Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Royal Seven Stars Hotel 3 stars

The Plains, Totnes, TQ9 5DD, United Kingdom

#11 of 18 hotels in Totnes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 306 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing, interesting and alternative
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stayed in the Agatha Christy room. The bed is very soft and rather saggy.

    Super location with a lively atmosphere. This a hotel which is well used by many residents of Totnes as their local. Nice restaurant and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    A good short break - we will do it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The convenience - bus stops outside with a frequent service to Exeter, Plymouth, Paignton & Torquay and 2 hrly service to Dartmouth. Links with boat & steam rail trips. The quality and variety of the food. The staff - friendly helpful service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    The hotel was very old with great character.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom was small with triple glazed windows to keep out the noise of traffic but the air conditioning was rather temprementalt and at night was very hot most of the time.

    The hotel was very old with great character. The food was excellent and the young staff charming

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    A very nice hotel well located and historic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked breakfast to be included for the price.

    A very nice hotel well located and historic. Interesting entry. Very nice and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Amazing Hotel Amazing Staff Amazing Food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact I didn’t book a longer stay !!

    The room was so comfortable and had everything plus more, the Hotel itself was amazing, the staff were so genuinely friendly and helpful always had a ready smile the food was delicious, we can’t wait to go back for another visit and I would whole heartedly recommend this Hotel to everyone.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Will definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I rang 1 hour before arrival to ask if there was a lift, as just realised that my husband just diagnosed with heart disease can't walk more than one flight of stairs. The receptionist changed our room for arrival to a first floor room after my call. All staff were courteous and helpful but she went the extra mile.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    Lively hotel in a great position .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and en suite were very small. Great for a short stay but no longer . Car park was limited but staff took on responsibility of moving cars etc. Quite pricey compared with other hotels .

    Excellent location for town and riverside Comfortable room and bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    A very pleasant overnight stay lovely birthday treat for my sister.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fan underneath my window think to do with kitchen a bit noisy through night woke me up on and off.

    Friendly staff good location clean room and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    I enjoyed my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing happy with it all.

    the bed had a very good sleep,the staff always had a smile and very helpful.The bed room very clean and there was milk and assortment of tea.Its in a very handy place and your will be made most welcome and its a nice place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Great centre for exploring area by boat, car or bus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, but staff were only too happy to help with luggage.

    Staff extremely friendly and provided good service. Excellent breakfasts and good choice for evening meals. Huge comfortable bed and quiet location for a good night's sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location in town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location in town centre. Spacious, well-equipped room with very comfortable bed. Lively bar with a good choice of food and drink, and such generous portions of bar food that we were unable to manage any breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    A little pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar prices quite high. Car park is small and tight but double parking works well as staff manoeuvre cars as needed for guests. Shower room very small.

    Outside seating area is perfect when the sun is shining. Good locational.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and service in the guest dining room. Long, long wait and then small portions. Noise of traffic due partly to window 'problems'.

    Age, position and staff. Bedroom attractive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Magical
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has a lovely feel - the sort of feel that you don't get when the hotel is part of a big corporate chain. It is very individual and quirky; a sense that someone pays attention to detail. There's an intimacy and a welcome and a touch of class!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Just the place for a stop off on the way home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower was very small but we managed with a bit of clever manoeuvring.

    We liked the atmosphere, we have visited many times but never stayed. Our room was comfortable and, for a town centre, very quiet at night. We loved sitting in the lounges with a drink and relaxing. We ate in the bar in the end as the restaurant was very quiet. Our dinner was very nice and we were very happy with everything on the whole. We were there just for one night on our way home from Cornwall.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Very pleasent
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy next to the main road and with the creaky floorboards in the room above and next door.

    Excellent decoration throughout. The room was very pleasant and well thought out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Really glad I chose it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vegetarian sausage at breakfast was like a little vegetable burger with peas - there are better alternatives. Walking into the restaurant at dinner and breakfast was a bit odd - there was no one around - waited for what felt like ages and wondered if I was in the right place! I almost walked out - both times - maybe a notice would be helpful?

    It was possible to have more or less vegan meal at dinner - enjoyed tomato soup and a cauliflower tart.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.3
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor feels dated and old, and the hotel is very expensive for the standard of the room. £130 is a very expensive rate, considering that there is no bath in the bathroom and no breakfast included in the rate. The building is also quite noisy, and you can hear people in other rooms very clearly throughout the night.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    Genuine, welcoming and professional
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On this occasion, nothing.

    Perfect location in the main square with all amenities nearby. Booked a room only stay. The room I was allocated on arrival although pleasent had a pungent and unpleasant smell about it. When mentioned this to the reception desk the next morning, I was offered a room change without hesitation. The new room was an upgrade on the second floor. An unexpected treat. Thank you, you made my stay even more special .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    The perfect place to stay in Totnes
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    I have stayed here several times for business and am always very satisfied.The rooms are very comfortable. The staff are excellent - friendly courteous and helpful and the food is great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.9
    Exceptional staff, excellent breakfast, eat elsewhere in the evenings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a twin room and my husband ,who is not fat ,found the beds too narrow, he feared falling out. Ensuite shower room very snug. We were in Room 10 and could hear all the conversations of the people next door. The meals we ate in the evening were ok but we felt they were quite pricey for pub food. We ate in the pub area not the restaurant.

    Staff were exceptional, definitely a strong point of the hotel. Breakfast excellent, scrambled egg and smoked salmon to be recommended .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Excellent stop for meeting wedding party at Follaton Hall
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been warmer. Traffic noise.

    Did not realise there was one price for breakfast. Only had continental breakfast. Excellent room service breakfast on one morning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Had a fantastic night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little disappointed that I paid more going through the internet as it said best price guaranteed but when we got to the hotel it was cheaper and we could have had breakfast aswell for the price I paid . As a good will gesture we were given a complimentary drink so couldn't fault the staff as it wasn't their fault ,the website that I used was misleading ,next time I'll book directly with the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Very nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not informed about the main door being locked after a certain time and was not made aware of the rear guest entrance. This led to me having to knock loudly on the door to wake up the night porter

    Very nice room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.5
    Pleasent part from coldness from Windows and maids waking us up
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coldness of the room, windows very drafty, got woken up from around 7am with maids being very loud and banging around, our rooms wall was shaking also at times, this carried on the until we left the room at 11am

    Being close to near by shops

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.5
    Great place to stay, Great Atmosphere, Ideal situation for Totnes and Very helpful friendly staff !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thin walls between bedrooms. The TV was so loud I may as well have joined them. The room seemed very high up and out of the way a bit in the hotel and would have preferred a room nearer to the hub. Expensive ?? Was £60 when I first looked and then it jumped to £90. I thought that was too much without including breakfast and some of the noise issues within the hotel.

    I thought the staff and atmosphere were great and would go back for sure if the price was right. Dog loved it ... very dog-friendly but did not smell of dogs like some B and B's. Exceptionally warm welcome and friendly atmosphere to be honest.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Excellent, hope to go again soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel full of character in a perfect location for the town. Staff very friendly and helpful. The evening meal in the bar was excellent, and good beers on tap. On-site parking is a little tight but we had no problem.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in centre of Totnes would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I later discovered I could have got the room and breakfast included for £80 if I had booked directly with hotel instead of the £90 room only via Booking.com and then paid £10.50 for what was an excellent breakfast.

    Room and en-suite very comfortable -- breakfast was excellent, great variety and full English very well cooked. Staff and reception very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    For what I was in the area to do (research) it was perfect, and will go back again - I hope
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    squeaky floorboards :-) - But let's be honest for the character of the hotel a VERY small price to pay

    everyone friendly, accommodating, and willing to help. Attentive without being invasive. The team were great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.7
    Very pleasant in some respects, problematic in others.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking, although one understands the constraints as there is no obvious way in which the existing car park could be extended. When we left we had to ask staff to move a car double parked behind us and then help us back onto the main road.

    The room was comfortable and clean but there were two high steps from the bathroom down into the room down which I fell in the morning (fortunately without serious damage). There should be a hand hold to flag up the steps and assist descent. In the evening there was a lot of noise from the bar downstairs and from the street. This persisted until well after 2 am giving me little sleep.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Convenient location, nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking in the side car park was a little awkward, Not big enough but unavoidable. Leave your keys with reception and they move your car if someone else gets blocked in.

    The hotel was very nice, unusual reception with grand staircase and quirky décor. Room was nice, overlooking the front but quiet enough. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Bar meal was really lovely in a room made up like a pub. Not a conventional hotel, but I'm not conventional!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable stay in a lovely hotel within easy distance of all the pleasures of Totnes
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think how our stay could have been improved

    We found the hotel and staff all delightful and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had two rooms, one had previously had Daniel Dufoe as a guest and the other had been stayed in by Agatha Christie!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    An enjoyable short stay with a group of former school colleagues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really.

    Town Centre situation with car parking,although that needs managing by the hotel, which they did well. Hotel was very comfortable and provided old world charm with modern facilities. Room very clean and tidy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Really nice location, hotel, staff and food was also good and all at a reasonable price!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Offering breakfast earlier would have suited me as I had to leave at 7am, meaning no time to have breakfast so I had to have this on my travels to my Dorset meeting. I would have liked 6:30am so I could have been ready to go at 7am.

    The room was comfortable. Exceptionally clean. Bar and restaurant areas were nice and had atmosphere with the hustle and bustle of diners. Totnes is a great place and the location of property was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    Atmospheric old coaching inn with rooms, so public areas...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    "Carvery Dinner" experience was a bit "Fawlty Towers", perhaps because it was a holiday weekend and the staff were tired. Generally really noisy under our window late at night (post pub..) and early morning staff movements near our room and above us from 6 a.m. reduced sleeping time.

    Atmospheric old coaching inn with rooms, so public areas (bars, terrace) especially nice. Very convenient for exploring Totnes on foot and for access to the riverboat to Dartmouth.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.1
    Pleasent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choice/presentation Cold welcome from breakfast staff Noisy neighbours till early hours of the morning in room 11 on Saturday night

    Location Friendly and very helpful reception staff Style of property

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    A weeek-end stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice to have a room with bath rather than small-ish shower.

    Location is great. Staff is friendly and accomodating, and food very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.3
    really enjouyable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a bit warm but but there was aircon .

    The staff were fantastic nothing was to much trouble, the room was very nice . and the bars in the hotel had a nice feeling about them.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    Fulfilled its purpose as a base - didn't spend much time in hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a bath and shower, rather than just a shower Food in restaurant poor - steak was tough and tasteless and overlooked.

    Beds comfy Staff very pleasant and helpful. Room well decorated and clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    I liked the location of the hotel and the friendliness of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Can't think of anything I didn't like about the hotel

    I liked the location of the hotel and the friendliness of all the staff as well as the fact that local Totnes people also used the bar and restaurant. It all made for a very enjoyable stay in South Devon

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    sumptuous breakfast in the town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was our second stay here. my husband's brother and sister live close by so this hotel is very convenient. It is a family hotel in an old quirky building. There is a quiet reading room upstairs in addition to the public room on the ground floor. Apart from the location (at the bottom of the high street and near the river) another plus point is the splendid breakfast, cooked to order. Car parking is a bit limited but we did not have any difficulty in finding a space.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    Amazing luxurious stay but mattress wanting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed looked amazing but the mattress was a little bit too bouncy and sunken.

    Jacuzzi bath amazing after 2 days of walking. Just what was needed. Town lovely and so many interesting places to visit. Weather could have been better but hey can't blame the hotel!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    5.4
    Location was excellent, breakfast good and room was okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Downstairs was extremely noisy, day and night, and smelt permanently of cooking. I was not warned they had musical entertainment in one bar which kept me awake the first night (it finished before midnight but I was tired), especially when there was also a private event with a barn dance along the corridor. Staff in the restaurant were very good but those on reception and in the office were not particularly welcoming or helpful. Given we paid over £100 for a single room and breakfast was extra, I was rather disappointed overall and doubt if I would return.

    Location was excellent, breakfast good and room was okay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.9
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit expensive. Also didn't realise would be completely locked up at night. I got back after midnight and thankfully had their number so I could get to my room.

    Nice big bed. Good shower.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.1
    Totnes was lovely in the bright sunshine.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very poor and the bed was a narrow double, we are not large people, and the mattress was uncomfortable.

    The hotel is well located with a nice bar in a sunny spot. The breakfast was enjoyable with a good cooked menu.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.6
    The best choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The entire break was excellent. No issues.

    I loved the central location , close to the River, transport links and its situated just at the bottom of the main street with a view straight up the hill looking towards the Arch and Castle. The food was great and the Hotel a great blend of modern inside a historic shell.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.6
    Very good. Definately return. Staff excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Watching the traffic from the dining room window.

    Great service. A location full of history and modern convenience in a good location. Great service and comfortable rooms. Eat at the location too. Definately return.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    8.8
    Happy holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were lovely. We were there for a family wedding which was wonderful. The venue was great, the food excellent and the facilities charming. Breakfast in the restaurant was good too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.6
    Party in the town weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking spaces meaning double park system in place making going out by car more difficult.

    Designed with great character and interesting features. We went for the "party in the town" this was really a great location for all the venues.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    A great break in Totnes and the surrounding area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did not think that the food in the Saloon Bar on the first evening of our stay was value for the money charged and the quality of the food provided made us decide to eat elsewhere instead after that.

    The room was spacious and laid out well. The drinks and snacks etc were suitable for all tastes. The bathroom facilities were excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.6
    We would come again.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very small bathroom. I could not reach the towel rail and didn't like it being situated over the toilet. The better situation would have been to the left on entering the bathroom.

    The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The lounge and the view from the bay window plus thoughtful touches e.g. Colouring books and crayons for children. Visitors to residents made welcome.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.5
    We had a lovely time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff could have been more welcoming on arrival.

    My favourite almond croissants for breakfast. I was disappointed that breakfast was not included in the room rate. We love the jacuzzi bath. Wine was lovely my husband enjoyed the craft beers. We love Totnes, was a bonus to stay at the Hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.2
    Well worth staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been a little larger

    Food was tasty and plentiful. Staff all willing to go the extra step. Bar used by locals in the evening, opportunity to get to know people.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    A must stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit more advice about the parking on the web and what to do when you arrive in the v small parking before you arrive so you know you can double park and leave the key & the staff will sort it out. We ended up wasting time & money on public parking when we didn't need to.

    Unique beautiful heritage building. V good value. Modern bedroom v big & comfortable bed. Good sleep. Great location. Everything was fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.8
    Nice place, limited parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only flaw is the limited parking; they have maybe six spaces. The staff do a good job of taking car keys and double parking though.

    Great location, and interesting building. The breakfast was good, and the beer and food were good in the pub area.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    8.8
    Like a good wine, it keeps getting better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many decorative pillows in bedroom. Put them on top of wardrobe after second day to get them out of the way!

    Well taken care of by staff at all locations. Stayed for nine days so plenty of time to meet a lot of the staff. Never disappointed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    7.5
    Great historical property, good central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need to remember this is a very old building so the en-suite has been added to the room making the room smaller and the facility itself is somewhat compact - particularly the electric shower. Prices seem to vary depending on how you book and is not the best VFM in the area. located next to main road in centre of town so expect background noise.

    Period property full of charm set centrally in the town. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    5.4
    sleep ok, but avoid having breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cramped bathroom very poor restaurant service, especially at breakfast, which was a horrid reheated mess

    looked attractive on the website, but a big disappointment

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    9.2
    Great nights sleep and nice breakfast everything I needed...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought the drinks at the bar were slightly too expensive and food orders finished slightly too early.

    Great nights sleep and nice breakfast everything I needed for a nights stay

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    9.6
    A Wonderful Place for THE Devon Experience!!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints at all. Wonderful hotel. I wish it wasnt raining so much but it was February!

    The decor is incredible and the staff are incredibly helpful and welcoming. They were even very accommodating to our dog! It was a great location to explore Totnes town centre on foot. Plus the bar/restaurant prices were very reasonable for the quality of the venue.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    9.2
    Enjoy Totnes at its best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of a lift

    Totnes at its best! Staff cheerful,very helpful and smartly turned out. Homely/comfortable and historically interesting. In every way a joyful experience.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel & staff, shame about the noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room hot & unable to turn off radiator in the bathroom. Two functions going on in the hotel & music very loud & continued to just after midnight. If I had been warned about this when booking a room I would not have stayed here.

    Breakfast was excellent. Spacious room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    9.6
    Excellent service, very Comfortable Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait to get our car out in the morning as the yard for parking is very small and guests have to double park. However we knew this the night before and parking is at a premium or very expensive in the town.

    The bed was large and comfortable. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast eggs and full English items were freshly cooked and the buffet had a good range of fresh fruit and pastries.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    8.8
    Delightful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a little expensive in my mind; £100 a night for a hotel bed & breakfast in a place like Totnes is a lot. (London for £50 a night in a similar hotel being possible) But there is little competition in Totnes... (And I booked months in advance too, so no help there!)

    It was all fabulous. Friendly, welcoming, full of thoughtful care. The building is delightful - I love the decor - with its inner courtyard reception area, galleried landing, and great lanterned roof. The car-park is very tiny, but they had our keys and skillfully moved the double-parked cars around over the w/e without bothering any of us. I would stay again for sure.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    7.9
    Not much sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed! Like sleeping on the floor. Hard as a board. Thin summer quilt. Loads of pointless cushions. Premier Inn have very very good beds (Lenny is spot on) If they can manage it So should Seven Stars

    Good location. Parking. Building with character 24 hr desk. breakfast was good The decor was good The cushions matched the curtains

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    10
    HAPPY NEW YEAR
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A New Year's Eve with everything A great live band ; the bar ; a gin/cocktail lounge ; lovely accommodation with exceptionally polite cheerful helpful staff and quality carvery the next day 👍👍 Will definately return

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    8.8
    Xmas market break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was below par - sadly. Crowds for late night xmas market were too much (!) - not the hotels fault!

    Location & atmosphere. Style - NOT modern!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    8.3
    A delightful weekend stay in the busy, friendly, smart, affordable Royal Seven Stars Hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking a bit of a problem though even that was taken care of on my behalf in the tiny hotel car park by leaving my car keys with staff.

    The comfort, style, staff and food were excellent coupled with a relaxed easy-going atmosphere yet attention to detail and guests' needs were catered very highly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    8.8
    Gorgeous quirky hotel with great staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could be cleaner (lay down in the bath and you get a different view!). Real orange juice, not from concentrate, would be preferable for £90 a night!

    Bed very comfy. Staff wonderful. Nice bathroom. Love this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    10
    100% Happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Faultless, nothing to complain about.

    The room was comfortable, clean, warm and tastefully furnished beyond our expectations. A good selection of in-room beverages was provided. Very helpful, friendly, enthusiastic and smart staff both in the hotel and bars/restaurant who helped us enjoy our stay. Extensive menu and fantastic food, delicious and well presented. Live music in the bar (evening) was a pleasant surprise. Well situated at one end of the town and very close to Dartington, short taxi ride for Dartington events.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was waiting to be sat and served at breakfast for a fair amount of time. I guess long enough for me to wonder where the staff were. Not even a complaint just an observation.

    Everything.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.6
    Ideal position in the centre of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel doesn't have a lift. We managed the stairs on this occasion, although a little help with luggage would have been nice. Not sure we would manage in a few years' time, so it might be worth the hotel considering putting in a 'dumb waiter' for luggage.

    We had travelled to Totnes by train, so a hotel within walking distance to the station and in the centre of town was essential. This was both. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    This was the ideal location to stay in Totnes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some bread and cheese on the breakfast bar would have been nice but we did enjoy what was there and felt we had a good breakfast.

    All the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. There was good real ale in the bar. The coffee at breakfast was very good, much better than in most hotels.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful stay and right on the spot to explore Totnes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant food could be improved, more choice. Atmosphere like a pub.

    Quiet rooms, great location to Totnes, nice hot shower, very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    7.1
    Great location. Good staff. De luxe room not worth the money. Worst night's sleep for years!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chaotic car parking. Ticking clock in bedroom. Bedroom exceedingly hot - impossible to open windows. Tiramisu inedible. Fourposter beds pointless if mattress too soft and bed too narrow - swap it for a king size modern one!

    Helpfulness of staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: