Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Royal Hotel

Drummond Road, South Parade, Skegness, PE25 3EH, United Kingdom

#12 of 23 hotels in Skegness

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1406 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    5.0
    it was freezing cold with not hot water either
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    shocking comfort....no heating in room despite repeated complaint to reception...absolutely freezing all night in both bedroom and bathroom...no hot water either for bath or showers non stop cold and this was never acted upon during the stay resulting in checking out one day early as could not stand it any longer....paltry heater put in room which was no use at all...hotel in a lovely position and at end of day wanted to relax in comfort which we were unable to do....heated towel rail did not work either...we are in our eighties and needed to wear coat in room...unacceptable for money charged...also no 2 tables at breakfast due to coach parties...it was quiet on our floor and think may have been the only room occupancy so think the hotel didnt bother to heat or suply hot water to that floor...real shame because otherwise might have had an enjoyable stay

    hotel situation

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.6
    Value for money in very pleasant surroundings with friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little too firm for my liking.

    Big warm bedroom, well lit. Very good value evening meal. Good breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    3.8
    i will never go back if i go to skegness i will stay elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i use elbow crutches had suitcase and was left to struggle on my own down 15 msteps to a room with brick wall covering window i had to pay 81 £to move

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.8
    Good sized room, excellent bed, quiet, got a good sleep...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My heart sank when it was part of National Holidays, the breakfast is never the best, needed a lick of paint in places, and during the afternoon, it was difficult to get a pint, no one seemed to be doing the bar,, no biscuits in room, but that is just me, always nice to have a biscuit with your coffee.

    Good sized room, excellent bed, quiet, got a good sleep after a long drive,, plenty of on site parking, had a evening meal there, great value and super food.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel, enjoyed our stay and made to feel very welcome by Tracey-exceptional service!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Front Facing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com could not itemise an additional charge for our dog?

    Tracey at reception was exceptional-she made us and our pet dog very very welcome and we’d like to pass on our thanks again!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.1
    It was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just dont tell me I have a ground floor but was put on the third floor. also when my sister and her daughter arrived the reception lady was quite rude and wanted payment but my niece tried to tell her which she found that it had been paid. also did not mention that breakfast was included my niece had to say was breakfast in the price.

    My room should have been ground floor but was put on the third floor yes there was a lift but that was not the point for my sister. the room was ok and the breakfast was fine

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    A nice, friendly place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did enjoy the breakfast and then as I was poorly later that day I saw a lot of the bed! It was comfortable and I was very glad of that! I liked that there was enough coffee sugar and tea to make a few drinks as well

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed our weekend and would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very little room slightly shabby BUT VERY CLEAN.

    Great location & staff. We went to a family event and it was well organised - good food and very good ambiance in the room that the gathering was in.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel, looking forward to returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing everything was wonderful.

    Wonderful Hotel, room & hotel very clean and tidy, Bar area bright and relaxing, drinks reasonable, booked dinner at the hotel really nice and good price, Breakfast wonderful buffet style. Nice walk to the town and sea front. looking forward to returning. 2 large car parks.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    2.5
    Disappointing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude reception staff. My disabled husband couldn't get to the room we booked so we were charged another £15.00 just so he could get to the room on second floor. Room was very shabby. Breakfast cold

    Only 2 things. View from room lovely. Evening meal outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    Skegness is truly a gem in the English seaside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The initial greeting by one receptionist And shower screen did not fit the shower properly causing the floor to be constantly wet

    The bedroom was very comfortable and in the summer with the balcony would of been the creme de is creme

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Property was lovely and the staff were really friendly,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only small gripe was the room was a little dated and in need of some tlc, ie. carpet and wall paper. We were on the 1st floor, I must say that the room was very spacious and bed was comfy.

    Property was lovely and the staff were really friendly, breakfast was excellent, will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.9
    Favourite Hotel in Skegness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little tight but you expect that in the older buildings. All part of the charm.

    Great location and lovely place to stay. Clean rooms and good breakfast choices. It's a great place to stay if you're into aviation/WW2 history as there are lots of paintings and memorabilia dotted about.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Mr and Mrs shaw
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was nice and clean the staff were exceptional, very polite and helpful will always stay there when we go to the embassy theatre in Skegness the room was very nice and the bed was very comfortable no complaints what so ever

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.1
    very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist was very hostile - less than friendly!!! Also i couldnt turn the hot tap off in the bath - had to have the help of my husband.

    the hotel offered everything we needed - breakfast good - staff in restaurant very pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    The staff are friendly and helpful, the meals are really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    The staff are friendly and helpful, the meals are really good the room was comfortable and clean and the view was amazing overlooking the gardens and the sea. The walk to the shops was nice not too far and overall very enjoyable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful surroundings very quiet considering eso close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a big room bathroom was very small. We saw a single room and the bath room was much bigger which didn't make sense.

    Beautiful surroundings very quiet considering eso close to the centre

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.4
    Very dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was stated that it was ground floor when really it was the basement, room very shabby and the shower cupboard was so small, width of the toilet and a very tiny sink too small to be called a shower room. The breakfast room was so hot we heard several other people complain about it, it made eating breakfast uncomfortable.

    The staff were fine, and the breakfast food was quite nice, apart from the toast as the toaster was set too high so the toast was burnt every day. Plenty of parking space.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.7
    Central location. Bed and pillows uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt of sewage-reported on check out, only stayed 1 night. Bed uncomfortable. Pillows very hard.

    It’s a nice old building, with some character. Good breakfast. Central location. Parking on site.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.4
    Won’t be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double room was a bit cramped. The bathroom could have been cleaner. The view from the smallish window was awful looking out over flat roofs. Maybe this was because we booked with booking. Com. If this is so it should have been stated. On arrival the receptionist was a bit unhelpful

    The food and the staff in Charlie’s were excellent, it’s a pity the hotel wasn’t as good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    4.6
    Breakfast was good that’s about it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2nd time we have stayed mainly as no where else available this room was worse than our last visit disgusting bathroom just very very tired room we booked Double and had 2 singles also

    Breakfast was good that’s about it

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were first in the shower wasn't working properly so changed room.and the ensuite bathroom was very small could just sit on the loo and the drinks at the bar were expensive.

    Food was great the hotel was very spacious and close to the beach and centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Value for money convenient for centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Front Facing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building interior is looking tied and needs a good clean. And redecoration in most areas

    Convenient to centre.great breakfast. Friendly staff. Easy parking. Evening bar.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    A good nights sleep for a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could just do with a little decorating in the whole place. A sign is needed in the corridors to remind guests to be quite before at least 8am on a Sunday and don’t allow their children to run up and down the corridors shouting. To be fair it was only the once. Otherwise not much else to say

    Great location. Single room has a private balcony and had all the necessities. The lift was close by too. Fab view across the golf course to the sea. Quiet location but in easy reach of the main attractions in Skegness. Fab breakfasts and a comfy lounge.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    4.6
    Will not be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel staff apart from one young lady at breakfast were so miserable and not friendly at all. I did explain that my sister had not been well and found that their attitude towards her did not make her feel comfortable. The cleanliness was not up to standard ie dirty shower curtain bed was on a dip.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    5.4
    Needs an update
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very out of date rooms, rips in the carpet, stained walls and extremely basic bathrooms. It needs freshening up in there for £71 a night.

    The bed was comfy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Great room, clean and tidy. a bit dated but great for a weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't think the cleaning staff realised that they could be heard in the corridor shouting at each other (different nationality) although very polite when passing.

    Location and view from our room was lovely, we had a balcony although I think they blocked out the wrong window which meant that next could see you. Breakfast very good and staff too. Overall a great 1 night stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    A lovely stay at this hotel, room was lovely, very clean and plenty of space. Staff were excellent,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, everything was great. Maybe a few big parasols at the outside seating area would be nice.

    The hotel was lovely and immaculate. The staff went above and beyond to help my disabled son feel comfortable even opening a restaurant just for us so he could sit quietly for his breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.0
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi Fi didn’t work - could only pick up ‘R7’ which reception said didn’t exist! Mattresses have seen better days. Bathroom smelt foul.

    Very tired hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.3
    Clean, friendly and a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room wasn't quite ready on time as they were short staffed. Nevertheless it didn't spoil our stay

    A good location away from the hustle and bustle yet within easy walking of the attractions. Quiet, charming garden. Charlie's Grill was very good for food. Plenty of parking. We arrived early and did the paperwork so we could park up, go out and collect the key later.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.0
    I liked the rest staff are friendly, could of stayed in that comfy bed all day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets need replacing all over, cleaners need to hover the edges of carpets and move things in bedrooms and hover, terrible, make sure cups are clean.

    The bed was super comfy so were the pillows, sheets clean and fresh, bath room clean, all staff very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    4.2
    Small room could not have spent more than one night there
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been more helpful

    Book twin room and got double when ask why at reception they lied and said I booked a double ,I did not book a double bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    3.8
    Wouldn’t stay here again. Very dated and load.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very load in our room. Could hear everything from the rooms next door from 5.30am, felt like they were in our room. It’s very dated.

    The breakfast was ok, free parking was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.4
    Entrance to the hotel is very shabby, in particular the cushions and covers on the seating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Due to the bath tap not working we had to change rooms at 10.00pm, not ideal as had we not moved we could not have a bath or shower.

    The restaurant was good and the staff very attentive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    Four days with family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking. Com says evening entertainment but it's only Mon-Thursday. Place could do with good lick of paint. Our tv work when first got there. Took till next to get sorted out .

    It's lovely old building. Staff were very nice. Breakfast was good. Monday night singer was excellent I found the bed hard but cleaning staff soon sited me out with a bed topper which was nice. Nice to see it was dog friendly for people who had dogs. Lovely grounds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Some areas in need of TLC but overall lovely couple of days. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were a little dated & areas in need of a some TLC. Mattress possibly needed turning. Tended to roll to the edge of the bed due to mound in the middle.

    Friendly helpful staff. Large hotel room & ensuite. Reasonable amount of parking. Good hot buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.3
    A nice place to stay for a couple of nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Better quality sausages at breakfast and more welcoming reception staff. Shame the gardens are not more interesting and better designed with more flowers and bushes. Back of hotel is quite unkept in places, again the boarders to this back entrance which is equally used as much as front looks tired and unkempt. First impressions always count.

    The breakfast was good, except why do some caterers insist on using cheap value sausages. Premium tasing sausages always win over, other wise selection is good. The hotel atmosphere is very nice. Great bonus you can take dogs. Rooms very clean and housekeeping staff a credit to the hotel. Reception staff could be more welcoming on arrival and departure. Bar staff excellent and very attentive. Residents when we stayed very friendly and chatty.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Will be staying here again. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    single very uncomfortable chair in a twin room. Needed chairs for two people Restaurant was far too warm, not helped by the heat from the toasting machine which was poorly located.

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Enjoyable and will revisit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view rom bedroom 103.

    Friendly staff quiet area. Food excellent evening meal lovely and restaurant lovely feeling to it. Will definitely visit again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.0
    Food, reception area/bar very good, rooms not good, stains/flakey paint/cracks....dated.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Front Facing
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was horrendous, no room to move, could'nt shave because the sink was so small you couldnt get over it. Toilet was wedged between the wall and bath, could only just squeeze on it (and i'm not that big) Shower head wouldnt stay up, had to hold in 1 hand....old fashioned curtain to wrap round you...

    Staff were 50/50 some were really nice, others proper ignorant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent and wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the second time we have stayed here. And the staff are very friendly and welcoming. My son is nearly six and loves being able to run around outside in the garden. Best thing of all is the breakfast with plenty of variety and all you can eat. Will deffo go back 😁

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.7
    The corridor carpets look dusty and the main ladies toilet ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corridor carpets look dusty and the main ladies toilet area smelt musty and was very offputting because of this . Curtain poles were dusty too in rooms .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    The hotel is clean & tidy and the staff are very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Front Facing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is clean & tidy and the staff are very welcoming and helpful. Restaurant food is good. All in all The Royal Hotel is excellent value for money. Would highly recommend and will definitely be going back again soon.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    A comfortable stay but think the hotel caters more for older guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choice was limited for children . Handing keys and having to ask for them again every time you go out becomes a pain . I understand the hotel has a lot of rooms to clean but seems to be maids all over corridors any time of the day .

    Buffet style breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    Beds were comfy, bathroom very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Front Facing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was unfriendly on arrival and on check out another receptionist didn’t even ask us if everything was ok and if we enjoyed our stay!

    Beds were comfy, bathroom very clean. Nice and quiet

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.4
    Hotel could do with an upgrade p
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar staff at tea time had to go to restaurant to serve meals on leaving the hotel a woman slipped on carpet at entrance lobby I was behind her the night porter was Very helpful but no management was in attendance

    Hotel could do with an upgrade p

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.9
    Good comfy stay, short walk to South Parade centre and far away enough to enjoy the quiet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Front Facing
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom door kept catching and it took a couple of times of trying the door handle to get out!

    Breakfast was delicious and staff are friendly, hotel has a lovely old-feel about it that's comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, lovely staff, brilliant parking - but needs some pennies spending on it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The kettle didn't work, but they brought another one within an hour. The hairdryer didn't work, but I was able to borrow another after paying a refundable £5 deposit. Sadly the hotel is really needing some TLC, but I bet in it's day it was really beautiful, and could be again I'm sure.

    The receptionist was lovely, I watched her with the elderly customers and she was so kind with them. Breakfast was lovely, staff were attentive and were good at their jobs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Royal treatment without paying a Kings ransom
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge and freezer in room..could have done with iced drinks/lollies/ice cream in my room as it was v hot

    The veranda looking out over the sea

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value for money. Best hotel by far!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit strange and in convenient putting your door key in the box when leaving and collecting it again when come back in every time.

    The hotel was excellent value for money and set just far away enough to be out of the town noise but still a short walk to the beach. The room was very comfortable and facilities were all beyond expectations

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Great cant wait to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the the small bathroom but as i said it was useable

    Weekend away was great. bathroom small but useable. staff were great very helpfull we had a meal saturday night our grandson dont eat a lot we got him some food but would not eat it he wanted cornflakes the lady serving us went and got him some i dont think anywere else would have done that for him. we cant wait to go back next year 3 nights was not long enough so much to do and see

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    The hotel was lovely very clean , staff members were very...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was lovely very clean , staff members were very polite , breakfast was amazing would defiantly go there again and will be recommending to other people.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.3
    the Royal hotel think again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Front Facing
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food was awful , meal at chop house disgusting, did not eat had to use steak knife to cut meat pie pastry that hard, chips horrible left it paid for rubbish Chairs and carpets in bar need changing carpet filthy, staff not at all helpful , On booking .com said evening entertainment none over weekend we were there

    Room was good size, very clean, gardens nice good parking and close to town,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    Holiday in Skegness
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel does need some refurbishment but that did not detract from the enjoyment of my stay.

    The location is superb. The hotel has excellent grounds and has good parking - a big bonus. The hotel is comfortable and clean, the staff pleasant and helpful, the breakfast buffet is good, though always the same. The restaurant offers excellent meals at reasonable prices.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    I enjoyed the whole holiday very much and would definitely come back to stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was a very good size, but unfortunately it was too hard for me. My husband was not bothered by the mattress he had a good night sleep.

    The breakfast was very nice, you catered for both veggie and meat. The bathroom was also a good size which matched the room size. The liked the large area to lounge in and outside was very nice to walk around in. I have already recommended the hotel to family.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Short Stay at The Royal Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two showers in our room. One overbath which was awkward to use and sprayed water all over the bathroom floor even with the shower curtain fully drawn. The walk in shower was nice however you could not regulate the temperature and so we didn't use it. Just a few simple tweaks would make the overall impression feel even better. The soft sofa seats are in certain cases at the end of there life and should be replaced. In parts of the downstairs carpet areas are worn, the breakfast room where guests use the same route to the hot plate is one such location.

    I was so impressed by all the staff who really went out of there way to make us feel at home and nothing was to much trouble. A very big thank you for making our stay so enjoyable at The Royal. The Hotel had an old fashioned style and the history of the building was well documented with pictures and newspaper documents framed on the walls, which we loved. Our room / apartment was well laid out and clean and spacious with a balcony. The Hotel is just a very small walk into Skegness. The food was great. We ate in the hotel on our last night lovely food well presented at a reasonable price. Liasion with the Hotel was very good prior to arrival too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.7
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Front Facing
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was old and needs a lot of up dating the carpets on the corridor need replacing someone could have an accident . And we had miles to walk to get out of the hotel .

    The staff was lovely and helpfull

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.4
    good location but tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Front Facing
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we had to change rooms the first with a balcony looked great but on the balcony was disused light fitting s and scaffold - the room was small with a sink in the room and the shower/toilet was in what can only be described as a cupboard -been before but this time will be the last ! gone down hill - staff not seem happy and this came across

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    I went with my wife for 4 night break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot not to like.

    I went with my wife for 4 night break. The food in the restaurant was excellent, the staff were very helpful and friendly, the room was excellent. Very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location for the sand dunes and easy walk to the town. Nice and quiet, away from the main drag
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Front Facing
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all good

    The bed was really comfortable and the breakfast was good. Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel has an air of faded elegance from times gone by, haven't stayed in a seaside hotel like this for a long time and found it quite nostalgic

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    As usual, an excellent relaxing stay with brilliant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Front Facing
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Due to the very hot weather and a small room, there was inadequate ventilation which meant the room was too hot and stuffy - otherwise an excellent stay.

    Best English Breakfast in the UK!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    we would go back again, but ask for a upper floor,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we had a meal in the bar area on Tuesday night, I had the Spanish omelette and chips, I would not recommend this, I did mention to the bar man that the chips were old they seemed to have been cooked & cooked again, omelette more the same, I got a shrug of the shoulders from him and no comment, not what you would have expected.

    Room very clean, bed comfortable. we had food in restaurant first night which was very good, the grounds are really lovely, and the Hotel very close to the beach, the Hotel being on Drummond road, is away from the hustle and bustle of the town but close enough to walk into.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely, quiet hotel with plenty of parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely, quiet hotel with plenty of parking. Very close to beach and an easy walk to the shops, amusements and funfair. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Great breakfast and comfy bed. Great value for money too. Would be very happy to stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    5.8
    Room too small for comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room was exceptionally small. Tea cup size sink in bathroom. No chair to sit on. Socket too far from mirror for use with hairdryer. Very wobbly wardrobe. Bed not very comfortable.

    Weather was excellent. Fan provided when requested. Credit of £10 per night given to me due to workmen on flat roof outside my window first thing in morning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    Great weekend we extended and plenty to do and see
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Looking a bit tired in some areas

    Excellent quality food served and hotel very clean and staff always on hand to help. Located 10 minutes walk from the sea front and private parking with large gardens to enjoy sitting out for a drink or two with friends.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff, enjoyable breakfast, good location, value for money.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very small just about fitted a shower, it was like a little closet. Hardly any wardrobe space. A bit of a trek to take my dog out for a quick toilet run. Fortunately as only staying 2 nights these issues were manageable.

    Breakfast was delicious. Able to take my dog with me.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Excellent....didn’t want to come home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We stayed at the royal hotel for 3 nights my husband and myself and my father fantastic location. Breakfast was excellent and the gardens were beautiful, entertainment was great the hotel itself it a magnificent place could do with a little TLC but it is a very old building. We will definitely return in the future and have recommended it to family and friends.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    pleasant stay at the Royal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast restaurant far too hot- ruining breakfast- which would have otherwise been a good experience room at front of property, very warm and noisy from hotel fans outside quite a walk to get back too

    Free spacious car parks-front and rear of property on site restaurant and bar nice grounds good buffet breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.8
    my stay was comfortable I have stayed before and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we had cobwebs behind the bedside cabinets a cobweb in the wardrobe with a dead spider in it also cob web on the ceiling

    the food was very good that staff where polite

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Some of the staff in the dining room were miserable on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the staff in the dining room were miserable on the Sunday morning, one woman in particular who never even asked if we wanted tea or coffee and was snappy when guests asked her for top up refreshments.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Staff lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed updating

    Staff lovely. Breakfast was fantastic. Food lovely and good value. Great location. Nice grounds. Nothing was too much trouble. Very friendly pleasant staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.5
    It is a nice hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty ashtray on arrival A member of staff in the breakfast room everything was too much trouble for her to do No hairdryer in room if you need one you have to pay £5 deposit to use it

    It is a nice hotel in a good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.6
    Absolutely awful. Worst hotel Ive ever stayed in. Dirty and dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very dirty, dusty and full of cobwebs. The room clearly had not been cleaned for a long time. There were in total 7 dead spiders hanging in old dusty webs, from the ceiling. Broken bed side lamp stuck together with sellotape and the carpet felt sticky and dirty. The shower flex was covered in black mould where it had not been cleaned. Our room was not cleaned (bed made up) despite being out of the room for 6 hours. The breakfast.... baked beans were nice. The bacon and sausages appeared to be microwave products, I didn't try the scrambled egg which looked pasty and grey. Tables felt sticky and dirty. We did not take breakfast the 2nd morning because it was so offputting on the first morning. No-one welcomed us and no-one said goodbye. We noticed that the guy that was on reception on the Friday of our arrival was setting tables in the breakfast room on the Saturday morning. Staff uniforms look old and dated and despite the grand chandaliers in reception on arrival the place is shabby, needs far more staff. There is an appalling looking 'bare' sofa in the bar of the hotel which would have long gone to the local tip in anyone elses eyes. I was shocked. Random sofas dotted around near main reception and the bar area all with mismatched, dated, dirty cushions. Outside of the hotel looks full of promise but the inside plus the staff, just do not deliver. Most disappointing - we will not stay again and actually it wasn't cheap.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel and beautiful weather made our weekend very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to add.

    We were very pleased with our stay at The Royal. The beds were clean and comfy and the breakfast very good. This is our 2nd stay and will be back in September.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    rooms were clean beds comfortable, excellent breakfast ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no entetaiment at hotel sat.or sun.

    rooms were clean beds comfortable, excellent breakfast ,try not to get lower floor if you don"t like stairs, no in house entertaiment at weekends.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: