Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Seven Stars

11 Broad Street, Hay-on-Wye, HR3 5DB, United Kingdom

#8 of 9 B&Bs and Inns in Hay-on-Wye

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 436 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Comfortable room, friendly staff and a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Seven Stars has a great location, very close to all that Hay on Wye has to offer. My room was clean and comfortable and the staff very helpful. The breakfast was excellent and the private off road car parking area, swimming pool and sauna were an added bonus. This was the second time I had stayed here and will certainly come here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.7
    Good location in centre if village with private parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reasonable sized room. Very flat pillows which made it hard to get comfortable. Decent pillows would help.

    Good location in centre if village with private parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was excellent. Best smoked salmon I have ever had. The staff were very friendly and helpful, we had some problems with the first room we were put in. We told the staff about it and they completely fixed everything. Having a pool and Sauna on site gave us a really nice option to wind down after a day driving around seeing Wales.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family/Twin Room (2 Adults, 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike

    Good spot, room perfect for cramming in two adults and 2 children, bonus to have a usable pool, delightful hostess, efficient and speedy, pleasant breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Seven stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a friendly welcome. Dianne was a very friendly host and immediately made us welcome. Despite the hotel was full she and her staff (along with Captain her beautiful bearded collie dog) made us feel like we were the only guests there as there wasn't a thing that's too much trouble. If your looking for a relaxing stay then this is the place for you. The location was excellent the hotel itself was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was great there was plenty of choice and good portions we were full to the brim. Well done Dianne you definitely know your stuff!The fisherman from Essex will definitely be staying at the Seven Stars again . I would recommend this Hotel to anyone visiting Hay-on-Wye.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Far beyond expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all. Everything was excellent.

    Location was tremendous. Staff were exceptional. Service was flawless. Room was immaculate. Food was delicious. Pool was perfect. Apoligies, running out of adjectives. Take it from this that we were impressed. Very impressed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Great B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was brilliant and Chrissy who checked us in plus more was so helpful and accommodating. We really enjoyed our stay and the breakfast was excellent - husbands full English looked good and my smoked salmon and srambled eggs were lovely and so well presented! We’d definitely return!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Best breakfast ever in a B&B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best breakfast ever in a B&B. Home cooked Smoked Haddock a treat. Good central location. Car parking a bonus. As a regular visitor to the town it is not easy to find accommodation with parking. The swimming pool was beautiful. Great to relax in!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Comfortable, with lovely breakfast. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owner and staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful. The swimming pool and sauna were a real bonus, and the location is very central for exploring Hay. Breakfast was excellent. Captain, the owner's dog, made us especially welcome!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.0
    Sadly for us a real disappointment and not at all relaxing!!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were altogether mislead about what we were paying for by Diane who greeted us nice enough, but did say she called this room 'the marmite room, you either live it or hate it'. Not something, I would want to sell to any customers of mine. The (garden) room is a misnomer because it over looks the carpark. The room we stayed in (room 8), was part of the swimming pool facilities, probably use to be the changing / shower room, made into an additional bedroom. Whilst we were staying in the room, naturally enough people wanted to use the swimming pool, which meant lots of noise, so not a very relaxing to stay for us. At a cost of £94.00 a night, we didn't expect to have absolutely no peace for the first 5 hours of arriving, we ended up going out twice to escape the noise which finished at 9pm.Consideting we had been driving for 6 hours that day, staying at the Seven Stars was a real disappointment and a waste of money!

    Most of the staff were courteous and friendly. The breakfast was good. And the establishment is dog friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    excellent stop for weary walkers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family/Twin Room (2 Adults, 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No extractor fan or window in the bathroom

    Pool and sauna were a bonus and the full English breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The location of the hotel right on the main street opposite the Square was also very convenient. The hotel is also on the Offa’s Dyke Path which meant we did not have to stray too far. Recommend Tomatitos Tapas Bar on Lion Street.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    Lovely breakfast and ideal location. Didn't quite live up to expectations for money dpent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been cleaner. False nail from previous occupant on floor. For price of accommodation would expect simple things like tray in shower to put shampoo etc on. Thick duvet in bed not required in August.

    Breakfast was amazing. Lovely choice and very tasty

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant place to stop. The Seven Stars I think was once a pub now with no beer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were little details that could be improved like the wiring to the TV and bedside tables and lights. But apart from that it was great and we enjoyed our overnight stay.

    We had a large and lovely breakfast in the morning and fell in love with Di's lovely friendly shaggy dog!.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    Vistas and Sincerities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family/Twin Room (2 Adults, 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Might it be possible to open the pool before breakfast? I didn't dislike my daytime hours swims but pre-breakfast ones are a treat...

    Fascinating Heritage building with the real ambiance of a Welsh Border market town. Central location and views wonderful. The swimming pool was a joy: warm, quiet, clean: combined with the clean air and very friendly welcome, a perfect way to commence our holiday in Wales.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    4.6
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really outdated facilities. Towels were like rags pillows were lumpy stained and fit for the bin. Very poor indeed. We should have gone to a hostel.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Good clean comfortable stay in a central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a proper shower. I would have like to have had a swim before breakfast but timings of pool opening and breakfast did not allow for this.

    Very comfortable bed. Good central location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communal mixed sex changing rooms in swimming pool and no locks on toilet and shower door.

    Excellent breakfast menu and superbly cooked and presented. Dogs made welcome and given a sausage for breakfast. Very quaint building lots of character.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    Good location and historic interior
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location in the centre of Hay-on-Wye, lots of book stores in every direction. The interior of the hotel had lots of old exposed beams which were beautiful and added character. Breakfast was delicious. I somehow forgot that this place had a pool. The pool was well maintained and quiet, which made for a most relaxing swim.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.8
    A focus short break to Hay-on-Wye, 2nd visit lovely town with fab books focus on second hand books
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were in the annex rather than the main building, not really a problem but would have been nice.

    Location was perfect, breakfast was great, excellent to have the swimming pool/sauna on site, personnel hard working pleasant and enthusiastic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.7
    Looked lovely online room wasn’t quite what I was expecting...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a bit surprised to find our room was attached to the swimming pool and must have been at some point a changing room and sauna looking at the set up and windows in the room. In the heat we are having it was additionally hot. Wooden building in the car park so not quite what I was expecting. Lady on check in was quite off on the phone as we arrived later than expected (9pm) having spent the day at Royal Welsh Show. Lady serving breakfast was very polite though. I stay in a lot of hotels and bed an breakfasts but think this was slightly overpriced for what it was.

    Looked lovely online room wasn’t quite what I was expecting thinking we would be in the main building. Otherwise was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    Convenient base from which to explore Hay on Wye.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is a fairly old property conveniently located for easy access to the town. Parking behind the hotel is quite cramped, however it is a boon in this somewhat crowded town. The bed was very comfortable, despite some of the furnishings being dated. Staff were friendly and the breakfast was very tasty - wide choice of main dishes after range of juices, fruit and cereals. Service was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Satisfactory, we will be staying again on our next visit to Hay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough light to read in the lounge in the evening. This is not new most restaurants, hotels etc think it is smart to have subdued lighting. I find it irritating. I want to read not be smart.

    Excellent breakfast. Comfortable bed. Nice View. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.7
    Average room, very nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room adjoined the swimming pool, separated by a patio style door. This meant that the room was quite humid and smelled of chlorine. On the plus side, it had small outdoor seating area.

    Breakfast was very good, with fresh local ingredients. .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    A lovely break, in a really friendly b&b with the added bonus of a swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved our room with door straight onto the swimming pool. The location was great as we were buying books so it was handy to be able to pop back with purchases rather than carrying them round all day. Staff were really friendly and helpful, opened our door to the pool early each morning so we could have a private swim.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    The Seven Stars. Hey-on-Wye.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    A very nice place, clean comfortable and our room was very good. The food was excellent and so was the people and service. Also the location, was able to leave the car in the park and explore the town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for exploring Hay-on-Wye
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing we didn't like - the one hour breakfast window (8.30-9.30) is quite narrow, but this is a very minor thing.

    Very friendly team, led by Diane (and her cute side-kick 'Captain' the dog!). The location is just perfect for exploring all that Hay-on-Wye has to offer and the ample free parking a real bonus given there isn't a lot of it in the town itself. The room was fine and the shower great whilst the breakfast was excellent. We didn't use the pool but this looked to be another bonus, especially after a hot day. I would highly recommend the Seven Stars for a friendly, 'easy' and comfortable stay in Hay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    A very pleasant and friendly place to stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've stayed here a few times so knew what to expect, always happy to stay here. Great service, friendly staff, comfortable rooms in a traditional, olde worldy inn, right in the centre of Hay I received a courtesy call checking I knew I had booked a smaller room, and an offer to borrow swimming shorts if I needed, (for the pool), much appreciated. The room was nice, and had a fan, much appreciated in the heatwave!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay . Good location with parking and pool. Lots to do in town a d surrounding area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked fresh fruit snd yoghurt, but understand that in a relatively small B and B these items could possibly not keep for long.

    Good welcome. Breakfast fine. Swimming pool great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    The staff were lovely, the rooms were cute and the pool was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 3 was nice, though it could use some paint touch ups. Room 5 had more character, but was baking hot (it somehow got worse at night) and the bed was not comfortable.

    The staff were lovely, the rooms were cute and the pool was great to help us cool off in this heatwave!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Totally relaxing, a lovely getaway, met people there who had returned time after time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Leaving to come home.

    The welcome we received was so friendly, we were given a choice of room number 8, or an alternative if we desired one. Room number 8 was an annex at the rear of the hotel, it was small but compact, clean and comfotable. The bonus of this room was a small patio area outside which was a natural sun trap, the other being there was a sliding patio door leading from the room to the large swimming pool, this could be locked from both sides for security. The door was covered by a large heavy curtain which gave plenty of privacy. The opening hours of the pool were from 09.00 to the evening, but residents of room 8 had the advantage of using the pool from 08.00., this was so convienient to have a private swim before having a breakfast that was superb in size and taste. The proprietor Diane was a perfect host. We will definitely be going back again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish they did food in the evening as the quality of the breakfast suggests it would be wonderful.

    Absolutely fab place to stay - the best scrambled eggs I’ve ever eaten - really lovely staff - nothing was too much trouble for Diana and Clare. Very relaxed, delicious food and a POOL and SAUNA as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Hay on Wye is wonderful and the Seven Stars is a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a nice bath but no proper shower. I had hurt my wrist and find baths awkward to get out of.

    Bed was comfy, and the room was authentically olde. The lady who ran the place was very informative, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool doesn't open until 9am so we didn't get a chance to use it.

    The breakfast was superb!! The location is great close to both the town and the river.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    We liked everything about the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything about the place. But choose this particular place because it had an indoor pool which was an added bonus for us. It certainly didnt disappoint. We will be back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    3.5
    below expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family/Twin Room (2 Adults, 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impersonal in the absence of the owners. Room decor dated; cobwebs in the otherwise beautiful beams in our room. Booked mainly because of the pool: changing facilities poor, toilet and shower dirty, pool used for kids’ swimming lessons during guest times.

    Good location. Comfortable beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Excellent weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn’t work in the room, but no great loss as I had 4g on my phone

    Our room, room 8 was by the pool with a sliding door access. Really beautiful sauna, so relaxing and beautiful pool. Room was spotless and beautifully turned out. Bed and pillows really comfy and we had a little outside patio area. The full breakfast was out of this world, beautifully cooked. A real quality establishment run by lovely staff and owner. Will defiantly be staying again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Seven Stars, Thank you <3
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room smelt like chlorine from the Swimming Pool as it was situated directly above the pool. The room was not the room we had expected from the photos shown on Booking.com. It was very small and a little dated, the bed covers showed all of the mattress as not on/too small and the duvet was coming out of the end of the cover as it had no poppers!

    The staff were extremely accommodating. The breakfast was lovely. The bed was really comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay in Hay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a wonderful stay over the bank holiday weekend. The staff were extremely welcoming, attentive and friendly. The room was very spacious and comfortable, with a lovely view of the town clock. It was great having the opportunity to refresh after a long day walking in the sunshine!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like.

    Lovely and comfortable. Lovely breakfast. Lovely staff. Location great for places to eat and drink within walking distance. Parking on site another bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location! I had a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only problem with my room was that I could hear sounds from the room next to me, but then this is a 17th century building, so I can understand why. Anyway, it wasn't a problem for me.

    The location was fabulous! Everything was within a 5-minute walking distance, especially most of the bookshops, which worked out very well for me as I mostly spent my time in the bookshops. The B&B is also close to the river (5-minute walk) and the river walk. Breakfast was excellent - definitely one of the best I have had in the UK! Staff were extremely warm and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Very good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent pool. Very friendly landlady and landlady's dog. Great location right in the centre of hay Would recommend Tomitatas Tapas. Great food and reasonable prices

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic location, great breakfast and lovely period...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family/Twin Room (2 Adults, 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on the small side but then you wouldn’t be staying in a 17th century property so it’s not really a negative. (Added in case people have a thing about room size)

    Fantastic location, great breakfast and lovely period property. Pool is a great bonus. Staff very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.0
    Our stay was most uncomfortable .
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed,too small.freezing cold room very shabby place but is right in the heart of Hay .

    The bed was terrible only a 4ft bed is not a double as expected.Bed duvet was too small every time you turned over you ended up with a cold back. The room was cold heating turned off had to keep our coats on to keep warm. Would not return to this cold shabby Hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    swimmingly delightful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    tight driving into car park from main road. Big cars take care!

    Swimming pool and sauna in a rural setting was great. Charlie the Old English Sheepdog is great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Inspirational visit with indoor swimming pool and breakfast all included: most refreshing!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was on the small side but perfectly adequate for our needs.boo

    The location is great. We were able to walk the dog along the river, very nearby. We walked up the road to visit book shops etc. enjoyed a Tapas meal in an attractive, local venue and to top it all, we were able to swim in the heated swimming pool morning and evening. (Our room was above the swimming pool and sauna. The breakfast was very tastey with good, healthy menue to choose from too. ,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    Idyllic setting and wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely quiet room lovely staff and especially the dog! Loved the pool and sauna, great addition wish we could have stayed longer! Will definetly come again one day and would recommend to a friend definetly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.4
    Would not go there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really hard, no mirror in bathroom and we are both asthma sufferers amd were in a room above the pool which affected our chests and couldn't sleep all night because of it

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    Hidden gem. Rustic B & B with pool & sauna
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress could do with replacing on single bed.

    Rustic character, warm & cosy, great views, access to swimming pool & sauna. Private parking and middle of town. Comfy sheets & duvet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    A traditional country B&B in Hay with lovely staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room struggled to warm up, despite us turning up the radiator after closing the windows. Not sure why but it was a little chilly at times! The shower and bathroom in general was lovely, but the seal on the shower didn't seem to work and I had to essentially mop up after showering. This is a very country style inn/B&B and the main building is dark and somewhat rustic - not a problem for us, but something to be aware of if you're a modern hotel type of person!

    The room was very comfortable and clean. It had been newly refurbished and there was a slight smell of paint but the windows had been open to let air in. The swimming pool and sauna were a pleasant facility to have at this B&B. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful - nothing fancy but good, well-cooked food! Great location right in the centre of Hay on Wye. Our favourite part was the lovely Chrissy, who did everything (reception, helped with luggage, breakfast service, house-keeping). She is a great asset and was very friendly, efficient and knowledgable - asking if we needed dinner or trip recommendations. A really lovely lady!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast was excellent, the room was clean and the property...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small with no suitable place to dry hair and put on make-up. I found myself walking between bathroom mirror and the other mirror over the kettle. We were only there overnight so no matter really and the other facilities made up for it.

    Breakfast was excellent, the room was clean and the property is in a great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Scrambled eggs were very nice, staff were helpful and on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I actually stubbed and cut my toe on a screw on the shower step, so they need to be changed so the screws are flush. The bed quilt was very thick which meant we got overly hot at night. Could do with a small fridge in the room also.

    Scrambled eggs were very nice, staff were helpful and on hand to help with any questions. The location was brilliant, the village was small abd very nice area. Nice little bookshops around and eateries.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    6.3
    A great stay with lovely staff. Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was next to the pool so it was noisy, humid and smelt a little of chlorine. There was no hot water in the morning for a shower but there was plenty the night before.

    The breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    It was enjoyable and comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family/Twin Room (2 Adults, 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could have had facility to expel steam as it didn’t have a window.

    The Owner and Staff were very amenable, helpful and cheery. The breakfast was great, scrambled eggs cooked to perfection.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.4
    We throughly enjoyed our stay in Hay on Wye and have been several times before.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We both thought that although the room was clean it was a little tired and overpriced.

    The breakfast was excellent with cereal, fruit and cooked food offered. The location was fantastic very near both the centre of the town and to the river and the staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Very good value clean and friendly atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I did not like

    The bed was comfortable the breakfast good choice very well cooked the town was great with lots of interesting local shops

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    Very good location, carpark at the back of the property...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was poor, we were standing waiting at least 10 mins without acknowledgement whilst the staff member was chatting on the phone.

    Very good location, carpark at the back of the property which was a lifesaver given not much on street parking. Breakfast was yummy and lots of choices. Clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Perfect. It made a special weekend very precious.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. They were also extremely flexible in dealing with food allergies. Extremely friendly and helpful to our pet dog - a genuinely dog friendly hotel. The location was absolutely perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful staff, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family/Twin Room (2 Adults, 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park was very tight for large cars like ours. The heating couldn’t be switched off in the room.

    The staff were wonderful. The location was extremely central and although we didn’t use it, having a pool was great!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.5
    Excellent Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a building apart from main house above the pool which was fine, however this room was quite small and the shower was tiny. The wifi was slow and very weak while we were there (only one day).

    Excellent Location. Car park (little tight but dedicated spot). Cleanliness. Friendly staff. Warm room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Friendly, accommodating staff, fantastic food and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stay was too short!

    The food was wonderful, the staff amazing! Lovely comfortable room. Very central location which makes it very easy to explore. So great to not have to use a car whilst we were there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    A gem in Hay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A gem in Hay! Perfectly located and offers lovely spacious rooms, easy parking and a great breakfast! The pool and sauna are greatly appreciated after hours of walking. Our 3rd stay and won't be our last. Its our go to place in Hay on Wye and wound's stay anywhere else. Di, the owner is a great host and full of local knowledge and recommendations.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Enjoyed our stay very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a lovely stay at the Seven Stars in Hay. Arrived early and were let into room as it was available. Staff was most welcoming. Room and bed were very comfortable. Breakfast was great. It is always nice to stay at a well run, owner occupied facility. Didn't get a chance to try the pool, but that is a unique feature.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    A perfect place to stay for those few days of bookhunting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had no complaints!

    It was quiet and comfortable, with pleasant staff. Situated right there in Hay-on-Wye you can just park the car and forget it. Breakfast was excellent. We have stayed here before and will doubtless stay here again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    Friendly staff, lovely breakfast and I could keep up my...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dark downstairs needed more natural light.

    Friendly staff, lovely breakfast and I could keep up my physio as they have a swimming pool. Great location not far from anywhere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.6
    We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family/Twin Room (2 Adults, 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some way of drying towels and swimming costumes would be helpful.

    The pool was a definite plus, the owner was lovely, friendly and very helpful, and the location was perfect for browsing around the town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable stay at The Seven Stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing we loved it all

    The staff were very helpful and super friendly. The room was lovely and the fantastic pool area an added bonus. On site parking was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely stay perfect for a weekend getaway great location in the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent location, comfortable room, breakfast fantastic, ranging from cereals, fresh fruit, fruit juices, toast, jams and marmalade, followed by a hearty full English and a lighter option waitress was lovely, she also checked us in and showed us to our room, very welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    breakfast great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although clean we found some of the facilities tired and needed decoration and refurbishment.

    breakfast great. Pool brilliant. Staff really nice. Nice area to visit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Very much enjoyed the Hotel facilities, visiting the book shops, cafes and river walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more privacy in pool changing area would be nice, although there is a sign saying knock before entering and people are very considerate I would recommend you take a big towel ;)

    Old world charm with all mod cons. Room and bed clean and comfy. Breakfasts exceptionally good all fresh cooked. Loved the pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Perfect Location, lovely old property and Diana and the staff are superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Diana was lovely, she was very welcoming and got us booked into a nearby pub for dinner when we arrived. We had the small double room which was more than adequate for our stay. The breakfasts were amazing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Cosy b&b, amazing breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely b&b in a quirky old building, perfect location in the middle of Hay. Was lovely to relax in the pool after a long drive and the breakfast was amazing - smoked haddock and poached eggs yum yum. My partner said his full cooked breakfast was lovely too. We booked the 'small double' which was cosy for 2.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Location was very good, right in the middle of Hay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was clean but was on the small side with a view of the car park so felt a little cramped.

    Location was very good, right in the middle of Hay. The free parking was good to have and was secure. Breakfast choice was excellent and staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.5
    Great value for central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited 'cold' breakfast choice.

    Good cooked breakfast. Our room was in the main building so no problem with access, noise and smells from swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely quirky hotel on the main street, no traffic noise. We were on the top floor and it was just lovely. We enjoyed it so much we paid 100 instead of the 94 owed. It was perfect for us, straight out on the high street and all the lovely book shops. Booked the Old Black Lion for dinner perfect. The breakfast choice would suit anyone and my partner asked for something not on the menu and that was just fine. Chrissie who dealt with us was perfect. Swimming pool free of charge on site what more could you ask for.Would we book again, YES!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    Very convenient, and sufficiently comfortable, for our family of five.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small, the much-advertised indoor pool rather gloomy and dingy. WiFi was very poor--only worked for us in the dining room, at breakfast. Most annoying, when I wanted to go sit in the front lounge, in the evening and again in early morning, the access was locked. Why? It seemed all the staff had locked up and gone home.

    Super convenient location, right on the main drag of Hay on Wye. It's a picturesque old Tudor building with exposed beams, and little lattice windows offering a lovely view of the mountains. The breakfast was good. Thursday is market day, and we loved exploring the bookshops and buying fresh bread, cheese, and fruit at the stands.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: