Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Rudloe Arms This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Leafy Lane, Corsham, SN13 0PA, United Kingdom

#6 of 7 hotels in Corsham

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 842 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    5.8
    Not what you expect....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Arrival is confusing. You are faced with two buildings and no direction as to where you need to go for reception, not where you should park. Not sure if the buildings are shabby chic or just shabby. Menu is set and is quite narrow.

    Quirky. The art work and taxidermy are quite thought provoking. The staff are wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    5.0
    A think duvet in the height of summer, no fan provided, no...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A think duvet in the height of summer, no fan provided, no tea in room or way of contacting hotel staff. No room service, TV not working in room. Really disappointing for the price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    8.3
    The House in the woods at the Rudloe arms is well worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No tea in the room or kettle. The coffee maker was good but would have preferred a choice of drinks.

    The lounges were amazing and very relaxing. The decor was incredible and different in each room. There were loads of I interesting pictures on the wall. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was very well presented and delicious. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    10
    Stunning place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slightly disappointed with our one dinner experience; however the breakfasts were great. We waited a long time for our meal, especially when there were only 8/9 diners that night. When it came, my main course (beef pie) was too salty and the only accompanying vegetable was a small bowl of frozen peas. Not representative of fine dining. However, my replacement meal was very good.

    Stunning place to stay. Loved the arty decor in the lounges and dining room. The staff were excellent, helpful and pleasant. Our accommodation was lovely, although a fridge would have been appreciated.in the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Light in bathroom didn’t work Half naked MP White ( proprietor) huge photograph above bed a real turn off for both men and women! Bed creaked. Lighting in bar so dim we couldn’t read labels on bottles....when we turned lighting up the proprietor came in turned lights down and humphed at me....no speech! No room service No food in hotel in afternoon. No outside seating as had all been removed.

    The receptionist and waiting staff were all very nice. The owner was reminiscent of Basil Fawlty

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    8.8
    A very nice and enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beautiful grounds and a lot of work has been carried out on them to make them so but some additional manicuring is really needed. It would have been nice to have had our room serviced by lunchtime. Otherwise everything was excellent.

    The breakfasts were excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing collection of memorabilia which the staff were happy...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI was intermittent and could not connect during the late evening.

    Amazing collection of memorabilia which the staff were happy to show and share with me.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    5.4
    Our room was left open with my purse and handbag in we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was left open with my purse and handbag in we were out of the room for a good 12 hours We also had a brand new car parked up with key on the side not really good enough as we were on the ground floor the French door leading out to the back was lest unlocked by the cleaning staff I am still waiting for management to contact me since Friday morning there was no one available when we left

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    5.4
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very disappointing breakfast: no cereals, fruit or yoghurt; "English" breakfast included streaky bacon (no back) and a crumpet! Poached eggs only - no alternative. Everything served luke-warm. Orange the only juice. Room included a (useless) kitchen area, but no kettle and no tea. No waste-paper basket. Very uncomfortable furniture (apart from the bed). The entire set of buildings is very dark, and lighting in the rooms totally inadequate.

    A good bed. Plenty of space in the room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    10
    Excellent food. Great rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is beautiful and the restaurant design is classical. The food choice is relatively narrow but everything we had was very well prepared. The rooms are equally stylish. We didn't do the 24 hour bar justice but it was nice to know there was no deadline.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    10
    Did I mention we liked it?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If anything, it took a while to break the ice with the staff. But once broken they were really helpful.

    Having happened on this place by chance we felt like Alice in Wonderland. A marvelous concoction of things. Although our room was not in the old building, we felt perfectly at home wandering around the fabulously decorated candlelit sitting rooms in the house. Marco's taste for the bizarre and his amazing collection of art is a wonder to behold. We felt privileged to be in his house. We ate in the fabulous art lined dinning room and enjoyed the food and wine at what turned out to be a very reasonable price. In the morning we met possibly the nicest and most professional waiter we have ever come across and afterwards strolled in the beautiful grounds around the house in the sunshine. There is a laid back atmosphere to this place that may not suit some but for us the informality was part of its charm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    10
    I have known of the hotel for years but had not previously stayed here. Expections exceeded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The absence of any tissues in the bedroom. The lounges in the main hotel were rather dark.

    The quirkiness of the property, and the collection of art and other curios. The breakfast was stunningly good. Room was a very good size and extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely property and grounds. Well worth a visit, leave enough time to wander through all the rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Checking in could have been a little faster.

    Accommodation was lovely, the main house was a treat for the eyes, so much to look at. The grounds were fabulous to walk around, a great bonus when staying here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, would have no hesitation staying again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in is a bit odd. No reception Desk. Internet Signal is a bit weak (works of a Fashion) in the Newer Building. TV Signal also weak on most Channels in the Newer Building.

    Quirky, but that is not a criticism. Beautiful Victorian Manor House for the Main Building & Restaurant. Four Comfortable Lounges if you don't fancy staying in your Room. Very pleasant Staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    10
    Truly truly fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Need to instruct people that gin in decanter in room is free if you buy tonic from the bar but if you don’t they charge you £9 a shot of gin. Water temperature difficult to control in main house

    The Hotel was beyond fabulous. Quirky, bonkers, luxurious, homely even the house dog called Clive was gorgeous. Service was fantastic views stunning, gardens and farm land exquisite. No TV, forcing you to relax talk read and take a moment to be in the present. The food was beyond delicious, staff so accommodating and Marco Junior is always on site and most weeks his Dad Marco Pierre White is there too. I’ve never been to such a wonderful place. My husband and I felt totally relaxed and we had the best anniversary.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed wasn't big enough. Was under impression we would be staying in main building so that was disappointing

    Beautiful old building and setting. Food was delicious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    8.3
    The quirkiness of the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The toilet was difficult to flush, had to really push hard on the buttons. We stayed there as it was described as 2.5 Miles from Ludloe Arms where we were attending a function. It was actually a 20 minute cab ride away costing £30 each way!

    The quirkiness of the rooms. Lovely breakfast. Very helpful waitressing staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    10
    Overall we liked the whole experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bit tired and the curtain was hanging off ,the doors to outside need attention don`t close up properly , very hard to use entrance was unclear and doors again need attention . Waiter was good but chucking the plates down in a hurry was not nice.

    The room in general was nice. we had a great time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    6.7
    Ok but I wouldn't rush back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was in a separate building and it was cold and noisy. TV signal was poor so could only watch 2 channels. Breakfast was disappointing - ordered Eggs Benedict - it arrived without the ham or hollandaise sauce. My husband ordered the full English, it arrived with several items missing that were listed on the menu.

    Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    6.3
    The lady checking us in was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very dark with a couple of bulbs not working. The actual building where the overspill rooms were situated looked a bit like Colditz/Bleak House and parking spaces were not clearly defined. In the room there wasn't a kettle as such (coffee maker with no instructions on how to use it) and only 2 tea bags left, with no choice of tea, coffee or biscuits. No hotel information pack showing opening times of restaurant for dinner or breakfast or places to visit of interest etc. No bar as such and only a very expensive restaurant to eat in (we ate out). Breakfast in the morning was disappointing. No continental selection and eggs benedict served on soggy crumpets instead of muffins. Orange juice was processed.

    The lady checking us in was very friendly and helpful. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, the room and bathroom was clean and a reasonable size. The sitting rooms in the main part of the hotel were comfortable with interesting art work and antiques.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    10
    A picturesque English manor house with modern amenities well worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I cannot think of a thing I didn't like.

    This is a fabulous property. The room was large with a separate living area and kitchenette. The food was excellent and the service exceptional. The main house is an amazing display of modern art. The grounds are a true country estate with roosters, hens, pigs and lovely gardens. The owner is a renowned chef and the menus reflect this.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful setting, very quirky generally
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The first night we had such a small bed, it was difficult to sleep. We changed to a room with a larger one, there were 5 cockerels under our window which crowed from dawn onwards

    Charming helpful staff. Very good food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    8.8
    A definite ‘come back to’ hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a long wait between courses the one evening we ate dinner in the resuarant and that was despite the fact that only 4 tables were in use. Few things amiss in our suite, like the second toilet was locked up and curtains hanging off their poles, also roman blinds that didn’t pull up neatly but we couldn’t fault cleanliness of room. We had a coffee maker with coffeee pods but had to ask for teabags and heat the water for tea in the coffee maker as they didn’t give out kettles. No where to hang a towel in the bathroom.

    A very quirky hotel with an urban french feel to it. We loved the decor in the public rooms, artwork, framed photos of past movie and pop icons and unusual ornaments, taxidermy and artefacts on display. Garden was like a small farm with pigs, geese and orchards with beautiful views at its boundaries.. Chickens roamed around the driveways and gardens making it feel very homely. Breakfast was excellent, all table service with a choice of one cooked or cereal based main course with toast and tea/ coffee. All the staff were coureous and helpful. The ladies wear long gingham dresses with pinnys which added to the unusual style of the hotel. Mr White was around most days and was up for a friendly chat!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    5.8
    Satisfactory but our room in the Annex felt faded and needed some TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A missing TV remote wasn't replaced. We had to ask for teabags and tea was made by running water through the coffee machine. The shower was not very clean at tray level. There was a handle missing from a set of drawers.

    The Annex room was a good size and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    7.5
    Odd place with mediocre breakfast though room and staff were fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a twin room but it was made up as a double and we had to wait 30 minutes while this was changed. Coffee, juice and toast all very poor at breakfast. Bizarre decor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    6.3
    A game of two halfs. I would recommend but only if they got into the main house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Annex was a major disappointment - not up to the standards of the rest of the place. Poor quality shabby, poor bathroom, no where to hang wet towels, no full length mirror. Paths not swept, A big yellow skip in front of our window.

    The Main House, the Gardens, the food excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    10
    Stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff are very friendly and the breakfast is superb. We will be back

    Their hotel is amazing inside and out! There’s so much to see inside with all the different rooms packed full of artefacts. The grounds are beautiful like a secret garden. There are so many beautiful colours. I’ve never seen so many Acers in one place!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    8.8
    Strange Days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very eclectic interior, some strange victoriana mixed with amazing Tery O'Neill prints throughout the house - made for a very interesting stay. Evening meal was excellent value although limited choice. Grounds of the hotel very relaxing to stroll around and watch the varied wild life. We'll worth a visit - not your run-of-mill country house

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    8.8
    An enjoyable stay and location gorgeous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Kettle with tea made available rather than just a coffee maker. Wi-Fi was not working and not fixed even when asked about!

    The room and bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    6.7
    Very nice surroundings but room for improvement on the accommodation and the food quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No kettle for tea making and the staff felt it was acceptable to use the coffee maker to boil the water, obviously not. The food on this particular night was very bland and no taste.

    The setting is very nice and it was good to walk around the grounds. The bed was comfortable and the staff were very pleasant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    8.8
    Very very different, in a good way.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot water in the room wasn't as hot as I usually like.

    Eclectic, very Marco Pierre White. Lovely staff, Hortense is a very helpful receptionist. I did not get the name of the wonderful lady bartender but she makes a superb vodka martini. Excellent breakfast host, despite being obviously rushed off his feet when I was there, he operated like the proverbial swan: serene on top and paddling like crazy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    8.8
    Overall enjoyed and will consider booking again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    but a few 'bits' missing ie no bath mat on first night - only one rubbish bin - no tea towels in kitchenette or wine glasses Wi fi was 'random' Car parking was hit and miss as very busy.

    The room was very spacious - quiet - clean - excellent breakfast. `the grounds were beautiful. Staff were excellent and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    4.6
    Wouldn’t stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room too hot only ventilation was to leave external door open not good from a security point of view. Breakfast very poor. Taxi company refused to go to hotel due to some financial problem.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    6.7
    Dissapointing could be very nice but seems tired and has been let go a bit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room in annex tired, stained carpet,light fitting taped on, bedside light did not work. Kitchen in bedroom but no equipment so what exactly is the point in that? TV could not be seen from bed, had to sit on uncomfortable settee to view TV. TV signal + internet kept dropping off. Menu was nothing like to one viewed online. Staff hard to find, no signage to reception.

    Great main house with interesting art / decor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    10
    My partner and I have visited twice now and are planning our third visit in a few weeks. Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was honestly nothing my partner and I didn't like. If you are looking for a place with a pool or busy night time bar with karaoke then it's not for you. But a relaxing place where your stress rolls away as you drive up the driveway then this is the place to go.

    The room was beautiful! We had a superior double room which was huge, the bed was so comfortable and such tasteful decor. The staff are fantastic, very welcoming, friendly and so accommodating and eager to serve. The main house is such an amazing place. So many lounge areas to explore, they are a feast for the eyes being so full of art and culture, with different themes running through them and seating that allows you to take in the room. The restaurant and food again, is another level. Dinner is quite pricey however is completely worth it due to the quality of the ingredients and the meal experience you receive. Breakfast was included and once again, the food quality and service is excellent. The location is great, not far from Bath, its rural and quite hidden from the road. There are coats and wellies by the main door for guests to use and walk the grounds which are stunning and a few animals to see.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    8.3
    Really enjoy staying here - but preferred restaurant with choice of a la carte or fixed menu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Understand why smaller fixed menu being tried but disappointed as had been looking forward to the same superb food and meal as on earlier visit. Also, no bar area now where can be sociable and meet other guests. Lighting poor generally, if want to read, but perfect to just relax.

    Previously stayed in main house and had a fabulous a la carte meal. Stayed in annex this time - super room. Meal good, but not as memorable and less choice this time. Lots of changes since last there - some good, some not.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    7.9
    Sitting rooms, garden, bed linen, decor, poached eggs,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tasteless marmalade, sliced bread, cold milk with coffee, not allowed to have cornflakes AND poached eggs, no information about the hotel

    Sitting rooms, garden, bed linen, decor, poached eggs, chickens, art everywhere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    9.6
    Simply exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi could use an update, doesn't work from all rooms.

    Outstanding property, great staff, excellent dining, and amazing art collection. The manor house and grounds were truly exceptional. Just an FYI, we stayed in the main house, not the standard rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    8.8
    A great place to stay, wouldn’t do dinner there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only disappointing part of our stay was our meal at the Marco Pierre White restaurant. The food was very ordinary!

    Loved the accommodation at the Rudloe, the room and the grounds were very grand!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    4.6
    A it short of our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was smaller than requested, no TV in room, service was slow, no fruit or yoghurts at breakfast, made a complete mess of the charge, no shower, too hot, windows do not exist in bedroom that can be opened.

    It was quirky which appealed to us

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    7.5
    Real nice place to stay, very comfortable, judging from breakfast range, we were glad we ate out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast - no cereal, no bowls of fruit - set menu, with little flexibility - the two waiters talked down to you and came across as patronising - bad experience.

    The hotel is quirky, very interesting and very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    7.1
    Staff were wonderful. Room inadequate and quirky. Lounges bizarrely overstuffed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no window to open for air, just a french door. The room was reached from the main hotel by steep outside steps which were badly lit. The food was excellent, but both breakfast & dinner were very limited menus which were the same for all 5 days we were there!

    The beds were comfortable, but over-sized for the room, so we could not easily reach the wardrobe and there were no chairs at all in the room. This meant that to relax one lay on the twin beds; there was nowhere for clothes other than the few wardrobe hangers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Young Staff were particularly unfriendly. My partner and I didn’t like coffee and so would have been good to have the option of tea in the rooms also.

    Lovely grand building and quirky rooms. Food was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    8.3
    Good - will go back - will stay in the main house next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was clean but there were what looked like nail varnish marks in the bath and true room lacked a mini bar. Also when we arrived it was raining and we had to walk to the annex and carry our bags - could have done with a bit of help. You

    Bed very comfortable and room cosy. Breakfast good - although £99 for a second!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    6.7
    Parson's egg - good in parts, but not good enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food in the restaurant was pretty poor. We sent our duck back at it was so "high" it practically flew from the kitchen to our table! The cabbage served with it was so over cooked it smelt of sulphur, and the bacon was flabby and tasteless. Breakfast is OK, poor coffee, cheap orange juice and cheap supermarket sliced bread. But you are only allowed one plate off the menu.... so if you have full English, you can't have a fruit plate or porridge as well...... well, I say this, you CAN have extras, but you are informed that there will be a 45 minute wait and an additional charge of £99.....

    Our room was charming, set at the top of the hotel, and the bathroom was lovely. We love the artwork, and the dense atmosphere it creates. The staff are adorable and as helpful as they can be, but very embarrassed by the draconian breakfast menu pricing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    3.3
    Disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were really unhelpful and I was charged incorrectly upon arrival and then asked to pay the full amount upon check out. The wifi did not work. My sink was blocked and as the staff were so unhelpful upon arrival and there was no phone in the room I didn't have the energy to contact anyone at the end of a long day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    8.8
    Very unusual hunting lodge style hotel with fantastic restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Low levels of lighting on pathways and entrance to accommodation. Reception often empty.

    Rural location, amazing art, spectacular photos, object d'art and superb food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyed the stay with friends but food choice poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We paid full price (not Woucher price) but still only had the WOucher limited menu both breakfast and dinner and after seeing the sample menu on line we were very disappointed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, relaxing and excellent quality throughout with some quirky interiors.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Complaints, yes a couple; No tea bags "we don't have them in the rooms, but i'll get you some" He didn't. The bath/shower water was only just warm enough. The indifferent staff shrugged and said "they would get it fixed". They didn't. The TV remote needed a weird knack to turn on/off. If I'd have told them, they would have said they'd get it fixed - I suspect they wouldn't!

    It was excellent. Quiet and rural location, but only 20 minutes from Bath. Very, very quirky with art (modern sculptures, stuffed animal heads, paintings, B&W photo's of 60's icons like John Lennon, Frank Sinatra, Rachel Welch etc,) which were a bit OTT, but the quality of them made me feel I was in a super high quality hotel. My room in the annex (less expensive than the main building) was very spacious and comfortable, more art on the walls which was a bit too much, but again, high quality and very interesting pieces. The restaurant staff were excellent, attentive, professional and and efficient and the evening menu imaginative and, clearly, the Chef is emulating his boss (Marco Pierre White who owns the hotel) with beautifully prepared dishes. The menu had no price but I thought "if I need to ask I probably shouldn't be here!" Having no price doesn't help you to enjoy the meal, because you worry that it's going to be un-affordable! I needn't have worried, it was under £40 for 3 delicious courses and a glass of excellent house wine with lots of excellent vintages available. The breakfast was stunning. Quality and quantity were outstanding. Orange juice and coffee poured at the table, excellent meal choices, but, like a few of the many hotels i've stayed at, they need to understand that porridge and cereal is not a breakfast main course, but a starter, which I wanted with my fabulously cooked kippers, not as substitute! The five lounges were very, very comfortable, with big sofas, well planned, subdued lighting and gentle, wonderfully soothing classical music. I did fall asleep! The room cleaning was top notch. Would I go again. Yes, definitely. Love to go in summer, with the al-fresco area, and delightful gardens. The chickens and pigs are really fun and add a little something. A very calming, restful, relaxing, comfortable hotel. 4 star price, but still only half what I paid for one in London recently.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    9.2
    Cool and comfortable environment in general;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Towels smelled odd--treated with something to keep them white, I suspect; no curtains on window so outdoor light shone into room all night; staff a little scattered and rushed (although generally very sweet); place crammed with too much boring, misogynistic art; internet didn't work at all the entire time I was there; only choice of caffeine was not very strong coffee

    Cool and comfortable environment in general; gardens and grounds gorgeous; food consistent and good (although not amazing); location excellent for what I wanted

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    5.0
    Never again. Really disappointed. Don't go there, avoid it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lacking in facilities like tea coffee snacks. Just a handful of KitKats and some coffee packets. Enough milk for only 1 person for 3 coffees. Kitchen was dirty and bare. 2 knives 1 fork one spoon 2 plates one had old food on. Bathroom sink was dripping. A notice that said if you didn't clean the kitchen stuff before you leave then you will be billed £15. Surely after paying £120 for 1 night I am entitled to leave a dirty cup! The menu was completely different to the website. I had booked at least 10 days in advance and arrived to find that the menu was totally different. Food was awful and they ran out of dessert at 9pm stating that they were experiencing too much waste. So instead if chocolate dessert they offered rice pudding which wasn't on the menu. Very very dark restaurant difficult to see what you were eating. No atmosphere.

    The bed was comfortable and the room layout.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    10
    Very relaxing few days wish I could of stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing not to like

    Very relaxing hotel, food amazing, bed and pillows really comfortable, staff friendly and nothing to much trouble, can’t wait to go back

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    8.8
    Great food. Relaxed and quiet location. Keep coming back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sometimes the tv reception could be better.

    Quiet location. Great food. Definitely the best breakfast in the area.nice rooms.I usually stay there when on business in the area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    9.6
    Our favourite hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A wider choice on the menu

    The bedroom was stunning. The bed was comfortable we had a fantastic nights sleep. The staff went above and beyond to take care of us

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    7.9
    Despite the Fawlty Towers aspects, overall we enjoyed our stay, so, forewarned, would book again.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We and ten other family members had booked six bedrooms in total which were all allocated in an annex building. The walk between the annex and the main building was very poorly lit at night and it had been raining but the hotel did not offer to provide umbrellas. Our room had no wardrobe and only provided a plastic arrangement on which to hang one suit! When we complained we were immediately relocated to a bedroom in the main building, as were another couple in our party who also made complaints. But why allocate any of us annex rooms at all when very few, if any, of the main building rooms were occupied? Our new room also had no wardrobe but there was an open rack with sufficient hangers on it instead. The bedroom was extremely poorly lit at night and had no dressing table so the only mirrors were in the bathroom, which of course had no sockets, so my wife had great difficulty using her electric hair curling tong. The entire hotel was deliberately kept poorly lit and when we asked why, we were told that the owner likes it like that; bully for him but not for his clientele. It did not matter to us at all but others might like to be forewarned that room 8 also has no television or any tea/coffee making facilities. We had not been advised in advance by booking.com that renovation work was taking place in the reception room and a nearby residents' lounge but it did not present too much of a problem until I brushed against the residents' lounge door and got paint on my suit sleeve because there was no sign to warn you that the paint was wet. We were told that as many as 50% of the dinner menu's six main course choices were pheasant dishes because the owner hated wasting food but his strategy totally backfired in our party's case because although 50% of the potential diners love pheasant and would have been delighted to dine there, there were insufficient alternatives provided that appealed to the others, so we all went elsewhere.

    The staff were excellent, especially 'Junior', the owner's son, who not only recommended an alternative restaurant, when some of our party found there was nothing to their liking on the hotel restaurant's very restricted dinner menu, he also booked a table for us in that other restaurant and a taxi to get there. The highly quirky decor, fittings and fixtures and copious interesting books in the hotel's many public areas and in the bedrooms were absolutely fabulous; my wife particularly enjoyed the giant rocking horse in our bedroom!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    7.5
    This hotel is, and will be for some time, a work in progress.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel is, and will be for some time, a work in progress. Depending on mood, urgency, etc it can be seen as a shambles ora place of character. I was part of a family group numbering more than a dozen attending a funeral of a family member. For most of us this place was a major disappointment, an insult. As we spoke to staff we warmed to them, recognised their genuine efforts to deal with a product that, frankly, had been oversold. The celebrated owner needs to get the finger out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    9.6
    Unique hotel with wonderful food and fantastic staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi wasn’t working and phone signal isn’t sufficient to tether a laptop to and work

    The food in the restaurant was the best yet after many stays there. There are relaxing lounges to wind down in and the guest rooms are individually fitted out with interesting ornaments/pictures and books.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    6.3
    Food was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms not well prepared and cold. Difficult to find rooms in the extra block. No signs for reception or signs to show where to park.

    Food was excellent! Evening meal and breakfast. Lovely staff - very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2017

    9.6
    Very convenient and no problems.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Strange limitation of choice for breakfast. No jam, only marmalade. I confess I did not ask if I could have jam.

    Bed was very comfortable. I met Marco Pierre White. He was a fantastic cook at Harveys. We were at the restaurant the night they won their third star. Also met a charming Ausie winemaker. The staff all have a good manner with guests.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2017

    9.6
    Loved it! Just give us a kettle 😊!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have loved a little kettle with tea and coffee in the room. As it was there were no hot drinks available to make yourself in the room. You could order it and have it bought to your room but would rather do this myself as I get up in the night and couldn’t have one. Will bring a travel kettle next time. The only other thing was that there was no hotel information i.e. what to dial for downstairs etc, what was around the area etc what the menu was and restaurant times.

    Loved the overall appearance of the hotel. It was quirky with an eclectic mix of antiques and modern art. The rooms were warm and comfy and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was amazing and the staff friendly as well! Will definitely stay again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2017

    5.0
    Food was good & Breakfast was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn’t like being woken up by the fire alarm for approx 5mins then a 10 min break and it started again. Although the thermostat was turned up, it was cold in the room. This was mentioned to the reception who informed me she’ll let maintenance know, no change. ( glad I only had the one night) No discount on price for a cold room or the very early Wake up call, just an apology for someone smoking in their room.

    Food was good & Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2017

    10
    An eclectic, eccentric, and stunning place; with amazing food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Water pressure for baths drops dramatically when everyone is cleaning up in the morning.

    The food supervised by Marco Pierre White was absolutely amazing. Recommend having dinner at the Rudloe Arms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    10
    More quirkiness in the annex :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything! The main house is absolutely amazing and the staff couldn't do enough for us! The included breakfast had great choices and really delicious. We will certainly be back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2017

    9.6
    A lovely experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, I couldn't fault it.

    I travel a lot and I would rate the food in this place the best I've experienced to date, absolutely beautiful and plenty of it. Wifi was poor as I was in the annex block but its relatively new so it may yet improve. Overall, i'll definitely return, highly recommended and good value for money, couldn't fault it. Owen

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    8.3
    Lovely quirky hotel, great breakfast , would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only coffee maker in the bedroom.... we can only drink tea so very disappointing. No mirror in the room, apart from the bathroom. Due to the size of the bedside table it was almost impossible to open the wardrobe door.

    Really quirky main house. Delicious breakfast and brilliant staff .... not forgetting Clive the dog !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    7.5
    Loved our stay. Great location for visting nearby Bath & cotswolds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had a shower only. Would have been nice to have had a bath tub as well. Limited parking spaces but can park in other parts of the grounds.

    Loved the annexe room we had. Clean and roomy. Fantastic cooked to order breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    9.6
    Amazing, relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The resident cockerel. Should have requested it for an evening meal.

    Received an upgrade as all standard rooms were sold out for the deal we had through booking.com. Staff were amazing, so friendly and couldn't do enough to help. Food was very good and the ambience in the restaurant very nice (candle light). Very 'art deco' throughout and the upgraded room amazing, attic loft over 3 floors (no.12), more like an apartment than a room. Very enjoyable stay. The hotel grounds are very nice and would be amazing in warmer weather. Recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    7.9
    For the amount of money we paid for bed and breakfast I had expected something better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived on the Friday afternoon, the hotel had no record of the booking we had made with Booking.com. I did have a copy of the confirmation with me, and in fairness, the guy on reception did eventually 'find' us a room. The room was situated in the separate building, close to the hotel, but the walk to it is over uneven ground down a gravel roadway - not perfect but accessible, even for us senior citizens The room became very warm during the night and adjusting the thermostat didn't appear to make much difference. There was only one bedside light and this didn't work. The main light switch was some distance from the bed, and during the night it was easy to stub ones feet against heavy items of furniture. First thing in the morning on the day after our arrival, I reported the defective lights to the front desk. I was promised the problem would be rectified at some point during the day - it wasn't. (Fortunately, during the day I had been out and acquired a torch, thus preventing any further toe stubbing!!)

    The main part of the hotel is delightful with at least separate four guest lounges which are very comfortable and somewhat quirky, in the best possible way. The dining area is also full of character and the breakfast is very good quality. We did not have dinner in the hotel so I am unable to comment on that.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    6.3
    Food was amazing,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was too fulll of stuff (lots of pictures of.tits) and the whole aprartment area looked so derelict, needed paint and a lot more warmth and character added

    Food was amazing, Loved the pigs and chickens running around

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    9.2
    A quirky and inspiring visual experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At times the age of this Victorian mansion does becomes apparent - this is after all no disgorged agglomeration of modern identikit concrete boxes - but it is more than made up for by what is a stunning and inspiring experience.

    Unique, quirky, eclectic, inspiring: each room in the main house at the Rudloe Arms is a feast for the mind. For me the highlight has to be the stunning collection of Bob Carlos Clarke images in the hallway, but every room is a treat, stacked with images, books, and curios. Added to which, the front of house staff are excellent, from reception to evening dining to breakfast. Well worth a visit!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    10
    Wow! A truly stunning experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wow! A truly stunning experience. Renovated to high standards and filled to the brim with exotic & erotic art the property has a warm gothic/Victorian feel. Highly recommend and I will be going back again. I went for work, but would be ideal as a romantic getaway for a couple.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    9.6
    ACCOMMODATION EXCELLENT, STAFF FRIENDLY HARD WORKING AND...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THERE WAS NOTHING TO DISLIKE. AMAZING ART WORK.

    ACCOMMODATION EXCELLENT, STAFF FRIENDLY HARD WORKING AND VERY WELCOMING FOOD EXCELLENT. WE RECEIVED QUALITY SERVICE FROM ALL THE STAFF.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    8.8
    If you love minimalism give this a miss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hairdryer No facilities to make a hot drink Dim lighting Bathroom beautiful but chilly

    the quirky styling, excellent bed and linen Stunning views Attentive staff Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    8.8
    Lovely place shame about the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A suite without a mirror. Stain on the pillowcase. Scum line round the bath. Broken fan in the bathroom. Skirting boards thick with dust.

    Lovely place. Nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    6.3
    Uncomfortable !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mattress was awful.we asked for a topper as the mattress was so hard.we hardly slept.they could not provide one so offered us another room.the mattress was slightly better but not much.the decor in the hotel was obviously costly but the money would be better spent on the beds.we were glad to get home to our own bed.

    Food was fab

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Rudloe Arms Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: