Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ruswarp Hall - Whitby

4-6 High Street, Whitby, YO21 1NH, United Kingdom

#59 of 82 B&Bs and Inns in Whitby

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 868 B&B reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small fridge would have been useful during the hot weather. My husband found the bathroom door could have been better however when space is limited in such an old property you have to be realistic and flexible.

    Wonderful choice of breakfast served by the most pleasant of hotel staff! I personally can recommend the Full English and also The Scrambled Eggs with Smoked Salmon. Ruswarp Hall can only be described as, "quirky". An historic gem set in the middle of a friendly village, with magnificent walks from the front door. Accommodation was spotlessly clean and the room was peaceful with a really comfy bed. We'd happily recommend Ruswarp Hall and will use again if we should return to the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside did it no favours when you arrive

    When you open the door to go in I loved the old look about it very homely and full of character and ancestry fabulous. They have the very old with the fabulous new now that's a surprise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Snug Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place has a real charm and all the staff I met were really very friendly and told me helpful and useful information about getting around and what to see and do in Whitby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A lttle bit more flowers in the baskets at the parking; that makes it more friendly. And cleans the leaves in the parkung

    We had the romm with the four-poster-bed in the second floor (no lift); rather well eqipped; but there should be more racks for towels in the bathromm and a board for toiletries. The owners were extremely friendly and had best proposals for walking. Nice Garden

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (No Parking)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a single room which was very sweet and had all I needed but next time would choose a room at the back of the house if possible because the road at the front is noisy. Not their fault!

    Lovely walks into Whitby across water meadows and along the old railway and then back along the river. Lovely historically interesting house, and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No full length mirror - lots of dust in the room, particularly on light fittings ( we were told that our room was due for renovations ) we did see some other rooms which looked lovely. Unpleasant smell on the stair case area - slightly masked by plug in’s

    Lovely welcoming staff , very good location Great food and overall a very pleasant stay. Beautiful building and great communal spaces. Pretty gardens. great walks nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom, nowhere to put toiletries and felt that it was badly designed. The dining room could do with some pictures or something on the walls, a bit spartan.

    The window and the view from our room. The hall, bar and sitting room were lovely, very atmospheric.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave

    Fantastic greeting by a very professional, Helpful and friendly young lady, Really nice Breakfast, great Honesty bar and then the Building itself, plus a 5 minute Taxi to Whitby

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An old and quirky building, the bathroom not particularly well-maintained, the bedroom needing a good vacuuming. Overall pretty bizarre.

    The beds were comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The window did not close properly and all noises form outside were easily heard inside. Luckily though the location was quiet and traffic was mild.

    Particularly staff and breakfast were great! :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    looked very tired needs updating the owner could be more cheerful dining room very basic breakfast full english or was it 1 egg 1 sausage half a tomato 4 mushrooms cut in half and small pot of beans 1 rasher of bacon + toast come on 2 sausage 2 rashers bacon 2 eggs mushrooms beans toast but coffee was good

    location was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a large Jacobean House which has obviously been neglected in the past and is now being gradually restored. The old window frames in our room were stained with old black mould and needed repainting, and there were dead bees on the window sill. The shower room/toilet was rather small, with a tiny corner wash basin, and needs some shelving for toiletries. The road noise was quite bad in the morning, but the owners can't do anything about that! The carpets are tired, but I'm sure these will be replaced as and when the owner can manage it. They seem to have just replaced the whole of the back roof, which must have cost a fortune.

    We were given a large room at the front of the hotel, with an extra area for sitting. King-sized, very comfy bed. Clean towels and complimentary toiletries. Large, wall-mounted tv screen. High ceilings, luxurious heavy curtains. Room service was efficient. Breakfast was good, especially the sausages from the next-door butchers. The basic cooked breakfast (Option A) included just one rasher of bacon, one sausage, egg, beans, tomato, a few slices of mushroom and a hash brown, so those with a larger appetite would be advised to go for Option H, which doubles up the quantities for an extra £2.25. It was all well cooked. There was also choice of cereals, juice (rather bitter for my taste), sliced peaches, grapefruit, toast, and jars of jam and marmalade. The offered soya milk and Flora spread for those with dairy intolerance. The limited bar operates on an 'honesty' basis, where you help yourself to drinks, write down what you've taken, and pay on departure. Enjoyed the level walk (about a mile) into Whitby between the railway line, which is shared by the normal rail service and the steam railway, and the River Esk on the other side. The other path into Whitby, which runs from alongside the hotel, involves more climbing up and down through woodland, and is probably longer. Loved Whitby and the intriguing Robin Hood's Bay. Whitby has superb fish and chips (try Trenchers on the quayside). I had a gorgeous prawn salad there. Enjoyed Captain Cook's Museum, and whole atmosphere of Whitby. At the time we went, in mid-May, it was uncrowded and relaxed. Perry's garden centre and cafe is another pleasant place to visit, less than a mile away on the road to Sleights (pronounced Slites) and the Whitby scampi they serve is superb. The Plough Inn in Sleights we found to be a welcoming pub serving good food, and we chanced upon quiz night, which kept us entertained.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, warm welcome and I was even allowed in the priest hole, the staff were that friendly I even declared all the drinks I consumed at the honesty bar 🤣🤣🕺💃🏻

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was such amazing value for money, the bed was huge and comfy and the room was spacious yet cosy! And on top of that the room came with breakfast which was really yummy and the service was really good too! The location was great, only a 20 minute walk into whitby along the river. The staff were super friendly and the building was beautiful with a lovely garden! Overall it was a lovely romantic getaway and I would definitely come back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (No Parking)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very kind people, lots of information sidereal tips. The location is really good, walking distance to Whitby. Beautiful place, very nice breakfast. I will come back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    entrance very tight due to a tree. looks nothing from outside

    The quirkiness of the place. a mixture of old and new. beautiful garden. Stunning staircase and bizarrely the threadbare carpet added to the character

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Snug Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Entrance to the car park was very narrow but safely negotiated. There was nothing else to cause concern.

    The whole experience was delightful. The property was superbly historic, the service was excellent and the staff could not have been more helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shortness of our stay - insufficient time to enjoy the features and facilities of the Hall and nearby Whitby!

    We were both taken aback by the history of Ruswarp Hall. It is a Grade 2 Listed Building that has been lovingly renovated by Alison and Colin, its current owners. Staying there felt like an honour and a privilege. Coming back in the evening to a lit stove in the reception area was just one of the many delights of our stay. Our room was small and cosy with an outstanding arched stone window that looked out onto a tree in full blossom. The back of the house has a lounge for guests equipped with another stove, an impressive chess board and many other interesting features and thoughtfully left activities for guests. The garden that it looks out onto screams out to guests to come and explore or simply relax in it. However, the most impressive features of our stay were not in the building and facilities, but were the care and attention provided by Alison, Colin and staff. Our breakfast was provided with attention to our wishes made the night before and before we left we were made to feel so valued by our hosts that our only regret was the shortness of our stay. We certainly plan to return and have recommended Ruswarp Hall to family and friends alike.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Snug Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Lovely old house, lots of history to it, More like a Manor than a house, Good breakfast with lots of options/choice and all local produce, Butchers is actually next door. Clean rooms and ensuite facilities, Comfy bed and pillows. Lovely walk via the river into Whitby took about 30 mins gentle walk on the flat. Friendly staff. Free car parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complimentary toilereries had obviusly been previously used. Turning from road very tight.

    Spacious room. Lovely old building. Friendly staff at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything but the room was a little chilly as the radiater was not very warm. Bath robes would be a bonus welcome along with a hook for them in bathroom. The walls to the rooms are thin as we could here everything also.

    Absolutely fab breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Public reception stairs and landing not clean enough. We wanted a public sitting room. There was one but it wasn't comfortable enough. Notice on one fire - in the bar- area said do not light.

    Friendly service, comfortable bedroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The distance from Whitby is a good 1.5 walk along an unlit track, and because no food is available at the hotel, (or the local pub) meant having to drive in to Whitby for an evening meal, or using a taxi. The owners could make the hotel so much better by providing a nice cosy bar and some good food for tired tourists.

    The room was comfortable and clean. The winter duvets were a little too warm but there was a very hot spell of weather while we were there. The breakfast was good, although the plain yoghurt was a bit watery, and some fresh berries would have been nice instead of tinned fruit. The honesty bar was a good idea but the bar area and lounge weren’t cosy and a bit unwelcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Snug Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    King bed instead of double but i think these are available.

    Good breakfast with good variety. Lovely area. Nice staff. Short walk to whitby. Free parking. Really good atmospheric jacobean mansion with period charm. Peaceful gardens.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff on welcoming were polite and helpful with any questions we had. The honesty bar is a really sweet touch for the business. Our room was large and spacious with amazing views as well as keeping in with the architecture and age of the building with the beams. The breakfast was AMAZING ❤️❤️❤️. It’s a short walk into Whitby with some amazing views so the location is great .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Snug Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor rather dull and dated. too much emulsion paint every where. More antique related decorations would give the place more character.

    Breakfast very good and plentyfull

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a tight fit, and my other half found it noisy during the night from the sound of the next room.

    Beautiful building, lovely little town, really friendly and helpful hosts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was nothing that I really disliked about the hotel, just a shame that the local pub was shut, but if you don’t mind walking or a short drive into Whitby town it wasn’t a problem

    Excellent welcome, comfy rooms, lovely breakfast, great location if you like walking as only about a mile and half into Whitby town walking beside the river and railway. Well done Ruswarp Hall 😊

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heating in bar (there was none) and garden room (shame fire wasn't working) - meant had to spend more time in room than expected, particularly as village pub was shut some days. Also as no meals at accommodation it was disappointing that even when open the pub didn't do food, contrary to online information!

    Lovely historic building and local walks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Snug Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too hot. Could not turn off heating which resulted in a poor nights sleep. Informed owners but issue with heating was not resolved. Ran out of milk and toilet roll in room which wasn't topped up on the 2nd day

    Breakfast Friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The very warm and friendly welcome was a delight to experience. Breakfast was cooked to perfection and customer service was first class... so refreshing to experience this personal touch. Thank you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just lack if TV channels to watch

    Very nice lady who greeted us and helpful throughout our stay. TV channels a bit sparse and as weather was cold we could have done with more to watch. Very quiet village and we slept well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (No Parking)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The village itself has very little by way of amenities. The pub has closed and the village shop carries only basic stock. Great for walking though and using as a base for the area. Single room was fine if not on the small side, but it's only a minor comment, as it met my needs and the bed was very comfy.

    Converted old building retaining original character. Staff really helpful. Fantastic breakfast. Check in / out all easy. On site parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV signal very weak and some channels inc BB1 & BB2 not working. Gas log burner could have been on when we arrived without it being on the reception area is very dingy. First impressions count!

    Breakfast cooked per our request. Very good service

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls and could hear everything in the next room. Decoration was very tired and needs freshening up.

    Owners were friendly and helpful. Provided good service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    They aren't any local restaurants within walking distance for an evening meal . You will need to drive into Whitby or get a taxi . Just over a mile.

    Room very clean and comfortable. Quiet at nIght time as it is in a village. The accommodation is of historic interest. Pub very close by. manageress very friendly and helpful . Breakfast is plentiful!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had an excellent stay at this property, which has so much character. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The room was lovely, with a very comfortable bed and the breakfast was excellent. Also great value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Comfy beds beautiful location. Staff were great and fantastic breakfast. Great value for money and benefit parking which is a plus for Whitby area

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was very cold when we arrived and then very hot during the night. The general staff, although very nice and smiley, weren't very together when serving breakfast or checking us out. The main issue was the wifi was not in our room and we had to sit on the main staircase to get the signal.

    A lovely oldie worldy hotel with character and charm. It's in a beautiful little village within walking distance of Whitby centre. The hotel owners are friendly and were available on arrival to show us around. The bedroom was decorated in a modern style and the bathroom was brand new and clean. The breakfast was very nice. Overall, a very nice place to stay and great value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything that I didn't like.

    I was greeted warmly even though I was late arriving there. My room was most comfortable and well laid out. The lounge was relaxing, with a nice view of the garden. Breakfast was simply the best. Not only the food. But being on my own, Alison made time to have a chat with me. Definitely will be returning soon. 👍❤️

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Snug Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything about the property the hospitality was brilliant breakfast was really good and the room was nice and cosy.

    The old building itself was amazing it had so much character.I liked everything about the property the hospitality was brilliant breakfast was really good and the room was nice and cosy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints about anything

    The property was very clean and the was smart and was in line with style of building .the bedroom was comfortable clean an well stocked. The staff was helpful and friendly and the breakfast was very nice and plentiful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The “double” bed was tiny, very uncomfortable to sleep in as we kept butting into each other all night. And the breakfast in the morning was very small and not filling

    The location was perfect, a 5 minute drive to Whitby, and the building was rich in history

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (No Parking)
    • Stayed 1 night

    car park is a little tight to get into but parking along the roadside is also available

    great location, lovely walk into Whitby along the river. Nice country setting.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Snug Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything I didn't like.

    The age of the building gives some spectacular features. The gardens look lovely and in summer when the Apple trees are in full bloom it would be amazing. It was spotlessly clean too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Snug Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was unfortable, very very hot in the room I had to turn radiator off in bathroom, shower was tiny and would like bath sheets not towels

    Loved the quirky ness of the place, breakfast was also good. The girl that looked after us was a pleasure

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service on second day not good had to go to kuchen to ask staff for breakfast waited 15 mins for them but didn't appear asked for brown bread got white and young girl was chatting to other staff in kitchen so felt ignored

    Would of liked a bath

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The log burners were a bonus at this time of year and the whole house was toasty warm. The staff were polite, friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was tasty, with lots of options and just enough to fill us both.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (No Parking)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful bed, good choice for breakfast, very friendly owner. There have been a lot of comment on here about heating and windows... this is an old building (part of its charm) my room was cozy and warm, I’d have marked it down if it had upvc windows 😉 a little gem

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not good.

    The hotel is very impressive and gothic looking. We had a friendly welcome. Our room was clean, with comfortable beds and we had a lovely garden view. Like the Honesty Bar too. Location wise, about a 25 minute walk to Whitby central, £6 in a taxi.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs,pretty awkward carrying luggage most of the way to room which was located at top level

    Staff friendly & helpful.There was an issue with heating elsewhere in hotel & it was resolved instantly..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As disclosed to the management, I thought the menu selection system was cumbersome and unclear....but didn't distract from it's quality!

    Worth the journey into the unknown.....you'll like it!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few cobwebs in our room and tiny bathroom but nothing that would put me off staying agsin.

    Had a lovely weekend break, friendly staff and the honesty bar is a great idea.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Snug Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good....no complaints.

    Very friendly staff.Excellent accomodation. Great breakfast! 20 minute scenic walk from Whitby or a quick train ride.local pub two minutes away. Loved the original features of the building. Will definitely stay again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpark is a bit tight

    The room was great the breakfast was to die for hospertality was exelent just a lovely place to stay and I can't wait to go back and visit again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very plain and not very warm welcoming. There was no one there on arrival and we did feel abit awkward at first , the lady was lovely when we saw her. Breakfast menu was abit confusing and we had to ask for clarification. I would of like some information about the hotel and maybe the structure of the hotel in the room as we were in the dark about the procedure for breakfast and checking out. It would of been nice to have some information on places to eat on an evening, as the hotel dosen’t do evening meals. The honesty bar was not used as it was cosy in the room but it would of been nice for a bar person to be in there for company. Guinness would of been good to have on the menu. I found the breakfast ok but we did’nt have time to eat our fruit and cereal before our full English arrived. The food was ok.

    The bed was really comfy, shower facilities were good, views were amazing. The chess room as we called it was a nice relaxing room, with activities. Poached eggs were really good!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very plain and not very warm welcoming. There was no one there on arrival and we did feel abit awkward at first , the lady was lovely when we saw her. Breakfast menu was abit confusing and we had to ask for clarification. I would of like some information about the hotel and maybe the structure of the hotel in the room as we were in the dark about the procedure for breakfast and checking out. It would of been nice to have some information on places to eat on an evening, as the hotel dosen’t do evening meals. The honesty bar was not used as it was cosy in the room but it would of been nice for a bar person to be in there for company. Guinness would of been good to have on the menu. I found the breakfast ok but we did’nt have time to eat our fruit and cereal before our full English arrived. The food was ok.

    The bed was really comfy, shower facilities were good, views were amazing. The chess room as we called it was a nice relaxing room, with activities. Poached eggs were really good!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking tight, especially getting in the gateway. No restaurants in the village - Whitby appeared to be the only option.

    Charming Jacobean country house with interesting history, sympathetically restored. Friendly helpful owner. Comfortable room and excellent breakfast. Good value. Would stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like to have a bath so more a preference than a dislike

    Traditional old fashioned building, lovely comfy beds and great choice for breakfast, full English was lovely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was on a very busy and noisy main road, no double glazing.The radiator wouldn't turn on so Our room ( four poster bed) was cold. The jars the milk sachets were in had sour milk in the bottom in both our rooms and I had to wash them out

    Lovely village within walking of whitby. The breakfast was nice and staff very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I struggled a little bit with all the stairs but well worth the struggle when I got to our lovely room

    We loved the warmth of our welcome and the lovely homely feeling. We will certainly go again and tell all our family and friends about it

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Snug Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They really should let you park in their car park rather than park up the hill, just because this was a budget room! You are not allowed alcohol or drinks in your room!

    Clean, friendly Staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    Lovely old building. Friendly and welcoming staff. Good breakfast selection and nice quiet village location, not too far from the main town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in bedroom was only a trickle of water, not great to get a decent shower. Bathroom sink too shallow. Duvet on bed was smaller than duvet cover and bed. Dust webs in light fittings in bedroom. Cooked full English breakfast was always cold to warm, apart from the sausages which were always hot.

    Nice location only a mile walk from Whitby, either along the rail track / river bank or through the woods. Very old building with character. Large bedroom and comfortable bed. Polite staff. Off street parking, although limited to less cars than rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only criticism is the parking really, but it's a minor one. Enough spaces for every room, it's just very tight. Wasn't an issue for us at all really, but don't take a big car if you're not confident at parking!

    Lovely period building, and very friendly staff. Alison was made us feel very welcome and told us the best walks into Whitby and some great places to see around the area. Full English Breakfast was great every morning, didn't try any other breakfasts. Room had everything we needed and was clean with some nice period features, overlooking the gardens. Would definitely stay again!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (No Parking)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is slightly limited parking on site but I easily found a space further up the Main Street.

    Ruswarp Hall is a fantastic looking property, very old and full of character. Loved the feel of the place, the location is good. The breakfast was great too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance to car park was very narrow, difficult at times if cars were parked directly opposite entrance. Would prefer towels to be changed regularly i.e. every 2/3 days.

    Fantastic old building, loved listening about the history of Ruswarp hall from the owner. Our view's from our room we're great. Breakfast was delicious, just enough to eat to last most of the day whilst out exploring. Short walk to Whitby along a path, train lines one side and river the other. Pub in village very welcoming, friendly locals.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Snug Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It had nice walks. Breakfast was good best bit. Needs dusting. Not impressed with moly Windows and cobwebs

    Was expecting more old features not 1980s fireplace

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our shower was far too small and the pillows on the bed were quite hard. Parking rather tight...pleased we've got a corsa, anything bigger you may have difficulty getting in and out the gateway, it's very tight!

    Lovely old hall, comfy bed and excellent breakfasts. Great location and lovely little pub down the road for evening meal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place a little shabby but room v large. Not immaculate in the cleaning department but acceptable. Too hot!

    Owners very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was fine in every respect.

    The owners were very knowledgeable and were very kind in dealing with a a mistake on our part about our arrival. They enjoy sharing their knowledge of their home and its surroundings. We especially appreciated the hostess' suggestion to take a boat ride in Whitby harbor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Property tired and run down. Décor in urgent need of attention. Chair in room had peeling covering. Shower was a nightmare to set properly with no instuctions

    Private parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No heating, damp, cobwebs in both rooms, mould on wall around window of one bedroom. Having to wait to check for along time as owner explained in great detail the walks available to the nearest town

    beds were comfortable. Breakfast adequate

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room did not reflect website photos, very small, ensuite tiny and grubby. Shower miniscule, a large person would not have fit in it. Pillows hard and uncomfortable did not get a good night sleep. Room not tidied properly after first night, rubbish bag tied up and left in middle of room. Dividing walls very thin could even hear next doors kettle boiling.

    Good Breakfast and staff at breakfast were friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit firm fir my partner.

    Peaceful and relaxing , garden is a lovely place to sit and reflect. Lovely rooms to sit and chill out. Breakfast was lovely. Honestly bar, great idea.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: