Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

18-22 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh, EH7 5AQ, United Kingdom

#107 of 138 hotels in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 345 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    5.0
    The room was spacious, clean and comfortable and overlooked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel decor was very drab. We booked on the basis that there was a pool (as advertised when booking on the Crowne Plaza website, although this was denied by the front desk), the pool was closed!! The gym was passable. We booked, with the front desk, and NEEDED a taxi for 7pm. This did not appear and there was no great urgency to get us one. Really didnt enjoy the experience for what we paid. A very poor Crowne Plaza.

    The room was spacious, clean and comfortable and overlooked a very nice garden.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    8.3
    Good location and good breakfast with plenty on offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not really we were quite happy with our stay.

    We had a nice big room but with no outlook as we were one floor down. Breakfast was good . The bathroom off the room we had obviously had not been checked out after being refurbed because due to the shower screen not fitting properly the floor was virtually flooded after a shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    6.3
    Reasonable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast overcooked, coffee very strong, beds hard and pilliows not comfortable, bar area lacked any atmosphere, but we do understand renovations are taking place

    Lovely traditional building good area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    9.2
    We got access to the Club Lounge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As we were in a bit of a rush to get to a show we weren’t told about the club lounge properly and what was included in it. We would have made more use of it if we knew that alcoholic drinks were also complimentary.

    We got access to the Club Lounge. Staff were lovely! Food was great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    6.3
    My 60th birthday. Treat disappointed.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we booked with booking.com we paid in full non refundable. No mention of pool closed and massive refurbishment due. Floor covered in plastic every where We went through building site to gym. Hotel tired chipped walls paint stained carpets Windows didn,t open in bedroom. Staff said that they were inoperable Stains on ceiling in bedroom not worth over. £200 ponds a night We complained. They told us that the pool is out of use permanently but booking .com said there was a pool . Staff said booking.com knew that building work was due. I am sure in the future the hotel will be amazing after refurbishment.

    Breakfast excellent Staff delightful. Very attentive Good location Could leave luggage all day after check out

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    6.3
    Good location near the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Car park off site. No reduction given when car park ticket stamped by hotel as was promised. On going refurbishment of facilities makes it not good value for money. No staff to greet you at breakfast at the door - staff looking at mobile phones instead of attending to residents at breakfast.

    Good location near the city centre. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    5.5
    Hotel was being refurbished and we were not told about this
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    TV didn't work properly and couldn't watch Royal Wedding. No lounge. Skip outside. Carpet in bedroom did not look like it had been hoovered.

    The staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    5.8
    It worked, but was not a comfortable accomodation, but with very friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loose tiles in bathroom, broken off leg at the bed, Cookie crumbles on the carpet in the room, plugged sink drain, the corridor to the room was partly a construction site. This did not match with the high Price.

    Very friendly and accomodating staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    7.5
    Our stay was good but for the water in the bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was woken up on the sunday early by water pouring in from the ceiling vents in the bedroom.

    the hotel was clean and the staff helpful, beds comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    10
    Brilliant central city hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food was a bit over priced for what you got.

    The staff were all excellent, the hotels newly renovated reception area opened on our first day and looked amazing, can't wait to see how the rest of the refurbishment goes. The location was perfect for us with wonderful views over the Firth of Fourth and a quick walk into the very heart of the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    9.2
    Good Hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice location and nice rooms.The staff were good and helpful.Local attractions are nearby.Would recomend this place to stay.Breakfast spread was also good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    7.9
    Relaxing sleep and enjoyable breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room 111 which had the wall of the elevator incorporated into it and was very small. There was also a problem with the fire alarm

    The first room we were allocated was awful but after speaking with staff, we were moved to a superior room which was very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    10
    Mid week break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The tv channels were not working for first 2 days but was resolved once we raised the issue at reception.

    It was in a lovely quiet area, the staff were lovely & helpful. We stayed in a club room so had complimentary nibbles & drinks in the club lounge which was well worth the price, we stayed Mon-Fri so was nice & quiet! The only downside was the pool was closed which we didn't realise at the time of booking but this was more a fault on booking.com than with the hotel itself. Will definitely be staying again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic stay, location is key!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy whistling air con.

    Staff are fantastic and can’t do Enough for you. Sorted an issue out with professionalism and efficiency. Breakfast is tasty and filling with lots of choice. The room is lovely and beds comfy. Location is fantastic for the theatre and surrounding area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    9.6
    Will stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Everything was great. A pity you have closed your pool, but other than that it was great. Enjoyed the location and the walk into the main area of Edinburgh. Fabulous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    5.8
    Dissappointing for a special stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Awful porridge and pancakes at breakfast. Unmentioned building work with reception and pool shut. 10th wedding anniversary celebration after marrying in the hotel and no acknowledgement of it!

    Excellent location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location a short walk from the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioning and a couple of lights in the room didn't work. Building works had just begun as we arrived.

    Excellent location a short walk from the centre. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    7.1
    Staff were very kind and they addressed promptly to all our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room service can be improved: TV service not working for almost 2 days. Linen not very clean the day we arrrived (we asked staff to replace it the day after). Room coffee/tea service was not properly re-filled during our stay.

    Staff were very kind and they addressed promptly to all our questions/requests.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    6.7
    Nice room, great breakfast, unacceptable that we were not notified about the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked this hotel primarily because it had a swimming pool. Therefore, you can imagine our huge disappointment to be advised that it was now permanently closed. If we knew at the time of booking that the pool would not have been available, we would have booked a more central hotel.

    Breakfast was really good with very helpful staff. Reception staff also helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    7.1
    The bed was super comfy and it was in a lovely old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked this hotel as it specified a swimming pool. We were informed on check in that it was not in operation and being removed. Very disappointing, as we would've chosen another venue.

    The bed was super comfy and it was in a lovely old building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    7.1
    concerge very very good pleasant very well mannered helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very cold bar to radiators only one turned on having to ask for fried eggs this was not on the warm plate also food just hot more warm

    concerge very very good pleasant very well mannered helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    7.5
    Reconsider - No Pool, Long Walk, Uphill, Far from all in Edinburgh - need to use taxis
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I called ahead and asked about the facilities. All was fine. Upon arrival I requested the pool location and was told the pool was not available due to new regulations requiring a lifeguard. I had chosen this hotel due to it having a pool. The pool is still listed on their website and Booking.com as available. I was told by the front desk that was not the case. I then looked right on their website and Booking.com and saw the pool still listed. Hotel is about 20 minutes walk from everything fun in Edinburgh. Also, to get anywhere you need to walk uphill all the way. I was never told about the IHG members lounge which is on the property. I found out about it after looking for the business centre which was not working at the time. After considering these ideas I will not be staying at this location again for business or personal.

    Staff are very friendly. Everything very clean. Concierge helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    5.8
    For £182 I expected better size room and more helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was cramped for a King size and bed was lobsided/slanted to the headboard. We went down for breakfast and it was nice to help yourself as there was very little staff on hand to help and was told to wait! before asking for a pot of tea whilst the only staff member sorted the toaster !

    Room floor was uneven and bed was lobsided

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    5.4
    Over promised and under delivered!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has a 4* rating. However, the whole place is scruffy and tired and in need of refurbishment and maintenance work. The Manager told us that the refurbishment programme is underway but it had not reached our room! Breakfast was not a good experience with no-one stationed at the dining room entrance albeit you are asked to 'wait to be seated'. We had a table directly in front of the fire exit. The wall had food or drink stains all over it and the dining room in general seemed a bit grubby. Buffet style breakfast, the continental option was very limited. Some cold ham, a little cheese and what looked like mackerel didn't make that a very appealing choice! The cooked breakfast included potato scones which were totally dry and so unappetising in appearance that they were not being chosen alongside black pudding literally swimming in fat! My husband was given a teapot which was quite clearly stained on the outside with goodness knows what. I also didn't like that I paid Booking.com £50 more than the direct hotel rate! Wouldn't stay in this hotel again and will be very hesitant about using Booking.com again too.

    The location of this hotel is excellent. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and the bed fairly comfortable. We did not think our stay was of 4* quality and raised our concerns with the Reception Manager on check out who dealt with our issues and actually gave us a small refund as a gesture of good will. He also said that he would ensure that we were upgraded to a refurbished room should we choose to stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    9.2
    Relaxed and comfortable. Will be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reinstating the use of the swimming pool. As there were still signs for it but when asked to use it I was told it was closed.

    Very pleasant staff. Comfy bed. Very quiet room with great views of the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    7.5
    Room was cold when l got in.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower pumps in corridor noisy.

    Room was cold when l got in. Put the heating on and shut the heavy curtains. Wonderful cosy room in minutes. Bed was wonderful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    7.1
    Staff were very friendly and room was comfortable with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No access to swimming pool due to work being done on it. We were not informed of this in advance and primarily booked the hotel due to leisure facilities. Also, the water supple was turned off from 10am Monday 19th and this was an inconvenience.

    Staff were very friendly and room was comfortable with a nice view of back garden.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    4.2
    Dissapointing hotel poor value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was tiny, so small in fact that I had to turn sideways and bend over the bed slightly to get between the bottom of the bed and the wall with the huge tv hanging off of it! ( not a huge tv in a good way but in an old fashioned way!) room was pretty tired and shabby the headboard was very worn there was a huge chip out of the bath. The corridors were very tired as well! We asked for an ice bucket and glasses to be taken up to the room we ended up giving up and I went down to the bar to get one! Also asked for a dental kit which the reception said they would send up but never did! There was a tour party chucking in when we left so didn’t manage to check out before I left as our taxi arrived!

    There was nothing positive in my opinion! Tired run down property doesn’t really deserve the fourth star!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely relaxing few days and the staff were always on hand to help, the food was delicious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t like the fact that the pool was closed and this was not mentioned at the time of booking and the pool was the main reason we booked this hotel. The staff did offer an alternative place to swim and said they would supply transport but we didn’t really want to go out with the hotel to swim.

    I felt the staff couldn’t do enough for you, very attentive and manerable, we were given an upgrade as the initial room we were given was very small.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    7.9
    Quite good location, typical Crowne Plaza venue. You know what you’re getting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The swimming pool was closed for maintenance during our stay, which one of the main reasons for booking this hotel. We were offered the use of a nearby health club though.

    Great customer service by all staff, particularly great considering the weather conditions at the time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    5.8
    Good location but needs upgrading Edinburgh has a lot of good hotels plaza just came up short ! I
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of information on pool being out of order ? Room could have done with a dust ? Just in general it looked wee bit tired so management need to look at offering?

    Recepcion team and check out was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    7.5
    Staff lovely and couldn’t do enough for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was ridiculously noisy. You could hear the a/c constantly but also the people in the next room when they took a shower or bath. The noise from that was so loud it woke us both late in the night (1am) and very early (6am). We have to say that did spoil it for us. Also card machine not working in the bar and pool out of action. We weren’t impressed with that. We paid a lot of money to stay in what otherwise was a lovely hotel and it didn’t meet our expectation sadly.

    Staff lovely and couldn’t do enough for us. Breakfast and evening meal lovely too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    6.7
    Did the job but so would a Premier Inn tbh..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room looking slightly tired. Mattress not the best. Pool out of service. So considering the price, a little disappointing.

    Staff, breakfast both excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    6.3
    Value for money, Staff Excellent! Walk-able to all the main attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Staff were very good 100%. Swimming pool being refurbished which we were not aware of,. But complementary use of one nearby. ( we didn't use it). Had a few issues on checking in . But Staff were excellent. Would I stay here again if visiting Edinburgh.? Definitely!! Value for money!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    7.1
    This is my preferred hotel in Edinburgh but it's standard has slipped and needs to improve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The smell of paint in the corridor; the noise of the man next door snoring all night I could live with. But the breakfast was quite simply one of the worst offerings I have experienced in an hotel of this standard. The food was lukewarm and greasy and the scrambled eggs weren't properly cooked. My made to order poached eggs saved the day, but this was a huge disappointment especially as I have stayed here before and the breakfast has been great.

    The room was compact but well appointed, the bathroom was small and functional but the over bath shower was difficult to access and the grab rail was loose so not to be relied in!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    6.7
    Hotel location fine, evening meal and room comfort just acceptable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was too hot and the A/C did not stay on more than 4 minutes each time it went on. The window would not open and looked like it was sealed closed with paint. I appreciate the to should not be too loud but to be charged £16+ for the movies package and not able to clear the sound or even put subtitles on was very disappointing. We had an eventful no meal in th bear and although tasted ok after travelling 5 hours to get to the hotel to then receive 6 chips was extremely disappointing

    Breakfast was fine, bed very comfy, room a bit too small

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    5.8
    Satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    State in two different rooms in in both the water from the shower was so scolding on the min setting that I could not take a shower.

    Average hotel at a fair price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    2.9
    Very very dissapointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with 2 Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything in this hotel was tired, including the staff as they were not engaging and appeared to be unhappy at having to work the weekend.

    Do not stay here. Very disappointing to say the least.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    7.5
    Had a great weekend,not sure if we would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was cold and didn’t really heat up,there was a bit of a draft coming in the windows,the iron in the room wasn’t great.

    Breakfast was nice,location was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent stay - would definitely recommend & hope to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very hot, even with heating turned off. Pool area & ladies changing room could do with sprucing up a little

    Excellent staff - nothing was too much trouble & very friendly. Excellent breakfast - really good choice - everything you could possibly want Room very spacious - well fitted bathroom - everything extremely clean Pool lovely & warm

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    9.2
    Very lovely hotel which I would fully recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a little dated in places and facilities such as the pool and steam room could do with a refurbishment. Otherwise this is a lovely hotel which I would fully recommend.

    Really enjoyed our stay in December. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a good view of Edinburgh. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location of the hotel was quite central with an easy walk to the Edinburgh Playhouse and a good choice of restaurants. Lovely breakfast taken in the morning.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is situated in a nice location not too far from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    However some of the facilities were dated and could be doing with a replacement. For example the TV in the room was small and picture quality was not great.

    The hotel is situated in a nice location not too far from shops and train station. The staff are friendly and room was bright and spacious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    5.4
    Ok but couldn’t have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cost was extraordinary especially as it didn’t include breakfast, the pool facilities were poor.

    The location was great to access the city we could walk anywhere and the concierge (Scott) was superb.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    6.3
    Good location, lovely staff, Way over priced for an old neglected hotel that is not 4* in any way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Broken TV Awful neglected and dangerous pool,exposed roof where tiles were broken, stained walls and tiles, freezing cloudy water. Poorly cooked expensive meals. Cracked,chipped wooden windows in bedroom.

    Great staff, location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    6.7
    On 3 occasions our friends room key didn’t work from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On 3 occasions our friends room key didn’t work from checking in and not once did a member of staff offer to come up and check just kept reprogramming the key card lucky a member of staff worked past on the 3rd attempt and helped I would have expected a 4* hotel to be more proactive and resolve the issue.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    5.8
    Dissapointing for the price paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The first room we were allocated was next to the lift and the noise (without the lift moving) was intolerable. We asked immediately for a move and this was arranged swiftly without objection (maybe we weren’t the first to complain about this room). The second room was small, basic and a bit tired although functional. The swimming pool was small and on the cool side (my wife did not get in the pool it was that “cool”) and the watermarks/mould on the ceiling tiles was a little off putting. We paid £189 for room only having booked 4 months in advance and were disappointe, we have paid half the price for hotels twice as nice.

    Location was ideal for our stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    5.4
    Noisy room and bad cleanliness
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stains on the carpet, noise from Air con unit even when switched off, 5am noise from hotel staff moving items, bathroom floor grout missing, wee in the toilet when arrived, dust all over the desk lamp and coffee tray.

    Good size room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay in a lovely old hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our first room was freezing and the air con wouldn’t work, we were brought a small electric heater but we asked to move to another room which was just a little warmer. The corridor was a lovely tropical temperature but bedrooms not warm enough for us. It was exceptionally cold outside and I would have expected the rooms to be pre heated before our arrival because of this. This is not a reason for us not stay here again, that reason would be because it isn’t close enough to town.

    Lovely old building. Spotlessly clean and tidy. Lovely staff. Comfy bed and pillows. Very adequate breakfast with veggie options which we needed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing, having stopped in Crowne Plaza Hotels a lot, this was well below the standard expecte
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booking.com ask via email about adding breakfast which we selected and got confirmation email. Hotel had no record of us booking breakfast. Cleaning cloth still in bathroom, bathroom towel heater/radiator disconnected, safe faulty and it took three calls to reception before some one came to look at it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2017

    4.2
    Hotel in need of Upgrade, room very poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was in basement with view of stairs and beer kegs, tea tray poor, decor not to highest standard. Bathroom heater not working. Breakfast buffet ok but not 4 star. Breakfast room in need of TLC.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2017

    3.8
    Our stay was unsatisfactory. Expected more from such a well known hotel. Wont ne back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the money I paid for the room I was very unimpressed with what we were given. First off I tried to contact the hotel all morning by phone to which all phone calls went unanswered. Check in was slow due to internet being down however the member of staff was very apologetic. Our room was small and unsatisfactory. The paint was chipped all the way round the room. The bed rolled about even just touching it slightly to which we found old mcdonald’s chips under the bed. The tele did not work and neither did the fridge. The bathroom was ok although not what expected it was small and crammed. There was marks all over the roof and after being told the 3rd floor had the best view our room faced onto a brick wall.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    7.5
    In all comfortable and good apart from the niggles about breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At breakfast we had to ask for the table to be cleaned although it had been newly set. We then noticed a bit of food stuck to the pepper dish and a pencil down the back of one of the chairs. The hot breakfast items could have been hotter although there is a good choice. Coffee was running down the side of the coffee jug. We have stayed here before and it was clean so a bit of a disappointment.

    Room was very spacious with wonderful views. It was clean and comfortable, shower was hot, toiletries very nice and face cloths provided.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    5.4
    esunburgh is a must but on return will book another hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool was our main reason for booking as was requested by our travelling guests . Was embarrassed as the pool was very dirty and we couldn’t use it as was the steam room

    Our conscierge Scott was fantastic he is a great asset to the hotel and Edinburgh it’s self!! Fantastic at his job and an all round nice guy !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous I'd definitely go back just not into the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Remote control was filthy Room was clean but smelled of bleach Leisure facilities were clean but very very small and oppressive

    Loved reception, staff, restaurant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    9.6
    We stayed here in March for our silver wedding & could not think of anywhere better for my husband's
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing we didn't like about our stay.

    Food was fresh despite being a buffet. Staff available to help with any queries. Room was clean & fresh and the view was stunning from both the front & the back of the hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    7.5
    The bed was comfy although pillows very firm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only criticism is how cold the room was - the heating didn't seem to work and neither the towel rail or radiator in the bathroom turned on which was very unpleasant!!

    The bed was comfy although pillows very firm. Amazing location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    10
    amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    nothing

    everything. the room was amazing the staff were superb they were so accommodating and friendly. the breakfast was so good and facilities excellent. location is so central lived everything. thanks for a wonderful stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On this occasion our room was in the basement, very disappointing for a leisure room. We had a big air conditioning unit outside our window which made noise continually and our view through frosted glass was a wall, not the standard we are used to.

    Love this hotel have stayed many times

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    7.5
    We stayed at the Crowne plaza for two nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed at the Crowne plaza for two nights... the location is good it’s not amongst the hustle and bustle but an easy walk to the royal mile.... the swimming pool is strange and eerie it’s underground and fairly run down, if your after a relaxing pool this isn’t it.....in terms of the breakfast it was good but not as good as other hotels there wasn’t the biggest selection. Unfortunately we had a room next to a lift so that was annoying as we constantly heard the bell other than that the room was as expected....Overall I would stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    5.0
    Only thing that was good was it had a indoor pool the sauna...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Keys cards didn’t work had to have them reset the mini bar in room was locked after asking serval time to open it the tv didn’t work the food was terrible tbh I wouldn’t recommend

    Only thing that was good was it had a indoor pool the sauna wasn’t working which was disappointing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only slight disappointment was that the steam room wasn't on when me and my friends went to try it out. Had a great little swim though

    I was in a suite which was unexpected. Was a great room, staff helpful and friendly and the area was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    7.5
    Great location with nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room not ready until 3 despite being informed we could book in for 2. Décor in bedrooms starting to look a little tired. Booking.com search failure as searched only for hotels that had parking. On arrival found out this one doesn't and you have to use nearby public car park at a reduced rate of £12.50 p/day. On the whole quite a nice hotel but would probably look at trying somewhere else next time.

    Great location with nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2017

    2.5
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is not very clean .Very poor quality room in much need of an upgrade Not up to the quality standard that I have come to expect in a Crowne Plaza hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2017

    6.3
    Overpriced. Not 4 star in our opinion and disappointing for a Crowne Plaza.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First room we were given was in the basement - dim, dingy and cold! Asked to be moved and were offered a better room but with a wet room (disabled access - felt like a hospital). Asked what else available and were finally given a room on floor 3 with great view , though small. Hotel Pool was tiny and cold. Steam room out of order. Changing rooms tiny and smelly and loo not working in men's. No jacuzzi or sauna.

    Location was good, not far from Princes Street. Staff were very friendly and helpful. View from room was lovely but only once we asked to move rooms!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2017

    2.5
    Very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room in basement smelly and damp brought on a bit asthma in morning so spoilt stay in endinburgh £300.00 per night really expensive for a sub standard room in what was basically a refurbished celler Edinburgh was excellent train to city excellent crown plaza well below crown plazas standard worldwide that we have stayed in 🙁

    Breakfast was very good and service was very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    8.8
    Really nice location, lovely staff, lovely room, needs a little TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is tired and needs renovations - talking to the staff they are aware of the issues and the hotel is scheduled for the work needed in the next few months

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2017

    8.8
    Lovely experience and would return in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The leisure/ pool area lets the place down i.e. Ceiling tiles missing and stained walls along with the changing were not up to scratch......Needs some TLC all round.

    We were upgrade free of charge for my husbands birthday, when I asked and the hotel was only about a 10 minute walk from Waverley Train Station. Staff were very helpful and very friendly 10/10 fir them during our stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    7.5
    The hotel was situated in an ideal place , our king sized...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Club King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I felt the hotel was dated in places and lacked atmosphere.

    The hotel was situated in an ideal place , our king sized bedroom was lovely and the bed really comfortable . The breakfast was really nice. I found one of the receptionists Sherien very helpful and the porter at night Pete, they couldn't do enough for us. I Have stayed in some lovely hotels, with more facilities, and cheaper prices. I felt the hotel is over priced , for two nights it cost us £478.00, not including our extras. I did also feel the hotel lacked atmosphere. I would stay again but only if they were running an offer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2017

    5.4
    Breakfast is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking service is really bad. From Qparking to hotel is around 10 minutes by walk, even though hotel gave us a discount, but still 12 pounds per day. This is the most expensive parking during my trip in UK compared with other cities and hotels. Additionally, the TV is not workable, so when I came into the room, the worker was already there and repairing the TV, this really gave me a bad feeling. Although the hotel agreed to change a room for me, I don't think it is a good experience this time.

    Breakfast is good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2017

    10
    Classic elegance in a quiet area with beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The walk uphill to the hotel. Warning to other travelers - its hard going from the station to the hotel, even though it is a short distance. There were some small repairs that needed to be done, and some of the lights did not work.

    Stunning gardens, beautiful views

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    10
    Well worth the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking

    Fantastic staff, excellent location, lovely well sized room, with a cracking view, couldn't ask for better. However the staff make the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2017

    10
    Excellent Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    My stay was perfect! Staff very friendly and willing to go the extra mile- they even brought me cakes to my room as it was my 21st Birthday! Lovely unexpected touch. Room was clean, comfy and exceeded our expectations! The location was perfect. I'd definitely stay again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2017

    8.3
    Seeing Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I feel the en suite while adequate for myself maybe on the small side for some.

    Friendly staff Easy check in/speedy check out Room included all you would expect tea/coffee/hot chocolate - shower gel/body lotion - hair dryer also had iron and ironing board Good variety for breakfast hot and cold Happy with stay would stay again

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2017

    5.8
    Refurb needed!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms too small, bathroom was tiny.... really could do with a refurbishmsnt. Pool is also very small and was quite cold too. Again needs a refurbishment. Staff friendly, breakfast good but overall would not stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2017

    9.2
    Overall comfy and welcoming hotel. Good food, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overall a great hotel, but little things need sorting. Not able to use the swimming pool lockers as no keys ( app other customers had taken them away). Hairdryer faulty in men's change room.

    The bed, duvet and pillows were so comfy !

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: