Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Salamander Guest House 3 stars

40 Grove Road, Stratford-upon-Avon, CV37 6PB, United Kingdom

#27 of 38 B&Bs and Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 810 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.5
    Brilliant staff, great location - very old bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was very old - and needed renovated. It was very expensive for the room we got.

    The staff were so friendly and helpful - I could not fault them. They always had a smile and bent over backwards to help :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.0
    I had to go to another B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I had reserved was situated in the attic. I was aware of that. But that room was so small (about 9 X 12 feet) with its roof at 45 degrees and no dormer. There was only two very small windows and the two single beds sat very low of the ground. It was a room for two teenagers rather than for mature peoples. So, I paid the rent (£130 for two nights) as I was committed and my wife and I went to sleep in another B&B. So frustrating !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels provided had seen better days.. very faded and a bit thread bare!

    Excellent location, great service and breakfast was lovely and a car park !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    The rate was good for the convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    By the 2nd night my hip was achy from the bed spring.

    Everything is within walking distance. Pascal and Vivian were very friendly. Pascal was a very good patron, giving you all the tips about the town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Pascal was very charming, welcoming and extremely helpful as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Pascal was very charming, welcoming and extremely helpful as it was our first trip to Stratford upon Avon. Room very clean and beds extremely comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and plenty to eat.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    The best BnB so far!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a little tight but at least there was off street parking!

    Pascal was friendly, efficient & had amazing people skills. Funny & engaging. Breakfast was beautiful. Served hot & fresh. Would happily stay again!! Have recommended on Facebook already!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Salamander
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit basic could do with a makeover.full english ok but sausages were poor quality.

    Excellent location,nice park with benches just over the road.the owner was very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble.good off road parking,would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    Exceptional ;)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - 2nd floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets were slightly dirty, but this is only a very minor issue.

    The host, Pascal, was truly exceptional. The value for money was outrageously amazing. The beds were better than any hotel I have been in before.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was in the loft which had a slopping roof going over one of the beds

    Pascal was a tremendous host he quite funny. Location is good only 5min from the centre

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    Lovely stay one night was great walking distance to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sharp screws in bathroom sticking out with young children little dangerous couple of slats on single beds were broken noticed due I moving one bed to set up our travel cot

    Lovely size breakfast fantastic location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    The room was comfortable & spacious. I will definitely book again if visiting Stratford Upon Avon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I feel myself and my children would have felt more comfortable if we didn't have to share our breakfast table with other guests in the B&B that's my only negative comment about my stay.

    Excellent Location, Such a short walk to all the good bits in Stratford Upon Avon. Fabulous friendly staff! Good size room and comfortable beds. Free Wifi a bonus for the children.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    A nice little gem especially on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 2nd floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a bit tight and the fan wasn’t working properly

    The owner is brilliant! He will make you feel welcome and help you with exploring and give rest recommendations

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location and value for money. Staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 2nd floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were very thin so we were woken up several times due to noise.

    Staff were lovely and accommodating. Unfortunately we did not have breakfast which was offered as we had a wedding and had to leave very early.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    3.8
    Ruined our theatre trip and night away to be honest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 2nd floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room much too small for a double and baking hot. Shower room door did not close properly, water temperature/pressure was intermittent and unreliable. Power failure (told there was an electrical fault which was concerning) late evening meant we had no power, no lights, no tv, no tea/coffee, no fan, no phone charging facilities. Owner did not offer alternative room so we spent a very uncomfortable night there and left early, furious to discover owner had still charged us. Refund secured via booking.com (thank you) but definitely will not be recommending or re-visiting.

    The only good thing about this property, in our experience, is its location which is close to the theatre and shops.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location shame about the shower!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Electric showers are pants and the ones at Salamander are more than pants.... it could be because water pressure is low in the area as Pascal explained but the advice to wait a few minutes is hardly condusive to a good stay when you get in the shower and half way through the poor barely tolerable flow turns into a cold trickle. Call me old fashioned but standing wet in the nude for a few minutes isn't fun! In room 7 the draws are unusable - they won't run in the runners. The beds were just about tolerable but seemed lumpy and were a little uncomfortable Pascal is a very friendly host but a little overbearing for us.... The jokes about Americans not speaking English, Starbucks not serving real coffee or paying taxes, how to use a tea pot, etc. don't stop and loose their humour after the first night. Perhaps that's just our taste or are most people humouring him?

    Great location, really clean room and friendly host... Pascal!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.9
    Would return :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temperature of the shower went from freezing cold to burning hot so we unfortunately weren't able to use it during our 1 night stay. That was the only negative.

    The owner, Pascal was brilliant! Very friendly and helpful. Recommended places to visit and restaurants and was very welcoming. The b&b is comfortable, clean and very close to local amenities. Good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Really enjoyed our 1st trip to Stratford
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking a bit tight for larger cars but still managed to park up each day at the property.

    Very friendly staff, clean and modern rooms with a nice breakfast to set you up for the day. Great location short walk into the centre. Parking on site

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    Would stay again !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owner is incredibly well informed about the local area and was very helpful with local attractions and gave some brilliant information. was a very enjoyable stay the breakfast was great value for money and couldn't ask for a better location and a plus was they had Parking :D

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very comfortable and beautiful. The location was quite central to Shakespeare's birthplace. The host, Pascal was very engaging, pleasant and funny. It was quite a pleasure to talk to him Breakfast was very tasty. We were allowed to keep our luggage at the guest house even after we had checked out, which was extremely helpful. Thank you Pascal for your hospitality! Really enjoyed it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant, convenient, and even a fun place to stay in Stratford.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cook could not make "easy" eggs. They were always overdone. But otherwise the breakfast was good.

    I liked the location, within easy walking distance of the main sights. The owner was funny and gregarious and introduced us to other guests. He let us park our rental car behind the B&B although we had not reserved a space ahead of time. It was a pleasant, comfortable place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Brilliant B & B!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous B & B. Room fantastic - spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, location perfect but most of all - host Pascal was absolutely brilliant. So friendly, welcoming and funny! Still laughing now at some of his jokes! Thank you Pascal for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    It was nice for a day to be in Stratford apon Avon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 2nd floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants and pubs weren't so goed. We saw several junkies sitting to beg voor money.

    I liked to talk to the other visitors during breakfast. The staff was very kindly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    We had a great time in Stratford and Salamder Guest House was a great choice for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast, it’s mostly English.... would be nice to have a choice of lighter food such as fruit/yogurt/cheese/bread and different types of eggs

    The fanctional room for a family of 2 adults and 2 kids, the location very close to the center and parking, the friendliness and informative host.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    The owner Pascal is a great host and welcomes you like a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner Pascal is a great host and welcomes you like a family member. Breakfast is huge and every effort to please you is made. Lots of information provided as to where to go what to do etc. Its like Pascal is the tourist information centre. First time i have really recomended a place. Enjoy And thanks Pascal Regards Peter

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - strongly recommend for a very comfortable stay

    Location was fantastic for walking everywhere. Plenty of car parking space. Room and breakfast were lovely. Highlight is Pascale who was a wonderful entertaining and informative host

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Very great hospitality and awesome very hearty breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water pressure of the shower can be small sometimes.

    Everything is just great. My parents really enjoyed their stay and said this was probably the best highlight of their trip. The breakfast is awesome, nice tea and coffee and home cooked English breakfast. Treated more like a friend visiting rather than a guest or visitor staying over. Very great hospitality. Very clean room and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We received a warm friendly and well informed welcome from Viv upon our arrival before being show to our comfortable room . We were all entertained at breakfast by Pascal who is very amusing and had all of the guests laughing . The breakfast was lovely and the guest house is in a perfect location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Perfect weekend away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, walking distance from all main attractions. Room and bed very comfortable and lovely breakfast. Pascal is attentive, funny, engaging and completely bonkers. He is also extremely knowledgable about the area and very informative. Would not hesitate to recommend The Salamander.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent host and location to town centre and station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly, bigger tv and wardrobe, but ours was the triple room with double and single bed.

    The central location, the friendly helpful host Pascale, good breakfast, comfortable room, own key for 24hr access. Would recommend and use again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    An ideal spot to explore Stratford from and great for a stopover en route.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of soaps but no other complimentary toiletries but not a problem for us as we always take our own .

    Pascal was a wonderful host , kept us amused with his patter. Lovely breakfast. Off road parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable stay with friendly and professional host
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No.

    - We like the overall welcoming atmosphere here. Pascal, the owner, gives a warm welcome to us and other guests. He also manages the guesthouse very well. - We are satisfied with our room and the English breakfast and we also love our breakfast time here! - The location is the best as it is situated at the middle between train station and the town center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Loved Pascal and the service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was a little tired and the furnishings needs to be refreshed.

    Pascal, he was so amazing and got all the guests talking to each other. He was very funny and always happy to assist and even told her the best places to go and things to do.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Warmest and most helpful checking-in and out :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we had to go home so quickly :)

    Warmest and most helpful checking-in and out :) Small family hotel with great owner made our journeu unforgettable. Many thanks, Pascalis! We want to come back next year again, visit pelargoniums exhibition and maybe plant some plants in hotel garden... :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Great place for trip to Stratford
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 2nd floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    The room was great, bed comfy, plenty of space to store clothes etc, plenty of light and tea/coffee in room, onsite parking, very easy access to town centre on foot (10 minutes walk to RSC theatre), great cooked breakfast and a great host in Pascal who entertained everyone. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.0
    Basic but value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure is so low the shower doesn’t really work. The bathroom was rather dirty in places.

    The location is very close to the town centre and theatre. The place is overall good value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay and such a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Occasional water pressure issue but we were told to expect it

    The location is fantastic - easy to reach all areas of the town. Breakfast was good and the staff were excellent - very social and knowledgeable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    We would definitely stay again. Comfortable, and delicious breakfast. We would definitely recommenS.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head was broken. The drain was blocked in the shower.

    VIV was extremely friendly and was the most wonderful host. She made our stay so much fun, and presented our breakfast perfectly, to suit each of us individually. Delightful! She is an asset to salamander guesthouse!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    A delightful day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 2nd floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not applicable

    The bed was as comfortable as the one at home. Better bed than any other hotel bed in which we have stayed in Stratford. The lady in charge was excellent, friendly, helpful and efficient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location. Good staff and breakfasts. Private car parking available. Avoid the attic rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst we paid the minimum rate for a room with an ensuite, we were disappointed that it was an attic room. The skylight was fine, but the other single window did not have a blockout curtain, so we used a small blanket to keep the morning light out - not the end of the world.... Had to be careful not to hit our head on the ceiling beam. If we were to stay again, would pay a bit extra for a non attic room.

    Close to city centre. Maximum of 10 minutes on foot. Owner was away, but Vivienne was very friendly and helpful. Car parking at rear of property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay in Stratford
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a great stay. Good location, spacious parking, comfortable stay and lovely breakfast, what else can a traveller ask for. The B&B is just 5 minutes walk from the main centre and river bank. Viven the host is very respectful and kind. She is very welcoming and approachable which makes your stay much more comfortable. All amenities are available. A great place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Delightful B and B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 2nd floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything satisfactory.

    Small room on the top floor but was clean and suited our purposes for an overnight stay. Full English breakfast was lovely. Vivian was very welcoming and friendly. Good internet. Free off street parking provided at back of property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    The lady running the Guest House in the absence of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - 2nd floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower did not work very well and the room was very small and hot when we arrived, but cooled with the windows open. It was fine for us, but the stairs were very steep when trying to negotiate them with luggage.

    The lady running the Guest House in the absence of the owners, was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room - 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast and site. Specially, the owner is very nice to borrow the glasses to my teacher! Thanks! I will book it again if I vist to Shakespeare's birthplace!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.8
    A wonderful hostess, clean home, and great location is convenient to Stratford.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the location and staff (Vivian). Room was adequate but tight with 3 people. Would have loved an available sitting area in the home. The room had no room for chairs and the breakfast tables filled the sitting room. The park benches across the street in the lovely park served.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location and friendly host
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room # 2 a bit small for 3 adults.

    Well located B&B: can walk every where. Family room (#2) a bit small for 3 beds: but #3 is big enough. Small bathroom but clean. Hardware in bathroom working but starting to be loose. Room very clean. Beds are comfortable (Not too hard). Very good breakfast with orange juice; but not fresh fruits or yogurt. The owner Pascal is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Would recommend and definitely stay there again when next in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pascal was very welcoming and amusing throughout our stay. Property was what you would expect for the price, basic but clean and tidy. Very centrally placed, only a few minutes walk to the centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    We attended the Stratford Festival of Motoring weekend and the Salamander B&B was an ideal base.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 2nd floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very charismatic and friendly host, Great location within a short walk into the centre of Stratford upon Avon with free off road parking. We shall stay here again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Perfect in every way! 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 2nd floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the first meeting at the door Pascal made us feel at home. We found out everything we needed to ( and a little more 😂) from Pascal who was in no other words the perfect host. The room was clean, spacious and the breakfast was delicious and the sound of laughter coming from the breakfast room just added to our most pleasurable stay. Recommend to all!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a little weak

    Most friendly hosts we've had yet. Wondrous location with a straight and short walk to the theatres. Comfortable beds and nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    Good location but landlord should change his approach to his guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner way to force the guests into interaction at breakfast time by introducing everyone to everyone else every time a new guest came for breakfast.

    Location and beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Very nice and kind of host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and kind of host. And thank you so much for driving my husband to hospital, since my husband got asthma attack when we stay in Stratford upon Avon. Very good breakfast. Very good location. Nice and clean room. Recommend!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    This is a lovely guesthouse, very close to the centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a lovely guesthouse, very close to the centre of town, the theatre and the train station. Pascal is an excellent host, very friendly and pleasant. The room was spotless and of very good quality and the breakfast was excellent. I will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow driveway to car park but nothing you can do about that.

    In excellent location. Ample parking. Good breakfast. Excellent host. Well run. Wevwere a party of 6 and all said they would return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location and coffee, a nice host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds are too low down and no legs. No blind on one of windows woke up early as light coming down directly on bed. Kettle not working in room did not realise until the morning so was not reported as too close to breakfast and several flights of stairs.

    Excellent location and coffee, a nice host.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    Good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good sized room which was warm and clean . Location was walking distance to main sites in Stratford. Helpful owner allowed us to park at B+B. during day. Very good breakfast. Happy with our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    Not far from RSC, clean, and a friendly welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - No blind in the bathroom. Large window right next to the toilet, and shower. There is a car park, with people coming and going, and another building opposite - so a blind is must! - The alley/path leading to the car park, and the room we were staying in - was unlit, and full of potholes. There really should have been a security light. It was an issue particularly because one of our party has a walking stick, and another uses a wheelchair. - There is a door in the family suite, to the main building, to which we were not provided a key. We were told that no-one would access it from the other side, but the cleaner used this door a couple of times (the first time without even knocking). A little bit odd, and just a privacy issue, we could have been getting dressed. - One of the twin beds, is incredibly creaky, which kept everyone awake! - Some of the sheets were stained, they were clean and smelled fresh though, so just age probably. - There is a step down into the room/suite, so not suitable for wheelchair/mobility scooter users. With a ramp it would have been perfectly accessible though.

    - Pascal was very welcoming, and helpful. - The family suite had a separate/private entrance. - Parking was very tight, but at least there was parking available. - The WiFi was excellent. - Location is very good. We know Stratford quite well, but if its your first time, you won't have any problems getting around. Only a few minutes walk to the RSC. - One of us made use of the included breakfast, and enjoyed it very much (continental, plus traditional English).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant enough o/n accomadation with helpful and informative host. Met our requirements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower mixer didn’t work properly, and concertina doors to en-suite were awkward. WiFi didn’t work straight away.

    Our host was helpful and genial. The room was clean. The breakfast was Ok, but not exceptional! Central to the sights of Stratford upon Avon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.5
    Staff were wonderful, breakfast tasty and location superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress on the double bed sagged in the middle (needs changing) so we kept rolling into each other in the middle of the bed during the night. Pillows and duvet were old and not comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Cozy, conveniently located near the tourist attractions,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compared to the small gardens in front of the neighbours, it needs some work to be done.

    Cozy, conveniently located near the tourist attractions, humorous and helpful staff/owner?

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Pascal is charming and really made us feel great and at home...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room - 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes it gets cold during the night in the attic. And the water pressure 'a not always that good. It's not that bad though.

    Pascal is charming and really made us feel great and at home away from home. The breakfast is good. The B&B is 10 minutes walk from all the Shakespeare related sights, 20 minutes from Ann Hathaway'a farm. It was great staying here. Will definitely stay again when in Stratford-upon-Avon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Great location and staff. Ideal for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pascal (the owner) was very friendly,funny, knowledgeable and approachable. Gave detailed information of Stratford and provided a map of the area with all the highlights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Amazing Mr Pascal doing excellent home atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing Mr Pascal doing excellent home atmosphere. We loved his sense of humour. I have never smiled so much eating breakfast before in my whole life❤️Really recommended 😘

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    All in all a fantastic stay... it was very clean very comfortable and warm an friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man's jokes were a little over the top which toom away some of the relaxation element but he was extremely nice the information he gave made our mini break incredibly smooth

    Everything was fantastic.. the staff in particular were very welcoming and informative

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice B&B in Stratford Upon Avon
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had Room 5 which was on the top floor. After about 30 seconds of the shower delivering water, the pressure reduced and no water was available. I advised the member of staff later and as soon as I started to tell her, she was already aware of the problem.

    Clean and in nice position.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Lovely nights stay in great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guest house was lovely and clean. Nice big room for my family of four and in the best location. Viv was very friendly and welcoming to all of us, lovely lady! Would highly recommend the Salamander to anyone visiting Stratford-Upon-Avon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Great place to stay, lovely staff and brilliant breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 2nd floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely comfortable room, convenient location. Very friendly and helpful staff. Absolutely lovely breakfast!. All in all great value for money. Looking forward to our next stay!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    Good for our two night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 2nd floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Attic room rather small and walls not very well sound proofed. Not really suitable for those who would find difficulty in climbing the final set of steep stairs to the two attic rooms.

    As the owner of the property was away at the time of our visit we were met by Vivian on our arrival. She was very friendly and helpful and as well as explaining the facilities at the property she also helped with with pointing out local places of interest etc. Plenty to eat at breakfast if you can manage it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    A very authentic & welcoming B&B in the heart of Stratford upon Avon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Viv our host could not have been more attentive or helpful during our stay. A real traditional British B&B. Location for town could not be better with a two minute walk to the town centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 2nd floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi didn't work in attic room, room a little small, shower could be better.

    Excellent and friendly staff, free parking, good location, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    I LOVED STAYING AT THIS HOTEL ITS LIKE STAYING AT MY MUMS I WILL BE BACK THANK YOU
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    INTERNET KEPT DROPPING OUT

    BREAKFAST FAB CEREAL TOAST FULL ENGLISH COOKED TO PERFECTION TABLE WITH A VIEW WATCHING THE WORLD GO BY WHAT ELSE DO YOU NEED THANK YOU VIV

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    Good value, friendly accommodation near the centre of Stratford-on-Avon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 2nd floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Long climb up to our second floor room, though to be honest we knew about it in advance and didn't mind. Room was very small, and I kept hitting my head on the curved ceiling. But it wasn't a big deal.

    The location was brilliant - walking distance from the centre of town and from the theatre - our main reason for the visit. The car park was good, as was the fact that we could leave the car there on the morning we left which we did some last minute shopping. I was disappointed not to meet Pascal, the owner - but Vivienne was welcoming and friendly, so no complaints there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.8
    A Great Weekend in Stratford for my Son's Birthday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner Pascal is quite funny and likes to make the guests feel relaxed. He also is very helpful with sorting out parking at the property and giving advice on where to go for the tourist attractions and places to eat.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Welcoming, warm and delightful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 2nd floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our host Pavel was a delight. He gave us great information about our stay and kept us laughing at the same time. Would recommend the Salamander very highly. It is also very close to the RSC which was the purpose of our visit.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Relaxing and Fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 2nd floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    The hotel was a friendly homely place and very close to town and theatre. Pascal the owner was very charming and witty ,he engaged with us from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Could not recommend this place enough for anyone looking to visit Stratford. Thank you for making my birthday that extra bit special.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Home from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pascal is the perfect host! Felt like home from home and the location is perfect! The family suite was really spacious (children had their own adjoining room with their own TV!) which was a welcomed surprise as most of the big chain hotels will cram a family of 4 into 1 small room. Breakfast was sociable and enjoyable too.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: