Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Roydon Marina Village Hotel 2 stars

Roydon Mill Estate, Roydon, CM19 5EJ, United Kingdom

#1 of 2 hotels in Roydon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 861 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The doorlock mechanism was fiiddly although it was possibly because we are not conversant with what might be in common use in UK. Not bad if that's our only adverse comment.

    Right off I liked the responses received to our booking. Especially the concise reference to it being ground level and parking was a couple of steps away. All very important for one with walking difficulty. All met our expectations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head wouldn’t adjust.

    Location, was very suitable for us, interesting looking round the marina. The rooms were well equipped with everything you needed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We chose this accommodation as it was so close to the station and, being on a marina would be quiet at night. We thought it might be very basic because of the price but, we were pleasantly surprised. Staff very helpful and accommodation spacious and well appointed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was disgusting, mouldy shower curtain, walls and ceiling in the bathroom. Carpet was iron stained with multiple stains and hadn’t been cleaned at all. Cobwebs all around room at high level!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to not like ! I have had to turn up late (after 9pm) a couple of time when staying here and reception is closed after 9pm, but as long as you know this and are happy to wait for the night security person to come and meet you at reception to give you your key and take payment, then again considering the value for money acomodation, this is only a minor inconvenience. The night security staff are also very helpful and friendly.

    Good location for my work and if you have time to also relax afterwards and go for a walk there is the lovely marina and barges. Very good restaurant on site (Marcos) with lovely staff. Also the Hotel Staff on site are very helpful and acomodating. Excellent value for money compared to other acomodation in the area. Clean towels and bedroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    quite dirty, the carpet looked like it hadn't ever been cleaned and the door for the bathroom was strange on a roller that allowed it to swing out, so to close the door, you pull across and towards yourself.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, if picky interior was a little tired

    We were up graded free of charge, we received a excellent breakfast bag & totally enjoyed our stay, next time it will b longer

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like this property, having stayed here before, this being my second visit. Most of the rooms are chalet style with ensuite facilities. Breakfast is Continental style ready served in the room for the following morning. There is an Italian restaurant next door to the reception area that has a fair range of meals on the menu at reasonable prices. The bar is comprehensively stocked as well. This property has a marina and quite a large chalet choice for longer term holiday/residencies. There is also a licensed cafe on this site catering for the longer term stayers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff, you are right next to the marina and canals, so if you want to take a walk it is in an ideal location. I stayed for business. it was quiet so I could get my work completed and I had a phone signal and 4g connection which! we all know is a Billy Bonus. If I am working in the area again. This will be my goto location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise could be heard with staff outside room 18 in the morning

    Beautiful location set on the canal side and marina. Marcos resturant was lovely although a little pricey

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1 pack of butter had been already opened and used. Milk was of ambient temperature. In the past we have had a mini fridge which wasn't available this time.

    Beds were comfy and continental breakfast provided

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The big sign in the room stating that check-out is strictly by 10am. It was a really warm day, and the room was incredibly stuffy. Only one window opened. No fan. Extractor fan in the bathroom didn’t work. We were in room 12. The creaking floor from the people in the room above us made so much noise. Not their fault, they were simply walking. I’m a heavy sleeper, but it even woke me more than once. Biggest gripe is with the shower. It was an absolute trickle! Barely any pressure at all. I’d have been better off standing outside in the rain. If I’m in the area again, I’ll rather look for different accommodation.

    It was what I expected for the price. Beds weren’t too bad. Kettle, tea, coffee and hair dryer in the room. Was only for a one night stay, so did the job

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing we don’t like about this venue

    I love this location. We have vicited it many times and it always meets expectations. It is a lovely place to relax, the restaurant is good. We shall continue to visit so long as the prices don’t rise out of proportion

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My daughter-in-law found her room (14) noisy at night- vehicles and loud conversation in nearby room(s). She didn't sleep too well. I think the breakfasts in the room are a bit dismal. Long-life milk, poor quality jams, and a shrink-wrapped flabby croissant don't do it for me! Access to fresh milk, fresh bread and perhaps a wider range of foods would be welcome- a breakfast room with properly served breakfasts, even if you had to pay extra woud be good. (Perhaps guests could be given the choice of the very basic breakfast provided in the rooms or a cafe breakfast on site somewhere, for which they pay.)

    The location is lovely, the rooms are very clean and in general well equipped.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The entrance to and exit from the site is not the greatest ever conceived. The roadway is barely wide enough for two vehicles (saloon cars) to pass safely. If there's a medium sized van on the way in/way out it's an absolute nightmare. The shower was so cramped it was impossible to squeeze into so I had to make do with a good standing wash-down. I am only 11 stone - certainly no outsized person. It was indeed a token shower forced into an insufficient space which was ergonomically pointless.

    Not too much actually.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi. Key barely fit in the lock, was a struggle to get into my room plus very noisy. Walls were very thin, I could hear the people in the room next to mine talking, playing music and having sex alll night, I ended up just leaving at 3am because I didn't want to put up with it any more.

    Nice location, room was fairly nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outward appearance of room sad. No flowers in basket. Carpet in room stained but otherwise clean.

    Very attractive setting by the canal. Very close to the station.Excellent Italian restaurant on site.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Continental Breakfast that was already in our room for the next morning wasn't much of anything and the then warm milk for the cereal wasn't nice as there was not a fridge in the room.

    Lovely, big bathroom! Plenty of parking. The room was spacious with a couch, desk, comfortable double bed, etc. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice and quiet location too. The location is tucked away enough but also close to things to do like the cinema, shopping, restaurants, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As I travelled on Business I would have liked WI-FI available in my room.

    the scenic location was lovely, a nice walk into the town centre. the Italian restaurant on site was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought that the patio door was the wrong way round opening should be on the left. Also ventilation poor as no window to open.

    Beds comfortable. room clean.Thought that the patio door was wrong way round made access rather difficult. Also ventilation difficult with no window to open.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that would stop us coming back!

    Location excellent. The room was lovely although there were a few cobwebs and the shared stairway needs an update but apart from that we were very happy. The breakfast was very good as we weren’t expecting it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed in Room 14. It appeared to be situated below a toilet for the upstairs rooms. Very little sound deadening and people walking on the upper floor and toilet noises up there were very noisy. Bathroom smelt fusty.

    Location was good and Marco's restaurant very convenient and the food there was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That they did not advertise that there was no WiFi available, I had saved work to be completed that evening If the Booking.coms site had said no WiFi I would not of booked my stay

    Brilliant shower, room was warm and comfortable , continental breakfast was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a bit of a fight with the heating in the room, but it was fine once we worked it out

    Reception staff were particularly friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out time was early, never stayed in a hotel that wants me to check out at 10AM. Kettle had limescale and other floaters in it Shower was luke warm each time I used it Not soundproof rooms, woken up by the people next door

    The location is perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to dash to make the 5pm deadline for check in on a Sunday but although we arrived slightly late, no problem with ringing the warden to open up reception.

    Convenient location for cycling up the Lee Valley between Docklands and Ware. Good value. Room clean and comfortable Restaurant on site was closed but Crusader pub nearby recommended. Breakfast provided in room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very tired room. Smelled of smoke which was very disappointing but too late to change. No wifi. Main light didn't work.

    Location was nice, next to the canal

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head needs updating in room 7

    I love everything about Roydon. The location, the staff and the local area. Only 30 mins from London, perfect place to relax.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was really smelly it looked clean but had a horrible smell we could not use it to shower or clean are teeth had to spray perfume to have a quick wee. Also extractor fan very loud and went on for a long time .

    Location was lovely. Breakfast basic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom seems to have be modernised but needed a deep clean. The grout and sealant around the bath was dirty. The window blind was disgustingly filthy. The shower head is old and loose so you could not direct the flow! The shower curtain rail was corroded. The door to the room (5) could only be secured by locking with a key it would not stay shut unlocked.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we really enjoyed our stay , welcome by your lovely receptionist , was origianally only booked in for one night , but we had met some friends that owned a boat at the marina and decided to stay on for a extra night , after asking the lady on reception she kindly booked us in for an extra night in the same room which was perfect for us room was very convertible , clean and warm . the breakfast tray was amazing we've stayed in much more expensive hotels and never had that service such a nice touch to wake up to your own mini breakfast in bed we both had a lovely. relaxing peacefull weekend

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing that we disliked about this hotel.

    We usually travel with a loaded car and here we are able to park the car directly outside our room. This hotel is excellent value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a cooked breakfast or a croissant warmer that didnt take quite a long time to warm up.

    Marcos restaurant was excellant great atmosphere, amazing food and the staff were very pleasent and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only total drawback was no WiFi or any internet connection!!!!!

    The room was large, roomy and cosy. very clean and the breakfast was exactly as was stated. Not luxury but very pleasing. The restaurant was a pleasant surprise with excellent and friendly service but a bit on the pricey side.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good quality basic accommodation. Perfect for an overnight stay in a quiet location, with the marina and pub/cafe and Mario's excellent Italian restaurant on site

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet is looking well tired and in need of a good clean, the mattress is a little uncomfortable due to the springs which are very close to the top and can dig in when you move.

    We stayed in one of the chalets (Room 3), which suits us better. The room was very nice and a good size as was the bathroom, lovely strong shower which is great first thing to wake you up. The buffet breakfast is fine and gives us a little start to the day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was a bit annoyed that I paid £25 extra for a small patio only to find that in turn the room was a third of the size in all ways to outside cabins

    I think the roydon marina is a lovely destination and have been there a few times now.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The addition of a fridge or mini fridge would be great

    Biscuits and breakfast were very good....... Allowed to check in Early, which was very pleasing after a long drive......

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the money they simply cannot improve anything, parking right outside, you could not ask for anymore.

    This place is no frills, clean, convenient and perfect for the overnight head down and river walk, £58.00 for a double room (Actually had a single in the room as well) its absolutely great value for money. stayed several times, would not hesitate to stay again. Simply cannot fault anything for the money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neither of the windows in the room and bathroom fitted properly. Hence there were drafts. One could see daylight through the hinged side of the bathroom one. The stairway up to the room felt dingy.

    The staff at check in were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Based on our last stay we booked a superier double (which cost £20 more) but were very disappointed. The room was not as big as the previous superior or previous standard double rooms, the bathroom was tiny, the shower was very small. We have previously stayed in a standard double, which was a lot cheaper & a lot bigger. The room location was far from ideal, right by reception and we were kept awake most of the 2 nights due to the door banging as people came in and went, arriving anything up to 1am and then leaving from about 5:30am.

    The marina and surrounding area. Our 2 night break could have been a lot better had the room been the same standard as the previous room of this cost or even the same as the normal double.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom temperature could have been warmer.

    For a superier double (which cost about £20 more) the room size was ok, we had a small hallway / entrance which lead off to the bedroom & bathroom. The bathroom was a very good size although no heating so this room stayed very cold. The shower was good & strong.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old fashioned - very poor sound proofing. Woken at 6am by people above 'jumping around' above. Difficult to find check-in at night. Shower door very sticky and difficult to open and close. Needs replacing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a bit disappointing. It might be better to have the milk and orange juice in a fridge. Either in a shared bit of the hotel or in the room itself. Perhaps the alternative might be not to supply the continental breakfast at all. There was plenty of tea and coffee available which was a bonus!

    It was in an excellent location. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms warm and comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Matress a little thin on padding between the springs and top layer and tap on shower was too stiff to turn the heat down on ....... though this is the only time I have experienced this in a room at Roydon Marina - so probably just unlucky on this occasion on both counts. I mentioned it to Reception and they were glad I had told them and advised they would get it seen to. The issues on this one stay would not put me off staying there again

    Clean and good value with easy parking and fdriendly staff. Good restaurant at the Marina too !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decoration was tired and stains on the carpet gave an overall feeling that the room was "tired"

    The breakfast on a tray in the room was convenient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If we had to say anything negative it would be that the little fridge in the room didn't keep anything cool but other than that we were impressed.

    The room was very clean and tidy, the bathroom was the same. The shower was strong & powerful. The room contained everything we needed including kettle, iron, breakfast, towels, toiletries etc. The lady on reception and the lady at the bar were both very friendly and informative. By the time we booked we couldn't get 2 nights so after 1 night we had to move to another hotel - this shows how popular this place is. We will definitely book again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is simple straight forward accommodation that I have used several times before, and for the price I have found it to be good value. So no significant complants at all.

    Nice rural location with the ability to walk around the lake, canals and marina, which has a elevated lakeside cafe and bar. Easy parking right next to accommodation. Roydon railway station within walking distance with trains to London. On site restaurant. Simple check-in / check-out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Couldn't get a wi-Fi signal in the bedroom.

    Location was a good distance for the daily commute to the business centre. Car parking was very good and spaces were always available.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was all good. Pleasant location, nice and quiet.

    Quiet, comfortable room, comfy bed, decent tv....plenty of wardrobe space. Very nice, modern bathroom with good shower. Pleasant people on reception. Do not disturb sign on door was fully respected

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived as single female, sent to room in remote part of the site to find no external lighting working. Room was tired, appalling smell of cigarettes and mould and I couldn’t even showers as it was too dirty. The walls near the toilet had faeces on them and the carpet is so badly stained it should be removed. Room 14

    The staff were great but couldn’t fix the appalling state of the room and the noise from the adjacent bathrooms and the noise from above.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't as clean as we would have expected. The bathroom had hairs on the floor, the bin hadn't been emptied, and the cobwebs all round the ceiling suggested the room hadn't had a proper clean for some months

    Great location, easy parking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating and lots of cobwebs in the room allocated. Moved to a better room, room was good but bathroom smelt like a drain. Please note that the continental breakfast is sat on a tray in your room, cereal, juice and croissants.

    The location,staff helpfull.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 1 had a stale aroma as though smokers had used it, carpet looked a bit grubby. I would recommend a complete clean if carpets and curtains. Previous stays in other rooms had clean carpets, etc

    Beautiful surroundings on riverside. Breakfast adequate / good price, beds comfortable, best bath in England in terms of good water flow.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness was disgusting, there was cobwebs in the bedroom, mould in the bathroom, I can honestly say this is the worst accommodation I have ever come across. The carpet was so dirty I had to wipe my feet on the way out & the room stank of smoke

    Reception staff were civil, parking was good, location was where I wanted to be.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoke alarm went off because the battery needed replacing and it took 5 minutes to remove the battery.

    Room a little dated and could do with a refurb but in all, very good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy generator close to room which also backed onto a service room which also was noisy during early evening. Poor lighting around the site obscuring signage and pedestrian access to marina bar.

    Location adjacent the canal marina

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No real negatives worth mentiooning

    Have stayed here several times and always love it. Very generous size rooms. Good value for money. Fantastic setting by the marina. Great for walks. plenty of parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no mirrors near plug sockets, which meant drying and styling my hair using my phone camera, which was a little inconvenient.

    The room was very comfortable. Quite basic in the bathroom but powerful warm shower was nice. The items provided for breakfast were a nice touch. The receptionist was friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, although clean was very ' tired' and the carpet was particularly stained which didn't give a good impression. Also there was no WiFi which we knew in advance but was still a bit irritating.

    The room was spacious and comfortable. It was reasonably clean. We were only there for an overnight stop but the hotel was on a big park home site and right next to a marina. The location seemed very nice. We got a cold tray for breakfast which was unexpected as the booking form had said 'no food'.Also there was a bath which was nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although it was clean, the place was a bit shabby: creaky floors, door-locks which didn't feel secure, windows which wouldn't close. The in-room breakfast was hardly a luxury: sealed croissant, the most boring cereal they could find, orange 'juice' with added sugar and sweeteners and UHT milk.

    The canal-side location was good. Marco's restaurant was good. Overall it was a bit quirky and eccentric, which is a nice change from identikit hotels.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was the cheapest you could buy you could feel the springs.springs ping every time you move such a shame that the most important thing on an overnight stay is the bed comfort. Shame on whoever made that decision to buy as the room was perfect apart from that.

    Clean and modern

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Curtains being held by a safety pin, so they did not draw properly and 10am check out.

    The facilities in the room, iron and ironing board, trouser press, toiletries. Although we did not eat the continental breakfast, because of the uht milk, they supplied orange juice croissants, cereals, all of the above for the money they are asking is really good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found nothing to dislike.

    As we don't have cooked breakfasts we found your selection adequate, and the beds were comfortable. We will certainly come again in the future. We have family in the area and find its central location useful for visiting.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not very well signposted, layout means reception isn't on the way in.

    PLENTY OF FREE PARKING, MOTEL STYLE ROOMS, TRADITIONAL BUT WELL EQUIPPED, CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST STUFF IN ROOM, VERY LATE NIGHT CHECKIN WAS WELL WORKED, NOTHING WRONG HERE. TRAIN STATION TO LONDON AT END OF ROAD, FRIENDLY STAFF

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about

    Surrounding area very pleasant for an evening stroll with my cigar. Then enjoying an authentic Italian meal at Marco's next door.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little hard. The beautiful and extensive lakes in this area make access to this hotel a little remote - a car is a necessity unless you are a walker and arrive by train - the rail station is about a kilometre away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Three out of four beds were comfortable, one was awful - could feel the mattress springs. Some of the bedspreads were visibly dirty.

    Lovely surroundings. Very pleasant staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a relatively low cost accommodation we should not have been expecting much but this hotel but we were still disappointed. Bed was poor with sheet that slid around underneath us. Breakfast was a plastic packaged croissant and a couple of boxes of cereal and a couple of room temperature cartons of milk... all in our room. Still, the guy on reception could not have been more helpful as he went off to buy decaf teabags for us!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room was very poor. I asked for extra lamps and was refused. The heated towel rail did not work. Tha approach to the hotel reception was hidden and difficult to find in the dark. I was not shown to my room just given directions outside and in the dark. The hot water was intermittent. The noise from the room above was intrusive.

    Loved the Waterfront Marina. Rural and pleasant area. Not sure if the Restaurant - Marcos, was independent but the food and service were excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mould in the bathroom which smelt terrible. Also cobwebs, so can't have been cleaned properly in a while. Rest of the room was clean though. Overall, don't think it was value for money.

    Nice location and friendly staff. Room was well equipped.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and quiet, which is important when getting up early, very clean and a continental breakfast is supplied, I will be staying again when working in the area,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was standing in the car park waiting for a friend. In under 4 seconds of me standing next to my own car, I had an undesirable cretin ask me, in an almost threatening nature, what I was doing as he thought I was "looking at his van". Other than that, perfectly fine as always.

    Clean room with a comfortable bed and tv.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A continental-style breakfast already in the room when you arrive the night before is never going to be the best.

    Room very comfortable and the attached restaurant very good. Good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wooden framed beds. No local facilities for cooked breakfast. No wall light in bathroom above mirror so every time bathroom light was turned on the fan kept running for ages. Room smelled damp.

    Quiet location in beautiful surroundings. Convenient location for Harlow area, without being too close.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Roydon Marina Village Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: