Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sir William Fox Town House Hotel 3 stars

5 Westoe Village, South Shields, NE33 3DZ, United Kingdom

#13 of 14 B&Bs and Inns in South Shields

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 477 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    As ever a most enjoyable stay but sadly marred by an unexpected charge for my dog.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The blanket charge of £10 per night/per dog seems excessive. Fastidious owners with well behaved dogs should be rewarded and only the others penalised. Maybe inspect the rooms prior to check out?

    The friendliness of the staff and the relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.0
    Our stay was okay but the car park was very difficult to find due to a one way system near the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The whole place was a bit shabby and in need of redecoration.

    The bed was comfy and the sheets clean, plus the towels were also clean in the bathroom which was fine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Good breakfast, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard/flat pillows. 2km walk to the main beach.

    The room was large and the bathroom spacious with a bathtub. Parking on site was good, although a little tricky to get to. Breakfast was served nice and early and was extensive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    A relaxing place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We just thought it needed a little tlc, paint, window frames , also the sealant at the bottom of the shower and by the floor could do with a clesn.

    The room good size, view out of room 15 window lovely and peaceful. Staff were friendly and breakfast was yummy!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.7
    Pleasent stay staff very friendly breakfast good , but could do with some TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms don’t reflect photos oN booking.com Hotel deco looks tiered could do with a upgrade. A lot of noise at night in car park at back. No lift to upstairs if you have trouble walking this hotel isn’t for you.

    Staff really friendly, lovely bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic staff, breakfast amazing, Location was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was large but so much noise from running the taps or flushing the loo , woke us all up during the night going to the loo

    Breakfast was fantastic, staff attentive but not overly, room was massive and the view was lovely ... main bed was fab , two smaller beds slightly wonky but ok for one night

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated and needed renovation. Room was dark and badly furnished with no headboard on bed. The bathroom floor tiles were loose and the toilet flush was broken. The breakfast was Ok but ingredients were of a low standard and the tea was tasteless. The car park is small and almost impossible to find without sat nav.

    Nice outside sitting space. Quiet area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.8
    It was alright, didn’t blow me away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bathroom, very hot, uncomfortable bed, double room not worth £65 a night. Floor was uneven so you were stepping over lose floorboards

    Great location for where we were going, really friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean generally but not spotless, Could easily see areas around the skirting boards that had been missed.

    Staff friendly and welcoming. Comfortable bed, decent size room and bathroom. Breakfast included.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.4
    Easy to find and easy access where needed to be the next day
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To gain access to hotel needed to ring a number, but battery flat on mobile. Neighbour kindly rang on my behalf.

    Easy to find and easy access where needed to be the next day

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Beds were very comfortable and breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night staff member rude when we asked to use bar. Same member of staff checked us in but just gave keys. No explanation of facilities. Key did not work to back door into car park so had to walk around to the front each time.

    Beds were very comfortable and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needs a complete renovation. Timber around bath split, toilet needs to be fixed. Noisey. Does anyone check the rating? How long ago was this hotel given the rating they advertise?

    Breakfast was fine

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Very Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Friendly staff always ready to help, old house but clean and comfortable, off road parking, great breakfast, can be a bit hard to find without satnav. Good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Very nice staff and location, would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light on top of the bed kept flickering on and off intermittently.

    The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location for the beach, clean comfortable bed and room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Lovely comfortable room, clean everything we needed, the gentleman that greeted us was friendly and gave us some advice for somewhere to eat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    4.6
    the room were dirty, me and my girlfriend statrted getting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room were dirty, me and my girlfriend statrted getting itchy as soon we lay on the bed. The celling was stained and not cleaned and there was drawings on the wall.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.0
    breakfast on monday morning was 9 00am we were not told this therefore they was very little left.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    needed a good clean. Breakfast times were not clear. I have never had to pay up front for a stay.

    location was excellent for our requirements, Beautiful building

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    The stay was comfortable, staff friendly a breakfast was top notch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was how I expected

    The staff were really helpful, the room clean and tidy and breakfast was excellent, all for what I paid was outstanding and I would stay there again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all, good value for money.

    Ideal location, 15 minute walk to town, friendly, polite staff, excellent breakfast, there was a nearby pub that served good food " The County". The hotel needs a little TLC but as long as the bed, shower are all clean, fine by me.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Very pleasant in a lovely seaside area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no dislikes given the value for money.

    Very good breakfast,pleasant staff and very good value for money. A safe environment for a lone traveller.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.8
    The hotel's location was excellent but it needs upgrading.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no atmosphere and we saw no-one in charge of the hotel. The furnishings, decorations, carpets, paintwork etc. all needed upgrading. There were no 'little extras' and everything was very basic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.0
    Would be a lovely hotel if some money was invested in refreshing the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy plumbing system which kept us up all night and woke us up in the morning. Decor very dated and needs refreshing majorly! Carpet in our room was filthy (stained and didn’t even look hoovered) and furniture needs replacing. Headboard was covered in dust and linen/towels had huge holes in with stains on. Not much variety for breakfast, small dated breakfast hall.

    Nice big comfy bed. Big bathroom. Spacious room. Nice hosts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Location is great, and the room was very spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was supposed to be given an ensuite room with a double bed, however got two beds joined together and couldn't help but fall through the middle.

    Location is great, and the room was very spacious and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable indeed. Good value for money
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to parking area

    Very good breakfast, Staff very helpful. Good location in Westoe village. Parking was a bit restricted but okay. Room was comfy and as we had to change our arrangements, management could not have been more helpful. I would happily recommend this hotel and stay there again if i visited South Shields

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    A pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable beds and pillows. Excellent full english breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Powerful shower with warm water throughout the day. Carpark.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value comfortable stay
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a bit of a spruce up/ coat of paint but wasn't a problem

    Loved Westoe village Beautiful old houses Excellent breakfast Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Ideal for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had difficulty operating the shower! (Had baths instead)! Toilet roll holder kept falling apart! (Especially when used in the middle of the night,) making an awful noise!

    Nice breakfasts, plenty of choice and food. Evening dinner always available, even on Easter Sunday! Hotel was close to bus stops, so didn't need to use the car all the time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    Stay at WillIAM fOX
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We did not have room service for 2 days due to staff sickness but no explaination for this. Consequently bin overflowing and tea or coffee not replenished.

    Great breakfast well cooked although hash browns would have been a nice extra.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.4
    Overall hotel a bit shabby needs updating, although for us a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cracked sink, mould round bath, shower was only a trickle. Some spot lights not working others flickering all the time, Breakfast on first day not very good, second morning a lot better,

    Location was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    Very good night's sleep, nice breakfast. All I can ask for would stop again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few of the lights were out and one flashed, plug got stuck in the bath so we couldn't empty the bath

    Plenty of tea and coffee and bed was really comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Quality hotel, with character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed here several times, always impressed with the size of the rooms, bathroom. The hotel is situated in a quiet location, but a short walk to shops, restaurants and pubs. Excellent breakfast and service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.5
    Exactly what we needed for a bad to see local sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no problems with this hotel.

    Cosy and quiet. Visited after some of the worst weather of the year. Would recommend to anyone. Tea and coffee facilities were ideal after a day out. Nice to have a king size bed with duvet that kept us warm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast and comfort of the room were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was difficult to locate! The room needed some tlc - a lick of paint, wallpaper repairing etc. But it was clean.

    The breakfast and comfort of the room were lovely. The room was spacious and had all the essentials you need. Staff were very welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    5.8
    It’s a Nice bnb that could be much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast finishes at 9am which is the earliest I’ve ever known and I travel a lot. So I had it twice out of the 9days stay. The cooked breakfast was nice, staff are very short so it’s 1 person doing everything so you wait a while 1 or the morning no menus or cups were put out on the tables yet and it was 8:30 (different staff mentioned how they were so short and that’s why breakfast finishes early as theirs no one their to do it) and over a busy Christmas period aswel. The rooms they show for the double are not the rooms you get, they’re advitising the ‘suite’ room in the photos which is actually £95 per night so we where serverely dissapointed when we were shown to our room, which was right at the back where the landing light outside didn’t work, view was of the car park and bins (this view wasn’t shown in the pics either) The room was bland, curtains so thin it lets all of the light in, you can really hear loud footsteps and creeks from other people staying upstairs. we were told as we were staying for a longer period he’d upgrade us to a bigger room with a sete (at this point I was thinking the room should have a sete like it shows in the photos) but I accepted the kindness and thanked him. After complaining numerous times (which I don’t normally like to do) but the difference in the photos and reviews to the place was so different I wouldn’t have booked if I had of known the breakfast time and pics of the room I was actually going to get) they did put us in one of the rooms from the photos 4nights into our 9night stay so we packed up and moved and it was much nicer, view of westoe village and the trees, and the curtains were thicker which meant less light, and no noise from upstairs although the walls were so thin I could hear all conversations from next door. and the bed was uncomfortable with thin pillows.

    Plenty of tea and coffee set up in the room with a kettle. Nice friendly staff always accommodating.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    It ticks all the boxes if you want centrally located, budget accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a little trouble getting in when we first arrived, but I know they had unexpected staff shortage.

    Very conveniently located. Very pleasant and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lee went above and beyond to ensure our stay went smoothly as there was 11 of us staying to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Lorraine cooked the most delicious meal. Thank you both.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.1
    my stay in South Shields was very good,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    3 bulbs out in the bedroom, there was a corridor to the bathroom one light out in there, there was 4 spotlights in the bathroom 3 of which was not working, tv control did not work either had to go manual, heating was very noisy but apart from all this hotel ok. I think the owners need to spend some money on bulbs and décor.

    bed very comfortable, location for where i wanted was very good,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money place to unwind
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find car park - no map provided; post code brings you to the front door. No fresh fruit or yoghurt available with breakfast.

    Spacious room in period house. Comfortable large bed. Walk in shower. Generous breakfast. Great value price for our night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    3.8
    Well below the expected having read the reviews from previous guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single glazed sash windows, with huge amount of drafts, even with the wooden shutters closed. PAD electrical tests 3 months out of date. Black mould in the shower. Other, items as well.

    Ease of parking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    6.7
    This hotel was chosen at short notice and if I’d had more time I probably wouldn’t have chosen it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dated, in need of some TLC, as does the en suite. Plumbing was awful - very noisy when running water and flushing the loo. Partner found the bed a bit too soft, although it’s size was great. Would have been nice to have had the room cleaned and bed made each day. Staff should have information on how payments can be made. I paid via Paypal but the receptionist didn’t know how that worked so I was asked to pay again. She then had to call the owner who is now having to refund my second payment. Not a good experience.

    Location was good, staff were friendly and were on hand if required.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.8
    ATTENDING A 60TH PARTY OPPOSITE
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    TIRED AND NEEDS AN UPDATE DESPERATELY OK FOR WORKMEN BUT SPEND MONEY AND THIS PLACE WILL BE A 10

    VERY CLEAN AND EVERYTHING WE NEEDED FOOD REALLY GOOD AND LADY WHO DEALT WITH US WAS EXCELLENT AND VERY FRIENDLY

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    5.4
    Very disappointing visit considering the reviews we had read about the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower head was filthy. Flooring in bathroom needs replacing. 1 wall light was hanging off wall, the other was not working. One socket not working in bedroom.

    Breakfast was great. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.0
    Good but not worth over £40
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were tatty/tacky bits to do with the furniture in the room and marks on the carpet. Also the toilet didn't work well. Wasn't worth £58.

    The history of the building. The breakfast was good. The bed was comfy and the shower accessories were nice. Allowed pets

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    4.2
    When we arrive the hotel, we ring the door bell (often) no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrive the hotel, we ring the door bell (often) no one answer the front door so we went to the town then came back to the hotel, again no one answer the front door, ring the bell and knock the door. The notice on the front door say when you arrive, please telephone us but we can’t because we are deaf. Lucky we caught a lady who live nearby this hotel, she telephone them finally a staff opened the front door. Should be text number instead of telephone. Then we got in to our room and we saw roller blind is broken, the shower rail holder is not working, awful loose and the plug in the bath can’t take it out so I leave the water with fill the bath when finish with the bath. Need improve with this No. 22 room. Not impressed with this room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    4.2
    This hotel came highly recommended something I won't be doing!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quilt, needed to go in the bin! Ripped and full off hair and bobbly! Shower scum in shower tray Bed is far to big for the room I was in Light took too long to go out in bathroom No table lamp,

    Breakfast! Quilt,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    Perfectly good accommodation for the price. Good location. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the paintwork and furniture was a little tired and maybe could benefit from a refresh. Perhaps some biscuits on the comp tray might have been nice, which was otherwise well stocked.

    We had to leave before breakfast was served and staff were very accommodating by offering to make up a breakfast tray for us to eat in our room. The gesture was very much appreciated. Lovely large family room with a queen bed and two singles. Beds were all very comfortable with clean, fresh bedding on them. Large en suite. Large TV in room. Made use of the iron and ironing board in the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.4
    Used this hotel on numourus occasions as it's convenient visiting family. this time disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows unfortable. When we were shown the room it was airy due to windows open, then we realised closing window highlighted the unbearable smell of drainage in bathroom.

    Room 15 was spacous, hosptality tray well stocked breakfast good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Staff were very helpful, breakfast was good, the street...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower didn't seem to work too well (Room 1).

    Staff were very helpful, breakfast was good, the street where the B&B is located is very pretty and leafy and then parking on site was very useful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.1
    Fine for 1 night. Wouldn't want to stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to actually get to it!! 1 way system and one little sign. Had to approach round the back. Not a great way in! Hated the tv on at breakfast. Aghhh!

    Pretty room. Attractive historic building by the old village green. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    The stay was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing really we did'nt like but a shaving mirror in the bathroom would have been nice.

    The stay was short but the breakfast was very good. The room was very warm because the heating was on which was nice in the morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Solid home from home feeling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly difficult to find with google maps due to centrl location . But don't worry, well worth the extra time to find !

    Friendliness and helpfulness of staff. Warmth and feeling fealt by a 'solid' good old fashioned brick built hotel. A home from home in every sence.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    4.2
    The place is fine but the staff are incredibly unhelpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had 2 rooms booked under 2 different names, one of our party paid for both rooms together on card and yet I have also been charged the price of one of the rooms which he paid for against my card, without any authorisation. I called to query this and the "helpful" member of staff I spoke to on the phone said that she wasn't in at the weekend when we stayed and as the manager is on holiday there is no-one who can help refund my money until tomorrow, when I will have to call again and speak to the person from the weekend who took the payment who can potentially shed some light on the situation - in the mean time I have gone into my overdraft and will be charged by my bank.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing - gone downhill since our last visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looking very shabby in room and public areas, damaged paintwork, a rotten sash window which was falling apart and couldn't be opened - all the others were fixed shut. There was cracked window glass not replaced since our last stay a year ago. Missing light bulbs and a missing cabinet knob. Huge potholes in car park.

    Good location, friendly staff, decent breakfast, clean bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    The staff were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first room I was given. As previously said it was a bit on the dingy side, and the bathroom is tired and needs updating - bath panel is rotting at the bottom. The room is located right next to the front door, so when guests come in and out, the front door slams shut and the radiator in the room nearly falls off the wall! The room is a nice size, just needs decorating in lighter colours to lift it.

    The staff were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. I have to be honest, I wasn't happy with the first room I was given, so I asked to be moved - and I was. The first room was a bit dingy, due to being on the lower level, plus they layout was a bit odd. The next room they kindly gave me was lovely, on the 2nd floor and lots of light!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.9
    A lovely quaint hotel with a real homely feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Ensuite was tiny and the shower was not very powerful.

    The bed was very comfortable and the staff were very friendly and efficient. The hotel has a very homely feel to it and the breakfast offers everything from a continental to a full English. The hotel also serves evening meals which looked great. It was also great value, compared to others in the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.4
    The breakfast was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little dirty & dated, bedside socket broken also not a socket near kettle so had to put kettle on floor which was a haszard incase my son knocked it and got scalded. Also tray on dressing table was cracked. No hotel information booklet.

    The breakfast was nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    2.5
    Hotel from hell
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The worst hotel I have ever stayed in. We booked it last minute relying on the reviews and the total booking.com score, which was over 8 points. The room was shabby, smelling of smoke and damp. We were told that the payment is to be done upfront even before they showed us the room. Didn't even want to touch anything in the room. However, as we came late and had to wake up early next day, we thought we'd stay just because we were exhausted after our journey. We took shower and and when I was thinking of drying my hair my asthma kicked in sue to the strongest smell of smoke and damp in the room. Apparently there was smoking place right underneath our window, so we couldn't open it as, which led to a built up in humidity and made things even worse for my condition. The worst part was that my inhaler didn't help, which has never happened before. It just shows how bad the room was. We had to pack and go downstairs where the man, who earlier took the payment from us and showed us the room, just said - oh. Ok. That was just appalling! No better room offered, not even a hint of any attempt to help the customer. We asked about a partial refund and the answer was that we should drop by the next morning and the owner will be there to assist. We drove to the nearby Premier Inn. The next morning at around 11 am we came back to the hotel to discuss the refund options and talk to the owner. The man from the day before turned up again and yet again informed us that the owner is nowhere to be seen and that he informed the owner about our case. He recommended us to give them a call. The next day (Sunday) we did call. No answer and no voice mail option. So I emailed the hotel instead. On Monday afternoon I called the hotel again and spoke to a woman, who has not heard anything about our case and she told me she's get in touch with the owner.

    Outside view of the building from the main street

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel. Comfortable room. Friendly staff. Breakfast was very good. Lots of choice lovely hot cooked breakfast with good coffee and good service. Would stay again definitely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.9
    Very pleasant, nice people and good value. Would definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Single rooms pretty basic and furniture a bit shabby but serviceable, But then this is not a situation that's unique to this hotel, as they nearly all are. I've never found a hotel that puts much effort into single rooms. Us single travellers are definitely second class citizens in the hotel world! Other than that, no complaints at all. Would definitely come back again.

    Breakfasts beautifully cooked and using quality ingredients. Staff also recommended a nearby pub ("The County" on Sunderland Rd, not 5 mins walk away) where we got an excellent and ridiculously cheap evening meal cooked perfectly and served by great and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    A very quiet place in the middle of the town and friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV one in the restaurant room. Not necessary to be one old the time !!!

    A very quiet place in the middle of the town and friendly staff with a lovely bar meal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    4.6
    Sir William Fox's old place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single room was very small... wash sink was outside of en-suite due to size. Decor was of poor standard and the room had visible water stains on the ceiling and wall. Shower showed signs of mold between shower walls. Poor.

    Staying in a property with some culture ie Sir William Fox etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    3.0
    Should have stayed away!!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!! Almost turned back at entrance! Overpowering smell of air freshener everywhere! Room more like a box room with ensuite in wardrobe with door which didn't close properly!! carpet disgusting with burn marks and stains - really contemplated leaving and finding alternate accommodation will not be returning

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.1
    A night in the north east
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The access to bathroom was through a door down a step and along a low ceilinged walkway under the stairs When my husband got up in the night he banged his head. On arrival we had to park ,go and ring the bell to get directions to the rear of the property via the one way system. My husband got lost and we had to phone him to come back and pick up the manageress who got in the car and directed him. Not the best start to our holiday but gave us a giggle

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms really were in need of a lick of paint and basic maintenance with chips in wall, but for overnight stay I wasn't worried

    Staff were friendly and polite

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.5
    Clean but run down,not worthy of 3star rating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place is really run down in bad need of a lot of money spent on it.

    Staff super helpful.Breakfast excellent. Good supply of coffee and tea making facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    6.3
    Location is it's strength
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a single room and it was very much a tight squeeze. Felt a little like student accommodation. Breakfast at the weekend is served from 8.15 but we had to leave before then on eqch day of our stay. This was not clear at the point of booking and was a disappointment.

    Location of property is good if not a little tricky to get to first visit given the one way system.The car park is at the back of the property.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.5
    Pleasantly situated cheap and hospitable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks lovely from the outside, but a little tired inside. Staff were lovely and helpful. Excellent choices for breakfast and a handy bar in the evening What you'd expect for a 3* hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    4.2
    Not impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was minute, there was a hand basin in the room and the shower and toilet were in a cupboard with a sliding door. There was about 1 ft between the shower closet and the bed. The temperature in the room was very hot but if you opened the window you could hear the smokers sitting below talking and laughing. The room was up 3 flights of stairs and for a nearly 70 year old that was quite a hike.

    Clean bedding

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.6
    Quiet and comfortable with great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    About the only thing we could think of is that it would be nice to have somewhere to hang the towels. Otherwise all good.

    Comfortable bed and quiet room of a good size. Strong wifi. Free parking (although our host did have to direct us as it's round the back, but not a problem). Friendly staff, great breakfast and good location for where we needed to be.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable Stay. Was only there to sleep and breakfast. Would like a longer trip next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Green safety lights on all night in room. Woke up at one point and thought Sully was in the room. Lol

    Good qty of coffee and milk. Always have to ask for extra, but not here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.6
    Nice confortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only criticism is the same for most hotels we've stayed in: it was a double room but there was only one comfortable chair to sit on.

    The room we were in was lovely. The bed was nice and comfortable. The staff were all very friendly. The breakfast was great, as usual.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit short on mirrors, had to be tall to use the bathroom mirror.

    Lovely big room and bathroom. Good location for our visit with parking to the rear of the property. Very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Couldn't have wished for better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Didn't stay long enough .

    Loved this hotel excellent location, very warm welcome staff went the extra mile to help with any query we might have had. The room was more than we hoped for and Breakfast was more than you could ask for.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    5.0
    A pleasant place to stay for a couple, but not a single
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I hate rooms that have had a tiny en-suite bathroom squeezed into one corner, especially those that are so small that you cannot move in the shower without its cold and wet shower curtain sticking to your back, and water flooding the floor. My bathroom was so small that it had to have a miniscule washbasin, which was so small and so badly placed that it was uncomfortable to wash my hands. Tea and coffee facilities were available, but is a small bottle of water too much to ask, not least to use in the kettle to make tea?

    The hotel is in a convenient location close to Chichester Metro Station (10 minutes walk), in a pleasant conservation area. The area felt secure, but I gather parking space is a problem. The staff and owners try to please, and on the whole they are doing good things - I wish them well - but they need professional help with the refurbishment if they are to get the best from their building and enhance its historic features.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    2.5
    Don't Ever Stay Here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty and needed complete renovation. It smelt of cigarettes everywhere.

    The facilities were so bad that we left early. We were charged for our whole stay as the owner would not refund us. The room was dirty, too small and smelt dreadful. We were asked to pay up front and because we were in a hurry we did so. The owner is not reputable. We will never go there again or recommend it. Booking.com seems unable or unwilling to get us a refund so we will not be using you again either.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sir William Fox Town House Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: