Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Severn View Hotel 2 stars

Newport Street, Worcester, WR1 3NS, United Kingdom

#10 of 10 B&Bs and Inns in Worcester

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 747 hotel reviews

6.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.3

  • Comfort

    5.5

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    5.1

  • Staff

    6.9

  • Value for money

    5.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise from the bar late into the night but I realise there was an extension of hours due to the Royal Wedding

    The friendliness of the staff and the view of the river. The comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All surfaces were thick with dust, Floor unhoovered and black mould around shower. Several sacks of dirty linen left in the corridor. The bed appeared to have been made months ago. Small trip hazard unmarked which I tripped over three times.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not even a proper handle on the bathroom door (room 6) let alone a lock. Windows were bolted to the frame so no fire escape route. Screws sticking out of the bath panel which you could catch you toes on Sofa was disgustingly dirty. Crack in bath sink plus cracked window in the lounge area. Decorating materials in one of the cupboards. Broken toilet seat.

    Good breakfast and the bed was comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sash window in room broken and unable to open on a day when temps reached over 20 degrees. No wi-fi info in room. Smell of damp in bedroom. Bed was very uncomfortable. Shower fixing broken and inconsistent temp. Decor and hotel dated. Parking not free.

    Staff member was friendly and helpful. Beautiful little location overlooking the river

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not particularly clean certain lack of facilities it was as far as I could see the cheapest in town but could have been better

    The size of the room staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt awful. The window had a crack in it and was broken so I had to prop the window open with a toilet roll. There was mound in the shower. The room was poorly decorated and very old furniture.

    The staff were very friendly. The breakfast was execellent. The bed covers and towels were clean and fresh

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of traffic as windows old and falling apart - glass slipping from frame. Carpet didn’t feel clean

    The bed was very comfortable with crisp clean sheets. Tea and coffee facilities also in room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. room 11 was a dump.The shower was full of mould and a health hazard.Window wedged open with block of wood due to broken sash along with a cracked pain.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    .Good parking and close to the river and town

    Room very dated windows with slipped panes of glass because of this it very noisy all night, carpet very worn bath panel not fitted correctly. Bar shut at 2000 hrs. Breakfast was not appetising left most of it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not shown room prior to paying. Bathroom had no windows but extraction not working. Mildew everywhere in bathroom. Light point beside bed didn't work. "chef" didn't turn up for breakfast shift until 8.56am on Sunday (breakfast was from 9-10) I appreciate that this is a city centre hotel, predominantly used by contractors, we paid £190 for two nights which is a considerable sum. This was a last minute booking for the Malvern Show and I appreciate that I should have booked accommodation sooner. Restaurant area was full of stacked up furniture and partially painted skirting board.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As mentioned by previous visitors the windows were in poor condition but the room was warm enough.

    Friendly atmosphere. Proximity to the town centre. View over the Severn. Good breakfast. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decoration. Rooms not been touched since the 70s I reckon. I will try and claim my money back. Rubbish with a capital R

    There was nothing good about the hotel with exception of location. The place was not fit for pigs. Disgusting place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a dump. Mould i the shower. Bed sheets not changed. Bed not even made. Shower mouldy and empty bottles in the shower on the floor. Bath mat just thrown into the hand sink. Mattress needing changed. Door in the bathroom had been kicked and broken.

    Breakfast great. They should let the lady who served and made my breakfast run the place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a wreck and needs of loving care and renewal, including the Windows which are thoroughly rotted away in places. It stands near the river Severn but is entirely surrounded by a district council car park which requires£6 for overnight parking

    This property is in a lovely location but is a wreck.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every aspect. When I approached the property in my car, 1st impression was, "What a dingy looking establishment" !!!! Didn't get any better, people smoking outside, inside was very dark. Room was "let's say politely c**p". Shower image attached, was not fit for purpose, very musty smelling. (Didn't use it). Room adjacent had the extractor running all night, so sleeping was difficult. Window didn't have a lock. Breakfast was what looked like boiled bacon, shown a griddle for 10seconds to looked grilled, grilled tomato was so hard couldn't cut it with a knife. Needless to say, didn't eat anything. Went into town and found lots of good quality food. I also feel Booking.com are letting customers down having "crap" hotels on their own website !!

    No Comment

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On a very busy road and no double glazing! Hotel sadly was in advanced state of disrepair. e.g. tried to lessen traffic noise at night by closing old wooden shutters. They were way past it, stiff, wouldn't close and one fell off..dangerous! Room was clean enough and towels etc also but bathroom..ensuite..had ancient bath, no plug and the loo was cramped in between the bath and a wall. Fortunately we are quite slim but a fatty would not get in or would find it difficult getting out again!!

    Potentially great location overlooking Severn and very central. Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Let's itself down with ancient decor, furniture and shower room fittings. Window didn't open properly, a lot of mould in bathroom but otherwise clean. Decor brown and depressing. Even at this price would expect more contemporary decor and fittings and no excuse for mould in bathroom. At corner of major roads so expect road noise all the time.

    Clean, comfortable, well-located and reasonable cost.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much. It's an older building and needs some work, but if you want a place to use as a base, it's great.

    The convenient location and the friendly staff are a plus. It's reasonably priced as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place looked derelict from the outside, and the inside was no better, would have gone elsewhere, but it was too late to find somewhere. On the way up the stairs, there was a louvre door WITH A FIRE DOOR NOTICE ON IT,surely something wrong there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The bedroom was in keeping with the rest of the building, bath panel was split at the end by the sink and toilet, when i picked the towel of the towel rail, the rail fell on the floor, now to the mattress, it felt like it was made out of play doh. we arrived back to the hotel at 11.30pm, and were on our way home by 05.30am, although there was a breakfast included in the price, we decided that this was the last place we wanted to eat in.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No access, fabric of building falling to bits, outside timbers rotten. No bell on door, just a hole where bell had been removed. Very bad reputation with locals

    Nothing, this was exceptional poor, was not able to gain access, no bell on door, just a hole in the door. Must be avoided, told by locals the property have an exceptional bad reputation. The fabric of the building is falling to bits. Have complained to booking. com for maintaining such a bad property on their web site

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flying visit for work, stayed less than 24 hours. Issue with the toilet in our room - didn’t flush and foul smell. Have complained directly to the hotel but no response. No staff available on check out either.

    Free WiFi and breakfast was ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't stay as the smell was unpleasant and the atmosphere upset my daughter's breathing. There were electronic air fresheners and dehumidifiers. It was musky. The hotel was very run down from the outside and in need of a refurb inside. Bathroom had black mould around it. Paint peeling on windows. Noisy as situated in middle of ring road.

    We didn't stay as the smell was unpleasant and the atmosphere upset my daughter's breathing. Location has great potential.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hated everything. Room was cold. Windows broken. Bed was slightly broken. Had a horrible smell. Wasn’t given WiFi password. Marks on the pillowcases. Breakfast didn’t taste good.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn't work properly,water just trickled out,wasn't anyone about to complain to at that time of the morning on saturday,room was cold,a lot different to last year when I stayed

    The location and view was amazing,had to go to the university arena so it was just right.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't stay here. Had to get help locking room, two kettles neither worked, sink cracked, tiles cracked, mould to walls and bathroom, toilet pan grotty dirty awful, shower filled up in bottom tray if taps turned on, didnt risk feet in there. Tired decor in room, peeling paper. My friends toilet would not flush, my toilet did but traps all look full. Managers only response was should have said at check in, breakfast only 9 till 10 but based on other aspects didn't feel comfortable with it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a pile of dog poo in the pubs toilets. The window in the room's glass was cracked and the window stuck so had to be kept open (and therefore the noise from traffic was very noisy and kept us up. A group of men were making loads of noise from 11pm until 2am in the next door room. Then another one came back Around 2.30am and was locked out so was making loads of noise trying to break in. When he got in he spent over 30mins frantically shaking the room's door shouting for his friends to wake up (who had already left). When a member of staff let him in he then spent two hours arguing on his phone to his friends until after 4am. We didn't get any sleep! The bathroom was Mouldy! The list of problems goes on and on.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    The hotel was disgusting the room was freezing windows were cracked wooden frames were rotten management was very argumentative and didn't care about our concerns we paid over the odds for the room I have made a complaint to Worcester council about this dirty disgusting hovel of a hotel shall not be going back there

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dank mouldy in bathroom floor was uneven creaky

    The room was so cold windows were cracked wooden frame was rotten asked for a heater that was cold I wouldn't stay here again The hotel was not up to standard I would rather stay at faulty towers

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extremely basic; the furniture was very old and battered, the bed was extremely uncomfortable and the bathroom was tiny. My friend stayed in the room opposite and her shower didn’t work at all, when she informed staff of this at breakfast they didn’t really seem to care and just told her the manager wasn’t there. My stay was a Saturday night, so the street outside was extremely noisy and I wasn’t able to lock the window so didn’t feel 100% secure.

    The room was £40 for the night which included breakfast. Location is good, short walk from the city centre and university.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cracked sink. Leaky shower. Temp on hot tap very hot. Squeaky floors. Windows are old so they don't block out noise of road, which is constant- all night!

    The only good thing was a nice welcome and the breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filfthy twin room which should never be let to anyone - disgusting - whole place needs investment - sadly that’s hard for a small independent hotel to achieve

    Location and fact hotel changed our room having complained about the filth in the other one. .. feel sorry for small independent hotels in need of money for refurb but need income despite poor standards

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost everything.no vat receipt given despite repeated requests. Bedroom smelly.bathroom very bad condition dirty and cold and bad odour.furniture old and in poor condition.despite paying for breakfast only got 1 on the first day the other 3 days the bar and breakfast area were still void of life when I left for work at 07.30.This bad experience led me booking a hotel 30 miles away.So glad I did.would not recommend the Severn View to anyone.

    Only the location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was definitely in need of upgrading, sash window didn't fit, needs double glazing, for noise and draughts. Shower smelt damp, radiator not working fully, I was given an oil filled radiator at my request.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Chose this hotel for its location and price. Room in need of refurbishment, but clean and comfy. Staff friendly. Good communication even before we arrived.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updating in rooms although clean.

    Lovely welcome. Very central. Cosy bar with nice fireplace. Very pleasant and friendly bar manager. Nice breakfast. Good value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Definitely ready for redecoration - and reception area rather grim. Not a place for people who like things standard or pristine.

    Staff were friendly and welcoming. Comfortable bed. Quiet - very little noise from traffic or rest of building. Interesting old building with uneven floors. Clean as far as possible given major need for redecoration. Log fire in bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is "tired" and in need of improvements. My single room was very small and in need of re-decorations and some repairs eg. Crack in bathroom door and wall by bed. Carpets very old and desk cup stained and old. There is need of a new mattress which was very soft and uncomfortable.The shower had to be hand held as fixture broken. Also mould in shower unit. More concerning was the view from my window which was wired frosted obscured glass. Outside were old soaked mattresses and old broken furniture. The concern was that all these were at the bottom of a fire escape from higher bedrooms!

    The location was ideal for the Swan theatre. Good towels, tea and coffee making facilities and television. The full English breakfast was very good though a small pot of tea would have been preferable to a cup of hot water with a tea bag in!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are a number of stairs to negotiate which are not suitable for someone with a disability. No food other than breakfast served. There is a good restaurant nearby. It is very much a working mans pub.

    Nice welcome. Bed was really comfortable. Ideally situated for Bus and rail stations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shower water supply inadequate and only a trickle of water also shower head broken and could not be adjusted, shower door could only be opened a 1/3rd of the way as blocked by sink position. Tea making facilities required user plugging in the kettle ( located under a table) at skirting height and the tea/coffee and sugar, cup etc all located under the same table near floor level The breakfast consisted of precooked and reheated sausage and the coffee was bitter, Went out for breakfast on the following day

    The bed was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is in serious need of restoration and TLC. There were holes in the walls in the bedroom, The window frames were rotting with more gaps/holes than a sieve which meant the room was freezing. Carpets badly stained. The bath side didn't fit, toilet seat bracket broken, tiles alongside all cracked and worst of all the toilet bowl was marked with human matter. (no-one available late evening to complain to). This place is scandalously and disgustingly overpriced.

    The bedding and towels were white and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although there were clean towels every day and the bathroom was cleaned, the bed was never made and the sheets were changed once a week. The heating system for the shower was a little strange. There was a bathtub which seemed to be falling apart. Overall the bathroom desperately needs updating.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bedroom furniture outdated

    A little out dated bedroom furniture, some d i y Needed, but clean comfy had wifi and very friendly and bar down stairs good breakfast and close to everything

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dangerous plug socket, black mould in bathroom. Moved room because air freshener machine was over powering.

    Staff very accommodating - let us move room and did breakfast a few mins early so i didnt miss it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being on a main road, could do we having double glazing - also need better sound proofing between rooms.

    Good location, comfortable room, good breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty carpet throughout. V thin quilt & pillows! V poor shower so never used it. Miserable lady serving breakfast & sat in dark room no light on. Opened curtains once we asked.

    Location only

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not Able to lock door from inside better decor could do with updating plaster falling off ceiling in bathroom windows cracked pillows like pancakes radiator not working tidy

    Wasn't far to walk to main Street

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast...wasnt very warm at all. The toast was like warm bread not toast at all. The parking to the hotel was ridiculous ..we had to park by the aldi. Over the bridge..not good.

    In need of a makeover...clean but needs updating..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom The shower looked dirty Bed Was rock hard I’m now in pain with my back and leg Parking £6 for my stay thought that was bit high as I already paided for the room

    Was aloud pets and the dogs there was so friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired and run down property. It was not clean to a basic standard in the bathroom, windows sill etc.

    Location. Check in /bar guy very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One ceiling light not working,toilet handle broken so it took lots of pumping to flush, bathroom needs a complete refit, cracked , dirty tiles,cracked & dirty suite, all flooring needs replacing including the stair carpet so a complete freshen up with fresh paintwork is needed.

    The location was perfect & bed comfortable. The plus side is a bar if needed, I would say a one night stay is all you’d want or if you’re on a lads break then they might not be concerned about the cleanliness.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was in poor repair with a musty smell throughout bathroom mouldy windows mouldy very dated and furniture old and knocked about. This was not a pleasurable stay we were due to stay two nights but could not bear to stay another night even though we had paid for this. Payment was made as you booked in.

    There was nothing to like about this experience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bath/shower very small (family room) and could do with a good refurb, door wouldn't shut,double bed up close to the wall need to climb over hubby to get to the loo it was also right next to the radiator a very hot night.

    a good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little tatty and there was mould under the windows.The window glass was also mouldy and in a poor state of repair and decoration.The bathroom was poor with mould around the end of the bath and round the back of the toilet.I did not use the shower as it looked old.Also in the bathroom there was a box on the ceiling with electrical cables hanging out of it and with the box was held together with insulation tape,this could be unsafe.I would not recommend this place to anyone.We did not stop for the breakfast. The traffic noise from the very adjacent main road was also very annoying.

    Not very much (see below).The bed linen was fresh and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The black mold on the bathroom ceiling and the loud noise of the traffic and the very miserable and unhappy lady who served the zero choice greasy breakfast

    The price was the only good thing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired-looking bathroom in need of decoration; variable water pressure meant electric shower not good to use.

    Good location; great breakfast; comfortable bed; spacious room with reasonable view; overall great value

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was tiny. There were a lot of stains on the carpet, the bedding. The room was really worn and furniture ready for the skip. The shower had so much mould in it. I did not dare to shower and in my view it is a health concern. The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast although included is very basic. I would never stay here again. Yes it is cheap but I did not even undress. Instead slept with my clothes on. I would have asked for another room but the rooms from my friends were the same or worse so did not bother. This place is in a good location but needs a serious overhaul.

    The price. The breakfast although basic was well cooked. The staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The look of it. The reception. Old. No repairs.

    The room was ok, but the look of the entrance and the reception.... I haven't seen something more unappropriate in a very long time. It didn't look as a hotel at all. Not even as a hostel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The smell in our room was horrendous, they did have electronic air fresheners, but it did nothing to mask the smell. Nothing except location was very nice at all

    Not an awfull lot, just the location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!!!!!

    Most of the staff didn’t speak any English, the room was damp and mouldy in the bathroom. Unable to open window due to the wooden frame having holes in, which also let all the traffic noise in, approx 6ft from a main Rd. If u r looking for somewhere to stay, go anywhere but here!!!! Health and safety have been informed!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with some small scale repairs, decoration and maintenance. Condensation mould, broken door closers & poor decor gives an air of neglect.

    Location and an independent hotel. Old building with some character.I find squeaky floor boards, meandering corridors adds to the character of a place. Breakfast was fairly standard, staff friendly enough.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room layout was a bit awkward, and the door locks unnecessarily awkward hard to lock via the inside twist rather than just lockcit with a key or it lock upon closing the door

    Location was good, anything i needed was within 10min walking distance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting was poor, some of the light bulbs were off.

    The view from the room was brilliant and the wooden desk was impressive. Appreciated the tea and coffee as well. Heating was on point too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The street right under window was horribly noisy, it made it difficult to sleep the first night. Tiles around the bath in bathroom were of questionable cleanness.

    The receptionist/bar staff guy was very friendly. Returning keys was the easiest I've ever encountered, just throw keys into designated place - no issues whatsoever with leaving early (we needed to leave at 6:00 A.M.!)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tatty both inside and out. Looks nothing like the pics. No double glazing and right by main road so traffic very noisy.

    Room was clean but very tired

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The standard of the bathroom, although it was clean it was dated and tired. But did the job.

    Excellent value with clean comfortable beds. Reception staff very cheerful, helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is tired and probably doesn't generate enough revenue to improve maintenance that looked a little ad hoc. Breakfast only started at 08.00 which was too late.

    It was available. Nice friendly greeting at check in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room filthy. Window cracked curtains did not fit properly and could have done with an iron. Toilet sink cracked. Stairs could have done with a wash and hover. More like a work men’s hostel

    Breakfast was ok people were ok

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I know the hotel suffered from the great flood in 2013, nevertheless, the bathrooms should be fixed and reconstructed because sometimes you could find mold in the shower due to the humidity that hit the building. Also, I would prefer to have a breakfast from 7 am to 9.30 am at least.

    I always appreciate happy and smiley stuff which was a case of the Severn Hotel, amazing views on the river Severn. I would recommend this hotel to couples and friends.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Far too ran down ,clapped out needs Health and safety check Cannot recommend to anyone

    Unfortunately This was one of the worst places I have stayed so there was nothing I liked.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The en-suite was in need of decoration, but for one night and for the price it was acceptable.

    I was travelling alone but felt safe. The location was perfect for me to visit my daughter who is a student at University and the adjacent car park very useful as I bought a 24 hour ticket so could come and go. Room looked out over the river and on the top floor so it was quiet at night apart from traffic noise but this wasn't a problem. The bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unbelievably good value. Don't expect the Ritz, what you'll get is friendly staff, clean but dated rooms in an old building, the sheets and duvet surprisingly good quality even though the bed is a little shaky, functioning shower-room, though would benefit from re-siliconing, great location and the best bit... when I expected perhaps a bowl of cereal, a full English breakfast included in the price of the room. I'll be back!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel advertises that it has parking. It doesn't. There is a pay and display round the back - £6 for 24 hours. The detail on the site is misleading. I booked this hotel as it is advertised as pet friendly. Their own website says your pets are welcome to stay with you. I alerted them to the fact I had 2 dogs in the additional information box. When I arrived after a 5-hour drive, I was told that dogs are not allowed except in the bar downstairs. Eventually, after trying to contact the owner, my booking was honoured, but I was told to keep the dogs in the bathroom - too small for even one dog bed! The shower was dire - black mound all around. When I came to shower in the morning, there was no water in the shower. I reported it and was told the owner would be informed. Had to wash in the basin.

    Location - l specifically chose this hotel because it is on the riverside walk and 5 mins from the racecourse for dog walking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    VERY OUTDATED furniture carpets tatty... windows looked like they could fall out at any time... decor dull and depressing... was disappointed in that after specifying at time of booking that gluten free food was required that the morning waitress did not understand my needs due to poor english, I asked for extra bacon instead of sausages which i didn't get and no gluten free bread was available, My breakfast ended up being 1 rasher of bacon 1 egg and a spoonful of beans, maybe this could be addressed.

    bed comfy....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked someone to greet me, maybe a bell to ring and ,on my way up to my room, I would have appreciated clear passage rather than walking over piles of dirty linen, past bags of rubbish and how about a light over the step down on the first landing? Breakfast. Still no friendly ," Good morning" just, " No, I could not sit at a four table in the bright area, I must sit in the dimly lit approach room with piles of chairs and dilapidated furniture for company. Full English was reasonable but no side plate just two pieces of toast stuck on the side of the breakfast plate, one Flora and one cup of coffee! I went out to breakfast the next day!!

    Sparkling white sheets and lovely fluffy white towels.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately no free parking at property one adjacent was £6 for 24hours Would have been nice to have a toaster in the breakfast area so could make more to go with the delicious full English breakfast as just one slice came with it.

    Staff very helpful and cheerful bar good prices Tea and coffee facilities in the room

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: