Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sinclair Bay Hotel 2 stars

Main Street, Keiss, KW1 4UY, United Kingdom

#4 of 4 hotels in Keiss

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 337 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Staff made sure we had an ample supply of cereal / toast...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our early departure meant we missed out on the full breakfast experience

    Staff made sure we had an ample supply of cereal / toast, fruit, yoghurt, juice, tea and coffee etc... for our early departure

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    3.3
    Overpriced. Bad experience. Not recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paid extra for en-suite room but it was the size of a cupboard and extremely difficult to use. The hot water was not working in the morning so could not have a shave and had to wash in cold water but we were still charged FULL PRICE! When we first arrived at the Hotel it was just after 4pm but it was closed. We had to wait until after 5pm for somebody to appear but they were not management and told us that she knew nothing about our stay. Also be aware that cooked breakfast is not included in the price but is charged extra! something that we were not made aware about until I asked for a cooked breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    2.5
    Horrific!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    This place is horrific. On arrival the welcome was stale & very unwelcoming. On entering room, it was freezing cold, there was dampness & obviously a bad smell. The room had not been cleaned, reason why I only had to pay £20 for room the next day. There was no toiletries, which included no shampoo, no soap, nothing. Toilet had been used & not cleaned. Bathroom was filthy. Dog hair all over carpets. I generally would rather to sleep in the car than here. It’s horrific. They also said the owner was away which I didn’t believe they just don’t want to take responsibility for the state of it. Me & partner also refused breakfast as I was utterly disgusted with the cleanliness & did not want to chance eating anything from the kitchen.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Good place to stay and meet expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 9 was great Quiet and clean. Staff very friendly and very careful re the requirement for gluten free meals Host helped to carry bags and good to talk with in the bar

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    adeqaute
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The triple room was a little too small... Bathroom was a seperate room but was good enough. the whole place smelt a little damp and musty

    Good location for us, very near to JOG. Wi-fi good. Easy parking. food was good and cheap enough.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.1
    when we arrived too late for a meal one evening, they still...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    when we arrived too late for a meal one evening, they still put themselves out and catered for us. The food was very good and the breakfasts varied and tasty.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.3
    Big room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facility was little old, bathroom was cold, bed was too soft for us. Breakfast contained just sweet pastry, cereals, jam and toasts, no ham, cheese etc.

    Big room. Bathroom is shared with just one another room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Funny time travel to 70s sitcom decorations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite aged hotel, very weak shower pressure, however no big deal. Shared bathroom might be an issue when fully booked, however it wasn't when visited off high season. Free breakfast is indeed very basic - all hot plates requires extra payment.

    Quite aged hotel, resembling the 70s sitcom in decor, however very clean and comfortable after a long travel up north. Would stay there again next time on the way. Friendly staff and easygoing check in despite of late arrival. Nice bar facility on site (enjoy, as it's only waterhole in miles :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.4
    Was very pleased to be able to leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comfortable sitting area only a bar with upright seating and a lack of heat TV could only be seen from in bed Food in the bar was uninteresting

    Not a lot

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    Good, but expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is classed as a 2 star hotel, so I wasn't impressed that i had to pay £80 per night. The dairy products weren't kept cold.

    The hotel had its own pub with a pool table.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    5.8
    ENJOYED THE REMOTNESS AND PEACEFULL SURROUNDINGS BUT HOTEL DEFINITELY IN NEED OF UPDATING
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THINK THE HOTEL NEEDS UPDATING AND REQUIRES ALOT OF WORK TO TAKE IT UP TO STANDARD

    BAR STAFF WERE VERY FRIENDLY AND A PLEASURE TO MEET ESPCIALLY EMMA,SHE MADE US FEEL VERY WELCOME

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Affordable temp accommodation, Clean, Tidy and Everything you need
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Venue was as expected - on a budget venue you only expect the basics. With various lounge area's , bars and tea and coffee facilities in the rooms it exceeded expectations.

    Everything you needed was on site - was comfortable and affordable. All details were listed before i booked so no surprises about shared toilet etc. Friendly staff who waited up late for my late arrival. I had planned on arriving around dinner time but with additional work back home i wasn't going to arrive until after 1am where the staff waited with the door open on my arrival once i called.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Would stay there again and would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great, except we weren't offered any cooked food for breakfast even though it was an option online. I could have asked, but just saying that part of the service was lacking. Fairly good choice of continental brekkie though.

    Cosy room, thick duvet and a thick blanket if required as well as two heaters (blankets and heaters to needed as it was August). Near to John O Groats which is where we were heading. Great value for money and very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.3
    Very friendly and good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and good service. Pub meals ideal for the stay. Great location for the Orkney ferries but also a useful place to stay for the NE tip of Scotland. A good one night stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Great Crac
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Public bar

    Never mind the property it's the best crac ive had in years, the staff and locals took me back to my old days on the West Coast as a teenager, proper working mans bar best laugh I've had in years you can stick your 5 star castles this is the place to go if you are heading on the North 500.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.5
    Easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing with the property. The village just has nothing to offer, so not really a place to stay more than one night.

    Easy to find. Excellent food, good size bedrooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    Good overnight stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wine by the bottle (75cl) as an option would have been better than only individual servings sized bottles.

    Great location for an overnight stay prior to boarding the Orkney ferry the next morning. Provides exactly what is needed - a comfortable bed, good food and great hospitality.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable, cosy (just the right temperature), quiet and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower dribbled (no power settings so took ages to wash my hair!).

    Unlimited (D.I.Y.) continental breakfast included in room rate (given choice to pay extra for cooked if preferred). Spacious, comfortable room. Quiet facilities. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.2
    Really spacious rooms and relaxed atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We received a really warm welcome and friendly treatment throughout our stay. The family 'room' is huge, more like a large two bedroom flat when combined with the communal lounge! The breakfast was nicely presented and offered great variety. This is not a shiny new city-centre hotel, so may not find favour with everyone, but we loved the old-fashioned homely feel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.9
    Clean, simple and quiet, and good value. An ideal stopover on the way somewhere...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price, not much. You do need to have supplies, though, or at least transport to travel for them...

    We travelled here on our way to the Orkney ferry, and were looking for a clean, quiet place to stay en route. Our room was excellent value, and we were fortunate to have a separate bathroom to ourselves. The staff were friendly and helpful. Keiss is a small coastal town, with some interesting WWII seaside features and a nearby castle ruin. While the hotel has a bar, there was no shop or restaurant in the town after working hours. We left early for the ferry the following day, and although unable to wait for a cooked breakfast, the help-yourself breakfast was excellent. I would stay here were I travelling north again and, as on this occasion, would eat at Wick on the way to the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    5.0
    Was ok but if you like rowdy nights even better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -The regulars in the bar - shouting and swearing and that was mostly the women. There was No need tbh. -unfortunately Lounge bar was full all evening so couldn't get a meal - nowhere else nearby so had to go without eating Only a couple of channels available on the tv in bedroom Kept awake by loud music coming from the bar till late - no cooked breakfast offered ( even though says extra £5 but girl said they don't do it) - flush in only ladies loo in bar area did not work

    Owners were ok /friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    3.8
    I will not be back as not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very dated in need of an update. Pretty rough place/area/locals in bar Full Scottish Breakfast was NOT included in the price of a night there.

    Cleanliness was ok

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    Scotland sure is a beautiful place and full of interesting sights.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to go home. Lol... Think a refreshing look would be good as it looks run down. Carpets fresh paint and tiling in shower. Just my personal choice to make it look more nicer and more pleasing to other guest's arriving.

    Area was nice veiws and near beach. Staff was helpful and friendly. Beds was very comfortable and didn't have a problem sleeping.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    2.9
    Avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The music from the bar area was loud and kept us awake until it finally stopped at 1.00am. The whole place felt extremely dated and needs a complete makeover.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.3
    It was a base and not much more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little effort had been put into the continental breakfast. It was basically "value" quality cereals and the cheapest quality baked goods and preserves. Other guests elected for the cooked option and that didn't look too inspiring either. We stayed at several places during our trip around northern Scotland and this is the only one I wouldn't return to. Alex Polizzi would have a field day!

    It was a base and not much more. Room was adequately clean. Shared bathroom ok.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.5
    A good stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was quite noisy being above the bar and doors banging through the night but other than that it was grand.

    Clean and comfortable. Friendly locals and staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.1
    Village stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Older hotel with shared bathroom facilities, although there was a sink in the room. Room faced main street in village with blinking streetlight outside window, although didn' t interfere with sleep.

    Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Free parking on site. Restaurant on site. Very clean and shared bathroom was spotless. Quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar was quiet when we arrived and there were only two customers in. I know we were visitors but the language of one off the customers was way over the top and quite loud!!!! I have worked in heavy industry where that kind of talk was par for the course but not in a pub on a Saturday afternoon with women/strangers present!

    Mine host Colin is a gentleman and eager to make stay as good as he can. He was very attentive and keen to make sure all was well! Had dinner in hotel and it was really good in fact it was great!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.8
    Good overnight stop off when walking LEJOG
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is a bit tired, but overall it was a god stay.

    A good welcome, the bar was good with friendly locals, it was clean and comfortable. Food was good, only a continental breakfast which had a good range on offer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.5
    10 mins away from John o groats
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was a little dated and the sharing of the bathroom was not ideal but for the price I paid it was fine, but if I had to pay more I wouldn't want to share a bathroom.

    Very easy to find and ideal location if visiting John o groats with it being a simple 10 minute drive. The hosts are very friendly and welcoming. The evening meal ( extra charge for me) was good value

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.9
    Comfy & convenient to John O'Groats
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would advise not to have dinner at the pub - we both had steak which had been cooked while still part frozen, really inedible unless like us you're starving!

    Big comfy room & bathroom, very quiet even though on the main road. Safe parking on site off the road.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.8
    Great value stay in the country
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs to our room

    The owner was very friendly and she cooked porridge for my friends even though it was only a continental breakfast. There was plenty of choice and lots of fresh food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    2.9
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    With only 100 characters available, it would be impossible to fully detail how poor this accommodation was/is. Suffice to say we managed to find a local taxi to take us to John O'Groats for our evening meal and the next days departure could not come quick enough. Neither I nor my friends will be returning.

    Not a lot!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    4.2
    The towels were fluffy and clean - the bed was clean - the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location - no other places to eat - generally very tired and tatty - and too expensive considering what it had to offer. I wouldn't recommend it.

    The towels were fluffy and clean - the bed was clean - the breakfast ok

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    A quiete family run hotel with efficient friendly landlady
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was outside the room but could be locked so no one else had access.

    A small hotel run by a charming landlady in a building similar to ones in the tiny village close to John O Groats and a great continental breakfast. The room was clean comfortable warm and wifi reception OK.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    2.9
    The property was conveniently close to the ferry to Orkney...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sharing the bathroom (bathtub and toilet) with all rooms on the floor; approx. 7 rooms!!!! Many users took a shower and threw the towel on the floor. Later in the evening there were about 5 towels. This state was not changed till later next morning. The bathroom seemed to have been renovated recently, but had a wooden floor - imagine males using the toilet! And the wall behind the area of the shower showed signs of milldew already! The lady in the morning at breakfast was unfriendly and the staff at the pub, too. The premises, i. e. the lounge was old fashioned and worn.

    The property was conveniently close to the ferry to Orkney from John O'Groats. The room itself was okay and clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    Very nice place to stay with very nice people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed staying in the hotel. The room was very comfortable and warm with a nice view. People who worked in a hotel are very nice and communicable so we enjoyed the talk together in the bar in the evening. Continental breakfast which was included was very enjoyable and not only toastes with croissants.The hotel is very close to John O Groats and Gill's Bay (by car). I will recommend it to everyone.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    Not much choice in the north but this place fits the bill
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Separate toilet was a bit of a chore but didn't spoil our stay.

    Very sociable and friendly atmosphere, good local bar. The food was good and the continental breakfast adequate.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    5.0
    No wi-fi in the hotel room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wi-fi in the hotel room. Complimentary biscuits in the hotel room were three months out of date. Water pressure insufficient in the bathroom so could not use the shower.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.6
    N ice place to stay before Orkney Island tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small store in town was closing up son with limited stock left

    Great spot in small town. Very good selection of meals in the hotel. Lovely continental breakfast in nice room.nice stop over on way to Orkney islands

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.2
    Lovely welcoming and comfortable nights stay. The owners and staff are absolutely brilliant!!
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom. We knew it was shared before we got there.. but it was shared between about 5 rooms. We thought it would be shared between less rooms. Didn't have to queue or anything, but a bit cold. Xx

    The owners and staff are really lovely and accommodating. For example we had to leave earlier then breakfast was normally served so they left us everything in the dining room so we could help ourselves to toast cereal fruit etc etc. They let us work on our blogs for our fundraising event in the main bar. Evening food absolutely gorgeous....have the steak, you will never regret it. The locals who use this place are also welcoming:) Room clean, bed comfy. The goo

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.6
    Good hotel in perfect location for North Coast 500
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Efficient welcome, but could have been friendlier. Some bar noise from below the room, but no great problem.

    Good location. Clean and tidy room. Shared bathroom was no problem, with a sink in the bedroom. Quiet location. Good selection for continental breakfast (charge for cooked breakfast)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    Keiss is a lovely little village where peace and beauty abound
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    everything was perfect

    The owners were awesome, going out of their way to make me feel welcome.The food was delicious. The view from my room was breathtaking

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    all round great holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing to complain about

    Bed comfy slept very well / clean comfy quiet room / on-suite good / friendly proprietors - staff and locals / easy to find / excellent continental breakfast / good food / all round great holiday /

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    7.5
    Excellent evening meal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent evening meal. A great place to stay en route to the ferry from Gills Bay or John O'Groats to Orkney. It takes roughly 15-20minutes from Keiss to Gills Bay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    7.9
    Typical local village inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv in room was small, limited food for dinner in the bar but it was winter, what I did have was hot and delicious.

    The bed was comfortable, sheets and towels were white, wifi good, breakfast plentiful, staff pleasant and polite.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    9.6
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zebra crossing outside the room, maybe a pelmet over the top of the window would block it out better. Curtains were good and heavy though so it wasn't too bad!

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food! Lovely dinner and breakfast 😀

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    10
    A friendly warm welcome, excellent food and well presented
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We received a very warm welcome and our room was very clean and tidy. The food was all home cooked, tasty and well presented. The staff and service were excellent

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    5.8
    Very cold hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was Baltic! When we arrived we had a triple room for my daughter, mum and me and the owner put the heater on as he showed us to our room. The lounge was even freezing. We sat with our jackets on! The beds were uncomfortable and the shower didn't work. The toilet was across the hallway!

    The staff were lovely and ever so helpful!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    7.5
    Basic but functional, not bad value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and facilities were basic, shared bathroom and toilet in this day & age unusual. If there had been alternative available locally then I would have chosen that, however, there were no options at short notice.

    Service was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    6.3
    Hotel by the Sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a flashing pedestrian crossing light outside the window which continued all night.

    Friendly staff, beautiful view of the ocean. Close to Keiss Castle and John O'Groats.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    7.1
    Great place to stay, lots of improvements made, more to make it inviting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed a net curtain up at the window, bathroom window needs "frosted glass" as right opposite shower. Toilet seat moved as you sat on it, showerhead adjusting rail insecure...could hear music below our room from public bar. Breakfast good, bar food a bit dry, and far too much.

    Room was lovely, looked like it had just been refurbished.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    9.6
    Good stop over hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as it was within easy range to take the john o'groats ferry maxi day tour. It was comfortable and I chose a room with an en-suite bathroom so I did not need to share a bathrom. I ate both evening meals in their lounge and had a cooked breakfast on my second morning. All was perfectly good food. In fact the included continental breakfast had plenty of variety in itself. It is a pub; it is plain and simple accommodation in a lovely part of Scotland.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    6.7
    Transit point to Orkney
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is very, very poor.

    It is very easy to stay here if you want to take the ferry to Orkney. It is not comfortable but the price is good for what they have to offer.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    7.1
    Everything in one place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could do with a revamp and although I found the room clean I was worried on arrival as entrance lobby definitely had a smell

    everything in one place. Bar, Food and accommodation

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    4.6
    Tired looking place, could do with a freshen up
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi connection was so poor. No-one at the hotel with an iphone could get connected. The outside could do with a lick of paint and the hotel is very tired looking from the inside. could do with a freshen up. Didn't feel we got value for money.

    Just off the North Coast 500 route so decent location if you are just looking for a bed for the night. Breakfast was adequate.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    6.7
    The location of Sinclair bay is somewhat remote, but you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is most expensive room we've had in Scotland, not really worth £80 in our opinion, but there wasn't really many other options.

    The location of Sinclair bay is somewhat remote, but you expect that in the far north east. If you are going to visit John o Groats it is fine! We were very happy to have accommodation booked in advance, as Not a lot seemed to be available at short notice. The room was comfortable and clean, a bit dated., comfy bed and good hot water. The publican was welcoming and efficient. We had a meal, basic and filling. The publican offered us the local whisky and liqueur- a nice gesture, very tasty. Continental Breakfast was basic and plentiful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    9.2
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We shared a bathroom with a few of the other rooms (however it was kept very clean and it was never occupied when we needed it).

    We stayed here for a night after completing our LeJog trip. As we travelled by tandem we were struggling to find a way to get our bicycle back, but the owners were more than willing to keep our bike in their garage for a few weeks until we could collect it in a van, extremely kind of them! They also went out of their way to help us figure out plans to travel back to London (ScotRail being on strike!!). Our room was very cosy and the beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    7.5
    Light airy rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The automatic door closures were really heavy and made the doors bang in the night. En suites would be nicer.

    Light airy rooms. Windows could be opened

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.2
    Clean comfortable and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and quiet hotel. Lovely staff with good choice of evening meals and breakfast. Good location in the NC500. Would benefit from guest wifi and more info about Keiss harbour, castle, beach and local walks.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    8.3
    North Coast 500
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While travelling the North Coast 500, we chose to stay here as it was cheap l. It's in a very quite location even though it's right next to a main road. It was very clean and the staff were very welcoming and polite.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    4.2
    Poor certainly not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very comfy. Room clean and tidy. Overlooked house next doors side windows. Owners unfriendly not at all welcoming. For £80 a nightfor double would expect cooked breakfast. Which was £5 extra if required. Not recommended

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    6.3
    Bedrooms and bathroom were nicely decorated and both were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren't very hospitable and the walls were very thin- we could hear all that other guests were saying (and doing...). Mattresses were also worn very thin.

    Bedrooms and bathroom were nicely decorated and both were clean. Location was good for getting the ferry to Orkney.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Good value for
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value for Money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    Staff were very helpful and cheerful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was more like a B & B

    Quietness and location so close to John O Groats

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower not very warm.

    Owner very pleasant.Food spot on and room very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Sinclair's for sisters
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast ... getting used to cooked but as a continental breakfast it was a 6 year old's delight

    staff and atmosphere were really friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old fashioned.

    They were really nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable. Staff pleasant and chatty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast. Didn’t eat in the restaurant in the evening. Room was clean, bed comfortable, pillows soft.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Check out administration needs reassessing to avoid...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out administration needs reassessing to avoid misunderstanding eg do it on check in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    The friendliness of the staff and locals that drank in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little out dated but clean and tidy.

    The friendliness of the staff and locals that drank in the bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was fine but the only place in the whole town

    Friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.7
    Well located but very tired facilities and catering type food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s pretty basic and not up to much for the price. Food is definitely Tesco plus chips

    Location is good and the staff/owners try hard to please

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice small hotel in calm village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Pleasantly soft bed. Interesting old-fashioned interior.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: