Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Serendipity House 4 stars

26 Marlborough Street, Derry Londonderry, BT48 9AY, United Kingdom

#21 of 29 B&Bs and Inns in Derry Londonderry

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 643 B&B reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Property was a 10/15 min walk from the centre which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would of preferred to pay at check in rather than after breakfast.

    Property was a 10/15 min walk from the centre which was perfect for us girls for shopping and night life. Loved how the breakfast was continental so you had a choice of hot food I.e sausages, etc and your breads, cereal etc. Staff was lovely at breakfast enjoyed the self service check in.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    Adequate accommodation fairly well sited but weak bathroom facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt vulnerable in case of fire..Had a separate bathroom with a dangerously tiled floor especially by the door

    Comfortable room and excellent breakfastAde

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    4.2
    We got through it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location and parking, i.e., the lack thereof. Also hard to find a way to drive away since the streets were one-way. Direction given led astray. Really glad it was Sunday am with little traffic. Not having person present at check-in didn't give positive initial impression.

    Roof didn't leak.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely clean rooms, beautifully decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I disliked really. I didn’t see the hostess until the morning, so I guess it wasn’t as personable as other places I stayed the same week, however I found nothing wrong with this and the privacy felt nice.

    Lovely clean rooms, beautifully decorated. Lots of details thought Of such as dressing gowns, TV, WiFi, towels. Check in was easy as keys were put in a lock box which meant not worrying about time checking in. Located a bit of a walk into town but easily walked.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.4
    The B&B was fine but i wouldn't recommend it.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was there alone and yet i was goven a room with 2 single beds. ??? The bed was very uncomfortable. The telly in my room didnt work. I didnt have an ensuite bathroom and the external bathroom i did have was too small, i hit my head off the ceiling trying to have a shower which had very little cold water.

    The view from the breakfast room was excellent. I could see almost all of Derry

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.1
    Nice building, good decor, breakfast could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked part of the breakfast was pre-made and kept warm, sausages were like hot dogs. Check in was via a key safe which was trouble free but very impersonal. The bed was a bit too long for the room and the sink in the bathroom was tiny.

    Nice building in a quiet street, nicely decorated room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    First of all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cash payment is preferred by the proprietors.

    First of all... read the email you get from the proprietors regarding the check in. It's a bit 'tricky' to get the key, however it's not too complicated either. The room was large enough, but the bathroom could use a makeover. The breakfast was large and the coffee was OK.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    quite good room in a quite good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room and bathroom are tiny - barely a place to put suitcase. It took 4 days to get an invoice (and 3 emails) + they promised to put the amount in EUR (as paid) but did in GBP...

    quite good room in a quite good location. very nice breakfast. perfect for one night

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately no information on town, no maps available Didn’t see or hear from staff until breakfast and payment Room had open window to hallway and light was shiny through the entire night

    Great location Able to check in at anytime

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.3
    Had street parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was too small - couldn’t swing a cat. Payment at checking out inconsistent with all my booking.com bookings. Very noisy at night with helicopter overhead throughout the night.

    Had street parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Great place to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toom was not too big, but this is not a problem.

    The staff were professionsl and very kind, everything went smoothly. The room was clean and tge breskfast was very hood. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant and comfortable stay in a fascinating location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Letting yourself in on arrival is a bit of an unusual experience. We needed some guidance because we had not been able to pick up the appropriate email.

    The view over the city walls from our room was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    Walking distance of the city centre, a lovely park nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had a private bathroom across the corridor, which we knew about, but in retrospect it was a bit of a nuisance having to use keys each time.

    Walking distance of the city centre, a lovely park nearby. Good Information Book with restaurants suggested. We went to 'Browns in Town' and it was excellent. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable, friendly place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers a little small, but we made it work.

    Very comfortable beds and rooms. Perfect location to get to the Wall. Friendly staff, yummy breakfast. Family friendly!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast staff was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Owner sent us an e-mail with code to get in which we were not expecting and did not get and was upset that he had to get the keys for us. This made the visit uncomfortable. Stairs up three flights with carpet on the stairs that was so thick and made you think you could fall to easy. Tiny bathroom.

    Breakfast staff was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing stay as others had written glowing reports.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were on the 4th floor - no lift! The en-suite was very tiny as was the bedroom. We requested a quiet room but were disturbed frequently by other occupants. The hotel is on a steep hill which is fine going into town but needed a taxi coming back. The pictures did not represent the size of our room.

    Very little.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice B&B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice B&B. When we arrived there was a keybox outside the door where you had to punch in a code. That code is send to your e-mail 2 days before your arrival. Their are no lifts as is to be expected. Our room was 3 stairs up. The B&B is very nicely decorated. Modern sophisticated. Our room was small but functional. Very comfortable beds. The curtain is behind a little sidetable which makes it a bit hard to close. The bathroom for our room is private but separated. That is not a problem. The breakfast is very divers with cereal/fresh fruit/ egg/ toast and more. Situation is reasonable. Above the city centre. about a 10 minute walk. (return is uphill/ taxi is cheap). Beautifull view of Derry centre from the breakfast room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.3
    Check somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We hated the self check in process. I think they should have a person on the premises. The room was too small for two people. It would have been ok for one person only.

    We loved the breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Our attic room was beautifully decorated with modern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double bed slightly small and many stairs to the room - take little luggage. Also self check in so check your email for instructions before you arrive.

    Our attic room was beautifully decorated with modern fittings and bathroom . 10 min walk to Derry city walls and 5 min walk to Free Derry Corner. Ample street parking. I would recommend - great value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.1
    Good place to stay, lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had no hot water in the morning so couldn't have a shower. The location is up hill from the centre but not too far to walk

    lovely clean place, breakfast was good. didn't see anyone at check in but a very friendly lady served our breakfast had a great evening in the town centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small but the bathroom was even smaller. Comfortable bed.

    Our room was at the back of the house which made it very quiet. The view was of the old walled city. Excellent location. Absolutely wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    6.3
    We were disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was on the street and hit or miss. We were seniors on the road for a month and traveling with lots of luggage. The stairs were difficult and the room was very small, requiring that we crawl over luggage. There was no hot water due to a plumbing problem, which we reported, but we received no communication about it. Not staffed after 3PM.

    Very clean, with lovely linens and nice bed. Morning staff person was very nice and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay in Serendipity House, clean and good. But it's more a hotel than a B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The scrambled eggs were awful. We really got the feeling of botched job. The friendliness and care expected from a B&B was not there. It's rather a hotel than a true B&B.

    The bed was great and confortable, the room temperature was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    The room was lovely with a magnificent view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was lovely with a magnificent view. It had just been painted so there was still a very strong smell of paint. However the breakfast was only basic. The 'orange juice' was an orange cordial diluted. Also the fruit salad was partly from tinned fruit. If these two things were changed it would have been fabulous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Always loved Derry so a short stay is always great fun, from the craic to the taxi drivers, magic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were on the 3rd floor but that's my fault for booking through a 3rd party, my wife has mobility issues but we managed - TV wasn't tuned in but really we didn't need it, always like a wee look in before bed. Not sure there was a separate key to the bathroom, apologies if there was.

    Love the self check-in and the quiet location, handy to the Donbar who were extremely pleasant!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location ..very clean lovely decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one set of keys..breakfast finished too early 9.30.No drinking glasses in bedroom.Coulnt get TV to work linked to..chrome.. poor wifi

    Cleanliness..good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Friendly house manager, great breakfast, and lovely B&B in residential area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The house manager here was amazing! Not only did she cook us a fantastic breakfast each day, but she gave us wonderful tips on where to eat and what to see. She made our trip stress-free and fun! The location is a 5-8 minute walk from the city, and the residential setting of this B&B makes you feel a part of the town. So much fun!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Comfortable, clean and close
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you can, book room 5 as it has a great view over the city and across to the walls. Self check in works brilliantly, read the information book in the room as it has a number of suggestions on restaurants, bars and things to see.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    5.8
    A little disappointing. We arrived late and the room was a little musty but we warmed to the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mould on the bedroom wall. Partially blocked shower plug. Not tiled properly in the bathroom so gaps left.

    Gorgeous breakfast and lovely friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Lovely place close to Derry City centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was outside of b & b on the street. Room had a great view over Derry. Breakfast was lovely & owner very friendly. Short walk to city centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We felt the little extras associated with hospitality that make you feel welcome and appreciated were missing. The room and bathroom were small but clean and bed very comfortable however, the caretakers seemed to find us more of a bother rather than a guest and therefore the interaction was quite "cold". Perhaps they were busy or stressed... Wifi didnt work on the top floor.

    The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    Very good B&B near the murals
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit disappointed as the poor lady brought us few toast, not enough, forgot my boyfriends fried eggs and just brought mines. We share them anyway. Tomatoes were cherry ones instead of the normal ones. A bit disappointed but enough to start the morning for the price of the room.

    The furniture is all brand new, the mattress was very comfortable as well as the pillows. Very clean room and bathroom. The TV was good sized. Good views from the room I had in the first floor. We had one food delivery for dinner and we didn't have any problems.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    Cute little B&B.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found no hair dryer. Shower was good, but some things need to be repaired. And u set the whole bathroom under water if u shower.

    Friendly personal, perfect situated. Really nice B&B!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Had a great time away from home with my fiance, we both enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like. I really enjoyed my stay at serendipity house.

    The bed was really comfy, I had a great nights sleep because of it. Breakfast was lovely in the morning too. The shower was really nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.9
    Very comfortable bed;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was smaller than I had anticipated, especially the bathroom - I was hoping for a bath!

    Very comfortable bed; lovely view over the city from my window; great location near Brooke park and the cathedral. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Very Very pleasant in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking a bit precarious We got in Ok but left to gaps on a busy street. Some may be uncomfortable with the host only being there to cook breakfast. They are only a telephone call away though.

    Close to the centre and on a hill overlooking the historic walls. Really enjoyed walking into town down a steep hill and back up Loved the exercise. There was a room to watch TV and a excellent breakfast in the morning Clean tidy and nice hosts.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room temperature could be a bit higher. Heating was not on and it not possible to adjust the temperature.

    Great location. Good breakfast. Finding parking was easy. Just on the street front of the house. No reception desk but the self check worked very well.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.8
    our stay was nice, it's in good location, self checkin,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    unfriendly staff

    our stay was nice, it's in good location, self checkin, very comfy beds, and huge breakfast. Had few complication with booking and staff wasn't friendly, no smiling, but I understand, we are just people and no everyday is the best. But communication was kind of unpleasant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very cramped for3 adults. Stairway very narrow. Shower so so narrow. Breakfast disappointing scrambled egg was literally broken on pan served too early so was cold on eating.Breakfast plates cold as was toast!

    Beds were comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    The room was really cosy and the breakfast was lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the very top room and it was a little cold, even though we put the electric heater on

    The room was really cosy and the breakfast was lovely!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    Great location, friendly staff. Will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only fault was that the radiator in room 5 wasn’t working, but there was an electric heater provided to comensate. It just meant it was cold in the morning as we didn’t want to leave it on all night. Not a major issue though by any means.

    The location is central to the city centre, and we always manage to get easily parked at the location which is always a bonus. The staff are exceptionally friendly and attentive. The self check in is a great service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    Would choose to stay here again! Cheap and cheerful with a room at a high standard vs chain hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although our room was comfortable the radiators in the room didn’t work efficiently hence the additional heater provided.

    The self check in was perfect for us, no time wasting, and really easy. Great view from room 5!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    5.4
    Just okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived in evening and there was absolutely no hot water when I went to have a shower. The bathroom needed a real clean and was very small. Woken during the night due to lot of noise from corridors from other guests returning to their rooms.

    Bed was comfortable. Very little contact with staff however they were pleasant. Location was good, only 10 minute walk from bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location for exploring the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of this B & B is great! It's a 5 min walk to the centre (pedestrian shopping area, pubs, restaurants) and a few more minutes will have you at the Free Derry wall/Bloody Sunday memorial/City walls. The bed was really comfy & the room warm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.1
    Small but clean and tidy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot plates, get rid of all boxes in entrance hallway a bit of an eye sore

    Was not all that keen on the check yourself in and out experience. Only spoke with the lady briefly at Breakfast and that was it. Breakfast it self was a bit on the cold side. Plates were cold so needless to say the breakfast did not stay warm for long. Bedroom was small but really nicely done up and overall the place was spotless. Would definitely stay again if needed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.3
    Small but perfect for that one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smaller than we expected.

    The room was clean and the bed was super comfy. It was perfect for the one night stay. This place was also very well decorated. The room was small but it had everything that we needed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    The most comfortable bed, I had to drag myself out of it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The most comfortable bed, I had to drag myself out of it. Lovely and helpful staff. Great location close to city center. Great for allowing independence for guests, own keys, no time curfew etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.5
    The staff where friendly,helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When entering the room there was dampness on the ceiling,in the bathroom there was a hole on the wall the ceiling also had dampness and you had to put the shower head a certain way or the bathroom floor was wet.There was a towel down on the floor on arriving.In the room one of the chest of drawers had masking tape on it.They should have removed the chest of drawers out as it was made of glass someone could had cut themselves on it.

    The staff where friendly,helpful.The room was clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    5.8
    Unhappy
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed here two nights as a had to be close to the hostipal as am from down the country and dont drive and staying up was handier. Place was clean but it was cold i stayed in room 3 which had a seperate private bathroom aross the hall.after spending 12 13 hours each day in the hostipal it would be nice to wake up and get a hot shower to freshen up which did work but it flooded the room and leaked down stairs into the kitchen.very dangerous to say the least i reported it to staff.nothing was done as it was the same this morning.i got my breakfast got my things payed my bill and not as much as an apologly for this! I woukd not recommend this place are stay here again

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    5.8
    Cold night in Derry
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating in winter! Room was a fridge. Called and email management but nobody ever replied. Bad experience, will not return or recommend.

    Breakfast, bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Our stay was very relaxing with a good price for the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a kinda small with two twin beds and not much room for anything else. There's a tv in the room, which is good. If you have a larger family and need more than two twin beds this may not be the place for you, unless they have bigger rooms.

    The room was clean and the beds are comfortable. The location is a 10 minute walk from the pedestrian area that includes restaurants and pubs. The staff is nice as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    6.7
    I struggled to get to sleep...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the upstairs rooms had a separate bathroom and when the guests were going between it and their room, it created a lot of noise. Maybe I got unlucky with the guests, or with the frequency they needed the bathroom through the night, but it was difficult to get to sleep. Not much the host can do about that though.

    The breakfast was superb and the variety of food on offer was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only issue was that there was not very much toilet paper left when I arrived and no way to get any more late at night without calling one of the owners. Minor complaint though.

    Great location. Very comfortable. Lovely room and great feed for breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    We would stay here again. It was a great spot to have as a base while you toured the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was tough some nights. There was a lot of stairs to get to our room at the end of a long day. The hidden credit card fee of 5% was not mentioned to us before we booked. Had we known we would've brought enough cash to pay to avoid that fee.

    The morning staff were friendly and the breakfast was delicious. Our room had a lovely view of the town. The bed was super comfy. We could walk to most of the attractions and little shops. Because we had a wedding to attend it was nice to let ourselves in and out at any hour.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Beautiful property, fabulous breakfast and super staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather ;-)

    The venue is beautiful. The bedroom was luxurious, the en-suite was gorgeous. Clean fresh towels, bed linen and everything was spotless. The staff member, Dee, was just a lady - nothing was too much trouble. She is a gem. I loved the decor and enjoyed my stay. Perhaps next time will be more than a flying visit!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Great - was exactly what we wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn’t like

    Fantastic location, short walk into the City. The information book provided in the room was spot on! Stephen was friendly and welcoming. Great place - can not recommend enough!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    -Rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Our stay was really good, though just to mention something, the check-out out was a bit cold (the young man at the check-in was warmer).

    -Rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. -Good breakfast. -Close to the city centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.5
    The breakfast was very generous and was the morning staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    With an absentee host there was a problem when the light fuses went in our rooms during the night.... so very dark bathrooms.

    The breakfast was very generous and was the morning staff. Beds were comfy, though 4 floors of stairs a but arduous for we "senior" travelers.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.3
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't a fan of the seperate bathroom. Had locked the door as left my bathroom things in there and it took 10 mins of trying to get the door open again.

    The rooms were nice and the house looks to have recently been remodelled. Breakfast was good and had a lovely view out over Derry

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only complaint was the size of the bathroom. Especially the sink. Everything else great.

    Lovely hotel. Great breakfast. Room nice, Hotel is historic and lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    This b&b is fantastic for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This b&b is fantastic for the money.. great value for 2 guests with breakfast, in a beautiful room that was spotlessly clean.. staff were very helpful..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    6.3
    We got a room with view on the old town: very nice, all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcome was rather cold. There was noise from the upper room when people were walking and, if you are unlucky, they walk a lot! :-) Payment can be done also in Euro at the exchange rate of the day but we paid at 1,20 when it was 1,10 (in other places in the area we paid in Euro at an exchange rate closer to actual one).

    We got a room with view on the old town: very nice, all the day long. It could be a "little gem" in the heart of bogside but it looks shabby at the entrance: rubbish bins and wooden pallets in the front garden. And boxes in the breakfast room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    4.2
    Not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    I was misled about this guest house on booking.com. It did not live upto it! I nearly left. Smelly room, TV not working Dinghy room and ensuite Shocking breakfast and staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.1
    Good location in interesting Derry/Londonderry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room at the top (number 4) and a tiny shower room. Without disrespect, larger guests would struggle with this. Breakfast okay but not a massive choice. Best bit - gorgeous, freshly-baked scones. There are some tatty areas, such as our shower room light pull had detached from the ceiling and some plug sockets were loose. In my view, this would have been great quality when it opened but has 'rested on its laurels' a bit - it needs a bit of a spruce-up.

    A good location in Bogside and not too far from the city centre. We were able to arrive earlier than check-in. Quite a nice room at the top of the house.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Bed was very comfortable, rooms very well decorated, clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ensuite was very small, shower door was on its last legs, very temperamental! Breakfast was not good at all, hot food was buffet style and did not taste great, I imagine it had been sitting out all morning

    Bed was very comfortable, rooms very well decorated, clean and tidy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.3
    A value for money stay close to the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was difficult to get to the sink in the W.C. but that was more to do with my own size. If you do bring your car, parking is at a premium and is on street parking. Due to the size of the room, there was no closet nor were hangers provided, and we had to make do with the back of a chair.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The B&B was on a residential street not far from the city centre and although there were cars on both sides of the street, it wasn't particularly noisy. We had our window open the whole night and although our room faced the street we didn't hear a sound. We were in room 4 which was on top of the stairs and had a very tiny en-suite. The room was small, well decorated with tea/coffee tray and biscuits. The breakfast was very good and liked the fact that my egg was made fresh and there were mushrooms! The B&B is about a 5 min walk from the city centre and on a sunny day, it is a very pleasant walk.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.5
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location probably wasn't the best, but we could walk to some places. Pretty steep hill to walk up.

    Very nice property. Very clean. Loved the staff and they were wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast was good Staff very helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked through Booking.com for 2 rooms at 93pounds but was charged 100 . Manager not available to discuss and staff could not change amount. Bathroom was renovated but basin so small could not use.Due to back problem requested ground floor but were given rooms on third floor up steep narrow staircase.

    Breakfast was good Staff very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Excellant breakfast, staff welcoming, informative and...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellant breakfast, staff welcoming, informative and friendly, rooms beautifully presented, well-kempt and clean, mattress on bed was extremely comfortable. We will be back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.3
    Great value accommodation close to city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little disappointing, our table was dirty and butter dish used by last guests. They had no eggs left which I thought was a must ingredient for breakfast. Small things like no side plate on table for toast, and no dish to put your jam in are all little things that are easily fixed.

    Beautiful decor and great value for money. We had a room with an external bathroom just across the hall, which was really big. We were also provided with bathrobes for those night time trips, which was a nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.3
    Lovely Location and Beautifully Renovated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property was just a 10 minute walk from the centre of town and featured a marvelous view of the medieval walled town. The B&B was beautifully renvoated and exceptionally clean. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    3.8
    Totally disappointing and regimental.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I rang at 5 pm to explain that we were attending the North West 200 and that we would be arriving around 9 pm to be told that we would have to book in before 8 pm with absolutely no other consideration which meant we had to leave the event which was the reason for our trip. We went down for breakfast at 9.45 am to find no breakfast after 9.30.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    Enjoyed Derry
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small window at top of stairs shone in light at night. Suggest they paint out window

    Location was good. Breakfast was excellent Donna the waitress was very pleasant. Very clean and minutes to downtown

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    Fabulous guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful Guest house location was great. Staff were friendly and very helpful Very comfortable Really enjoyed my stay . Will go back thank you to Dee for being so welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.2
    Nicely decorated room, bit cramped for space and a postage...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nicely decorated room, bit cramped for space and a postage stamp for the bathroom. However, bed was very comfortable, shower was hot and I would happily stay there again. The location was very convenient for seeing the sites.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: