Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Satis House Hotel 3 stars

Main Road, Yoxford, IP17 3EX, United Kingdom

#6 of 8 hotels in Yoxford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 267 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    Latitude was on the same weekend so probably got them at a bad time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast started at 8:30am, doesn't help if you have an early start. Staff were friendly and helpful but had to call the main number (not the reception) in the morning to speak with someone!

    Room. Food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.0
    Very average .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building is in need of investment and at present is rather shabby . The evening meal was very average with limited choice and even then 2 choices were unavailable . There is quite a lot of noise from the road which is busy . There is an odd smell at the top of the stairs .

    The bed was comfortable .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Really relaxing stay in a wonderful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be signposted more clearly on the road outside. A hidden treasure.

    Really comfortable bed and delicious breakfast and dinner. Lovely gardens to relax and walk in. Staff very helpful, friendly and easy to communicate with.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.3
    Having stayed one night would not return. Such a shame could be a wonderful hotel .....
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would expect some kind of uniform for staff. Room dirty , bed linen very stained and throw dirty. Bathroom mouldy and dirty. Shower trickled water so unable to wash hair.

    Hotel in good location, grounds lovely and peaceful . Two members of staff friendly but rushed off their feet. Bedroom good size , bed very comfortable. Food in restaurant was okay, service poor due to lack of staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    Perfect for an overnight stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dangerous entrance/exit off busy main road It should be noted on the web site to exercise extreme caution

    Quiet garden room with decent air conditioning and a comfy bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    2.9
    Sad experience and expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Dusty room, fire place covered in chimney debris, duvet cover had stains on it,bed seen better days, bath really badly water stained and bathroom floor dirty.to top it, it was noisy as room above kitchen and staff constantly going out for a cigarette and smoke coming through windows, Also not told prior to booking restaurant and bar was being refurbed and not open......waste of money and time

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    An interesting house, nearly 300 years old, where the food is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cistern took about 15 minutes to fill after flushing. Low pressure only just sufficient to have a shower. Many cigarette ends around seat near front door.

    Food was excellent (but a little expensive). Staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely room, friendly staff combined with exceptional food. Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we had an issue with was the shower wouldn't settle on a nice temperature. Kept switching from too hot to too cold

    The bed was so comfortable. Evening meal, cocktails, wine selection and cooked breakfast were all top drawer and the room we stayed in was lovely and spacious

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    4.2
    Lovely stay just let down in areas around the building
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean up the garden where dogs have been .

    The manager /reception was a bit unorganized and the person was trying to do too many jobs at once . Beautiful grounds but not well kept in places,rubbish needed collecting from the garden The garden room we stayed in had damp and mould on the shower cubicle wall . The soap was opened when we arrived . mini BAR WAS A LOVELY TOUCH but no prices Young lady in bar excellent would stay again if in the area .. Breakfast excellent Just needs all the little jobs finishing then would be perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Very comfy beds, lovely garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was very weak. One of our rooms was very dark and extremely hot. Breakfast arrangements could be arranged better.

    Very comfy beds, lovely garden. Good choice at breakfast, although the way it’s set up means that you are getting up constantly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Hotel is nice & breakfast good but not included, location great & some great pub/resturants near.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception Owner / Manager very laid back !, don't get the back room as the radio plays all night !, Breakfast not included & priced as £15 per person per night,

    Location great, very near Yoxford town centre, Breakfast tasty. rooms very nice, restaurant staff very helpful & breakfast quite nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    4.6
    It was ok
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was ok but it could do with a bit more care with cleanliness in the bathroom . When I handed back the key into recption the Lady said you are fine and took the key from me . Didn’t even say have a save journey or asked if I enjoyed my stay. I thought that was a bit rude .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing. We stayed here some years ago and it has gone downhill.
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hot water took a long to come through. Unhelpful attitude of management who watched us struggle with a heavy case in pouring rain.

    Spacious room with balcony

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    4.6
    Nice setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not so much "boutique" as weird. Food was very nice but breakfast took ages to be served. Only offered orange juice for breakfast. Had to ask for Cranberry juice

    Nice setting. Good location for Southwold

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel. Welcoming staff. Breakfast was well cooked and there was a good choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a bit of a trickle although the ensuite was tasteful.

    The bed was very comfortable with Egyptian cotton sheets. The room was decorated tastefully and the mini bar was well stocked although it was a little expensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    comfortable stay in a querky Georgian house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall decor showed signs of cutting corners on cost e.g. cheap carpets, d-i-y decorative finish. The result is querky, but still comfortable enough.

    Good choice, friendly service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Good and would stay again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is fine and has a lovely walled garden where the lodges are located. It is on a busy road but you cannot hear this once inside. Also, road noise stops late afternoon/early evening.

    Stayed in one of the Patio rooms/lodges outside the house. Absolutely fantastic. Good breakfast selection Restaurant food really good especially the Mint & Cucumber Sorbet and Nduja bread (not together, of course!).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.3
    fantastic, will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little lightoutside the room on the pathway but no big deal at all

    lovely hotel, beautiful surrounds, we stayed in the orangery, great and quirky decor. We had dinner on the Saturday evening and the skate with grapes (off combo but worked) was immense. Porn star cocktails perfect. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its clear that the hotel and the grounds have in the past been very good. Unfortunately no longer. The building in need of some love and care and a thorough good clean. Unfortunately it looks as if the owners are finding it hard to maintain the property. Very disappointing as we visit the area often, usually using large chain hotels. It would have been great to have found a small privately owned hotel to which we would have been happy to return.

    Comfy bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Special room, lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant wasn't open the first night we were there which was a shame but there is a great pub over the road.

    The Framingham room was lovely, great location just a short drive to Southwold

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    We had an amazing time at Satis House, the bedroom was fab...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an amazing time at Satis House, the bedroom was fab and everything it looked like in the photos. The bed was extremely comfortable and we had a fantastic nights sleep. Ben the manager was brilliant and was very helpful. The food was out of this world and we would recommend to anyone

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.3
    A lovely, stylish room with helpful and accommodating staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom could have been cleaner....

    I arrived late as travelling from far away -the hotel had upgraded my room for ease of check in, and kept me informed along the way. Much appreciated and a really comfortable, albeit brief, stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Beautiful place, fabulous food an
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    So accommodating to a bunch of mad doggie people, beautiful hotel and food was amazing, but the best part is the staff, so very welcoming and easy to deal with, i would highly recommend a visit here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    2.5
    Freezing cold and unfriendly and unconcerned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have no idea what the inside of the property is like. I thought I had booked a hotel that might be slightly concerned why one of its guests was late. I was 45 minutes late (11:15pm) due to a flat tyre that had to be replaced on a dark country road. When I arrived I knocked, rang the bell, and called several times. All ignored. Spent night in a freezing car in the car park all for the full cost of room and breakfast and not the slightest contact from the hotel. Obviously not a big fan of this establishment.

    The car park was excellent if somewhat freezing cold for the night stay as I could not enter the property and had to stay the whole night in my car.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    family run lovely ambiance real effort made to make it unique
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    rooms were rather cold but heaters were brought when asked for. it was an extremely cold weekend

    family run lovely ambiance real effort made to make it unique

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.3
    Having stayed at Statis House before.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff members were a little harsh when dealing with customer requests. First impression can also damage your experience, personally I had a great time. I spend a lot of time away on business people can have bad days. The customer will chose, to return or not.

    Peace and quiet wonderful upgrade and fabulous food. Harry was great to meet and very helpful as it was only his first week.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    6.3
    The room was very nice, but not the cleanest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive room and high priced food without the quality. I asked for toast to be made for my husband and I to take away with us on our early morning walk and we were brought 1 slice to share?!

    The room was very nice, but not the cleanest. There was dust around and a dead hornet on the bedroom floor that looked like the room hadn't been used for a while.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has incredible potential it's a beautiful building and garden but sadly is looking very tired and a bit grubby . It was in the process of being redecorated in places but not as a refurb just new paint painted over old lumps and bumps . Staff were really nice but even though it's wasn't particularly busy both breakfast mornings they were slow and forgetful and not replenishing the basics. they constantly apologies to all 4 tables for things being slow.

    The location worked for us . It was close for us visiting family . It's on the A12 and you can get to the coast super quick.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.4
    After being stung by a wasp in the bedroom we were moved to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a wasp's nest outside the window in both f the rooms booked and they came into the bedroom. I was stung by one of the wasps. The bathroom lights did not work and there were signs of light bulbs that someone forgot to install

    After being stung by a wasp in the bedroom we were moved to another room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Recommended and hope to stay when next visiting the Suffolk coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a very steep, narrow staircase to the room. OK for me but anyone with mobility problems needs to make sure they are not booked into this room. Would have liked a fresh pot of proper coffee for breakfast (I did not request so this might have been available).

    Lovely big room on the second floor; three sections: bathroom, middle section, bedroom. Cafetiere/coffee provided. Flexible dinner menu; I had two starters rather than a starter and main course.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Convenient but overall service could be improved
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was in the attic up narrow staircase. Music in restaurant was dreadful but food was fantastic. Breakfast served from 08.00, not ideal for business user.

    Room was comfortable, well provisioned. Food was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.1
    very nice and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very mean breakfast portions £15 for 1 slice of toast with small portion of scrambled egg and a bit of extra toast is not "hearty" best run off to the beach cafe in Southwold instead.

    very nice and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    4.6
    Very odd decor all looking a little tired.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wouldn't have booked had I realised breakfast wasn't included. I asked for a receipt by email as there was no one around when I left at 7.10AM the next day. They ignored my email.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.0
    The worst place I've ever stayed it's a shame as the rooms and the bathrooms weren't as bad.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was such a bad bagging noise for the whole evening into the early morning, no staff were around for check out and there was a leak in the corridor outside my room. This property needs better management.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.8
    not too bad, but would not go again,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was way above what it was worth, a more acceptable one would be around £80 to £90 the prices for mini bar were much too high, we had the garden room and the garden could have been better the path leading to it was partly broken in places, at night the lighting to the pathway could be a lot better

    Parking, resturant accept it was pricey, breakfast was good, accept no cereals,, all though porridge was on offer only one choice of fruit juice ,,orrange Toast was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.3
    Its an old house with history. Don't expect a vanilla Premier Inn experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The attic room is not good value but the Framlingham room is terrific.

    The food is exceptional. One of the best breakfast you could have. Freshly cooked and prepared by Ben; an excellent and passionate chef. The evening meal was equally good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice quirky hotel. Friendly helpful staff. Seriously comfy bed.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sign post to entrance could be better. Stayed in the Yoxford Room. Lovely Antique Roll Top Bath, but spoilt by severe brown staining from leaky tap!! Drinks a bit pricey.

    Nice friendly staff. The most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Wish I had a second night!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.5
    A pleasant addition to our trip. Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very expensive for the quality/ portion. Check the price before committing.

    Beautiful period property and room which was very good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    Ecxcellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Written instructions in the bedroom for the TV and air conditioning.

    Staff very helpful in arranging afternoon tea in the garden for my wife and i and 4 family members who were not staying in the hotel. Even doing a special baking of gluten free scones. Dinners most excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.3
    Has potential but will take money and time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to duck as we're put in attic room and it wasn't so pleasant if your average height

    Nice gardens and venue has great potential but needs a lot of money spent on it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.1
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is too late, starting at 8.30. Had not made a note of our dinner booking. Very near a main road so quite noisy. No hotel information in the room. Not very welcoming.

    Food very good, although dinner not cheap. Nice room, although some maintenance issues (eg dead lightbulbs.)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.3
    enjoyed the evening meal, overpriced, did not care for the music in the bar.would not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    seemed a shorted of staff, especially at breakfast, had to find somebody and rang the bell several times before our order was taken, nobody checked to see if we had everything we needed poor service.

    bed very comfy bathroom good, door from the bedroom onto a balcony. food good in the evening.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    4.2
    Appalling customer care – btw, we pay your salary – poor food, and lack of consideration of staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the minute we arrived, I knew we were going to regret our decision to stay there. There was the charmless and exchange over the rate – prepaid – and the fact that we have to pay extra for breakfast, £15 each. This was the first two minutes. The manager was then curt, arguing with me about a £10 extra charge for checking in early – he insisted to told me when he did not, and that was after saying it was someone else's fault. This led on to his inappropriate dismissal over another member of staff. I argued that I was not told about the charge, and was prepared to stand my ground given his manner. he then stopped halfway up the stairs and asked if we were ready to carry on, i.e. do I accept the charge. Never known anything like it. I had no choice but to agree, given we were there. He then phoned us and said the charge was waived, after he "checked his notes". The sour taste however was left in our mouths. The room was fine, but black walls and complete lack of interest, style, charm in the style. In no way worth £155 for one night. We asked about taxis to local wedding – he gave us his phone and numbers and told us to ask around ourselves, didn't want to help. In star exchange to incredibly friends chap in pub across the road. Even though it was mid July, only a think duvet was on offer. Our vastly overpriced breakfast was terrible. Incredibly poor set-up – barely any coffee grounds in tin, had to ask for more, and one glass. More were brought out with staff carrying with fingers IN the glasses – hardly hygienic. The eggs benedict was the worst I've ever had, swimming in butter, no resemblance to Hollandaise sauce. By this point, I wanted to leave. We asked the other owner for the bill. I did complain about the eggs and he went to complain to the chef. We were still charged. This would not happen in other establishments, but I was too fed up to argue (again) – this review is my response.

    Very little. It was just one night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    5.4
    Well overpriced, but an excellent delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I chose this hotel for its location, as it was near to a festival I attended. I think the price of our double room was inflated because of the festival. I was expecting it to be top notch at £230 per night- it was not. The room admittedly had everything I would expect in it , but it had several electrical extension leads on the floor. The bed was comfortable but had no valance on the bottom. I think it was about £100 overpriced!!

    The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    The hotel restaurant served an exceptionally good evening...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast service was slow and inefficient for us possibly because we were towards the end of serving. However the owner sorted the problem herself .

    The hotel restaurant served an exceptionally good evening meal .Interesting dishes beautifully presented and delicious . The staff on the hotel side and dining room were polite thoughtful and very helpful. The building is an old country house mainly decorated in grandiose and modern style modern . Our bedroom on the first floor was spacious and opulent with restful view of the gardens .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    4.6
    Not a success
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilets in our room were broken. The kitchen was just below our "superior" room with a barbecue running hence we could not open our windows and still got the smell for the whole evening. The hotel needs major refurbishment work, the ceiling in the corridor had wholes. The breakfast was very average and the cost was way to high for the quality of the hotel.

    Not far from the sea

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.0
    Style that lacks substance
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception area dark and was asked to complete a booking form again with all my details. Whilst the garden room was quaint, the sanitary wear was dirty from the previous occupant! On the second day, bed just about made, bins not emptied and coffee not replenished. Hmm, must try harder!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    4.2
    Faulty towers hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and breakfast was very poor it has new owners now they have not kept up the high standard from the previous owners , and it was misleading on their website as not been updated with the lack of breakfast poor products but still charging high prices they need to cut the prices to fit what u get for your money

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    4.6
    hotel a little tired, in need of some TLC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Original room booked not available, kept trying to push up-grade, room give was a little tired, paint flaking off window, had to use block of wood to keep window in place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Great place to stay on business or on holiday
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Had a wonderful stay at the Hotel. It was a hot week and the walled garden was ideal for sitting out in the evening with a cold beer. The room was spacious, airy and well-appointed. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have come across in a hotel for many years and the bed linen clean and crisp. Perfect for a good night’s sleep. The staff were very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. Dinner was first class and breakfast was wonderful. Would I stay there again ….yes without doubt.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    4.2
    Avoid this place - very poor value for money and unhellpful / unfriendly staff - always defensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Attic room 0- not sure if complied with modern safety standards - very hot ! Staff were defensive and unhelpful

    The property was described as Shabby Chic ??? well it was certainly the former, but purported to be up market

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.8
    perfect for a good nights sleep after a busy wedding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    very beautiful building and surrounds. Most comfortable bed, great nights sleep. Shower room a little snug if you are tall or larger sized. Sorry we were not there for longer to sample the food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    6.3
    Bar food was priced reasonably and was good.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast at £15.00 was expensive. We didn't have the option for cereal or continental breakfast in addition to cooked breakfast. We had to ask for orange juice. I am use to helping myself to cereal and drinks, this was not an option. Breakfast is normally £8 for all you can eat and drink. Shower didn't work, will not be stopping here again.

    Bar food was priced reasonably and was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    5.8
    not a good choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is a very nice little hotel which is well decorated but starti.g to show signs of needing attention of a maintenance man. Staff were almost non existent as it only had one person most of the time. In short I have spent less for better quality hotels that had proper levels of staff who put customers first and did not regard them as an inconvenience.

    The food in the hotel was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    2.5
    Bed linen not changed, room not cleaned our complain not dealt by
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    On our arrival we noticed the bed was not changed! Later on we noticed the room was not cleaned and several things were broken or not working. When we went for breakfast we waited 5 to 10 min and were still not served and could not see any staff, we had enough and left the breakfast room without having had our breakfast. However, the owner still mad us pay for breakfast! When we complained we were completely ignored nor did they reply on our several emails. Al we asked for was a to have the money back for the breakfast; should not have been that difficult to keep us happy. Nearly forgot: for not having changed the bed linnen they offered us a drink at the bar; but we don't drink. It's a tired and worn house with bad service; not worth the money.

    Absolut nothing; a terrible experience

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Best overnight stay I've had!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing wrong with the hotel or company. Our bathroom was compact, but ideal for a short overnight stay. Everything else was above and beyond.

    We had a great stay at the hotel. The Owner and her Partner in Crime were fab hosts and made our whole trip. They have three friendly dogs, which we loved! After getting in from a restaurant they recommended to us, we wanted a quick nightcap which turned into a tasting session of their great range of drinks. We stayed up talking to the hosts for a couple of hours and loved the stories they had to share.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    10
    A very pleasant country house hotel, so friendly it felt like staying with someone I knew!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Ben, executive chef and manager, was extremely friendly and pleasant, interested in why we were staying and very knowledgeable about the local area. The level of personal service was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    5.4
    Chef and manager friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only given one piece of toast for breakfast. No jams. Only butter. No buffet breakfast. Waited 40minutes for that one slice of toast!!! Not good. Place generally quite run down. In need of refurbishment in lobby and lounge areas.

    Chef and manager friendly. Evening meal good. Bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    7.9
    Food was very good if a little short on vegetables and fruit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some thing to make the place more atmospheric i.e. an open fire, different music some was truly awful. Some of the service was slow particularly at breakfast when ( as birders) we want to get out early.

    Food was very good if a little short on vegetables and fruit

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    8.8
    Best breakfast ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were excellent and the service was also. The best breakfast we have ever had in a hotel anywhere. Delicious food and great presentation. Reception at the hotel was very good and staff were polite and friendly at the bar.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    5.4
    Business stay, no thrills.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attic Suite has water pressure issues (documented in room) but still poor when paying >£100 / night. Restaurant meals don't have much on the plate for the price and come with no real sides. Had to leave early due to family emergency but not offered any chance of cancelling / refunding last night of stay. Could be policy but considered poor from management. Won't stay again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.2
    Amazing food and a very comfy stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only complaint would have to be that the staff could do with working on how they talk to their customers. Especially with the amount of money we were spending!

    Really comfy accommodation. Very clean. Very good food and drink.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    6.3
    Clean, pretty but next to the A12.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is next to the A12 which would have been okay had we been able to close our window. So therefore were not able to sleep as they were also resurfacing the road. We did report it to the manager by email but two weeks later have not received a response.

    The rooms were clean and staff friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    6.7
    Dissapointing Stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor check in, could not find my booking. No availabilty in restuarant. The room (Peasenhall) was above the kitchen with lots of noise and cooking smells, mostly (I think through the fireplace, which I gather was linked to kitchen. Room above, sounded like they had a toilet macherator or very noisy fan. Bathroom was the smallest I've seen!

    The bed was extra comfy

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    7.9
    Charming building, very friendly & helpful staff and good food ...chef very anxious to please
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our en-suite was small & there was not a lot of room in the shower & nowhere to put the shower gel whilst showering apart from on the floor! But then we did have a budget room.

    Drinking water & fresh milk supplied in the rooms & the room tea & coffee sachets were of a high standard. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    6.3
    Staff were lovely - beds comfy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food poor - The salmon was the cheapest cut, was wet like it had been washed - hence inedible. The scrambled eggs were microwaved

    Staff were lovely - beds comfy

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    7.9
    a great guesthouse/hotel. Avoid peasenhall room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom in the peasenhall room was very poor and not suitable for a room costing nearly 100£/night. The bathroom also smelt, an unsavoury odour.

    Very nice beds. Meals very tasty. Bedroom was spacious.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.9
    Nice stay but not fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little tired and in need of an update, think breakfast should have been included in room rate.

    Large comfy bed, nice restaurant, very helpful friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    8.3
    A very good base for visiting the Suffolk Coast and countryside
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Privacy. We had a garden room, which we really liked , and were surprised to look out before 7.00 a.m. and see a gardener a couple of yards away. We thought that the pricing was reasonable for humans, but we have never paid as much as £20 per night for our dog before.

    There was plenty of car parking and it was very pet friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    6.3
    Poor value; great potential, but has issues for the rate charged.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Inadequate staff who were multitasking and stretched. e.g. ignoring us to answer three phone calls while checking us in. Friendly, but we never felt like valued guests. Noise from A12 in our front facing room. Poor value for money: Rooms pleasant but nothing special. Breakfast excluded. Limited facilities. Poor wi-fi Difficult/dangerous entrance from A12 that is poorly marked.

    Charming old building with nice grounds. Plenty of free, secure parking space. Good location for our travel plans. Quality dinner - at a price to match. Friendly staff....but too busy. Comfortable bed. Contrary to other reviews I have seen, our room was very clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    5.4
    Not Worth The Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The driveway entrance to the hotel on a bend on the A12 is a potential death trap. Especially in the evening there was a pervasive cooking smell in the hotel.In the bedroom there was hardly any wardrobe space, no latch on the bathroom door and no shower. This hotel is expensive and not good value for money.

    The staff were very nice and obliging.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    5.4
    Room rate only offers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be aware that on room rate offers breakfast is charged at £15 per head.Cleanliness of bathroom in Attic room questionable based on the dust on the floor that my wife experienced.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    7.9
    Pleasant and comfortable stay at Satis House and dog made to feel welcome too!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    good location for event in Walberswick. Staff very accommodating of our jack Russell and swapped rooms for us. Good breakfast which we enjoyed outside. Nice garden area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    5.8
    Could be wonderful if we had a shower!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No working shower in room. Reception tried to fix it to no avail so we couldn't wash properly on the morning. Eventually agreed on approx £25 reduction in room rate but I feel that we should receive at least £50. They will of course not be able to rent out the room until this is fixed.

    Traditional, quirky.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    9.6
    Satis-faction almost guaranteed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need air conditioning in every room especially the dining rooms, eating in these rooms were very very uncomfortable.

    The whole package - staff, room, bed, towels, grounds,food, area need I go on?

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: