Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Safestay Edinburgh

50 Blackfriars Street, Old Town, Edinburgh, EH1 1NE, United Kingdom

#104 of 144 hotels in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4973 hostel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    8.3
    The hostel has an excellent location, so close to city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    The temperature in the room was a bit low, you couldn't make it any warmer, the shower room (which is separate from the bathroom) is not very practical. There were some loud noises on the hallway during the night coming from other people which weren't sleeping at that time, so they woke me up. They stopped after some time and I could go back to sleep.

    The hostel has an excellent location, so close to city center so that you can walk to all the nice places you can visit. The receptionist guy helped us in providing a more quiet room, so we were only 4 people in a room of 6. The room and bathroom were clean, the food was good and staff very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    8.8
    The room was spacious, everyone had his own locker (bring...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious, everyone had his own locker (bring your own lock, or buy one at the reception). The hostel was quite quiet, perhaps because of the time of year. It’s located next to the royal mile, right in the middle of old town, but there’s almost no noise at night. The breakfast is great :)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    9.2
    The location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great The blanket and pillow were nice Room was a good size, didn't feel stuffy even with 5 beds The bar is nice Staff was helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    8.8
    At short notice, this proved a very acceptable cheap place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was okay, certainly as good as you’d expect for the money - but I wouldn’t have slept well if I hadn’t had the foresight to bring my own pillow. The dorm room door shut with a bang every time someone left for breakfast

    The staff were very good, the central location was very handy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.6
    It was quite enjoyable.
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The plugs to charge the mobile were limited. Also they were not close to the bed. I was also presuming that there were going to be kitchen appliances such as microwave etc.

    I like the fact that the room was very clean. I also like the location of the hostel and the bar underneath it. It had a nice atmosphere. I also like that there were lockers for the hand luggage.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.2
    Clean hostel and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food in the bar was not the best; the burgers were over cooked and the portions small. Being in the centre of town also had a downside, particularly when the Saturday night revellers finish in the small hours of the night. We also had a problem closing the window, which did not help the sound level.

    Situated in the old town and near to all the sights. The hostel was clean and the staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    5.8
    Only if I had too...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many beds squashed into room that was designed for less, beds were not reset prior to new people arriving, looked like my bed had been slept in. Had to ask for new bedding Breakfast was average

    Location was good, bunk bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    7.5
    Hair straightener, hairdryer available
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the 5th floor. Our toilet water pressure was low. Key card kept deactivating. Kitchen facilities weren’t the best

    Hair straightener, hairdryer available

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.9
    Just a good hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    2,5 person bunkbed. Shower is adequite. But just a good hostel to go with friends en discover the city

    Location is great! Right in city center en barstreet. Castle on walking distance. Parkinggarage next to building (pay)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The usual challenges with a hostel; slow wifi, some outlets for phone charging weren't working, we ran out of toilet paper but since there's no phone in the room it's kind of a pain to go down to the front desk and make the ask. The showers aren't great in the rooms - there's no bench or shelf to set things on. And the toilet felt super cramped. Since you can't get dressed in the actual shower, the toilet was the only place with privacy and that was a challenge.

    Great location. I felt safe there and the room temperature was perfect. Total deal for the price. Would recommend.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    5.4
    Personally I would never stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin or Bunk Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was falling to bits, very dirty needs a good overhaul. Around the taps and plughole in the sink. under the taps too. Two pillows would be better, never stayed anywhere where you only get one. Was not expecting 5 stars but would have liked it to be clean.

    Bar under the hotel was good, breakfasts were fine, staff fine, location brilliant, they just need to overhaul the bathrooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.1
    The staff not really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff not really good. Knocking all the time to make us rushing, we have extend our room but they yelling we should go out. Not helpful for bringing our luggage. The hotel too small, even for three person.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    Clean & comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's clean, central, safe - no real complaints from me. I maybe would've liked a dim light next to my bed so that I could find my way to my bed rather than have to climb up to the top bunk with the torch on my phone.

    I've stayed there before in a larger, mixed room but this this time I was in a smaller, female dorm. On a previous stay there was no towel supplied but this time there was, there was also a hairdryer and straighteners available if I'd wanted to borrow them.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Great Location!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Bunk Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    We stayed here one night in a twin room which had two single beds and a private bathroom. Also provided towels and toiletries. Laundry facilities were available for an extra cost although we didn't use them. Convenient. Lovely location, Blackfriar Street is just off the Royal Mile which is in the middle of the Old Town. Minutes away from Edinburgh Castle and many shops, restaurants, and beautiful old buildings and churches. Service at the front desk was friendly and helpful. Room was bright and clean,  beds were quite comfortable. The bar downstairs was open late and had a large selection of drinks. Great atmosphere. We had the continental breakfast in the morning which cost extra but was perfect if you were leaving early in the morning and did not have time to go out for breakfast. For the price and location it was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was expecting a cleaner bathroom. Anyone cleaned the bathroom during the two days that I stayed there, even when there were more people in the room. an improvement would be to add some hangers in the bathroom, as there is no place to hang your towel and clothes while taking a shower.

    The ratio price quality is really good. The price is cheap and the quality is good. The staff is always ready to help and there's plenty of space in the general areas. A bonus is a bar that is in the hostel which is cheap too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.2
    It's a great place to stay in Edinburgh while travelling on a very low budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Badly equipped kitchen for guests. I was in the shared room - in the bathroom area the light turns off before you even finish brushing tour teeth and you need to move a few steps back every time. Also this area is not separated from the room.

    The bed was veeeery cosy and clean. I liked the price, location and lockers next to bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    The room and environment is clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The environment of here is a little bit noisy since the bar on the ground floor always has many guys.

    The room and environment is clean. Also the service of staff is kind.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    Value for money and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good, maybe a little basic. It could do with eggs. Even if just boiled.

    Room was excellent and met all our requirements. Location was great. Value for money. 24hr reception.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.0
    Sleepless
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor was so creeky and people were coming and going all night, which is fine- but not fine that the floor was so noisy- very cheap laminate.... coupled with the fact I was on a top bunk and every time the man below rolled over, the bed shook (flimsy, cheap framed beds) The place felt safe and clean but it’s so cheaply furnished it resulted in no sleep and for that reason I wouldn’t stay at this hostel again

    Mattress was fine and comfy enough. Clean. Staff were great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely employees, good storage space, nice clean facilities.
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No padlocks on the lockers, bit of an issue with my breakfast included offer. Make sure the information note that has your room number and was provided with the magnetic card to the room states that you paid for breakfast.

    Lovely employees, good storage space, nice clean facilities. Decent breakfast for the cost, good WiFi, excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.3
    Good hostel in the middle of Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sounds travelled very easily around the room/hostel, which sometimes made it hard to sleep.

    Big hostel with a great location. I stayed in a four bed all girl hostel room, which had a good size. En-suite bathroom and shower. There was actually a view to Arthur's Seat from the room as well. All beds had their own closet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.9
    A Good Value for No-Frills Traveler
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Bunk Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Insufficient coffee packets and front desk did not have/did not want to supply more. Musty shower need better ventilation. The window in the roof required a giant to open or close it.

    It is what it says it is: well located, safe, low budget facility. Geared toward younger travelers but this septuagenarian was totally comfortable. Breakfast was adequate with really bland coffee. Nighttime bar closed early enough to allow sleep.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.1
    The hostel is in an amazing location and has a lovely buzz...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room I shared with my friends was a tiny bit small and starting to look tired - bunk bed lights not working for example. For the festival with friends, it was fine but I wouldn't have wanted to share a small space with strangers.

    The hostel is in an amazing location and has a lovely buzz about it. The staff are friendly and the rooms clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.1
    Over all its an ok hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No evening entertainment Not very sociable

    Great location, Friendly staff, It was clean, The bed was comfy, Access to a big kitchen Very close to nightclubs / pubs

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    I stayed a mixed-domitory room on the 1st floor and it has 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing particularly but there were too many people who want to use free storage so I wasn’t able to keep my luggage there.

    I stayed a mixed-domitory room on the 1st floor and it has 2 toilets and 2 shower rooms inside the room, which is comfortable. Location of it is really nice to go to the old town, 2-3 minutes to the street and 5-10 minutes to get most of tourist spots.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    The location, and price value is really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was not really good. I would recommend to book without it. It can get a little bit loud on the weekends.

    The location, and price value is really good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    The location is great: near Royal mile and Arthur’s seat at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location is great: near Royal mile and Arthur’s seat at the same time. Breakfasts are good too. You can get any 6 items (e.g. croissant, apple) for 5£.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.3
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin or Bunk Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet tissue dispenser instead of a normal toilet roll was annoying. very noisy. the staff member was completely uninterested in assisting and more interested in getting back to his phone call.

    the bed looked uncomfortable but I actually had the best sleep I’ve had in a long time. I had a family wedding and wasn’t able to check in until very late, this was great that I was able to do this

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    It was clean, pleasant and far superior to the hostel next door
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no where near by to park your vehicle unless you want to pay £25 per day for the car park

    The bar was good haha Overall my stay was good, staff were pleasant and the building was clean. I would use again and would recommend

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Overall stay was good,.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy late at night from the pub below more the patrons leaving then the pub itself

    Overall stay was good,. Some confusion over towels as booking site said included but there was a fee for them. Staff was good and honoured our booking site. Breakfast was basic but enough to give you a start for the day.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Good place to travel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I just wanted to hang out in pub but it was for group who already was traveling. It was shame that I couldn’t meet another traveler easily l

    Good place to travel. Everywhere is nearby. Room is clean and comfortable. Toilet has 2 spaces in a room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were warm and stuffy, they could have used a fan.

    Good location. Fabulous staff. Rooms were clean. Common area was big with pool tables, TV, good food and drinks. Nice outdoor tables. Laundry facility was clean and in great working condition.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.8
    The location is fantastic and getting a larger 5 bed private...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff weren't overly friendly and for the price $110AUD/night it wasn't really up to standard at all.

    The location is fantastic and getting a larger 5 bed private female dorm room was a good choice. The shower pressure was really decent but nowhere to put your clothes or toiletries in the wetroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    Good, awesome position, only one problem
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only complaint I have is that they put me and my 2 girlfriends in 3 separate rooms, although we booked together and asked in advance to be put in the same room and they confirmed it. It wasn’t a happy surprise when we checked in.

    Went there in August, position in the very center of Edinburgh (a big plus)! Rooms were clean and nice. Breakfast was good, with a good choice for a hostel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    Cosy Room, Noisy Night and Dirty Kitchen
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen is quite dirty, floor is not scrubbed and smell in the kitchen as there is no window. Perhaps guests would feel more encouraged to use their restaurant. Lockers should be placed nearer to the bed we sleep so as not to disturb the other roommates. One of the night, it was quite noisy as there was music, thumping of feet and shouting in the middle of the night, perhaps coming from a big group of teenagers staying and most of seats in dining room/restaurant had also been reserved for them. The lane leading to the hostel is pretty quiet compared to the main street - Royal Mile (High Street).

    The room is decorated in purple and white (like Premier Inn) which make it cosy and warm. Clean too. Locker can be locked if u remember to bring one. Toilet and Shower room are separated and ensuite within the room. The hostel is very nice as to keep a lower bunk bed because of my knee pain. Lower bunk bed allows one to sit up without knocking on the above. Mattress are comfortable with 2 pillows given and towel provided.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a dislike but a note: walls are thin so bring ear plugs and the bathroom had a motion sensor light, if light bothers you while sleeping bring an eye mask

    Great location, staff was friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.8
    The location of the hostel in relation to Waverley train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    The key card to corridors and room did not really work. The kitchen and self-catering area (integrated into a pub) are rather small compared to the size of the hostel.

    The location of the hostel in relation to Waverley train station (about 10mins on foot) is quite good. Bathroom and shower in dorm rooms was a nice plus.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    3.3
    Worst hostel ever, so uncomfortable and dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matress is really uncomfortable and cheap and the pillow is literally the most uncomfortable I ever tried in my life. The room was not clean, there was dust everywhere. Behind and below our beds there were used water bottles and tissues. The bathroom is a mess! So small...everytime someone takes a shower everything gets wet. Also, one of the toilets doesn't flush properly. The cleaning lady didn't empty the trash two days in a row, it was full! So gross! The guy that works at the front at night is always grumpy and he is not friendly at all! But the worst was the staff at the bar, all of them! Not one single person stands out in a good way, none of them knows how to work at a bar. All of them made crucial mistakes like: mistaking orders (a friend of mine ordered pizza and received pasta), I payed for an Heineken and received a Lager, everytime we wanted a drink they took more than 15 minutes to serve us, one night we dinned there and after one hour and a half the empty plates were still at our table (I HAD TO GET UP and collected everything myself and put in the counter and the staff looked at me like "WTF is she doing?" And no one apologized!), on Saturday they had a promotion if you ordered two gins there would be a discount (the second time my friends ordered two gins the waitress served a double gin, just one and refused to correct her mistake). I excepted the staff to at least speak English and understand the basics between two drinks and a double. Besides, none of them knows how to serve a beer. Also, the coffee is just terrible/awful quality, they served expressos in a huge mug that was to big for the plate they put it in, we almost dropped it on the floor. Everything about this hostel was disappointing except it's location. But was by far the worst hostel I ever stayed on. When visiting Edinburgh one takes a lot of long walks and gets easily tired, this hostel could at least have comfortable beds to sleep in ...

    Absolutely nothing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    Great night's sleep very close to centre!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Towel rental would be an improvement, at the moment they only allow you to buy a towel, and that might be inconvenient for those travelling light like I was.

    Excellent location just off the Royal Mile, stayed during the Edinburgh Fringe so it was easy to get to many of the shows. I don't think I've ever slept as comfortably as I did here in a hostel, there must be something in the beds. Ensuite showers and bathroom for each room are also a huge plus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.1
    The room was big because of that there was a lot of space...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was loud in room 105 because it was directly beside a road. The bed was worn down. The food at the hostel bar is too expensive for what you get.

    The room was big because of that there was a lot of space for the luggage. The stuff especially at the reception where friendly and the hostel is perfect located for sightseeing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    The location, the premises, the staff and clientele.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cooked breakfast which as I have stayed before i was looking forward to. Rather disappointing as in all other respects great. Alan

    The location, the premises, the staff and clientele. A vibrant place to stay in an exciting city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    3.8
    Not coming back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very nice rooms and specially really bad bathroom and dirty. Staff were not very nice, not even responding to a hello when entering reception and almost annoyed they had to collect cards back at check out. Very impersonal space. Looks more like a bad quality hotel than a dynamic hostel.

    The location is good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice pleasant stay.. will go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We reached the place 20 minutes before 2 pm and were refused check-in by a young man and were asked to return after 2 p.m. The person was checking in other guests 5 minutes later. We then went to a young lady in the adjacent desk and were readily checked in.

    Great Location, pleasant staff, clean rooms, and comfy beds, nice restaurant and lively atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    6.7
    The staff was very strict about the check in on time, every...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very strict about the check in on time, every thing you have to purchase, lockers, locks, towels.... so do not forget to bring your lock with you to lock your locker! there is no storage for your luggage, there was no shower gel or shampoo in the bathroom, it was very noisy at night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    5.8
    Great location, basic accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very, very basic accommodation, which I was expecting to a degree, but I wasn't quite expecting the shower and the toilet to share a floor - urgh!

    Location was magnificent, especially for the Edinburgh Festival and Fringe.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.4
    The location was the best part of the hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have appreciated a change of bed as all the girls in the room were young and could have easily got up the ladder .

    I am a 70 year old woman and requested a bottom bunk but I was given a top bunk and had great difficulty in getting up and into bed .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    6.7
    nice for someone, but definitly not for me!
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    my room was on the 1st floor of a club. drunk people were shouting on the private yard of the club but we were too much in the bedroom to shut the window. the bathroom were so tiny (and no curtains for the shower) that also the toilet were totally wet, so you can't let your clothes anywhere on it while you are taking your shower. so you have to dress outside the bathroom, in the bedroom even if you are in a mixed dormitory. I had to sahe the plug with the person who was sleeping above my bed. so he came just above my head during my sleep. nice place, nice hostel, kind staff but finally not comfortable enough and too noisy. one of the most expensive hostels and you can't really sleep.

    nice staff, nice location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    6.3
    Good location but lacking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is pretty bad...Staying on bottom floor, we needed air but got all the smoke from outside and loud conversation. Bathroom lacks functionality - I think you get like one hook for your towel, no shelving whatsoever and not even a floor mat (you’ll be surprised how much you actually need these things in a bathroom when they aren’t there). People (including myself) were walking water all through the dorm so I sacrificed my own towel, bought a new one and that became our floor towel which greatly improved things (perhaps safestays should consider adding this to their dorms?it really makes a huge difference). The toilet paper is in one of those round things that dispenses one sheet at a time and if someone presses it in by accident...you can’t get it out again. I asked reception for more toilet paper and 4 hrs later still didn’t have any, went down a second time and the guy looked at me as if I was the biggest pest in the world and said someone would be up... they never came. Normal service came through, didn’t check the toilet paper and therefore didn’t replace it or the sanitary bags so I saw them in the hall and asked them to replace it - that’s the only way we managed to get some toilet paper... still no sanitary bags though. I bought my own paper after that drama. To be fair in all of this, I chose a mixed 6 dorm but it was mainly male dominated room for most of the time, one of whom made me feel very uncomfortable - this was my main stressor and all the little things about the place just sort of pushed me over the edge. It is unfortunate that after my prior interactions with reception about toilet paper, I did not feel as though reception were approachable enough to talk about this bigger issue with or would care at all about my needs if my last experience was anything to go on. So I was feeling very stuck and miserable.

    It’s very close to everything especially in the midst of the fringe festival, the beds are surprisingly comfortable and the bar downstairs/ reception area looks quite modern and open. There’s 24/hr reception which is really comforting when you’re travelling alone just knowing there’s people up and awake and aware of your existence haha. Check in and out is relatively pain free, simple and quick. They have lots of little things you might need in the hostel available for purchase at the counter. The dorms have lockable cupboards...byo lock but they have some downstairs to buy as well. They had some good maps too from memory. They also had vending machines with snacks and an atm. The reception area is quite nice really, with some lounges etc. the bar/ breakfast area looks quite well-maintained (I didn’t make much use of it) but every time I walked through there it looked really clean with pool tables as well. I poked my head into the hostel kitchen once just to see what it was like and it looks nice enough.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was perfectly clean and provided all necessary for the stay. The hostel was lovely and the staff even better. When I will go back to Edinburgh I will stay at this hostel. Cheers to Raphael for being so nice. The location is perfect and you can go walking from there almost everywhere in the city. Absolutely recomendable :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would recommend booking directly through the hostel, you get more benefits that way + it is easier to alter your booking.

    Great location. Drinks at the bar were good value. Nice rooms. Clean bathrooms. Female dorm room was great. Included straighteners and a hairdryer.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    I am satisfied with the good customer service of the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can say that the maintenance is not knocking the door just opening and we are very scared as my sister is in toilet and me resting, suddenly open the door.I don’t liked too the location of the room , very confusing 212. We heard loud voice at night talking and laughing were we are.

    I am satisfied with the good customer service of the staff catering each customer despite lots of customers queing in the reception waiting for their turn to approach the staff for their needs.Accessible to the town and shop.Clean ensuite shower/ toilet.Maintenance fixed right away the broken vault of the wardrobe.Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.7
    Served its purpose staff were pleasant
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that I had to return to reception twice after getting my room pass as I could not access the room.

    Near to location I was visiting and it was not that expensive.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    4.2
    Was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff unfriendly. Room was meant to be accessible... couldn’t have been less accessible. Expensive/ noisy/ hot/ food at breakfast poor and messy. No staff when you need them. Rooms cramped and resemble a 50’s holiday camp/ prison.

    Was clean. That’s it’s

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    the accommodation is in a good location, the beds are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to onsite pub, it was quite noisy during the night; the room had molt on the wooden panel

    the accommodation is in a good location, the beds are reasonably comfortable for a hostel, the staff was friendly, the room was clean and had an en-suite bathroom

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.7
    Location is close to city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was really bad. Couldn't get the wifi most of the time and couldn't even use my own data when I was inside the building.

    Location is close to city center

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Worth to stay three nights or longer
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The process of check-in is really slow, but staffs are very nice and have passions. Can hear some noise from outside of the street, but it is still acceptable.

    The six beds suite room is really convenient. Shower and toilet are in the room and very clean. The breakfast is simple but sufficient and fresh. Hairdryer, laundry and free luggage room, Wi-Fi are available. Staffs are all kind and nice. Suitable for alone, small groups and family tourists. Worth to stay three nights or longer.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    Easy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin or Bunk Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the Ensuite shower room the water pooled slightly but then that may have been my messy son.

    It was all we needed. No problems at all. The staff were friendly. It was easy and we were allowed to leave our bags there for the day for nothing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    The room was nice and quiet and the bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wasn't able to hire a towel, I prefer to rent rather than cart a wet towel around on my travels. You can buy a towel at reception though and at £4.50 it's not too expensive - or bring your own.

    The room was nice and quiet and the bed was comfy. Although I didn't have time for it, there was a free breakfast in the morning. The location is great, right in the heart of Edinburgh.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    very close to the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bathroom need little more housekeeping

    nice place very close to the city centre. the staff very nice they change my bed from the top to the low when I asked them

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    Nice staff, great location, could be cleaner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    (Keep in mind that this was at the end of a month of festivals in Edinburgh. It might be much better the rest of the time. Also it was a mixed dormitory.) The room smelled quite bad, even when keeping the windows open all the time, very humid. The room wasn't really dirty, but not that clean either (maybe because of the other occupants too, I don't know). The bathroom was not very clean nor practical. Not sure if this was because of the other occupants or because the cleaning persons didn't have enough time to clean all the rooms. The bed were not comfortable, but that's to be expected for the price I suppose. Very noisy at night. The room was on the side of the bar. Then again, it was during the fringe festival, so it was probably the worst time for that.

    Very nice staff at the reception and bar. The cleaning persons were nice too. Very good location, you're right in the historic centre. The lockers in the dorm rooms are big (you'll need a padlock though, that you can buy at the front desk). Big choice of rooms, and not too expensive (for Edinburgh!) if you book in advance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Suitable to stay for three nights or longer
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs in reception are really nice, warm and helpful, but the process of check in is too slow. Sometimes you may hear some noise from outside of the street, but it is acceptable.

    The breakfast is fresh and sufficient. There are a lot travelling information at the reception. Living in the six beds suite room is very convenient, as toilet and shower room are in the room and very clean. Except the restaurant, there is a guest kitchen room as well. It's suitable for alone or groups staying for three nights or longer. The staffs are really nice. Hairdryer, laundry,free Wi-Fi, free store luggage are all available, I will come back next time.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.0
    Too expensive when you have to bring your own toilet paper
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel gets more people than the staff and elevators can handle. I arrived on a Friday and left on Tuesday and there was a guest there already (it's a 4 bed bedroom). The second day other 2 guests arrived. The thing is, in all my time there, they never cleaned up the room or the bathroom. Plus, on Monday morning, we ran out of toilet paper; one of my roommates went to the reception to ask for more. I arrived late at night and still no toilet paper. I went to the reception and asked again. Nobody came. I sent emails. Ignored. The next day, still nothing (but I was lucky to find one of the cleaning ladies stroller so I got one of those big rolls). So they let my room more than 48h without such a basic thing like toilet paper. Plus the room floor and bathroom were visibly dirty, since people are in and out all the time but they never cleaned it up. There were lots of dust in the corners. They charge extra for breakfast for guests that book through booking websites while for others it's for free. There's absolutely no control to check who's paying and who isn't, which makes the ones that paid extra to feel tricked. The elevators are slow and only 2 and the staff uses them during the breakfast and check out peak hours to transport the laundry, cleaning strollers etc, so lines are formed on the floors. The window doesn't really open widely, so when it's warm you'll suffocate inside the room and at night you'll be able to hear all the music and noise from the hostel bar. It lacks basic maintenance; for instance the shower is leaking so there's More water coming out from the rose than from the shower proper/main piece. There are no individual lights by the beds (only one had it) nor a separate light for the entrance, which means doesn't matter if the other guests are sleeping, you'll need to turn on the entire room lights to get your basic stuff and get ready to sleep (if you don't carry a flashlight with you).

    The location is good, in walking distance to the main attractions and not far from the main station. The bedsheets were clean and the pillow, mattress and duvet were comfortable. Although it's a hostel, it's good to have a private bathroom in the room. The downstairs bar can be handy for a drink or food, although the kitchen closes at 9 or 10pm, I don't remember exactly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.3
    Overall it is ok considering the excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room is a bit noisy even after midnight as it faces the bar. No chair and hanger for clothes in the family room. We have to either stand or sit on the bunk bed to eat, drink and chat.

    The location is convenient as it is near to the main tourist attraction and the train station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    A good option for a stay in Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The self catering kitchen was too small. The drinks were over priced. The confectionary machine was overpriced.

    Pleasant atmosphere, well run, curfew on bar and bar space was enforced. Clean, accessible and well located.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    4.6
    Staff member was unwelcoming to a den of water-trodden stank hole.
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The first staff member to greet me (Angela) was furrow faced and disbelieved I had requested to alter the number of nights booked (like when the exact time of a request comes in actually matters). When she found the actual request after 5 minutes of looking she told me it could not be altered (something she could've just done without the attitude). This marked out the start of a week of wet shower room water being traipsed around the room by everyone. No mention that you could bring a padlock to lock your cupboard lest having to pay £2.50 a night to store your valuables in the downstairs safety box. The drunk person passed out in the hallway on the last night was actually one of the more affable touches to the stay.

    Not much

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location and nice service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Long queues all the time at the reception. Rooms didn't have wall plugs next to the beds. I think it's a good hostel but a little bit overpriced.

    Excellent location and nice service. Free luggage storage and paid lockers for important stuff. The breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    I stayed in 8 mixed dome, the bed is a bit wider , I could...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not every beds have the socket plug area for charging ...

    I stayed in 8 mixed dome, the bed is a bit wider , I could sit straight in the lower bed. The room area is quite big !!! They have 2 showers and two toilet separately . It’s really clean !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    The velux window had been left open throughout the day and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Bunk Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The velux window had been left open throughout the day and night. Our flight was delayed. By the time we got to the hostel it was well past 2 am. The window is so high that it is impossible to reach to close it fully, one would have needed a pole to shut it properly. If we had arrived earlier, I would have requested help from the receptionist. However it was so late that I decided against bothering the night staff. It's a pity because we heard more street noise than we should have had. If the window had been shut at the end of the cleaning round this would have improved the whole experience. Anyway. We managed to sleep through.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Lovely place to stay at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not the best wifi connection at the room. But that was not a huge problem anyway :) And lockers are not of the standard type: you'd need to buy a new lock at the reception to close the locker, the regular ones won't fit. But even if you don't - most probably nothing will happen, only nice people seem to stay there :)

    Lovely place to stay at. Super central location, in a short walking distance to all the main attractions, bars, restaurants, etc. Friendly staff, good breakfast, clean and comfy rooms. Enjoyed my stay there!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Would love to be back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's still a bit dark even if the light is turned on in the room.

    The staff are quite welcoming and are willing to solve any problems during the stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    I stayed in a 5 female bedroom.
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It sometimes takes quite a while to get in the lift, but nothing too dramatic. I believe the price was higher due to the Festival.

    I stayed in a 5 female bedroom. It was spacious and the shower size was great. The private bathroom was fine as well. I wish there was a power outlet per bed or at least an extension taking power outlets to the top bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location , lounge/bar was nice, lockers available...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff weren't very welcoming, bathroom ran out of toilet paper but nothing was done even after the staff was informed

    Great location , lounge/bar was nice, lockers available in rooms, free luggage storage area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    the Beds were comfy and the location was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there was a problem with the toilet it kept making a loud whining noise and the staff couldn't fix it.

    the Beds were comfy and the location was awesome. It was a short walk to anything!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    In city centre and need and clean room and bed.
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neet and clean room and bed.

    It is one of the best hotels for me, very near its railway station. I like to stay in this hotel and very need and clean room and bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    6.7
    The staff were really nice.
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I was there a few months ago, it was cleaner - bathrooms, rooms, beds, everything. I would work more on cleanliness. And please, put a toilet brush in the toilets. The bed constructions are very bad - you hear when somebody´s moving and you can´t sleep .. And also, the wifi does not work in all of the rooms .. Thanks. I am looking forward to the improvements. :)

    The staff were really nice. The facilities look good. It is located in the city centre, which is great.:)

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Safestay Edinburgh traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: