Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury 3 stars

Shrewsbury Business Park, Sitka Drive, Shrewsbury, SY2 6LG, United Kingdom

#9 of 15 hotels in Shrewsbury

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1584 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is clean the breakfasts good but it’s starting to show its age since decoration . Suggest the company does some upgrading and decoration in parts of the hotel. Staff friendly. All ok just starting to look a little tired in places

    Modern property

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell from the drains in room 12 was dreadful . There wasn't any air conditioning working in hotel for all of our stay. TVs weren't working on our first day . The beds were creaky, we have stayed in many of these hotels but this was much below the usual standard.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room air conditioning not working and a large fan was already in room on our arrival. After a conversation with reception was told the majority of the air con individual units in rooms were not working and there seemed to be no plan to repair or replace them. Very poor! The car park is being used and abused by several of the local offices staff and this can cause problems finding a space during the day MON-Friday. This is apparently a known problem and the hotel even rang an office on Wednesday afternoon and suddenly six people came rushing across the road and moved their cars straight away. However loads of others clearly abuse the open to all car park and the duty Manager informed me a number plate recognition system is to be fitted asap.

    Largest room that we have stayed in at HIE. First class shower room. Stayed with our pet dog and although situated on an office business park found morning and evening walks with him OK. Had no problem finding the hotel unlike some others on here, a decent Sat nav took me straight to the door. Staff very friendly and breakfast on a par with all HIE we have stayed at.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find the hotel. Didn't feel safe standing in the bath to have a shower as the floor of the bath was slippery - would have liked a shower mat or something similar.

    The breakfast was very good. The baps were very fresh. Good value for money. The beds were very comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    my only issue was the location of the hotel being in an industrial estate which is poorly signposted

    the staff were very friendly and helpful, decent size room with everything you would expect tv,tea/coffee own bathroom with shower plenty of hot water ,Breakfast was buffet style there is a takeout option available too which we found useful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    our room was close to a fire exit door, a sign indicated it was alarmed...frequently day and night, guests were using this door to go outside and smoke! the smoke permeated into our room ..unpleasant...several times i closed the door on the smokers...the door was often left open..security risk.....reported it to staff who confirmed that the doors were not alarmed and could do nothing about it

    excellent friendly and helpful staff; breakfast well presented and excellent, pleanty of choice and very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got 2 rooms. The air-con of the entire hotel was not working. No notice was given. we needed to open the windows and use electric fans to cool down the rooms. The windows were next to a noisy road.

    The location of the hotel was very close to the destination that we needed to go.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    CAR PARKING SPACES are very narrow, i had my door dented, Grrrrr..... I really wish hotels offered decent drink making facilities in the room, maybe some real milk in a thermos, or 3 in one sachets. It would be so easy to implement.

    Quiet rooms, big beds, great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is part of a Business Park, with a busy roundabout close by. Aside from the hotel car park, there is no outside space to enjoy fresh air, have a drink or take a stroll. The hotel food menu is limited and somewhat pricey, though the quality is quite good. Drinks cost more than some good pubs, but also less than some restaurants.:

    A good-sized room, quite close to a main road but you can open the window a little without making it too noisy. Comfortable double bed, good bathroom/shower, and enough room to relax a little. Preferable to the Travelodge we usually stay at nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative was a mouldy smell emanating from the shower and wash basin drains but reception assured me that it would be sorted out

    Spacious comfortable room well appointed if a little bland. Very quiet location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the room next to stairs, lift and above the entrance so noisy late into the night and early morning. I would advise never to eat an evening meal. It was awful.

    The room and shower were very good. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although it is a fair distance from the city of Shrewsbury itself, it is situated on a new office block and in very comfortable location especially parking. No eating facilities are available in the area and dinners supplied are little match to what pubs and restaurants could provide - but breakfasts were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were welcoming . The Holiday Inn was located on a business park, but I was able to get around easily. The site was clean and staff very friendly

    The welcome of the staff. Rooms were clean and spacious. Shower was fantastic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot breakfast was poor. The sausages & the scrambled eggs were tasteless.

    We were happy with the comfort & service etc. The continental side of the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only complaint would be that we didnt like the 2 pieces of "artwork" on the walls Although this is obviously just a matter of taste

    Booked 4 rooms for family as all at a wedding locally We were all pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel and bedroom were All the facilities needed were in the room, thankfully inc air conditioning Lovely big bed and nice bathroom with powerful shower Very impressed with the facilities and the buffet breakfast and nice friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The offer to take your dog is good and no problem in the room but as the dog is not allowed in any part of the areas you can sit or eat (except 2 sofas in the entrance doorway) this was not satisfactory.

    The room was very comfortable but noisy due to traffic outside and needs triple glazing on the windows on that side of the building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needed updating. The furniture old, including an uncomfy bed. There were cracked tiles in the bathroom and the grouting on the floor tiles was horrible. The air conditioning didn’t work.

    The location was great and the hotel had a good sized car park. Breakfast was good and the staff good too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not mega-close to town although it’s only a short 5-10 minutes in the car.

    Typical good quality Holiday Inn Express, almost pathing to complain about

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit of manners when the booking mess up was quite obviously the fault of the hotel. I also expected to get the wrong room at a discounted price after all the anxiety and rudeness we put up with.

    The breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Their wasn't anything I didn't like!

    I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, the bed was very comfy, unfortunately I didn't have time for breakfast but im sure it was excellent! The staff were very friendly. The room was extremely clean! Overall if I was to score out of 10, then I would give a 10.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy children are always a pain, especially when their parents do nothing to control them. However, it appears there is little to be done about it these days unless we opt for a child free hotel.

    We had a quiet comfortable room, the shower was superb and the beds very comfortable. The facilities were great with everything to make the stay enjoyable. We had breakfast which was superb. Certainly a place to stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very average/poor breakfast. TV poor quality. Carpet worn, bathroom fairly was worn and patched up. Traffic noise not good (double glazing anyone?) Room cold heater noisy.

    Croissants? I should be so lucky. bed comfy, shower good,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    A card on the table about the air con controls. Better flow of breakfast items at the peak time.

    The room was too hot and dry and we didn't see the controls until the next morning. So a poor night's sleep. You ran out of bacon and scrambled egg at 0930 on the Sunday morning so there was a wait for more of both to arrive.The dining area was like a works canteen.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately neither of us had a good night's sleep. It was too hot and we weren't sure how to work air con in the middle of the night and the bed seemed very bouncy every time one of us moved.. Next refurb you need to install plug sockets next to bed to charge phones. No bottle opener! Desk chair a little bit tired. My hubby tried to have an early shower but the water was cold. Breakfast was not great, would've preferred to have gone elsewhere.

    Nice big room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel that the breakfast wasn’t of great standard. By 9am they had run out of brown bread which wasn’t great. Took ages to replace run out milk. Selection was ok but feel that could maybe offer a little more in terms of the cooked breakfast rather than just 4 items. The food was nice but just could have offered more.

    Room was very spacious able to fit the cot in easily. Also great that they accommodate for dogs too. Bed very comfortable. Well equipped.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very basic.

    Beds were very comfortable, with a great shower. Room was very spacious. Location made it easy for us to get in and out of Shrewsbury easily.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No fridge in the Room, unable to keep cold drinks cold, chocolate from melting and our "fresh" milk went off.

    Room 106 was ideal for my wife and I and close to the life.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked 2 twin/double rooms. The options were either doubles or twin/double. The rooms we were allocated were doubles - not ideal for 4 guys. There were no other rooms available at the hotel and we ended up having to get two more rooms at the Lord Hill Hotel - £65.00 each for single occupancy doubles. We were not happy chappies!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    next door rooms are easily herd in yours especially when woken up at 3am Sunday morning

    staff were all polite and helpful, breakfast was amazing and had plenty of choices. evening meal was nice on both occasions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Disability Access with roll in Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had booked two rooms described as ‘disabled, with roll-in shower.’ Although there were rails and pull cords in our room, there was no roll in shower....only a shower over the bath. This was impossible for my husband to use, and very difficult for me. Our friends’ room had no roll-in shower either, despite the booking description.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Good value breakfast. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a really loud group of lads across the hall :-(

    Dog friendly place, AMAZING breakfast, good value for money, Co-op close, quiter area, easy to find

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the room tempeture we had 9 rooms in total for a family wedding.

    Can't fault the place everything was fantastic apart from the air conditioning x

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    room 107 double bed past its sell by date noisy bathroom fan noisy generators outside the bedroom window bathroom tiled floor spongy

    good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a rancid smell in the entire hotel all weekend. The property is out of the way of everything, desperately needs a refurb. Although not directly the hotels fault, taxis are impossible to get from the hotel. When I arrived at 12pm, I was advised there were no taxis available until 2:30pm from any company. When I checked out at 11pm, the next taxi available from 4 different companies was at 3pm. Unless you are driving there is no alternative. Not the hotel's fault but a warning to book taxis well in advance would be beneficial as alot of wedding guests were left waiting for hours to leave the site.

    Clean, basic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived and went into our bedroom the smell from the bathroom was really strong and bad. I complained to the member of staff who was on duty and he was great and tried to do his best to remove the smell , he said he would complain to household and although it did get better when in our room we were aware of an underlying odour

    The organisation of the breakfast and food was very good ,as was the staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not really a lot, could just do with more relaxing chairs, to sit in the bar area as the tables and chairs are used for both eating and breakfast etc, minor point but could just be improved, but does not effect what a good stay it was.

    Breakfast very good also excellent as we were leaving early morning. The staff, young lady on desk and other staff very knowledgable with regards to questions about the area and other facilities around,also very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the bathroom was to a very good standard we are lovers of relaxing in a bath after a lengthy walk which with only a shower available was not possible.

    we thought the whole break was excellent value for money. We were especially impressed with the standard of the buffet breakfast however as we did not eat any other meals at the hotel we are unable to comment on the service in the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast self service crowded carpet in room not very clean mirror broken would have liked couches in the bar

    Bed very comfy small and personal service good parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice stay big bed big comfy nice room very clean room 003 is disabled room with bath room big fo fit weelchire room on good floor I recommend the heating not working at the moment thay have heater in room to keep warm

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stickiness of the tables in the communal area. Felt like they were not clean but maybe just very old or have a build up of cleaner. Ice cream expensive 😕

    The very friendly staff. The excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was not working in the room. There was a strange smell in the shower room, reported it.

    The breakfast, but not as good as the hotel in Southampton.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did ask for a upstairs room when booking. Ended up in a downstairs room. The person in room above us was very heavy footed. Very noisy and also dogs barking in the morning.

    The location was good for us, just outside town but a short taxi ride. Staff were all very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately our bedroom was by a main road which was noisy but can't be helped. Room 31

    The best was comfy, nice big shower, nice basic breakfast and the waitress warmed up my crossaint in the microwave as i burnt it putting it through the toaster

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is on an industrial estate nowhere else to get some food unless you drive the Aircon wasn’t working and apparently a fly set the fire alarm off at midnight

    Just a typical holiday inN

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didnt find anything to complain about.

    Nice rooms with a comfortable BIG bed. Showers and Bathroom exellent. Breakfast had everything you needed to a good days start. For a holiday Inn Hotel Top! If your on a Business Trip ..this is the place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air extractor was annoying in bathroom this did not switch off at all constance wirring noise management said that it could not be rectified.

    Shower facilities vg well thought out especially if you have special needs. A bath would have been nice though. It was nice not to have steamed up mirrors as well Quiet room as requested comfy bed and lighting vg something which can be lackng in hotels!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very large stain on the carpet in bedroom - we brought our dog and she made no mess! Paid a supplement for the dog - hope we weren’t given that room due to this as there was no discount!

    It was close to Shrewsbury. The breakfast was brilliant and the Staff were just as goof

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain about other than finding where it was located. As a stranger I had problems locating it, would have been better with more info and better directions.

    Bed was comfy but the room we stayed in would have been better without road traffic noise throughout the night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms were not clean as expected. the headboard needed wiping the glass in the bathroom and the mirror in the bedroom. The heating was not working so an electric heater was provided. The bathroom is tatty round the edges and the tiles were all chipped on the shelves. This needs repairing. for £90 I would have expected alot more for this amount of money for a budget stay. The breakfast could have been better and Quorn sausages already cooked and ready to be served. many people were wanted more veggie options and didn't ask for the sausages as they didn't want to wait for the cooking.

    The staff and location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was very tired. The room was shabby and in need of some serious tlc. The food/bar/breakfast ok. Constant hum from AC/bathroom was disappointing and led to a broken night. Expensive for what it is.

    Food was ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Think dining room décor could look better re tables and chairs.

    nice hot breakfast. Buffet set up worked well in the morning. Nice and quiet room. Staff very helpful. Shower in bathroom bigger than expected.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed and pillows very comfortable. I like the fact that there is a hairdryer and iron with ironing board already in the room. you'd have to call reception to have these in a 5* hotel. the food was very tasty too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom in room 115 had a strong smell of damp, which permeated the room. We couldn't locate the source but reported it. Overall for the price the accommodation was satisfactory but wouldn't recommend Holiday Inn Express to friends or colleagues. I use Holiday Inns all the time for business. I thought this would be OK. Breakfast. (dirty cutlery, powdered scrambled eggs, dirty tables, not enough tables for all guests, horrible coffee) heating in room wasn't working. an oil heater had been put in.

    not much

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The climate control was broken; heating was provided by a portable radiator, but the room was (too) warm to begin with.

    Helpful staff and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV could use an update, or replacement of remote controls. These are minor niggles, the experience was overall positive.

    The shower facilities and products are always in good supply and an excellently maintained kettle.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelled musty. Staff could have been more friendly e.g. when going in for breakfast there were staff around, but no-one said good morning to us.

    The bed was comfortable, the room was quiet and I enjoyed the breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Heating had failed and room only had an oil heater. It wasn't a problem for our stay but may be if it were colder. Some traffic noise from adjacent road. Location is on a business park so all journeys will mean car travel! Rooms are looking a little tired but this is reflected in the price.

    Good size room and bed. Shower worked well. Good location for visiting local attractions. Good breakfast included in booking price. No problem with parking or accommodating our dogs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too far out of town, about 2+ miles, quite a long walk. No bus service nearby and struggled to get a taxi, especially back after a night out, although it wasn't late. Portable heater in the room as the heating wasn't working. Meant the bathroom was cold. Breakfast was average, coffee awful. Staff nice and helpful. Not worth £95 - we thought we might get a £10 discount at least, with the heating situation. It might be a good location through the week for business people but not for leisure/tourism on a weekend.

    Staff were nice, helpful and friendly. Very quiet area (at the weekend). Clean and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    toilet flush inadequate. extractor in bathroom was on continuously in our room (107) and didn't work at all in my son's room (11). Settees in both rooms were full of crumbs.

    room size was good. bed clean and comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. A very nice holiday inn.

    Big room. Pull out sofa bed. Great bathroom & shower facility. Free WiFi. Warm room. Close to Shrewsbury town centre. Quick taxi for about £4.50

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet grubby. Smell of drains in bathroom. Sink plug did not hold water, tv - vertical lines on picture, room entrance door, which is a fire door, damaged. Breakfast lovely - thank you chef. Welcome and reception staff wonderful. Thank you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to the absence of street name signs we had difficulty locating the hotel within the business park

    Very helpful and friendly staff both at reception and in the restaurant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Distance from Town centre is not too convenient, people without transport, is costly having to use a taxi. Especially if you are wanting to go out for the evening before returning back for the night.

    Cheaper than the Premier Inn, and breakfast is included but those who do not drive the cost of the taxi needs to be added in, can still be cost-effective. Just not so convenient regards distance away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating was not working, but electric heaters were placed into each of our rooms so it was not a problem.

    The rooms were as expected as we have stayed at this hotel quite a few times. The breakfast is superb. The location is perfect to visit Shrewsbury town shops. Also, we went to the Shrewsbury Town football game which is just a few minutes away from the hotel. There is plenty of free parking. The eating area/lounge is cosy. It is easy to relax and chat in the areas set out for seating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable bed. Good breakfast. Friendly efficient staff who were keen to ensure you had a good experience. Would definitely stay there again. We liked the free onsite parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access with roll in Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to add here

    Quiet position of the hotel, great room, good bed and pillows which is important to us for a good nights sleep. Staff were lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access with roll in Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interconnecting door to another room, could hear everything next door very easily. Heating not working. Shower not very good

    Comfy bed and nice spacious room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More comfortable chairs in bar area.

    Bed very comfortable. Pillows ok. Bathroom very clean. Good variety at breakfast and coffee from machine excellent. Staff very helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing!

    Everything about this property and stay was perfect! The room was large, clean and had every extra you could possibly ask for. Loved the big shower! The staff were exceptional and the breakfast was great! Very happy, thank you!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no heating in our room but therewas in others so they wheeled in a little oil filled radiator which wasn’t really good enough so we asked him to find us a room where the heating did work and he did ,to be fare they were having problems with there heating systems but (they should have made that CLEAR on booking ) and offered something in return ie discount on room or free breakfast,but they thought by offering free sachets of HOT CHOCOLATE in your room was enough (I DONT THINK SO ) apart from that it was ok

    Great location parking was free which these days is very rare big rooms good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of the Hotel, it is too far away from the city for tourists! Very few restaurants in the area. Good shower in the bathroom but a heated towel rail would have been useful for drying towels

    The staff were excellent especially Gareth who was very helpful and knowledgeable about the Shrewsbury area. The breakfast was good, the bed comfortable and the room a good size & clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating was not easy to use, it was cold and could have been easier instructions, spoilt the weekend away, as luck would have it I had taken a hot water bottle,

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last time we visited, they had an issue with the heating system, hopefully they fixed it by now.

    Always good value for money with nice and friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we don,t think anything could be better

    WE think that HIE are excellent value for money they have everything travellers need and the buffet breakfast is fantastic can set you up for the rest of the day ,the staff are very friendly and helpful HIE our no.1 choice for hotels always clean and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty stained shower needs deep cleaning especially hinges. Kettle needed dealing. Cobwebs heating very poor so an electric heater was in the room. Horrible gathering of smokers by the entrance very off putting

    Spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: