Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Royal Oak Appleby 4 stars

Bongate, Appleby, CA16 6UN, United Kingdom

#5 of 12 hotels in Appleby

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 351 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    The room was luxurious and a real treat, the decor had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was luxurious and a real treat, the decor had a touch of glamour, the layout of our room was different from most other hotels probably because the building is old giving it a unique feel and it was surprisingly large. Staff were friendly and the breakfast was good. A pleasant stay

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room. So noisy, banging from kitchen below and staff talking, shouting / laughing late on and early in the morning. Room 3 much much nicer, get more for your money.

    Usual room wasn’t available, room 4 super noisy over the kitchen, and much much smaller than the other room for same price, which was disappointing. However food and staff wonderful as always

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't find anything we didn't like

    Large room and very comfortable bed. Very clean with a lovely bathroom with bath and shower and bath robes not usually found in an inn. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The service was great for our evening meal

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.9
    Difficult to be informative as i was only there for one night.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was cooked well however servings too large, and where did all the fluid come from. Scrambled eggs and excess cookong oil. It was edible.

    My stay was at short notice and was happy with the result. I enjoyed my meal in the evening. The room was "different" in comparison to other hotels i have stayed in but comfortable. It will get my recomendation to others.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money, but presentation of meals needs working on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better presentation with meals

    Accommodation was excellent with lots of space. The staff were very helpful. The restarant was a little noisy and the food whilst tasty was presented strangely. The Rooms face onto a road and with the windows open we’re a little noisy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    A great place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't find fault with this place. Just mind your step....

    From the minute we arrived, nothing was too much trouble or had to be discussed. Great staff, great rooms (room 6 had a bath), a nice garden. Best of all lovely food. Highly recommended. Thank you

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Exceptional shame it was only for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Only booked the Royal Oak as we were leaving Gretna, the weather had turned really bad, they were absolutely great when we rang to say we were 20 minutes away. Our room was exceptional with a large bathroom fluffy towels even robes. We had dinner which was brilliant as was breakfast the next morning

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Any minor suggestions for improvement did not substantially detract from the experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car parking is inadequate but difficult to see how this could be ameliorated - parking at roadside is available. One or two minor issues with attention to detail - we had two rooms and only one had complimentary mints and shortbread. It would have been nice to be offered another coffee at breakfast without having to ask. The ceilings at the top of the building are very low, which is challenging for a tall person.

    The location is excellent and the traditional building is appealing. The staff were down to earth and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Apart from net curtains a very good hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited parking slots outside hotel, but plenty of street parking in view of the hotel, ROOM facing the main road windows should have net curtains other wise you need to stay fully clothed or close the curtains UNLESS you are an exhibitionist and want people to see you in your birthday suit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Great family friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Friendly staff, nice room with a garden and nice bath and a fridge in the room. Good dinner menu and family friendly. Great cooked breakfast! Will stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    Will become a regular for sure x
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot!

    Absolutely lovely hotel, can’t wait to go back. The room was spectacular and exceeded expectations....breakfast was amazing....nice being away from the main centre...already booked to go back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of people complain when busy times come The staff were excellent, they looked after there residents at a very busy time Food was good The rooms good and clean But the staff made our visit

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place to stay, meals very nice, good beer, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night

    small point, low beams on stairs...I am 6ft 2in

    Very clean, parking out side property, Staff very friendly, always tried to help. pleasant stay, would use again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel and good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything!

    The hotel is conveniently located near the A66 and has off road parking for a few cars. There is a good choice of meals on the evening menu and the food is good. We particularly enjoyed the full English breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable room that led off into the garden. Great night sleep on an extra large double bed. Excellent breakfast with good quality ingredients that we cooked very well. Will definitely rebook when back in this area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent, stayed as a stopover on route to Scotland and would certainly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely traditional olde pub atmosphere coupled with very well presented and designed room in keeping with the character of the property. Also excellent enjoyable food and breakfast menu.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Overnight stay May 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything we didn't like. Maybe just a little more space around the bar area but this is a minor detail.

    Pretty much everything! The decor, the beams in the beautiful rooms. The food was great and staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem was a leaking shower which dripped through the ceiling into the kitchen

    The bed was large and very comfortable. Food was good and well presented. Staff were very nice and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    A room with personality in a charming small town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Navigating a large and heavy suitcase to the loft on the narrow suitcase is a bit of a challenge.

    The personality of the room and the view to the sheep on the green field from my bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely modern rooms in old coaching inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Modern room and facilities in old coaching inn. Lovely comfy bed. In room fridge - great for putting our water bottles in for the next day's walking. Loved having direct access to the garden from our room. Friendly staff, good restaurant - all in all a very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful area, our stay was 1 night, would happily stop over again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m pleased i’m quite short, as the beams in our room were low, but part of the character, and was mentioned on their website, so no complaints!

    The staff were obviously very busy, yet they remained extremely helpful and cheerful, through the evening and the following morning at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Loved the room, nice large bed and very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No biscuits on the welcome tray in the bedroom and when we came down for breakfast the bar was still a mess from the night before and the staff were eating breakfast before they attended to it.

    Loved the room, nice large bed and very comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Superb place in a beautiful part of the country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing.

    Very welcoming staff. Beautiful room with large comfy bed. Excellent food. Special thanks to Mal for his welcome and attention throughout our short stay. This place is a gem!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.5
    Booked last minute while on a motorbike trip. Nice staff, good location, good food. Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was pretty noisy. You could here other residents in their room and could here doors being opened & closed during the evening from other residents.

    Welcoming friendly staff, good selection of evening meals and nice breakfast. The room & bathroom was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.1
    Everything just ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had been spoilt by staying at the Tufton arms the night before, impossible act to follow. Had to ask for toast again at breakfast even though I had given the order 2 minutes before. Orange juice jug was virtually empty at 8-10, breakfast started at 8! A general lack of atmosphere.

    Free Wi-Fi was excellent, evening meal was very tasty if a little expensive. Cooked breakfast was tasty

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Very satisfying and enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife and I and our eldest son Nick stayed in one of the cottages. A delightful location with great staff and a warm welcome relaxed atmosphere all of which match the beautiful surroundings. We really couldn’t find anything to criticise having eaten both evening and breakfast meals which were excellent and having spent time in each of the public rooms which were friendly and very comfortable. Well done all concerned at the Royal Oak!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    above and beyond in all aspects Id go off route to stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing a real gem one of the best overnight stops I've had in decades

    fantastic staff nothing too much trouble and 5 star accomodation for motel price one of the best breakfasts in the country

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    10
    Exactly what I needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the door , but couldn't be helped. Didn't stop me sleeping.

    17th century building, but rooms that have a look of luxury. Room was warm and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Another great stay at the Royal Oak in Appleby
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night

    My second stay at the Royal Oak and, as before, everyone was very friendly and welcoming. The room was very comfortable and the food was very good. I took advantage of the free pick-up service from the train station which was very useful. I would highly recommend the Royal Oak to anyone looking to stay in the area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    A very comfortable stay at a very friendly pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The premier room was very comfortable and had everything I needed for my stay and the large bath was excellent for helping me relax after a long journey. The staff were all very friendly and made me feel welcome from the moment I arrived. Appleby, once the county town of Westmorland, is well worth a visit and the Royal Oak is an excellent base.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Royal Oak at Appleby in Westmoreland is a welcoming treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Cosy, warm and welcoming. It was situated in a lovely position close to a river walk. The staff were very friendly as were the customers both local and visitors to the area. We liked that you could eat by the bar by a roaring fire or go through to the restaurant which had a nice ambience. Locally sourced produce was delicious. Would love to stay again in the garden room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    The room was cosy and the décor stylish
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although in a good position to break our journey to Scotland, we had to ask where the Hotel was in the town itself. Luckily, we were in time to get the info from the Tourist info Centre and it turns out it was slightly out of the town. It would have been difficult if it had been later in the day.

    The room was cosy and the décor stylish

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.9
    Jan and Kyle were so helpful I will be back.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was perfect.

    We had our dog with us and the room we were given had access to a garden with seating ideal for the dog to have a run and us to sit out . On arrival to the room we were treated to a doggy bag with poo bags, tennis ball, and crunchie treats for our four legged friend. Smashing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    This was a last minute booking and we really struck gold.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The premier bedroom was great, such a surprise as the outside of the property is a very old Inn. The room was stylish, modern and very well equipped. The breakfast provided as part of the price is amazing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful place but would not stay again due to noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom no 4 was over the kitchen very noisy at night and early in a morning there was constant noise from the kitchen extractor/fan throughout the night

    Beautifully furnished room very clean 1st class

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Perfect place for a family stay, I would recommend the Royal Oak without hesitation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The cottage was perfect, it was big enough to give us (2 adults & 2 children) space, but still cosy. All the staff are really friendly, the food was great and there's a good drink selection.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely old Inn with comfortable accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although advised that one of our party required a gluten free diet, gf bread was not made available at breakfast.

    Large, well furnished bedroom. Good menu choices.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Perfect for short stay - great location and facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything.

    Spacious well appointed 2 bedroom apartment. Great facilities and luxurious bathroom. Friendly attentive staff in bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Would have stayed longer except we were on our way home to Scotland after a couple is weeks abroad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly reception. Excellent room with en-suite and access to the garden. All required facilities in the room and bathroom. Good choice of menu and wines on offer, well presented and tasty meals. Would recommend with question.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    High quality accommodation in a traditional friendly inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Atmospheric inn with friendly staff and a superb breakfast. Comfortable modern bedroom with good facilities. Lovely circular walk from the pub over the river, past the castle and around the town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    A real little gem!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was a little hard but that's just a personal preference thing!

    Fantastic pub accommodation. Sensitively decorated, great value for money, friendly staff. I wouldn't hesitate to return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely pub with lots of character and friendly staff. We go back every year!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slight background noise coming up from the bar but soon quiet after 11pm. Garden rooms very peaceful.

    Great pub with excellent food and large comfortable rooms (go for the garden rooms). Friendly staff and a warm welcome. Lovely walk opostive the pub down to the river- don't miss it!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent stay, good location - short walk away from a charming town centre, very comfortable bed.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price. I did not have breakfast either day when I stayed, I would prefer to have the choice to pay or not pay for breakfast. Also, I did not like paying £20 per night for the dog. All in all £100 per night was too much, one other important point to note is that it was not clear I would have to pay £20 per night for the dog until I had made the non-cancellation booking. Poor service from booking.com (not the hotel).

    I had one of the pet friendly rooms on the third floor, the room was huge and comfortable and treats and a ball were supplied for the dog.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay nice and quiet, oh and lovely big telly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night

    My partner would have liked a bath.

    Room was first class, good size and bathroom large. Lovely big walk in shower, but no bath. Great location, breakfast very tasty. Would recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was spot on

    Everything about my stay was perfect staff very helpful room exceptional food in the bar was very good as was my breakfast would highly recommend the royal oak to anyone staying in Appleby top notch

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.3
    We had a great time, the location was good for us and the cottage right for a girly get together.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cottage smelt a bit musty when we first arrived. The boiler in the double bedroom was noisy throughout the night. One of the kitchen cupboards was dirty.

    The kitchen was well equipped and the sofas comfortable. The bedrooms were a good size with plenty of storage

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.6
    The Royal Oak was well within our comfort zone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night

    House wine was too low in alcohol content and did not do justice to the excellent evening meal. Other wine seemed pricey.

    It was nice to be in a family run establishment. We did not need a gym, we did not need a spa but just wanted high-quality overnight accommodation with the facility for an evening meal on site. The Royal Oak met all our expectations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Excellent staff and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheesesboard - chunks of what seemed like cooking cheese not local cheeses prepared by our waiter who apologised for his clumsy chopping.

    Excellent staff and good food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    We where up graded to a cittage and it was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff where so helpful and patient as I had my elderly mother with me who is deaf and only eats small meal and they accomidated all her needs.

    We where up graded to a cittage and it was amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.1
    Very comfortable bedrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everyone was very friendly but although described as a family run hotel we never met any of the family and noone in particular seemed to be in charge

    Very comfortable bedrooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    very lovely place to stay with family
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was good

    we stayed in the cottage it was lovely, everything you need is in it, we also had dinner & breakfast in the morning, the food was lovely we would definatley stay here again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Extremely pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing not to like except perhaps the wonderful British weather on the first day!

    The staff couldn't help enough as well as the lovely food both in the restaurant and at breakfast. The room we booked was clean with comfortable beds and the shower was great. Would stay again in a heartbeat!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.3
    Fine, comfy bed and lovely breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff weren't overly helpful or friendly. As a woman staying on my own I didn't like having to go and wait at a crowded bar to speak to staff. It would have been nice to have had a bottle of water in the room. The hotel information was written in such a jokey way that I expected this from the staff. My room overlooked the outdoor gazebo and it was very noisy because of the amount of people gathered there.

    Modern style and rooms in a traditional building. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.8
    Great pub with rooms in a lovely village/town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had 2 separate stays of 1 night each time and were lucky enough to get garden rooms on each occasion - brilliant. Westmorland Breakfast was very good. Selection of cereals and spreads also very good. Would have liked bigger coffee jug but refills were not a problem. The restaurant meals in the evening were very good but felt a little overpriced.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.1
    After a bad start it was worth the stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night

    we arrived a little early to check in so we had a few refreshments and waited a while and walked our dog, when we came back into the pub we heard the gentleman say to the barmaid on duty that the rooms had been released so we asked the barmaid could we check in she no not until 3pm as we waited two men came in and asked the barmaid if they could check in yes she said i'll get your keys and show you to your room this was 2.45pm, we thought great we can check in, she came back into the bar never said a word and this was 3pm she handed over to the next barmaid never said a word and left. We asked the new barmaid could we check in please and she had no idea we were waiting as the other barmaid had told her nothing, this barmaid was very apologetic and extremley helpful and friendly. The actions of the first barmaid made us feel like leaving and not bothering with our booking but thankfully the barmaid who checked us in made us feel totally welcome and were very glad we stayed.

    excellent food and friendly. very clean and quaint excellent for dogs they are very well catered for. Our room was lovely and was straight onto the garden.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.3
    Royal Oak Appelby
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking could have been better - it is on the main road into town and the parking is only a strip along the front for about 5-6 cars. Once that is full, you have to park on the road, which is near bend (road is wide though)

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    Stylish well-equipped room in a jolly pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything here.

    The big well-lit bathroom was exceptionally clean with a great shower, the huge bed was very comfy, and the garden beyond the French doors was delightful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.6
    Would certainly recommend this friendly well run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to dislike at the time of my visit.

    Property was very quaint and busy which is always a good sign. Room was very clean and comfortable. Had an evening meal which was very tasty. My choice for breakfast was traditional full English and very adequate. This place in my opinion was well run and the staff were efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.5
    Appleby quiet so need to be aware rural.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Partner was 6 foot tall. His head touched off shower head, difficult to wash without bashing head. Room had beams and bumped his head a few times. Nothing wrong with beams or low height space but would be good if this was pointed out clearly so people were aware if tall..

    Room lovely and clean. Nice decor.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    8.3
    Lively pub with clean & comfortable rooms above
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Essentially this is a pub, be prepared for loud chatter and shouting to filter up from the ground-floor (although it all quietens down quite early). My room faced the road, which was also quite noisy. The bedroom was spacious, but very opulently decorated - with fluffy red cushions, black and white covers and a large toy bear on the bed ????

    Staff and locals were all pleasant. Good breakfast - although moderate in size. If you want to stay in a pub, with a good Sports Bar, well appointed restaurant (although I only saw it, didn't eat in it), then this is a good choice. The usually boring folder of 'information' was very funny and well worth reading. Staff were helpful and professional. En-suite Bathroom was very luxurious and well stocked with towels and toiletries. Thick pile carpet, gave the room a very comfortable feel. Everything was very clean and well polished.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    8.8
    the bedroom and shower room, and the friendly staff, as well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not so much i did not like, but i feel if the food and drink prices were a little lower while maintaining the same standard, i would of given the whole package 10 out of 10.

    the bedroom and shower room, and the friendly staff, as well as the good quality food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great room , lovely pub and good atmosphere....the evening meal and the breakfast both delicious....attentive and friendly staff , lovely stay .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    10
    Warm welcome, good food, comfortable surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night

    For us, nothing at all the Inn is hard to fault.

    Lovely Inn just 5mins drive from the centre of Appleby. Friendly and welcoming staff who make you feel like a member of the family. There's an old saying "If you want to know where to stay/eat watch where the locals go." This Inn is frequented by many locals and for good reason.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    Excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee at breakfast could have been a bit warmer.

    Bedroom room 8 was lovely very unusual. Pubic areas were very nice and cosy. Staff very friendly and polite.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    9.2
    Really nice friendly place, made to feel welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather, but you couldn't really do anything about that!

    Really nice friendly place, made to feel welcome. It was a good price and good location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Royal Oak Appleby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was very tastefully decorated and we had a garden room we could sit out in the garden.the food was wonderful and good price on the meal deal . The staff were very friendly approachable and nothing was too much for them

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    9.6
    Comfort in Cumbria
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant: wholesome, well cooked food with large portions. Wine menu interesting and very reasonable prices Bedroom and bathroom extremely spacious with high quality fittings.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    9.2
    Very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom door and window needs decorating!

    Very good value for money. Lovely staff and loved the friendly atmosphere. Breakfast was excellent. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    10
    Little Gem
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to fault.

    Scored big time here. We got a last minute deal and ended up with an amazing little holiday cottage. We only needed a room for the night so we were really chuffed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    9.6
    Another enjoyable stay at The Royal Oak
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all good thanks.

    This old in has character by the bucket load. Fantastic friendly staff. Great beer and excellent food. It also has the benefit if modern quirky rooms that are very comfortable. I really enjoyed staying here.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.6
    spotless establishment, well appointed rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff sitting in prime positions in bar talking, to exclusion of paying customers. beer does'nt keep its head all way down glass as same beer in my local does.

    spotless establishment, well appointed rooms.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.2
    Beautifully Presented Modern Rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very minor niggle, no shower cap (unless I couldn't find one) I would have liked to choose my own breakfast table. We were seated a little too close to another couple which made us (and them) feel a little awkward. There were other tables free.

    We were greeted by lovey staff on arrival and told our room would only be a few minutes to be ready. We waited in the bar/lounge which had a real fire going, very cosy. We were shown to our room, what a warm and well presented room, very tastefully decorated and exceptionally clean. The bathroom was very modern and also exceptionally clean. The bed was so comfortable! I wanted to take it home. The Royal Oak was a very short walk into Appleby town centre. The footpath was well lit in the evening, not many cars passed so pretty quiet. We had a few pubs and bars to choose from. As it was a Sunday evening it was fairly quiet, a few locals who made us feel very welcome. Back to the RO and finished our evening with a drink outside in their covered area, again tastefully done with glass surrounds and heaters. (This was December)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    10
    the en suite was very unusual and i loved it!
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was rather firm. There was a dog in an adjacent room that was rather noisy but fortunately not at night.

    the en suite was very unusual and i loved it! The staff were all very friendly

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    9.6
    Come to Appleby - stay at Royal Oak for a great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Please Specify Configuration Required)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sadly shower was difficult to adjust to correct temperature

    Everything was as expected. Friendly staff,comfortable accommodation and wonderful location. Staff knowledgeable about local and area attractions. Tongue in cheek nature of guest instructions book.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.6
    A Hidden Gem
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    traffic was a little nuisance, just going to taking a pair ear plugs next time we visit .

    Dogs are made to feel welcome. my dog especially loved her treat bag. which was a lovely idea. They even have a doggy menu in the bar,

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: