Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sandgate Hotel 2 stars

8-9 Wellington Terrace, The Esplanade, Folkestone, CT20 3DY, United Kingdom

#25 of 29 hotels in Folkestone

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1186 B&B reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all ‘a bit tired’. Stayed in 2nd floor room. Some coving missing from bedroom ceiling, windows old and draughty, furniture all mismatched, even the bed base lol, but clean and good value for 1 night on our way to France. Wouldn’t stay there again though.

    Stop off before catching the train across the Chanel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were dreary, the beds needed to be put in a skip. Dirty bed bases, mattresses that had collapsed. Bed linen old and warn out, didn't fit the beds. The shower didn't work properly the shower head was the wrong connection had to stand and hold it. Tap came off in your hand in the bathroom. Light switch had bare wires in the ceiling showing.

    evening meal and live entertainment was great, staff were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really apart from some stupid person letting firework's off at 20 to 1 in the morning on the beach just outside are room window

    Only there for one night before the ferry, parking is on the main street , food was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed at the hotel some years ago and was happy with it then. This time was very different. The whole place needs refurbishing and cleaning. The room was dusty and dirty. We were glad that we were only staying the one night. Most of the staff were friendly and welcoming but one in particular was not welcoming. She actually made us feel very unwelcome and that everything was too much for her (she may have been the manager). Then she tried to overcharge us !

    The only plus for this hotel is the location to the sea and the area outside the front of the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food in the restaurant was not fantastic, greasy. Breakfast came in installments! The door onto the balcony was not very secure.

    Location and view. Room comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are a lot of steep steps up the hotel reception door which is difficult when holding a dog in one hand and suitcases in the other. I couldn't see a ramp that would make entry and exit easier. The door opening onto the balcony in Room 3 does not close properly, so I could hear the traffic and feel the wind from outside coming into the room. The towels were a bit thin and frayed.

    Very dog friendly. I had my German Shepherd puppy with me and they were very kind. I chose the hotel for this reason and because it is quite close to Eurotunnel which I was taking the next day. The room was facing the sea with a balcony and the bed was large and comfortable. There was a kettle and tea and coffee in the room. There is a small lift, which is very helpful when you have a dog and luggage. There is free parking outside the hotel on the esplanade. The food served in the restaurant was very good and a reasonable price. The staff were very friendly and professional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wallpaper hanging off the walls. Was given a change of room. Very nice after that.

    The location and the staff although they didn’t seem to be over staffed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was lumpy and hard; the bathroom needs redecorating, the paint was peeling from the walls and the ceiling has water damage. Area around the bath a bit mouldy and needs greater attention in cleaning (and the bin in the bathroom had not been emptied, thankfully it only contained strawberry ends!)

    Quiet outside environment, only the seagulls to listen to (we were in a rear facing room). Staff (reception and waitress at breakfast) both very good. Outside very pleasant on the terrace, just watching the sea across the road. Plenty of parking on the main road (Wednesday mid June) but this may be harder to get on a busy weekend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room really needed a bit of decorating. Paint peeling at the window and coving missing.

    Staff very friendly. Book the hotel for quickness and ease to the channel tunnel and I was very pleased with its location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is just fantastic, not only because of the fact that its on the beach, but also for the use of anyone using the Channel Tunnel. Will use again for sure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needed work the windowsills and around the bath needed scrubbing and painting and the ceiling had had a leak at some point again needed painting and fixing. Parking is on the main road opposite the hotel and free but not many spaces until later on.

    Location is brilliant staff were great, evening was ok and breakfast included meant it was good value for money. The room and bathroom was very big and spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the room. Just little things like clean windows and the lampshades cleaned.

    Location was great and for us close to The Channel Tunnel. Staff were friendly and helpful and we were offered a continental breakfast for the morning as we were due to leave before breakfast was served which was a lovely touch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    road noise. room needs lick of paint. toilet seat needs fixing. shower head needs attention. bed hard. balcony doors need double glassing.

    breakfast excellent. room clean. sea view. staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast took a while and wasn't really worth the wait! Place was a bit grubby, Manager was pleasant. No dogs allowed on the beach was very disappointing as we had our pet with us and chose this hotel especially to take her on the beach. Parking only on street.

    very nice location, nice sea view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were extremely friendly and the atmosphere was relaxed and welcoming. The evening meal was delicious as was the breakfast. I would definitely recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in the rooms and the hotel generally was very tired and needed a refurb. The lift was dirty and there was a constant odour in the corridors and on the staircase. My husband ordered fish and chips as a review on the website said how good they were. The piece of fish was tiny, about size of 2 fishfingers! If they had run out of fish they should have said so rather than offering a large plate of chips as a compromise. Although the location for the channel tunnel was ideal we won’t be returning.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was dated and there was pealing paint in bathroom but given that we were travelling with a dog and I assume in a dog friendly room i wasn't overly surprised (except for pealing paint). Parking was a major issue, there was only one parking space allocated to hotel which was taken and the public on road parking was also full, given that we (like other guests) chose the hotel due to its proximity to the eurotunnel not being able to park securely was an issue for us, however, we did park in front of the bins at the back of the hotel.

    Cooked breakfast was lovely and good quality, 24 hour reception and location could not be faulted. Given what we paid the cost was very reasonable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were less than friendly and was indifferent. I suppose that is what we call it “ being cool “.

    Can’t think of any as everything was less than basic and dated and unclean. There were 3 of us and we booked 2 bedrooms. The bed in one of the rooms was lumpy and the bottom bed sheet was crumpled. The walls are thin and no insulation between the rooms, hence the sound travels. We could hear all the noises that went on in other rooms and the opening and shutting of doors, well past mid night and the noise started again 6 am in the morning. There is a hole in the balcony doors letting in cold air in, making the room cold as the front of the hotel is facing the sea. No heating in the room nor is the towel rail heated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no wardrobe in the room and no hooks to hang clothes on and not even a chair.Less then avaerage facilities. Have stayed in better hotels for half the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matras was not too comfy and the light in the bathroom was not working

    We had eggs benedict for breakfast and that was a succulent dish.Very friendly staff and nice room with balcony.The seaview was stunning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no wardrobe in the room. This wasn’t a problem for us as we only stayed one night, but it may be a problem if you were staying longer.

    The location was good. The views were fab. Not far from the Channel Tunnel. Parking was free on the main road. Food was good and the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding parking space on the road could be a issue when busy. Rooms are bit dated and tired looking, especially with the bathroom

    Location was good, right on the beach front. Had bar down stairs and a nice outdoor space to enjoy drinks

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a. Toilet and shower not working properly. b. Twin bed room in the hotel roof space and a little cramped... Angle of roof / ceiling cutting into the space above the bed.

    Young lady in reception and on the bar (at the same time) was very pleasant and helpful... but at the time was on her own and a wee bit overworked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no car parking available on site. I chose the the hotel as it said it had parking.

    Lovely views. Comfortable bed. Interesting bathroom fitments.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 6 Dreadful bed first night, rolled off so uncomfortable. Asked to be moved for second night & we had a balcony room and the bed was much better. Did suggest to the receptionist that the bed needed replacing. The rooms need some tlc especially bathrooms.

    Breakfast was good, location good. Excellent pub just up the hill

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a challenge on main road but we found a very small slot around the back for our large car with bikes on back!

    Big Room and clean but a little dated. Great View to sea less so at back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On the first evening, I presented a list of three things which were wrong with the en suite - The water in the basin was slow to run away, the light over the sink did not work and the showerhead leaked. The wall paper in the room was pealing.

    The staff were very friendly but were run ragged. The one person on duty had to act as Receptionist, run the Bar, serve the food, pour the coffee and do the washing up.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a family room, the curtains kept out no light at all. Tea and coffee facilities had to be removed by us on arrival so little people didn’t play with them and a thumb lock in the room with no additional security features was not comforting for parents of an inquisitive 2 and 5 year old. Stains on the walls and missing light bulbs/broken extractor fan. Difficult to judge value compared to other local hotels as not stayed in any.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All doors slam with a bang unless you hold on to them when they close, which isn't always possible with bags. And by the time you get to the room and up the elevator, there are four doors that do this. Very frustrating and loud. The room we had was small with only one chair for two persons. Nothing worse than having to sit on a bed to have a cuppa or while watching tv before retiring to sleep. The tv is super small (laptop size). The shower is awful - hard to regulate a good temperature and when you do get it right, it's really just a trickle in the pressure department. The breakfast took ages to arrive after ordering, and then it was lukewarm (poached eggs on muffin), which made it rather sickly to eat. Would've sent it back if I had more time. Coffee was also like warm. Cereal was available - had to ask for more bowls (a simple thing to keep an eye on). Wouldn't stay here again. It may be cheap accommodation, but some things don't cost extra to do.

    The bed was super comfy. The female staff person on reception was friendly and informative on checkin. The location for what we wanted in our one night stopover stay was perfect. Free parking across the road is a bonus. Bathroom was a nice large size and clean enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had fish and chips but I thought the fish portion was very small

    Staff were really friendly. Food was great. I was travelling with my bike and they offered to lock it up for me in their private office area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One chair in bedroom - badly stained cloth seat - I wouldn't use it. Some toenail clippings on carpet from previous resident. Bathroom decoration/paintwork was badly degraded. On checking in, within the projected time f my arrival, there was no Reception staff; looked around area and asked other guests, to no avail. Staff member came after 5 minutes - no apology and did not convey welcoming demeanour.

    Breakfast was excellent in choice and content, with very good staff input. Bed was clean and comfortable. Setting of hotel is very good in frontage, was well kept, with garden planted pots well kept and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed for tea ordered fish and chips and a chorizo and prawn salad. This was delivered to the wrong table who helped themselves to a few chips. The waitress when told gave us the food back!! I asked for more chips and she pulled her face. No apology or nothing off the bill. I then had to send the prawn and chorizo back as was cold by the time a got it again faced pulled. I felt very awkward and embarrassed. Maybe another visit from Gordon Ramsey might be in order. Carpets have seen better days and the cleanliness of the room wasn't up to anything.rather disaponted.

    Good location on the beach front but a little bit of a trek to the town.great food when we finally got it not the chefs fault

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a party on the night we stayed which we were only emailed about a few days prior...too late to book elsewhere and although the music stopped at about 11pm our room was straight above the noise and as we had an early Channel Tunnel crossing not very convenient! Also breakfast was included but there was no option for an earlier breakfast (so about 7/7:30am), just cereal and juice/coffee. Would have been little trouble if the could have put a Continental breakfast out for early leavers or even just a toaster and bread! The hotel only has 1 parking space, which we were lucky to be able to have, but it was advertised as having parking.

    Location was nice. Check in and out was straightforward. Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs an update. Shower broken, mattress and pillows need replacing, way past their best.

    Location and view. Breakfast was very good and all in all good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised as with parking but no parking at all!!! very very disappointed, trying to get a space on a Promenade on a Bank Holiday was a nightmare. No wardrobe or place to hang clothes in the room. Tired and worn furnishings and fitments.

    Sea front view and balcony. Cheap for location but with a cost see below

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is only one twin room with a sea view. None of the balcony rooms is a twin room. Disappointing on both counts. We would have expected yoghurt and some fresh fruit as part of the breakfast menu which is standard in all hotels/B&Bs these days.

    We loved the sea view. The room was comfortable. Great band played on Sunday afternoon/evening. The whole place was rocking and great fun.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms were small but we didn't book it for the rooms - it was more about the location.

    Great location and decent food for a reasonable price. Coffee was better than many 'luxury' hotels! Staff very friendly and finally breakfast really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    clearliness, room wasn’t hoovered, both lamps did’t work in the bathroom, mattress is very old and uncomfortable, sheet was inverted, blanket old and terrrible! We been waiting for brekfast 45 min!

    see view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got room 6 which I don’t think had been cleaned in along time, bed was broken on one side and the shower was also broke. window didn’t lock which had easy access into from the outside and was very hot so had to keep window shut when not in room. Not a pretty view from the window, we was told overlooking cottages but was fag ends wine bottles.

    Great breakfast and great location with the seafront on the door step were the only decent things about the place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst place I’ve ever stayed. The room was dirty. Dog hair in the bed. Decor was very old and some parts falling off. No parking. Staff too busy to speak with as serving drinks and food in the bar/reception. Unable to sleep as very noisy road. Guest smoking outside bedroom.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a bit tired. A couple of bright pictures on the wall would work wonders. Although the room had a blind, a set of curtains would have cheered it up. We parked for free immediately opposite the entrance, but wondered if it would be so easy in summer.

    It is a decent, basic hotel. Check in and out all efficient. Good internet connection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks like this hotel was refurbished in the recent past, unfortunately it seems the standards since then have been allowed to slip, the shower had no fixing on the wall and although the room wasn't dirty it could have been cleaner

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact they had no wardrobe, not one single hook or hanger to even hang up your coat - unbelievable! Not even a chair or stool to place any of your clothes. They could do with upgrading the rooms in the same manner as they have in the bar. They could do with double glazing as the road traffic outside kept me awake during the night not to mention people going home after clubs and bars closing.

    Great Location. Bar was nicely decorated, modern and friendly staff. Parking available behind the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a bit tired and worn, but what can you expect for the price.

    Great meal of fish and chips. Breakfast included for £50 a night, what a bargain.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very tired, the drawers were falling apart and dirty. The window would not stay open and had to be propped open with a piece of wood.

    Good location on the seafront. Breakfast very good and helpful/Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite outdated with sash windows, so no noise insulation between the room and outside. Roll down shade wouldn’t hold the heat in.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. They loved my dogs and made me feel welcome. Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was two spaces at the back of the hotel, they were also very tight spaces if you have a big car. I ended up parking on the road. Reception is the bar & when I arrived there was entertainment on & I couldn't get near the recetion/bar, when I evetually got to check in it was so noisey that I couldn't hear what the girl was saying. The room needs a good clean, splashes up the door & walls, the wallpaper was hanging off the wall. The furniture was covered in what I can only discribe as plastic covering & there was extension cables everywhere. There was no consideration for people with allergies as all the pillows were duck feathers. There was used shower gel left on the side of the bath. On check out the girl tried to charge me someone elses bill and I wasn't even asked if everything was ok with my stay.

    The view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise in the other rooms !! Tired carpet some scuffed walls but nothing major location staff and food make up for it

    A really quite beach front location really good food fair prices just needs a bit of a tidy up carpets and walls a little tired lovely staff fresh hot nice breakfast would stay again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating was turned off so our bedroom and bathroom were cold. The support for the shower head was missing so we had to kneel and crouch in the bath to have a shower. The shaving light above the bathroom mirror did not work so the overall light was a bit dark, which resulted in me cutting my chin whilst shaving

    The staff that we met were excellent. The prices were reasonable and the food at dinner was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room needed updating.

    Slept really well, the staff were very pleasant, excellent location, the only downside was the room was a little "tired". Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom very outdated, bath area very mouldy, shower not working propely. TV smaller than my computer screen (I do not watch much anyway, but be warned!!!) Restaurant??? We were looking forward to dine there but we arrived slightly later than planned (around 9PM) as stuck in traffic on the way and there was no food available, so went to bed hungry :( Husband very dissapointed, as he wanted to stay in one of the chain hotels, but I prefer to support small business.

    Lovely staff, good breakfast, nice location. It is OK for one night stay on budget.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had a function on which took over the whole of the downstairs and bar area. We went out to eat and were tired when we came home so it didn’t affect us much but if we had wanted to stay in at the hotel it would have been impossible- there is no separate room so any function takes over the whole place.

    Lovely location, comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small items like toilet seat décor window blind just need fixing at very small cost and would improve customer comforts why not do it

    The facilities are very cheap and well past better days

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not cleaned well and the chest of drawers was broken. The wallpaper was peeling off and the ceiling had damp patches. The shower was awful and leaked all over the floor.

    The staff were very helpful and welcoming. The food was excellent. The view was beautiful and being able to sit out the front on the veranda in the sunshine, with a glass of wine was a big bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was not very comfortable. Think the springs had gone in Room 4 but as it was only a weekend, it was fine.

    Had a fish n chip supper on Friday night which was delicious and a gin n tonic on the terrace overlooking the sea. Wonderful! Full English on Saturday and Sunday morning were tasty and very filling. Staff were a happy bunch and very easy to talk to.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wet (but clean) towels left on the bed when we checked in! Telephone in room but no number given for reception. Password for WiFi did not work couldn’t connect! At dinner we were not offered a dessert - limited staff who, although very pleasant and helpful, seemed to be struggling with having to do too many things at once on their own. The downstairs is lovely but the bedrooms, although clean which is always a bonus, are looking a bit tired.

    The sea view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only niggle was that you had to park on the road. I parked immediately in front of the hotel on this occasion, but it was a wet and windy April day; I am guessing it would not be so easy high season.

    Booked it as a stop over before catching an early ferry. A lovely seaside location with a great view of the sea from the room. A very nice room with super comfy beds. The bar and restaurant were very inviting, so much so that we abandoned our original plan to go into town to eat. I recommend the place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of tv, filthy Windows, French doors not locking/shutting properly, bathroom dated and falling apart, someone being absolutely murdered up stairs all through the night! Never heard anything like it (drunken fighting!?)

    The view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been cleaned a bit better. My dog found an unidentifiable food item under the bedside table and I woke up with a jelly sweet stuck to my hand which must have been in the bed before I got in. The room are a bit ‘tired’, peeling paper, unfinished painting, loo seat that was loose, that kind of thing. Little things that if fixed would make it perfect.

    Lovely staff, very helpful and friendly. Great value for money, great location. Dog friendly and there is no extra cost for your dog to stay. Breakfast was included in the price, I didn’t have it but my friends did and they were really impressed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our second stay at this hotel was even better than the first. Great location on the seafront, nice bar , terrace & decor, warm welcome and super friendly staff. Best of all , rooms and drinks are great value ! we will be back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor point - both showers incredibly noisy.

    Really friendly service, excellent breakfast and very very good value for money for family room (two rooms with interconnecting door). Great location to walk into Sandgate with great meal and lovely old pubs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t served early enough on the weekend as I had a train to catch so I was given a packed breakfast which wasn’t that good

    The room was comfy and good facilities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    bedroom was 'tired' looking, with wallpaper peeling off, window needs lick of paint, couple lights not working ie, entrance hall, shaving light, mattress ,lumpy.

    reception area and bar, breakfast, view, nice front patio and veranda, staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor décor, wall paper coming all round the walls, bed mattress worn out, poor quality bath towels, both rooms need a complete overall.

    Staff very good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff! I travelled with dogs and they were very welcome to the hotel. Found the hotel excellent value for money. Enjoyed the location of the hotel on the sea side.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room dirty.. bathroom dirty ..towels looked like they had been used .. balcony doors stuffed with toiled paper to stop drafts .. bed very small.. room very dated .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a bit of coving missing in the bedroom -but not a big deal in my opinion.

    This is a truly dog-welcoming hotel! The staff are friendly, and nothing is too much trouble. Our room, selflessly clean, had a fabulous sea view, and was warm and cosy on a very cold winter evening. Shower was great. Lovely log fire downstairs. Our meal was good. Parking was easy across the road. The best bit? Hearing the waves on the beach whilst going off to sleep in a very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and bathroom, although clean was very tired and badly in need of redecoration. The divan bed was made up of two different halves which were not the same size. The mattress was very lumpy and uncomfortable as was the duvet. The sash windows did nothing to reduce the constant loud noise of the sea which disturbed our sleep. The hot water seemed very intermittant, a bit of a gamble when you wanted to have a shower.

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming. A continental breakfast was prepared for us to take away at 6.30am. The location is perfect to get to the Eurotunnel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I haven't found anything yet

    I've stayed here a few times now and the staff are always friendly and helpful, it's always spotless and the rooms are comfortable and a decent size.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    as much as i love the sandgate hotel i feel the rooms could do with a bit of love, the curtains are very thin and badly creased, little details like this are important. the air ventilation in the bathroom of rm 15 i think was VERY noisy! also the window was ajar and let a bit of a breeze in during the night... other than that i love it there but feel it could be so much more. x

    the view in the morning from our room the lounge/bar area

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was quite nice but had to wait an hour for it, even for cup of tea. Would have been nice to have separate toast and butter/marmalade rather than just one bit on plate. Wouldn't have paid nearly £9 for it, which was the price if paying separately.

    Great position overlooking sea. Room had nice sea view. Near to pubs and restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure if there is a car park so parked in a free bay on the sea front. Would have been inconvenient if there were no parking bays available close by. The room could do with a bit of TLC - all was looking a bit tired and, even though it was clean, the woodwork i.e. Skirting boards and window frames were old and worn. Needs decorating. Would have been nice to have more caffeinated coffee sachets and milk in the room and the kettle should have been emptied from the last guests. Orange juice not from concentrate would have been nice and a better selection of cereals (I could only find cornflakes). Would have liked a choice of white or brown bread for my toast instead of automatically getting one of each. I hope you find my feedback constructive. I would stay again!

    Lots of cooked breakfast choices, I had a lovely traditional English breakfast. Nice fresh coffee for breakfast. Great sea view. The entrance was welcoming and the staff were friendly. Loved the open fire in the bar! Nice complimentary soap, shampoo & shower gel. Good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Looks a bit tired in the bedroom . Mattress could be replaced , drawer broken , tv remote broken , plug in basin broken , balcony door security very poor

    Balcony with sea view . Good breakfast but could have a bigger cereal selection

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    coffee, they don't serve non diary milk

    Very friendly staff in a cool, clean and dog-friendly hotel. They kept our luggage after checking out so we could enjoy an extra day out on the beach. You can enjoy a beer and some at the bar downstairs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in this hotel was horrible. We were waiting more than an hour four our lunch. We cancelled. They never apologise

    The pizza hut/domino's delivery service

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sandgate Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: