Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sandcliff Guest House 3 stars

Runton Road, Cromer, NR27 9AS, United Kingdom

#11 of 13 B&Bs and Inns in Cromer

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1255 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.4
    At £42 I suppose you get what you pay for, but I would not stay there again by choice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcome was "I'm glad it is you checking in" the check in time was before 8.00pm and I arrived at 7.00pm but got the impression that they were more concerned about me not potentially not turning up rather than a welcoming smile. It was a very long walk, up and down stairs, to the bathroom, which was tired.

    Nothing apart from the price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    2.9
    Never again, awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small, awful decor in poor condition, psint flaking in the bathroom, the shower was extremely weak with a mouldy shower curtain that was too short, unfriendly staff, no wifi, wet towls were not exchanged.....

    Norhing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of been nice to be out of are room at 11 o'clock not 10 o'clock which I thought it was but mistaken but staff were really nice about it.

    It was just right for my friend and I staff were r eallyfriedly breakfast was very nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    clean tidy and very enjoyable visit
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    was disapointed with the check in ... after 4 1/2 hour journey it would have been nice to have received a nice greeting .. but instead it was check in .. no pleasent conversation no welcoming greeting .. just basic information about room number & breakfast details ... at this stage if we hadn't already paid we could quite easily have turned round and found elsewhere to stay ... apart from the check in the staff was absolutly superb for the rest of our stay

    all the staff was very freindly apart from the check in which is mentioned below .. Breakfast was superb and very freindly service & conversation

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    2.5
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff extremely rude and un welcoming , was on a golf day at royal Cromer and when we went to check in we was told that golfers are not normally aloud to stay for some strange reason and did not welcome us at all ! Woke up Saturday morning had a shower and breakfast and had the staff banging on the door rudely shouting check out was 5 minutes ago hurry up or else you won't be able to stay here again !

    The views were good but hotel awful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Fine
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly no lift as I'm disabled once in the room stayed there,they do have one stair lift would be great to have one on each set of stairs.

    Wonderful view very comfortable bed.Staff A1+++++.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    3.8
    Location was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not as advertised on booking site, room was very small, out dated and no reflection of the pictures used to advertise it. Only saw 2 members of staff in 3 days and only good thing I can recommend is the breakfast

    Location was fantastic

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    Great place to stay for just a night or 2, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could do with having some blackout curtains as due to it being summer it’s light very early and made it difficult to sleep. Breakfast was ok but a little on the stingy side with only one sausage and one egg being served.

    The room was decorated very nicely and quaint. The staff were friendly. Good location not too far from the sea front and shops/restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Good value but room required reorganizing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom could have been bigger. Room was clean but very old fashioned with old furniture and fittings repainted to try make it look respectable. Car parking area too small and nearby areas were all parked up at the weekend.

    The room was mainly clean. Very good breakfast. Staff very helpful and friendly. Reasonable location near the seafront.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Ideal location along the beach front
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought that there was a bathroom in the room, but that wasn't the case. Despite this still very good value

    Ideal location along the beach front

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Cheap cheerful and functional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really anything I did not like although the room was small but you get what you pay for.

    It was good value for money and it was cheap for what it was. It was efficiently functional which is what I expected and the staff were excellent the room was clean and everything worked and the bed was comfortable. I must also add that the breakfast was outstanding and the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    All in all enjoyed our stay as due to location very near to pier and excellent view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above.

    The stay was good. The location was excellent. Easy reach to the points of interest. The room is good enough, although needs updating. The bed was near the toilet so it smelt mould. The toilet needs updating. The toilet door seems like coming off as loose. And didnt sleep very well as the noise of guests and owner outside room can easily be heard. People coming in and out and chatting..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Great Guest house!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My miniature schnauzer (dog) was very welcome. We were offered to have breakfast table in lounge area set up so oscar could sit with us. Very dog friendly and not a problem at all to bring a well behaved dog. Made all the difference to us. Extremely clean and comfortable room with good hairdryer, tea / coffee facilities and nice fluffy towels. Recently redecorated in an appropriate seaside theme.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    A great weekend break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would be better if the breakfast charge was added to the room cost, rather than having to pay separately at the end of the stay.

    The beds very comfortable, and the breakfast choice perfect and very tasty. Parking was no problem and only a short walk to the pier and town centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Very good
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfasts are good the rooms clean airy and comfortable and well equiped the tea and coffee facility generous, love it have stayed here three times in the last 6 months

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blackout curtains would be good.

    Our room was small, but clean. Bed comfy, ensuite shower hot. We just used the room to sleep in as we were visiting friends in Cromer. Free wifi, tea and coffee making facilities. Free on site parking. Great location, we had sea view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    going home

    very easy to find, within walking distance to all amenities, good restaurants with fair prices also fresh sea food shop, local shops. good entertainment at the Albion public house good shows at the pier theatre although drinks are expensive. the sea view from the guest house is fantastic. i would go back tomorrow.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Overall, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a negative for me but we were on the second floor which meant two flights of fairly narrow and steep stairs. This could be an issue for someone less able.

    Tastefully decorated and spacious room. Fast speed internet, with no fuss logging on. We didn't have the breakfast (and were not pushed in that respect) so can't comment on that.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel with great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price is a little bit too high for what you get.

    The hotel has a great location and the view from the room was great. The room was spacious, parking spaces very directly in front of the hotel and the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.8
    It was broadly what we expected for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Top floor rooms are approached by narrow steep stairs and there is no lift Shower was poor and ineffective in terms of flow of water

    Comfortable beds and clean bed linen

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    Staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Downside Some of the bed sheets were ripped and there were cobwebs around the room.

    Staff very friendly. Bed very comfy. Lovely choice and quality of food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Relaxing break, sea views galore.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More hooks in room for hanging coats/jackets as the wardrobe was not very big to hang everything up in.👍😊

    Clean comfortable room. Excellent breakfast choices and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We took our dog with us not knowing quite what to expect and how it would work staying in a hotel with the dog, but we were pleasantly surprised. The dog loved it, plenty of walks and right across the road from the sea. Great location, highly recommended. Would definitely book again. Just to let you know there are two breakfast areas, one for residents and their dog, if you do not want to leave them in the room. And a larger room that accommodates guests without dogs. #allwellbehaved #theplacetostay #comfybeds -best nights sleep.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was peaceful calm relaxing

    I booked celebrate my 60thbirthday with sea views with dogs we loved it very much weather was great people friendly brilliant weekend recommend it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Overall it was good value for money in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The downstairs double bedroom by reception didn't have much space anywhere to put anything and the shower opened straight into the bedroom by the door! We didn't have a problem with the parking, but in the height of summer there could be problems!

    Overall it was good value for money in a great location. You only had to cross the road and you were on top of the cliffs by the putting green. The cliftonville hotel next door does great bar snacks - loved the Cromer Crab salad! Also recomend Mary Janes for Fish & Chips ( cash only)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location and lovely quaint guest house in a fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had missed the fact that it was a pet friendly place. Had I realised this I wouldn't have stayed. My eldest daughter isn't great with dogs and I am allergic to them which was fun. The dog in the room next door to us barked 4 or 5 times in the night which woke my 5 month old meaning it was not the most restful of nights.

    Great location and lovely quaint guest house in a fantastic building. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean if a little dated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location and lovely quaint guest house in a fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had missed the fact that it was a pet friendly place. Had I realised this I wouldn't have stayed. My eldest daughter isn't great with dogs and I am allergic to them which was fun. The dog in the room next door to us barked 4 or 5 times in the night which woke my 5 month old meaning it was not the most restful of nights.

    Great location and lovely quaint guest house in a fantastic building. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean if a little dated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    Good location clean and good value for money, the only...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location clean and good value for money, the only negative was the receptionist may need to go on a customer service refresher course as was a little rude

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    I would be happy to stay here again. Thanks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was perfect for attending Folk on the Pier. I chose to breakfast elsewhere as part of exploring the area (and Coeliac) but the facilities were just right for my other needs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    The sandcliff is a very convenient guest house for easy access to Cromer with very friendly staff
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one chair in our double room and parking was a bit of a problem the lounge was a bit gloomy

    The bed was very comfortable the breakfasts were excellent all the staff were excellent and also the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    Perfectly adequate for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from the lady who was temperaraly looking after the place who gave us our key when we arrived, we did not see a member of staff for the whole of our stay as we did not have breakfast. Window and blind not easy to operate as the blind did not go up above the window making it difficult to open.

    Location to town was very convenient. Room clean and tidy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money & brilliant location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea bags in room would keep fresher in a sealed container. Bathroom fan stayed on too long after light was turned off.

    Choice of breakfast was excellent and great value for money. Plenty of tea and coffee in room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.3
    A nice, comfy room. But check any specific room requests before you go!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had requested, and had confirmed, a ground floor family room, as I have problems with stairs, but when we arrived we were given a first floor room instead, and were told that as there is three people doing the bookings messages don't always get passed on. I was offered a stair lift, but it was the principal of the issue with no apology... Also the bin in the bathroom hadn't been emptied from the previous occupant. £85 room only, with £7.95 extra each for breakfast (which we didn't have) is a little expensive I feel.

    The room was spacious and well appointed. The beds were comfy. We liked the sea view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Clean bright, great sea views and welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very tricky to get a good temperature.

    Clean bright well decorated room with great sea views. Easy walk into Cromer shops and pier. Great value for money and dog friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    Good value for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double glazing would keep wind & traffic noise down on sea side of the hotel.

    Very good selection of fruit & especially liked the plain yogurt as opposed to the individual type that are full of sugar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    3.8
    Pretty dreadful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested a sea view, and just a double room. I received neither. We are both pensioners and wer celebrating our 49th anniversary. We were given a room right at the top of the building with two very long steep flights of stairs plus two smaller stairs. The room overlooked houses and a road. The room was a family room, not a double. It consisted of one double bed and two single beds. A wardrobe with ten hangers in, goodness knows how Four people would cope with that. It was a good job there was two single beds, as the double bed had springs sticking out of the mattress and the whole thing was like sleeping on a bed of rocks. We had to sleep separately in the single beds. On our anniversary. There was nowhere to sit, only one rickety chair in front of the tv. How are four people supposed to live like this? How are two people supposed to?? The bathroom has a sliding door which doesn’t close properly. Cleanliness of the room was good, but the whole place needs a complete overhaul. Apart from a man giving us our key on arrival, we saw no one else on reception for the whole three days. Call in Alex Politzi!

    We didn’t have breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable considering the weather was terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs to the room we were at the top, but to be fair we booked late and took what they had.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the clincher was we could take our puppy who was made very welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I disliked.

    Bed was real comfy and tea and coffee in the room was unexpected.As I only wanted a bed for the night,the cost was half of what I had to pay elsewhere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Great Guest House, Incredible Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the fault of the Guest House, but the area isn't very good for dining.

    The staff are fantastic. I made a mistake with my booking days and the staff corrected it without any fuss and didn't charge me for rearranging. The room had an incredible sea view and the bed was so comfy I was almost sad to go back to my own.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Well placed and clean at a reasonable price close to the Norfolk path
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms clean and Bed comfy.I had tea for breakfast which was good and strong. The hotel is well situated for the Norfolk walk. I have recommended it to others doing the walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice view and comfy bed but a little pricy for the facilities as breakfast not included
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No blinds or voiles to pull across for privacy, we were on the ground floor which although gave a lovely view pedestrians walking past could see straight into the room unless all curtains were closed.

    Great location, updated decor and comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Good value, beautiful view, comfy bed, lovely breakfast. What more does one need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower could have been a little more powerful, but that was a minor thing.

    View lovely. Bed comfortable. Breakfast yummy. Staff very helpful. Will stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    A nice no problematic break, with spectacular sea views. Top marks
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only problem we found was the noisy floorboards from the above room. Kept us awake for a while, but we soon nodded off.

    Hassle free, friendly one of the best fresh breakfasts we have had in a while. Friendly service and staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Seaview, and walking on the Promenade was excellent. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need both bath and shower in each shared bathroom. My floor had no shower; so I had to use the shower on the next floor.

    I had breakfast out with my friends. Overall my stay was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Very good light breakfast.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having a shared toilet/bathroom and no lift but knew this when booked so not a complaint about guest house, just a personal preference - you get what you pay for.

    Very good light breakfast. Nice sea and pier view. Adequate Parking. Nice friendly welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    I enjoyed recouparating after a major operation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There as nothing we could find fault with sorry.

    My husband can’t walk very well he has had trouble for a few weeks now,so with his crutches we walked abit and sat abit that’s all we could do. We found the staff could’nt do enough for us,we were on the first floor but with my husband having trouble walking he could’nt managed the stairs. He went up on the lift to the first floor but after the first night we were moved to a ground floor room which was excellent ,that made it easier for us,and another lovely room. The food was perfect always hot and lots of choice,so for a lovely break at a great hotel and excellent staff you won’t find any better anywhere. Thanks to you all for all you did for us,we know we will be back again once my husband has been sorted out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    great location, clean and comfortable guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    our room was small - but we knew that when we booked and at that price one cannot complain. We had enough room to unpack and lounge on the bed so that was fine.

    very good cooked breakfast with speedy and efficient service. Even had decent decaffeinated coffee - thank you!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable but expensive.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise travelled very easily. Was a high price for what was offered. Small room with out of date furniture and the bathroom left a lot to be desired.

    Bed very comfortable. Location was brilliant. Left completely to our own devices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.3
    Nice location and pretty cheap. But we were still a little disappointed given its reviews
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guest house needs some investment. Our room was clean but very dated, and the bed was uncomfortable for me. The shower was very weak and fluctuated between too hot and too cold. Also, no lift so lots of narrow stairs to climb with luggage.

    Nice location, close to town centre, pier and seafront.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    Special breakfast room for those who wished to take their...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Special breakfast room for those who wished to take their dogs to breakfast, which meant our pooch didn't have to be left in the car. Being close to the sea Cromer centre without parking being too crowded. (We went in April)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location for a short stay. Comfortable room and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head was a little small so the water didn't cover you very well

    Had a room at the top with sea view which was very comfortable. Plenty of coffee and milk which is always nice when you have come back from a coastal walk. Bathroom was clean although it could do with a better shower head. We had the healthy option for breakfast which was quite adequate. Great location opposite the access to the beach and only 5 mins walk to the shops and restaurants

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.1
    Perfectly adequate
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The en suite bathroom could benefit from modernisation, and the breakfast room is a little soulless but it was otherwise perfectly adequate.

    Stunningly beautiful location, and excellent cleaning standards.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    Location was great and the room was comfortable and big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room faced the mainroad and the sea but there was no form of covering on the windows apart from the heavy curtains which meant that you felt a little exposed of you wanted to benefit from the view of the sea!

    Location was great and the room was comfortable and big enough for the three of us, breakfast was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    A warm friendly hotel that needs some updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a very old building and it is quite old fashioned inside. Our room didn’t have double glazing . One of the reading lights didn’t work properly. Strobe effect! I mentioned it to housekeeping.

    The English breakfast was hot and the service was efficient. There was a welcoming family atmosphere. It was warm inside despite the awful weather.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely quest house!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I was to be picky it would be that there was no little mats to put hot drinks on, this would prevent marking on paint work

    Very welcoming staff..lovely room, nice and warm in such awful weather

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    Good value and nice enough for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly odd sliding door to bathroom. Furniture was very basic but serviceable.

    Very nice fresh breakfast choice and good variety of fruit and cereals. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    Comfy & convenient B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was tiny! We had a three person room, for two adults and a baby. It was a little cosy with us but would have been a tight squeeze for three adults. We were also disappointed by the breakfast. The "continental" selection was sparse and the full English was OK but not great.

    We LOVED the view from our room. We could see right out to sea - it was stunning. The value for money was OK, especially compared to other nearby hotels. The walk to the beach/town was easy from this property and there was convenient, free parking too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    A nice short family break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good comfortable, clean accommodation and represents excellent value for money. Our granddaughter aged 8 felt very comfortable going to breakfast on her own and her breakfasts superb as were our full english breakfasts. All in all excellent value and staff very friendly and helpful . This is not a Boutique or Luxury hotel but a well run family business.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    we had a fantastic stay in the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    couldn't find any part of our stay we disliked

    the whole experience was first class the rooms where spot less and beds very comfy we also experienced the breakfast it was excellent the staff where very polite and helpful we certainly plan a return visit

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.9
    Thoroughly enjoyable (as always).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extra blankets could have been left in rooms as a matter of course for this extremely cold weekend.

    The Sandcliff is an extremely comfortable, good value for money guest house. It is very clean and comfortable. We happened to go on probably the coldest weekend of the year and found the room extremely difficult to heat and there were no extra blankets to use as a matter of course. I'm sure had we asked we would have been supplied with extra blankets but by the time we needed them reception had closed. There is a great choice for breakfast, from fruit, cereals to a full English. The cooked breakfast was nicely cooked and presented. The home-made marmalade was delicious. We have stayed here several times and will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.8
    OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communication, greeting, (not breakfast lady who was smiley and happy despite being up since 4am) No tea making facilities in room.

    Very nice basic room overall. The actual property is nice and welcoming and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.1
    Clean room, good breakfast, and a comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in a double room, which was OK as a single traveller, but would have been a bit cramped for two.

    Clean room, good breakfast, and a comfortable bed. For a budget hotel, I'd say it's on the better side of average, and I will probably stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.7
    OK for our purpose, not for a holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Probably needs a person with initiative to make more use oOKf the space.

    Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was satisfactory, but lacking in choice. The position was good, but for a seaside place it lacked in- house service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    Very nice traditional English seaside B&B.
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I should have anticipated but no toiletries provided. Luckily I had my gym bag in the car so had shampoo and shower gel with me. Free vials of both would be nice and save what my brother had to do which was use the supplied small hand soap as both. Or even have some for purchase for those who arrive without. I spend over 100 nights a year in hotels on business - ranging from small B&Bs to 5 Star hotels around the world and generally take for granted that I don’t need basic toiletries with me. If not provided an ‘early warning’ when booking or checking in would save the ‘Oh ****!’ feeling when naked and wet in the shower! Shared bathrooms MIGHT be a source of irritation when full occupancy - but for our stay wasn’t a problem. Only tried two of them - only one had a shower. The other bath only. A manual shower fixing on the taps of the bath would be helpful - how many people bath these days, as opposed to showering? But I make these points as helpful tips for the owners as well as for future guests. Overall it was a very nice, reasonably priced stay in a well run, friendly guest house. Would stay there again for leisure or business, even - though I can stay in glitzy hotels on business I look for value for my company and if (unlikely) I need to be in Cromer for work, I’d have no qualms about returning. But I would by shampoo and shower gel first!

    It’s a typical English seaside Guest House. A Victorian building, lots of stairs and steps. Lots of rooms (over 20 I think). Staff very nice, cleanliness is very good. Great position overlooking the sea on the front. Short walk to the pier and town. Excellent breakfasts. WiFi worked in my Room (10) despite advertised as only I public areas. Bed was very comfortable (single in room 10). Tea and coffee making in room - though I didn’t use them in this occasion. Towels provided, sink in the room. Quiet location but it was chilly February.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.5
    Corner guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed. No pressure in shower even after shower head was replaced as initial one wasn't working.

    Good position in Cromer. Nice TV. Warm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    5.8
    Overall the rooms were lovely and the food was nice but we would not recommend due to the hostility
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first encounter with the member of staff on reception when we arrived was not pleasent. He was very hositle and not very welcoming. Later in the evening we discovered our bathroom light wasn’t working and we needed a replacement. We requested that someone would come to fix the bulb but were told we couldn’t have it fixed for a couple of hours as the member of staff who was to do it was distracted by the tv and couldn’t be disturbed. A little dumbfounded by this we asked again and were told it would be sorted. Around 10 minutes later we were accompanied by the same member of staff who checked us in and very sarcastically made a comment about the importance of the task before him, again making us feel very unwelcome and resulted in us only having one mornings worth of breakfast instead of the two we wanted initially. We were also told that our child who was only 2 would have to Be payed for for a breakfast even though he wouldn’t be having anything to eat because ‘the table has to be set for him and he will need a chair’ which we found to be ridiculous considering there was ample seating in the breakfast hall. The breakfast staff were friendly enough and deserve the highest of praise. The gentleman that warmly greeted us to our stay however, should possibly work on his people skills. Thank you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.9
    Acceptable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dining room for breakfast was cold. The room was cramped There were 5 sachets of coffee in the room. Why was 4 of them decaffeinated?

    The hotel was clean and convenient to the pier.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.1
    Did the job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was small & when u shut the door which was a sliding door you could still see in lovely view of some1 sitting on loo!! Not good.

    Comfortable room, good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Amazing value, sea view, comfy beds, warm rooms and fabulous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing value, sea view, comfy beds, warm rooms and fabulous sausages! Great location too... all very easy for a cheeky weekend away... thank you

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.7
    I think we got value for money and met our requirements for this trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow stairs, we were three floors up with no lift. Ensuit was small but functional. WiFi a bit iffy.

    Good basic accommodation. Clean, warm and comfy room. Nice quiet and relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Cromer and the people both working and living there were friendly and very helpfull at all times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price there was nothing to complain about.

    The location was superb, right near the station and very close to the centre and beach. Breakfast was excellent and our room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    Staff were friendly and the hotel is in an excellent position for the pier and the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was a little "dated". One or two small things could have made a big difference. e.g light cord in bathroom dirty at the end - put a wooden or ceramic pull on the end. An old and noisy sliding door into the small shower room and toilet. The bedroom is plenty bit enough to fit a proper door.

    There was an enormous bed which was very comfortable with lovely clean white linen. Our room had a good view of the sea - once the weather cleared.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Perfect getaway, breakfast delicous, staff fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not at all a compliant but door to the toilet it the room didn't close completely, I forgot to mention when checking out but it wasn't an issue. Modernisation of the curtains to match the beautifully decorated room would be a lovely finishing touch.

    I had booked the wrong room due to a change during the online booking which meant the children weren't included, staff looked after us impeccably, upgraded the room and were very friendly and accommodating when this was my error. Perfect customer service thank you very much

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    Great friendly and comfortable seaside guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a traditional guest house at a great price, we wouldn't have have asked for more.

    Lovely sea view, comfy bed, friendly staff, easy parking. Really nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking could be tricky - not thrilled with the idea of having to pay to use public car parks if we couldn’t park at hotel, we were just about lucky to get a space - could be more problematic for people with poor mobility.

    Friendly, helpful staff. As a vegetarian I was quite happy to have the ‘full english’ breakfast but without the meat but to my surprise they had vegetarian sausages (Not everywhere offers this!) it’s the little things like this that makes people want to return.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    We had an amazing experience - great location. We would certainly return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was limited albeit we were lucky. The shower in our room was intermittent in terms of temperature.

    Fabulous location. We loved our room. Fantastic sea view!

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: