Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Savoy Park Hotel 3 stars

16 Racecourse Road, Ayr, KA7 2UT, United Kingdom

#22 of 30 B&Bs and Inns in Ayr

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 850 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    A lovely, chilled & relaxed hotel that is an ideal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's probably a small point, but there were no glasses in the room (plastic tumblers and tea cups only). That apart, there's nothing I can really complain about.

    A lovely, chilled & relaxed hotel that is an ideal getaway for partners. The bed was comfortable, we liked the ambience of the hotel while the room we had was spaceous. Dinner is not included in the price, however I would recomend the restaurant in the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Grand old hotel with friendly staff and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom for our room had a tiny corner sink with very loose taps, and the tiled walls in the shower cubicle were pretty grubby - perhaps a re-grout would be in order? I did mention these points to the hotel as we were leaving, but it did not detract from a good overnight stay.

    Great old building, but clean, well maintained and with a nice garden at the rear. Our room overlooked the garden, so it was nice and quiet. The hotel breakfast was really good and robust - kept us going all day. The meal in the restaurant the evening before (and the beer) was good, and not overpriced. A 10/15 minute walk into Ayr itself. Staff very friendly. Would go again, and recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    Room lovely. Breakfast fair.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way breakfast is served. They cook your egg then the rest of breakfast is self service . The toaster is soooo slow. No potato bread with breakfast .

    Lovey room friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant and enjoyable stay. Staff were lovely, helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the decor is a bit tired just needs a bit of paint.

    The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food at breakfast and in the restaurant is very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a wedding on the day we were there and we could not use the bar as it was being used for the wedding party. That was the only downfall.

    The hotel was lovely and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I loved being walked to our room, lovely touch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel in Ayr
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like about this about this hotel. The lack of a lift to the rooms is the only minor downside, as the stairs to the 2nd floor might be quite challenging for anyone with mobility issues, they are very steep and narrow.

    This location of this hotel is excellent, a short walk to the beach one way and the town centre the other way. The atmosphere is very relaxed, and the staff are welcoming, friendly and always willing to help you with anything. The food is excellent, we had a cooked breakfast, continental choice also available, and we had an evening meal and both were very good. The gardens are stunning, a lovely area to sit and relax in with a glass of wine, facilities for the kids to play in, and picnic tables for dining outside. Would definitely stay here again if we are ever back in Ayr.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Lpvely accommodation and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were helpful, attentive and eager to please. Breakfast and dinner were excellent in the restaurant at the hotel. Easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. Room was clean, well stocked and had everything we needed. The ensuite was clean and spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    the welcome was extremely friendly we are a family business...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the welcome was extremely friendly we are a family business and the pride and confidence in the product shone through justifiably so. the ambience of the hotel and the food beyond expectation and we expect a lot

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.4
    Great staff and a good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need updating, probably a 2 Star at best. Faded grandeur but not worth the money at this stage. Needs attention to for the asking price. Worst value for money on our entire trip.

    Great staff and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    4.2
    Littlest room in the place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was tiny (even more than usual) & there were mold-like stains on the shower walls. You could hardly turn around in the bathroom. Also very warm room, but if you opened the window then the midges came in. No lift either (though we were only 1 flight of stairs so not much trouble carrying bags), but even with them admitting we were given one of the smallest rooms they had, they wouldn’t accommodate a request for check-out as we were dressing for a wedding at 2pm. A small bit of understanding & I would probably have not written this review.

    Location was close to where I needed, had free parking & breakfast was included & good with eggs to order

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't like the strong smell of chlorine in our room

    An old place, almost like a castle. Friendly staff, plenty of parking, excellent restaurant, in walking distance from town center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Delightful staff eager to please; excellent food; lovely garden to relax in/have a drink/ eat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in the attic...up 47 stairs with no lift. Old fashioned bathroom and shower didn’t work but bed was v comfy.

    Dinner was excellent. Good choice beautifully cooked and presented and great value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.8
    Happy to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, the building, the decor and the gardens were very impressive. The restaurant was reasonably priced and the food was very good. We would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    5.8
    Fine for one night but for price felt more luxury required ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stair carpet did not appear to be hovered and a bit messy Rooms small but with good toilet and shower room area but lacking in "extras"

    Food and grounds good. Location fine for visiting south Ayrshire coast Culzean Castle etc

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs are a not good for those with any mobility issues.

    Our room and en suite were both spacious and the hotel was in a quiet area. We had an evening meal and breakfast both of which were most enjoyable and offered a good selection of choices. The staff were all extremely amenable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.3
    Old style hotel clean but limited to where we could take our dog as wedding on when we stayed
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place is a bit dated (but is a lovely old hotel with character ) could supply toiletries and not just large bottles of hand wash etc that probably used for other guests No biscuits with tea and coffee in room yes I’m being picky lol We were told there was a wedding when we stayed but didn’t mind the music but because of the wedding we could not go outside or in to bar with our dog for a drink or could not eat in the restaurant either Being dog friendly even if weddings are taking place , consideration for guests that have their dogs to stay would have been nice as basically we had to stay in our room after we had to go to another hotel restaurant to eat and it was only 7.30pm We thought we could have had a few drinks in the bar or out in the beautiful garden with our dog but we couldn’t which was a pity No extra charge for having our dog stay though so that was good

    Beautiful garden outside hotel breakfast was good And plenty choice Parking was easy as spaces available Clean rooms Staff really friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    The stay was memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were friendly and very helpful. The food was lovely and very reasonable. The overall experience was great. We would come again and highly recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Birthday night away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I only had one night , wished I could have stayed longer. I will be back. !!

    Quite,roomy , it had some history, the staff were attentive & engaging also very helpful, it’s a family run hotel & they take the time to give that little extra. Food was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were bit small especially the bathroom though they had all you need. No proper lounge area. Could only sit in bar area.

    Meals were good and breakfast items were kept hot. Staff very helpful and obliging. Plenty of parking room. Bar prices for a hotel reasonable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Chill break in ayr.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs upgrading , window sill in bathroom dirty, window above bed also dirty sill.

    Breakfast was luvly. Had lunch , great value and very very nice....😁 to the chefs .. Free parking. Plenty tea and coffee sachets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not realise there was not a lift and too floor room with second flight of stairs very steep..

    Location is great minutes from the sea front & short walk to the centre.. we stayed in a superior double room which was basically a large room with a sofa.. nice enough room for the price.. staff really friendly & helpful..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    ayr is always good for a weekend - in the Summer !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    as always the price of a whisky nightcap is always expensive in hotels of this size - no "malt of the month" !

    eggs ( and other choices ) freshly cookedto order for breakfast, coffee was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is worthwhile of visiting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift for upper floors but it is an old house. Boys always help.

    This is a hotel with its own history and style. Our room was facing an inner garden and it was quiet and comfortable. We had a very relaxing stay. You have to order your breakfast (if it is not full English) and each time it was good. We also had dinner and it was delicious with a rather sensibly priced wine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    Great staff and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was in a quiet location, not far from the town centre and beach. Staff could not have been more helpful-nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent-we had a lovely break.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    Really enjoyed all aspects, will definitely book again and recommend to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was up two flights but it was a last minute booking.

    The whole ambience of the hotel. Family run and it showed, staff were so courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    Bed was comfortable and facilities adequate for our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was not the best and the second set of stairs to the room were a little steep. Otherwise all good.

    Bed was comfortable and facilities adequate for our overnight stay after the function. The anniversary party was great and staff were very helpful. Food was delicious both evening meal and breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower pressure could have been better, but as explained, it may have been that it was a ‘busy time’ and water pressure was therefore being used up throughout the hotel

    Very accommodating and friendly. Excellent food in the bar and breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.3
    Room was great, breakfast was chaotic... :-/
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was quite unusual,... There were no toasts for jam&butter, we should asked for that and it was served cold. :-( Also we were waiting for eggs which were served on the same plates as the bread. :-( And there was no extra plates for sausages/beans/mushrooms..... so instead of eating and enjoying breakfast we were waiting. When I finished my cold toasts with jam&butter, then my egg was also cold. :-( Waiter was chatting with reception lady instead of speed up. We were unhappy about this process.

    Hotel was nice and bed was very comfy,... Location is perfect and easy to find. Car park was just in front of the entrance. :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location, amazing breakfast, amazing price!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extractor fan noise disturbed us during the night - otherwise a perfect stay

    Perfect location, lovely building, excellent setup for breakfast. Staff were very attentive and went above and beyond to make our stay pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing, comfortable and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the hotel was beautiful and our stay was great, it would have been nice to have more options at the bar, its quite dated as with whats on offer, also room service through the night is restricted to 2 options of sandwiches. Although i understand why there wouldnt be a lot to offer at that time of night, but just another option would have been nice.

    The view was stunning from our room onto the back garden area, our room was lovely and the ensuite with bath tub was exactly what id hoped for. The staff where friendly and always helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    A very comfortable hotel with very good staff and excellent food.
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was quite small and the shower cubicle very small.

    The food at our evening meal was excellent and the breakfast choice was also very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    6.7
    The staff were simply great as was the food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first bedroom and the bathroom were seriously sub standard.

    The allocated bedroom was bad. The bed had past its use by date by about 10 years. The shower was very unreliable. The sofa was hard and I injured the base of my back on a part of the frame on the seating area. However, the staff and the owner were more than gracious and helpful and provided another bedroom with a better bed but the walk in shower walls were quite dirty but we had a much better bed!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    We have stayed here 3 times and always a joy to go back we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    .

    We have stayed here 3 times and always a joy to go back we look forward to it every year.food great and a great family hotel and very plasent to stay in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Food was lovely, enjoyed both dinner and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found rubbish under the bed, didn’t make a big deal about this as I know it’s not the receptionists fault. The light at the desk didn’t work.

    Food was lovely, enjoyed both dinner and breakfast. Bed was very comfortable. Staff were very professional, especially the older lady at reception desk. Location is spot on, close to train station and the beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    We had an amazing time in Ayr and really felt at home at The Savoy Park Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the top floor / ok for us but not for anyone older! Shower was very temperamental so had baths which was ok until needed to wash hair. Strong cooking smells a bit off putting,

    Wonderfully warm & helpful Scottish hospitality. Location is great close to restaurants - Prestwick and Alloway. Easy to get to from Glasgow.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only small criticism would be the positioning of the TV on the wall - was very difficult to see from the beds ..... ended up with a crick in my neck although to be fair the shape of the room would make positioning very difficult - perhaps a bracket to allow screen to be moved around?

    Had a lovely time - friendly welcoming staff, quirky comfy room and delicious breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.5
    A very nice hotel and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ensuite bathroom was freezing. They could do with installing some underfloor heating in it. Probably perfectly OK in summer but not in January!

    The room service was really good. There was a good selection on the breakfast menu. There was a lovely big fully enclosed garden for the dog to run around in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.3
    Had a very comfortable stay for a few days and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have liked a choice of pastries for breakfast, TV light flashing so had to unplug it, kettle put in wardrobe so was a little fiddly putting in clothes.

    Bed very comfortable, staff friendly, good view over the front of the hotel, good choice for breakfast and food served hot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast was lovely meal was OK room was too warm with...
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt rushed at meal time would like to sit for a few drinks after meal

    Breakfast was lovely meal was OK room was too warm with heating on and freezing when turned down

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.5
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only disappointment was that our dog was confined to our room, or the garden areas. It would have been better if he could at least have sat in the bar with us...

    Our evening meal was exceptional. The apple crumble was to die for. Our room was cramped but we had a huge bathroom, which made up for that. Staff were lovely. I would recommend the hotel - great value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.5
    The hotel was very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found our room very cold even though the radiator was on and shower was far to small and door would not close right in shower

    The hotel was very nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Liked this hotel that much we are thinking of having our wedding here .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    our stay at the Savoy park hotel was great from start to finish .the room was huge with a comfy bed and great decor and the staff were so friendly and helpful.will definitely be booking again .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.3
    A very nice hotel with fantastic staff let down by small things which could be easily rectified.
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating for the room WC/Shower was inadequate Only one chair in the room The parts of the breakfast which was pre cooked was left to long, a shame because the rest was lovely. The tiles in the shower need replaced

    The Staff were excellent The bed was fine The evening meal was great The main lounge was very comfy and homely with lovely fireplaces all lit In the morning eggs are cooked as you want them Parking and location very safe and a great location for beach and Ayr City Center

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.6
    This hotel is so handy for the town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is so handy for the town centre. For breakfast, the Savoy makes your egg order, and potato scones, fresh.. so sensible, fried eggs lying around for an hour or so are cold and inedible!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.6
    We had a very enjoyable stay and be happy to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Our room overlooked a beautiful walled garden. Staff at Hotel were very welcoming and looked after us well. The facilities were good and our bed was comfortable and we're pleased with our bedroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    3.8
    Not a good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was very cold we had to get a heater off the staff the bathroom was that cold you could see your breath we have been a few times to the savoy park and never experienced this we would not go back very disappointed

    The savoy park is a very nice hotel the food was average the staff very nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.6
    very good will definately return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The condition of the mattress in room 10 we did tell reception about this and Mary said she would check it I'm sure she will do this as they seem very helpfull

    virtually everything

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    The staff on reception were exceptional nothing was to much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t fault 1 thing

    The staff on reception were exceptional nothing was to much of an ask for them. Room was very clean and comfortable. Will return.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    We hope to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We received a warm welcome, the room was spacious and clean, and we enjoyed a very good evening meal in the wood paneled dining room. All in all excellent value.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Savoy Park-Our first of many a stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to comment on as liked everything.

    Love this hotel, staff are friendly and helpful, rooms are beautiful and comfortable, breakfast and dinner..delicious. The atmosphere of this hotel is relaxing and inviting.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    5.0
    disappointed ,,,,,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very cold night and the room was cold I did say to the lady when check out and all she said was I should have said and they would have put heater in room but I would have thought that they should have said that room cool and put heater in enyway as they are aware tgat room can get cool ,,,,,,

    Breakfast was nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Steph crimbo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm & welcoming staff couldn't do enough for you & although a veggie breakfast is not a standard option they made sure i could have viggie sausages for breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    We feel that we made a great choice for our 2-night stay and would book again without hesitation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in our room could have had more pressure but it wasn’t a problem for us.

    The atmosphere and surroundings of the hotel were lovely. It felt very much like a house / home and not a hotel which was great, especially at Christmas. We liked that a hot breakfast was included as well. The hotel was clean and spacious, the beds were comfortable, and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous Xmas break.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a beautiful old building tastefully renovated and with the Christmas decorations and fires gives a lovely homely feel. It is warm and comfortable and staff look after you well. The food is also excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful old hotel with a great atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In a quiet part of town but just a few minutes walk from the railway station. Staff were delightful and took me to my room on arrival. The price I paid was far less than I would expect for such a good room with breakfast included - it had a bath which is unusual nowadays. For breakfast, I got the choice of kippers - a favourite of mine - which always endears me to a place!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    6.7
    Not what we hoped for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oh dear...we travel with our dogs so expect the room not to be the best but it (room 8) was very old, tired and dusty with a strange smell in the ensuite? The bed was hard and the noise from the kitchens below was like torture at times keeping myself and my dogs awake in the night. 1st night I phoned, 2nd night I went down in pj's and asked the night staff to turn off the bloody dishwasher after 11.45pm. Apart from the lady at breakfast, staff seemed (when they weren't ignoring you) a bit sad. The food was adequate but nothing special and the water tasted like a swimming pool?!? Also the hotel claims to be dog friendly. It allows you to have dogs in your room, but it is NOT dog friendly as they aren't allowed in any public areas or the garden 😞 so please be aware...hate to moan. But felt really let down by the Savoy Park.

    Great location with plenty of parking. Just a short walk to town, beach and parks. Beautiful lounge and bar area very nicely decorated traditional Scottish with low lighting. Lovely server at breakfast, nice to chat with.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    5.4
    Served a purpose, reasonable price won't be back because of the stair issue
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many stairs to bedrooms, am partially disabled and I struggled Breakfast over cooked in buffet trays too long Place overall a bit tired

    Nice size room for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.5
    The dinner was amazing but breakfast was not had burnt sausage over cooked bacon and flavourless tom
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not so great cold room The dinner was amazing but breakfast was not had burnt sausage over cooked bacon and flavourless tomato and beans. Room was cold on arrival and during had to use extra fan heater they had to heatake room during night shouldn't be after paying extra for a better room and would've been better with a bottom room to stay warmer

    The staff and atmosphere was amazing and diner was wonderful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    From the staff to the room to the food cannot fault this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    From the staff to the room to the food cannot fault this hotel absolutely stunning hotel and very large comfortable room and the staff were very welcoming and even helped out in the morning with a frozen car lock , outstanding service 10/10 will definitely be back thanks again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Boutique at its best....gem of a hotel in Ayr.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The small family run and owned boutique hotel was perfect. I formerly worked in the tourism industry, this place is 5 star quality in terms of ALL aspects. It is in some respects old school (.... in a very good way believe me) hospitality, service and charm. I will be back as I travel from Edin to Stranraer frequently and have already recommended to friends, family and local Ayr taxi drivers. Best thing for me was an excellent pint of ale from the local/craft Ayr brewing company, literally a few yards away.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Savoy park ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives at all

    Great location . Staff very friendly and welcoming and helpful , very clean room was a great size , meals and breakfast fantastic would definitely recommend to family and friends myself and husband had a great over night stay wish we could have stayed longer x

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.8
    Nice Hotel but...........
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room (7) was supposed to be ‘superior’ but was badly lit and dingy feeling, main ceiling light looked like something from an old council office! Bathroom was an odd square add on room within a room and very small, particularly the sink, I actually couldn’t get both hands in to wash off shaving foam! Not what I would term superior by any stretch My previous stay here was in a similarly titled superior room and this was very nice indeed maybe the refurbishment program hasn’t reached the garden view rooms yet!

    Location is excellent and the property is very well presented both externally and internally in reception, bar and restaurant areas Staff are very friendly and efficient Food absolutely superb with lots of choice and good service Both evening meal and breakfast first class Large, off road car park, well lit and secure

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    A lot of luxury for a very reasonable price. :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, Everything was fab.

    For a 3 star hotel, all expectations were exceeded. Fabulous place to spend the evening. We arrived earlier than the stated check in, yet we were shown straight to our room with no hesitation. Our room was beautiful, very spacious and clean. The room was in fact so pleasant to be, my partner and I chose to order room service and stay in for the evening. Our dinner was brought to our room by 3 of the hotels team members, who were all great and helpful. The food was beautiful and incredibly reasonable as the quality of the food was superb. The bed and room was so comfortable that we actually slept in and therefore didn't allow ourselves enough time for breakfast. I'm sure the hotel would have accommodated us and provided something had we asked as the staff were so helpful but we were in a hurry to move on.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Very relaxing and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing very

    We have been four times before so this speaks for its self the place is very clean food great and great value the staff are very helpful and always cheery WWII be back again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    5.4
    Adequate but dispapointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room (a double!) was tiny and in need of refurbishment. There were a lot of internal stairs and steps, some without rails. It wasn't over warm either.

    The location and parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.9
    Good car parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No non-slip mat in shower/bath.Television had no picture.Led spotlight shining into room. Limited facilities due to wedding.No safe in room. Slightly old fashioned and dated furniture in room. A bit expensive compared to other hotels in the area.

    Good car parking. good location.Someone showing you to your room. Key access as opposed to card access to room. Good cooked breakfast selection from menu. Reserved table for breakfast. Service and staff were excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    Amazing value for money, very scenic location and great food. Would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a coating of something (possibly cleaning stuff?) on the toilet handle.

    Great value for money, was travelling here with my partner and parents on a trip around the west coast of Scotland. My parents loved the building and the decor, the rooms were very comfortable. We also had dinner in the hotel restaurant which was excellent, everyone enjoyed their meal. The breakfast was great, lots of selection and all very tasty! Would definitely go back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite tatty furniture, marked and stained. Shabby light switches and lamp shades. Shower clean but tired grouting . Breakfast uninspiring. Tinned grapefruit . Fruit juice very poor. Limited cereal.

    It was a beautiful old building with a nice garden

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff who cannot do enough for you.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no negative points at all. It’s a fantastic hotel.

    Very friendly and helpful staff who cannot do enough for you. Extremely clean throughout and always a real pleasure staying at this hotel. Usually stay here on business but this time my wife and baby came along and they also loved the hotel. The restaurant serves a great range of delicious meals. Highly recommend for both business and family stays.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.1
    Staff were great and really helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small comforts in the room were absent, no shampoo, biscuits etc. Steaks in the restaurant were very dry and not great value. Music in the restaurant was intrusive and loud.

    Staff were great and really helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.1
    room not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was cheaper as last minute booking, but the tap fitting in bathroom was loose,the toilet was overflowing into bowl constantly, and the shower was very weak, room needed refurbishment.

    Breakfast was good and staff friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    By far the best hotel I have stayed at ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything couldn't fault the place

    This place exceeded all expectations The staffs attention to detail, the food, the atmosphere all out of this world I didn't want to leave

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.9
    Elegant reference on the edge of town with great gardens for the pups. Staff did well.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better information up front, prior to booking about where the pups could be.

    Beautiful walled garden at the back- the pups loved running free there chasing each other. Dinner in the room was unexpected (we couldn't eat elsewhere with the pups, except outside and it was raining)- but the staffbbent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    Clean, very friendly, great food and lovely room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't find fault. Everything was very good

    Being just off the main road, it is very quiet. The food was excellent with a range to suit all tastes. The accommodation was very good with a really comfortable bed and a good sized bathroom, which for me was a bonus. Highly recommended

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Savoy Park is beautiful. The staff are very friendly, helpful and professional. Would highly recommend staying here and will definitely be back next trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: