Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Lodge Lancaster 4 stars

Main Road, Lancaster, LA2 6AZ, United Kingdom

#13 of 22 hotels in Lancaster

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1021 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Only that we only stayed one night.😀

    This place is really the best value for money I have stayed in the UK. Nice, spacious room, large bathroom. Very nice restaurant/pub, with good food. All at a very reasonable price. The best touch was the heating, very, very welcome in the dreary weather.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The choice of menu was very poor,the so called full monty burger was dry and the bread roll it came was dry,as a matter of fact we decided to eat out after our first night. The water was never hot and only warm at any time of day

    The staff were excellent. Very friendly and always willing to help. The breakfasts were very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would benefit from refurbishment and room was quite dusty in places. Toilet system leaking in bathroom-did report this.

    Staff were very pleasant and helpful at all times.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed 2 nights and although on day two the bed was made up the floor wasn’t hoovered or the bathroom floor mopped was disappointed as both needed cleaning.

    The room was nice, bed was comfortable, TV big enough to watch it in bed....everything you wanted. The reception was efficient and easy. The restaurant was nice with a simple menu. The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the worse place we stayed in ,while away on holiday. I had had high hopes from the promo pictures on booking.com as it looked really great in the advertised pictures.However ,I do feel they are misleading somewhat and the whole place did not live up to our expectations. We arrived and it was quite busy in the restaurant and it was a little unclear where to check in. You check in at the bar/till area. The lady who dealt with us was very nice and helpful. We were in room 2 and I have to say ,when I got into the room I had to go on to booking.com to see if we had the right room as it looked awful!The double room I booked has 4pictures to it on the booking process ,3of which were definitely not the room we were stood in! So that left one picture that kind of resembled the room we had been given.The bathroom was not one of those that had appeared in the pictures of what we had been expecting.Now you could say as long as the hotel gives you one room that is in one of the four pictures then that’s ok...but I’ve never had this before on the booking.com site and one out of four that you are expecting IS misleading.The room was very hot and we turned off the heaters.We opened the window,but because it was on the ground floor,we could not leave them open while not in the room.Our window opened out on to the walk way to one of the parking areas ,which was not ideal. The lock on the window was hanging off and would not shut properly(see picture).The general standard of decor was POOR and badly finished.The bedside wall lamps looked like they were just managing to hang on,the furniture had joins coming apart and unglued edges etc.There were paint and other decorating marks on plug sockets,switches etc.Under the tissue box on the desk ,it looked like something had melted on the table top(see picture)The carpet looked like it had seen far better days and the floor had a large dip in it outside the bathroom.All the paintwork was either scruffy,peeling or chipped.

    The whiskey burger which we had for our evening meal was good, but the plates were not clean ,in fact very little of the crockery was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues. I travelled alone, stayed overnight. The room was fine, slept well. Staff were welcoming and friendly. Good meal in the restaurant in the evening and nice breakfast in the morning. What's not to like.

    I checked in quite late in the evening but I had enough time to have a shower and freshen up and to order a meal and eat in their restaurant before the kitchen closed. Friendly staff made me feel welcome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room would need a refurbishment (paint peeling, wallpaper detaching, half the bulbs in the bathroom were not working, and the lamp on the bedside table wasn’t working as well, so another one was added...)

    Common areas are beautifully renovated. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were separate from the hotel. Enjoyed a beautiful late afternoon dinner and drinks in the beer garden enjoying the late sun. Did not need to drive for dinner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ensuite Luxury Double or Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location. The staff were fantastic and so helpful and friendly. The food was delicious. My room was beautiful. Very big and comfortable huge bathroom massive bed. Was perfect. Would have liked to stay longer. Very lucky with the weather it was very hot so sat outside on the terrace. Beautiful. Highly recommended I’ll definitely stay here again if I’m in the area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tiny room when we had booked for a couple with an assistance dog. We felt very cramped. Tired bathroom. Toiletries provided in large pump action bottles but these were broken. Tiny clothes hanging area. Only one bedside table. 3 weddings in three days took up most of the public space both inside and on the terrace. Couldn't find anywhere to sit on the first night. Told the dining room was fully booked and we'd have to eat in the bar but as people were sharing the oxygen it was so packed, this would have been impossible. Eventually we were found a wobbly table in the corner of the dining room extension right by the service doors. Nowhere to walk the dog except the children's play area - not ideal. This was next to the overflowing rubbish skips and was littered with wedding debris including empty glasses and plates. Staff were obviously struggling to keep afloat.

    Easy to find. Plenty of parking. Good range of gins in the bar. Interesting menu with local food. Homemade biscuits on tea tray. Checkout 11am.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff needed a lot of guidance, they lacked any motivation. The housekeeping was poor, out of date milk, tea and coffee facilities not replenished and bins in room not emptied. Because of coach party there, the staff couldn't sufficently tend to other guest

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Daughter's water glass had lipstick on it. Spoke to the waiter who apologised and brought a new clean glass. Also, our room on the whole had a lovely view, except for the skip and bins. Maybe these could be fenced in so that guests can't see them? Also, the shower was a bit weak. After a long day walking, it would have been nice to stand under a powerful shower, but not the end of the world.

    Great location. Excellent, good value fresh food. They had run out of the meal I asked for. The chef offered another dish which I didn't fancy, so then said that he would make the dish that I had first requested! Fantastic service! Friendly staff. We had a family room, and it was a lovely size, we were not all on top of each other. Nice big bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ensuite Luxury Double or Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one small problem. Shower rooms were spacious, clean and very modern but with no shelf /storage to put any toiletries, bags etc.

    Friendly staff. Very comfortable rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot think of anything that I found lacking in the stay.

    Staying in a converted barn was excellent and the room was exceptionally large and very clean and tidy. The room visitors book gave us a cheerful homely feeling as it seemed very personal to us. Loved the staff and the service and chefs were amazing. I would recommend anyone to experience this place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was far too hot. Unable to obtain a fan although the welcome pack informed us we could request one. Mattress on the very firm side. Might suit some people but left me with back pain.

    Food and staff very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the guide in the bedroom, it stated that if you were hot, ask for a fan. I did and they did not have any. It was a scorrcher if a few days so I had to go out and buy my own. All they could offer me was a glass of ice cubes...

    Tv was the AP for the router (although you did not know that until you had the tv on then searched for the wifi). The breakfasts were great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really though the vegetarian option for food wasn't great however the breakfast was good.

    Good value as it was a great price for the standard of the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    well we got let down by cleaner not turning up for 3 days

    variety of food at breakfast and evening dinners was very good,hotel waitresses very polite and friendly,bed was comfy but high for my wife who has shortish legs,also only one chair in roomwhen room was meant for 2people

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom storage for clothes, etc., was abysmal. Was not too bad for a two-night stay but no use for anything longer.

    The bedroom was fairly generous in size, the bed fairly comfortable and the bathroom well appointed and bright.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing to dislike. (not an issue but we were unable to link into the free in-house WiFi service, referred to Reception and concluded that the problem was with our device - not an issue as we have a portable WiFi provider)

    even though the bedroom was quite small, it had loads of character (just 10 rooms located in what i presume was an old stable building to the rear of the main building) The views across the Estuary / Bay were stunning from our bedroom on the 1st floor. the bathroom was spotlessly clean and very well equipped with toiletries etc. Excellent shower and lots of hot water. the inclusive breakfast was extensive in choice and taken in the main building - lovely dining area. We took advantage of an excellent steak offer for our evening meal on the first night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.....

    This hotel is the best pet friendly hotel I have been too, nothing was too much for the staff, we only stayed one night but I am 100% sure we will be back and will stay for longer. Would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything we didn't like, our only comment to the staff was the curtains had some hooks missing (if that's the only problem well!!!!)

    Our room was excellent,the breakfast and evening meal was great. The staff were really helpful and the Lodge was fantastic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tables were not set with cutlery and a table cloth for evening dinner, they looked quite bare. I was expecting my party of family and friends to be taken to the table and it looking nice with a table cloth and it being already set. Instead the cutlery was in canisters on the table and we had to help ourselves. No bath robes in our room as is stated on website.

    The food at the evening meal was very good, well presented and delicious. The breakfast menu was excellent. Our room was big and the bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have been much better. One person was serving . She was taking bookings in a phone at the same time as trying to do breakfasts . We would have preferred fresh fruits / perhaps breads / croissants . Not everybody wants to eat cooked breakfast. Whilst we are aware u had waffles on my son and daughter had them and there was little or no banana taste at all if them .

    The bedroom was very comfortable . Lighting was poor as we were trying to do work .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First room (6) had a broken lock, staff were not all that interested. Second room (2) had a leak from the toilet or radiator. Nothing was done about it. Having driven for 2 hours to attend a family event the stay at the lodge rather spoilt the weekend.

    Good breakfast but we had to ask for toast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was really clean and comfortable and a bonus that we could have our little dog stay with us. Parking was really easy and the breakfast was absolutely wonderful. We have already booked to stay again and would thoroughly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we were on the ground floor and there was a pathway outside the room, it would of been better if each room had a little patio outside the bedroom window

    The rooms were very clean, staff were very helpful the bar area was very comfortable for relaxing after a busy day

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One morning my pancakes were burnt. The downstairs rooms could benefit from hand rails and a shower stool for my dad. Some lighting around the side of the building would help when bringing your luggage in at night.

    This is a little gem! The main staff were extremely helpful, cooked breakfast delicious and evening meals restaurant quality! Location is great for the lakes. The rooms were spacious and spotless. They looked after my elderly dad with care and consideration. We thought it was the best place we have stayed in at this price range for many years. The main chap on in the mornings was a consummate professional. I loved watching the birds out of the window and the shortbread biscuits in the room were yummy!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a cheap night away, on our way to the lake district. the place is lovely, we had a lovely meal, and the staff were so friendly and helpful, will definitely go again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff on arrival were very helpful and welcoming. The room was clean and included all the necessities and home comforts. The beds are very comfy and the rooms are quite pleasant. Breakfast in the morning is more than enough with plenty of options for everyone. Stayed for 3 nights and I would so again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about The Lodge was lovely - the food, the rooms, the restaurant/bar - but special mention must go to the staff, especially Maggie, Sue and Cat. They were all very friendly, went out of their way to be helpful and are a credit to the establishment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Group
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place to come and stay! We came for a wedding and it was lovely. Rooms lovely and staff was all so good and couldn’t do enough for you. Food very good and lots of different Gins to try. Will definitely go back 👍🏻

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom lighting needs attention; the pretty chandelier-type bedside lights were useless for reading. We got the walk-in shower we had requested as disabled guests, but it was so spacious as to be dangerous, because there were no grab rails for support as one walked in over the slippery shower tray! A common problem, but easily rectified.

    Our second visit. Warm welcome, with a free drink on arrival (although it would have been nice to have our names used). Very comfortable bed. The only meal we have had has been breakfast, but it was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two lightbulbs missing in room Restaurant service slow

    Good quality simple breakfast Rooms quiet Restaurant food well presented and good Very friendly staff Room facilities excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower however wasn't great (lack of water pressure?) Also, the electrics in the bathroom were partially out (Shaving point & mirror) We did report it - the hotel booked an Electrician to make the repair.

    The food was Excellent - from Breakfast to dinner!! The waiting staff were especially nice. Hotel rooms were situated at the rear of the property and were clean and tidy.# We would recommend this hotel and would stay there again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interactions with staff were very brief and a bit abrupt at times- not rude, just not particularly interactive. Perfect for people not wanting to be bothered.

    As I was 35 weeks pregnant, I requested a notification if a bigger room become available. While I didn’t receive that, I assume we were upgraded to a family room (given the size and number of beds- we weren’t told on check in). The room was therefore spacious and enabled me to get into a ‘spare’ bed when I was restless. The home made shortbread on the tea tray were delicious and a nice touch. The food was also very nice. Having breakfast available to 11:30 was also a great bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ensuite Luxury Double or Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy plumbing especially when room above drew water. The banging filled the Room not good at 11.39 at night !!

    Food was excellent Very comfortable bed Staff very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to find anything of note that concerned me.

    The room was spacious clean and well topped up with an selection of teas and coffees,the evening meal and breakfast was again very nice and plentiful served by very attentive staff,this was my fourth trip and as usual very pleased with my visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ensuite Luxury Double or Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms reminded me of a motel I stayed in while travelling in the USA, ok for overnight but that’s it. The rooms are very drab and need some life putting into them.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guests next door were rather noisy v late and v early. Sounded like they were in our room, which wasn’t ideal

    Great location, modern, clean and lovely food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window would not close properly but this was not a problem to us. The rain!

    The peace and quiet of the room. The view over the rooftops to the Bay and Grange over sands. Lovely welcome. Great food choices. Location. Friendly staff. Fantastic shower. Nothing too much trouble.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room (4) was a very pleasant surprise. We stayed in room 7 last year which was cramped considering we had a guide dog puppy with us. This year in room 4 it was ample in size and although we didn’t have a puppy with us this time it would have been ideal. The room and bathroom are disabled friendly. Staff as usual were friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in told us to take the dog through the hotel, so I was unhappy to say the least on returning for dinner to be moaned at by the manager that we should have taken the 'dog outside' Proper clear check in required and all staff need to know so we do not suffer public humiliation because of their rubbish customer service.

    Good room,beds, linen, breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the lack of sound proofing, couldn't sleep before 1am due to televison noise from room below I think. Woken up at 3am by noise of guests coming home in the room next door.

    Staff were very friendly and nice view. Good food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only comment related to our bed, the mattress was very soft especially at the edge. But didn't spoil our trip overall.

    Nice big family rooms. Friendly staff, nice bar area and the evening meal was lovely and reasonably priced. Breakfast was great for adults and children. And even if you don't want anything from the menu they are happy to cook something bespoke.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one chair in my bedroom. No in room wifi. The weather in north Lancashire means you may get wet going to the bedroom block.

    The breakfast was good with plenty of choice for a few days. Plenty of black pudding for those of us who like it. The restaurant has a good choice of dishes large and small. The rooms are very comfortable. A good view from my room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Contacted the hotel 24 hours before arrival and due to averse weather and snow conditions our boat was cancelled hence couldn't get to the mainland that evening. No response to emails or phone call, hugely disappointed to be changed for a night when the situation was out of our hands. Would never book again.

    Nothing horrendous no communication when our boat was cancelled so couldn't get to the hotel that evening and no official confirmation that we could arrive late .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It looked very different to the pictures posted online, a lot smaller and the carpets were rather dirty, and the furniture very dated.

    The breakfast was nice and it was quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work

    Great food .Staff very helpful and friendly . We were a family group and had 4 rooms. All rooms great and the larger rooms were exceptional. Tea and coffee in rooms and delicious shortbread. Eat dinner at The Lodge which was first class. Extensive choice of gins which we sampled . Breakfast cooked individually. If near Lancaster again would try The Lodge FIRST.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom l stayed in was a little stark, in need of a headboard and a couple of easy chairs to make is more attractive and comfortable. The bathroom was adequate but the bath sealant very messy and floor tiles cracked. The toilet seat was cheap and the wrong size leaving a gap at the front. However these faults did not spoil our stay.

    Good location, l know this area well having lived nearby years ago. The lodge is a very good hotel, not quite perfect but a lovely hotel in a lovely area serving lovely food. Very handy for Lancaster and Morecambe, lovely canal walk and not too far from the beautiful Lake District. The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. Good choice of meals on the menu and a nice selection of breakfasts available. Nice thick towels and it’s always good to get a hairdryer, iron and board provided.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower only ran luke warm. Luckily the bath tap was a lot hotter so was able to have a hot bath instead.

    Really nice hotel. Great room size and finished to a high standard. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the weather!

    Friendly staff, excellent food, location, good access to M6 and Lancaster via new road system. Despite being on the main road the bedrooms are quiet being in an annex behind the main building.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing bad to say about this place... breakfast was delicious, evening dinner was lovely and the bedroom was super cosy. I would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful building in a lovely location. Very quiet, large, warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean room with the best facilities...including some very special coffee. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was great. The Lodge is definitely my new go to stop over accommodation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can`t think of anything.

    Breakfast`s were excellent,variety on the buffet table before very good English breakfast.The room was very good,very clean,bathroom great very comfy bed.Evening meals were very good and reasonably priced,all in all a very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind

    The room and bathroom was clean and comfortable. Also the restaurant provided reasonably good food and service The whole place had a nice feel to it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was very low pressure and could have done with a wipe down, was a few shampoo splatters and hairs in bath.

    Comfy bed, warm room, lots of hot drink options, bathrobes

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No negative comments made

    This was a gift for our mother and father. They found the accommodation very comfortable, well maintained, lovely walk in shower, breakfast plenty to choose from and staff very friendly. Location close to 2 main towns and public transport convenient. They had a lovely time

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu is a quite limited it could benefit from some bar type meals pasta fish salads curry seperate from resteraunt or extend the light bites until 7.90pm The room was realy great apart from being cold ( 5 ) and the plumbing from the room above was so loud it reverberated through the room

    The quality of the food is very good although limited the bed was extremely comfortable staff were really friendly best of al our Mabel the Airedale loved it espesially the open fire

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I ordered roasted tomato without garlic, it came with garlic. I specified no sauce with my steak, it came with pepper sauce. Scrambled eggs at breakfast were swimming in melted butter.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was on outskirts of the city with easy bus route into lancaster without having to drive close motorway links also. The hotel was clean staff friendly and food great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were so welcoming and attentive. The room lovely and food superb. We stayed on a Monday evening when there was a 25% discount on food which for the quality wasn't overpriced anyway.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This place is amazing! The staff were super-friendly and helpful; our room was huge with a lovely big bathroom and was perfectly accommodated; we had beautiful views from the window towards Morecambe Bay; everything was spotlessly clean and the bed was enormous! We had a meal in the evening in the restaurant and it happened to be 'Steak Night' - excellent value for a rump steak meal leaving no room for dessert, unfortunately. The location of the inn was great as we were able to stroll down to the bay via the lovely Lancaster canal, and watch the sunset. We had a peaceful, undisturbed night in the comfy bed and enjoyed a perfect breakfast the next morning - plenty of choice and friendly staff once again; nothing was too much trouble. We stopped there on our way up to Glasgow and hopefully will be making a point of staying there again next time we go as it's only a short drive from the M6.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First impressions walking into the bar/restaurant were good. It looked nice. Then visiting our room, it wasn't really nice. The whole room looked worse for wear. The carpet was very worn and stained at the entrance, with an unpleasant damp smell at the door. The bathroom wasn't dirty but wasn't clean either. Brown and black on some small edges. The extraction fan wasn't working properly, and made a lot of noise. Many of the shower head holes were blocked. After our shower, half the bathroom was covered in water. I didn't use my towel as it had brown stains on it. The main room light wasn't working, the bedside lamps were oxidised, bent and generally worn. The whole place is screaming for a good overhaul. We reported the broken main light, but we were told to put our key card into the slot at the door. We had a key card, but no slot. All the other lights were working, except the main light. It seems the room we stayed in only gets a quick once over between every guests. The jar with the milk cartons was full of grime and mould (see pic). The complimentary bag coffee was terrible. Cheep and cheerful Tesco instant would have been much much better. The bar and restaurant down the road, The Keys, had a nicer atmosphere and better food. I won't visit here again.

    The only redeeming factor was the breakfast and friendly staff. The food was average.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I loved it

    I arrived really late at night and although there are no staff on the premises at that time all the arrangements made to ensure I got to my room worked out great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    KITCHEN Unhappy with the food, DINNER, burgers were very greasy, made our buns soggy and did not taste good. not good when paying £13 a burger Breakfast was ok, fatty bacon, small thin tasteless overcooked sausages. asked for a poached egg and got a fried, waiter said sorry, chef cooked a fried by mistake. ROOM Shower pressure very low throughout the stay.

    Room was perfect, facilities within the room perfect. clean tidy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed hoovering and dusting. No cupboards by bed. Pool of water on window sill every morning. Paint work chipping away. Pancakes for breakfast tasted like rubber. They were thin and tasteless. I didn't like the coffee. Website offers a free complimentary drink from the bar but staff knew nothing about it. In the end we convinced them and got our drinks with the evening meal. I advised them to remove the offer from the website if they no longer provide this offer.

    Evening Meal was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ensuite Luxury Double or Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff a little abrupt

    Cosy! Comfy beds and very friendly staff. Such great value for money. The cheapest place we have stayed in on our road trip so far ... and by far the best!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only complaint was the room was a little cold, they did try to fix this problem though and the room slowly warmed, although they couldn’t fix properly.

    We loved the bar area and choices of drinks and food. The staff were brilliant, very helpful and a great manner about them. In the room I loved the tea and coffee facilities as they were great quality as was the mattress and bedding. Lovely Toiletries too .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fittings were tired and no drawer space at all. Bed smaller than average and not over comfortable. This goes totally against previous visits. Our friends who we recommended the Lodge to had no hot water so unable to shower in the morning, although the place did not appear over busy at breakfast. Breakfast not as good as previously experienced.

    Good car parking and Friendly welcome after that things went down hill.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom extractor fan looked like it needed to be cleaned or, cleaned more often but otherwise, the bathroom was a good size and otherwise clean.

    We had the large size family room to sleep 4. The room was spacious and clean. We ate one evening at the restaurant and the food was good. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was questionable, ran through the TV and kept disconnecting. The window in room 6 was drafty however the thick blind helped alot. The heating in the room was acceptable.

    The bed was extremely comfortable, the breakfast was amazing and the in room facilities were perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was 2pm. On arrival at 2pm I was advised the rooms aren't yet ready and the cleaner should be out soon. I was advised I could take a seat and wait 'it'll only be a few minutes'. As I went to sit I was offered a drink while I wait, I asked for a small lemonade and was then charged for it. My partner is quite tall and the tv and wall art are low enough for a tall person to notice the top of these do not get cleaned. They were thick with dust.

    The staff were friendly and it was obvious by the constant smiles they are happy in their jobs. The beds are so comfortable, the room was spacious and enough coffee to last us the day/night in the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's no double glazing so there was a bit of a draught, but probably only a problem because it was January when we stayed!

    Great pub-hotel, lovely breakfast, and excellent value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room (2) - smelt really musty and had like a sickly smell which was a real let down as everything else was spot on

    The food was fantastic and the bar area really nice

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: