Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sherbrooke Castle Hotel 4 stars

11 Sherbrooke Avenue, South, Glasgow, G41 4PG, United Kingdom

#12 of 76 hotels in Glasgow

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 347 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Wonderful. Great room with a view of the church across the street. Reception was very accommodating - very friendly. Food was excellent. On-site parking was a plus as was the short walk to the train plat form. Best place to stay in Glasgow!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the old building was excellent, may be because old building so when we step on the floor some of them will have step sound. But overall is okay and great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    2.9
    Disappointing, tired, drab and need to improve customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service, poor communication, poor complaint resolution. Halls and corridors unclean and tired. We were located directly about kitchen extractors which were left on all night. 2 wakes taking place at the time of out arrival. No space to move, no space to sit inside and all staff completely occupied with this. We should have been given a "heads-up" before our arrival. My husband complained and got very poor customer service in return.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely Beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely Beautiful. The staff were lovely and helpful. Very clean and tidy. The food at the restaurant was excellent and breakfast was really nice with a choice of options.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.8
    Staff were fantastic and very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were fantastic and very friendly. We also had dinner at the hotel and it was really nice at a reasonable price. Extra points for having a couple of decent beers on draft too!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.0
    Room in a parking lot was not the experience we paid for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the pictures and description I got the impression we were booking a night in a castle, unfortunately this wasn't the case. We were in a back room in the parking lot, and were woken up at 6.30 am by a delivery van blaring loud music. Then woken up again at 7am by another van. The bed was very hard and uncomfortable, the grout in the bathroom tiles had been repaired some years ago using silicon, which had subsequently turned brown and pealed off. The shower had some sort of loud pump to empty the drain. Certainly not the castle experience we had hoped for. There are lots of other places in Glasgow, and I recommend staying somewhere else!

    The staff were lovely, and the location was convenient and in a great suburb.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Experiência Fantástica no Castelo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room does not have air conditioning and they are quite warm in summer. And the worst that still turn on the central heating. Hard to understand. To make matters worse, the windows open little and are very difficult to sleep in the heat. The internet in the rooms is also not very good and has no safe.

    The castle is wonderful and the accommodations very good too. The room is huge and the bathroom too. The shower is excellent. The cleanliness was impeccable and the location in a prime Glasgow neighborhood is perfect for those who enjoy tranquility. But it is far from downtown. The breakfast also has lots of variety and is very good. And finally, the gift offered for our wedding anniversary.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Exceptional on every level
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a fabulous stay at the property. Amazing food, lovely friendly staff which is always the case in Glasgow. Owner just lovely and wanted our stay to be nothing but exceptional. What a beautiful hotel, in a lovely area in Glasgow. Can’t rate it highly enough. O and my white wine was delicious and very cold which is a must for me. We will Definetly stay here again. The ambience was perfect

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Overall a pleasant stay : Mr. & Mrs. SEARLE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we occupied on our 2ND STAY (20th May) really needs a large fan permanently installed . Situated above the hotel's kitchen , this twin room does get very warm during evening mealtime periods . Outside temp was only in the low 20's C on relevant evening so heat from kitchen & maybe kitchen flue caused this 'heat issue.' Before our 1st arrival (3RD MAY) we notified hotel that my wife does have asthma so our room temperature was an issue for us . The small desk fan supplied by reception helped a little .

    Good quiet location , comfortatable beds , good breakfast , polite & helpful staff . We appreciated the chilled drinks in bar .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    First class Hotel with first class staff. Thank you so much.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked this as a last minute booking. Hotel was fantastic and the staff were first class. We stayed in the cottages as we had to take our dog. Rooms were fantastic and got to eat our breakfast in the library. Hotel could not have been more helpful and accommodating. There was even a dog bed in our beautiful room and a dog bowl. Loved, loved, loved this place and would certainly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    we felt very lucky to have chosen this excellent hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good.

    I would highly recommend this excellent hotel. Lovely food, excellent service, 2 minutes to the train station, 1 stop to the city, pretty much a brand new room , lovely outlook, good value for the high quality provided.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    A perfect place for a soujourn, warm and friendly welcome, comfort and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good, nothing to suggest.

    Excellent assistance from staff with bags from the car, warmest of greetings, upgraded room to one with fantastic views, fabulous bathroom, supersoft towels, crisp white sheets, comfortable furniture, the whole experience was one of luxury.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.3
    Great night sleep, but would avoid the restaurant on busy nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had high expectations for the Sherbrooke Restaurant after reading the reviews but was sadly disappointed by the food and in particular the service. We were placed in the library for dinner, a small room separate to the restaurant but was busy when we arrived. My partner ordered a soup for starter, there were no issue here with the food or the service at this point, however we had a very long wait for our mains, a standard fish and chips and a salmon dish. The salmon was dry and over cooked as was the other fish. By the time we had finished our mains the small library had emptied. We had hoped to order a desert but after a 45 minute wait for our plates to be cleared and for the menu's to be brought out we gave up and complained at the front desk. Overall disappointing and would avoid on busy nights as the quality was definitely affected by this.

    The room was comfortable and the bed was perfect for a good nights sleep. The breakfast was excellent and a great start to our day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    We want to come back ASAP!
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything!

    The hotel was stunningly beautiful and the staff was incredibly friendly! We had the best time in Glasgow with the help of their recommendations :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    This is Scotland's hidden treasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - everything was great.

    This property is breathtaking. With suitable on-site parking, the staff at the hotel are indeed there to meet your every need. The room was amazing with every needed amenity. It was very clean as if it had now been built just for us. The breakfast was really nice with a wide variety of options to choose from. Train station down the street which takes you to the city centre and bus stop outside hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    We really enjoyed our two nights at Sherbrooke Castle hotel & will certainly stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps there could be a more extensive selection of fresh fruit for breakfast.

    Our suite was spacious, yet cosy. We had a very comfy bed & we enjoyed the good quality tea, coffee & biscuits!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    6.7
    This trip was a valentines trip is booked as a surprise for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This trip was a valentines trip is booked as a surprise for my partner. I'd phoned up to pre pay for a junior suite as I didn't want to pay when arriving with my partner. I'd also pre paid for chocolate covered strawberries to be put in the room in the total amount which was pre paid and taken previously. When we arrived at the property the receptionist tried to take the payment for the room I explained that I'd already paid and had ordered chocolate strawberries. The woman then checked her system and said oh yes you have! Finally had our key and got to our room which was lovely. Old fashioned but I expected that with this hotel property. But no chocolate covered strawberries. I didn't not phone and ask for them as I felt like it would've ruined the surprise for my partner and felt like the receptionist should've checked booking. We booked into the restaurant in the evening and we cannot fault our food we both had steaks cooked to perfection really enjoyed our meal!!! I found the room very very warm at night but being heavily pregnant I put it down to that. The next morning we ordered breakfast in bed again I cannot fault the food was really yummy and nice to stay in bed as I was feeling rubbish. On checking out I mentioned the strawberries and got a refund and an apology which was fine as I enjoyed the food that much was satisfied!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel - more the exterior than the interior,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is a bit off for city centre if you like to walk, but it's only really a few minutes on the train.

    Beautiful hotel - more the exterior than the interior, lovely large breakfast, great restaurant on site. Took wonderful care of me for my birthday.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    excellent facilities , food and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing... we would visit this hotel again

    excellent hotel in every way. We were visiting the SEC so the location was near enough for a short drive but far enough away to ensure peace and quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Our room was absolutely stunning, couldn’t believe the size...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very cold

    Our room was absolutely stunning, couldn’t believe the size on it! Hotel was lovely, great staff, night porter was so helpful and friendly!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    A little Glasgow gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Norhing. It was all just how we like a hotel to be.

    Warm & friendly hotel. Excellent room. 2 minute walk to train station and 5 minutes into central Glasgow. Food was very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Very pleasant experience and would definitely return again .Stunning hotel ,lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    COULD NOT FIND FAULT AT ALL

    THE STAFF WERE ALL VERY FIRENDLY ,FOOD WAS EXCELLENT AND ROOM WAS LARGE ANDVERY COMFORTABLE .only A MILE AWAY FROM THE MOTORWAY SO NO TRAFFIC TO NEGOTIATE AND ONLY A MINUTE TO THE RAILWAY STATION ,THEN 5 MINS IN TO CENTRAL STATION . SERVICE WAS GREAT

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Comfort on a snowy weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    weather which of course hotel has no control over - extremely snowy weekend.

    extremely comfortable and spacious cottage room with ensuite wetroom welcoming attentive and efficient staff nothing too much trouble beautiful baronial style mansion delicious food - partook off lunch on two days and breakfast once - all with great offering in terms of choice. 1st class quality hotel warmth and coziness

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a fabulous Hotel. The staff are friendly, polite and very helpful nothing is to much trouble. The accommodation is superb I felt like a VIP, the food is exceptional. I will defiantly be booking here again but for more than 1 night next time so I can enjoy the superb accommodation and beautiful grounds for longer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel with good staff, would return if in that area again.
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being told the starter (prawn cocktail) I'd chosen wasn't available.

    Bed comfy, large bathroom, the turret! good food. Very pleasant, helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Makes the trip worthwhile.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have been staying there for 20 plus years but not for the last 8 or so due to circumstances and change of business. This was the first of many to come and the standards have just not dropped at all, premises, staff, facilities, food & service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.5
    Lovely hotel & very friendly staff
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a bit of noise from a boiler which must have been sited just below our window - however, it was not on during the night - just started a bit early in the morning for us! Hot water tap in the bath only produced lukewarm water - not a major problem as we were only staying one night - & as we had had an upgrade, we didn't like to complain!

    Very friendly, welcoming & helpful staff. We were also upgraded to a junior suite which was very spacious & comfortable. Super bed! We had lunch in restaurant which was excellent - plus very good value. Excellent breakfast which was included in the room rate.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    We Will be going back sometime ..😎😎❤️
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    🤔🤔That’s a hard question 😂😂

    Our first time there... it Wonderful.. so much better than we expected.. for some reason we were given an upgrade (not complaining)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Overall I had a good stay and would come back and would be amazing if any of the negative comments
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV could have done with being a little bigger as was a little way from the bed position. constant Noise outside the room The room service ended too early....meant I didn't eat properly one of the nights.

    Staff were very friendly Really useful being able to park directly outside the door to my suite

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    We have stayed twice at the Sherbrooke Castle Hotel and both times booked a suite ~~~~Room 1 has the four poster bed ,Room 6 is in a turret with fabulous views so both excellent Staff very friendly and helpful Parking was right outside and took a taxi into city centre which cost 10 pounds

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.5
    A hidden gem
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating was ineffective in the room and the hot water took an age to flow.

    Staff and ambiance. Comfortable bed. I was offered an executive double in the annex but they found one in the main building when I expressed a preference.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast was quite nice and the castle is lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Originally they wanted us staying in the house outside the castle but were accommodating when we voiced our dissatisfaction. Be sure to request booking in the castle proper if this is important to you!

    Breakfast was quite nice and the castle is lovely. The neighborhood is beautiful and 15 minutes by car from the city center.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast.

    Booked the junior suite for my partners birthday and had a lovely night, the room was gorgeous and dinner was great we had a great night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    The place to stay if you visit Glasgow. Awesome. 10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing much around the hotel

    This hotel is a must be. You're staying at a castle!!!! The hotel is luxurious, the restaurant is awesome, the room had a spectacular view, the bathroom was huge, it had 2 baths, the room had a mini area where you could have your tea and relax.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Absolutely Awesome!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The aesthetic beauty of the place combined with good food and a courteous presence of helpful staff set it apart. A very exciting stay indeed! Sherbrooke Castle Hotel is a must stay if in the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.2
    If you are visiting Glasgow, the Sherbrooke should be on your shortlist
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think if the property hadn't been in Glasgow or another big city, the cost would certainly have been a little less. Nevertheless, it wasn't overpriced.

    The breakfast was excellent and the room was clean, well appointed and comfortable. We particularly liked the staff who went out of their way to help their guests.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.6
    Really good would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were all attentive however the waitress at breakfast was quite abrupt when I asked for brown toast with my poached egg. Her response was “the kitchen doesn’t do toast, you’ve got toast” pointing to the toast she brought with our tea Perhaps a little training would help her to explain in a nicer way the set up with the toast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Lovely historical stay close to Glasgow city centre
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It isn't right in town so you will need a car, although this wasn't a detriment for me, and since you can have dinner and breakfast downstairs it isn't inconvenient in that way.

    This building is lovely, and the rooms are comfortable and clean. We a suite and had our own little sitting room in one of the circular parts of the building. Lots of character. We ate in the restaurant downstairs and it felt quaint and homely, without having to worry about needing to go out in the cold for a meal! Well priced and amazing food as well! There's someone on reception at all hours who you can ask for recommendations about things to do. This place has a lovely feel to it!! The street it's on and the ground are picturesque as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    Bathroom had had a DIY not a professional approach to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom had had a DIY not a professional approach to repairs involving reapplication of silcon sealant that was poor... it took away from the general appearance

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel in a quiet residential area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    A pretty, turreted hotel in a quiet residential location with easy access to the city centre by taxi or train - the station is a 5 minute walk away. Our room was huge with excellent decor and a lovely big bathroom. We had requested a quiet room and were given a garden suite well away from the wedding party which was going on while we were there. Breakfast was good and the staff very attentive and friendly. All in all, fantastic value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    Felt like a Princess!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the furniture has ssen better days... but that was minor...

    The King Size bed! The food in the restaurant was out of this world! Supreme Chicken dish - Black Pudding stuffed Chicken Breast was Delicious! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Is very close to the airport and the view from the window is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Is very close to the airport and the view from the window is impressive. We were upgraded to a junior suite and it was extremely comfortable. We really enjoyed our last night in Scotland.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Highly recommended accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sherbrooke Castle Hotel is is a very special hotel. It is perfectly located if you are going to the House of an art lover as I did. The accommodation is high class from the reception to the furniture to your room to the meals. I can only highly recommend Sherbrooke Castle hotel without hesitation

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Windows span limited to a few inches with a locker chain. I like to wide open the windows for fresh air. Maybe there's some reasonable motive for that but it's a bit claustrophobic.

    Very friendly staff. Good quality breakfast. Probably the best dinner we had in Scotland. Huge room with lots of natural light. Good WC facilities. Nice antique castle ambiance. Fantastic location, two minutes walk to the train station and 6 minutes trip to Glasgow down-town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    6.3
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were allocated to cottage rooms as they offered best access for person with whom I was travelling, who has mobility issues. Unfortunately these are standard motel like rooms without charm unlike the photos of the rooms in the hotel proper, which may be better. Light outside room on car park made sleeping difficult even with curtains closed. Traffic noise noticible throughout.

    convenience, near to freeway. Accessibility good. Clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really everything was fine. The restaurant has average food quality with good and friendly service.

    The room was very clean and very comfortable with an amazing bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    5.0
    Very disappointed and we feel that we were deceived.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't book this property unless you have assurances that you will be staying in the castle portion of the hotel itself. They fail to let you know that they have a dumpy wing with 4 or 5 rooms to slip unknowing guests -- and charge the same high rates even though you are an outcast from the property.

    We selected this castle hotel because the kids really wanted to stay in a castle. We paid more than we could afford, but wanted this to be a special experience and a lifetime memory for the kids. When we got to the hotel, we were informed that we wouldn't be staying in the castle, but we would be staying in a detached wing totally separate from the castle. No view, no fresh air - just a Motel 6 feeling hallway. We were extremely disappointed!!! We overpaid for our Motel 6 room!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Amazing place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    For this classy place, it was very good that the lady at the desk was so friendly and not snooty. Been there at other places. The fellows in the restaurant and lounge were very normal people and again great friendly. This place is amazing great value for the price. Wish we could have stayed longer !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    Two comfortable nights in a beautiful building with an interesting history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really don't like piped music during breakfast. It would have been better to have some quiet time to read the good selection of newspapers available.

    The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff everywhere in the hotel. The staff in the restaurant for breakfast and for dinner were exceptionally good and the receptionists ensured that they gave a warm welcome from the moment we entered the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    10
    Fabulous alone or in a group.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Arrived as a solo traveller, made to feel very welcome, staff attentive and helpful. A safe environment for a single lady. Rooms are spacious, comfortable with all facilities, bathrooms huge. Everything spotless. Dinner excellent - I chose Scottish sourced items from the menu. Every mouthful was delicious. A day later, my friends arrived with the wedding party and all 20 guests raved about this hotel. We would all highly recommend and certainly stay again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    5.8
    If you want a good nites sleep go elsewhere very noisy even...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok breakfast

    If you want a good nites sleep go elsewhere very noisy even at low occupation old building and noise transmits thro it and woken by staff leaving at 11 pm

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    9.6
    Exceptional value and an amazing hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was a little weak in the tower but who's complaining - I got to stay in a castle!

    Excellent accommodation in a prime location. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout my visit - I'll definitely be returning.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would be nice to have a quiet corner at breakfast time for guests like us.

    We used this hotel for our wedding reception and went back for our 15th anniversary. Staff were very friendly and made sure our stay was very special. Food was excellent for both evening meal and breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    7.5
    Good location, a very impressive building, best staff anywhere and more Scottish than Boaty McBoatfa
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has a bit of a "faded grandeur" thing going on with the room furniture a bit tatty. It was also a bit noisy through the night but that's to be expected as it's a period building so hasn't got noise insulation between floors.

    The staff were super friendly and the food was excellent. The property itself is very imposing with a lot of history behind it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    7.5
    Stunning Suite!
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at Sherbrooke Castle for a family wedding. We had booked a junior suite but on arrival we were advised that we had been upgraded to a suite and it was STUNNING! One of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in! We would not hesitate to stay again in the future given the opportunity!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant stay with all the basics included
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was cold, room was dusty and tissue box was empty. Sheets had a cigarette burn and an unidentified brown stain

    Comfortable decent sized room with all the basics

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Definately the highlight of my entire 21day UK trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Fantastic staff, great location 100mts to train & 10mins into Glasgow central station. The food at dinner was to die for, unbelievably delicious, the best meal I have EVER enjoyed, very well priced as well.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    9.5
    Beds and rooms are so big and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apple juice had gone sour but no staff noticed

    Beds and rooms are so big and comfy. Rooms are clean, with strong wifi. Very easy to access and a very pretty castle.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    10
    Amazing comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty much everything was great, I was in a beautiful junior suite room recently refurbished with gorgeous bathroom....still needs a couple of finishing touches like more mirrors/full length mirror but I think the staff are already onto this

    Staff were extremely friendly and attentive from reception staff to bar staff and breakfast staff, lovely building, spacious with lots of character. Breakfast selection was excellent, and we also had dinner which was tasty, good helpings and good value...in front of a lovely warm coal fire!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    7.5
    Everything very good apart from disappointing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was very disappointed in the breakfast. Very little choice on show for size of hotel. I waitress did say anything not on show you can ask for but it nie have a good range of continental foods and hot buffet which there defiantly wasn't on show. let the hotel down unfortunately.

    The hotel was very nice, very friendly and hepful staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    9.2
    Excellent. Stay. Great. Staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No. Facilities. Like. Gym. Swimming pool steam room. Jacuzzi. But we could live without them.

    We liked the staff were very friendly. The food good service. Excellent. Rooms a good size parking good and hygiene good. Location. Excellent as easy to get onto. Motorways. 👍

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    10
    Staying at a castle!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the coolest place I have stayed. First of all it's a castle. The room was massive! So much room for activitys! The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was very clean. Staff were friendly offering to take our luggage to our room and also showing us our room. The breakfast provided was good and if not to your liking they will make you something else. Amazing place to stay at.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.6
    Lovely tartan interior with friendly and helpful staff - tasty breakfast too! Worth a revisit :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing negative say!

    The hotel was only 5 minutes walk to train station and then only 6 minutes into city centre. Staff very friendly, helpful and polite. Rooms good for the price, Breakfast was a great treat and appeared to cater for all needs. I would definately return here.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    10
    Beautiful room and friendly staff that couldn't do enough for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    /

    They upgraded us as we got married that day. Room was spotless and very big. Bed was huge and so comfy. Loved it there. Service was great and food excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    What a find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a criticism but was in the outside annexe as my son can't manage the stairs. Maybe an entry point which connects into the hotel to save the walk round.

    Beautiful building inside and out in a fantastic setting. Staff could not have been more accomodating. Will definitely be back. Who would have thought Glasgow haf such a hidden gem.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    9.2
    Overall a very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was spacious, clean and overall very nice, however it was not in the main building which was disappointing given it was a cold frosty November evening and the car park was very slippy on return to our room after dinner. Buffet breakfast was not well laid out and the temperature was tepid.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. beautifull building, cosy friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    10
    Looked after well in a lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel, with character. Very clean. The staff were exceptional. Very helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are travelling by car in the Glasgow area.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    10
    Beautiful surroundings, helpful friendly pleasant staff..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    Absolutely fabulous, every aspect, clean warm comfortable room, very friendly helpful staff. Nothing was too much for them. Food was glorious. Five minute walk to train station one stop to Glasgow central, only 2 pound return. Lovely neighbourhood. Would definitely stay here again, and will highly recommend it to anyone going to glasgow

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    10
    A great base from which to explore the delights of Glasgow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. You cannot better perfection.

    The friendliness and desire of the staff to make the break the most enjoyable they possibly could. The room, the breakfasts, the décor. Everything was perfect. As newlyweds, we were treated so well albeit we had lived together for years before finally tying the knot. They were brilliant

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    10
    Nice Castle :-)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing could have been better

    Great location. A beautiful, historical building, clean and nicely furnished. Lovely, friendly and helpful staff. Fantastic gastro level food and a top quality breakfast. I will be returning with the wife very soon.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    8.8
    Woke up at 5.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Woke up at 5.00 am because of a noise outside which turned out to be coming from the kitchens down below V early start so couldn't really enjoy the comfort of the bed :(

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    9.6
    Great location for Glasgow city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast hot buffet unnecessary as waiting staff were always available and they could have brought more freshly prepared breakfasts cooked to order.

    All staff make you very welcome. Great location for a city break with only one stop away on local train and local station only 5 mins walk.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    The Sherbrooke Castle Hotel is an amazing place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it was perfect!

    The property is exceptional. The staff couldn't do enough for me. This is a beautiful place to stay.. Glasgow is a great place to visit. Wished I had stayed for longer.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    7.5
    Nice place but not pet friendly.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really disappointed that they are called pet friendly but we were charged an extra £30 on top of the original price listed for bringing a dog and then put way out of the way not in the main building so not as nice and couldn't bring the dog into any room except the bedroom or leave him there so breakfast was difficult to organise and we couldn't have drinks in the bar in the evening. Not pet friendly as far as I'm concerned.

    Friendly and helpful staff, good location, nice building

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    8.8
    Pleasant overnighter in Glasgow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise outside room 35. When people moving along corridor and to outside, was noisy and banging doors. Not nice when they are up and about before 7am

    Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: