Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Royal Inn by Good Night Inns 2 stars

Doncaster Road, Scunthorpe, DN15 7DE, United Kingdom

#7 of 10 hotels in Scunthorpe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 470 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiny TV. Rather old furnishings

    Scunthorpe isn't exactly a tourist destination. This hotel is about what you'd expect here - about 8 terrace houses thrown together to give 30 rooms. Staff are friendly. There is free parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No heating in our rooms, decor generally tatty, housekeeping staff unhelpful and didn't seem to want to do their jobs to clean rooms, provide soap etc.

    Bar staff were helpful. Surprisingly the bar had a vegan/vegetarian menu.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms above pub and very noisy even after midnight, bathroom grubby and full of mould. General decor tired. Parking a bit awkward and didn’t feel secure. Poor value for money.

    Satisfactory location. Staff lovley.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cold in the room heating only comes on at certain times apparently which I can understand but didn't make our stay very comfortable being cold

    Lovely rooms,comfy big bed,very spacious and clean,friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception is a bit dreary and tired looking but did not affect stay and no complaints about room and would stay again. Pub had a good selection of pub food (though we only had scampi and chips ( nice) so can't comment on quality)

    Nice clean room, friendly staff, good breakfast. Ideally place for Baths Ballroom where we were attending a function.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe updating a little, but happy really.

    Friendly staff,good food at reasonable cost Ideal location...10 pubs within half a mile ?!!! Bed very comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    perhaps the general state of the colours and the paintwork is a little tired (battle ship grey !) warm colours would help .

    The food and the price and the very good quality and service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt hotel was overpriced especially as breakfast was extra. Central heating main thermostat was not working so room far too hot all the time. Had to ask to change room as above bar and very noisy. Second room only a bit better. Got the impression it caters mainly for traveling workmen. Wouldn't recommend it to families.

    Breakfast reasonable but not included in price of room. Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was on the main road side so all you could here was traffic in the mornings... when people left for work the next morning as therw seem to be a lot of contractors staying there. So when the left for work they would just let the doors slam shut. And it would make the whole room shake.. the bed was her uncomfortable all you could feel was springs. ..to be honest at £25 pp pn.. I would have respected breakfast in the price.. but at £7.99 for it we went els where. I would never stay here again.. good bar tho.

    The bar area is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't't say it was a dislike but our mattress was higher at the foot of the bed & very squishy near the pillow end.

    The staff were really friendly & helpfully. The room aS very clean & comfortable. The food in the Resaurant was lovely. The location is perfect for the Theatre and for going into the Town Centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was on so high and I asked for it to be turned down but didn't make much difference.

    Location to The Baths across the road . Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window in my room was left open so it was very cold in there when we arrived, the shower didn't turn off properly, there was damp on the bathroom ceiling and what looked like a man had had a shave in the bathroom so there was small hairs all over the bathroom tiles.

    Beds were very comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    first room toilet and sink broke next one they gave us to small third heating in bathroom like a sauna could turn it of and only one bulb in bath room apart from this every thing ok

    close to thearte shops close long walk down to shops when you get there most have closed charity and food out;lets plenty

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very cold. Had to sleep in clothes, bathroom has no heating so didn’t attempt a shower . THree of the four lights in bathroom didn’t work so very dark. Toilet roll holder fell off wall, reported but not fixed.

    Location was excellent, 15 minute walk to town for shops and main pubs , plenty of restaurants and takeaways in the road. Would be ideal for events at Baths Hall. Plenty of tea/coffee.room far away from pub so couldn’t hear any noise.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking, no-one at reception, no heating in room, one side of mattress completely knackered so I fell off the bed. No rooms to move to but when heating could not be fixed and advised I had a chest infection the manager found me another room. Although it had heating and a comfy bed the bath had no plug and leaked on the floor; it needed a good clean and the bathroom needed a total refurb. New room was also very noisy and I was woken at 5.23am by glass bottles being emptied into a bin (possibly rubbish collection?!) I travel a lot for business and even for the reasonable price it was not value for money. Rooms need a major refurb, let alone a good clean!

    The manager did apologise and eventually move me rooms; he couldn't do anything else as it's the condition of the hotel. Food was ok except for solid skin on gravy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    able to turn the radiator off, we had the windows open all nght and the heat of the room was unbearable. When we mentioned it to a member of staff the next morning, they replied 'yes we know, we are waiting for a plumber'! Why were we put in that room!! The breakfast was over cooked - bacon and sausage were hard the poached egg was lovely!! No saucers for the coffee cups. Sorry will not return.

    Unfortunately nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Internet is very basic and not good enough if you have to use it for work. It's also tricky to setup on laptops (setup on phones and pad is automatic). The hotel itself needs to be "refreshed": it's a bit run down.

    The pub is great, with good food, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is right in the center of Scunthorpe, near the Baths Hall theatre and lots of shops. Sainsbury right across the road.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    room very clean and located in a quiet area of the hotel (which I had specified in my booking.) When I telephoned to change my stay from 3 days to 2 very efficient service and confirmation email received

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One meal was 'luke warm'. The mash potatoes had a 'crust' on the top and were replaced. No apology apologise for the poor state of the food but did remove one main course from the bill. The room had an odd 'fusty' smell.

    Location perfect for Baths Hall event

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath had black fluff and dirty water remaining in it. Large cobwebs on walls and ceiling. Light fitting in bathroom loose/unsafe. 5 bulbs not working. Carpet dirty with hair accessories on floor. On departure i was spoke to rudely at 12.05 and told i would be charged for another night and accused of moving the bed. I have stayed before but felt very let down this time.

    Easily booked at last minute. Service on arrival was excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nearby occupants were a little loud but I can't blame them. People have got to enjoy their moments.

    The room is comfy and quiet. That receptionist, Kirsty, is polite, respectful and conscientious. She makes a big difference there. The Pub on site is expedient. Location is a convenient one. I would certainly book this hotel again and again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom didn't have a radiator in it, so was a little cold. Otherwise, no issues.

    Room was clean and bed VERY comfy. Tea and coffee facilities were great and breakfast decent quality and plenty of it. Location was ideal for access to town and to the football stadium (5 minutes by car) Very friendly, helpful staff. A great stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was not very comfortable, and the room was very cold until the heating eventually came on, which was then super hot and uncontrollable since the thermostat valve was missing.

    Excellent beer downstairs

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room directly above the pub downstairs. Loud speaker systems heard with sports and music until 1am. Staff switched on loud music when they arrived in the morning..8am one morning. No staff to greet you..had to go into the bar and wait until they were finished serving. Long time to get served at bar also, due to staff shortage.

    Nice sized room and bathroom. Excellent location and reasonable rates.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first room we were given had half a bed and the shower curtain and rail had fallen down and had been placed on the floor. We were given another room but with no wardrobe. However the room was clean and warm and the bed was lovely.

    Good location and warm, clean room. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom didn't have any hand wash or other bathroom essentials. During the night it was really hot as the central heating was on full,the point was that there was no access to adjust the heat.

    The room was cozy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and facilities were slightly dated, could do with updating.

    Convenient for town centre. Greene King bar and restaurant made it a great place to stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv was a little small for the room size, bathroom could do with a revamp, room was freezing during the night. Unfortunately for us we was keep up the majority of the night due to other guest who were screaming and shouting and then trying to wake each other up at 5 banging on all the doors in the corridor

    We were allowed to bring refreshments (from the bar below) to our room. Room was pleasant enough just needed a good hoover!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole place was very dated and shabby. You could feel the springs in the mattress and hence uncomfortable. Bathroom was not great, pieces of trim hanging off, toilet cistern leaked and by the look of the surround has been doing so for some time.

    Room was spacious and warm

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water to shower. Shower leaking. Large crack in the toilet. Thick layer of dust on all surfaces. Lots of dust laden cobwebs hanging from ceiling. Cup from previous occupant not washed.

    Central location. Staff helpful and helped us to change room after the first night. The second room was much better. A small refund was given via a hotel gift card.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Everything We hired the function room for a party and all the staff were brilliant especially Katie A big thank you to all of them we also had Sunday lunch which was excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area is little run down Parking is hit and miss

    We attended a concert and the hotel was opposite so location wise is was perfect the fact that it’s also a pub was great on our return x

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been better if we were not charged twice for room. We paid cash on arrival, then a few days later i checked bank account to find they had also taken money from our account. I emailed them but alas we have not had a reply. I do not think we will ever stay there again.

    hotel was situated in a very good location for easy access to the town centre

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really poor service. Kept waiting over half an hour to pick keys up for room (after chasing member of staff twice). Shower head held together with brown electrical tape. Mouldy shower curtain. Stained and sticky carpet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had room 3 which is above the kitchen, we had an extractor fan humming until 12 midnight and started again at 7am, there was no coat hangers in the wardrobe, the carpet was stained and dirty, outside our room the ceiling had obviously collapsed at some stage so they had just patched it up with sterling board, the sausages in the morning for breakfast weren't cooked, they replaced them, everywhere on the hotel side was just dirty it needed a good hoover and clean.

    The bar area was lovely and clean and staff were very friendly & helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not very comfortable, some of the springs felt like they were going to come through the mattress.

    The purpose of our stay was to see a show at the Baths Hall Scunthorpe, the Royal Inn is a perfect place to stay. The Royal Inn is easy to find and has parking spaces on site.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room that I was allocated was above the hotel bar and it was very noisy on Saturday night but on Sunday there was hardly anyone in so it was very quiet. There could have been a little more choice of cereal for example Kellogg's fruit and nut.

    The staff were really helpful and obliging.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs!! I'm registered disabled and mother who came with us is 82, so it was a real chore for us both.

    Staff were all excellent. Facilities were busy, but no real problem. Have recommended Hotel to my brother whom we were visiting. He has many colleagues from around the country, and I'm sure he'll recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath/shower room facilities. No soap, loose toilet seat, nowhere to hang a towel the bathroom. Shower was dirty, curtain, walls etc.

    The downstairs facility, bar and food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dated room Lumpy v old mattress Mouldy bathroom-shower curtain, not clean behind the taps TV tiny Bedside table missing Bedside lamps not working Shower wouldn't turn off Smelt damp

    Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was hard to around in, the furniture to close to each other. Very noisy at night because of patrons leaving the pub.

    The room was hard to around in, the furniture to close to each other.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a desk in the room that restricted access to one side of the bed. If you moved it then the wardrobe wouldn't open. And the bathroom looked a little grubby which let the rest of the room down

    The bedrooms were lovely, albeit a little cramped

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room although suitable for needs the room lacked character and the reception area was very drab, a poor first impression.

    Staff were very professional and friendly, bed was comfy and the food was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was not cleaned properly, the toilet bowl had excrement over it and there were used tissues lying on the chair next to the tea and coffee facilities. The bed linen was fine and smelt fresh. The filthy conditions put me at unease, (what next will I find, what else wont be up to scratch, are the cleaning duties up to scratch in the kitchen) To be fair though everything else was up to scratch and I hope the cleanliness issues will be seen to.

    The teas and coffee were very good, the evening meal was excellent, one of the best steaks I have tried. the service was also very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had booked this hotel due to a family wedding. We required earlier check in due to wedding time. They were really helpful and made one of the rooms available.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We cancelled our stay on the 20th after our night there on the 18th. We booked a family room as we have done several times before only for the children to have to sleep on the floor as they no longer provide family rooms

    Leaving

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was unclean and their was cobwebs all over the room. Me and my partner couldn't get in the security door as the key wasn't working right and at 2am took us half hour to get in and no night staff to assist us, when reporting this next morning the staff was like "oh yeah we know this!" We stayed at the royal hotel for 4 night and was never once asked of we would like fresh bedding or sheets. The cleaner went in the room once and replaced the toilet roll, but didn't replace tea, coffee ect or leave clean cups. Also didn't empty the bins that was full and also had rubbish on side. I was really disappointed in this and would to stay or recommend the royal hotel to anybody. For the price we paid the stay wasn't worth it at all.

    The bed was lovely to sleep in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy at night, with slamming doors, loud music. Some of the other clients were uncouth and intimidating rattling and banging on the toilet door that my father (84) was using, dancing around my husband and blocking his way when he was returning from the bar with drinks. Youths sitting outside the main door at 9am smoking ,using foul language and spitting is not what you expect.

    Friendly staff, central location, clean rooms although dated and the housekeeping was nonexistent. We weren't expecting a lot but to have the bed made, bins emptied and the tea and coffee restocked would have been nice. All staff were courteous including in the bar and especially Alex who was most helpful on checkout.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the place fell well below the standard, the staff didn't care either when I told them. There was dirty plasters on floors, carpets not hoovered, dirty cups in bedrooms, the hallways up the back of Hotel smelt damp. Lights didn't work the list is endless

    Nothing there was no good points to this hotel, it was dirty and damp

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was quite tired and dated. My room was noisy in the morning, by the side of a busy road.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. More than happy to book a taxi for me.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Other guests seemed to be workmen very noisy talked( shouted ) like they were still on building site . Breakfast selection poor for the price . No Bacardi in the pub !!! Despite it being on the menu in the room. Room decor tired .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel locked at night, party in the room next door with loud music. Naked lady running up the hallway screaming help. Police call. No staff to be found

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom bit out dated but price of accommodation was reasonable

    The bar area was was a high standard with friendly staff. Breakfast was good and plenty of choice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That i had to pay extra for brealfast when it was inclided in the price and that my friend had to climb stairs on crutches when they said they had a lift

    I liked the Bar area was clean upto date and Modern and the Assistant manager was really friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To consider extra staff during peak times. ie. Friday night extremely busy. Breakfast, only one waitress. Rushed off her feet, but have to say she was always polite.

    The girls we spoke to were polite, helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. I have limited mobility and found the stairs very difficult. The bathroom was not clean and the bathroom shelf was missing. There was a band playing on Saturday night who were so loud my husband could feel the vibrations whilst having a bath. Our bedside cabinets were also vibrating. The band did not stop playing until around 12.45am. Also I could not eat the gammon meal which I ordered on the Friday evening. It was thick and not cooked in the middle and was very salty, to the point it made my tongue sore.

    The friendliness of the staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was shampoo or soap in bathroom, hotel and room was old not modern. On website checkout was stated as 12pm but at the hotel was told to leave at 11am eventually talked to woman at reception and she said can leave at 11:30am.

    Bed had clean sheets

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unsafe doors locks

    Door locks are unsafe, we got locked in our room and finally moved rooms, also later in the evening we were locked out of the building as lock had also jammed there, terrible , unsafe and want a refund !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor decor, dark and faded. Shower over bath, despite request for a shower.

    Large room, with opening windows. TV, coffee making facilities and hairdryer. Great bar downstairs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom basin blocked and tap very very hard to turn off. No tray for cups in room, so had to put down on table. No welcome biscuit packs that is provided in all places. Breakfast. Cold yesterday's croissants. Undercooked chipolata sausage. Fatty bacon. Fried egg solid. Hash browns greasy. No white bread. We had a lunchtime meal. Not busy. Took half an hour for one dessert to arrive. Not good. Would not revisit.

    The king size bed was comfy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outdated rooms, dark and dingy feel. Unable to have a VAT receipt for my breakfast!! (£5.99 for a coffee and porridge). FINALLY got the receipt emailed to me after more than 3 weeks and 6 phone calls, very poor customer service.

    Good food in the bar

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are dirty. Food under bed. Shower didn't work and nails hanging out wall. None on reception after 12 which means if your locked out you have to wait till the morning. The staff don't arrive for ages when you go there. It's bad. Nearly ruined my weekend.

    Ben and a couple of the bar staff were so lovely. I had a proper laugh with them. The bar is wicked too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place, very lively at night on a weekend. Friendly staff. Got a small dink in my hire car which was parked on site so beware. Also fire alarm went off for 20 mins non stop at 3am. Very loud... Generally a nice place and good for value. Would recommend..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt this was a very poor hotel although the staff were helpful and pleasant enough. The reception was a small panalled drab area which was only staffed when you pressed the buzzer and waited for ages. Room was very dated and the window only opened slightly onto a view of rubbish which surely must be a health hazard. Room was quite small and uninviting. I went into the bar to get some ice and was asked to leave ( this was just after closing time) because of the fight in the car park which we encountered on the way in. A kind member of staff did agree though to get the ice but I was moved along very quickly. Not for me I'm afraid and certinaly not worth the money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a list of issues, that we have informed the company about. In return, they have allowed us to stay there again free of charge in order to show that this was a one off scenario

    Sadly nothing was good about the stay

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being told booking.com hadn't passed our booking to the property. Thankfully they had a room spare and honoured the price

    Location and the bar was great, really modern and a great selection of drinks. Nice staff too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy. You could hear the music downstairs so no sleeping before 1am. The breakfast was poor as well

    The bed was comfy and the room was decorated nicely

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms were still tired and dated - same old matress and carpet, chipped bath & where the cistern met the toilet it was brown and grubby.

    The downstairs bar has had a fantastic refurb & food was good. Good choice of beers.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like, walls maybe a bit thin but not a lot can be done about this, overall I would recommend and would stay again

    Friendly staff, had no issues at all, great value for the money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room rather cool when we went in but red hot in morning rooms could do with a little up date and also cleanliness checked on

    Staff very helpful location good and a quiet room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedside lamps too dim!!

    Crossiant after a delicious cooked breakfast was "icing on the cake". Made more enjoyable after a good night's sleep

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As hotel guests would of been nice to have a different smoking area from bar as we had to get dressed late at night to go pass bar.

    Nice friendly place, staff was very welcoming and when they seen us asked if we was okay and if we need nothing.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV for a large room could have been larger, possibly the pillows could have been a lot firmer.

    Slight problem with the room however this was quickly resolved by a room change the staff were helpful and curtious

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    On this website the place looked ok if you were looking for a night to stop somewhere to lay your head. When we arrived from travelling for 4 hours from cardiff. we were pleasently surprised to find the whole place had a recent refurbishment which is stunning. and was so much more enjoyable to stay at. The staff were very helpful and polite. the room we stayed in was small, but clean and tidy which was enough for what we needed. The location was perfect with a sainsburys store next door and only 10 min drive to where we had to be the next day in winterton. Overall experience 11/10 Definitly stay there again and recommend this place to anybody who was travelling to that area of the country. We cant wait to travel back for the Ed Sheeren singer in april.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower curtain ripped, falling down, no coat hamgers, old worn out furniture, dirty net curtains at only one window. 4 heaters on one room, only one working. Breakfast ordered was mot what we recebed. Banging doors and alarm gping off at 3 a.m

    The staff were polite and helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: