Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mannings Hotel 4 stars

Lemon Street, Truro, TR1 2QB, United Kingdom

#10 of 20 hotels in Truro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 612 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointed, overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room small, bathroom dirty, shower fluctuates between cold and scalding while you're in it, location so noisy it's impossible to sleep (cathedral bells all night...?!)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable clean friendly good modern food good city position
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps delivery traffic in am but centre of city therefore unadvoidable

    Room clean and comfortable. Staff helpful and friendly. Restaurant menu excellent.Even though had not booked and restaurant was busy they fitted me in. Modern menu.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay at Mannings
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was absolutely beautiful. So much nicer than we were expecting. Perfect private car park. Lovely check in and out staff. Bar was very relaxing and good value. Perfect position in town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Professional and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in bedroom not hoovered for 3 days and had to ask for it to be done.

    Professional and friendly staff. Bed lovely and comfortable. Restaurant very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (Double)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed bit uncomfortable mattress etc may need update?

    Location Use of kitchen Felt safe Very clean Restaurant good or cook in own apartment or both! Staff warm friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Central location, good secure parking, very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly dated bathroom, no lift. Continental breakfast selection a little limited (e.g. no breads or pastries other than croissants).

    Central location, good secure parking, very friendly staff. Excellent food at dinner.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    On the day of arrival, the hotels web site was offering roms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the day of arrival, the hotels web site was offering roms at a cheaper rate than we paid. About 25% cheaper. There was no heating available in the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.1
    Very centrally located and with own secure parking area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Duvets far too hot in this weather when all that's needed is a sheet and a thin quilt or blanket especially as my room was very hot with windows on two sides receiving lots of sun. Staff could be friendlier and more helpful on reception -they were efficient rather than welcoming

    Very centrally located and with own secure parking area. Stylish interior. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Located in the heart of Truro town centre. Secure parking behind hotel. Staff very helpful. Room lovely and clean, even had an iron & ironing board, tea & coffee making facilities bathroom had a bath with shower over. Excellent, would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel in prime location bought at a reasonable price last minute
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (Double)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing all was good.

    Great appartment bought at a fair price £135.00 short notice. Food good - just good - NOT exceptional but good at the price. Could not rate breakfast as they had no means of taking payment for it adn so I skipped it and went elsewhere - these things happen.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing. But as this was a family cricis it served a purpose.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price. Breakfast. Room. Price difference was. Manning £26.00 for 2 small breakfast. Wetherspoons £9.00 for 2 breakfasts. Including as much tea or coffee as you want.

    Attic room on 3rd floor with no lift. Toilet seat hanging off. Charged £26.00 for breakfast which should have been £16.00. Went to Wetherspoons after that.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location in Truro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift so had to carry bags up & down 2 flights of stairs. Larger fan in the room would have been great as it was quite hot at night.

    Great location! Nice looking bar. Unfortunately we didnt eat at the restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    I paid £80 for the night, without breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel has clearly been very well rated and is locally regarded as the best of Truro's hotel offerings. I think it is in danger of resting on its laurels with a slightly offputting celebrity endorsement like a shrine as you walk through the door. I thought the food was excellent but the menu was confused in its offerings, with repeated references in that menu to it being affordable - coming from London I thought it was on the pricier side of what I would usually expect to pay. That should not put anyone off though. It's good and people are obviously prepared to pay (I would just re-write the menu). I didn't like the obvious propaganda as I walked through the door and on the menu because from my own experience I didn't think it was correct. With a bit of updating and a less self-conscious approach, this could be top notch.

    I paid £80 for the night, without breakfast. Good standard room as expected of any hotel of this rating. Comparable to older Hilton hotels. Décor and bathroom in need of updating to compete with modern hotels but that's extremely picky. Very good restaurant, excellent cooked breakfast. Overall good hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.7
    Was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Came back at 10:30 and no bar open for a drink disappointing. Bed very uncomfortable and lots of noise being town centre you expect it but not on a Wednesday evening

    Very clean and neat to town centre

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    I have stayed at mannings on numerous occassions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed at mannings on numerous occassions. On this occassion the room was below the standard experieced previously. No seperate shower, extremely hot room directly above extractor units, no aircon, room next door to housekeeping storage so lots of noise directly outside my room in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for our reason for staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist in the evening was not very friendly, just felt she was just there because it was her job. No smile or friendly welcoming.

    Parking good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely location and friendly people.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we arrived in a heatwave and our room didn’t have air conditioning. We had a fan which helped. Only there for one night so it wasn’t a major issue.

    Great location for the city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Excellent town centre bolthole
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con would be lovely. And some explanation as to what the weird silver units poking out of the walls were for?

    We were in a studio apartment, so didn’t get much chance to assess main hotel. But as apartments go, it was very nicely done. Just a shame about the excess heat!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Warm stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only certain floors have AC in rooms not in ours unfortunately. We haven't truly taken into consideration the need of it but it did get very warm in the room and we had to keep the window open all the time. Although we couldn't even open it widely.

    Location wise it is in a brilliant central area plus providing parking for an extra charge. Everything you need or like to visit is just within a walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    The staff were very friendly and attentive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con - it was hot but not a lot you can do when it was as hot as it was!

    The staff were very friendly and attentive! Perfect location and parking facilities. They even called me to let me know my room was ready earlier than 4pm!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.0
    Too expensive for the very ordinary facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift and steepish stairs Only a fan for air conditioning and having window open was noisy Noisy room as facing onto street noisy pub in evening and rubbish vans early am Very tatty condition outside windows and the loo flush needed a new top

    Good central position Bath as well as shower

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Great room, and fantastic location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom wasn't up to the same standards as the room, and the toilet was difficult to flush.

    Great room, and fantastic location; good to also have parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit tired. Peeling and chipped paintwork. Room was above air conditioning and kitchen so noisy most of the night. Single glazing windows. Staff not the most helpful. Phoned down to reception to ask if there were any hot chocolate sachets. They just said no unfortunately not and put the phone down. On leaving, reception were more concerned about whether we'd paid or not rather than whether we'd had a good stay. Dirty cups in room.

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was one light in the lounge I couldn’t find the switch to turn it off The plumbing in the apartment was noisy when taps / showers / toilets were usef

    Pleasant suprise to be in an apartment than a hotel room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.0
    Miserable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisey room. No air conditioning. Irony was that when window was ope the noise from an air conditioning plant filled the room. Then I was turned away from breakfast. I asked to sit near a window with natural light and was told this was not possible.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is very clean and the staff are really helpfull,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were allocated room 17 which unfortunately got very hot, if you open the window a fan outside is very noisy. But a Dyson fan was supplied but unfortunately this also was a little noisy.

    The hotel is very clean and the staff are really helpfull, the restaurant and bar are excellent both food and drink very good indeed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed the stay,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would help if the bedroom windows were easier to open.

    The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    excellent hotel & staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    should have booked direct with the hotel breakfast would have been inclusive for the same rate

    excellent staff comfortable hotel set in the town centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    A nice surprise find for an overnight stay close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A nice surprise find for an overnight stay close to the center of Truro. Hotel was exceptional, comfortable room and good facilities for a short break. The restaurant was especially good with a great selection of dishes to a high standard. Included a complimentary drink for guests.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location, excellent staff providing fantastic customer services, Truro is lovely.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms good and Dyson fan a nice quality touch, beds comfy but decor in our room was a little lacklustre but very functional.

    Staff fantastic, public areas very well appointed, bar and restaurant excellent. (One of bar managers a fellow Barnsley FC fan so had a great chat to try and console each other!). Truro is a lovely town and this hotel is literally a few foot steps away from the best parts of the town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    Take ear plugs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (Double)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise levels within the room. The fridge noise throughout the night , when it cut in sounded like a small diesal engine, made it very difficult to sleep and the noise of the extractor fan in the shower room was appalling so the experience of a shower was spoiled. Glad we only had to put up with it for one night.

    location in the centre of Truro

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    the shower door which came off tracks when you tried to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the shower door which came off tracks when you tried to close it even though no rough treatment was used. We did mention and it was rectified only to go again. Also sink plug would not drain away. Also sink would not drain away

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely as ever
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It cannot be helped but there are a lot of quite steep stairs, rooms on the upper floors will help earn your breakfast!!

    This is not the first time I have stayed at this hotel and was delighted to be allocated one of the larger rooms on the second floor, so as to avoid the stairs! I also highly recommend the restaurant which offers very good meals and room service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Everything was ok from the start friendly receptionist could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok from the start friendly receptionist could not do enough to help room was clean and comfortable had a really nice stay will definitely be back .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent, helpful check-in staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Looking a little tired in a few places.

    Check-in was most helpful. Room hadn't been used the previous day so let us in early at the same time we made use of the parking facilities. Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location for a short break as located in centre of Truro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (Double)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one biscuit for 2 of us (!!) & the coffee machine didn’t work. When your paying £145 for one night & you eat in the restaurant it seems a cheek to have to pay to park the car £6!!

    Lovely decor & spotlessly clean, really spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.8
    Location, amenities, traditional nature of hotel excellent. Drawback lack of regulating temperature
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. No air conditioning on 1st floor - tropical temperature affected sleep - not possible to resolve by opening window. 2. I showed staff dangerous flex on iron despite label as having being checked.

    Good space and amenities. Lovely large bed, Street scene on the wall when coming up the stairs was outstanding and atmospheric. Excellent location and mostly met requirements.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.8
    Good location, clean and comfortable, but disappointing experience at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (Double)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Appliances in apartment were disappointing. Tiny travel kettle in the kitchen and the fancy coffee machine did not work as it needed servicing. One of the breakfast staff treated us like an inconvenience after we asked her to exchange a dirty cup. Breakfast was disappointing. Poached eggs slimy.

    Bed was comfortable. Parking was easy. Good location. Reception staff friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, but noisy equipment next to room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was machinery noise which continued throughout the night, in the cupboards next to our room (no 19)

    Friendly bar/restaurant, situated very close to city centre

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable, pleasant and helpful staff, but overpriced, although this reflects the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no suit case stand.....we had small overnight cases but had to put them on the surface/ dressing table as I have a back problem and cannot manage them on the floor which was the only other option. A few hooks to hang damp coats would have been helpful. Inevitably views from the window are restricted in a town centre setting. Ours was a scruffy flat roof and wall. Some potted plants, raised flower bed, or something would have improved the outlook. Also, we were for the first time disappointed by the state of cleanliness in the restaurant. We were shown to our prebooked table, under which there were copious crumbs and bits of food...likewise the table next to us. No attempt had been made to clean up and gradually this was ground into the floor. It wasn’t a good start.

    We eat regularly, pre- theatre at the restaurant which serves very good food. It was our first visit to the hotel. Staff in the hotel were charming. The room was as expected, I guess, in terms of size and bed comfort and cleanliness. Although parking was an extra £6, it was nice to think it was in a secure place, although it does involve walking a short way with ones luggage. We were offered help to take our luggage to the room from reception, though.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.7
    The shower didn’t work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didn’t work. There was a fan right out side the bedroom we was in and it kept us awake all night and the staff didn’t even ask if everything was ok with our stay. When we complained she wasn’t even bothered.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Weekend stay Mannings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location lovely relaxed but professional atmosphere. Lovely large rooms, and a super restaurant on site. Restaurant is a must book as it gets very busy. Only a short stay this time but would definitely go back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    I look forward to an opportunity to return to Truro and stay again at Mannings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom facilities were very good: as a 77 year old with Parkinson's I would have found "Grab handles" helpful when using the bath/shower.

    Reception on arrival was first class - I much appreciated my case being carried to my room. Without exception the "customer-facing" staff were efficient, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    All in all, comfortable and enjoyable - with the caveats above
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The light breakfast is very limited in range for the price, I would have liked a pot of coffee rather than just a cup and more variety e.g. breads and cheeses and hard boiled eggs. The large pattern of the carpet on the steep stairs makes descending something of a hazard as it is difficult to see the edge of the steps. There was a very noisy group of men near our table for 2, we had to ask for them to be quietened (this was achieved) but we should not have had to ask.

    Dinner menu excellent, lots of choice, tasty and well presented cooking and excellent service. Bed very comfortable, heating just right. Very friendly, welcoming and helpful staff. The restaurant is v tastefully fitted out and I like the scope for 'privacy' ...but see below.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Really comfortable bed, room had everything you could want.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower would be much better if it wasn't controlled using the bath taps. Also room was a bit too hot and the windows didn't open.

    Really comfortable bed, room had everything you could want. Great location right in the centre of Truro. Breakfast was amazing and so were the staff. I thought the room was quite expensive but it was a birthday treat!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.8
    Ideal for our trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very warm and couldn’t open the windows. Room compact but everything we needed

    Very close to the hall for cornwall, very helpful staff, lovely restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.1
    adequate for one night, comfortable but squeezed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    some dust around the room. not sure but the windows appeared single glazed - definitely chilly near them. room cramped for space. bathroom inadequate - small bath, not much room to shower, plastic shower curtain tacky and cheap in this day and age, barely adequate room to use hand basin, nowhere to put toiletries. overall felt like a double squeezed into a single room.

    the location close to city centre and hall for cornwall

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.6
    A really enjoyable stay in a lovely hotel 😀
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little small but good shower 💦

    A really enjoyable stay. Right in the town centre. Lovely staff who were very friendly. A lovely warm room with a really comfortable bed and pillows. Best bed I’ve ever slept in in a hotel yet ! Good wi-fi 😀

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    A gem of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Most impressed. The location couldn't be better and the private car park was a real bonus. The staff, facilities and room were of a very high standard.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.5
    Good location, comfort, price. Apart from Free Cancellation what more do you need?
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free cancellation not available on rooms. My stays are 99% business stays and meetings are often rearranged last minute but hardly ever cancelled. If Im not able to have free cancellation in the future then I will not be able to book this hotel any more, which will be unfortunate.

    Good bar and restaurant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    6.3
    Best to stay at the Alverton Manor or Travel Inn, Mannings needs investment but could be wonderful!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms terrible, mold in bathrooms, rooms dated, walls paper thin , windows moldy, windows old and drafty! Bath damaged , shower curtain moldy. The Alverton is the same price and has attention to detail , the Travel Inn is £55 per night and much newer and cleaner. The maintenance team really need to do a lot of work on these rooms, for this they need a budget. No Room safe ! Huge issue for people travelling, The cost of the rooms I feel your paying for the location only, if the hotel invested in the rooms and allowed the maintenance team to repair things with attention to detail I think Mannings would be a wonderful hotel. The walls and doors and floors are so noisy, anyone walking in the corridor is amplified into your room ! There was a hotel delivery and I thought the hotel was under attack! The sounds echoed around.

    Location great, the staff are amazing , parking great, bed really comfy. Tea and coffee facilities excellent in rooms, they switched my room with ease when I expressed dismay my first room. They offered to carry my luggage, the staff are amazing without a doubt and try to make the customers experience a very good one.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.3
    Helpful and friendly mreception stafg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor selection of limited fresh fruit at breakfast. Porridge was supposed to an option with continential breakfast but it was not there or offered

    Helpful and friendly mreception stafg

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.0
    Nice hotel, good quality room and food and very helpful staff. Look forward to going back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was at the top of the hotel and there were no lifts. it was only a couple of floors though.

    Staff were very helpful and professional. Nice breakfast selection.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.2
    Nice cotton sheets.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Window really drafty so i was a bit cold until i wedged it shut. The breakfast is great apart from the coffee which was awful so I had a cappucino instead which made breakfast rather expensive.

    Nice cotton sheets. Room, bar, dining room and lounge great. Brilliantly located. Really cheerful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    We stayed in a Mannings apartment the night before our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (Double)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only improvement I can think of is offering room service to the apartments.

    We stayed in a Mannings apartment the night before our wedding and the night after. The staff were amazing and very excited for us. I have stayed in the apartments for years and my husband was very impressed. The bar was buzzing and the restaurant food wonderful as usual. Reception staff were lovely. The central location and parking make it perfect for going out and shopping in Truro.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Great apartment, right in the city centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (Double)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The apartment was much larger than expected, with two floors joined by a spiral staircase. The open plan kitchen and living room were great and well thought out. The bed was king sized and comfortable, with a large on-suite bathroom. Certainly the best place I've stayed in Truro so far.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    7.9
    Great location. Yes, we would stay at Mannings again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having arrived in Truro at 7a.m. on the overnight sleeper from London, we were obliged to wait 7 hours before we could check in. Yes, we were able to leave our baggage at reception, but no one mentioned that there was a lounge where we could have rested. No one mentioned that bottled water was available in this lounge, until the last day of our visit. Reception staff: 1 very obliging gentleman and 1 jobsworth martinet. Breakfast: overpriced.

    Excellent location. Good sized room. Bathroom fine. Bar staff very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location, great room and a cracking restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You can't beat the location, as Manning's is straight out onto Lemon Quay square - especially at New Year when the fireworks can be seen from the square. On top of that the restaurant is truly excellent!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing and not value for money
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very disappointed with the hotel. The price was high but had no breakfast. My partner is undoing chemo and had to walk up two flights of stairs. Had only one towel in bathroom. The room was on the smalll side for two people. Wasn’t enough tea and coffee.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.2
    Very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like being at the back of the hotel above the rumbling kitchen air con units and no lift available

    Location was perfect, parking was ideal.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.3
    We were seeing an act at the Hall for Cornwall. This hotel was perfect; close by and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could've done with a stool or chair in the bedroom for getting ready. I.e, to use the mirror. There wasn't a plug in the sink for my hubby. We think someone may have taken it. But we told reception and also wrote a comment.

    The bed was very comfy. We had an upgrade to an apartment, so was really plush. We have stayed at Mannings before; in one of their rooms, and were really pleased with that too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.2
    Good stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only quibble was that I paid £8-00 for a breakfast and was charged £1-50 extra for coffee

    Comfortable room,,,excellent staff,,,not to noisy for a city centre location,,,all round excellent hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Lovely introduction to Truro
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lift? I didn't really need, but was lucky only to be up one flight

    Very comfortable bed; could open the window if wanted to; the restaurant staff were very helpful but not overly attentive - relaxing; and the food was fantastic

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    If we visit Truro again in the future we will definately
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We waited a long time for breakfast to be delivered to table

    Staff very friendly and very helpful, Bed very comfortable, Room tastefully furnished Great location in centre ot the town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.5
    Good location in the centre of Truro
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Lift and being "Upgraded" to the fourth (attic) floor, only to find the key cards did not work! Eventually moved to another room on same floor.

    Good quality restaurant as part of hotel and parking reasonably priced

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Excellent, staff amazing, rooms and breakfast fab
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel staff were amazing very helpful and could not do enough for us. Breakfast was simply the best, great selection and croissants were fab!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.5
    location great.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacking a lift for upper floors. third floor room quite small but was clean and well equipped.

    location great. Restaurant excellent for both food quality and service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.1
    Nice apartment, miscellaneous staff, some attention to details needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (Double)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freshly broken raw egg on the floor of lounge area Bathroom didn’t air well and became smelly after the first night. Could be more child safe. Bar emptying bottles into the trash can late at night was not ideal Breakfast room was dark and depressing.

    The apartment style rooms were quite nice. We extended by a day and would stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Helped to make a really great weekend away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Centre to all locations in Truro, great parking and breakfast.

    Very efficient and helpful at the reception, I will definitely be going back. Room 34 ( top of the hotel), nice view across the square. Bar staff very good at making an expresso martini and very friendly. Full Cornish breakfast fantastic as were the waiting staff. If you have a gig to go to at the Hall for Cornwall, (100 yards away), give Manning's a try, you will be pleasantly surprised

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    A perfect place for a short visit to Truro, but make sure you get a decent sized room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was just a little bit smaller that I would have liked, and at the top of several flights of stairs with no lift.

    An excellent location, right in the middle of Truro, and within easy walking distance of the Cathedral and other places of interest.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    4.2
    just ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old hotel with creaky floors, creaky doors and basic standard of fittings. Was told on arrival if I had booked direct I would have got a free breakfast but I would have to pay for it as I had booked through a site, didn't feel very friendly

    the hotel is centrally based

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent - good value for high standard hotel in good town centre location and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There isn't a lift - although it is an old building, and the staff will carry your bags.

    Very friendly helpful staff. Very nice modern decor. Excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel in a superb location with great food and drink, but let down by dated bedrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whilst the hotel itself is very smart the rooms are now looking pretty dated. They are also very simply furnished, at the same standard as a Premier Inn is these days. The style of the bedrooms don't match the stylish public areas of the hotel which is a great shame and a bit of let down. I guess the price reflects the bedrooms on offer, but I would happily pay more for a nicer bedroom. The bathroom was also very small with my pet hate (shower curtain that sticks to you!) and you have to remove the toilet roll from the holder to physically be able to sit on the loo!

    Nice historic townhouse hotel in a great City centre location surrounded by all the shops, bars and restaurants that Truro has to offer. Plus it has the great bonus of a large amount of secured parking right next to the hotel. The hotel is very stylish and has a great bar and restaurant. The breakfast was lovely too and the staff very friendly and helpful. The bedrooms and bathrooms are always very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.9
    Lovely area, good location, well worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked through booking.com but if we had booked via the hotel we would have got breakfast included for the same price. Parking great but £6 per day. No lift in the hotel.

    Location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    Good quality well presented hotel, spoilt by silly cost saving and general meanness.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Breakfast £115 and no breakfast in 2017!!! £6 for parking. Only wavered, after I complained. No night porter bar service.

    Really friendly staff on arrival. Especially night porter

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mannings Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: