Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Slaters Country Inn

Stone Road, Whitmore, ST5 5ED, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Whitmore

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 91 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The person asked to show me to my room couldn't really be bothered to do so and behaved like a rather truculent teenager. Needless to say that this gave a very poor first impression that was not typical of the rest of my experience at Slaters is probably not typical given the service offered in the bar/restaurant.

    Rooms are clean comfortable, well proportioned and well furnished. The bathroom was modern well fitted and clean. The quality and service at the restaurant/bar in the evening is outstanding giving a warm welcome and excellent service with high quality food and drink. Service at breakfast was quirky but not off putting and the Slaters breakfast was of excellent quality. Given the price very good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay would recommend and return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The texas bar was a bit noisy late on which disturbed us .

    The evening meal was really nice, the bed nice and comfortable . Overall a pleasant experience nice staff, excellent food 👍👍👍

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Great little country Inn, would certainly recommend this place for a quite and relaxing break away.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would prefer a shower cubicle in the room, not a fan off showers over the bath.

    Lovely country inn / Hotel, nice rooms, friendly staff and excellent food and drinks Selection, great little country pub.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Overall enjoyed my stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The flow of the cold water tap was not too good and the cistern took a long while to fill.

    The bed and the food and the lovely moon as it rose over the hill behind the hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Very clean and was a fantastic stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Very clean and was a fantastic stay . Would highly recommend hotel . Food is excellent and the breakfast in the morning is served by Richard who was very helpful and very professional

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.5
    pleasant location and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very warm and unable to leave window open due to the security problem it would cause being a ground level room.

    Pleasant staff and quiet location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Very impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there is one criticism to make, it is that the outside paintwork was rather 'scuffed' in places, but that certainly didn't mar our stay and we will definitely make Slater's our base, when we next visit the family.

    Situated in a little oasis of Staffordshire countryside, Slater's is a quiet, family-run hotel, offering every comfort for the traveller and the local, alike. We were visiting family in the area and were grateful for the proximity to Stoke, Market Drayton and the attractions of the Monkey Forest and Trentham Gardens. Although we'd only booked a room for our 4 night, mid-week stay, we were upgraded to a "cottage", in the grounds and were able to enjoy a little more space and luxury. Many thanks again, for that. All services have been given full marks, so there is no reason to repeat ourselves, but we did appreciate the tea\coffee making facilities, the good quality towels and bedding, the constant hot water and the lovely warm bathroom. Similarly, we were impressed that our 'special request' for fresh fruit and yoghurt for breakfast was not only honoured, but prepared specially for us, each morning. Without exception, the staff were efficient, extremely friendly and it was encouraging to see so many 'mature ' staff among the team. The bar is clearly popular with the locals and offers a cosy atmosphere in which to socialise and enjoy food at both lunch time and the evening. One evening, the family joined us for a meal in the restaurant and once again, everybody was impressed by the quality and value of the meal.....and the fact that all eight of us were served our food at the same time! This is also a popular venue for weddings and, although we were checking out as the first of the wedding party were arriving, we felt fairly confident that, had we been staying longer, our peace would not have been disturbed, since the wedding suites were fairly isolated in one particular area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointing considering the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated decor, very hot with no option of changing temp. Extremely noisy throughout the night, heating pipes where constantly banging. Areas within bathroom dirty, for example behind the towel rail, large amounts of dust build up. Shower also not up to much, impossible to maintain a constant temperature

    Location great for wedding we attended

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing due to lack of sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows let a lot of cold air in as there were cracks in the wall and the vents were really poor too. Then the duvet was too thick for us so our sleep was really poor! Also I didn’t realise there was a wedding on so the wedding guests made a lot of noise going back to their rooms. We could hear the music from our room too. Unfortunately we wouldn’t stay over night again.

    The pub was the best part for us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.5
    Disappointing considering the write up on the Booking.com website
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV was very small, the room had only one chair and only room for one suitcase other than on the floor! The room was too hot for us, despite the sub zero conditions outside but by the second night with the radiator off it was beginning to cool. The shower was not very good for the upmarket price charged and the shower screen on the side of the bath was not a good seal. The paint peeling off the lower part of the door indicated that others before us had flooded the floor! The large door key fob made it awkward to turn the key when locking the door from the outside - doors which self lock would have overcome this minor issue - not a problem for us but older fingers could have had more difficulty. At breakfast there was no written menu. We noted that others were offered black pudding but we were not - a written menu would have allowed options to be clearer. The bread used for toast was not very thick which meant the toast was hard if left until after eating one's cooked breakfast and it was of a very ordinary quality. There was no marmalade on our table when we sat down even though the table had not been used before that morning. The coffee was served in cheap plastic cafetieres although I strongly suspect they were filled with filter coffee since they were already pressed and there were no grounds in the bottom! For a two night stay of £180 (B & B) I do not consider it to be good value for money. There are hotels with equivalent facilities, quality and food for considerably less in the area (as well as hotels charging a lot more!

    The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. The staff who we dealt with were very courteous and pleasant and nothing was too much trouble - if you asked for it. The evening menu in the bar was excellent and reasonably priced and the Marston's Pedigree was excellent. The breakfast team was quick and helpful - we asked for an extra place for breakfast on one morning and it wasn't an issue. The coffee was satisfactory and plentiful. Plenty of choice of freshly cooked food, but see below re options. Breakfast was also served over a long period making it suitable for both leisure and business guests.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay - would visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Radiator pipes made tapping noises intermittently which was a little annoying when trying to get to sleep.

    Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Food was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    What a breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, except the style of the bedroom looked a bit 1980s, but otherwise it was ver y clean and well maintained.

    Friendly, welcoming staff. Huge and well cooked breakfast which lasted me all day. Room was very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.5
    Clean, tidy well presented.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Wi Fi in the rooms that's all really........the staff, room and bed were excellent as was the food and all the surroundings, as I have said the location is great and lovely and peaceful......I would recommend to anyone as a great place to stay.

    The hotel is very good as were the staff there...............there is no Wi Fi in the rooms which is not good really when at times i have work on the computer to do.............apart from that it is a great place to stay and relax, it is a lovely location with good food also.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.9
    Apart from the above comments, we enjoyed our stay and all the staff were wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    In the bathroom there were no grab rails for the shower or bath. The knob for starting the shower was on the bath taps instead of higher up where it would be more accessible for controlling the heat. It wasn't easy to turn it with the folding door for the shower being in the same corner. There was no non-slip mat in the bath. A mat in the bath and grab rails I think should be put in as a matter of course for security. The shower screen rail was coming away from the bath edge so could also be a health hazard. The ceiling paint was also coming off. The other thing was that it could have done with another chair in the bedroom. There was plenty of room for another. One other thing was that the hangers were a bit high up as I could only just reach to get them off the hooks to put our clothes on and to put them up again (except for a couple which were stuck somehow).

    I liked the size of the bedroom from which there was a marvelous view. The bed was very comfy. I liked the bottled water which was a great help with taking our medication medication. There was a good range of tea, coffee etc which was topped up every morning and also the toiletries in the bathroom. There was plenty of storage for toiletries in the bathroom and in the room itself.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    overnight stop twixt Cornwall and Scotland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    pot holes in front car park could do with filling in. when booking was looking for room with walk in shower, unfortunately shower was over bath so difficult for my wife to use.

    dated, but large comfortable bedroom, nice evening meal great breakfast and entertainment by the 2 gentlemen serving.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was annoyed the noise of water dripping in the ceiling of my room during the night...

    Very friendly and welcoming staffs. Room was so clean. Good food and drinks at the bar (actually I spent all afternoon there). Absolutely relaxing and peaceful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.3
    Staff friendly especiall the gentleman who served Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sat Nav address not quite right. I recon it was a half mile out. Luckily it was bright and in afternoon, so no big deal. But if I had a clatter of kids, and it was late at night, and raining, it would not have been good.

    Staff friendly especiall the gentleman who served Breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.5
    Fine for what I wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked specifically for a ground floor room near the entrance cos of poor mobility. Was given room at furthest end of corridor with steps in it.

    Pleasant staff and lovely breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    The hotel restaurant was great, really
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little hard to find, coming from Stoke on Trent / Barlaston .

    The hotel restaurant was great, really Lovely meal and staff. Room was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.8
    Lovely place to stay for business in the week.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't believe I'm saying this, but the shower was too powerful!

    It was good value to stay in the week. They are obviously a wedding venue. There was a nice ambiance. The food in the little pub which is part of the complex was superb. I had a delicious venison steak off the "specials" board for about £13 which included the potatoes and veg.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    8.3
    Lovely place, would stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot in the room, even when I turned the radiators down. I couldn't leave the window open because I was on the ground floor (which I was a bit disappointed about, as a lone female traveller I must say). The WiFi was fine until about 9pm, and then cut out completely, which was frustrating.

    Breakfast was lovely- lots of choice, good service and perfect poached eggs. I had dinner with night before which was also very good. The hotel is attractive, and very clean and well-maintained, the staff are all very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.6
    Loved it but just a couple of niggles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Power shower was too strong to stand under without losing skin. Key/lock to door needs replacing as was tricky to open & lock door of Room 7

    Staff and service were excellent Room was comfortable and well equipped with great views over garden and wedding area Location next to shops was ideal Restaurant choice quality & value was excellent & breakfast was fantastic

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    9.2
    いつも快適
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We always have dinner at the pub in the inn, but this time one of the dish was not so good as usual. I wonder that the chef is new? Apart from that I always love here.

    清潔、スタッフの温かさ、心地よい滞在

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    7.9
    Nice location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't told that I had to order food at the bar; consequently waited at my table for 25 minutes until I gave up.

    Room was very nice. Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    4.6
    Nice people doing their best
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired looking, in spite of exceptional hot weather no means of cooling a stifling hot room

    Nice people doing their best

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    I'd recommend staying here. It just gets very hot during the night in summer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was just very hot and there were no fans.

    Great location, nice room. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great property excellent evening meal and bar staff. Great customer service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    Nicely situated near the University for our daughter's graduation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Good country location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcoming, clean and good value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    An oasis in hotel hospitality!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like having to leave!

    The charm and helpfulness of the staff. The evening meal was superb and breakfast was delightful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Just what I wanted in the right location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature of the shower at peak time

    The staff and the food were both very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Very relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was lovely and very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.0
    Staff were brilliant and lovely and clean
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn’t work and no phone signal either

    Staff were brilliant and lovely and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.3
    Most Enjoyable. Will definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff on reception were a bit miserable

    Lovely vegetarian breakfast. Breakfast staff and bar staff were lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.3
    Good food and convenient location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good food and convenient location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    I would definitely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff was super attentive and the service excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Very cosy comfortable room and excellent breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very cosy comfortable room and excellent breakfast. Evening meals are also excellent. Very friendly, helpfull staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Would highly recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and well maintained

    Warm and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable stay, very friendly staff, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower kept going hot then cold.

    Lovely pub, food looked very nice, but had already booked to eat elsewhere with family. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot

    Good breakfast including gluten free toast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    6.3
    Noisey room and bed not comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisey room and bed not comfortable. Not 100% clean hair in bed and bath.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.3
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower had no pressure

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.3
    A great hotel and venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything good quality

    All first class

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.3
    Food always good, pleasant staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Incredibly hot night, no fans available.

    Food always good, pleasant staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Comfortable hotel with excellent staff and good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable, welcoming, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.3
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Suited our needs

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.9
    Good overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighter bed covering

    All aspects good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    10
    good staff attention all round
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good staff attention all round

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.2
    lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had a wonderful night, the staff were very pleasant and helpful, we will be going again, food was very good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    7.1
    Steak Pie
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steak Pie

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    6.7
    Pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In room facilities no fridge - no cold drinks - small amount of coffee and tea - very small tv

    Helpful staff next door in the restaurant

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    7.9
    The Staff were wonderful and the room was spotlessly clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There seemed to be some noise in the night, not exactly sure what it was but sounded a bit like a plumbing problem

    The Staff were wonderful and the room was spotlessly clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    7.1
    Friendliness of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Was abit run down. Shower hose leaked badly. No ventilation window and as downstairs room, didn't feel comfortable leaving the larger windows open. Food was just about ok.

    Friendliness of staff

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    8.3
    Comfortable room, well-equipped bathroom, staff were...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Comfortable room, well-equipped bathroom, staff were pleasant and welcoming. Food in the bar was good quality and the Hotel is in a peaceful setting. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    Service with a smile and excellent food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing at all.... highly recommended!

    Service with a smile and excellent food. Safe secure parking. The Chef even came into work early on Sunday for me as I had to leave early to go to work. My room was modern and clean with all the usual facilites. The cooked English Breakfast was delicious.... thank you very much!

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    9.6
    It has a lovely country inn feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have preferred a shower as we find using a bath difficult but it's a small quibble.

    It has a lovely country inn feel. Staff are very cheerful and friendly. We have stayed here previously for a family wedding so were pleased to go back. Lovely location.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    10
    The room was spacious, well decorated and spotless.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing major. The mattress was a bit on the hard side but that did not stop me from sleeping like a baby.

    The room was spacious, well decorated and spotless. They gave me an upgrade on arrival. I had a lovely meal at the restaurant. I am a bit of a foodie and my dish was exquisite - better than I have had in some time and highly recommended. Breakfast was very good too. Staff was friendly and welcoming. I will be back to stay and will recommend the restaurant to local friends.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    5.8
    Bar and evening meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Radiator thermostat broken in bedroom which resulted in us being too hot all night. Asked barman for help but he failed to come to the room as he had promised. Smelt burning in the morning - turned out to be burning rubbish within a short distance of our room. No price reduction despite complaints - left before breakfast.

    Bar and evening meal

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    9.6
    Welcomed by a lovely helpful young lady, in fact everyone I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed was comfortable but a bit wobbly

    Welcomed by a lovely helpful young lady, in fact everyone I had dealings with during my stay was smiling and friendly Dinner and breakfast fantastic and ample portions. Facilities in the room lacked nothing

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    7.9
    The peace and ambiance of the countryside were wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff were efficient but smiles were few. It was a long walk from the car to our room, up stairs and through doors that tended to close on us. Only two village shops were open when we visited in late March.

    The peace and ambiance of the countryside were wonderful. Staff were efficient when approached, but the chocolate lab was much friendlier.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    9.2
    Staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower bit cold intermittently and flow not good. TV bit on the small side.

    Staff friendly and helpful. Food excellent.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    9.6
    Staff very friendly and food was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WIFI was poor in rooms but didn't spoil the experience.

    Staff very friendly and food was excellent. Great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    7.5
    Great venue and food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff were a little confrontational,condescending but overall did their job

    Great venue and food

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    10
    everything was super.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    everything was super......food excellent, room wonderful

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    5.0
    Breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds

    Breakfast was good

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    8.8
    No cold water
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No cold water

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    8.3
    Friendly staff clean rooms proximity to motorways
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly staff clean rooms proximity to motorways

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.1
    Food was good staff are great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was very uncomfortable .weding party right outside the window

    Food was good staff are great

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    7.9
    Unfortunately for some reason which I couldn't ascertain...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Unfortunately for some reason which I couldn't ascertain there were a lot of flies in restaurant and hotel

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.6
    The room was clean and well maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was clean and well maintained.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    5.8
    DINNER WAS OK
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    ROOM VERY DUSTY IN PLACES

    DINNER WAS OK

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    8.3
    facility s good n breakfast .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    there was nothing not to like .

    facility s good n breakfast .great staff lovely too .

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    9.2
    friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no problems

    friendly staff

There are also 35 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: