Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sefton Express Hotel 3 stars

Ronaldsway Airport, Ballasalla, Ballasalla, IM9 2SE, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Ballasalla

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 424 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Paid WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Enjoyable stay with friendly staff who did everything to make our stay a good one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like the experience was fabulous.

    All you can eat buffet style continental breakfast, rooms were small but clean and comfortable, shower was nice and hot, quiet at night so got a good night of sleep, ready for the next day. Plenty of literature on the Isle of Man, but didn't find an Island Map so bought one locally. Can recommend this hotel as a good starting point for exploring the island. Extremely good value for money when compared to other hotels.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable and will probably be back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exterior of building could do with a freshen up. However the very friendly and cheerful staff more than made up for it.

    Room was comfortable and breakfasts were very good and continental style. Plenty to eat.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    6.7
    I didn't try them but they must have been good for we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The lack of space to even have had a second chair after all it is double/twin bedroom. One person has to sit on a bed. The room I considered to be very small with very little room to move around the beds along with small amounts of draw and hanging space. Considering where it was built ground space not a problem the rooms should have been built larger .

    I didn't try them but they must have been good for we saw a few person's have four each at times. The Chicken Tekia was especially good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Handy location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The tea at breakfast, really you could only get hot water - not boiling so couldn't make a decent cup of tea for breakfast. Easy to fix just provide a kettle.

    Comfy bed - efficient shower. Good location handy for bus, train and plane.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    The staff were very friendly and the hotel is in a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are a little small. The buffet breakfast is adequate but the dinner facilities are not great.

    The staff were very friendly and the hotel is in a great location for airport accessibility.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    I booked it for its proximity to the airport.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular, it met my expectations.

    I booked it for its proximity to the airport. I had an early flight on the morning that I left. 20 minutes after leaving the hotel I was checked in and sat in the departure lounge . The walk between the hotel and the airport took 5 of those minutes.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.9
    Closest Hotel to the airport.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seems odd charging £5 for internet, this is a basic amenity at all hotels at this price range. Its really strange breakfast is included at the price but not internet.

    The beds are comfortable and the showers high pressure.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.7
    Sefton Express
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor continental breakfast. Cheese and ham. Toast etc. Evening meal choice very limited. Only bottled beers.

    Modern building, handy for airport but nothing else around

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    very good rooms and wifi only £5 for has long has you stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    could be a better choice of snacks later in the day.

    very good rooms and wifi only £5 for has long has you stay. Very near airport and all the buses leave from there.This is my second stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Ideal base for visiting IOM. Clean, friendly hotel in nice quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom smelt a bit damp but fan not working so probably that! Zip together double bed!

    Lots of choice at breakfast. They sold Brown Ale in reception!! Great car park in quiet location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Friendly and welcoming staff who would go out of their way to help you, made our stay fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    To be honest, the most disappointing thing about the hotel was the exterior. The hotel and surrounding car parks or grounds didn't have much to make you want to take a photograph to remember your stay by. That being said, if that was the only thing I didn't like, then it is worth using this hotel for at least part of your trip.

    Excellent location, just outside of Castletown. A bit dubious at first when details called it the Airport Hotel, I thought it would be noisy with the comings and goings of planes, but I was proved wrong. It is a quiet hotel, despite being near to the airport, the main aircraft being small business jets or turboprops. My mam and I used this hotel as our base and we managed to see quite a bit of the island during our week there. The staff were fantastic, very friendly and very helpful. They told us where to get items and where we would get the best price. The staff were also very understanding of my mam's disability and dementia. The hotel had easy wheelchair access so we had no problems getting to our rooms, there was a lift, had we been on the upper floor. I would definitely use the hotel again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant stay that was good value and would certainly use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointing that very limited evening meals available immediately after the end of the TT but help was given to find the nearest nice pubs. Bedroom size small but adequate.

    No stairs to climb to our room. Cold breakfast buffet available from 6 am useful. Very close by parking. Very good location for airport & area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    My stay in the Isle of Man
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Continental style breakfast

    Everything, staff were amazing,it was a 10 minute walk from King Williams college Chapel where my nephew got married,a 13 minute walk to where my sister lives and a 15 minute walk to an amazing beach and the sea. Or, if your lazy, a 3 minute drive to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Sefton Express Ticks all the Boxes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    not much of a view from the room - a hedge but we could live with that.

    Very comfortable bed, plenty of parking, nice shower, Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    comfy and value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was a little small with not much room at the end of the bed

    good facilities for the price of the room - better and cheaper than premier inns where i normally stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.8
    Not to bad.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small with no aircon or fans. We was disappointed with the food menu.

    The beds was reasonably comfortable. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    Good base for exploring the island but cleaning schedule needs review.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although bathroom and bed itself were acceptably clean, the bedroom carpet needed a good Hoover/deep clean, there was mould around the shower and the bathroom door had some undefinable stains . The bedroom carpet had animal ( cat/dog) hair on it which transferred to our canvas covered suitcases when they were put on the floor. Hallway carpet stained and needed a deep clean.

    Very convenient to the airport but no problems with airplane noise. Also convenient to bus stops for the excellent island bus network. Able to leave cases alongside reception prior to and post check in - but not secure. Breakfast was standard continental selection but it was a shame that only processed sliced bread was available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    It is a basic but adequate airport hotel and the car parking is a great feature.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Used towels left on desk chair although hidden and probably forgotten, and could write name in the dust on the telephone.

    Comfortable beds, reception very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cramped bedroom. Receptionist popping into a room to microwave jacket potatoes that were dry and tasteless.managed to change hotels could not have stayed there more than one night. Thought it would be in the town not on an industrial estate.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Great staff, value for money and good location for business travelers.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could have been bit more specious and wish there was fitness facilities available at this property.

    Staff at this hotel is extremely helpful, polite and attentive. Special thanks to David who dropped me off to work in his car when I couldn't book last minute taxi. This was above and beyond my expectations. I will be staying there again soon. Thanks, well done and keep it up!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    We'd probably use it again but it's a bit expensive at £70/night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The amenities were a bit sparse. There is no toilet available if you're sitting in the lounge/reception enjoying a drink. The bar is a fridge which although well stocked is not available after 10:30.

    Very convenient for the airport, comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location,comfy bed,relaxed atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Despite putting our towels and bath mat back on the towel rails we found they were still changed when they didn't need to be. We only had tea tray biscuits on our first day,is this the norm??!!

    Breakfast had a better and more varied selection than expected.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.5
    Friendly and convenient for flyers
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ventilation was not easy and room was rather stuffy at night. Hot water failed over first night, unhappy experience in the shower! Happily all back on next day

    Room was clean, comfortable and well stocked for tea/coffee making. Beds were comfortable and TV worked easily. All staff were very helpful and friendly, just right.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    The weather was awful, but the hotel made up for that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The lighting in the room was not conducive to reading or needlework. The evening menu was limited. The breakfast menu was the same everyday with little choice.

    Warm welcome on arrival. Nothing too much trouble for the staff Plenty of leaflets and information in the foyer to help you get the best from your holiday. Able to leave luggage after checkout until time to catch our plane. Food cooked to order and served promptly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    5.4
    Not a place I would stay again. These are both my wife and mine comments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was too big for the room and very uncomfortable. The duvet was heavy like having a door on the bed and the pillows like bricks. The light was out over the table. The tea tray/contraption took up the whole table so one had to move things before making tea.

    Breakfast was a bit chaotic but good. Reception staff, the ladies, were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable, convenient and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t receive a reply to an email I sent with a query. It was sent via booking.com so I can’t be sure it was ever received by the hotel.

    Excellent value and location for getting to the airport. Also being able to leave my car there for the time away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was so-so.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. I also liked to be able to walk from the airport to the hotel without depending on taxis etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Excellent stay overall
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room felt a bit cold despite heating on, even with the extra blanket provided. The bed was huge so there is very little room around it, a couple might have struggled for space to move.

    The reception lady was lovely despite me turning up quite late in the evening. The bed was super king size, the room had everything in it including iron, ironing board, and hair dryer. Wifi was readily available. Bathroom even had little soap bottles! Breakfast included was buffet of cold meats, toast, cereals including gluten free, and juice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.3
    We both enjoyed our stay and ,so long as the terms remain reasonable , we shall come again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We felt the need of another chair as sitting on the bed is not comfortable for us at 88/89 yrs. of age.

    Breakfast was excellent and parking very convenient but it was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff that impressed us most .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.9
    Great for an overnight stay and close to the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt get breakfast as we had to catch our flight. No staff around until breakfast which started at 7am. The shower had black mould on the sealant and pink bacteria on the tiles.

    The room was really warm and the bed was comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Friendly, very comfortable and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to leave!

    The beds are so comfortable and HUGE! Staff are always friendly and share some great tips and local knowledge, especially from Wendi. This is our third stay at this hotel, it’s location is a great central place to get around the island and on-site free parking is a great bonus, with plenty of spaces. We’ll definitely be back!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.8
    lovely stay which could have been excellent with a little effort.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above. Also free wi fi would have been nice, but a breakfast would have been nicer.

    booked hotel for early morning flight, disappointed that continental breakfast was not available for guests who had early flights, . fruit and cornflakes not as nice as meat cheese and croissants, how hard can it be??????

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay and will return
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps a little more room alongside the bed near the window/radiator

    Very closeto the Airport. Meals available during day. Competent and friendly staff. Very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.1
    All up to the usual standards.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfasts are fine, but the evening menu is poor with much of the limited dishes on offer spicy, which isn't to everyone's taste. Picky I know, but one packet of biscuits each for a three day stay is a little penny-pinching, the tea and coffee is refreshed daily, why not the biscuits.

    Rooms are comfortable, clean and well laid out. The location is central and easily accessible. The staff are great, welcoming, friendly and always willing to help if required.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    8.8
    Clean and very friendly helpful staff but rooms feel a bit dated.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The choice of breakfast was quite basic no porridge or cook food which was quite suprising in a modern hotel The hotel feels quite dated in the rooms with old feel furniture

    The staff where very friendly and helpful at all times and couldn’t have done for you. The bed was quite comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    The hotel was good value for money and had many plus points. We shall be staying there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The plug in the washbasin was difficult to operate. It constantly stuck in the closed position. 2. The biscuits in the room were not replenished after the first evening.

    The location was excellent, the hotel clean, and the staff extremely helpful in all situations. Breakfast was good and the room well equipped.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel with excellent staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good well located hotel for what I wanted. Staff were great. In truth the hotel needs updating throughout but it is clean, tidy and comfortable. For 1 or 2 nights it is fine.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Very convenient location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is simple, but perhaps all you need for a busy day ahead.

    The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. Location is great for the airport (6mins on foot) and Castletown is a 15-min stroll. The room was spacious and well equipped. The airport has good bus connection to most important places on the island.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    If I fly I will certainly come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Welcoming, helpful receptionist. Everything I needed was there. Rooms were very quiet and convenient to the reception. Easy walking distance to the airport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    6.3
    Close to airport, that said all the positive I can say about it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Turn the heating on, have hot water for the guests to have a shower, light breakfast was light on food. Evening bat meals were very, limited, almost limited to microwave food only. I ended up ordering in and having the food delivered to hotel.

    Room was cold, the heating was not on. No hot water for a shower at 10am. The light contenentinal breakfast was light, light on food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else on the island on future trips.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Perfect location for our visit to our daughter's in Castletown. Continental breakfast was very good. Hair dryer in the room was a full size and powerful. Room was clean and well equipped. All of the staff were lovely, very polite and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.9
    Free breakfast was available before 6am so could have it...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive - no reduced rate for single occupancy. Wifi was extra.There was a toaster but no bread at 5.45am breakfast. Hotel was hard to find on foot in the dark due to lack of signposting - it was even hard to find the way back to the airport on foot in the dark due to lack of signs and apparent lack of footpath. Would have preferrred lower standard & star rating in return for lower price

    Free breakfast was available before 6am so could have it before rushing out to catch early flight. Room & bathroom were clean & well-equipped. Location within easy walking distance from & to airport

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.9
    the Hotel is easy to stay in, comfortable,clean, quiet. Thank you.Pity about the wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is very unreasonable that Wifi is £5. It seems to be free everywhere else.

    The beds were very comfy. On the second morning the croissants were very good, the first morning they were like rubber. Good showers, plenty of hot water.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.3
    Welcome to the Isle of Man
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast very limited, paid wifi somewhat 2000's and only 2MB/s

    Very friendly - guest-house feel in a hotel. Receptionist booked me a taxi and very friendly. Will not hesitate to stop again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Excellent location, price and the most welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That I could not stay longer!

    The best thing about this property is the staff. Nothing and I mean nothing is too much trouble. It's location is also superb just across the road from the Airport (noise is not a problem), it's also a short walk to Castletown the old capital of the Isle of Man. Public transport is a short walk away and if you don't want to go out there is a small menu of very tasty food to enjoy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.3
    Express hotel close to the airport (walking distance).
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was charged - I didn't think anyone did this these days! Limited food choice, though takeaway menus are available. Rather too many laminated notices around the place - a bit "Blackpool landlady".

    Very convenient for the airport. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    good stay for me.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have noticed that some hotels are making a double bed by pushing two single beds together. This means two different mattresses and a ridge in the middle. This was the case here and while I slept reasonably well it was a case of choosing which mattress to sleep on. A double bedroom should be a proper double bed.

    Free wi fi. A 4 minute walk from the airport. Good beer. Shower was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Solid option close to airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not close to any facilities such as pubs, restaurants, etc.. You need a car or taxi to get anywhere. Breakfast was very "ordinary". Charging extra for wifi is very 1990s.

    Convenient location a few minutes' walk from the airport. Very friendly and helpful staff. Decent value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.5
    Was ideal for what we wanted, but would not be appropriate if you were on holiday on the island.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dining area a little bland and cold feeling. Although quite a modern building the place seemed a little tired. Room quite small, not much space between the bed and the window wall. Surprisingly quiet, considering it is so close to the airport.

    Excellent friendly service and advice from Wendi on Reception, went the extra mile to facilitate our requests. Very convenient position near the airport - a 5 minute walk from the arrival /departure terminal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.3
    Stop off hotel as opposed to long term stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little sterile and lacks character,however it serves a purpose and is ideally located for Airport and bus services.

    Comfortable bed.Excellent power shower. Quiet location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    6.3
    Very Disappointed with customer service other than the maid service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Receptionist refused to put phone calls through to my room from my husband who was calling from the USA in the middle of a hurrican, he was told by recepionist "i cannot put you through because of data protection" that was a load of rubbish, then next time he phoned later that day the phone call was put through to the room but all i could hear was pot and pans clattering from the kitchen which was what my husband could hear too, so they had not transfeered the call correctly, after 10 minutes i hung up the phone line, this was very expensive due to my husband phoning from Florida, the phone lines from my rooom did not call an outside line to allow me to phone my Son who lives on the island. When i phoned down to reception they told me it worked, again no phones worked. in the end i asked my son to purchase me a manx pay as you go so i could accept phone calls, for international calling, (please note my USA cell provider was Verizon which does not work in the UK or Isle of Man) all guests stopping at the hotel require a phone line that works, they should not be advertising these services if the phone lines do not work correctly this is misrepresentation to customers booking to stop at this hotel, and was very inconvienient to me as an international traveler to the Isle of Man. I feel the staff need to learn some phone etiquette to support customer needs. No customer service was given to support my needs, i was just told 3 times the phones worked, which they did not work for the full week i stopped at the sefton hotel. As if that wasnt enough i had to listen to 2 hours of constant banging in the bedroom next door while workmen repaired a leak and had to lift floor tiles which sounded like they were banging in the room with me, i fully understand repairs need carried out however it would have been nice to have been informed, as an international guests i was jet lagged and again inconvienienced with load banging for 2 hrs.

    The maid service was excellent, clean towels daily, room cleaned daily, girls were very helpful. Plenty of tea, coffee, milk left daily to make drinks. room was very clean on arrival and cleaned daily, cannot fault these 2 staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.1
    Amanda very friendly definitely an asset to the group nothing seems to phase her
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bit pricey compared to say premier of travelodge but okay for the number of short trips we take each year.

    Staff excellent but only left biccies for first night two days without any

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    If you need to be close to the airport its the one for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is 10 years old and just slightly tired. This is an observation not a complaint. Charging for wifi is like staying at a Ryan Air Hotel if there was such a thing. Breakfast was of a certain era and is noted in the context of the price which was fair.

    Exceptional welcome (by all members of the Hotel) and no nonsense early check in (we were cycling so it really helped). Superb location close to the airport (and bus stop).Reception had lots of helpful tips for our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.7
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad and pillows hard. Room too small. We found it very cramped for 5 days. No laundry facilities.

    Accessibility great. 5min walk to airport. 10mins walk to train station Plenty car parking and away from city congestion. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Great staff, very accommodating, friendly.Well worth staying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing is the bedrooms were not hoovered during the day at all. Staff again great but the bathrooms were definitely not brushed or hoovered.

    breakfast was fine. The yogurts run out :( one day. Staff work hard making sure customers are happy. They are very friendly and we would be happy to revisit. They were great accommodating dad due to being disabled they asked if we wanted to change room, very helpful staff. Well worth staying.Thank you guys.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    The property was close to the airport & the buses where...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike as far as I am concerned.

    The property was close to the airport & the buses where every 20 minutes which where ideal for me travelling the island for my marshalling duties during the classic TT & Manx GP. It was a peaceful location & I slept well. All the staff where friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.3
    Enjoyed the stay, hopefully the comments can be rectified
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room dated. Lots of dust behind radiator (when removing towel from drying) Bathroom smelt - damp, not sure fan was working. Bed springs could be felt.

    Ideal for what we wanted

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was far too hard for my liking so didn't sleep as well as normal

    Staff friendly and helpful, clean & very convenient to airport and bus stop (and railway station at Ballasalla) and overall very good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.9
    Easy access to Castletown for a nice meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe some different fruits/nuts for breakfast and maybe fresh bread or rolls as an alternative to toast.

    Friendly staff. Very helpful housekeeper when we needed help with our vehicle.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.9
    Our stay at the Sefton suited us and we would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building could do with a spruce up. I know it isn't that old but there is peelin paintwork and some of the double glazing has misted up.

    There was a buffet breakfast provided but as there was no proper restaurant you could ring for take-away food to eat either at tables in the reception area or in your room. The reception staff provided plates and cutlery and when they saw us come in with a bottle of wine they provided wine glasses. This suited us very well as we didn't want to be held to a meal schedule.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Another brief stay in the Isle of Man
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is ideal for travelling west to Port Erin, East to Douglas or north to Peel. Good public transport. At airport, but no night flights for noise. Staff v friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic Hotel. Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Fantastic Beds, Excellent rooms. Really good breakfast. All the staff are very welcoming and Friendly. I highly recommend this hotel. Great Airport location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice for a couple of nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small size of the bedrooms. The carpet of the corridor was dirty. Very normal matress

    Bedrooms very clean. Frieny staff. Very close to the airport. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.5
    Location near the airport (walk 3 min), also very close to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to pay an extra 5GBP for the use of WIFI

    Location near the airport (walk 3 min), also very close to King William's College. To Castletown approx 15min walk. Otherwise very functional and simple.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.8
    Good value for money and great location for visiting the south of the island. Comfy beds and great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have been better if there were some other sweet pastries besides the croissants.

    Beds were comfy and rooms very clean. Staff really nice and welcoming. Food simple but good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.9
    Warm welcome staff excellent and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it is right across from the airport there is nothing else. You have to get the bus or hire a car. Had to travel for evening meals

    Good welcome, stFf so accommodating

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.7
    The travelling 3
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough room downstairs to sit comfortably ,Ie more comfy settees , so I didn't feel I would like to come down stairs to play games etc.

    It was clean , and the staff was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay in a quiet location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small lounge area needed to update the furniture and replace the uncomfortable settees.

    Small double room very comfortable with all the necessary facilities, very clean. Change of towels every day. All the staff were friendly and very accommodating and attentive to our needs nothing was too much for them. Excellent walk-in shower. Breakfast good, continental style, other meals served and cooked throughout the day till 9pm.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    Good airport stopover hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Menu rather restricted. An airport shuttle service would have been great as even though a short walk I got soaked in the pouring rain.

    Fine for an airport stopover. Basic, clean and comfortable. Nice fluffy towels.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.2
    Great friendly, budget friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good 15 min walk to nearest pub

    Clean friendly hotel, just down the road from the airport (within walking distance) public transport from outside airport, did some food and sold some alcohol, staff really friendly and helpful, safe in room, coffee making facilities

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Just what the doctor ordered in a peaceful surrounding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A slightly bigger food menu but this is just being trivial

    Very comfy pleasant staff very helpful and a nice food what more could you ask for the price and location Easy walking distance to Castletown and by car access to all major routes

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable but way out of Douglas
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was too far really from Douglas with a 27 minute bus ride and buses not always running to schedule

    It was comfortable and well presented. Provided lots of daily information on the TT events. Food was nice albeit cooked to order by reception staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    we had little time to eat at the hotel, so we just BAGGED ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    AND!!!!! what a " comphy "nite's sleep!!! Can't thank you enough!!!Best PLACE TO SPEND THE LAST NIGHT beforereturning "Home to US.!

    we had little time to eat at the hotel, so we just BAGGED , bit of fruit, cereal, and "other" goodies, left for the Ferry and made it on time - ate on board, lovely, so thank you for having it ready for us at 4:45 am in the morning!!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.2
    Excellent for short trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very good, staff excellent meal choice at night cheap and cheerful.

    Excellent value, poor breakfast choice, bad location but extremely near airport.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    Highly functional and more than adequate accommodations for the budget traveler on the go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of...it is budget, so the room was small. But that was expected.

    Staff exceedingly friendly and helpful...directed me to island 'go card' which made my travel via the local public transit, readily available with the short stroll to the bus/taxi stand at the airport. Location, location, location, for the budget traveler.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: