Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Seven Stars Inn 3 stars

High Street North, Durham, DH1 2NU, United Kingdom

#9 of 13 hotels in Durham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 364 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Given wrong information about key codes, which could have meant being locked out all night

    We had a very spacious room and the decor was very pleasant, probably newly refurbished. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was not great poor water flow and wardrobe very rickety . But room really clean , loads of space and very comfortable bed

    Clean tidy and great nights sleep - quite area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    From the moment my daughters and myself walked into the hotel we were met with very friendly and helpful staff. The room was spacious, clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. The shower was instantly hot and powerful which made for a great start to the day. The evening meals and breakfasts were brilliant, cooked to perfection! The owners helped us to make our way to Newcastle city centre as I am not used to the area. Nothing was too much trouble and would highly recommend Seven Stars to anyone. Thank you for making our weekend extra special.😀😀😀😀😀

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was £70 - breakfast extra. Not worth the price. Old, run down and the carpet on the hallway and stairs dirty. Toilet and shower very basic, shower kept falling out of holder which was loose and falling off wall. Furniture old and tattered.

    The only thing about this place that was good was the pleasant staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, with small bathrooms. No mobile signal on EE or Three, compounded by the frequently disconnecting WiFi provided. Expensive stay.

    Clean rooms and very friendly staff. Nice village to stay in, not far off from Durham.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower a bit small, but this is an 18th century building.

    Friendly villagey pub. The staff and locals happy to talk and a great atmosphere. Meals so good we couldn't finish them all. Durham City really close.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in was a little rushed due to waitress leaving bar to show me to my room. 2 of the mini milks were out of date but were replaced with fresh milk when I showed the staff. Mattress a little worn and bed moved when getting in/out. Asked for mash and was served chips with my meal and breakfast a little small for the money. I declined black pudding and tomato and that left the plate a little empty. Would have been nice to have another egg or something offered. The coffee had no flavour but the orange juice was fresh.

    Nice location and clean pub/room. Nice good quality bar food and offered to serve me in my room. Friendly lady served breakfast and helped me with directions. Good hot shower and TV. Would stay again if in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was booked on price but I still think the rooms and guest area's need updating. The food was not good though - I treated myself to steak and chips. The steak wasnt allowed to rest before being served so within a couple of minutes of the plate being set down, it was awash with blood. That said, once it had rested the steak was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well I woke up very happy got washed and dressed and made my way down stairs. I seen a lady and dog then a man came through I had a big smile on my face telling them how much I enjoyed my stay until I got interrupted by the man saying 'everything payed for'? I thought this was very rude and didn't make me feel good at all he should check the book before asking such a question. I was very offended. Other than this I had a great stay but maybe dress to impress and have a Prada handbag!

    Had the best nights sleep in a long time clean and comfortable and the guy that checked me in was a star

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed in room 5 was very uncomfortable. Don't usually bother about this as no bed is as good as home but this was not comfortable at all. Toilet didn't flush easily. Room was basic but for price was fair.

    Staff very friendly and welcoming. Nice atmosphere in pub. Breakfast was lovely, hearty and well worth the price for the deal. Dinner was excellent and again for deal was excellent value for money. Lovely garden centre at end of road and well worth a visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delightful. Fantastic large family room, lovely cooked breakfast. Stayed for dinner then lunch the next day toowoth more family members joining us. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the food, ambience and location was great. Went for a walk in the woods nearby. Staff very very friendly, couldn’t do enough to make us comfortable. Will definitely be back. Owners also own the nearby Rose Tree.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Service was polite, friendly and helpful thank you Cloe, Ross, and the lovely gentleman who served breakfast. Which was great, i recommend you have it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although it was made clear on the website that the restaurant would be closed on Monday, which was the first night of our two night stay, it came as an unpleasant surprise to discover the bar would also be closed. The website clearly states that it is open on Mondays. The only option for both food and drink was a ten minute walk along a busy by-pass to the 'sister pub'. Admittedly one could have avoided the by-pass by picking one's way through the village, but this would have been very difficult in the dark. Incidentally, the food and service in the sister pub, the Rose Tree, were simply outstanding. On our return to the Inn, we were required in the dark to key-in a six character combination into a security lock in order to get in. After several abortive attempts I called the manager on the emergency number which we had been given. He showed up and managed to open the lock on his fourth attempt. At no point did he speak or offer an apology.

    On the second evening of our stay, when the bar and restaurant were actually open, the service in the bar and restaurant was good, as was the food. Pity that the Black Sheep real ale, advertised on the website, was not available.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The loos in some of the rooms are very noisy (they sound like there is a small tractor in the bathroom) and bathrooms can be chilly when the weather is cold. The family room looks out over the main road and hence can be noisy if you are a light sleeper. Parking is on the street and is first come first served for proximity to the pub.

    Lovely place at which to eat, drink and stay - unpretentious, welcoming, good beds, pleasant but not fancy rooms and a great breakfast (and I haven't even mentioned George the dog who greeted us as we came down in the morning). The family room is spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Radiator in the room was very noisy and the bathroom/shower weren't the best

    Staff/bar staff were excellent, very attentive and knowledgeable. Evening meal was very good and breakfast was very nice. Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The limited hours of breakfast, finishing at 0900, was neither notified verbally nor was there any room card, folder or other notification. Despite being pre-booked and paid, at 09:10 we found ourselves abandoned with no staff on site. The ‘out of hours’ emergency phone could be heard ringing a phone in a locked unmanned office. No checkout paperwork was provided and despite being requested to be sent by email more than 48 hours later nothing has been received. It is a great shame this breakfast and checkout failing marred and otherwise excellent stay with first rate restaurant food and drink.

    The evening meal quality was superb and all staff were friendly and of the highest standard.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The limited hours of breakfast, finishing at 0900, was neither notified verbally nor was there any room card, folder or other notification. Despite being pre-booked and paid, at 09:10 we found ourselves abandoned with no staff on site. The ‘out of hours’ emergency phone could be heard ringing a phone in a locked unmanned office. No checkout paperwork was provided and despite being requested to be sent by email more than 48 hours later nothing has been received. It is a great shame this breakfast and checkout failing marred and otherwise excellent stay with first rate restaurant food and drink.

    The evening meal quality was superb and all staff were friendly and of the highest standard.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were room 1 and bathroom very tiny and poor shower. If we were staying longer would have asked them to change shower head as couldn’t have it on wide jet as scaled up. Plus everyone walks past your room so noisy.

    Restaurant was wonderful. Amazing food and atmosphere. Nice to have dinner included and not have to go out to find something. Portions were fab. Good in general was great value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were overpriced ! As were the food and drinks. The food was very nice but more like London prices. Please update you ironing board. Shower not very good.

    All the Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was close to the road at the back and was a little noisy, but didn’t keep us awake.

    Very comfortable stay, evening food and breakfast very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water flow in shower was a bit weak but there was plenty of hot water.

    I read a negative review BUT (Jane) be sensible it is great value for money: if you want "luxury" etc then pay for it do not expect 5* facilities at a bargain price. The Seven Stars is more than adequate for a short stay unless you are snobbish. The staff were very helpful, 5 of us had drinks in the bar and an excellent meal at sensible prices in the restaurant. The room we had was basic but had all that was needed. If you are the sort of person who wants "upmarket" then go pay for it. If you want decent value for the basics then the Seven Starts is well worth it. Easy to get to /from by taxi or bus and a straightforward 1/2 hour walk to town centre

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice comfortable pub, with good supper and good breakfast, in a pretty village just outside Durham. Ideal place to spend the night before dropping my son off for the start of term.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was a bit noisy but it was a really old building.

    Really nice meals (lamb shank and liver with bacon), first night for the bar staff who was really polite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast for a Sunday morning was too early...8-9am. After a late night we didn't want to be up and downstairs for that time.

    Suited what we needed of a bed for the night. Staff were lovely and rooms were clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A better mattress would be great but the price was extremely reasonable for the area , particularly in term time for Durham.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I had a very nice pub meal the first evening and a really good hot chocolate when arrived back 'frozen' on second evening. I had a lovely soft poached egg for breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to let myself out in the morning and because I was tired the night before I didn't understand all the instructions for leaving! Amusing rather than annoying.

    A delightful small pub with very quiet and comfortable accommodation. Staff friendly and helpful, real ale excellent and a great night's sleep after a very long drive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One room was small and the bathroom very chilly; tiny TVs in rooms; bar closed before 11.00pm so had to take a pint up to the room; and parking can be tricky if the pub/restaurant is busy.

    Warm welcome; pleasant unpretentious food; great beer; comfortable beds; Christmassy cheer; pleasant staff; good wifi; and a hearty breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a very old building which is charming. Room cleanliness was good. The bathroom is quite small. The shower cubicle needs a very good clean as there are lots of black and stained areas. The electric shower gives warm water but the amount of water coming out is not sufficient for a shower. Shower door very small opening. Light in room not strong enough to allow reading. Wifi is not protected which I cannot use and as their computer seems to run on the same internet is not safe with all the details they have of clients and their bank cards. All told lovely staff, food and good value for the money. Believe that some of the observation will be corrected very soon

    Staff and restaurant food were excellent and the village it is located in is charming and good to stay in and has good transport to Durham

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed uncomfortable for tall people. TV poor and broke down. WiFi irritating in the extreme, took ages to register and kept dropping off. Bathroom ultra small, room cold. However, all that pales into insignificance against the traffic noise outside, which sounds like it’s going through your bedroom, all guaranteeing a poor night’s sleep!

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was weak & the shower head holder was loose. There was mound in the corners of the shower cubicle The room was small & the furniture was old The heating could not be adjusted It’s a 40 minute walk to Durham

    The meals we had were good which is why we dined there twice. Charging extra for the vegetables was a bit off.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a little uncomfortable - I could feel the springs although my husband couldn't. We felt that if breakfast had been included it would have been better value for money.

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The restaurant area was really nice and had a varied menu. We didn't eat breakfast there as we were visiting family who live across the road, but the meal in the restaurant was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In need of decorating, Bar shut on Mondays. In fact if we needed anything we was told to go to there other pub 10 min down the road

    Great choice of breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar and restaurant closed on Monday although the other pub they have is just down the road ,Very bad area to get a mobile phone signal

    Very nice owners and staff, rooms very comfortable and spacious

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not the lap of luxury, but you pay 50-100% more for that!

    Very helpful staff, good beer in pub, room reasonably comfortable, good value compared to staying in Durham centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, really.

    Older property situated in a lovely village but very easily accessible & close to Durham city. Just perfect as far as I was concerned & we will probably return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no-one on duty in the morning, so when I checked out at c. 8.50am the bar/reception area was locked and there was nowhere to leave the key - I had been instructed to leave the key at the bar/reception. I therefore had to return to my room and leave the key there. This wasn't a problem, but it would be a good idea for staff to automatically inform guests they should leave the key in the room so as to avoid any unnecessary worry when checking out in the morning.

    The staff (bar/check-in) were very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. The food was good and was good value for money. The location was quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival they didn't have my bookings and I had to change my room on the second night, however it was upgraded to the double large room, was lovely for the price.

    The food in the restaurant was really good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaky bed, poor flush on toilet, no clear instructions on changing or keeping towels leaving us with two damp used towels that we couldn't distinguish from each other. En suite facility was also small/claustrophobic and no bath. Getting to Durham city centre was a significantly longer walk than we expected.

    The Inn was easy to find, with sufficient and quiet on-street parking. Staff were friendly and welcoming, and the bedroom was spacious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar and restaurant were closed on the Monday night necessitating a trip out to eat, etc. This was not advised when booking and we would likely have booked elsewhere. Entry/exit was via a back door. That said, the sister pub (Rose Tree) 5 mins walk away offered a 10% discount on your bill and was excellent. Quite a bit of traffic noise at peak times and the building shook a bit when a heavy vehicle passed.

    Location was good for Durham. Breakfast was cooked to order and very tasty, staff members friendly and helpful. See note below re Monday evening.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    En-suite shower was a bit flakey.

    Great welcome and service through out our stay. Ate in one night and enjoyed the meal in the pleasant restaurant. Good location for getting in to Durham. Easy access via the bus stops right outside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud industrial fan located outside window near bed. One window no curtain. Toiletries really cheap and nasty. No channels working on tv. Breakfast not included.

    Friendly check in. Big room. Warm and clean and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single bed was a little lumpy and not the most comfortable. Room got a little too warm during the night.

    Lovely old village pub, very friendly staff, food was very good and great selection of drinks, breakfast made to order and very nice. Lovely area for walking close to the river wear.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shelves or hooks in the bathroom nowhere in the shower cubicle to put the soap, shampoo etc. No fridge in the room The window wouldn't fully close so the room was cool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    BATHROOM VERY SMALL SHOWER NEEDS A BIT OF MAINTANCE AND THE TOILET YOU NEARLY HAVE TO SIT SIDEWARDS ON IT

    STAFF ALEX AND SOPHIE, CREDIT TO THE SEVEN STARS VERY FRIENDLY. TOP CASK ALE 10/10 WENT DOWN A TREAT GOOD CLEAN ROOM AND GOOD NITE SLEEP QUIET LOCATION JUST WHAT WE WANTED.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too much street noise from cars. Wifi and mobile service not good...had to walk down the street (away from the car noise) to get important calls through.

    Dinner was served at the restaurant and they catered for my limiting options.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy room; not traffic, as this subsided during night, but a persistent humming, like a generator all night every night. No replenishment of toiletries. Parking was sometimes a problem.

    Lovely friendly staff. Great menu in restaurant. Clean room. Easy check-in and check-out

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The decor is a little dated, but fine.

    The staff were very friendly and obliging. As a smoker, i had easy access to chairs and tables outside in the sun.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to the room through narrow corridors and stairs, but the building must be a couple of hundred years old and they probably did not think about tourist to Durham at that time.

    Good beer and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't mind budget hotels, but at least they should get the basics right. Furniture that isn't on its last legs, a shower that gives at least a reasonable stream of water, coffee in the morning that isn't instant (particularly since they charge similar for breakfast than in nearby Durham City, which is easy to pop in to as an alternative - and which we did by the way).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could not stay longer !

    I did not eat breakfast. The coffee was lovely. The room was comfortable. The pub and hotel was lovely and very quaint. A proper pub, the way you always imagine them and the way they should be with great accommodation. The staff were friendly, professional and helpful. Only 10 mins from Durham. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn't work, kettle had a dangerous crack in that leaked water, cramped bathroom

    Dinner in the restaurant was amazing. Staff super friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and welcoming staff. Clean. Excellent evening meal in the restaurant. Really good breakfast in the morning. Easy to get into Durham from. Great value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a country side inn some three kilometers from Durham. Walk to the town along river on walking path. Great place if you are fine with basic but charming accommodation for a relaxing weekend in English north countryside.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast was freshly cooked. Good quality sausages and bacon. Very good toast. Staff were very friendly and efficient. They gave helpful local directions/information on buses

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My husband and I really like the Seven Stars. Unbeknown to us, it was a Graduation Day in Durham City so it was booked up - we were glad we booked far in advance. If you don't come on a Monday you can usually buy a delicious dinner at their restaurant downstairs. Sadly, this time, we came on a Monday and we were too late for The Rose Tree restaurant just down the road... The rooms are always relaxing to be in and cosy - my husband commented on the good quality towels. The couple in charge are charming.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and the room had a lumpy bed. The internet was good but it took logging in too frequently. The sink was very slow to drain.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Room was a little on the small side. However the steak and ale pie was probably the best I have ever tasted. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really only a few minor points. Bed squeaked every time you turned over and the mattress was pretty soggy. But not a huge problem for just a few nights. We didn't try the breakfast, it was too expensive for our budget - £8 each per day.

    Friendly staff We enjoyed the walk into the city, takes about 45 mins easy stroll along the river. Alternatively there is a regular bus service just outside. Room was clean, there was a kettle in room with tea bags, instant coffee and biscuits provided.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was poorly maintained. Carpeting throughout the upper floor, staircase and corridors smelt rank! Furniture was cheap basic pine that was badly marked and the wardrobe door needed fixing. There were numerous cobwebs, especially in one corner. Bedroom 1 which we were in looked out onto main road and bed faced straight into property opposite with no blind or nets for modesty. My brother had another room which was larger and slightly better maintained but sink plug was eventually found on a shelf. The corridor which was dark panneled ply wood had no borrowed light and no working electric light despite there being a step to negotiate. The smell of the carpets here also was rank. Very dirty. When I complained it was explained that the business was for sale and no attention was being given to the accommodation. The bin in our room was never emptied and the en suite was not cleaned between days. No toiletries were replaced after day one. After 10pm the property was locked and unstaffed until 10am the next day unless breakfast was booked and then a cook attended between 8-9 only for that purpose. You had a code to allow yourself in and out of the property after hours. We left at 10.am and as we had settled our bill the previous evening there were still no staff on site as we left. There is absolutely no way you could recommend this accommodation and it was absolutely not worth the money paid.

    Staff were very pleasant. Evening meal was good. Bed was clean and comfy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could maybe be started a at 7.30 not 8am.

    Alex a member of staff was very helpful and offered to go above what was expected when there was a possibility that I would not arrive before check in closed at 10pm (He kindly offered to meet me back at the hotel/pub to check me in out of hours at 11.30pm) - Great and quick check-in process too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't realize breakfast was not included in the room price like in other places we have stayed. Not a deal breaker,but customers should really be informed of this when asked if they would like breakfast in the morning.

    Room was an excellent size and very spacious. Comfortable bed and the location was quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs were a little on the steep side for those who have might have mobility isues, but is certainly in keeping with the age and character of the building. For those with cars there is no off-road parking although you can park on the minor road which goes through the village. However most traffic passes the pub on the rear side along the main road (A.177)

    The staff were very approachable and keen to make my stay as good as possible. The food was of a high standard, a cut above standard pub grub and the restaurant a very pleasant room in which to enjoy the meal. Although the bedroom was a bit basic it was nevertheless clean and the bed very comfortable. During the day there is a reasonably good bus service during the day into Durham City (journey time 7-10 mins.) with a bus stop on both sides of the road about 50 yards from the pub. However after 6.00pm. it reduces to one every hour. For those who enjoy walking there is a good number of footpaths through woodland and along the River Wear by which you can gain access to the centre of Durham without having to walk along roads.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We found nothing that we did not like

    The Staff are very friendly, helpful. The food is excellent. The rooms are very clean, excellent stay. We would highly recommend this Inn.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was fine.

    Everything was great. Friendly hosts. Lovely English breakfast and evening meal. Have a sister pub at other end of village so you had two sets of evening meals to pick from!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For non-drivers this was a little too far outisde of town. But we soon sussed the buses. If you drive - best of both worlds.

    An excellent restaurant on the premises. Modern comfort in a country pub setting.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pub is an old-fashioned village inn and looks nicer inside than out. The double room was fine for one person but it would have been rather bijoux if I'd brought my partner. The bathroom was tiny. I had not expected to be off grid here - but there was no EE signal and the wifi kept dropping out. Breakfast was offered for £7.95, but the reviews from others weren't great and as I only wanted tea and toast (no continental option was mentioned) I headed into Durham where Starbucks provided me with all I wanted for £3.75. I paid £60 for bed and no breakfast which didn't feel like brilliant value given the location and the rather basic feel of the place. It was ok but I would not chose to stay here again.

    The Seven Stars is easy to find on a main road and it's within walking distance of Durham if you are fairly fit. It took me about half an hour to walk into town. There are buses if you need transport and I was shown a phone and taxi numbers if I wanted them.) Double-glazing means the noise from traffic is minimal, though the whole place seems to shake when a lorry goes past. The towels and bed linen were spotless. The room was warm and the bed was reasonably comfortable. The hairdryer was appreciated.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was fine and easy to use but the water pressure was very poor, but was still manageable

    The restaurant was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the carpets have seen better days but were clean. TV stations were a bit erratic

    the food was excellent and the staff were amazing, couldn't do enough for you. the bed was really comfy and the pillows soft

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bed was really uncomfortable resulting in a bad back all day for us both, shower not enough power to wash my hair, due to this we checked out a day early (paid for two nights- stayed one) explaining why but didn't make a fuss as staff member was really apologetic & kind and I didnt want to spoil my birthday weekend. was told i would be partially refunded...still waiting for it

    breakfast was lovely, staff very nice also.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I struggled to get the wifi to work, however the staff were most helpful in helping me sort this out.

    Here you get the warmth and hospitality of a great B&B with the bonus of a fully stocked bar and excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was quite squeaky.

    The staff were very helpful at check in and check out. The location is good if you have a car. It is a cute set up, very homey.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More choice for vegetarians for breakfast would be good. There was only 1 choice and there were no vegetarian sausages so didnt even get that.

    The staff are lovely and helpful handy for getting into the city by public transport.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent food and very friendly service. Menu reasonably priced plus 3 specials on the board whilst we were there. Great breakfast and good value for money. Ideal for a short break stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have preferred there to be a car park, but having said that I got parked nearby without too much trouble.

    The meal was amazing, and I enjoyed relaxing in the leather armchair by the fire in the bar with a pint in the evening. The staff were frindly, and the room warm and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My stay at the Seven Stars was lovely. It's a beautiful, peaceful old pub very close to the centre of Durham. The staff were very helpful and the room and ensuite was pretty, clean and very comfortable. I slept in a lovely iron double bed. Breakfast is in a cosy room downstairs and was very good. I had until 11am to checkout on Sunday morning if I wanted, which was very useful. Thoroughly recommend and very happy with the price.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: