Stays Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Attractions Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Devon hotel reviews
  4. Totnes hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Royal Seven Stars Hotel

Reviews of Royal Seven Stars Hotel 3 stars

The Plains, Totnes, TQ9 5DD, United Kingdom

#14 of 25 hotels in Totnes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 348 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2020

    10
    Wonderful place to stay close to so many amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bath in bathroom

    Location and the ambiance in the bar/restaurant. Plus the staff were all exceptional.

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2020

    8.0
    The Royal Seven Stars is an historic hotel with a lot of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little cramped. The basin in the bathroom was cracked.

    A fairly good breakfast buffet with a good range of cereals and pains au chocolat. Cooked breakfast to order including fish.

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2020

    9.0
    perfect, centrally based in historical market town of Totnes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was quite expensive but worth it

    We had a premium room which had excellent ensuite facilities and free tea, coffee, biscuits. We booked an additional room for our teenage children and paid £10 per night extra to bring our cockapoo dog too. Breakfast in the restaurant was very filling and full English along with cereals, fruit, waffles etc and dinner in the bar was also superb

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2020

    9.0
    Excellent food, location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside of the hotel does not do the inside justice. Free car parking was great, but the rear entrance from the car park does not fill you with confidence in what to expect inside

    Staff were all really friendly, we arrived early (12:00) but our room was ready for us and we were shown up to it by the receptionist rather than just being given directions. Bed was super comfy. Breakfast was fab, excellent cold buffet and hot food cooked to order, they even accommodated our request for smashed avocado which was not on the menu 😁

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2020

    10
    A brilliant experience where words cannot do it justice.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather could have been kinder but the hotel experience more than made up for this - well done.

    The whole experience was excellent. Breakfast was brilliant - every need catered for and the service could not fault. Decided to have our evening meal at the Hotel and invited a family member who we were visiting during our stay. The food was excellent, well presented and couldn't get over the whole taste experience. We were so pleased and delighted we chose to entertain our guest at the Hotel's restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2020

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is right in the town so very convenient. There was a great choice for breakfast and everything was very nice.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2020

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our window was directly opposite a bus stop so we were in full view, a small blind or net curtain would have been better.

    The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2020

    7.9
    Very good location ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good vibe in bar and restaurant, Food very good ,

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2020

    8.0
    We were visiting my mother, who doesn't have a guest room, so we didn't focus much on the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that we didn't like

    Didn't have breakfast

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2020

    8.0
    Very good
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly hotel comfortable in a very good position.

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2020

    9.6
    Nice place for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a little noisy during the day due to the fact it’s on a roundabout. We had a room to the very front of the property so if that would bother you’d I’d ask for a side room.

    Lovely clean room with a massive bed. Once the shower got hot (there’s a lot of pipes in an old building!) it was nice and strong. The staff are wonderful, very cheerful and welcoming. The breakfast was huge and excellent quality - especially the waffles with bacon and maple syrup.

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2019

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very quaint and comfortable hotel with friendly staff and an excellent breakfast. A nice place to eat in the evening too with good local food. Central position and within easy reach of Totnes‘s lovely main shopping street and market.8

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2019

    8.8
    Fabulous
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom were small!

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2019

    8.0
    Beautiful building in a lovely location. Spotlessly clean room and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower pressure low.

    Character property, festive busy atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2019

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard pillows

    Everything ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2019

    8.0
    Great hotel and staff in the right location for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom sink taps did not have handles but sharp indents which were very difficult to turn

    Great breakfast and staff

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2019

    10
    I hope to return on my next visit to Totnes
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't think of anything that I didn't like.

    Breakfast was great! Ruby!

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Fantastic weekend for a family gathering to celebrate a birthday. All staff were welcoming, helpful and really friendly. Great hotel in a lovely location. Really enjoyed it and would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2019

    8.3
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2019

    10
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes

    Luxurious furnishings, friendly staff, delicious food and perfect setting

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2019

    10
    Delightful Totnes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No disliked.

    Old traditional pub with luxurious furnishings... great location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2019

    7.5
    Bed not back friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a bit of a pain and you have to leave your car keys at reception in case they need to juggle cars around. Our room (3) had a very small bed, think it was a standard double, which was so soft that both our backs were sore for 2 days! Being in the town centre its a bit on the noisy side if you like to sleep with the window open.

    Friendly staff, good location , food was ok but nothing to rave about Clean room

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2019

    8.0
    We loved the hotel and hope to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was opposite a noisy bus stop. People chatting and engines running. Woken at 00 30 by a National Express coach. Next time we will ask for a quiet room. The duvet was very hot so we slept badly. We will ask for sheets and blankets. Couldn't hotels have two thinner duvets so you can remove one if you want to ??? If you get hot at night, like the window open or are going through the menopause it is very uncomfortable. PLEASE offer a choice of duvet when booking. Thank you

    Very good choice and lovely location. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Period property, but modernised beautifully..

    Stayed in November 2019

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: