Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Royal Sportsman Hotel 3 stars

131 High Street, Porthmadog, LL49 9HB, United Kingdom

#10 of 20 hotels in Porthmadog

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 643 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    5.4
    Seems to be the only place in town that can accommodate golf tours so it's take it or leave it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room wasn't serviced in three days stay. Eventually had to go and fetch my own clean towel and loo paper Bed was old and creaky and I half expected it to collapse during the night Shower was tiny Bar staff preferred to chat amongst themselves rather than serve Parking is an issue given that golfers go out during the day and when returning there is no 'free' parking left

    Breakfast was great Great location for golf trips

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    7.1
    A good location for the narrow gauge railways and excellent food, but bedroom was small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had booked a small double room and I think that we had the smallest double room in the hotel (judging by the fire escape room plan). It was on the second floor with views of the adjacent Job Centre offices. The washbasin was in the room at the end of the bed and the shower was in a cubicle with the toilet. There wasn't much room to access our luggage.

    The restaurant was good and the staff were attentive and helpful. We bagged a car parking space and left our car there the whole time. It is about a ten-minute walk to the Festiniog and Welsh Highland Railways. There was a problem with the thermostatic radiator valve which we reported before dinner and somebody turned up to fix it just after breakfast the following morning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.2
    V comfortable and great food. Dining room warrants a more cosy effect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Working man's club style bar. Need a separate one for clients. Dining room in need of decir attention. Pl see my written ideas on your review sheet.

    Room service great and food. Need ti start selling the marmalade.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Arrived later than normal check in but this was not a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Was just disappointed you were fully booked for the date I wanted to rebook to stay, but it is a great hotel so this is not a surprise.

    Arrived later than normal check in but this was not a problem as I was able to pick up keys from the bar. Staff were very helpful on the phone before my visit and suring my stay. Room was comfortable and lovely and clean. Breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    The Royal Sportsman is well positioned for Snowdon,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Royal Sportsman is well positioned for Snowdon, excellent for visiting many attractions in the area. The food was excellent, staff were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    A very pleasant stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast which included traditional cooked food, and fine evening meals (extra cost). All in all delicious and delightful food. Everything I had hoped for in a charming old style hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    We had a lovely visit to NW Wales and enjoyed the stay in the Royal Sportsman Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first room we were allotted was very cramped and at the top of 3 stairs, not really suitable for an elderly couple. However, when we raised this complaint with the receptionist we were promptly changed to a fine room at ground level.

    Food was of a very high standard. We had dinner on one night and it was really good. Breakfast on three mornings was the very highest standard. I'm not keen on serving the tea and toast 5 to 10 minutes before the cooked breakfast arrives.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is tiny

    We loved the location of the hotel due to we were going on the Welsh Highland Railways and it was a easy walk. The breakfast was plentiful and staff were wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.0
    Short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from squeaky floor and occupants in room above disturbed sleep. Wash basin too small to use easily. Car parking limited.

    Restaurant food and service excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.9
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like that the toilet had not been flushed from previous occupants.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. I certainly would recommend eating in their restaurant, lovely food and good choices, also plenty of choice for breakfast. Good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location in an interesting town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its an old fashioned high street hotel with the advantages (proximity to shops etc) and disadvantages (creaky floors , traffic noise) of such a building.

    Nicely situated in a pleasant town with good connections so its a valuable base for a holiday. Food was good, with a good range and a very nice vegetarian option. Breakfasts were good with a useful range of offerings.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.3
    Good central location with good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar area (which is open to locals) looking a bit tired, could do with an update.

    Comfortable room of a reasonable size, lounge and dining room comfortable, food very good and reasonably priced

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    It was central to everything we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a bit dated could do with a bit of decorating.

    It was central to everything we needed. The hotel was clean & the staff were very friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel on the gateway to Snowdonia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was lovely but my husband could not fit in the shower in bungalow 7 (he's on the tubby side) but it did not spoil our stay.

    Loved the salmon and scrambled eggs for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking can be a bit of a challenge.

    The Hotel does not pretend to be anything more than it is, an old caching Inn converted in to a hotel. It is 1, the staff are friendly and the building itself is pretty qurkie in an enjoyable way. Breakfast was excellent and drink prices about what You would expect in the tourist part of North Wales. Would probably stay there again if We were in the area so that says it all.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.3
    I booked because the hotel claims to be good for the steam railway station, it’s a 15 min brisk walk
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic, dimly lit and quite small, you would not want to spend any length of time in it. Parking is very restricted and fills up in their parking and on the street very quickly

    The hotel was clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    Reasonable enough for a 3 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed here for three nights whilst visiting the area and Porthmadog was the most central place for where we wanted to visit. On arrival we were greeted warmly and check-in was efficient and the only problem was that the car park was full but the receptionist directed us to free on-street parking just round the corner so it wasn't a huge problem. She also let us use a lockable storeroom in the car park for our bikes. We had booked a small double (cheapest double they do) and the room certainly fitted that description - it was compact to say the least and the bathroom was very snug with a small shower cubicle and the smallest washbasin I have ever seen. We are both slim so it was ok but larger-built customers would have struggled! Size apart the room was clean, comfortable and functional although its somewhere to sleep rather than somewhere you could relax and enjoy. The walls are also very thin and there was some noise intrusion from neighbouring rooms. We ate in the restaurant the first night and were initially underwhelmed by the look of it but the service was good and the food excellent - I had the fish pie which was stuffed with fresh fish and one of the best I have ever tasted (and I love fish pie!). We also spoke to other diners in the lounge afterwards and they had travelled in to town specifically for the restaurant and were also very happy so the restaurant gets a definite thumbs up for the quality of the food! Breakfast was slightly less impressive - on the first morning the cooked breakfast took over half an hour to appear and there were clearly problems in the kitchen that morning, although on the subsequent days everything ran smoothly so it was probably a temporary issue. There were also plenty of serving staff around who were efficient and courteous and we saw no sign of the issues some previous reviewers have mentioned. We also had a drink in the bar one evening but it is very plain and uninviting so we limited it to one and went elsewhere.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location. Nice room and an excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The washbasin was a bit on the small side. Nothing else.

    My single room was very well appointed. Comfy and clean. Bed excellent and everything looking spick and span. The breakfast was excellent with a good range of cereals, fruits, etc., My smoked salmon and scrambled egg was beautifully prepared and was a great start to the day. Would recommend highly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.3
    Good location close to the train station, breakfast was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable, resulting in a back back. Decor a little dated. Was informed there was only a few steps for our grandad to climb to his room (a full staircase and a half) there was also no rails in his room or bathroom and a step in to the bathroom (he managed it just) Causing him to struggle.

    Good location close to the train station, breakfast was a highlight (very nice). All the staff where very helpful and nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful mid week break in Wales
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a lot of noise from traffic at the front of the hotel. I don't think this would not have been a problem if we could have shut the window but the weather was too hot to do this

    The staff were extremely helpful. When we mentioned the issue of the traffic noise the staff went out of their way to help and changed our room to one at the back which was much better for us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    2.5
    Nothing - it was awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty with cobwebs hanging down from the ceiling in several places.. The "courtyard" rooms are a disgrace. Our room was shabby and more like a mobile home than a hotel room. We could hear everything from the rooms above and either side including their toilet habits and their tv. The staff member who greeted us in the car park was rude and unhelpful and we were not shown to our room when we checked in. The rest of the hotel is dated and grubby. Very overpriced - it is a cheek to charge hotel prices (£100per night) for somewhere that is so down at heel. They are clearly cashing in on being the only hotel in the town. I have paid far less in far nicer guest houses. We had no window to the outside, just to the covered walkway, which, when it rained, had a dripping gutter internally. The bathroom was reminiscent of a public convenience - cracked tiles, dirty grouting and a horrible toilet. The place is an insult. Do not go here.

    Nothing - it was awful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Anniversary treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was too small but that was my own fault as that is what I booked. I didn't like there being dogs in the hotel but there again my own fault.

    THe breakfast was very hot and tasty. I would recommend the cheese and onion pie it was delicious. All staff were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel was the ideal spot if you intend travelling on the steam trains.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double room was hot although the hotel were obviously aware because there was an electric fan in the room, bit too noisy to use overnight though.

    The food was excellent and all reasonably priced. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    Really enjoyed our stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast wonderful -- perfectly cooked and very tasty. You get the continental part from a generous buffet, then they take your order for the cooked part. Totally excellent. Very pleasant wait staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    5.8
    Sleepless, frustrating, poor value for money, only recompense was 10% off any food (not drinks)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1st floor room despite ground request re husbands spinal surgery Extreme sloping floor - including bed, poor sleep, things rolled off bedside table. Owners explanation - paying Booking.com so best rooms go to direct bookers

    Staff were lovely. Room very clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.9
    A good choice as a base to explore the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The biggest issue we had was the very slow service at both breakfast and dinner when the restaurant was busy. This is not a reflection on the professionalism of the staff but they were overworked/understaffed at busy times. The washbasin in our courtyard room (6) was ridiculously small.

    The Hotel was very clean and in good order throughout. All staff were very friendly and attentive. The courtyard rooms provided excellent access for our elderly relatives. The parking facility was useful, although space was limited when the Hotel was full. All meals taken were of the highest quality.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.8
    Very mixed feelings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I thought the staff, overall, could have been more welcoming and accommodating. There was an issue with my payment card on arrival. I was made to make sensitive and confidential telephone and internet financial enquiries at public reception, in front of general staff and other guests checking in, and was denied the use of somewhere more appropriate and confidential, prior to being checked in. Serving staff at breakfast uncommunicative with slow service, with the hot breakfast arriving, one day, 45 minutes after my arrival at table, with a rude response from the waitress to other guests who were complaining.

    Central location. Clean. Comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    The bar had good ale and a friendly barman.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar had good ale and a friendly barman. The breakfast was very good. All the staff were very friendly. A great location with ample parking facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very clean room. Smiley staff!! Good food, good service. We were warned that our rom was smaller than normal. It was perfectly adequate, no problem at all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    Great location but small rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small. Not much room for luggage or moving around the room or bathroom! It says free parking but there are about 30 rooms and only enough parking for around 10 or less cars. Could easily park around the corner though, but advertising free parking is a little misleading. Breakfast nice though and lots of options.

    The location was perfect, right in the Porthmadog high street, near the beach and within easy access to mount snowdon.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable hotel with a high standard of cleanliness. Great location and exceptional food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We occupied the disabled room and unfortunately with the shower being a wet room it flooded the bathroom and entrance way despite our efforts to keep the water at bay. Plenty of towels though to mop up!

    The breakfast selection was outstanding and refreshed regularly. The home baked bread was delicious. The food could not be faulted and had a very good selection for all tastes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Relaxing weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like

    Friendly welcome by reception member. excellent room and good food. Restaurant staff very pleasant and food was served fairly quickly. Would certainly stay here again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing for the cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable, rock hard pillows, sink and tiny bathroom were separate, small room, small tv. Eggs Benedict with hard yolks and bacon not ham.

    The meal in the restaurant. Delicious and beautifully presented. Location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    The room was very clean and well equipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After going out to dinner one night, we came back to the hotel for a night cap and the bar and lounge smelt very strongly of fish, not very pleasant.

    The room was very clean and well equipped. As the weather was very hot, on checking in the receptionist thoughtfully offered us a fan for the room which was gratefully received. The food was very good value and breakfast very good with a lot of choice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Enjoyable comfortable and convenient for purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The delivery time of the breakfast as above

    The delivery of the breakfast on the final day took 45 minutes due to a misfortunate in the kitchen with the all day breakfast we ordered, the only poor point in the whole stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant stay. Good location, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a larger double room and it wasn't that spacious. TV was a little small to view from the bed, but that is just me being a bit fussy.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Food was excellent and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.8
    Pleasant stay would look for somewhere better if I visited Porthmadog again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself was dated needs modernising. Furniture dated mostly pine.therecwas a pub/ restaurant downstairs which was quite nice & convenient after a day travelling, the food was OK looked lovely on the menu not so nice to eat, but as I said it was ok.

    Central location nearby supermarket few shops

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a very large coach party at breakfast that took over the restaurant, no pastries or croissants left and waitress had to bring fresh fruit to our table or she said it would all get taken if she put anymore out on the buffet!!!

    Great location. Staff were lovely. Food was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Seriously average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner menu too diverse to be fresh. The £20 plus plates were not as good as the price demands. Fresh local Mussels were bannered but not available. The pork belly was really soggy. Stick with the simple stuff.

    Good breakfast, pleasant Staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Slow service. Loud and rowdy customers at the bar which made it not very welcoming.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at breakfast was so slow we didn’t bother eating. We waited for over 40 minutes to be served. Also we stayed over the bank holiday weekend and there was a football match on in the bar. The noise continued until about 1am with some drunk people arguing and shouting at each other which kept us awake. The hotel really needs a facelift. Looks a bit like faulty towers, not very good value for the price we paid £100 pppn. Won’t be back.

    Dog friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Very Ordinary
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room seemed to be over a very noisy bar noise till the early hours, the bathroom was about as small as I have ever seen, reception were unfriendly and unhelpful

    The breakfast and the staff in the breakfast room were friendly and ellicient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Great restaurant and service .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property shows signs of its age despite some refurbishment.

    Excellent food and service in the restaurant which exceeded my expectations and is a real gem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Good base,excellent food in evenings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were slightly underwhelmed by the breakfast offering especially after such excellent reviews.Maybe we are over fussy as travel extensively but we noticed the plate was large with small helpings(1 small egg,1 sausage and one rasher of bacon ).Certainly not the worst but not the best breakfast we have experienced.The staff was superb,attentive and efficient,with special mention for Phobe who was most charming and helpful.The only other criticism was the size of the shower room,the cubicle was very small and the sink difficult to use as so minute.The bed was comfortable ,the storage barely adequate for a longer stay but acceptable for short stay.Overall a plus but B- not A

    The quality of food in the restaurant in the evening was first rate,and could not be faulted.We .The staff were superb,attentive and efficient,with special mention for Phobe who was most charming and helpful.We especially welcomed the lounge after meals.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Overpriced courtroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a ‘courtyard room, quite small and at £100 a night I felt it overpriced. The cooked bread to an age to be delivered

    Good old fashioned hotel, the restaurant was great and the staff were excellent, good facilities and they were good to accept parcels for us, for our arrival.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    4.6
    It was OK but wouldn't recommend it to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no real welcome when we arrived. We were kept waiting a very long time for breakfast the first day and had to wait while guests who arrived for breakfast after us got served before us. The second day breakfast was not cooked properly and my partner was ill after eating it. Also food was very expensive, for example, £7.95 for a fish finger sandwich! You're having a laugh!!

    The bed was comfortable and the location of the hotel was ideal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was the power of the shower but then again we are used to a power shower. I have had a lot worse though and at least it was hot.

    Location, comfort, hospitality and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    4.6
    Certainly not value for money
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that this is meant to be a dog friendly hotel, but doesn’t really promote this. In addition to this the hotel took two separate payments. One when we first arrived and a second upon leaving. I had to contact my bank to get the first payment back. A total of £420 taken from this hotel when the bill was only £214.00 😡😡😡

    The central location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    I mistakenly arrived a day early but they quickly allocated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I mistakenly arrived a day early but they quickly allocated me a double room for the one night and only charged single room rate. The majority of the car park spaces are under cover, very handy in wet Wales

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, great food and friendly staff. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in room 1, very close to the main walkway from the bar to the smoking area and car park, so until midnight on Saturday night there was quite a lot of noise, if you were looking for an early night you should request a room away from the car park. A solution would be to build a partition between the rooms and the walkway.

    Staff were helpful and friendly. Food was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.5
    reasonable hotel for an overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a bit small, but ok for a one night stay

    the pillows were really generous so I could sit up in bed and watch tv in comfort. Also loved the fact that car park and walkway to hotel were covered over which kept us dry getting from car to hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Go for the location, stay for the glorious food!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I travelled with my ( adult) step daughter and we were driving. I booked two rooms and they were close to each other in the courtyard area which has the extra added bonus of being really easily accessible from the covered car park and into the hotel reception, bar and restaurant areas, all on one level, a great design! Our rooms were very clean, with desks, TVs, excellent wifi, in-room coffee and tea, bedside lamps, lots of room for clothes and suitcases, really nice bathrooms with showers & heaters and a very good toiletry selection and lots of towels. The bar was well stocked, with a TV and a fireplace, it is part of the community, and very lively and popular. The restaurant is very big with a lounge area and a dining room as well as an outdoor seating area ( in season) the staff is outstanding: friendly, helpful, well informed, warm and professional, efficient: checking in and out was a breeze and the meals were superb! We had dinner and breakfast, both excellent, if I lived in Porthmadog I would eat there often. The menu was original and interesting, the food delicious and beautiful, the service smooth! A good and reasonably priced wine selection. A very well run and welcoming place. Thank you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Most enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food was very good, especially the breakfasts. Very convenient location. Friendly staff, decent beer in bar, room clean, quiet and comfy. Off-road parking under cover.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Good choice of hotel with under cover car parking at rear of hotel. Friendly staff, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Late night revellers caused some disturbance on Saturday night leading to some loss of sleep.

    Comfortable room, clean facilities. Loved the bay window overlooking the high street. Friendly staff with excellent welcome on arrival.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    Very enjoyable and comfortable stay, with lovely people and lovely food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car parking is limited (and tight)...if you miss out on a space, you're left to the mercy of finding on-street parking.

    The staff at the Royal Sportsman were very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was delicious - highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Great family room with comfortable beds, a bath tub, clean, quiet, and covered car park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything.

    Comfortable beds, quiet, great location. The restaurant was fantastic. Very accommodating to special diets, and the covered garage was a nice touch. Located across from a grocery store and next to a coffee shop.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    A good place to stay in a lovely part of North Wales
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much vegetables offered with meals, and my room was extremely hot.

    Friendly staff, and the location in the centre of town was perfect for our needs. Car parking in a garage.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.9
    All fine, and good location for the purpose
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar food in the evening was poor and expensive - possibly just made a bad choice!

    Breakfast was ok, more savoury items - cheese, ham etc would have been welcome (ie more continental continental than Welsh continental)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel for a short break away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar area wasn't as nice as the lounge and dining room.although the real fire was very welcoming.

    Very clean,friendly hotel.Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.1
    A little disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cooked breakfast was poor, scrambled eggs runny & smoked salmon chewy. Bedroom a little cold at night Décor of hotel generally dated

    Friendly staff Large choice at breakfast buffet Rooms clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    6.7
    Could be better for the money. It'll be Travelodge next visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very late room service. Weather was cold and needed to get indoors and have a lie down at 3pm. Still hadn't serviced the room from 11am. Our room was at end of long extension and often the radiator supply not very hot. Freezing outside most mornings/evenings. Had to ask for a warm air heater.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Just the ticket!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows provided were quite hard. It did say in the booklet in the room that if guests found them too hard to contact reception who would provide us with softer ones - which we could have done, so partly our fault really.

    The service was excellent, and the breakfast was too. When you are staying for B&B then the breakfast needs to be good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Relaxing with good food and beer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was outstanding and it was a problem having to make a choice from the menu every night. So much good food to choose from. The location was superb, very convenient for all the shops. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Porthmadog.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    We liked it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed just one night, nothing negative to point out.

    Spacious room, convenient location, amazingly fresh and tasty breakfast - highly recommend the place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed our stay at the Sportsmen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just the bed, too hard, shower was difficult to use, temperature kept going hot and cold and te over run on the toilet fans, go on forever.

    staff extremely helpful, the room was fine and above all nice and warm

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    5.0
    Very average
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable, the pillows had no support, very flat! No mention of extra charge for pets (no extras given, not even a bowl of water) not very pet friendly!

    The food served in the bar was good but a little pricey

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    6.3
    Good location friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small standard room bathroom tiny with no space for movement sink very small and awkward to wash your face

    Good location friendly staff Breakfast is good bar and restaurant on site

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.8
    My accommodation of preference when in this area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cramped shower / wc en suite. Cleaner had forgotten to provide pots of milk, so had to get milk for late tea from bar.

    Comfortable room with teapot. Excellent breakfast. Nice bar.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    comfey
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    had to leave early no breakfast at 06.30 hrs the staff did promise me a packed lunch to take away , they forgot to deliver so left with nothing in the morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    6.7
    A fairly good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room assigned have to go through a long and narrow corridor with uneven stairs at internal - probably to me is a a safety and evacuation concern in case of emergency. Weak shower and ther rhe long glass placed above a very small basin for putting small utensils / small tings is protruded and one cannot move the head forward close to the already very small basin when doing tooth brushing or face washing or will easily hit the head during tooth brushing.

    Good Location in town center, staff are friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    4.2
    I was disappointed with the whole experience and won't be going back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was OK, overpriced for the quality. Room was cold at first then woke up boiling to the constant banging of a gate, which met with a shrug when I complained in the morning. Poor comfort in the room and bed, although it was pretty clean. Didnt think it value for money at £92 a room, for very basic standard. Restaurant was cold during our evening meal. Breakfast was adequate, but unfortunately cheap cuts for the sausage, I think most of the other diners left theirs. It was the only 'dog friendly' hotel we could find in the area, so I think we will find elsewhere in the future for breaks in Wales. A token refund would have been better than a shrug at my complaint

    In general the food was OK, although when you ask for Pie and Chips you almost expect veg; not here. Staff were OK, but not particularly willing to listen to my complaints on the gate that couldn't be shut and was banging all night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.1
    Adequate but old building means lots of compromises on the accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small and cramped double rooms in Courtyard opening onto enclosed space so no view and no ability to get fresh air into room. Tired decor and fittings, poorly designed shower room, all very cramped.

    Good breakfast included in price, easy parking and access to Courtyard rooms. Roomy lounge.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    I would recommend this hotel for a short break.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The decor was a bit outdated.

    The breakfast was very good here. We also ate here once in the evening and the food was homemade and good. I had the smoked fish pie and it was really fantastic. The room was also very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Overall nice little place the room was clean bed was nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to moan it would be about the parking we got there a little late and couldn't park on the car park not enough spaces for how many rooms there is.The breakfast was nice but not given a chose of how much bacon or sausage you wanted.

    Overall nice little place the room was clean bed was nice had a good sleep.Good little place

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.3
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say,no faults

    Room very quiet, the bathroom spotless, the staff friendly and very helpfull and the meals brilliant. Location good and the railway station 5mins on foot and I am a slow walker.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    6.3
    Disappointed by the number of errors. Perhaps they are the only smart hotel in this town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Specially requested breakfast not available when needed. Sloping floor under bed. Windows left open in room even though I was arriving at night and didn't notice until the morning, resulting in cold room and noise from a generator outside. No car space on returning in the evening.

    Clean, smart, generally very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: