Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sedgebrook Hall 4 stars

Pitsford Road, Northampton, NN6 8BD, United Kingdom

#9 of 15 hotels in Northampton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 645 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drinks at the hotel are WAY overpriced. £11.50 for a large Chardonnay. And they go up to £14:50. And the whole place just looks tired.

    It was in a great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room door mechanism was a bit ‘iffy’ but often can be the case with hotel rooms. There was a mix up on the room rate re breakfast and we were made to sit and wait whilst they confirmed it even though the staff were aware the system had a fault and in check in it was confirmed that breakfast was included. Being turned away and having to wait was a little embarrassing and not dealt with that well - staff seemed stress ( manager not the lovely new desk and wait staff)

    Comfy, nice gardens

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast set up: toaster, hot drinks and juices all together in a cramped corner, needed more milk readily available for the hot drinks especially on the Sunday morning. Needs more options for drinks from the bar, preferably cocktail menu.

    Beautiful gardens, quiet location which is just what we were looking for. Room was nicely decorated and comfortable. Food was enjoyable. Helpful staff both in the restaurant and on the reception (booked a taxi for us with no problem).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good for me!

    Beautiful surroundings, friendly staff, very accommodating. Great country pub with vintage railway and big garden and food 3 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the facilities within the rooms are beginning to look pretty tired. For example, the iron had a thick layer of caked-on burn which did not make ironing a shirt easy. The bathroom was reasonably clean if not spotless.

    The bed in the room was comfortable and the facilities offered by both the room and the hotel were very good. While I didn't use the pool or spa facilities or take advantage of any of the additional services, they all seemed to be of good quality. Breakfast buffet was tasty and had many options.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was dirty I had to clean the bath before using it as it had pubic hair in it from a previous guest as well as grime along the shower door (attached to bath). The pool was disgusting, it had bits of tissue in the water and obviously wasn't being maintained, the hotel has gone up massively in price and is not being maintained properly. Staff turned the lights off in the bar while guests were still there. Hotel is outdated with a very small TV with basic channels, the shower had very little pressure so took a long time to rinse shampoo out of my hair, shower head was also not height adjustable.

    Good location if you have a car, comfortable bed, car park on site. Hotel was quiet over night.extra pillows were available in the room as well as tea and coffee. Hotel bar wasn't too expensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit dark. Breakfast was a bit ordinary - inevitable with buffet style.

    Lovely setting and a good location for the wedding nearby that we were attending. Staff were friendly and very helpful. I had rung ahead to ask them to book a taxi and it all worked out really well. It was nice to have a swim after a long hot journey. We would have liked a spinner for our costumes so they were dry for next day. The room was nice and quiet even with a function and lots of guests. We had a good dinner in the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for a basic and dated room. Door handle so old and door so heavy nearly impossible to open it! Very think blanket/duvet on bes.

    Reception staff were friendly. Convenient as there for a wedding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms are a bit tired and the hotel is on so many levels that you are constantly up and down stairs

    very helpful reception staff good food at evening meal taken in restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar staff are very slow, rooms are small and in an extended part of the hotel. No lifts and a long walk from the bar etc.. Doors slamming give you a restless nights sleep, breakfast room was very hot, food wasn't! Scrambled eggs looked hideous, coffee from a machine and most items run out. Son's bath taps in room 212 wouldn't turn off and we had to call reception, luckily my husband fixed it before the room was flooded!

    House is beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a longish walk from the car park to reception, and then from reception to the room via a number of short stairways.

    The bed and pillows were extra comfortable. The breakfast was very good, with a wide choice of food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean seemed quite run down and In need of a refurb. Very hot no air con quite noisy with early morning deliveries Leisure facility's very outdated

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a bland corporate type hotel with a buffet breakfast which was a bit like a Rugby scrum

    We were only here for a very brief stay so no real experience of the whole place. There had been a wedding on and the receptionist did give a room away from the main festivities which was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed in the room, not a king size. The buffet cooked breakfast consisted of cheap, mediocre ingrdients left on hot plates too long and no cut fruit was provided. A bowl of bruised apples were all that was on offer either day.

    The location and quietness outside

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has recently changed hands (in the last 6 months) since then the hotel has steadily declined in a variety of ways. Service poor at breakfast. Wont be staying again - value for money is poor

    Quiet location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was awful, tesco value sausages fried eggs that were like eating plastic as well as the bacon, the hashbrowns was soaked in grease very poor, for a 4* hotel. The room was okay ive stayed in a double room and this time a superior room, cant really tell the difference other than the bed was comfy. Also when we woke up noticed a wasp nest outside the bedroom window, so we woke up with a room full of wasps.

    The bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    En suite could have done with being refurbished. The receptionist was quite unpleasant and unhelpful. For the price £100 per night B&B - I would expect the quality of the room to be better and the receptionist to smile and try and be helpful. Witnessed a lot of unpleasant and unhelpful manner towards a lot of guests. Made me feel uncomfortable.

    The room was nice & breakfast choice good, but kept trays kept running out of food and took a while to be replenished.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the building and the location. Its so peaceful at sedgebrook hall. The jacuzzi, pool and sauna is really nice. The bedrooms are nice, bed is comfy and had a great nights sleep. The wifi is fast too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The glass shower protector on the bath was loose and leaked water onto the floor. On arriving our room was far too hot.

    Breakfast was good. The hotel surrounds are lovely and peaceful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper-thin plasterboard walls, heard everything in the corridor. There was a wedding on and although we couldn’t hear the reception, we could hear everyone drunkenly returning to their rooms. Bathroom door is hard to shut without slamming, so everyone could hear everyone else opening and shutting bathroom doors Shower pressure non existent

    Comfy bed, clean rooms and great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are very clean but quite dated, especially the bathrooms. Long trek with luggage from car park to reception to then again to my room. Would have been nice to find a healthy option or two on the bar menu.

    Staff very friendly. Here for a seminar, lunchtime catering very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no activitys to do and I had to go to reception everytime I wanted a drink from the bar as no one was there to serve us, the holly suite room we payed for was freezing cold no hot water the bed caused me back pain and it was covered with ladybirds in the bedroom, I mean come on! The place felt like somebody had just died. No life in the place, horrible

    The food was nice but not worth the money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor. Cheap Sausages, hard bacon. Ran out of English breakfast tea. No milk on table, had to use milk from cereal section. Had to ask for glasses for fruit juice. Most of the staff were only youngsters (not their fault, just inexperienced).

    Attended a function where the food was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room facilities poor unable to use tea making as not accessible in the wardrobe which had sticking doors. Poor quality bathroom dated mouldy around bath taps. Breakfast was dreadful cold soggy scrambled eggs tasteless sausages. over cooked bacon..a real disappointment considering the reputation you have. I do not feel this was value for money.

    Venue surroundings friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building needs up dating, the wallpaper and deco of the whole place needs redoing as its peeling off, in the bathroom there are tiles which have mold, and bath panel had cracks in it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit tired, conference hall seating was a bit grubby, evening staff in the restaurant were awful - wrong meals cooked, waited for ages for the food to arrive, and when it came it was a bit dry and overcooked, wine expensive to buy but cheap and nasty. Very disappointing because previous visits have been much better.

    Location and parking good, very spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As a regular guest, the overall quality of this hotel has deteriorated noticeably over the past few weeks, including bathroom toiletries being replaced with virtually empty soap dispensers in the rooms. This week, fresh porridge has been replaced by instant porridge pots in the breakfast room, the buffet selection has become more limited (only three yogurts and very little choice of cereal) and there was no bread at all one morning due to a problem with deliveries (although there are several supermarkets within a short drive). Small matters perhaps, but for business travellers staying regularly they are not insignificant.

    Staff are lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bath was tiny

    Beautiful venue. Room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was nice however it was so nice a lot of things had ran out by the time we got to them, it was replaced quickly though so not too much waiting around. Served buffet style. Evening food was really nice too! Great portion sizes. We didn't use the spa facilities however we will definitely return for another stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Misserable staff when we eventually found any. Short staffed. breakfast on saturday was discusting . Very expensive for what we got £100 for 1 night 😣

    Lovely area saturday evening meal was really nice but very expensive for what you got sunday breakfast alot better but they had a wedding party so is this why it was better ?

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lighting in the bedroom was atrocious. Green stupidity wins over being able to see. The door key barely worked.

    The pool was nice but a bit small. The whole place was nice and airy and the bar was pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Due to extreme dangerous weather conditons I did not make it back to hotel on my last night of 3 nights due to snowing and snow blowing accross road, as a women travelling along I was scared so turned back and stayed in town to be safe. Hotel will not refund one night, quite dispicable really.

    Cleanliness, ladies cleaning rooms were excellent and very helpful. Room was nice and warm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The free wifi wasn't available. Staff tried to help but there had been problems with server so I wasn't able to use it!! Not good for a business traveller.

    Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor was really tired. No room service for breakfast and breakfast only until 10am on a Sunday. Tv was so old and tiny - really should be upgraded. Bathroom was small.

    Nice bar and atmosphere

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The grounds were beautiful but the building was like an old-aged home!

    Breakfast was nice, although a little late in the morning. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The up keep of the bathroom, ie grouting around and in the shower area was mouldy and falling out,also stained splashes on the back of the door were there for the whole of our stay,also room bins not emptied very dissapointed.

    What made our stay pleasant was the staff,they were very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was too hot and could not seem to turn heating off. Shower holder broken. Though did not report it as only there for two nights so hotel were not given chance to rectify the issues. Which i'm sure they would have done. However i would expect the cleaners to report any obvious damage in the rooms! No selection of real ales at the hotel bar so used the pub next door called Brampton Halt.

    Location was great, facilities good.Breakfast good. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    reception staff friendly but need more training i was told i couldnt leave a company credit card imprint so my staff could eat in the restaurant and bar as this facility was not working? then I asked again another member of staff who said I could?

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not very good, toilet handle broken, side of bath damaged, mouldy grouting in the tiles and damp coming across the ceiling in the bathroom. Expected a little more considering how not car everything else was

    Grounds looked great, food was good, inside the hote was nice -nd breakfast was fantastic

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't think there was enough thought in the bathrooms, no optional bubble bath and only one towel for the both of us. Couldn't locate the menu in the room but that wasn't the end of the world as a quick stroll to the bar fixed that.

    The staff couldn't do enough for us, being heavily pregnant too they were always on hand to help whenever I needed anything, especially when I accidentally locked myself out of our room with no shoes!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the restaurant service could have been much better - and the quality of the food was variable. Excellent steak but breakfast was lacking in variety and quality.

    comfortable with well-appointed rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of staff, means that you waited far too long at check-in (physically no one there for 15 minutes) and too long at the bar. Food average and beer warm. Overall over priced

    Handy location and clean hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the bathrooms are starting to look a little dated and could do with bringing into the modern era but that said it functions very well for all of your needs.

    As always there is a friendly welcome to this facility, it is always clean and the only issue that was had were flat batteries in the TV remote which was addressed in 5 minutes. Though not used this time next time (and there will be a next time) I will definitely make use of the pool & gym area available. The grounds which the building are set in are picturesque, great place to stay, well worth the money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not always a staff member behind the bar because they had to help in the restaurant as well.

    A nice old building with modern facilities. The pool area was great .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paperwalls, we could hear the ppl two rooms from us talking late night. It was really annoying. There was NO heating in out room also NO HOT WATER in the hand washing sink - you can't open it at all. In the middle of the winter it is not nice. Also there was a lot of hair in the bathroom with a good sized spider in the corner.

    Good sized room with comfortable beds. Amazing breakfast (just go before the last half an hour otherwise you'll miss a lot of yummy things). Can't comment the spa facilities as we haven't tried.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are very tired - the carpet in particular needs a deep clean (note - I was in a 'Superior Double'). TV is tiny for the room size with poor reception. Dead flies in the lamp shade. Bathroom was clean but had mildew stains (I would definitely have not risked a bath). Breakfast was appalling. Extremely poor value given that I paid over £100 for a 1 night stay.

    Evening meal in the restaurant was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy room.staff pleasant & good facilities

    Room was good liquid soap in bathroom. Safe/tea etc good poor tv reception. Could do with more hanging facility.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of drinks is quite high. Up and down stairs and long corridors. Took wrong turning more than once!

    Easy check in. Pleasant staff. Lovely big room. Adequate leisure facilities. Clean. Tidy. Great party night. Food good and there were several parties that night. Good breakfast. Lovely coffee. Overall I would definitely recommend Sedgebrook and hope our party is there next year

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is served from 7 a.m. An impressive range of hot and cold dishes are offered. We chose to eat shortly after 8 a.m. and by this time some of the food, though still piping hot in the silver bains-marie, was past its best.

    Arriving at dusk on a mid-December afternoon, we found the honey coloured local stone of the country house that forms the nucleus of the hotel to be warm, welcoming and far from gloomy. Equally welcoming were all the members of staff that we met. Most of the guest accommodation is in two annex buildings built in the grounds. Standard rooms, comfortable but unremarkable. Hot bar snacks were still being served at 10 p.m.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was dated and looked grubby, black and orange marks around bath. Phone was faded yellow and about 20 years old. Tv was analogue and I couldn’t even view it because the reception was so poor! Internet was terrible and kept dropping out

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like how there was a farm of ladybirds in the room and the marks on the wall, also part of the bed hanging off, and the bathroom was poor

    The swimming pool, and the bed was comfy although bed sheets were stained.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A conferance was on on sat and therefore restaurant very busy / noisy and service slow but mananger helen dealt with it well . Think bathrooms could be updated ! Shower curtains replaced by screen would be better.

    Beds v comfy and restaurant and bar lovely . Think the staff fab and very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was too soft. Felt like my husband and I were sleeping on different levels! Bit of a long walk to get to our room, especially with a bad foot, and there were quite a few stairs to negotiate even though you were on the one level, bit weird. If they had told us this at the outset I would have asked for a different room.

    Breakfast was good, plenty of it if you wished. Check in and out was good for us, although I do understand that we missed the queue, which was great. We were using the hotel as we were attending a party in a local village and only arrived at 6.30pm and left again next date at 11.00am, so we didn't get a chance to use the facilities, so cannot comment on those.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed for the second time in two weeks Friendly staff, great breakfast and a swim before work , also a bonus was being able to park my van in a well lite safe place Thanks to the manager , makes you sleep better knowing your vans not gonna get robbed overnight. Thanks to all the staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem was a noisy resident in nearby room who disturbed our sleep. But you can't fault the hotel for the other people who were staying there.

    Room was clean. Staff were friendly, beds comfortable, lovely breakfast. Hotel set in beautiful grounds.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Over the last year of visits, I have only been asked If I would like Tea or Coffee at breakfast twice. The breakfast service is very poor. Regardless of what time you arrive for breakfast the eggs always seem to have been sat for a long time. Evening staff in the restaurant or always very friendly which makes up for the food which is always poor! A lot of the TV's in most of the rooms are very dated and lack easily accessible programme guides.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking some distance from reception. Superior room price okay but quite small. Just seemed to have more furniture crammed in. Had previously heard hotel had good reputation but was rather underwhelmed. The accommodation, bars etc are all within 'modern' buildings and only reception it seemed within the old hall. Overall rather characterless. Probably good for a wedding but not so much for a romantic stay. Admittedly we were last down to breakfast but by that time the buffet was down to the last three sausages and everything was dried out and unappetising.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel refused to allow us to put our drinks and evening meal on our room. Even though they had our card details. This caused confusion, embarrassment and some ill feeling. This will make me think twice about staying here again.

    Staff were helpful at the registration.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extortionate prices in the bar! One pint of beer and a glass of wine nearly £17. Absolutely shocking!! We had a superior room so expected a king size bed, no, just a double. No idea what made the room superior, was pretty basic we thought. Also, might be an idea to work out a deal with a taxi company. £20 each way for a 6 mile journey.

    Lovely cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Weather

    On arrival the receptionist booked us in, there was a wedding going on in full flow so she ensured we were well away from this not to be disturbed. Rooms were spacious, clean and fully equipped with all the necessities. Will definitely be staying again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel, easy to find, nice grounds, great receptionist, good gym. Evening meal was good but breakfast was not. Rooms a little pokey and beer naff. However overall I rate this hotel. It has space and a nice relaxed atmosphere. Definitely more suited to a business client

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room, number 136, wasn't a fair representation of the photographs on the website. It was very basic and not at all what I was expecting. I didn't stay for breakfast.

    I stay in a lot of hotels and this one was very sub-standard

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole place seems to need a deep clean, everything from the carpets to the paintwork are tired, the bathroom had broken tiles filled in with silicone, and a big thick rim of moldy silicone around the bath. The furniture has glass tops which were very grubby underneath from spilt coffee etc. The food from the bar was a disgrace even the poor barmaid was embarrassed, thai curry absolutely oozing grease, never experienced anything like it. I cannot fault the staff at all they do a great job but I wouldn't choose to stay there again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like that although is a 4 star hotel the television was not getting great reception and therefore we could not enjoy a film on television. Also, it felt that the bar and the reception did not work together. We wanted to have some change and the receptionist send us to the bar where we can to wait 15 minutes to be served because there were other people as well there, only to find out that the barwoman was going back to receptionist for change.

    The staff were ok. The manager was lovely. The receptionists were not so friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired, run down dirty and noisy. Grounds and surroundings lovely, hotel very sadly lacking. Stayed in "superior double room" which if superior we would not like to see the normal room. Don't know who awarded this establishment 4 stars as it is not worth that rating. Photos and description on booking.com very misleading. Thought we would be staying in the main old hall but was in the accommodation block. Spa was ok, again run down and in need of refurbishment. Owing to state of room and spa we did not eat in hotel but went next door to the Brampton Halt for nice meal and drinks. Bar in hotel was expensive, my wife requested an lrish coffee but was told by reluctant bar lady no cream in kitchens so no coffee. She appeared to be more attentive to the loud business people drinking Stella than normal guests. Overall extremely dissatisfied and disappointed. Would we stay here again, NO! Would we accept discount or comp room.. Again No. Real shame as we were expecting so much more than what we found. This hotel is in no stretch of the imagination a 4 star hotel in anybodies book. Beware.

    Staff were really helpful and professional especially front desk and the young maintenance guy who was a star.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Doors as above.

    Everything about the hotel as SUPER but the doors could be padded as some of the other guests were rather noisy in closing their doors late at night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. It is worth noting that if you had any walking difficulties then some of the areas are a bit inaccessible, needing steps to get to. We are fortunately not requiring easier access but is something we look out for

    Lovely setting and comfortable room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall this is a comfortable hotel for one or two nights but getting a little tired. For example we were pleased that there was a bath with a shower over BUT with a shower curtain that constantly wrapped itself around you. Heating also seemed a bit hit and miss BUT at least there was an opening window

    We were comfortable enough and it was in a lovely location and convenient for Northampton. The breakfast was excellent. The bonus was a bath and shower!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was buffet style and was greasy and tasteless. Glad we didnt eat in the restaurant if breakfast was anything to go by!

    Functional hotel with everything we needed for an overnight stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I wanted to stay in a new build travel lodge looking building then I would have booked that Misleadeding room location for sure £109 you would expect to stay in the main part of the hall!! Certainly wouldn't book again Noisy rooms Had to ask staff to quieten idiots down

    Pleasant location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very disappointed with Sedgebrook Hall, such a lovely place but room let it down and was definitely not worth the money we paid for it. Furniture and wallpaper very dated and dark, net curtains could have done with a wash. Breakfast was a bit of a bun fight with some extremely rude occupants, although the girl who was manning the door was very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First, that in the check in they tried to charge me a different rate than what I was previously booked. Regarding the room, the poor light level in the room, and the cleanness of the bathroom (specifically the shower area).

    Have chance to enjoy of the spa facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is not the secluded manor it's made out to be: what you don't see in any of the pictures is that there is a large, more modern complex of rooms. The room we were in looked nothing like any of the ones on booking.com and overall I don't think this represented value for money

    Restaurant was excellent. Staff were great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar quiet on a Friday evening so closed earlier when we had driven a couple of hours to relax. Double bed v uncomfortable and it felt like a travel lodge and not like the photo depicting an old characteristic hotel so misleading

    Beeakfast good and powerful shower

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is more down to booking.com rather than the place. The pics of the room you book are never the ones you get, which by now is quite frustrating. The room was nothing like the picture as selected and the process makes it look as if your staying in the hall, when you stay in a boring modern extension. Time to try hotels.com.

    The place itself is beautiful and the main lawn a the back, was full of rabbits playing. The main hall is wonderful. The buffet breakfast was very good and the staff at reception and restaurant were very good. Didn’t get chance to use the pool or gym as I would normally, so I cannot day how good these facilities were.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The car park is a long way from the reception, especially if you have heavy bags. A sign to indicate that you can drive to the front door to drop off bags would be helpful, particularly for older travelers.

    The staff were exceptionally good; genuinely friendly, helpful and professional. The buffet breakfasts provided a wide variety of choice, all freshly cooked and well presented. Staff were on hand at all times to guide and assist. Sunday breakfast was a full house but the staff worked hard to successfully manage the demand. The room was very comfortable and provided all we needed.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: