Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Greater London hotel reviews
  4. London hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Royal Horseguards

Reviews of The Royal Horseguards 5 stars

2 Whitehall Court, Westminster Borough, London, SW1A 2EJ, United Kingdom

#198 of 1,068 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2210 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2019

    7.5
    location was great,the room had a good view and was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Room King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast was adequate but i have had better quality and choice at other hotels.some staff were unfriendly and overbearing.

    location was great,the room had a good view and was serviced every day.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2019

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel located downtown...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only stayed for one night - would have been fun to be there for more nights...

    Location is fantastic, very clean and nice old fashion hotel. Service excellent.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2019

    7.1
    Great location , nice staff but facilities need to be updated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit tired. Lights didn't work -someone should check occasionally. TV selections were terrible! Shower didn't work and dripped for hours. Printer in lobby without toner. Breakfast was cold. Hot water faucet could barely be moved. A disappointing experience.

    Nice location.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2019

    9.2
    When we had a leak in our room the hotel service staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The awkwardness at breakfast was difficult. Some of the staff spoke in their own language, not English and the manner was variable.

    When we had a leak in our room the hotel service staff were very apologetic and accommodating putting us in a different room immediately.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2019

    9.6
    Great for a city break if looking to take in a West End show
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excellent location. Close to centre of things but secluded and quiet. Friendly staff. Well appointed rooms if a bit on the small side. Great English breakfast. handy 12noon check out.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2019

    9.6
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the only thing I could comment on is that the beds were very narrow . For a hotel of this calibre it would be nice to have two small doubles rather than the very small singles. It would just add that little extra that I think is the let down to the hotel.

    Fabulous breakfast, lots of choice. Staff were amazing as I was travelling with someone with a disability, they were fabulous with him. Excellent location,

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2019

    5.0
    Extremely disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden View King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in took 20 mins plus Wrong food brought in restaurant Scraped sauce off wrong food. Inedible for my son Rooms very tired with stains on carpets I had an email yesterday asking how it was going. I was told I would have a response within 2 hours. Still waiting. The hotel has aspirations to be 5 Star, but it really isn’t. It’s a coaching stop, nothing more.

    Not much

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2019

    9.5
    Great,,,,except for the shower .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even tho a bath shower, AND a cubicle shower, both were abysmal from a user point of view. They LOOK great....but functionality NOT. Complex controls with NO instructions. And BOTH hand held shower outlets had NO WALL BRACKET...having to hold ALL THE TIME, AWFUL.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2019

    8.3
    I would rebook in the future but hopefully get a larger room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Room King Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was a little pricy given the size of the small room but the view of the Thames and London Eye were worth it.

    I loved the proximity of the hotel to all of the main London attractions as well as how close it is to the Embankment Underground station.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2019

    4.6
    I stayed in the hotel 4 years ago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed poorly made and not turned down. View of an air conditioning unit. Shabby entrance and lift.

    I stayed in the hotel 4 years ago. My sense was it has gone downhill since then. Maybe a new owner??

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2019

    10
    Location was so central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location was so central. Size of the room and appointment with a sofa, chairs, large bathroom with bath and shower. They fitted a rollaway bed for our daughter for £60 per night extra.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2019

    9.2
    A grand English hotel in a great location offering excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was relatively small but very well appointed. A queen size bed would be more appropriate in a deluxe river view room. There is an enormous amount of building works going on in London at the moment and there is some noise during the day from construction work on the Thames.

    Lovely quintessential English hotel in the heart of W1. The staff were professional and most welcoming. Walking distance to many key attractions including the theatre district. The river view room provided a fabulous view of the London Eye right around to St Paul's cathedral Breakfast room was large and comfortable and as expected offered a good English breakfast. GF bread was available on request.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2019

    4.6
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet does not work It takes hours to get any service to answer Food at the restaurant is not good We were placed in the room facing the construction site and the noise level was horrible Staff is polite but clueless about basic functions of the hotel and not helpful at all.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2019

    7.1
    the location is good, only a few minutes walk to London Eye...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • River View Room Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the location is good, only a few minutes walk to London Eye and Westminster. Close to underground stations. east transport around London and to the airports

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2019

    10
    Another fantastic stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Room King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Another fantastic stay. Staff very helpful. View from room over looking eye and london was superb as was the location. Terrace bar great place to spend an afternoon especially in the warm weather.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2019

    9.6
    Beautiful property, and wonderfully appointed facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms need some attention. The showers water pressure needs to be made adjustable - it’s VERY high, which isn’t relaxing for a rainfall shower, and causes flooding in the bathroom. The restaurant staff needs a refresher course in manners. Everyone else in the building went above and beyond to give outstanding service (especially Jason, the doorman), but the restaurant staff made us feel unwelcome, and like an annoyance.

    Beautiful property, and wonderfully appointed facilities. 95% of the staff is AMAZINGLY helpful. The location is wonderful, and the rooms are gorgeous.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2019

    5.8
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was hot and we indicated that to the staff. The thermostat had a blinking red light indicating an issue. This was a problem and it was not fixed during our stay. The room was relatively small and not a value for amount charged.

    The location was excellent. The wait staff and concierge were good and helpful suggesting options such as how to get around the area. As well, the locations and quality of nearby restaurants were very helpful. The directions that were provided were on point.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2019

    10
    Excellent staff, beautiful rooms and excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant looked dated an uninspiring - it reminded me of a restaurant at an aiport. For a five start hotel the place mats on the tables looked cheap and were fraying at the ends.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2019

    9.6
    Breakfast service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Room Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service. Saturday there was no room at 8:15 Sunday - our tea was cleared away between cereal and cooked. No offer of a la carte options on either day.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2019

    10
    Brilliant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfy beds Received a free upgrade as we wrote on the booking that we were celebrating an anniversary, also had a cake wirh a happy anniversary message in sauce left for us Great breakfast Lovely staff Fab location

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2019

    7.9
    Excellent location just off Embankment and easy links to all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room with an adjoining door, which was not in use, but does not afford decent soundproofing and so we were woken at 1.30am by our neighbour who was on FaceTime. I had to go knock on his door and ask to quieten down as we were still awake at 2am!! When the next room was empty there was no issue, but on the last day the new neighbours alarm woke us, twice, as they had clearly gone to the shower and not turned off the snooze function. The adjoining doors do not offer adequate soundproofing and we think that unless rooms in use by a family who need it, they should occupy one of the rooms.

    Excellent location just off Embankment and easy links to all the places we wanted to visit. Breakfast was nicely presented and plentiful. Staff were always polite and helpful. Room was cleaned daily.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2019

    9.2
    great stay. i cycled 65 miles for charity and enjoyed the relaxing hotel afterwards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i did not like the cost of 2 jack daniels and coke 40.00 for 2 drinks is very exstoranate to say the least

    locatin fantasic. rooms stunning. staff lovely and friendly

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2019

    9.6
    breakfast was excellent and the staff were exceptional.
    • Couple
    • River View Room King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was well appointed but was on the small side for a Kingsize.

    breakfast was excellent and the staff were exceptional. The bathroom was lovely . The complimentary minibar was a nice touch although would have been better with the addition of some wine.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2019

    10
    The device from all staff was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like !

    The device from all staff was excellent. The hotel was clean , quiet and luxurious. Lovely room which afforded a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2019

    5.4
    Dissappointing. as the room was very unsatisfactory but the staff were friendly and food good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning didn't work, the room was hot after a warm day which made me wake up with a bad headache. It obviously hadn't worked for a while as the controller had no buttons. There was an oil heater obviously for winter which indicated that the A/Con hadn't worked for some time. They put a fan in our room as you couldn't open the bathroom window and the patio door 6 inches. We were looking forward to a nice stay after 8 weeks travelling but disappointed after paying the high price for a couple of days.

    Staff were friendly and the food was very good

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2019

    8.8
    The booking was made by me on behalf of my daughter who had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The booking was made by me on behalf of my daughter who had been travelling abroad for some time. On check in they were asked to make a credit card deposit even though the room and breakfast had been prepaid. They noticed that a guest immediately in front of them had not been asked to make this deposit, and believed it was because they were less presentable given the long journey they had just completed, and that they were relatively young. This to me spoiled their experience and demonstrated a lack of trust towards guests who had paid in advance. Not cool.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2019

    9.6
    The kind of hotel you hope to find that meets, or in this case, exceeds expectations!!!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • River View Room King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of anything.

    Loved the location and attention to detail in the room! Staff was incredibly helpful and friendly with a nice amount of humor. Would stay here again in a flash -- one of our best stays after many years of coming to London.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2019

    8.3
    Beautiful building, upgraded room was super disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room felt like and attic room. No direct windows facing out. Very disappointing given the rest of the hotel.

    The property is fantastically steeped in history and has such a beautifully maintained interior. Staff very very attentive

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2019

    9.2
    This hotel's location makes it a real winner but it is also of a good standard with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I don't think there was anything we didn't like. It is not a trendy hotel if that is what you are looking for but it had all the amenities anyone could need for a short city break. Breakfast was the usual buffet style and it was of a decent standard.

    The location was superb. We were able to walk just about everywhere so saved money on travel costs around the city. Although the hotel is very centrally located, it is in a quiet street and away from any hustle and bustle. Not only that, it is about a minute's walk to Embankment tube station and the Playhouse theatre. Staff at the hotel were excellent and extremely friendly.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2019

    8.8
    The facilities at the hotel were excellent, and all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities at the hotel were excellent, and all the staff we encountered were both helpful and polite and went out of their way to assist. The room was very spacious and comfortable. Breakfast included a great selection of choices - everything fresh and well presented.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2019

    8.8
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv in room very basic. Breakfast good except for the baked bacon which was inedible

    Staff where wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. The location is fantastic

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2019

    10
    Exceptional comfortable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Our suite was amazing and beyond expectations with all the nice little touches like hydrotherapy bath, free minibar, viewing room - with an amazing view of the Thames and stocked tea and coffee. All the staff were exceptional and made us feel very welcome. I was very happy when they went the extra mile To help me celebrate my birthday which I was not expecting, this was a lovely personal touch.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2019

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • River View Room King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed with our friends and I booked 2 river view king bedrooms but our room was much smaller than theirs. Their bathroom had a walk in shower as well as a bath and was also much bigger. The price was the same as ours. Our TV did not have a great picture and the TV in the bathroom didn’t work at all. We couldn’t find any tea and coffee in our room but apparently they are hidden at the back of the drawer in the dressing table!

    Very comfortable beds, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2019

    7.1
    Very comfortable but expensive hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't get the overhead shower to work - there seemed no way to switch that one on.

    The location is fantastic. The staff gave us a piece of birthday cake which was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2019

    10
    Perfect Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was not long enough!

    Lovely reception greeting and so lovely to have received an upgrade to a garden room without even asking. Special 3 night break we booked as a surprise for my husband's birthday. We had a lovely comfortable room with balcony overlooking the garden and service by all staff was excellent and professional. Would definitely recommend for business or pleasure as excelled location too

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2019

    7.1
    We haven’t checked out yet,so am not finishing this survey!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Room Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This,asking for a rating before we leave.Some staff,eg: bar staff,quite offhand. Ridiculous dry cleaning charge,good place over the road! Fabulous room with a view.

    Good size room.Fatima,and doorman were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2019

    9.6
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic location. This was the second time I stayed at the Royal Horseguards and would do so again. The staff looked after us very well. It's probably not a common occurrence to have two touring cyclists turn up in lycra on bicycles but the staff from the doorman on were great.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2019

    8.3
    Good hotel but let down by poor reception/maintenance staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden View King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reported issue with TV to reception. Not fixed. No idea if anyone ever came to check it out. Agreed at check in to have discounted price for b’fast (£18 instead of £27). Didn’t have b’fast after all but was still charged as I’d opted for the discounted price. This not explained at check in. Sharp practice so beware!

    Large, beautifully furnished room. Huge and super comfy bed. Limited river view but OK for one night. Friendly, efficient bar and restaurant staff. Terrace, lounge, restaurant and bar all very comfortable and nicely furnished.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2019

    9.6
    Good except for poor hotel management of dining room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor management of acceptable dress code in dining room (American guest at adjacent table in shorts and trainers, open shirt, and baseball cap on backwards whilst other guests had dressed for dinner). Poor management of dining room function / noise levels (group of 5 or 6 young American males moved chairs around two females and proceeded to conduct loud “chat-up” which was more appropriate to the nearby bar Completely destroyed our intended intimate dinner in an upmarket London hotel

    Old world ambience

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2019

    7.1
    Reasonably good- would I come back in terms of value for money-NO
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charging GBP 5 for delivering a sandwich to the room was a rip off on top of 8GBP for the sandwich itself which was way less than satisfactory left a sour taste in my mouth! Above is the reason I am moving out when I need to extend my stay for another night!

    Staff were friendly and courteous, bed was comfortable, breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2019

    7.9
    Could be better vis à vis value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit lacking when one considers the fact that it is a five star hotel and the nightly rate. Breakfast orange juice was from a carton and omelettes and eggs Benedict were at an extra cost. Towel heating rail didn't work nor did the bath TV which would otherwise have been a really cool feature. They offer a free mini bar but choice is very poor. A smell of cigarette smoke seemed to infiltrate the bathroom through extractor.

    Staff are very friendly, helpful and efficient. Check in and check out were fast and smooth. Concierge service is excellent. Excellent location. Very clean and very tastefully decorated with quality furnishings. Beautiful building and lobby. Very good WiFi.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2019

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Room King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was perfect

    Everything! Location! Comfortable room with comfortable bed. Room with a view! Ferry, bus and tube right there! Great hot breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2019

    9.2
    Very responsive cheery staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor communication between housekeeping senior staff and maids as room had not been made up as requested and agreed via Booking.com Nothing suitable to eat from room service for coeliac friend. She had to eat a bag of crisps instead of a much needed sandwich

    Very responsive cheery staff

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2019

    9.6
    top location top staff great food great beer ....what more can i say ??
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing and it is as simple as that

    location location location........myself and my fiance have stayed hear several times in the past eight years and the staff facilities and location makes us come back each and every time. food service cleanliness and appointment are with out doubt some of the best in town and the only point that holds this fantastic residence back from others is the fact its not cheaper......happy stay folks.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2019

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden View King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was on the 8th floor when I booked a river view. The windows were tiny and offered no view as we were literally in the raves of the building. Bathroom small. Not my favorite room.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2019

    9.2
    Great location. Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow check in although they did apologise. Not a great view and birthday treat not recognised sadly. Other clientele closing their doors rattled through your headboard!! Extremely Loud!!! Shower Curtain over bath - rather dated this day and age!! Old televisions (Philips) poor visual quality and No Subtitles.

    Leo waiter in restaurant for breakfast was really helpful, such a nice young man. Breakfast is excellent with plenty of choice. Lobby nice and spacious Friendly staff. Great location Beds & Pillows very comfortable. Good size room

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2019

    9.6
    The Royal Horseguards is an excellent hotel to stay in the Trafalgar Square area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was central to most everything we wanted to see and do. The grounds were beautiful and immaculate. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2019

    6.3
    Not happy. Paid £700 for two sleepless nights and back ache
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Room Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was awful. Too small and someone thought it would be a good idea to put a thick mattress liner on the bed which was six inches too small so when you lay on the bed you were not flat and leaning off the edge of the bed which caused a bad nights sleep and back ache. I’ve taken photos and will be claiming so form of compensation for this.

    The views

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2019

    7.1
    Excellent location and fascinating history reflecting the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff in the tea room not friendly . Service not up to par with the standard of the hotel. Suite cleanliness could be better.

    Excellent location and fascinating history reflecting the hotels background.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2019

    9.6
    It was perfect! Beyond our expectations. 5 thumbs up!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!!

    From the minute we arrived in the hotel we were greeted with warm friendly, helpful and courteous hotel employees - from the porters to the concierge and everyone in between. We were given a fabulous room, possibly because we had booked for three nights, I don’t know, but it was big, spacious, with an exceptionally comfortable bed. We ate breakfast there every morning. The continental breakfast kept us well fed for hours!!!! Thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our stay.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2019

    8.8
    Great location, but quite expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • River View Room King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even at 350£ a night, breakfast wasn’t included. Paid mostly for location. The view was great, but for some safety restrictions, balcony windows were locked off. Only heat worked, no AC. so got very hot at night. Found chips with fungus in there mini bar, but actually staff responded well and said they will deal with it properly.

    Location, walkable to all major attractions. Trafalgar Square, Big Ben, The London eye, it was all right there. Always smiling staff. Did not make a big deal of the kids staying with us in one room. Reasonable prices 24hr room service. Complimentary and loaded mini bar with water, coke, beer, and snacks. View of Thames, London eye and the plaza from the room.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2019

    9.2
    Great place for romantic short term stay - but not the place to have a delicious breakfast or lunch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Room Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant food not pleasant - Food for lunch: Club sandwich over toasted and no trimmings - not nicely served. Fried fish - not fresh and overcooked. Breakfast - very disappointing for 5 star hotel - buffet bacon not crispy and congealed together. Fried eggs cooked as in a canteen - all the same and too dry. Waited to be offered tea or coffee a long time.

    Location was excellent and views especially at night romantic.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2019

    6.7
    Okay hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The soundproofing between our room and our neighbours was very poor we did not sleep at all as they were extremely noisy! Our fridge in the room made an awful racket as Well.

    Good location nice bar.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2019

    8.3
    fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi aircondition did not work room facilities are 4* class, not 5* / bad toileteries average breakfast

    fantastic location impressive building floor heating in the bathroom

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2019

    7.5
    Not without problems.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Process at Reception was difficult to obtain what we were requesting. Initial room was already occupied when we tried to enter. Second room was ok although our extend period in the room was curtailed when we returned to the hotel the room had been re-occupied! Had to be allocated yet another room to complete our stay.

    Location ideal for activities.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2019

    10
    My in-laws from Japan stayed the hotel for about a week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    My in-laws from Japan stayed the hotel for about a week. Stuff and rooms are wonderful. My parents will stay from 29 May at this hotel because I really like there.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2019

    9.6
    The staff were very helpful and friendly and the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside for us was that we our breakfast was cleared before we had finished and it felt very rushed to get us out of the breakfast room.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly and the room was very comfortable and an excellent size. The location is also amazing.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2019

    10
    This hotel is always the good place to be in London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is always the good place to be in London. It is near all what you wnat to visit or just at 5 minutes in subway. In the morning you can go to walk at St James Park in just 5 minutes and after if you want to eat or go shopping you are at just 5 minutes too to Coven Garden. Really it's just the perfect hotel in London for me. Thanks you very much for all !

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2019

    6.3
    Beautiful hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy room - could hear people next door sneeze - noise from the street difficult to bear at night and I am not a light sleeper. Unhappy given the price per night.

    Beautiful hotel. Excellent location-wise. Rich breakfast. Very clean.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2019

    7.1
    Good stay and would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    VAT added onto Dinner account. However not listed on menu prices. Misleading - early bird discount was good but then offset by VAT therefore actually no discount received overall ! Reception did not inform on arrival they were going to take £50.00 incidentals on credit card. No problem but should have been informed at the time by staff. It would have been nice to be able to sit outside for Breakfast - probably a manpower issue but 5 star should accommodate this facility. Water available reception area but only two glasses available ? On a hot day the demand was greater than two.

    Bed comfortable Public areas very clean Reastaurant staff attentive, even when a long queue to be seated at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2019

    5.4
    Great location, shame about the room we were up graded to, very noisy at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not being able to close the windows in the bedroom. Very noisy at night and during the night outside of the hotel could not sleep, no sound proofing due to no locks on the windows! Hall floor to bathroom dirty. TV not working in the bathroom. Room needs a refurbishment.

    Breakfast was plentiful lots of choice. Bed was comfortable with a large room and large bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2019

    9.2
    Enjoyable and relaxing apart from couple of moans would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room view would have liked complete river view thought I’d paid extra for that only had side view! Advertising hearing loop connection on reception then they couldn’t find it said they contact us with it but didn’t!

    Location excellent clean friendly hotel lovely cocktails contact from hotel re my disability was excellent and prompt.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2019

    10
    The location is prefect for the theatre and restaurant that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was advertised (on booking.com) that the hotel had parking. They didn’t. The nearest parking is 6 minutes away (no big deal) but the hotel has issues trying to sort out vale parking for me (sent me documents that I could not open), which in the event was extortionate at £110 for a £41 parking fee. I eventually sorted out my own parking. One other point, they need to sort out the sewage smell in the main bar.

    The location is prefect for the theatre and restaurant that we were visiting.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2019

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel in a fantastic location. Room was lovely, breakfast was very good and the staff were lovely, so polite and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2019

    10
    Beautiful rooms in historic building in garden setting along the Thames
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Powerpoints on either side of the bed would have been helpful

    Beautiful hotel in historic building. Great location. Attentive staff, clean rooms, comfortable bed, luxe bathroom. A real treat!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2019

    9.6
    There's a feeling of security, and the staff make every effort to ensure guests' comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • River View Room King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast can be a little chaotic if you're not there early, but really it's no great issue.

    Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Just when you might think your experience is being derailed (eg. coffee and toast at breakfast are delivered to the table cold), when you point this out you receive an apology and a piping hot fresh coffee and toast.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2019

    9.2
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Room King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was told at check in that breakfast was included only to be charged at check out.

    Great room and location, breakfast was really good but the food in the restaurant was a bit hit and miss.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2019

    9.6
    Excellent hotel and location - we will definately be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pizza (out of hours room service) did not meet expectations and there was far too much cheese on it.

    The location is perfect, ideal for touring around London and we had a wonderful view of the Thames and Embankment. The breakfast was very good quality products and there was plenty of it.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2019

    9.2
    Luxury, comfort, perfect location, friendly staff and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    I emailed the hotel the week before we stayed to let them know it was my husband's birthday and we got a free upgrade to an apartment suite on the top floor! It was fantastic and we would definitely recommend the hotel- situated just across the river from the London Eye, few minutes to Westminster, Trafalgar Square etc- great location. The hotel is beautiful and very luxurious but definitely not stuffy- the staff were all so friendly and helpful. It's not cheap but we'd definitely stay again for a treat.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2019

    9.6
    I shall be returning, hopefully in the not too distant future ... I love it!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have already stayed in this hotel and love it!! The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful, the food is good and the location excellent ... I really hope to stay again in the near future!!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2019

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We spent our wedding night here and the staff couldn’t be more attentive. Our room had been decorated and we had been left chocolates and sparkling wine to celebrate our new life together.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2019

    7.5
    Dissappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure whether us booking through booking.com made a difference in the way that we were treated, our room wasn’t ready so we waited a couple of hours. When we got the room it was someone else’s room luckily they were out! We then waited again for our twin room and on arrival it was dark, window couldn’t be shut and was rattling. The single beds were very close together and it just didn’t have a nice feel to it. We were moved again to another room which was brighter but sadly it didn’t have a bath, something I will be double check in the future. We were moved again and this time the room was perfect, the complimentary wine very nice touch. Having arrived at the hotel at after 12 we eventually got to a room and settled down at around 1545. The music in the seating area did not suit the style of the hotel, I know a couple from the USA made comment, after a long flight they were relaxing until the rap style music came on, just didn’t suit the ambience of this beautiful building. Difficulty in getting taxi as local roads shut so we went out and tried to find one, luckily we did. A disabled customer needed a taxi and a staff member had to go out running in the roads to try a flag a taxi down. We witnessed this and luckily the taxi he had stopped could not turnaround to get to the hotel and took us instead as we were going In the direction he was headed. Just a shame for those waiting back at the hotel, unfortunate when there are road closures it impacts on you getting a cab. It was always my dream to stay at this hotel but I would never book the double single again and the ambience wasn’t as nice as I expected.

    Some of the staff who helped us in getting us to the correct room.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2019

    4.2
    Disappointing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely poor service on checkin (incl not even an offer to help with bags). Rooms are well outdated and not sound proof. Rooms are pokey and a bed on wheels is unbelievable for what is supposed to be. 5 star hotel. Room service menu is very limited and closes at 9:30 for main options. I would barely rate the hotel at 3.5 stars. Very disappointing.

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2019

    4.6
    Our stay was so disappointing that we will not be returning to TRH.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The mattresses were of poor quality, and they were very worn and lumpy. I told a staff member that the mattress was uncomfortable and worn. We slept on it one night, and I went back the next morning and asked for another room. Both of the times I told staff members the bed was uncomfortable, I received the same reaction--feigned surprise. We were moved to another room. The second room's mattress was better but not by much. It could easily have joined the other mattress in the dumpster. The second night we were in this room I noticed a dark shadow under the flat sheet on the quilted mattress cover. It was an old PERIOD STAIN that was a bit larger than a golf ball. There were multiple kinds and colors of hairs on the pad, too. The bedding was changed around 3:30 a.m. The manager gave us 25% off for the night, but that was after I expressed my disgust. I asked for a free night, but I was told it was impossible. In addition to all of this, one of the days it took two calls to get our room cleaned. The waste baskets, dirty towels, etc. were left, and only the bed was made. Needless to stay, we do not recommend this hotel.

    We were thoroughly disappointed.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2019

    10
    I would come back for special occasions
    • Couple
    • River View Room Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noth8ng

    The staff were lovely Ellie on the front desk was so helpful. The room was beaut9full adding sheets pillows cleanliness excellent and near to the tube and Covent garden

    Stayed in April 2019

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse The Royal Horseguards traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: