Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tunbridge Wells Retreat 3 stars

54-57 London Road, Tunbridge Wells Retreat Hotel, Royal Tunbridge Wells, TN1 1DS, United Kingdom

#19 of 20 hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1176 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.1
    Perfectly fine but not at all exciting or luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only towels for 1 person. Room was large but not Superior.

    The room was a faded grandeur, with not very much to recommend it as a Superior space. I would have expected 2 lots of towels and better in room toiletries for the price, but as we shower together and bring our own it wasn't a problem. Parking is not great in Tunbridge Wells but the multi storey car park is nearby. For a one bight break in the town our stay was perfectly adequate however I would probably try the Travelogue up the road in future.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money and a homely friendly place to stay in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only suggestion would be to either replace or clean the carpets in the passages and bedrooms. I see no good reason to have large plate sized stains when they could be removed by a carpet cleaner.

    The wonderful staff in particular. I was initially in a very very small single room and had booked a double room. I was moved to a very pleasant, spacious room. Both rooms overlooked a leafy, quiet courtyard outdoor area. The reception and dining room staff were always very helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The beds and bedding were extremely comfortable and good quality. My other fav was the location. A 10 minute walk to the Tunbridge Wells main station and restaurants/pubs etc. The small bar and restaurant was adequate and cosy if one did not want to walk or drive into town. Good selection of wines but a limited menu.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    6.3
    Bed comfy, towels clean, breakfast very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of parking. Inconsistency of knowledge of payment procedure of staff. Room carpet stained, some lights not working, cups in room dirty, windows need cleaning.

    Bed comfy, towels clean, breakfast very good. Young eastern european man (?) on reception very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    6.3
    Location was great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from floor above during the night Room could do with an overhaul. Light shining through around the door from hall light. Lack of toiletries - a sachet of shower gel does not do it. Lack of hot water on a Saturday evening - after being caught in the rain and in need of a hot shower this was not great.

    Location was great

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    4.2
    Served a purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was shabby and desperate need of decoration. The bed was lumpy as an old mattress. It could be beautiful. Needs investment

    Friendly staff. They were very accommodating with providing a room prior to check in in order that we could get ready for my Sons's Wedding. Good Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    5.6
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets were filthy. Wait at the desk. Wait 30 minutes for breakfast as cutlery and crockery were in the dishwasher. Had stomach problems after breakfast. Bathroom door handle was broken. Bathroom not that clean.

    Location, view, room at end of building so was quiet. Other people were not so lucky.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    5.0
    Location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is in a massive need of renovation. I have stayed here for the last 7/8 years and over the time seen it sadly decline. The carpets need replacing it’s needs decorating all the way through. Lights didn’t work and also the TV didn’t work at all and that was the third one that broke that week! It’s very sad to see such a lovely hotel go to such a bad way.

    Location is good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.1
    Not fancy, but comfortable
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was stained, the restaurant was closed and the Wi-Fi didn't work well in the rooms. The hot water was inconsistent.

    The price is a good deal given the location, and the garden and bathrooms are nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    5.0
    Extremely disappointing, the “ superior room” did not live up to expectations, would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lukewarm to cold water, cold bathroom, poor house keeping , insufficient storage ie no chest of drawers , very tired decor & stained carpet.

    The location was very good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.9
    Very adequate, not quite a boutique hotel ( which the name kind of implies) but it was affordable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the parking was not really a problem , but its not on site ( across the road there is a layby that can be used- but its rather limited). The overall impression was that the decoration and carpets are in need of a refresh - but honestly that didnt bother me! I didnt have any problem with no hot water in the shower ( which other people mentioned in the reviews.) The only real criticism was the mattress on the bed wasn't comfortable- and most hotel chains have invested in decent mattresses recently - because in truth its the only thing that actually matters in a hotel! So for the next time please sort out the thin/unsupportive mattress.

    the accommodation was fine- I wasn't expecting super luxury , just the basics . The location was very convenient for me, and the staff were helpful. Breakfast was included - and was a mix of continental and traditional. It was extremely close to the train station - and the access to charring cross was very easy! just want I wanted.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    6.3
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok, sausages where horrid. Bedroom carpet was in desperate need of replacement, very stained. Blinds where broken, wifi was very slow.

    Great location. Clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    2.5
    Horrendous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful place , paid £70 for a twin room To find out that there was no hot water at all not even warm in my bedroom , no apologies no nothing , asked for some sort of refund they offered me £10!!!!!!! Back , absolutely discussing Will never book again and will not recommend to anyone Hot water is a basic need of any human being to shower is part of our highest hygiene standards and totally not acceptable not to have hot water at all but the fact that they were not even bothered made it much worst

    nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    6.3
    Stayed in better for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long walk from car park. It was freezing cold in the rooms and common areas. No hot water in the morning for a shower. Crockery needs better cleaning..

    Bed was comfortable. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant overnight stopover for business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all good

    Ideal location for business trip or mini break staff were welcoming and pleasant would recommend a stay any time hopefully a return for myself

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.4
    Staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room smelt which we had to get a staff member to come check. Also the hot water tap was lose and unable to use it. Hot water didn't stay hot for very long.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was really nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.4
    There are better for less in T. Wells....
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite possibly the smallest room I've ever stayed in. No on site parking. Not easy to find in the dark, poorly lit. There are better options available for less money. I was just pressed for time after I'd missed the last room at The Spa.

    Polite and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    2.9
    A total nightmare!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is falling apart, no maintenance has been carried out for years and everything is dirty and broken. They claim to have a restaurant, but on the night we were told we could only choose from a pathetic selection of salads and frozen pizza. Parking is also a major issue as they only have room for 2 cars!

    Nothing!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.3
    Good value, good location, no frills
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heated towel rail, unable to dry damp towels A plug under the mirror would have been useful The pillows were flat!

    Good value Friendly staff Great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.3
    Basic, functional, good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing specifically to dislike. Basic, functional. For a one night business trip, fine. Would not be my choice for a longer stay.

    The welcome was warm and most obliging. To me this is a purely functional venue. The bed was comfortable, furnishings basic, but all that was necessary. There is no private parking, but space in the street to park overnight. Close to the railway station. Good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.0
    Not to be repeated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom worn, pealing sealant at wash basin (room 33) and NO hot water at 8am. Was offered ‘free’ breakfast but time did not permit. I will not be returning and will not recommend, despite helpful manager.

    Excellent location, quiet rear room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.5
    It was just a short stay,after a Golden wedding celebration. Perfectly adequate and reasonable price
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower gel in bathroom Fresher feel all round needed Carpets look well used. Minimal car parking , but we were lucky to park at the bottom of Edgcumbe Rd as it happened.

    Very warm welcome. Friendly staff. Plenty of space Good bed- pretty good night’s sleep. V pretty garden/ terrace at rear of hotel Breakfast ok,not special.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    A lovely location but hotel needs redecoration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first room 25 we refused due to carpet which not only was grim but a trip hazard. Found corridors in need of redecoration as bathrooms however second bedroom No 23 a little more acceptable. Staff were lovely with Dan allocating us an upgrade to room 21 on second night - lovely.

    The fact that Dan cooked us breakfast as previous day receptionist had failed to inform us that there would be no cooked breakfast after 9 am due to lack of a chef. Much appreciated Dan stepping in.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    2.5
    Dreadful! Do not Stay Here!
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was filthy. There was dust (skin cell type) on the wall above the bed. The carpet and bathroom were dirty. The filthy curtains came off when pulling them. A 'superior' room was right next to the main road and very noisy as the 'double glazing' didn't work. As to the 'restaurant' - frozen oven pizzas which was inedible. And the wine even worse. There are other hotels - do not stay here! I don't know why the rating came out at 2.5 as should have been Zero.

    Absolutely nothing. This hotel is completely disgusting. Dirty, dated and doesn't meet the description at all.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location. Clean stylish place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accessibility wasn't perfect. Shower a little hard to use. Staff not that proactive in helping when I asked about using the spa. Ended up not using it when we probably would have if we had some more info, which probably lost the hotel money.

    Nice comfy clean stylish place. Great location. Opposite a park and 2 minutes from centre. On the A road. Good prices. Nice hotel overall.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    ‘‘Twas fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was no cooked breakfast as staff issues. Hard to get parking. Got parking ticket while checking in. Hotel room door didn’t lock. Toilet door handle broken. Shower cold in the morning (hot enough later)

    The staff were helpful and friendly and solved problems. Good central location. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.8
    Not as expected, I wish I'd paid more and gone elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking, no shelves in the bathroom. Stained carpets, paint work tired and worn. No mirror near a socket (So couldn't dry hair properly). The key had to keep being reset. This hotel needs a refurbishment!

    Close to town centre and railway station

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.0
    Never again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was tired and in need of complete refurbishment. Worn chairs were covered by cushions to hide wear and tear. Walls lights on either side of the bed were hanging off the wall. The bedroom rug was tattered and dirty. I will never go here again.

    Location was quite good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    4.2
    - from the small menu was the most not available, so we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - from the small menu was the most not available, so we started in the restaurant but we have eaten in town - cold shower, hot water not available so it become a 'bad-hair-day' - a leaking tap on a very small bassin - the curtain did not close The bathroom needs a renovation including the floor - for complaining we have to send an email, we do not feel taken seriously

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.9
    Peace and quiet on a busy stretch of Tunbridge Wells
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very quiet and the view outside our window made it feel like being in a forest or in the country. Considering we were only blocks from the centre of town which was perfect. The staff were very helpful and friendly. And I loved the building.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.0
    Extremely disappointing. Would not recommend it,even for a one night stay,which is what I did.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very shabby. The shower leaked over the top of the shower door,saturating the whole room There was one sachet of shampoo and one sachet of shower gel in the room,which actually didn't contain sufficient liquid to clean hair/body properly

    The room was clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    4.6
    A 2 star hotel at a 4 star price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for the level of comfort and decor. For same price I could have stayed at a local bootique hotel. Needs a complete makeover and beds replaced. Staff were lovely however.

    Staff were lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.5
    Some minor irritations but good at the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The electrical installations generally, not just the TV (see above). There were dud light fittings including one of the bedside lights, dud hairdryer and no sockets beside the bed to plug in a device. To be fair, many more expensive hotels fall down on this last point but if we don't complain they'll never get the message!

    The room was quite spacious (though not the en suite). The compensation policy was very fair: Free breakfast in return for dud TV (see below)!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    An ok hotel if you are not looking for anything too fancy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could be improved. Everything a bit old and worn.but this was reflected in the price compared to other hotels in the area.

    Location was good reatively close to station and town centre. Tea making facilities included in The price in your room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, friendly & good value. Great for location for town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about.

    Comfortable bed. Very clean & like new linen & towels. Helpful, friendly staff. Good cooked breakfast & breakfast selection.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.3
    Good value if basic facilities, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was old fashioned and dated. Very limited hotel parking and restricted parking nearby.

    Spacious room and bathroom, nice restaurant area and a lovely garden. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.7
    The staff at the hotel absolutely great, but the door...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee

    The staff at the hotel absolutely great, but the door locking system was broken so we did have to put the chair under the handle to lock the door - that's not what you usually do when you at the hotel. The staff tried to help and promised to try to repair but I think they should move us to another room. On another hand - the handle on the bathroom doors was falling off as well (ugh) and I think they buying the worse instant coffee ever - does matter if you need a coffee to exist 😊

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.1
    Good location and cheerful staff. The room and bathroom spacious, but a bit "worn".
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet is in need of replacement, worn and not clean. The curtain did not close properly, I had to climb on a. Hair to re-hook the end.

    Cheerful staff. The young man helped with our suitcases.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.0
    Not what we expected sadly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely old and dated with torn furniture and carpet. The fire alarm also went off early morning and no one explained it was a false alarm. Not worth the money when other local and basic hotels are cheaper.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    4.2
    I stayed there with my daughter & her husband from Australia feeling ashamed to be British.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower temperature was not working. The curtains wouldn't shut or open properly, the carpet was stained badly & the whole place was run down. When you complained we were told the business rates were to high so they didn't have any money to do it up.

    The bed was ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    4.6
    I didn’t think hotels could still look like this. It needs a total refurb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dated, carpets and paint work dirty and chipped. Shower gel was a sachet and soap was a tiny wrapped bar! Who even uses that anymore?

    Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.0
    Short Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed upgrading bathroom paint pealing off walls and condensation stains on paint . Bedroom very little room to get in room as opens from hall onto bed. Breakfast was average . A lot of money for room and breakfast.

    Close to we’re we wanted to be . Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.4
    Location excellent
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired, and a bit grubby room and holey net curtains. Main curtains could not be closed properly and came away from rail when we tried ! No hot water to bathroom sink and shower damaged so could only get on the optimistic side of tepid water ! Bedding was clean though as were towels.

    Location excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel, great location, fair price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was tempermental - could not control temperature, but a pleasant stay.

    Very good sized room (deluxe) and a very comfortable bed (pillows could be better). Staff were friendly and helpful - especially with parking. Great location - easy walk to The Pantiles, which was important to us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    The patio and secret garden behind the hotel were delightful.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit too austere. Bathroom had NO outlets, the room just two _ away from the bed. Recharging phones, laptop, tablet, electrical toothbrush required juggling. Also, the iron was dirty. Luckily, we noticed or a wedding dress could have been ruined. Ok, through no fault of the management the weather was very hot and the room an oven, but with no fan!

    The patio and secret garden behind the hotel were delightful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.4
    Underwhelming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were dated and in desperate need for decorating. The hotel was expensive for what we got. Seemed really overpriced. Small double beds!

    Breakfast was good and location was ideal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.7
    The bathroom was pretty much what saved the place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was cheap frozen pizza that was hardly hot bed kept moving around where it’s not fixed properly table draws was falling apart

    The bathroom was pretty much what saved the place

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.1
    Only stayed one night as attending a wedding so did nit...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car parking is non existent so this is a disadvantage as you have park away from the holiday and use pay and display

    Only stayed one night as attending a wedding so did nit spend much time thrte

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.3
    Welcoming and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    dirty cutlery - small tables - creaky floor! MINOR THINGS

    responsive staff - our TV did not work and we were moved rooms very quickly - helpful. well cooked breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.0
    The location was close to station, the room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was not very accommodating in providing fan in a very hot weather after constant asking, reception lady kindly gave her fan. The main road was very very noisy all night, even with closed windows in hot weather. Was unable to sleep. The bed was uncomfortable.

    The location was close to station, the room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is in need of modernisation air con would be helpful as the road next to it is very busy even at night would not stay there again The room could do with new carpet blanket threads hanging off side shower did not work very well cold water in sink very noisy plumbing noise

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.4
    Funeral necessity, not brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The desk on arrival, the guy took 10 minutes to speak to us being involved on a call, when he finally acknowledged us we were told curtly we couldn’t check in till three, hotel policy I accept, however, once we asked if there was a courtesy room for us to change and freshen up, our rooms were ready, maybe an idea in the future to check names before being hostile. The room was adequate, just. With breakfast we had to ask for plates for the continental breakfast and they came out dirty.

    Great location for seeing the town, we were only there one night for a funeral, but it served a purpose

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed it. Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wastnt anything i disliked

    Staff are great friendly and helpful. Room was ok. They make a good cooked breakfast. Was there for the senior tennis tournament. Well located very near the train station and high street and the pantiles

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Great hotel great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having stayed here many times as I love the hotel, when its 30 degrees there is no escaping the heat but it has no air con or fans in the room. Having said the reception was kind enough to offer me her fan from the front desk which is exceptional. It should be necessary and buying cheap fans for the rooms or having them on standby would be good.

    The hotel is centrally located and is close to the pantiles and the high street which has many restaurants and bars. The pantiles is about 5 minutes walk down a hill but is downhill.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.7
    Dated but good Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The juice served at breakfast was warm and also the white wine wasnt cold enough. Not sure if there was an issue with the fridges during our stay but both should be served chilled. The rooms were dated but fine , the bathroom however was not in great condition and was dirty.

    Staff were very helpful. A good little bar and back garden to enjoy a few drinks in. The breakfast was good with a varied selection. Rooms are dated and in need of freshening up a bit but are spacious and beds were comfortable. Very good location. 5 minute walk from train station

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.4
    The location is ideal for my use.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel seems to be having a few issues. Unfortunately they seem to bee on each of my recent visits. TV not working when all I wanted to do was sit and relax after a long drive. The next visit, linen delivery had been late and the rooms weren't ready. Despite my question, they didn't appear to be prioritising rooms for those who has checked in and I had to wait an hour to access my room (1800hrs when check in could have been hours earlier).

    The location is ideal for my use. Easy to find.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable, but sleepless
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was way too hot and very noisy from traffic on the nearby trunk road with the windows open. Generally the paintwork was very scruffy and the carpet was rather stained

    Bed was comfortable, the room was quite spacious with a small hanging space - lighting was adequate.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.0
    overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the carpet in the room needs replacing the skirting and windows need repainting paint flaked off the chrome rack in the bathroom needs replacing as rusty the tiles need replacing around the shower unit it needs regrouting around the sink to get rid of the mould The bed head surround was rusty at the bottom edge The nets albeit gold looked grubby the bedspread had marks on it and need replacing staff cigarette smoke from the basement yard wafted into the bedroom Road noise if staying more than 1 night I would have requested a back room as we didn't sleep says free parking but there were only 2 allocated spaces this need to be highlighted a bit better

    the breakfast you good the staff were friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Room was a really good size, comfortable with a good sized...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could do with a refurb, broken tiles in the bathroom, dirty carpet with iorn marks, bathroom door handle falling off.

    Room was a really good size, comfortable with a good sized shower. staff were very friendly and helpful, dining area and outside space was really nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    adequate to facilitate a trip to T W for a funeral, but would not stay for a holiday
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was very hot . there was not an alarm clock though it said in the room description that there was. When we returned to the room at 1.00pm to change foe a funeral, it had not been cleaned.

    the bed was comfortable there was a fan provided, very necessary because of the heat

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    4.2
    Not pleasurable, would not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was difficult, had to park away from property even though this was marked as criteria when searching. Property was tired, in need of renovation. We wanted to relax after a long journey and didn't realise they had a restaurant on site, so stayed in but food was very basic, . The person on reception had hurt his shoulder so couldn't change the beer barrel, or organise anyone else to do this, so forced to go down town for the evening. This was the most expensive property on our week's break and unfortunately the worst and the most disappointing.

    Nice to sit outside for meals, drinks etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one site parking TV not working Restaurant not open Rooms too hot no fans available Shower not clean door would not close

    Nothing Checked out day early

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    4.6
    The worst stay in a hotel to date
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is nothing like it claims on the website. The bath didn’t work, plugs in room didn’t work and only had 2, room was filthy (not fit for an animal), wires handing down the walls in the hall ways, light fitting hanging off the wall, not modern like described and when complained to the manager via email - heard nothing back. Totally unacceptable!

    The poor reception staff that have to deal with all the complaints. They did a good job under the circumstances. Location is good to the town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    Helpful staff at check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows wouldn’t open and no air conditioning. Breakfast mediocre. Microwaved scrambled eggs and weak tasteless coffee,

    Helpful staff at check in. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.6
    No fan or air conditioner in the room and the weather was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No fan or air conditioner in the room and the weather was hot, but couldn't leave windows open because traffic was noisy. Meal was not great - was a shop bought pizza. Staff were not very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    The hotel housed me for the night. Facilities were not good enough to make it a memorable stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was tired and wire trays rusty. Only nets and no curtains and half length mirror instead full. Women like to see their whole outfit not just the top half. Croissants were not flakey and freshly baked but instead given rubbery long life ones bought from a supermarket. The resident hairdryer burnt my head!

    The bed was ok, slept well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty stained carpet, shabby decor, weather was hot and room was ridiculously hot and stuffy. Not at all what I expected for the price paid and name of the hotel.

    Friendly staff and good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    3.3
    Disapoiting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff made us feel unwelcome. The room was very small and stuffy. Bedroom furniture(chair) was in tatters. In my opinion this was not an enjoyable stay and not worth £134 a night!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice Hotel with lovely breakfast area (view to the little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very noisy, even at night, due to a very busy street in front of the Hotel.

    Nice Hotel with lovely breakfast area (view to the little garden), spacious room and bathroom; overnight parking available just in front of the Hotel. Short distance walks to the center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Convenient and cosy
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen wasn’t open for dinner on a Sunday evening but was given option of ordering in pizza which could be delivered to the room.

    Very convenient walk from the train station. Breakfast room was cosy, overlooking the garden.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money stay with lovely breakfast and attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little small but nice big bathroom made up for it.

    Excellent breakfast choice. Lovely garden area. Great value for money. We were in the area for a party and our friends stayed in the nearby Travelodge which was apparently awful, more money and no breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Good value, good location, nice staff: man on reception very friendly & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the bedroom curtains became unhooked at one end - so looked a bit sad hanging down.

    Croissants: disappointing. Otherwise, Continental breakfast selection very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Classy Hotel, Good Value, great food, well located, beautiful garden, helpful andprofessional staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi connection was sporadic in the evening, then non-existent in the morning. May be worth speaking to their provider.

    Came on business for one night, welcomed by a very friendly and smiley "Dan" was extremely professional helpful, prompt and polite had me booked in seconds, I recommend the "Wilted Mushroom, Spinach & Penne Pasta dinner extremely tasty. Room was immaculate, forest view, very peaceful, will be coming again for a personal visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Staff were very knowledgeable of the local area, especially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was no hot water, through no fault of the hotel. Staff were very kind and provided breakfast FOC as compensation.

    Staff were very knowledgeable of the local area, especially parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Convenient, comfortable and well priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need more plug sockets- especially next to bed for phone charging.

    Staff were very helpful. - think it was Dan? Who was really friendly and helpful. I had a lot of luggage as I was heading to a festival. He kept it aside for me when I checked out and called me a taxi.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    4.6
    disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room not cleaned in 4 days - only bedroom bin emptied.Only one sachet of shampoo and body wash provided in 4 days.£90 expensive for basic service.

    staff were fine..Room spacious.Hotel near town centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Tunbridge Wells Retreat traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: