Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Royal Lodge 4 stars

Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, HR9 6JL, United Kingdom

#6 of 7 hotels in Symonds Yat

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 458 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.3
    Location was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was very dirty in the corridor. There were cardboards boxes in reception. It was quite noisy. The sink was in bedroom rather than bathroom. We had to pay £6.00 for parking overnight. Food was overpriced.

    Location was lovely. The breakfast was good. Good walks along the river.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    A good few days break away with friends because of location. Hotel adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under staffed at all times meant long waiting. Very Dirty stair carpet. Dogs being allowed in the breakfast and dinner restaurant. Also for £90 + tea/ coffee and toast should be served to table. (Danger issue should there be children). Carrying your own hot drinks to the table

    The hotel was nice, lovely views of the river. breakfast was mostly self service and average. Evening meals were good. Location excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    The river being so close in N amazing location with great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricey for what it is, didn’t enjoy breakfast, charged £6 per room for parking even when we only brought 1 car, don’t get nothing for your money, we went else where for food because lodges menus were over priced and nothing was liked on the menus

    The river being so close in N amazing location with great seating arrangement outside

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    good location on riverside. comfortable rooms good food and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    would have been nice to havesome gentle music of sorts playing in the dining room on the night whilst dining. food was excellent but dining room felt a bit clinical with little atmosphere. found drinks at the bar were rather expensive to be honest

    comfortable relaxation break. room comfortable food execellent. enjoyable walks amazing scenery and boat trips

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.8
    I felt deceived.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Shower would not heat up beyond Luke warm despite my resorting to setting it all the way past the standard safety setting to high. The tv's in the room and guests lounge had virtually no reception. My room door would not lock after closing it fully. I reported this to a member of staff and after testing it himself resorted to slamming it with force to lock it. I explained that this would wake other guests and their children. He said he would let maintenance know. I was charged 6 pounds for parking, I was unaware of the charge and on a motorcycle also not even parked in a bay.

    The location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful location, lots going on on the river.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park charge not mentioned until we got the bill. Would have been nice to have smaller snacks available during the day . The restaurant was really nice.

    Location was superb, staff friendly. Rooms basic but clean. Shower too hot and difficult to adjust. Restaurant very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    Hotel in lovely location,room clean and good value for what...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most staff were lovely, except one! When we arrived staff friendly and helpful, we went for a walk and decided to ring to make a booking for dinner all great until we went to the restaurant, we asked where we had to sit and was told to wait a moment, this was not a problem until we here’d this person tell another member of staff that there were two people just wandering around ( we were not) this was so rude. So we told them we wouldn’t be eating there that evening. So you lost that reservation for dinner. This was so disappointing.

    Hotel in lovely location,room clean and good value for what we paid.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    Okay place expensive for what it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We was told upon arrival that the parking at the hotel was free, which turns out not to be true as you are charged for parking when you check out. The staff seemed at times like they could not be bothered to be there and were very inhospitable.

    Comfy bed and nice room. Breakfast was okay but nothing special. Not sure if we will return

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    We should have booked in for longer only booked the day before
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    May have had a better bar menu

    The staff went out of their way to help. My husband wasn’t well earlier in the day hours before we booked in We went and explained the situation The staff went out of their way to prepare the room so my husband could lie down and rest. They gave us and our friends tea while they did all the preparations. They were amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    6.3
    Rather less than one would expect from an AA 4 star rated establishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were not very friendly, somewhat surprisingly for its rural location there were car parking charges, the en-suite bathroom though refurbished was cramped and poorly equipped with a diminutive shallow 'cloakroom' style wash basin, with only 1 hand towel between two occupants (there wasn't even a towel rail!) and with throw away plastic beakers, there was no telephone and no tissues,

    The Dining Room and food were fine, if a little pricey, and the location was OK

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Satisfactory due to overpayment which was not refunded
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We paid for a room with RIVER VIEW but were told we didn't get this as BOOKING.COM did not inform the hotel. Breakfast was disorganised, we had to ask for water, waiter was unaware stewed fruit was on the menu, tea was only warm. We had to ask for tea bags in our room and only had one bottle of water.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    The spacious room had a great view of the River Wye.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The spacious room had a great view of the River Wye.The meals were lovely and the staff couldnt have been more helpful. The overall location was beautiful and it was great to sit outside with with a beer to watch the sun set.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Great value stay if you can get a deal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff weren't the happiest but others were fine. I wouldn't recommend the bar. Maybe we caught them on a bad day, but the beer was shocking (three different types!). Fairly minor stuff really though, we enjoyed our stay overall.

    The room was fine, not plush but then we paid £85 so it was really good value. Breakfast was excellent and the hotel's location is great, right next to the river and perfect as a starting point for seeing the valley. Comfy bed too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    A fab location and fine place to stay for a couple of days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor inconvenience. Our room on top floor seemed very hot despite it being May. We finally worked out that this was due to the heated towel rail being left switched on. Once turned off, it took what seemed like 24 hours to cool down. Might be useful to other guests to know this. Like other reviews, was not advised about the car park £6 daily fee until it arrived on the bill. It was only in reading other reviews that this became clear. Seems odd not to mention it in passing once they issue with the parking pass.

    Location is amazing. A quaint, quirky hotel. Some areas of the hotel could perhaps benefit from a little refreshing to modernise to today’s decor standards but all was kept very clean. The staff seemed friendly enough and the food was pretty good too especially the breakfast which was a perfect start to the day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.2
    The location is great, it is tranquil and beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the bar staff was rude and unhelpful. We understood the hotel to be dog friendly but I would say it is dog tolerant-they charged £17.50 per night for our dog with various extras they could add for such things as barking or deep cleaning (£95). If it was top notch fair enough but communal carpets heavily soiled (particularly stairs and upstairs corridor. Our bathroom was large, modern and nicely done but bedroom was on a par with cheap travel lodge. The carpet was cheap office carpet, mattress was overly worn, the sofa bed seemed to have no springs. There was no view as we were at the back facing a soil bank and windows only opened 2 inches due to having restrictors attached so would have been unbearable in hot weather. The final straw was when they gave us two packed lunches, one gluten free and one normal, both had yoghurts but no spoons, ( not great on all day canoe trip!), the gluten free chocolate bar clearly listed gluten in it and the gluten free sandwich and cake was not labelled as such. Due to my poor impression of the hotel’s understanding of dietary needs I did not eat the cake and phoned the hotel on arrival at my destination and was told they had given me normal cake. Whilst they reimbursed the extortionate £10.95 I had paid it did not give me any faith their service to others would improve. Also the car park outside is pay and display and costs £6.50 per 24 hours.

    The location is great, it is tranquil and beautiful. The restaurant has two menus- one had little gluten free so I opted for more expensive menu and food was really nice. Most of the staff were courteous and helpful. The front dining room had nice views, as did the garden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Peaceful, scenic Gem, not far from anywhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like 🤔 The only thing I didn’t like was having to leave this beautiful place

    Breakfast is great with plenty of choices available, and the restaurant has great views of the wye Valley, also my dog was very welcome not only in the hotel and bar but there’s also a dog friendly restaurant which is very nice 👍

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Good food, very clean, friendly staff, excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds comfort.

    Good food, very clean, friendly staff, excellent location. The beds are not comfortable. Great place for a nice outing near the river. Canoeing is walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice and relaxing stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your booking stated free parking , however this was changed since and we were charged £6 per night ! Also £17.50 for the first night for our dog , £12.50 there after felt a bit steep Would not rate rooms as 4 stars , however they are roomy and comfortable

    Lovely position in a breathtakingly beautiful part of the country Plenty of nice walks , river cruise and opportunities for boating Nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Well worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park and roads very busy at weekends, but worth the visit for excellent, friendly staff.

    Food was really good, especially the individual cooking of breakfast. Bed was extremely comfortable, location peaceful with quiet walks into the forest and by the river ideal. ALL the staff were efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.8
    Nice place, unprepossessing accommodation, didn't feel welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disinterested staff. Poor service at breakfast. No logic to the way table numbers were allocated so people were wandering around looking for where they should sit and also going backwards and forwards to collect glasses from the table as there were none on the buffet bar for juice - no assistance from staff. Bed uncomfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Idyllic for our anniversary weekend and experienced canoeing for the first time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Seemed a little short staffed at times but realise that staffing a destination such as this is probably difficult. Had to get cereal milk from the buffet for our morning tea/coffee, there were no small jugs for the table.

    Small, friendly and very amenable. Nice menu with gluten free options. They organised flowers in our room as requested by my husband for an anniversary surprise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.9
    Good centre for a relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    One of the bedside lamps wasn't working... despite several reminders, it never got fixed (it was just a faulty bulb). Thursday morning, there seemed to be a shortage of staff at breakfast. My breakfast kipper was the smallest I've ever seen.

    Of course the location is very good. Room was comfortable, with a very good shower. We had one evening meal, which was good but a little pricey.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.9
    Good place for overnight stay or longer break near many beauty spots.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You cannot rely on Booking.com to provide the room that they imply you are booking.

    Attentive, reactive staff. Riverside location. Excellent views. Light pleasing breakfast room. Soft comfortable bed. Delightful gardens.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel on the banks of the Wye, perfect for a weekend break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    Wonderful location on the banks of the Wye. Spacious comfortable room with a view of the river. Very good breakfast, excellent dinner in the hotel restaurant. Lovely garden in front of the hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly. Had a slight mix-up with the bill at the end of the stay, but problem was sorted quickly and efficiently. Very good value for money!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    beautiful place beautiful views just needs some love
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the mattress was tired and you could feel every spring the rooms could do with a bit of love putting back into them and the other thing was we view of the over grown bushes at the back of the property which makes me feel the lack of value for money you could also here every bump and bang in the kitchen

    the property needs a bit of love but the views from the garden were amazing staff are very friendly and good with the dogs

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    A relaxing peaceful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only down side, bar and lounge areas are too small to relax in. Hense we felt we were directed back to our bedroom after an evening meal.(just as well we were up graded on arrival, as the room we were given was quite spacious )

    Fabulous friedly staff, querky hotel with a modern twist, fantastic location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable, friendly staff but hotel rooms need modernising, cost of parking needs to be made clear
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need modernising especially regarding bathroom and shower. WiFi coverage was poor. Additional cost of £6 per day for parking which wasn’t made clear and tried to charge me for two days parking when I had only been there half a day in total.

    Friendly staff lovely location, lovely food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.0
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water, tired room mattress seen a lot of use, dated menu, £100 up front payment as insurance against damage to the room - they do it for a reason, I'll say no more. £12 additional parking charge. Such a shame as the staff are wonderful and the location is amazing.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    4.5
    Disappointed as I was overcharged 25%. Trying to sort it out.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lumpy uncomfortable mattress and the room smelt. I had to leave the windows open throughout my one nigh stay

    The croissants were fab although I didn’t get to stay for breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    An excellent place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed that the hotel didn't have a concession on the price of the parking.

    The hotel is in a lovely setting and there is easy walking from it along the river. The food was very good as was the accommodation. We also liked the fact that there were two dining rooms, one which was dog friendly and one for those of us that are not keen on sharing restaurants with animals. Also appreciated the fact that a part of the public car park is roped off for hotel guests, probably more important at busy times of the season.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.0
    Nice location but customer service needs looking at
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff came across quite rude sometimes and didn't even pretend to be happy to see you when you see them. There was a certain table you had to sit at for Breakfast but they don't tell you this. Very unorganised.

    The location and views were excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed are stay at symonds yat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room a lovely view of the wye but the shower room was very small just shower and toilet about 2ft. 6inches by 5ft. Could not open shower door properly as the towel rack was to close to it a bit of a squeeze really. The wash sink was in the corner of the bed room I would not expect this in a hotel. A bit disappointed with this. Overall a good comfortable bed. If we go again I will make sure of the layout of the room.

    Location excellent great walks right next to the wye.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.5
    Fabulous staff but not impressed with the eating or bar area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The double bed was tiny and the mattress poor quality, so a good night sleep was hard. Although the place is a little shabby and could do with a decorative refurbishment, it was clean. The eating area is more like a 2* conference room, with no character. I was disappointed with this layout for breakfast- the buffet was plonked on a few tables, with no table cloth- so enhanced the feeling of being at a poor conference. The adjoining bar, was not a place one wanted to sit in and relax in as it faces the conference style eating area. We went for our evening drink and supper to the Saracen's Head- far superior food and atmosphere.

    Staff were very pleasant, friendly, welcoming and eager to help. Good to have a separate lounge space to sit and play games in rooms were cleaned everyday

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Lovely 😊
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs, a lift would be a help.

    It was a lovely loction, and very comfortable, only draw back...steep narrow stairs to upper rooms, no lift, which being slightly disabled was a niggle, but I managed.Sue on reception was lovely and helpful 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    Unwelcoming and outdated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated rooms, certainly not the **** rating advertised. Although dogs are allowed they are not exactly welcomed and also feel extra charge for dogs excessive. Car parking not included in room rate. Lists of rules and regs at the entrance and A4 sheet of rules relating to bringing your furry friend.

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice few days away in fab area with nice walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mis advertising as cooked breakfast looked amazing on screen in reception but when it turned up it wasn't that nice. No lift in hotel so had a struggle using the stairs. Hotel guests should not be made to pay for parking.

    The staff were very helpful, brilliant location, nice welcoming hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice homely independent hotel in a great location with generally friendly staff. Reasonable value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress was tired and needed replacing. Shelf over sink was not flat so when wet a glass placed on it slipped off and shattered in the sink. Hotel was made aware of these issues on departure and welcomed the feed back

    Receptionists in particular v welcoming and helpful. Staff generally worked to a good standard

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.1
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the rooms we booked the shower/toilet room could not swing a cat in so small

    Breakfast good, staff lovely, great location, but mattresses uncomfortable (for us )

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel brilliant location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early checkout

    The room was very spacious and views fantastic. Very comfortable and excellent run hotel with a family feel when you were there. Food was excellent and very plentiful with good choice. Breakfast excellent too. Can’t fault it other then to make it a later check out than 10am

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.3
    Generally good, but wont be my best experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the biggest dislike is the room deposit. I booked the rooms for my friends as a "gift weekend" and I had to pay 3x100 GBP but I wasn't informed about this in advance. I never heard and been in any one-night-accomodation where I had to pay deposit... Breakfast portions were quite small (but fortunately there were no limit, so I could go to take another 3-5 portion - to be equal 1 - so this wasn't as bad as it looked at first). We booked 3 rooms 1 of them was the other end of the building.

    Location, Cleanliness, Good sized rooms, comfy beds, overall comfort, free drink in the room, free parking,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Royal Lodge
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was perfect and I would definitely recommend it

    Amazing location spotless rooms really dog friendly and brilliant staff food was beautiful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    4.6
    Paying for the car park £12 for 2 nights what other hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for the car park £12 for 2 nights what other hotel charges for car park ? What a cheek to be told u have to pay for car park when u check out did not even say about car parking when we booked in

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    Overnight Stay in a Beautiful Place .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The £6 residents parking fee was payable on check out . Hopefully the funds are used for something positive ? There is only a bath and not a fixed shower .

    We booked a room with a river view which is a definite plus in the hotel . The bar had a Wickwar Real Ale on draught . The breakfast was substantial and served to your table .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Lovely, friendly staff, Dog friendly, beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we loved everything.

    Absolutely fantastic place to stay , the manager and all of the Staff were so nice, very helpful and obliging. Very dog friendly hotel, and fantastic Dog walks on their door step. Lovely food. Nearby pub was nice too. We had a really nice weeks holiday here, we will definitely return.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dog friendly room being right at the top of the stairs was not ideal as dog was disturbed every time someone came up the stairs. For a pet friendly hotel there were no bowls of water around or dog poo bins available.

    Beautiful location Excellent breakfast Restaurant food very good but a little pricey

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.9
    Very good, but with the additional costs added on, not as good value as initially thought.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit surprised at the amount charged for the dogs and parking, which almost doubled the expected bill. I must have missed that in the T&Cs ....

    Really lovely location, Pretty and quiet. Lovely breakfast, lots of choice and great service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.5
    Lovely break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charge extra £17.50 for the dog and £6 for parking which they don’t discuss with you during check in. They also take £100 safety deposit from you on check in incase if any damages which will take days to go back into your account. I understand why they do this I just think people should be warned about it before check in. Bed is uncomfortable and the bed sheets were horrible. Rooms/ bathrooms are dated and basic. But it wouldn’t stop me from staying again. Enjoyed our stay over all :)

    This hotel is clean, in a perfect location, has friendly staff and a lovely breakfast which is included.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful location with great access for walking along the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that let the hotel down was the thin walls of our room and the noisy guests next door.

    Beautiful location with great access for walking along the river. The food at the hotel was also excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Brilliant! Hope to visit again soon.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything.

    Food was delicious. Staff very friendly. Room was very comfy. Extremely dog friendly. The hotel is situated in a fantastic spot by the river. A perfect place for a peaceful, relaxing break.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Lovely views, setting and breakfast. Some staff were not very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived a little early, around 2pm and were not made to feel welcome! We were told more or less to come back later or sit in the residents lounge with a tv and a few magazines in.

    Lovely views and setting, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.6
    IDEAL FOR US , AS WE WERE EN-ROUTE FROM WALES TO SUFFOLK
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be warned that it will cost you £6 per night for the car park . a) this was unexpected , and b) it seems a bit steep , especially out of season , and from 6pm- 9am

    Excellent breakfast. Very spacious room with river view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    exceeded expectations, attentive staff and owner kind enough to phone me in advance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only gluten free sausages and GF bread could have been better but very minor points - and confusion over bills on checkout but overall delighted with experience - even the coffee was very good and I'm extremely fussy

    All with the only exception being gluten free sausages and the GF bread (kindly provided on request) were not the best I've eaten, though in fairness I believe they are changing supplier and these were a stop gap at provided at my request.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    Had a great stay at this hotel, it's in a lovely quiet location with a great restaurant.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are a little small, but nicely decorated and comfortable.

    The hotel is in a fab location and has an amazing restaurant. The old railway line, along the river bank, is a great place to walk dogs

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.9
    OK but needs to improve as listed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms looks tired, small TV, wonky fittings, small towels not luxurious, small shower, water took a good 10 mins before warm and acceptable for a shower. Fridge in rooms would have been nice. Nor a four star as you cannot sell a hotel on its surroundings alone and there are better. Food limited and expensive for posh fish and chips, burger etc . Be aware of the parking charges they are mentioned but need to be more prominent.

    No problems with staff and the breakfast was good, Clean and tidy overall. Fresh fruit would have been nice. Prices OK for machine coffee.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Delightful!
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slight confusion over bills on checkout as food was not added to respective room bills as previously arranged but nothing major that wasn't sorted out before we left...very minor criticism. And we are all human and can make mistakes so nothing that couldn't be rectified in future.

    All pretty much faultless ! A delightful experience and the staff were exceptionally attentive particularly Amy who waited on us with grace, care and patience - nothing was too much trouble, also Yannis and Keiran worth notable mention.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    6.7
    A beatifull location but expensive for dog friends
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that in the restaurant they do not have vegetarian options and it is pretty expensive. £20 a pint and fish and chips. The fish was dry. They charged £15 mire for our pet and they did not say snything in the email about that. Finally they charged £10. The room was very dog smelly. I paid £75 so they could be more carefull with the cleaning.

    I like that the sorroundings are amazing, it us just in fron of the river and at the back side there is a pathway which goes to the forest. I liked the breakfast because it was very complete, including cooked food, croissants, toasts, fresh juice and the quality was good. The Staff was friendly and they reduced £5 from our bill. The room had a good size and a bath. The bed was ver comfortable and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel and amazing location, any time of the year. Parking charges apply year round though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not being able to obtain WIFI in the bedroom and being charged £6 per day for parking in the off season.

    Friendly helpful staff, good food and range of beer/wine. Amazing views of the Wye and a great location for exploring the region, any time of the year.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.3
    Good for recharging the batteries and getting away from it all. Nice riverside walk.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was comfortable but a main heating pipe in there kept it too warm for us through the night, however this is January, so I suppose better too warm than too cold. WiFi very poor unless you are in certain parts of communal areas.

    Breakfast quite substantial and in my view a good selection. Had dinner first evening that couldn't be faulted. Staff really friendly and helpful. And our cream tea came with fresh warm scones .. what more can one ask for!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    My stay summed up about the Royal Lodge as a whole FANTASTIC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was hit and miss (but doesn’t spoil the stay)

    I absolutely love the Royal Lodge for its peaceful surroundings with beautiful views and rooms (have stayed in various rooms and am never disappointed) the staff are absolutely fantastic nothing is ever too much trouble (they go out of their way to halo you

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Absolutely love the location - have been before during the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely love the location - have been before during the summer and even though it’s winter it was still beautiful. The view from or room was amazing and brilliant value for money. I absolutely love the Royal Lodge!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.8
    Location is out of this world x
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy doble bed really is cosy. Rooms need some updating No very disable friendly

    Location is out of this world x Dinner was great Staff were friendly and knowledgeable. Area and hotel are dog friendly. Clean bedding and towels

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.8
    Really great, could be improved if comments are taken on board
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No internet connection at all, felt this was very poor as I needed to get work done on the evening: apparently the loss of connection is common; so advertise this. Manager suggested walking down to the pub to access internet, but who wants to do that in the bitter cold? Had to pay an extra £5 for parking, which I was not expecting as that does not appear on the site? Awful whining noise coming from the toaster during breakfast of all things! very annoying. Needs fixing. Tv WAY too small

    The room was exceptionally quiet, great bathroom: the staff were very flexible and friendly, the whole place was clean with a relaxed atmosphere. The breakfast was plentiful and varied. Felt very homely. Location is excellent as the walk to Monmouth is around 6-7 miles, great walk along the river. Log cabin, ( check seasonal opening times), food also at the top after a good hike up the hill

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    6.7
    Fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being asked to pay £5 on parking !! And late night noise TERRIBLE!! Young people running around shrieking Unrestrained about 11pm !!!

    Kind and efficient

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.3
    Staff very welcoming,nice clean lodge,in a fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was well worn, dips on both sides,and pillows were very hard and lumpy, the food menu had not much choice and was expensive, I personally think that with a captive audience,why not take advantage of this by having reasonable prices on food and drink, and more choice on the menu,Also at the end of our stay there was a £10 charge for parking, this wasn’t mentioned previously,

    Excellent location , quiet,no passing traffic,real log fire,very clean ,worth a visit,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Creaky floorboard above ceiling of room (Room 20). It was a real problem the first night, as guests in room above were pacing about the room for the whole night. Which meant a sleepless night for me.

    Friendly staff, comfortable bed, nice location, good food, nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.2
    Friendly and engaged staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would nice to have an alternative menu, that was less expensive and relatively simple. However the food was excellent. The shower was in some ways' disappointing, cool and low power. However this is a reasonably old building. Perhaps more vegetarian options.

    Friendly and engaged staff. Non pretentious accommodation. Reasonably priced. Dining menu a little expensive. (Not much competition or alternatives in the area, understandably given location) Room comfortable and clean. Shower takes a while to warm, given I assume a myriad of pipes in a relatively old building. Morning shower less than tepid. Great location and the staff are local and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Pets friendly area's are fantastic, staff are very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it was perfect

    Pets friendly area's are fantastic, staff are very friendly and helpful, and the chef cooks the best steak i've ever had! 11/10

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.6
    A very happy stay at a time to see the forests all around at their best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was a little unfriendly though we slept very well!

    We were given a characteristically warm welcome on arrival and were shown immediately to our room, even though we were somewhat early. The view from our room was good, though we were sorry not to have asked for the one we had previously.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Riverside walks and Symonds Yat are a delight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was pleasant, but strangely old-fashioned in presentation - e.g. huge mound of chips [nicely crisp] came with game pie whose short pastry provided abundant carbs.

    Helpful considerate staff. The place has obviously seen better days, and is receiving investment to restore its grandeur. right now it is work-in-progress.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Perfect weekend retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was excellent, room was great value for money with a fantastic view of the river Wye, food in the restaurant could not be faulted & this was all backed up by the very friendly & efficient staff,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy heater kept coming on in the night in bathroom - managed to find switch in bedroom. TV suddenly came on in night. Toilet seat needs fixing. Staircase from Reception very dirty. Food rather pricey. Expensive parking.

    good service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mobile phone service was non-existent and we had a room at the back of the hotel with a view of a cliff face and trees. However, we only booked it the day before and realise that not all rooms can have a view of the river (which was spectacular) and there is nothing the hotel could do about the phone service. We stayed two nights but our room was not cleaned on the first morning. We felt that our room (which we were told had recently been refurbished) could benefit from more mirrors, especially a full length one. Some of the electric plugs did not seem to work and there was only a bedside light on one side of the bed.

    Our bed was extremely comfy and we, and our dog, were made very welcome. Having the dog with us at breakfast was a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.7
    it was ok but i would not want to go there again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    you could smell the dogs i know it was pet friendly and i had a dog with me but you could smell them. and also i have never heard of anywhere that you can take your dogs into the restuarant for dinner with you i think it put me of a bit so never eat there

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.5
    On the whole, a relaxing and pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park is paid for as an extra and is used by visitors to Symonds Yat. It was very busy and difficult to park when we arrived.

    Location was lovely, quiet and peaceful after all the day trippers had left in the evening. Staff were friendly and efficient, but seemed a little rushed as it was a bank holiday when we visited.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    4.2
    The food was excellent and the staff were happy to help, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything apart from the food, we were on the second floor with no lifts, not good for anyone with a breathing problem

    The food was excellent and the staff were happy to help, the location was very scenic

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: