Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Saxon House

73 Fulford Road, York, YO10 4BD, United Kingdom

#69 of 84 B&Bs and Inns in York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 521 B&B reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite pricey for a Groupon. Very clean and comfortable though. Stayed at a 4 star hotel in London (Canary Wharf) 2 weeks before for half the price.

    Great location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was dirty no proper sink plug cold water came out of shower. No cooked breakfast although was built into price. Toast and cornflakes type available Noisy road at night.h

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.4
    Poor quality for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasnt shown to room Bedroom in need of TLC Water left in kettle Shower gel left in shower cubicle Toilet seat loose Poor breakfast

    Walking distance to town centre Large television

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    A lovely, clean cosy stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish it was a little closer to the town centre, it was walkable but an effort to get back to our room to drop of shopping and get back out again.

    really comfy bed and cosy warm well equipped room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    5.0
    highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Self serve breakfast which is good for children, location lovely walk along the river which takes you into the city centre. Parking which is a big priority for me. Owner was friendly and also let me park on his premises on the last day which is a big plus for me has parking in York is expensive. We stayed here last year hence why we came back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Lovely stay and a short walk into York centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was a bit loud, but it wasn't really an issue for us.

    Very clean and tidy room. Friendly staff. Good continental breakfast. Added bonus of free parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.8
    Not as expected .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this as part of a birthday treat for my partner. The room had damp patches. The water tank was in a cupboard in the room that made loud creaking noises. Every time you flushed the loo the noise was horrendous . The continental breakfast could of been better when you consider the price we paid. There were no berries,the only fresh fruit were apples,pears and bananas. There were no choice of juice, cereals stored in plastic tubs and not the best, prepacked choc/raisin croissants no plain. Flavoured cheap yogurts.

    The lady who booked us in

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.6
    Not what was expected!!
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was like concreate. I got up for breakfast to discover that the crumpets 4 breakfast were out of date as was the bread. The room was very dated. For £89 for our stay i feel its not a true reflection of what is advertised. Poor customer service if u cant check for quality and standards with your help yourself contental breakfast. (We had to find somewhere else!)

    Very close to the city centre / use of parking facilities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    4.2
    Wouldn't recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not cleaned except half hearted attempt after I enquired after 2nd night. Towels never changed. Room small, paid extra for standard ,would hate to see the small. Bathroom disgraceful. Would not recommend. Stayed during Ebor festival 4 nights. Will pay difference for decent next trip. Lesson learned!

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant despite wrong bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was advertised as a 4 poster bed, and was not, just a standard double. misleading and untruthful. that aside, everything else was good, and would recommend

    Comfortable bed and room was clean - no cooked Breakfast, but the continental selection was very good indeed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room, and guest house as a whole, needed some more TLC. The breakfast was poor quality.

    A pleasant stroll along the river into the centre of the city

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.4
    Lesson learned - Premier Inn next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no one to greet us at check-in. Instead, the print out of my booking - Complete with my name, address and telephone number - was cellotaped to the front door with the door code written on. Very secure, I'm sure! The room was tiny, the light in the en suite didn't work, the breakfast was frankly awful and the walls were thin, so we could hear our neighbour's television blaring until 11.30pm.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    The facility's in the room are good and everything was...
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility's in the room are good and everything was clean and tidy, we loved the location, Just a 5min walk down the side of the river Ouse into york.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location, car parking, nice walk along river into the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a gluten free breakfast when booking, didn't hear anything so assumed it would be provided. It wasn't. It's not difficult to provide one cereal that's gluten free (they had 6 different cereals, they just all contained wheat) and maybe a slice of bread per day (keep the rest in the freezer) or just tell me before arrival. Also, there was no information in the room about breakfast timings or location. As it was so hot, a fan in the room would have been nice as it was so noisy when the windows were open!

    Great location, car parking, nice walk along river into the centre, WiFi, nice ambience to the place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    YORK MID WEEK STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited room on the top floor landing and as door is fire door it shuts hard behind you and you have to be really careful you don't get knocked down stairs.

    Very hospitable, clean and comfortable. Excellent position for York City.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Fab location. Fab apartment. Don't miss out!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Luxury Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving.

    What's not to like?. It had everything we needed and more besides. Very comfortable. Great little food package included. 10/15 min lovely riverside walk into York one way and opposite way took us to York races in less than 1/2 an hour. Saves a fortune in taxis!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Our stay at the Saxon hotel was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay at the Saxon hotel was very nice. We was created by a happy face who was very welcoming. When we went up to our room to get ready to go out I was surprised how big it was. There was more then enough room for us a family of four. When we were heading off out to the town centre the owner give us advice on which way to go and im glad we took it as it was a admirable walk following the river into town. I would highly recommend this place to family and friend!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.0
    we took part in the Eboracum (York) Roman Festival 2018 all very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room was a little small but comfortable.

    The owner there was very helpful and friendly which is very important. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast for a change and happy to help ourselves. The bed was probably the most comfortable I have had at a b & b.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    A suntastic stay!! I would recommend to all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really, we know the room was a little on the small side, but we were only in it to sleep so not an issue

    bed comfy, continental breakfast self service great, host great, location fantastic and parking off street fantastic so overall it would be somewhere we would go to again. So close to the centre only 10 minute walk along the river.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty. I wiped over the remote and headboard with wipes and they were filthy. The light pull was disgusting, the walls were mouldy, the shower took ages to drain so you had to be quick and the grout was orange with mildew. There were only eggs on the first morning and the tables still had other residents breakfast dishes on.

    Walking distance to town. We were allowed to leave the car there after we checked out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    4.2
    Nothong
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not as advitised the room was small and o tired looking the breakfast was just a few cerials and toast witj a few section of yogurt. The shower needs seeng to as was dirty looking

    Nothong

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Saxon House weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy from outside at night. This was a weekend stay though.

    Great location, great facilities, great continental breakfast, great host. Easy to walk to the city. A Stones throw from the river. Very clean and tidy. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant stay in an ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv in our room was tiny and the water pressure wasn't very strong in the ensuite.

    The beds were lovely and comfy.The staff were very welcoming and provided all the information we needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    4.2
    Rubbish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For that amount of money £59 I could I've got Travelodge for 10 £15 more or even the same price most probably and everything would have been clean all in working order The Troubles would have been a lot bigger the towels in that place I don't think I could have dried my feet width they were that small all in all I didn't like the place no wonder they charging you £59 if you cancel if you want cheap tacky basically rubbish go there waste your money

    The best thing about that property was when he was time to leave

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Staff very helpful.very relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower cubicle a bit snug.but friends had the next room and their bathroom was huge,so borrowed theirs.other then that, nothing.

    Room was very comfortable.you didn't realise you was on a main road

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    2.9
    It's a business
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in our room was far from clean, the light in the bathroom over the basin did not work, and it was difficult to flush the toilet. The front door was locked using a mechanical code lock and a door handle which was extremely hard to grip and turn. I have some arthritis in my hands so found it impossible. Breakfast was help youself to cereals, bread and cold meat and cheese in the fridge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.8
    The location was great 10 min walk from centre
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Luxury Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in an apartment round the back the bathroom floor was very spongy and didn't feel safe the bedroom door didn't close, we were expecting b&b but it wasn't a full English as expected it was a loaf some yoghurt a packet of crumpets and cereal

    The location was great 10 min walk from centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.3
    Did the job but very underwhelming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only stayed two nights, so I wasn’t too bothered about fresh towels but no-one came to the room at all, not even to swap the mugs and cups for clean ones. The bathroom cups were already dirty when we arrived. The room was a little run down and there was only one working plug socket in the room, so the TV didn’t work and the kettle had to be moved to the bedside table where the working plug socket was. The breakfast was ok but cafetière’s would have been a nice touch. No-one was around for us to check-in, so we had to call the emergency number and then wait for someone to arrive. I think this B&B is overpriced for what you get, you’re basically just paying for the location. They could make small changes to make a big difference here.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Very nice b&b just a short walk from the centre of York.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some mould appearing around the top corners of the bathroom but nothing major.

    Very nice b&b just a short walk from the centre of York. Comfortable rooms. Staff were very friendly and helpful and even offered to give us a lift so we could attend a wedding!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Close to all attractions and amazing apartments
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved it! The only reason we can't give it a perfect 10.0 is because we never saw the staff until we left - our decision as we were always out and about - and (being in York) you had the usual "rough around the edges" cracks in walls and so forth.

    This place deserves a HUGE thumbs up. We had one of their apartments at the rear. It was as big as most houses down this way over three floors. Sean had made a huge effort with stocking the place with food items to make our stay comfortable form a bowl of fruit, bread (two types), crumpets, yoghurts, orange juice, milk, tea, coffee...more than we expected. It's so close to the anywhere you want to go in York and definitely deserves a look. We would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Close to city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for quality. Room a little run down. Had told them we were travelling with a baby and were put in a top floor room with 3 flights of stairs- maybe family rooms would be better lower down?

    Close to city centre. Self-serve breakfast relaxed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    The location is ideal as we did spend the full day in York...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The location is ideal as we did spend the full day in York it was an good base we are trying to book again but fully booked in October. You get what you pay for.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lights in bedroom, only half working. Not enough towels but were given extra as soon as we went to reception and asked. Bins in bedrooms would be helpful.

    Lovely apartment, free parking and not too far from centre of York.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    The Saxon Army.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean,comfortable,good area,pleasant easy going staff/owner. Stayed here numerous times,easy 10 min walk to centre along river or £4/5 in taxi. Prices reasonable for good standard rooms...👍

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    It was all good
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we thought the check out in other building (which we were given as there’s a leak in other room in Saxon) is just the same, my children didn’t noticed it’s 30 minutes earlier. My son said to me “we were kicked out” but he finds it funny anyway, they said sorry to the lady knocking on their door.

    comfy bed and location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    Simple but comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a cooked full English to be included but the breakfast still had lots of variety.

    Simple but comfy. Exactly what we were looking for for a short stay in York.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    We were upgraded to an apartment which was really nice ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were upgraded to an apartment which was really nice , clean and comfortable, The walk to the city centre and other places were as stated. It's in an excellent position with it's own car park. What more can you ask for?

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Very happy with this place, will be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfy bed, plenty of space, great location and an easy self-service breakfast with a decent range of items. Friendly host and a parking space, real bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.4
    Not happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cold the first morning as the heating hadnt come on and the water was barley warm but the guy explained there must have been a fault.i dont do cold at the minute.it wasnt worth the 70.00 a night sorry.

    I came here as i am just getting over a major op for cancer.i needed a break from it all.the staff were nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing about the property that we didn't like.

    Property was very clean, house was welcoming and well secured. Short walk away from the main tourist area of York and the breakfast was a great gesture. Manager was very nice, explained everything upon arrival but I unfortunately didn't get a chance to say goodbye before we had to leave.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    Saxon House February stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault.

    Very well presented. Could do with a slight decor update. Nowhere to include extra info so will write it here. My partner thought she had lost her phone so we presumed it was in the hotel. Telephoned them while we were out and the owner? Was more than happy to go out of his way to check if we had indeed left the phone in our room. Above and beyond service and highly recommended for a stay in York.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    wonderful city trip, staying at comfortable B&B, with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When calling the B&B after arrival we were told we could check in a whopping 4 hours earlier without extra charge. Since I was travelling with my 77-year-old father this gave us the chance to have a bit of a rest and a nice cup of tea before venturing into town. On the day of departure we could leave our suitcases at the B&B and pick them up late in the afternoon. The staff was very friendly and helpful, making us feel at home. The room was comfortable, the breakfast tasty, and all in all I'd say that this is absolutely value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.1
    Stay was very good weather was good what more is there to say
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight smell of damp in the apartment which which was tried to be covers with lots of air fresheners

    We were upgraded to an apartment which was good very clean and tidy with a good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.7
    The gentleman was very friendly and the over all cleanliness...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It said small double however the bed was 3/4 and the mattresses was very uncomfortable giving my partner and I a bad back ache on both nights. I am a frequent visitor to York as it’s my favourite City however I don’t think I’d stay at the same B&B again.

    The gentleman was very friendly and the over all cleanliness of the B&B was spot on.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    Stayed in apartment which was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom under other buildings kitchen so no lying in :)

    Stayed in apartment which was very good. We had a welcome order (our breakfast items) ready from when we checked in so was able to brew up and have some toast whilst perusing York guide and resting from long journey.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Lovely stay, the owner was really helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no dislikes really it was a good place to stay for a good night out.

    The bed was really comfy, there were no traffic noise and we had a lovely nights sleep. The breakfast had lots of choice for a continental one. Really well situated to walk into town. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    enjoyable with an affable and helpful host. Whats not to like for the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked it for the location - within walking distance of city centre. Also for the car parking. Pleasantly surprised at such a nice room for the price in a very expensive city. Breakfast was as advertised and therefore as we expected at this venue.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    We'd definitely visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The keeper is really kind and did everything to make our stay comfortable. There was a good selection of food at the breakfast so that everyone would find something. It might be a bit outside York, but it's definitely worth the walk along the river.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    4.6
    Very disappointing, poor value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor facilities in the room. Broken toilet seat. Very noisy plumbing that kept us awake. Red hot towel rail right next to toilet so we got burned whenever we moved. No staff to be seen when we left.

    There were a few options for breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    6.7
    Had a lovely stay in york. B&B in a good location but have stayed in better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was no 1 and it was quite basic. Not happy we had this room. The bathroom left a lot to be desired - not the best and was like walking into a wardrobe with a folding door. the shower needed a lot of grouting to be done and was fairly unpleasant. This room was the first one directly opposite the front door at the top of the first set of stairs and was quite drafty. Breakfast - would of been nice to have individual packs of butter rather than one tub of all where lots of crumbs were found. it was basic and not something i would select in future.

    Great location, just a short walk along the river to the city centre. Our welcome on arrival was very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyed our break. Lovely B+B. Friendly and helpful staff. 10 min walk from the centre of York.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was abit cold. Probably could do with a central heating upgrade ( new radiators etc).

    Loved the B+B as it is in a good location for getting into the centre of York. Nicely laid out and authentic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    5.4
    Lovely helpful owner/manager, but not value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed a little maintenance such as new light bulb in lamp, shower doors were wonky, and needed to pull out furniture and dust and vacuum behind furniture. Found the room overcrowded with furniture.

    Owner/manager was accommodating and informative.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    December at The Saxton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing to grumble about was the shower not really powerful or big enough but it still did the job .

    Got upgraded to apartment which was a real bonus. Nice clean tidy plenty for breakfast, will definitely use again 👍

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.9
    The Saxon digs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really to dislike only wife said it was a little cold in room when we returned back from night out

    It's location is close to town only 10mins walk, the house was so bright and clean, the room was just a nice size for our stay, breakfast was beautiful and filling a lot to choose from

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    6.7
    Convenient, value for money but chilly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a really cold day and someone had left window open so room was freezing and didn’t really warm up.

    Room was clean. Breakfast was fine. Got a friendly welcome. Location was ok.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    Good base for exploring York.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the 2bed apartment that is attached to the b&b which was excellent. The owner provided a whole host of breakfast things and was very helpful when we arrived.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    4.2
    Off road parking
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room heating or bedding could be more substantial, as room was generally cold at night(ok if you're visiting in the Summer months)

    Off road parking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.3
    It met our needs for a weekend and we would consider staying again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs refurbishment. There was quite a bit of mildew around the pipes and tiles.

    Accommodation was warm and friendly. The bed room was a good size as was the ensuite.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little noisey as we were facing the main road but that can be expected so wasn't a major issue the mattress was a little hard but comfortable carnt complain about anything major as it's a really nice place to stay.

    The room was clean and very nice the staff were very friendly.It is about a 10 minute walk into the town centre so nicely situated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    5.0
    The location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't realise that a "small double room" meant a small bed (4'), saggy in the middle. The room was very cold, even after the radiator was bled, which rather spoiled our stay.

    The location was good. Breakfast was "help yourself", plenty of cereals, bread, croissants, ham, cheese etc. and unlimited coffee/tea.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    4.2
    Great location within easy walk to city walls and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold and heater did not change even when thermostat altered. Had two night stay room not serviced. Beds were uncomfortable and very low to the floor. Breakfast not available until 8.30am and was very basic continental. Manager only seen at breakfast each day.

    Great location within easy walk to city walls and attractions like Clifford tower, onsite parking (free) which is very hard to find in York.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    5.0
    Hotel did the job for the weekend but wouldn't look to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms weren't cleaned and tea/coffee wasn't replenished each day. Noise from the street was quite loud which affected sleep each night.

    Although limited Was good to have private parking. Hotel is in a fairly good location for town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    4.6
    Location great for access to York and associated places to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Upon arrival bedroom bin had not been emptied from the prior occupants and only two towels provided for family of four. Text to manager - no reply. I had to call him that evening. Shower head was digusting (I had to clean it), extractor fan didn't work. Room faced on to main road - noisy.

    Location great for access to York and associated places to go.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Great little break away, would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If they offered a wider variety of breakfast food

    The bed was super comfy. The staff were so accommodating and friendly, felt very homely and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.3
    Very little variety at breakfast .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little variety at breakfast . Room lacked mirrors, just a very small one in bathroom. Room was very noisy due to being on a very busy main road and internal doors all squeaky.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Very nice. Would book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Saxon House is a lovely property with straight forward, clean facilities and friendly, helpful staff. It is less than 10 minutes walk into the centre of York and is in close proximity to The York Castle Museum. Would definitely book a return visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    Fit for purpose as 1 night stop on business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed could be a lot firmer

    Overall comfortable if room was a little smaller than photo suggested. Bed on the soft side for me. Parking fine and breakfast fine

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    6.7
    We thoroughly enjoyed it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main thing for us was that we were at the front of the house and it was very noisy with traffic first thing in the morning and also at night. The room we were in could also do with a bit of an update as bathroom was a bit shabby.

    Breakfast was really lovely as much as you wanted. We also liked the fact that it was very easy to walk into York city

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Wonderfully relaxing place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Lovely apartment, split on three levels. Up the first flight of stairs was a welcome pack of food, (milk, bread, yoghurt, jam, juice e.t.c.), awaiting us in the ample first floor kitchen adjoining a good sized lounge with a lovely bathroom on the same level. Top floor had comfy beds in quiet rooms. In an excellent location for walking into York along the riverside (20 mins to the centre).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.5
    the bedroom only had one bedside table had to use the floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bedroom only had one bedside table had to use the floor. the shower tray filled up with water felt like the bath was running. room very basic the wall was damp towels rock hard. no atmosphere at breakfast. light bulbs aweful made the room really dim.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.3
    Room was a little tired but adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't realise it was a help yourself to cold meats and cheese breakfast Plug in bathroom sink broken

    Free parking at back of property Room was clean Owner friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    5.4
    Cheap and cheerful, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got a small double and it was the tiniest, most uncomfortable bed i've ever stayed. Extremely small room for two and quite dated but had all necessary amenities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    York is very charming, and it can be explored on foot from Saxon House.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower in one room put out only a dribble, and some light bulbs were out, but all of this was cheerfully put aright the next day. Luckily, we had two rooms and the shower in one worked fine.

    Good location, friendly owner, tidy place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    5.0
    Worse place we have stayed .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny and tired.The owner had gone out when we arrived tea and coffee in the room was not replenished during the week I had to go to the kitchen and help myself.There was no easy chair to sit on for my husband while I had a nap before going out a d the bathroom door was hard to shut they would have been better with a sliding door , will not go back.

    I liked the breakfast as I didn't want a big fry up, but my husband missed it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Staff really friendly giving tips of best walking route into...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was nice but if they did hot breakfast would have been better

    Staff really friendly giving tips of best walking route into town by a nice canal

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: