Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sherbourne House 4 stars

8 Norwich Road, Attleborough, NR17 2JX, United Kingdom

#3 of 6 hotels in Attleborough

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 219 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    2.5
    Nightmare place to stay if a wedding is taking place - and rooms are sweltering in the summer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was boiling hot, the blinds in our room facing the sun had been left open and the windows shut, and our rooms were like ovens. The rooms were over the dance floor and so the DJ was directly under us, so we sweltered and bounced around to the music. The windows dropped down from the top and only opened about four inches, and so it was impossible to get any draught through; the fan in the wardrobe was noisy and so were the guests and the DJ -and by now it was still only 5.30 pm! We were unable to enjoy any of the promised 'country house' facilities, such as sitting in the garden, or the conservatory, or anywhere downstairs due to the fact that it had all been rented out for the wedding. We paid £190 for two rooms for one night, and my cousins a similar sum as they stayed for two nights. It was so bad that we went out at 6.30 pm, and stayed out until after midnight until we had no where else to go. The wedding was drawing to a close when we got back and the music had been turned off, but there were guests and noise around until gone 1.00 am. The room was still sweltering and the only way to get air in was to leave the blinds up a bit at the bottom, but which meant that the street lights outside shone straight into our faces on the pillows! It is close to a very noisy road outside, which doesn't help you sleep if you have to have the windows open. Breakfast was very good, but we had people standing on chairs very close to us as we ate, taking down fairy lights and clearing up from the wedding party. As we went to leave we were accused of not having paid (we paid on arrival) and when we raised the issue of the wedding the attitude was complete unconcern. When I asked why they didn't insist on any weddings booking all the rooms, they said that the wedding parties don't want to. The attitude is well, it's just your bad luck if we rent out the building whilst you are here.

    I have given low scores to all questions because of the situation we found ourselves in at Sherborne House. It is actually a very nice, clean and comfortable place to stay BUT there was a wedding party in full swing when we arrived late afternoon, and the member of staff who came to meet us, instead of taking us round to the front door to get to the reception area, took us and our suitcases through the conservatory, right across the dance floor and past the bride and her guests and the DJ. It was embarrassing, and if I had been the bride, I would have been livid. When we asked about the wedding and how long it would go on, the member of staff said it would be very late, and they were having another serving of food around 9.00pm for more guests. When we asked why we hadn't been warned about the wedding she swore blind that we should have been notified. Hmmmmm.....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    The accommodation was well presented, room was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative feedback at all

    The accommodation was well presented, room was comfortable. There was even a cafetiere of growing coffee in the room. Staff were lovely. Food was fresh , beautifully cooked and presented

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Liked the personal feel as opposed to a large chain hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was allocated a ground floor room which wasn’t ideal as a female travelling alone and would have liked to have opened windows at night as it was quite warm. Saying that I did not request a move but feel confident that would have been accommodated.

    The staff were incredibly welcoming and attentive without being intrusive. I went for the light bite for breakfast and ordered an omelette - it was huge!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Very good and only a short distance from where we were working next day.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower

    The staff were really helpful as they rang us to let us know we had left something behind. The bed was really comfortable, breakfast was excellent but the shower took a long while to heat the water.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.7
    It served a purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only found that the restaurant was not open after we had booked. We had a family reunion of 9 people who could have been accommodated but we had to look elsewhere.

    The choices for breakfast was good, food was good as was the service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.3
    Okay,but just okay for a four star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dinner option which seems strange as it's four star!!! Asked for fried bread for breakfast they didn't do it,again how hard is that. Tired decor on stairwell,shower ran cold after a few minutes. Not good when I had a 7 hr journey in front of me. Very very noisy.

    Friendly lady in reception on arrival,couldn't have done more to help.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    4.6
    Clean rooms reasonable bathroom facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon check-in there was no welcome given, lady behind desk couldn't find our check in paperwork or booking, eventually she sorted us out a key to a room that was occupied. When we went back to the reception to tell her wrong room she as good as threw a key to the next room across the desk and very rudely said go next door. There where no dining facilities at the hotel, and the hotel wanted to charge us for eating a takeaway meal on the premesis Finally when I told the reception lady we would be leaving very early the next day and could we check out that night she took my payment via card machine but did not give me a propper invoice for my stay. Low and behold come Tuesday morning the hotel has charged my credit card so they have had the money twice. I will struggle to reccomend this place

    Clean rooms reasonable bathroom facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The House is very beautiful and spotlessly clean its in the perfect position for the main shops. All the staff are lovely and friendly i would recommend this place to my family and friends

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    Norwich/Snetterton weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were told there would be not issue getting in and out of the car park with our bike trailer. The Car park could take several cars but unfortunately the shape was extremely difficult to in and out of for us.

    Helpful, friendly accommodating staff. Breakfasts were excellent. Lovely big bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Be smart and safe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 8 has issues with pack testing which is now two years out of date, the bathroom sink is loose, the door smacks the edge of the bath and the positioning of the toilet holder is in the wrong place, were it is now the paper can get wet, just move to next to the towel rail, the towel rail securing screws are proud of the towel rail holder, which means there is know countersunk holes.

    The property is very good, we had stayed their before, some 4 years ago now, ideal position for shops and the A11 into Norwich

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely big room with Windows that open. Staff were very helpful with taxi numbers to get around. Although you do need to book ahead as it's a bit out of the way. Peaceful garden and great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Incredibly clean, and located in beautiful grounds with friendly staff/owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the mattress was probably the worst Iv ever slept on. Literally zero support so I got very little sleep. The shower was also on the wrong side of what is a reasonable flow rate. Water saving is important but usability should also play a part.

    The property is a beautifully well kept period building in a great location with a good breakfast. The rooms were very spacious and clean. The staff were very pleasant and check in/out was very straight forward.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Would be excellent with a bit more attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some electrical safety concerns that I reported to the staff in writing. Room door lock difficult to use, fiddly to get the key to turn. Extractor in shower room didn't appear to work. Power cord for shower too short, hard to reach without standing on a chair.

    Breakfast, cleanliness, polite staff, reasonably quiet location, convenient for Snetterton

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Was just nice - I have said design because I don’t really know what your other options all mean- luxury would be over the top and what do you mean by modern?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Great
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was my thrid stay at the hotel. Really good to find a lovely dog friendly hotel with good size bedrooms and early breakfasts. Not too far from shops/supermakets either but in a quite location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable, convenient but probably not the best for our purpose.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staying there after a quite warm day without air con we needed to sleep with the windows open which leads to hearing the traffic on the nearby road and on the main / bypass road which was noticeable throughout the night. The restaurant was not open, we were aware of this before we arrived, but this appeared to matched the majority of the eating establishments in Attleborough on a Sunday evening. It probably is not the best accommodation for a Sunday overnight with an early departure but it was all that we could find in that area. Probably related to the comment above the value for money was not great. If the restaurant was available and time had allowed for a breakfast it would have seemed better.

    The staff were helpful and welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable and the free bonus of running around in the shower to get wet was much appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    An impromptu overnight stay proved to be a really lovely experience. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Found the step down from the bath to the floor a bit tricky as couldn't open the shower screen far enough as it banged on the sink.

    Lovely room, bed was fantastic. Everywhere was super clean. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant staff and comfortable hotel in a very nice small country house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of radiator in the bathroom. My room was not serviced on my second day. I said nothing, as it was no big deal as a solo traveller.

    Did not eat here as was meeting friends. My ground floor room exceeded expectations. Large, well furnished and comfortable. Nice towels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Would definately return. Thank you
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was like a torture chamber, from a boiling hot dribble to a freezing cold spittle! But bath made up for it.

    Lovely décor, and very comfortable. Good size room and bathroom Bottled water and plenty of hot drink making ingredients

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.6
    Lovely breakfast in clean spacious suroundings, friendly hotel, enjoyed our stay.
    • With a pet
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't really like. However first time I stayed I was on second level this time on ground floor. Ground floor feels too near to main entrance and reception desk. But that cannot be helped it was only room free.

    Friendly welcome, comfortable and spacious room, excellent in room tea making faculties, clean, good side television and Wi-Fi was good.Possible to have early breakfast even on weekends. Most importantly my dog was welcome to stay too!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.3
    Really great experience, great location only issue is the water pressure’s not good for showers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only issues was the water pressure in the bathroom. It made it very difficult to have a good shower, and impossible to wash long hair, which put a bit of a damper on getting ready in the morning!

    Very friendly staff and the room facilities were really great. It’s a quick walk into Attleborough town centre and a short drove from Norwich which makes shopping and eating easy. Breakfast was tasty. Would recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.5
    It was good
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The key for the front door was difficult to use and open the door.

    The place was comfy, warm and the people friendly. They were good about our two dogs. It provided us with what we needed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.2
    A very comfortable overnight stay - kind and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was disappointing given the low water pressure.

    A well equipped room with all the necessary amenities - very comfortable. Excellent breakfast and the hotel were very accommodating when I had to call the RAC out because of a puncture and an immovable locking wheel nut.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    9.6
    Lovely Breakfast, good quality sausages, egg, bacon.
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely Breakfast, good quality sausages, egg, bacon. Along with baked beans and hash browns. Lovely big pot of tea. Orange juice, apple juice. And best thing of all serve from 7am! I am a frequent traveller and always missing the breakfasts at hotels as they serve 8am or even 9am upwards on a weekend. Defininity putting this as my favourite choice of hotel when traveling to Norwich (which I do at least every other month throughout the year). Great Room; nice cosy with decent sized television. Posh toiletries, good cookies for tea, decent amount of milks and also a variety of coffee. Dog Friendly; staff made my dog truly feel like a guest. There wasn't simply dispassionate tolerance of a dog, which is so common at many hotels. Being dog friendly highly important as I travel every other week to hotels with my dog as I compete with him I Dog Agility. This involes early starts too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.7
    Nice rooms and good value for money if all you want for the night is a bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathrooms were small, water pressure was poor and there is no normal bar/restaurant. We did not eat there at all as the restaurant was shut on Friday and it never looked like what they called the bar was ever open.

    Rooms were nice and well appointed, parking was adequate, hotel was very clean, bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    5.4
    Terrible location of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given the room right next to reception on the ground floor. Literally our bedroom door is right next to where propel check in, pass but to go to breakfast or just on their way out the door. From 6:15am, the noise was ridiculous. The kitchen staff shouting up and down the coridoor constantly, with no consideration for guests (who have paid £100 to get some rest!)

    Location was good for what we needed. The room was clean and room.facilities fine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Had a great stay...............................................
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The plumbing in room 1, needs updating. Shower pressure is not sufficient for a proper flow !

    Great location, staff friendly and efficient. Shops and restaurants close by.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Very nice all round.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The road was noisy, so should we stay again we would request a room away from the road.

    Excellent breakfast. Very comfortable bed. Nicely furnished room. Very pleasant staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    For a B&B at a reasonable price cannot grumble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a bit dusty behind radiator and there was supposed to be an alarm clock in the bedroom.

    It was an all round comfortable stay, from comfortable bed to the large breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    No restaurant open at hotel very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of hot water, limited to washing rather than shower or bath as would not have been or enough, had to run tap at sink for a long time even for a wash

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    5.4
    Basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of room per night was comparable to a much nicer hotel nearby in terms of facilities so in terms of value it seemed poor. They did not have any butter available at breakfast which was a surprise and we were asked each day what time we would be down for breakfast the next day which was unrelaxing and also surprising as it felt like we were kind of held to a time.

    The welcome lady was nice and offered us a choice of rooms available which was considerate.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.5
    Nice B&B
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a hotel it's a B&B. Although signage outside says otherwise. It no longer has a chef for evening meals. This was mentioned on website and booking confirmation. Subsequentlythis meant there was no access to conservatory area or bar or area to relax, outside bedroom once everyone had checked in. Only number to dial for emergency. Which I felt wasn't pointed out clearly.

    Good walking distance to Attleborough. Lovely large room. Good breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    loverly property,good location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower didn't have a lot of pressure but was still fine.

    Loverly property friendly staff. Ideally situated for the town and surrounding area. Comfortable bed good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.1
    Previously stayed in nice rooms, but this time got the box room, so not as impressed as previously.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room, bath and shower within bath. Only one sachet of coffee and no sugar in room. Road noise and thin walls did not help

    Basic room no better than Travel Lodge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    Good quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame it no longer does evening meals and the in room details still give information as if it does. Breakfast was very nice and plenty of choice for everyone.

    Lovely property in ideal location. Very clean and quiet. Ideal for Snetterton.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.1
    Review of Sherbourne House Hotel,A
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is really bed and breakfast and does not have hotel features such as a lounge,bar,snacks etc.It was stated on the booking that the restaurant is closed and a list of local eating establishments is provided.

    Very clean and comfortable.Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    5.8
    Lovely looking hotel but very, very disappointed with the facilities on offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we checked in, we were greeted by a young girl (transpires she was 17) who took us to reception. I enquired as to what time the bar opened. Her response... it isn't... tonight or tomorrow... food?..... not tonight or tomorrow.. Se was the only member of staff in the hotel and as she was only 17 she said she could not serve us alcohol at all. What happens if we have any issues? Ring the number in the room which forwards to the manager who only lives down the road.... Very, very disappointing as there were a few of us who had come away for the weekend and one of the ladies in the group was celebrating her birthday. We checked out on the Sunday morning and expressed our disappointment to the manager (I presume, as no-one wore any kind of identification). She informed us the hotel is owned by a German gentleman who rarely visits the hotel as he is pre-occupied with the others he has in Germany. He sends his young apprentices over to improve their English. Not sure if he is aware, or even cares if any of his guests leave disappointed...

    Lovely looking hotel and the room was very nice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    4.6
    This is a B&B, not a hotel. Disappointing.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, floor was bitty like it had only had a quick vacuum between guests. In fairness, bathroom and bed were immaculately clean. Tiny, ancient tv on the wall and slow wifi. Road noise was very irritating, and thanks to flood lights on the outside of the property shining up, the room was illuminated all night. Not helped by thin curtains and a poorly fitting blind. The room was boiling hot thanks to a radiator that wouldn't turn off, so having the windows opened made the road noise even more intrusive. Customer service is non existent. No pleasantries, no 'if there is anything we can do...', just handed a key and told my room number. Same at checking out, wasn't asked if I'd had a nice stay, or was everything alright, just handed a bill in silence. Very odd. Biggest annoyance was the restaurant. Or total lack of. Despite advertising as being a hotel with a restaurant, despite the book in the room telling you to ask at reception about today's menu, despite the huge sign at the end of the driveway saying 'Sherbourne House Hotel, The Restaurant - Attleborough', they don't do food. After a very long day all I wanted was a quick bite to eat at the hotel then straight to bed. Instead, I had to go back out. Had I known this was just a B&B, I wouldn't have booked it, and as such it represents poor value for money. Very disappointing, would not stay here again.

    Breakfast was ok. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    4.2
    Stay at the Mulberry Hotel instead!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't know that there wasn't a restaurant until I booked, 1 slice of toast and 1 poached egg at breakfast, stingiest of all the places I have been too. On check out no effort was made to ask me how my stay was etc, stony silence! I noticed that the places they recommend you to eat in Attleborough don't include the Mulberry presumably because it is a fellow hotel-I wish I had stayed there instead-food drink and service great and I bet the rooms were nicer and the cost was the same!

    Friendly staff at breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Fabulous, welcoming, clean and professional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water pressure in the shower was a little weak in our room.....an electric shower or shower head increased the water spray might be better But there was a good sized bath if you preferred

    Lovely, friendly, fabulous staff. My mum was utterly enchanted by it

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    5.4
    Could do much better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very few staff around. the bar wasn't staffed on the Friday evening and the restaurant wasn't open as the only person who seemed to be on duty was only 17. A private party was booked in on the Saturday night and so the bar and restaurant wasn't available to hotel residents.

    the comfort and facilities in the room Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    8.8
    Great quality which merits the price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar and restaurant on-site, but not a big issue as they were available nearby.

    Must be the best B&B in Attleborough. Immaculate and everything a hotel guest might need provided. 5 minutes walk to the (limited) restaurants and pubs in the town centre. Good service, and good quality breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    Clean, spacious and comfortable establishment with good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom window in room 7 needs net curtain to afford a little more privacy

    Clean, spacious and comfortable establishment, well appointed rooms, breakfast was hot and served immediately rather than being left standing around

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel in good location
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice welcoming and comfortable stay, Chinese restaurant within 3-4 minutes walk was excellent and Griffin pub was open till late as the hotel restaurant and bar were closed early due to being low season.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    9.6
    Excellent Stay, Very Quiet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The king bed was two singles put together, so there was a gap in the middle...

    The breakfast was served fresh and hot, and was very delicious. It was nice to have fresh pressed hot coffee as well.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    5.4
    Hotel or B&B?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place was described as a hotel/restaurant, but had no food other than breakfast (not included) and the bar was closed both Saturday & Sunday. The heating did not work in my room. The friendly receptionist gave us an electric heater. Shower difficult to operate, so used the bath.

    Friendly receptionist, well presented historic country house. Good wi-fi

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    5.8
    Clean and comfortable but really a B & B rather than a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Pleasant but the website is misleading. Despite their advertising showing evening meals they have ceased doing this some time ago. We were busy and I had booked the hotel because it did evening meals - the lack of this has coloured my views

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    5.0
    The room was lovely,it was the lack of staff, and the fact...
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of customer care, a chap who couldn't speak English and did not know what I wanted!!! No staff around at night, the main door was locked at 2.00pm. Restaurant was advertised open, but it was closed

    The room was lovely,it was the lack of staff, and the fact the bar and restaurant was not open on a Saturday night as it was advertised as open...Breakfast was fine except the waitress talking about her sister operation while I was eating!!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    Exceptional
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. They were particularly kind in handling the knock-on effects of a problem with our car just when we needed to leave for a wedding. I do not normally write reviews but am doing so in this case because of the exceptional nature of the way we were looked after.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    9.6
    A very cosy hotel. Like home from home. Great ambience!
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was poor. I realise the water pressure is low but the tap water/loo pressure was fine?

    Beds/pillows/bedding - very comfy. Room very clean and well appointed. Breakfast very tasty. Ambience of the hotel was very homely/comfortable!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    6.7
    October weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise was disturbing and blinds did not fully shut out the street lighting. No real possibility of eating in the hotel as so few other visitors accept for Saturday night.

    Staff very friendly and breakfastexcellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    7.9
    Staff very helpful and decor really lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress not to comfy, kettle didn't turn off, no where other than bed to sit and watch TV and noisy from road. Sat nav doesn't pick up address and yet hotel doesn't give alternative post code, even though they told me it happens all the time. I got sent cross country!!

    Staff very helpful and decor really lovely.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    7.5
    Staff generally lacking a little professionalism
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointing welcome from member of staff on reception, when we arrived - not very warm to say the least! Also, she only had reservation noted for one room for one night rather than two rooms for two nights, although all OK at the end of the day. Credit card machine prints all slips in German!

    Room & other facilities were fine without being exceptional. Only ate breakfast at the hotel, but again it was fine with a good choice, including vegetarian.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    8.8
    lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    only a small thing , we had to ask for toilet roll as none in bathroom when we arrived ,also a small bin in bathroom would have been nice .

    very comfortable room ,very clean ,good location to norwich ,friendly staff and lovely hot cooked breakfast . Would stay here again without hesitation .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    7.9
    The bed was very comfortable, a great size room and a nice...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I arrived I received little information and no food was being served on the Monday night. I now however know that if you ring in advance and ask for something basic they will have it waiting for you. Food is served from Tues.

    The bed was very comfortable, a great size room and a nice location close to the town centre. Very friendly staff and the breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    6.7
    Good and Bad
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi very poor and they wouldn't take me seriously over that. Lots of noise in the bedroom - was claimed was the fan from the kitchen but it was a big grinding sound every couple of minutes lasting 5 or 10 seconds. All evening and all the follwing morning.

    Dinner and breakfast good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    5.8
    Will not use this place again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No draught cider. Run out of draught beer. Only 2 bottled ciders available.

    The room was spacious and clean but very hot. No air conditioning and no fan supplied. Noise from nearby busy road was annoying when windows were open.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    10
    A lovely place to stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better!

    The room was equipped with everything that we needed and more we were very impressed. We liked little extras like cotton buds, cotton wool, tissues, biscuits, iron and ironing board. The bed was really comfortable with lovely soft linen. We only met one member of staff who was very polite, helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    5.4
    Woeful wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is terrible. Stayed here a couple of times and always the same. Shouldn't be allowed to advertise this as free wifi when it clearly doesn't work.

    Excellent breakfast friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    10
    Excellent to return here and find it just as good as on first visit last year!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - it's all good.

    Comfortable and welcoming place and people, good secure off-road parking. Beds and linen v high quality and very comfortable. Terrific breakfast - I miss the delicious 2 bacon/2 sausage/2 egg combination... plus very good strong coffee, vital with early starts for Snetterton race weekend!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    8.5
    Good for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property and bedrooms were really well cared for and clean. The evening meal was excellent. A small quiet hotel in a quiet location - good for an overnight stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    6.7
    Not really value for money, rather overpriced. We won't return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Running out of toilet roll in the night with no spare rolls around so had to use tissues. The road noise, despite requesting a room away from the road we were still at the front.

    The garden was pleasant The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Very comfy bed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice breakfast, comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    We had a lovely stay with local amenities on our door stop.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not informed of our room being on the third floor. It wasn't ideal for our dog.

    The cooked breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.7
    The shower had a very poor pressure!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower had a very poor pressure! And took 10mins to become an acceptable temperature. It was quicker to have a bath.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Perfect. Breakfast superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows a little lumpy.

    Bed linen was exceptionally clean and smelt wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    early breakfast time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    early breakfast time..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel perfect location for our trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was small

    Hotel staff very friendly and welcoming hotel clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    The shower in Room 1 needs some attention.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower in Room 1 needs some attention.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Touring by bicycle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Touring by bicycle. Storage of bikes v good. Great breakfast. Welcoming & helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Very satisfying
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant

    Position

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Very polite and professional

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    3.8
    Run down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Good breakfast, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower ran cold every day and the water pressure was quite low.

    Good breakfast, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: