Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Salterns Harbourside Hotel 3 stars

38 Salterns way, Poole, BH14 8JR, United Kingdom

#6 of 12 hotels in Poole

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 194 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view of the car park from our window was a little disappointing. I would stay again, but would prefer a harbour view.

    The bed was really comfy, the breakfast was delicious and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wifi in (2nd storey) room, only on ground floor. No lift. Large room, but blown double glazing window pane, unlined curtains, everything rather worn and chipped. Sofa had seen better days and the springs had almost worn through the seat. Stair carpets worn, going on threadbare. No blinds or curtains in large bathroom window.

    Breakfast and Dinner surprisingly good. Courteous Reception Staff, who remained behind desk. Lots of towels in bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. Could not connect to WiFi in hotel room.

    Had a lovely evening meal in the restaurant and very good breakfast,tasty and varied selection, good value for money. Stunning views from room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel could do with a makeover, looking a bit tired from the outside and the shower could do with being upgraded.

    The views across the harbour were stunning. The staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Great breakfast, lots of choice that would appeal to anybody. We had a spacious room and large bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift so it was a struggle to get up to our room with our luggage.

    Bar snack was lovely. Breakfast great my poached eggs cooked to perfection. Lovely bright bedroom with lovely views. Very helpful and pleasant staff. Parking near the hotel was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi not special in our room. However 4g signal was fine so not a problem for us.

    Perfect location for all Poole Harbour activities. Large comfortable room. We asked for additional pillows, duly supplied. Our en suite actually had a Bath too! Recommend the breakfast which was exceptional. All staff were welcoming, polite and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were on the second floor and since there was no lift had to hump our case up several flights of stairs. The decor could do with freshening up.

    Food, very quiet location, helpful staff, plus we were upgraded to a sea view room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One night (particularly warm) a bit noisy below room, from outdoor terrace but quiet after 11.30 pm

    Welcoming helpful staff. Good size room overlooking Marina. Excellent cooked breakfast. Maybe could have done with a better selection of fruit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very tired décor wise (not that that really matters, everything was clean) and a few things in our room didn't work (fan, ironing board collapsed, couldn't turn shower off completely, light bulb blown). Soundproofing not good from room above. From 6 am for about an hour we heard raised voices (might be TV) and constant stomping footsteps. backwards and forwards. I complained to reception as thought it might be a function room above being prepared. Didn't find out what it was. The Marina workshop started up a loud machine engine at 7 am and left it running for about 20 minutes! The perils of being by a working marina I suppose. Delivery of ordered food (including breakfast) very slow, and waiter got my breakfast order wrong (he didn't write anything down) and no sign of the toast we were given a plate and butter for. We just gave up on it in the end. The food we did get was very good. We thought we had annoyed the waiter by asking to sit outside (sunny morning others eating outside, and service was being provided outside!) as he said with a frown 'but I've laid you a table in here' I don't think it was laid for us particularly and I was willing to take the small number of items out for him. We sat outside!

    Harbourside location with large terrace with bar restaurant - food very good, (though service very patchy) and lots of options for vegetarians. Plenty of easy parking in front of hotel (even with the massive boat taking up quite a few spaces). Large airy room with lovely views over the sea. Plenty of storage space and a roomy bathroom. Lots of extras - bottled water, toiletries, tea, coffee biscuits etc. Short stroll to local shops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Marketing manager on reception was extremely rude to me and answered the phone in the middle of me speaking and refused to deal with my query. Restaurant staff forgot our breakfast order and lied about it rather than just apologise.

    Great location and my Nieces wedding party was well organised

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds VERY UNSTABLE AND WOBBLY. impossible to sleep. They charge for breakfast after 9.30 even if you have paid in advance. You pay again. Really, along the lines of a cheap old style UK B&B. Needs total overhaul. If the location is important then pay the money and stay here. If you dont get harbour facing room though you will have very claustrophobic view of a wall.

    Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather was poor but the second morning the sun broke through the cloud. Not for long. I did not notice AC. Full Summer may be Hot.

    Back bacon in a Brioche bap. Fantastic. The buffet presentation was excellent. Excellent view in good weather. Has a good atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There seemed to be a lack of staff at the property. Especially in the restaurant at breakfast time. The room was an absolute oven (genuinely uncomfortable), even with the heating turned off and after being told we paid extra for a 'quiet room' there was a dog in the room next door to us who barked all night. Finally, if you want a powerful shower - I wouldn't bother. Shower pressure in the hotel was more like a trickle.

    The location is fantastic and the staff (when you could find them) were great. Our fridge wasn't working in our room and it was fixed straight away. The restaurant was lovely for evening food and the drink selection is good (and reasonably priced). Breakfast whilst really nice took over 30 mins to arrive on both days.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel could do with a lift for the upper floors

    Marvellous views across Poole Harbour towards Brownsea Island and Sandbanks. Huge bedroom with two large windows overlooking the harbour

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a wedding reception on the evening of my stay so there was a fair amount of noise which went on until 1am, but I was warned of this by the hotel staff. I personally wasn't bothered by this as I had been at another reception myself and didn't get back until 00:40 anyway! But if peace and quiet is important to you it would be wise to ask in advance of your stay.

    Easy to find in a location a short way away from the main road with lots of parking. Bed very comfy and my room was clean and well appointed, I had 101 which has a lovely view. The breakfast was also very tasty and the staff very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very little not to like for a 2 night stay

    The room was warm, the bed was large and very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent, good quality selected ingredients. Our room over looked the bay for a real Poole experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains in room sun showed through where patches had deteriorated badly. Corridors had some damage to carpets.

    Clean breakfast not greasy Lovely choices of evening meals.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Evening drinks at bar were not that great. Should have drunk bottled beers.

    Breakfast was very nice and dining room had great view of harbour. Staff were great with any request asked.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm even though the heating was off which was strange.

    Room 102 was huge and beds very comfortable. The room olhas prime position over the harbour which was lovely. A great place to stay at when warmer I can imagine.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely large room with a huge window overlooking Poole Harbour. Amazing welcome for our dog and nothing was too much trouble. All staff welcoming and friendly. Excellent service and gorgeous food - best chips and one’s I would return for. Will certainly be returning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little too hot in the room, but the heating wasn't on, however it was easy to open the windows. That's about it!

    The room that we had was a twin, but we got double beds! The room itself was very clean and very large too! Lots of hanging/storage space. The bathroom had a nice deep bath, shower, toilet & washbasin. All very clean from floor to ceiling. Great views of the harbour. Excellent room service (we had cheesy chips) and a great breakfast. Gluten free options were also available. If you consider it's location it's FANTASTIC value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the third floor, up many stairs and round corridors There was NO lift. This wasn't mentioned anywhere. Luckily a member of staff took our heavy things up.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Huge bedroom with stunning views over Saltern Marina, Poole Harbour, Brownsea Island and Sandbanks. Plenty of interesting walks and the bus stops are only a 1 minute walk from the hotel. Very nice breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa that was in the room we could not sit on because it was broken, the back has come away from the seat. Also the shower was so ridiculously narrow and we are average size not overweight. Cooked breakfast was a bit stingy with just one slice bacon one sausage egg and a teaspoon beans could of been better we think.

    We liked the location and the fact that we had views across harbour. The room was pleasant but basic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We Like real ales but this was poor in the bar . Mainly lagers .

    The room we had was bright and airy, with a great view of the marina and garden. The food was of high Quality and varied. Not Over priced and good value. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhelpful member of staff on reception when I had to ask for replacement hairdryer as the one I had tried to use had set on fire in my hand! Receptionist never spoke a word to me!!!

    Lovely position, great view from room, huge room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncleanliness, tables filled with dinner and breakfast dishes hours after table vacated.

    Didn't get given welcome so went down to breakfast at 9.50 to be told it ended at 9.30am. We were given breakfast but only because the waitress was really lovely. The whole building is due to be smashed down for a new property to be built. The four poster bed was uncomfortable, the sheets were too small for the bed and kept peeling off the corners, the room was above the kitchen which was really nosy, it smelt of sewerage, we had to put on a fan as it was so hot but couldn't get fresh air from the Windows due to the stench. The hotel itself needed refurbi g, I can't believe we wasted £145 on a night there is was a rip off !!!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation and the service were terrible. Extremely expensive for service received. We will never stay there again. Really bad start to our holiday.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    waited 5mins for some one to come to reception to book us in. Had dinner in restaurant was told there was items on the menu that they had not got so was limited to what we could order ,when meal arrived at table the meal was not hot.

    views from the room of the harbour.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    View not so good, and there was no lift, although the hotel had given us the most accessible room in response to my request for ground floor. Need a car to get out and about (or to be active and able to walk the distance to the main road for a bus service)

    The room was large and had a fridge which was really useful in the very hot weather we had during our stay. Breakfast choice and quality was excellent. Staff very helpful and friendly. It was nice to have an outdoor area to sit at the harbour.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I enjoyed everything, a lovely atmosphere.

    Beautiful views especially from our room, staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Beautiful location. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like.

    A very nice pet friendly hotel in a very nice location by Salterns Marina. Room 109 was a large bedroom with a balcony for sitting out on and pet was allowed to stay in the room with us. Good food in the restaurant or sat outside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel exterior could do with a face lift, but very good inside!

    Lovely breakfast served each morning to order - nothing too much trouble for the staff. Lovely room with windows overlooking Poole harbour, Salterns Marina, and across to Sandbanks. Unfortunately it looks as though this Hotel is eventually going to be replaced with a five star complex of Hotel and flats. So sad, as we would have definitely liked to revisit sometime in the future.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we noticed was the wash hand basin needed unblocking as it took quite a while for the water to disappear.

    The room was a very good size with plenty of windows and a brilliant view over looking the harbour, the bathroom was also a very good size and very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no air-con in the bedroom and it was the hottest week-end of the year. The bathroom did not have much shelf space and it took a long time for the hot water to come through. There wasn't a lot of choice for breakfast but what there was was reasonable quality.

    I liked the informality. The room was spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was larger than average. The restaurant overlooked the foreshore and there were good views over the harbour to the Isle of Purbeck in the distance. The staff, although mainly young, were helpful and friendly. The car park, while not large, was very convenient and access was easy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A nice accommodating welcome from Nikki on Reception when we arrived at 8.50pm on a Monday evening. The room size was very generous, as was the breakfast. The location is excellent next to a marina, overlooking Brownsea Island & Sandbanks across the bay. The area of Lilliput is quite exclusive, therefore, the hotel is surrounded by large houses. The staff are friendly and professional and the facilities are good. There is a large outdoor and indoor seating area overlooking the bay at the front of this historic hotel (WW11 headquarters). A very nice experience that I would like to repeat at sometime. It is in a good position for visiting Compton Acres gardens (well worth a visit plus it is dog friendly), Swanage & Wareham, and also, the Dorset coast, Wimborne plus the seaside facilities of Bournemouth are close by.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extremely hot and noisy and durring the night there was no cold water from the tap. The bed was so firm that any movement from partner disturbed me. Very poor nights sleep.

    the staff were nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Music was a little intrusive at breakfast time, would have preferred it quieter to enjoy the scene and peaceful environment at that time more. Lower would have been fine

    Very scenic location and not too busy, lovely room and food and great to be able to take our dog

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived from guernsey at about nine o'clock and there was no food available after nine. Some limited room service would have been good.

    good choice of breakfast very good fresh fruit and cheese

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was kind of away from the city center and other attractions. A bit out of the way. Great for boaters though I would imagine.

    We liked the view of the harbor. The bar and restaurant were on the water and we could also see part of the marina from our room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room Was fine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I enjoyed every part of the stay, no complaints.

    We were put (upgraded ?) into a huge room with a comfy four poster bed, over the original Double which actually made our weekend stay 100% better thank you!! The food: The breakfast was great, the staff were lovely and friendly, and super helpful if i had any area questions or needing to book a taxi. The room: 4 poster bed, made us feel like the king and queen :D Great views of the harbour from the room. Huge room with all the amenities (hairdryer, iron, ironing board, trouser press, kettle with plenty of tea) Big bathroom with bath and awesome shower. All in all great stay, lovely hotel, lovely area, lovely staff, would 100% recommend.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi Fi didn't work in Bedroom or Lounge Dog was encouraged to take biscuits from the bar counter No choice of draught beer

    Food was excellent Room was spacious and quiet

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decorative state of the building good do with a freshen up. Carpets in need of change and the unfortunate smell of the kitchen in reception.

    The staff were excellent. Extremely friendly and efficient. The hotel does look a bit tired now but the location and staff more than make up for it. A lovely stay and I will return, probably this year.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As I said, rooms were a bit dated, worst shower I have had in a hotel for years.....

    Great location, staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms big but a bit dated. t was great that our dog was allowed in the room and the bar. Food was well presented but not great tasting.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have loved Spa facilities

    The staff were fabulous. Very friendly and helpful.I am a recruitment officer for a large organisation and I have to say that your recruitment process is spot on. Thank you for a lovely weekend.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have liked a bigger variety of food as there was a lot which was fried ..The bed was not very comfortable as seemed to hard, we had to have all the windows open due to the heating being so high and found with these two factors we were unable to have a good nights sleep.

    The room was lovely with a great view bathroom spacious

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather shabby. Really could do with some TLC. Wanted a breakfast before 8.30 on Sunday but not possible. Staff suggested cold plate left out for us but this did not happen so no breakfast.

    Good fresh breakfast.. Other meals just ok. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was a little dated and was difficult to get a decent temperature, either too hot or too cold.

    The location was excellent overlooking Poole Harbour and Brownsea Island. Quality of food was excellent for dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite a lot more water from the shower would have made it a better experience.

    Excellent range of food for breakfast. The staff at reception and in the restaurant were always pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room could do with a bit of a refurbishment and it definitely needs frosted glass in the bathroom or some nets up to the windows. I know the view is a fantastic selling point but had to draw all the curtains to change and everytime we wanted to use the bathroom.

    The view from the room was outstanding and the size of the room was too. Also, all of the staff were great and the breakfast was cooked to perfection and delicious.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wedding on and they were very rowdy After hours and into the early morning Needless to say Next room to us Staff were trying to control children when we arrived they were breaking plants and using bad language Which is a shame as it is a beautiful location and nice staff Management need to up charges and for functions and be more selective about clients

    The room was bigger than normal hotels modern and clean even had free water Breakfast was excellent What a breathtaking view of the harbour

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy during the evening - would have been nice to have been warned that there was a noisy function being held below my room.

    Breakfast with the view over the harbour was fabulous. Lovely choice of food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a wedding reception in the hotel which went on until 1.30 am and it would have been nice to have been forewarned about this. We also had torrential rain during the night and I was kept awake most of the night by dripping water coming into our room from the flat roof. I had noticed a damp patch already in the ceiling when we arrived, so I presume this was not the first time this had happened.

    The breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very, very tired. Get rid of the dead plants in reception, they look awful. The curtains in our room were hanging down. Need replacing. Beds very hard. Need bottled tonic too!

    Room was very large. Bathroom was spacious and very clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    exterior and interior decor paintwork tired , general housekeeping needs attention ,dining area seats tatty ,leatherette flaking on seat ing ,patio needs attention . the location outshone the general appearance and maintenance .hotel great but needs decorating .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was served sausages that was tangy in taste because they were going off & reception said theyd had a lot of complant's don't know why they kept serving them ??

    Lovely staff especially in the dining room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lights in bathroom. The bed creaked- needed new mattress. The cleaner hoovered at 8.30am on a Sunday outside our room and woke us up! The shower was useless. For the price it was not standard expected.

    The waiters were lovely at breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower in room 206 didn't drain and was there wasn't any power to it. but it had really nice large bathroom.

    the area was lovely and dogs are allowed. the food was really tasty. The rooms were a nice size and it was quiet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows a bit thin and soft, everything else was perfect.

    Lovely location, great room with super-comfy beds and sofa + fab view of marina. A rare treat to have both shower and big bath. Great food, friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food very disappointing and expensive.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable room. Excellent location with plenty of parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ingredients used at breakfast were of a very high standard and were delicious! The staff were very attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty and smelly. we walked out

    Position

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and comfortable; room overlooking bay very much appreciated and good value. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Party on sat night was a little noisy but we were warned.

    Friendly staff, nice location and good price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel needs a full re fit

    very dated and over priced

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of air con will make rooms very warm in summer. They do provide fans.

    Lovely breakfast with beautiful views over the harbour.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great welcome, helpful staff, lovely location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are very friendly and professional

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely dual aspect views from room. Quiet and very comfortable. Excellent service from all staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a little on the weak side but apart from that everything was great

    Excellent location with plenty of parking and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    Great views over Poole harbour and Brownsea Island. Very quiet location. Close to Poole town centre and Sandbanks

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a lift

    Full English Breakfast Fabulous. Staff friendly. Room lovely and bed comfortable, what more do you need?

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating on the rooms

    Position was lovely

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: