanie gave me chocolates. All the staff were wonderful from the doorman to the concierge to the front desk. Will definitely be back

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in staff all seemed to be new or poorly trained. Any interaction with them took much longer than it should have. Building is being renovated so lots of construction noise during the day but quiet at night. Expensive but it is central London I suppose.

    Amazing bathroom. Heated marble floor. Awesome shower. Hotel is in a good location with tube station next door.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was not told that there was no car park. A friend told me at the last hour. I have been going to this hotel for the last thirty years and have always parked in the on site car park. Far too expensive b&b if you have to walk 15 minutes from the nearest car park. Four times in two days. I am 72 years old and struggle to walk. Very disappointed. I would have booked elsewhere if I had known when I booked months before. I booked three rooms and friends were in a fourth room. This was for my daughters wedding.

    Breakfast was very good, but paid a fortune for it. Dinner in Island very good all round.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service in the lounge on floor one was terrible. It typically took 15 minutes to get served.

    Loved the Thai restaurant on floor one. The service in the lounge on floor one was terrible. It typically took 15 minutes to get served.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like that I could not park on site, but that is how London is!

    Like many London hotels rooms, space is at a premium in hotel rooms. The Royal Lancaster did an amazing job of making a smallish space feel twice its size via the clever design and layout. The room had a lovely sofa and desk with windows overlooking the city or Hyde Park. Electronic day and night shades are a bonus as is an excellent bank of electronic plugs near the desk. A beautifully redesigned modern bathroom with underfloor heating feels lush.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was too small not expected , asked for twin bed and it was confirmed in booking but was not done, they wanted to fix it and separate the beds but we refused because the room was too small while they are joined imagine how it will be if they separate the beds (not professional)

    staff were very helpful , cleanliness ,fast check in

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Refurbished, very smart rooms. Comfy bed. Staff very helpful and courteous. Hotel is a 5 min walk from Paddington and 15 mins to Marble Arch. Great price on Booking.com; highly recommended. Room larger than many I've stayed in in London. Great view as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location beside the Tube and Hyde park Staff are excellent and very friendly especially the receptionists and Benn the doorman. They were really helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were installing our son in Lillian Penson for his studies which is just a 2 minute walk away from the hotel. The hotel offered us exactly what we needed after a hard day of work: friendly staff, splendid view on the London Eye and Hyde park, and excellent cuisine. We can also recommend the nearby Island Grill restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Right from arrival we felt welcome. Staff were more than helpful and made our trip to London Incredible. Couldnt fault the Hotel or staff at all. Concierge were excellent recommending places to visit and easiest methods of travelling around.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at breakfast was poor. Told I hadn't paid for breakfast when I clearly had. Waited 50 minutes for our breakfast to be bought to us. Was not informed renovations were taking place so was unable to use the gym.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit pricey for our pocket... not hotels fault at all. But I enjoyed it so much I think I would save up so that we could go again!!

    Luxurious. Helpful staff... nothing too much trouble. Enjoyed every minute here and didn't want to leave!! Worth every penny I would say.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As I said, the standard rooms are very small.

    They are in the final stages of fairly massive renovation and so not altogether sorted out. I think it will be lovely, and they are doing everything in their power to make up for any inconvenience. Wonderful, helpful very large staff -- no waiting for anything ever. The room was pretty with tons of mod cons and electronics - it actually reminded us very much of a room on a cruise ship or liner. Very nice but awfully small and felt a little boxlike which didn't bother my husband but did me to a degree. Good beds and linens, though. Pretty views and wonderful location. Stayed there a couple years ago, and the rooms were actually prettier in my opinion and more traditional and twice the size. Afternoon champagne tea is VERY special - delicious and pretty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I been using bookings in the last few years and my current experience with Lancaster hotel is the worse so far. I asked for smoking room in standard room and when I arrived they told me "I have to upgrade to executive room with 80 pounds per day extra if I want to have smoking room and this the hotel policy" which wasn't mentioned in booking.com, actuality choosing the smoking room was available as an option in the standard room. The problem is I booked in Lancaster just for the smoking room when there was cheaper and better hotels in London. The second problem is the hotel is under restoration and they are keep weakening me up EVERYDAY by the noises they are making, even the elevator was closed in one of the days. Also one night I find my clothes thrown up on the Room floor by housekeepers after cleaning the room. When I find spot OUTSIDE of the hotel to smoke a cigarette one guy reached me and told its not allowed to smoke in here and I have to check with the reception to have smoking room. I don't recommend to stay in this hotel now or in the future. During my stay in the hotel I sent an email to booking.com but there was no response, even I tried to call and they keep me waiting for 10 or 15 minutes without answering, booking.com customer service was poor lately.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the work going on outside the hotel. The noise did not impact on our stay as we were completely unaware of it.Some one had obviously planned things so that there would be little impact on guests

    We had stayed here previously and were initially surprised by the construction work outside . Our concerns about this were soon dispelled as the staff were very welcoming, polite and eager to please. The reception area was aesthetically pleasing .We were accommodated on the 15th floor which had excellent views over the neighbourhood and Hyde Park. Due to the refurbishment the decor of our room was new which was a bonus. The double bed was the most comfortable of our trip so far. Air conditioning was quiet and effective when neccesary. Underfloor heating in the bathroom gave a really cosy feel that area as did the materials and colours used.. Towels etc were replaced each day and beds turned down in the evening ready for a relaxing night. We didn't.t have breakfast but from past experience it would be very comprehensive. Lastly one of the highlights of our stay was a complimentary dinner at the Nips Thai restaurant. This was as a result of being selected as Guest of the Day on arrival. Quite a surprise. We enjoyed several delicious courses with accompanying wines. A special thank you to the staff there who helped make the evening so enjoyable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar fridge was connected to reception and if you moved anything of picked it up for more than 20 seconds it was charged on the bill and it mounted up to quite a lot of money and did take a fair while to have it sorted out on checkout and taken off the bill. If you were in a hurry to check out this could be a problem. Next time I will ask them to remove everything and just put my own drinks/wine in it. The hotel was still in the process of the renovations but they did not start work until 9am so it did not bother us.

    Our room had been renovated and redecorated and although the room was compact it was very well designed and laid out and had everything we needed. The bathroom was great and the shower fantastic. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. We had a great view over London and Hyde Park was opposite. The tube was right around the corner with great access for the bus as well. A thoughtful bonus was a gift of "guest of the day" of an afternoon tea for two with a glass of champagne. The afternoon tea was delicious with a great variety of teas I had never heard of, a delightful experience. I will definitely stay there next time I am in London.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has undergone a full renovation of rooms and public areas. My room which was an upgrade was tastefully furnished comfortable bed and good amenities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is current refurbishment taking place and the builders started a little early. The hotel were very apologetic and upgraded us to a suite on the other side of the hotel for our second night which was amazing. Cannot praise ALL the staff highly enough

    The executive room was excellent. Plenty of space and the bathroom was amazing with both a bath and large walk in shower. The staff were fantastic and looked after everything making the stay both welcoming and relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointed that breakfast was not included in price for weekend stay but plenty of good options close by.

    Very convenient location a few steps from tube station. Lovely staff and comfortable room with every amenity and lovely view over Hyde Park.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like.

    Great iconic hotel, super clean, staff and concierge extremely helpful, they had a room available, so we were able to book in early. Refurbishment going on, but didn't upset stay. Really good all round.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was far to hot had to shower and leave the room as it was far to hot to sit and relax for a while the rest of the hotel was cool but room far to stuffy

    It was a lovely clean hotel probably because of the refurb. I could not fault them on the fact you could not tell a refurb was taking place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    •The fridge door opening time (without charging after 30 seconds) is most inconvenient for those of us who need to refridgerate medications or even fresh milk. •It seemed a shame not to capitalize on enlarging the room size slightly during the alterations. •'Friends' are not entitled to a special rate if not booked directly with the hotel.

    The view; the blinds; the heated bathroom floor in particular and the refurbishment in general, but most of all the friendly and obliging staff which was a noticeable, and welcome, change from previous visits. Although not used, the offer of a free afternoon tea was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The location is absolutely perfect for sightseeing,shopping and getting to the west end. The staff are really lovely...all of them we came in contact with, helpful and courteous. Our room was perfect bright and airy with great views. This was our second visit and I think it will be our go to hotel in London .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked an airport transfer through the hotel, cost ended up being nearly 20 pounds more than we were quoted by the hotel staff.

    Wonderful central location right across from Hyde park.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Somewhat a bit noisy with the refurbishment works outside, however bearable if spending most of the time out visiting the surrounding areas.

    View, cleanliness, pleasant staff, good evening meal, proximity to the park, comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That breakfast had to be paid for as an extra it should have been included in the price.

    The view was excellent even though under renovation...staff went out of their way to make my husbands birthday special 😀

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms. There is NO ROOM to keep your clothes and personal belongings. The design of the locker cabinet is very poor with several wasted little areas here and there that can do the difference. Kindly review the cupboard design and its layout and do the needful to improve it. We shall keep coming to LL for several years to come hoping you work on this issue.

    Strategic location where you can enjoy doing business since the accessibility is there to everything while continue enjoying the romance of the Hyde park and London itself.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is currently being refurbished and much of it is behind wooden construction hoardings. We thought we'd booked a room in a derelict building instead of a 4 star hotel. Lift access to our 17th floor room was limited and always busy.

    The room had a good view and the modernised facilities are better than they were.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    price

    Staff was great, the room was impeccable, a little on the pricy side but with a tube stop under property (currently close until August) it a great hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Renovated property is excellent , the service and welcome staff are excellent one point is that there are no smoking room available for guests I am planning to stay one month in summer at this property, if no smoking rooms will be available I have to change my plan and find a different property regards

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were some of the best I have experienced in London / refurbished room on the 17th Floor larger than most with all the amenities expected of a central London hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking due to renovations, however was able to park across the road which during the week and on Saturday during the day can only park for 4 hours, note I parked late afternoon Saturday and only had to pay for 4 hours, so after 6.30 was free until Sunday.

    Since my last stay at the Lancaster the hotel was under renovation, but the rooms were completed. My room was spacious, clean and updated. The decor was tasteful. A huge improvement on my last visit and a pleasant stay. They had an express check out meaning I could leave promptly with no queuing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there was so noisy sounds because there were working people and the rate of price high Also, there were so frequent check from the housekeeper for room service Also, the key of the room usually shut of and not working and I need each time to go down to activate it

    I like cleanliness. was so great location the external view of the room lovely staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all!

    We were extremely happy - all the staff without exception were 1st class - couldn't do enough for us. Have stayed here many times before & will be back again soon.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was extensive building works going on which lead to the reception area not having functioning IT equipment and they couldn't locate our booking for some time and the lifts weren't in use so they had to use the service lifts. There was no warning of this on making the booking which is disappointing given the cost of the rooms.

    There was an event being held in this property so the location was perfect for my CEO and his colleagues

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Royal Lancaster London traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: